(2007/11) November MTBs

Hi Langlao,

what i read from this thread says $8 for 10 sachets. i am getting my hubby to buy more. let me know how many packs you want. no problem if you want lesser than 10 packs.

will be calling them to check on the exact price and also if there is stock.

anyone has avent contact number. its so hard to locate their numbers online.

when i finally did, it got transferred to a voice box. the number i have at hand is 68824570.

Hi Happy,

my maid of age 30 has 3 kids age 11,9,7. the husband is jobless and has problem looking for jobs in phillipines.

so now that she is working in sgp, her hubby will take over the job of looking after the kids and not working. every month she will send $200 back to philippines for the family of 4 there.

i ever heard her mentioning that even if the hubby is going to get a job, it may be a temp job only and salary is really little.

my maid used to work in a school canteen back in philipines. monthly salary is $30 and they simply survived on that. and perhaps with some rice harvest during harvesting times.

Hi Sharon,

sorry a bit blur. What time is the gathering on Sunday? I am attending my cousin's baby 1 mth old lunch celebration in Hougang. Can see if i got time to pop by after that.

Can PM me details? Thks :))

pig: if u are going to get the critic acid from avent, can include me too? heehee..

ladies, I have been busy these few days and only speed reading thru the thread.. enjoy the gathering this sunday hor.. heehee.. n post photos here..

Coach spree:
I will be heading to Boston this coming end Sep, any mummies interested in getting Coach bags? I don't know how much will be the tax rates over there. if some of you are interested, please do let me know, the exchange rate will be based on 1.42 first.. when my bill comes, will based on the bank conversion.. no shipping charges.. but abit of handlig fees lah coz me only bringing 1 luggage along niah.. afraid it will acceed the weight and need to charge. if interested then i will come out with more details.

ueno,
a gd start to yr LA trip with L & hubby! Enjoy!

This sun gathering:
I am still hoping to drop by after the lunch, which probably will end at 3pm+. S@l, I sms u again for direction if I am still coming, ok?

Welcome cinamoroll, this happens to be one of my fav characters too.. hee

K@ye: haha.. I scare that when my manager sees me with so many luggages will be wondering whether me go training or shopping.. haha.. me go alone with my manager, so will be abit restricted.

Mambobb, u tell your manager... That after training hours are strictly personal time cum shopping time!

I think 2 lugguage is enough lah... u bring one super big to check in and another cabin one!

Hi S@L,

The avent number got me to the voicebox also.

Hi Mambobb,

no problem. just let me know how many sachets of the citric acid you require. I will buy and post to you and langlao. But costs wise i still cant advise until i get hold of them.

Hi Pig07 - I may swing by to Avent showrom after my dentist appt tomorrow. If I can make it, I would get 10 sachets(for S$8) of the citric acid and i can pass to the mummies who are coming to the gathering on Sun. I can post to you if you want......

heehee... I was reading about your post and some of you remind me of me when I had no. 1. I too tried to get Avent for the citric acid! hahaha

But seriously, the citric acid from phoon huat is just as good. The quantity per packet is about 1 teaspoon ;)

Yany, usually no 1 will be more gan cheong... That's y everything insist on this and that.. When no 2 comes along, got experience liao... Won't be so particular! Am i right to say that?

Hey K@ye,
I remember those days I got an e-mail from a friend saying something about diapers.
1st baby, every time the baby pees, the diaper is changed.
2nd baby, diaper is changed when there is a smell
3rd baby, diapers unchanged even when it reaches knee level.....
LMAO!!!

k@ye,
i think u're absolutely right!

yany,
ya, so funny...
another saying i heard goes this way:
1st baby, you follow the book (i.e. whatever book says you follow)
2nd baby, you follow the 'pig' (cos 'zhu1' in chinese rhyme with 'shu1', i.e. meaning, whatever goes!)

Pig07 then $200 can live like a king liao...:p
Sometimes i feel sorry for them. May be I have a soft spot. They work in Singapore and paid so little.
My rs with maid is good; not perfect yet. I don detest her or extremely love her.
Just pray that it would stay this way. I will be stress up if constantly we have conflicts or I have to change maid all the time.

Yany, Plim...hmm abit nt so accurate for me..hahahaha. first baby i kinda bo chap..everything leave to my mum to decide...but 2nd one i became more particular! hhahaa prob cos 2nd one is a princess so a bit more protective!

i change her diapers more often le! lol...

Dokie, how come u are nt going to the gathering? miss miss u! hahahaha

Lazykat, sure no prob btw if u wan a ride, let me know in advance...i can pick u up...but i need to know by Sat so that i can bring my car seat up otherwise there wont be enough room cos my car is nt an MPV....

Yany, i like the one abt the diapers!

S@l, also depends on the baby.. If got sensitive skin like Claire, must always change diaper and best to use cloth diaper!

S@l,
thanks for the offer, my hubby will be driving me there if i am going.. my carseat is permanently placed in the car, i dun even know how to remove it! Btw, how long more do our little prince n princess gotta back facing in the car seat ah?

Hi Sharron,
as i am still collating orders for my sister and fren, i think i will not be ready to get you the numbers. Anyway THANKS for the offer.

Hi Mambobb,
I will get 10 sachets for you then. Unless you require it urgently before your Sept trip, then maybe sharron can get it for you. else i am fine to buy get it you. Let me know ah..

Hi Langlao,
In that case i will not be getting for you liao.

Hi Dokie,
Ya.. $200 they can live comfortably. that why when she told us she will work for 2 years in sgp nia, we have doubt about that. as they would be so used to that kind of $200 lifestyle, it wont be easy to give it up and return to $30 lifestyle. what's more rice in philippines are getting so costly.

Currently her family can afford to go city for fast food which they never used to have many chances to do so. They will receive presents from us like barbie dolls, school bags, toys etc as festive and birthday gifts. My maid was so 'upset' when her kids she foned her kids and her kids told her that they are doing fine and that for her to carry on working in sgp else they wont be able to have such lifestyle. On new year day this day, her daughter of 7 was in a such a hurry to hang up the fone with her as she couldnt wait to go city and have fast food and play barbie doll with her neighbours.

i agree with you that we dont have to extremely love them nor detest them. so long they perform what is required of them then i am most happy liao.

dreamer,
thanks for yr compliment!

suzanne,
i fed him the post weaning meal served by SQ. i also brought biscuits n bread which i prepared at home.

Lazykat, my son no long back facing the car seat. I have already let him face the front for at least 2 mths. Cos he will make a lot of noise if I still make him back faced the car seat.

Actually, is there is guideline when can they face the front?

my maid just worked for me for 3 mths, still paying loan leh but last month she wants to advance salary from me, she damaged 6 items, 1 pant and 2 shirts, I really dunno what to do with her, her character is okay compared to the last 2 maids and we really do not want to re-train again or get those that complain going to my mum's house as working 2 houses etc... that's why got to tolerate.

I pity them for having to leave their children to come and work here, that's why when she said her child of 1 year no milk to drink, only eat solid, i advanced her salary lor but why can't she listen to my instruction since whatever she wants, i give her! dunno what is going in her brain, i talked to her so many times nicely, trying to brainwash her, telling her that it is for her own good too. how can i be buying pants and shirts everytime she just ironed until become silvery, those pants from Zara are not cheap leh, but deduct her salary all the times then she will be working for me free for 2 years lah.

keep telling myself when my boy bigger, change to indonesian maid or dun want maid but how to, when he is bigger, hb expect me to have second one and then if no maid then no point for me to quit my job and stay home to teach my boy, i will spend most time doing hsework, washing his bottles and cooking for him.

govt needs to help me on this else how to increase birth rate, that pathetic amount of money is not even enough for the delivery package at some hospital... major headache is no help to take care of kids. want us to work then give more, then that will take away quality time from kids or risk putting with maids. sigh....

Happy, wow.... I will definitely be mad if someone damaged my clothes especially expensive ones! That's y my hubby dun dare to iron my clothes!

I think there is a limit to how much we can pity them. Sometimes i think they do take advantage of our kindness...

Mabbe u tell your maid if she damaged your pants again. She has to work for free etc etc.. This might wise her up!

Pig, the maid agent told me that her maid (been with her for 10yrs) dun want to go back home coz her family will keep on pressing her for $$$.

Paiseh, the time for this Sun's gathering is at 1pm?

Catherine, i can share a cab with you if u want coz i m going down to Sharron's pl from Redhill.

HONEY:
mummies, may I know can we feed our babies honey? my nanny fed cailyn honey when she constipated and she pooed after that.. nanny claimed that it is those not very sweet type.

Mambobb, i fed Claire honey when she is 2.5mths old as advised by the TCM doctor (he is also a GP) when she is on soy formula. He told us that a little bit of honey is okie.

Thus, i feed Claire honey on & off even though its not advisable for babies under 1 to take honey. I bought the premium organic honey. So far, Claire is okie with it coz if the honey dun sits well with her, she will develop rashes!

Mambobb, it depends on you lah. If u dun want her to take honey to play it safe, u can try other stuff like prune juice or apple juice to prevent her from constipation. If not, loads of water!

My Mum was the one who told me to buy the premium honey coz she dun trust the honey from China (we had loads at home). Also, one organic shop owner told me that a little bit of real pure manuka honey is ok for babies!

Happy, I learnt my lesson. Don’t be too kind but of cos don’t ill-treat them too. I let my previous maid read newspaper when they taking a short break in the afternoon time. Let her watch TV when she had finished her chores at night…there is a small TV in her room. Ask her to help herself with anything she want to eat on the dining table including snacks/ tibits. We never scold or raise our voices at her, always tell her nicely. And yet, she can steal from us. It doesn’t pay to be too kind to them cos they will just take for granted.
Just tell her that if she going to ruin another pcs of clothing, you will need to deduct her pay. (Just to scare her).
Brain washing? Don’t think its will work, at least not for mine.

Happy,

Your maid damaging your clothes are nothing compared to what my maid has damaged.

Heres my list and you won't believe it!

Handheld electric blender (only 1mth old)
Vacum cleaner hose (don't know how!!)
china bowls
plates
brooms
mops
the biggest whammy of them all...the bathroom sink!!! (slippery fingers manage to drop the vase into the sink, the vase survived the sink didn't) Cost me a whopping $400 to replace!

I have never made her pay for any replacements, because I feel that breakage is unavoidable in the workplace. However I scare her by telling her next breakage will come out of her pay package, though I would never do that. I'm keeping an eye out for my washing machine, I have a feeling thats going to be next on the list!!
Its amazing how complacent they can get and careless, but in most cases it is because of accidents and not out of malice so I can forgive.
The Sink has cost her her bonus as I was thinking of giving her a bonus at the end of the year. Not anymore.

Gelyn, how u know she steal? how u find out?

Plumsource, wow..alot of damage and yet u don expect her to pay back. U still so forgiving. Must learn from you.

So far, my maid spolit my handheld blender too. I didnt really scold her because still in working condition except the plastic holder chipped off slightly.My heart ached because is my favourite. I can use it for many purpose other than puree food.

lazykat...sad to tell u...Lil Mischa nvr back faced the in the car seat since 2nd month!

the car seat is from Favian's time...so its good for 9mths-4yr old....nt suitable for back facing. we did nt buy any for new born-9mths old...so jus made do with that, reclined to the lowest and added lotsa padding. So, ya its ok for ur bb to face front now

mambobb, no honey before 1 yr old..thats what i read and i try to abide cos dun wan to risk exposing to the bacteria very prone in honey.

wow, plumsource that's a whole lot of damage.

I sent my maid home partly because she falls sick every now and then. Her salary is $380 plus Medical bills ($30 *4 - as she's sick like 4 times a month) Really cannot tahan that, plus when she's sick, dun know whether pass the germs to my gal, and my family, then everyone sick. So adds up.....

Damage:-

Many Towels as she likes to keep soil towels in pails and wash when she feels like it.

My Thermos - used a few times only leh, heart pain huh, as I purposely buy 2 so that both my hubby and myself can bring food to office.

Cooking stove - The knob is spoil on the 1st day she's here. plus now the stove is rusty too... planning to change again...

vacumm cleaner - she almost broke it, i dun know how. My hubby buys the rainbow vacumm esp for the baby's sake and my maid almost broke it. luckily hubby salvage in time....

Talk about maid falling sick. My maid is down with cough now. Very tense. Afraid passed on to my baby and son and family...aiyo...headache.
Already fed her honey/lemon, fruits, vit c , woods peppermint later on almond tea.

so many things for me to worry and anxious...have to learn to let go...

Gemini 19, talking about rainbow. She used it initially and flooded my whole room. the water came out from hose..goodness...
I think she filled up too much water liao.

K@ye, I agreed with S@L, don give honey. not safe esp if Claire has slight ecez don take chance.

I was tempted to give blueberry to my baby but hesitate too because of allergy from berries. I tell myself. He can wait. What is the hurry. There are other good fruits to try.

Dokie, i know abt the honey. Anyway, cannot give honey too often coz it might induce phlegm also. I din give it to Claire now. Claire is also allergic to butter, i just applied butter to her big bump on her forehead... Wow, immediately turn red... Scared the shit out of me!

Oh, just to let u ladies know, the Karcher water based vacuum cleaner is as good as the rainbow vacuum cleaner!

halo mummies,
Jovan is down with cough. took him to see PD last nite. PD weighed & measured him. 9.1kg & 74cm at 9.5 months. last night, he kept waking up. i pratically din sleep from 345am. i "officially" woke up at 6am. ZZZzzz

sharon,
i cant go to the gathering already. *sad* i was looking forward it. so sorrie for all the trouble.

K@ye,
aiyah cant meet u & claire (missie with character). next time, ok?

k@ye,

Yes the vase was one of those Ikea heavy glass vase. I have learnt my lesson not to put anything heavy in the sink area or any glass shelves, not worried about the kids more worried about the maid breaking it!

I was thinking I have to start child proofing my home now that Luis is crawling and curious, but end up I have to maid-proof it too!!!

Note to all who have maids. Don't bother buying expensive stuff, sure to be ruined or broken. I have given up on my crockery. Next set i get will be super cheap so I won't feel heart pain when they get broken.