(2007/11) November MTBs

kaye:: vOTEdd!

Hi Plumsource,

currently i hve 1 maid and my sister 1 maid. making it 2. and now that i am staying at my parents' place and my sister (FTWM) also sends her boys (twins 4 year old) to my parents' place after their school every noon. like that, the 2 maids see each other everyday at my parents place. And now my maid is putting up at my sister's place in the night and i looked after kiros myself in the night.

my maid couldnt quite make it. maybe cos i am particular. she is not as expereinced as my sister's maid. so we kinda of swopped maid informally. my maid will help her with her boys while hers will help with mine. But not so clear line drawn cos anyway we see each other everyday.

now that i have hired another maid (3rd one) to come in september. she is suppose to help with housework and also nitty gritty items. As i am now pregnant, we forsee that 2 maids cant be managing 4 kids and housework at same time. That why there is this need to hire a 3rd one hoping to alleviate their load.

also to hire this 3rd maid to help my maid with my sister's twins. becos when i give birth this december, i will be bringing my sister's maid with me back to my place at bukit batok for the confinement period etc. somehow i feel bad to let my sister have my 'not so competent maid' while i take hers away with me.

i am hoping to shift nearer to my parents' come next year. all 3 maids are related to one another like cousin and friends. i do it this way as i dont want them to start complaining and chut pattern say she is doing her work this and that. and also told them straight from start there is no such thing as looking after only the kids of the employer and doing houswork at the registered address only as we are always moving around.

sigh, i am also looking forward to the day that i can do w/o maid. when the 4 kids are bigger, we will defintiely not have 3 maids anymore. at most keeping 2. unless my sister or my myself gets preggie again.

my maid was telling my sister that her time is easier to pass as she can see her cousin (my sister's maid) daily and someone to talk to. Like that she wont miss home so much also.

Hi Gelyn,

we always warn the maids not to be so talkative. plus i also want the maid not to shoot her mouth off when going to people's house and then start telling stories about what happened in my house to another family's maid. this one is very important. especailly i dont want my maid to start telling my mil what happened at my mum's place. this is one freedom i miss. talk also gotta be careful.. privacy lost also. That why so many people opt for PT helper with housework.

Hi Dokie,

the 3 maids we have are all Fili (age 30,31,34). all have kids of different age.

i prefer to get those with older kids whom are already in college or secondary. Like that they wont keep pinning for the family as much. and also whom has worked out of their village before.

i used to think that best to get single, like tat they wont miss their hubby and children. but it seems like if they are single, there is this things that they may not be as committed to work as hard as they have only themselves to feed hence come to sgp for fun only.

plus if get first timer, also jiat lat. they will start to miss home as they have never been to a foreign country to work. i very scared if they start crying and miss home and no mood to work and also forgetful.

sigh.. either way also jiat lat. gotta depends on luck sometimes.

single or married also jiat lat. old or young also jiat lat. experience or no experience also jiat lat.got children or no children also jiat lat.

Hi K@ye,

wow.. heng you are ready to let go unlike my fren's hubby. not only that, you will minimally be a 'half millionaire' when you sell yrs. hahaha..

Hi Happy,

since you will be at home with the maid liao, its impt that you are beginning to 'take a liking' for her. else your days will be miserable.

i stayed at my own place with Kiros (then he was 2.5month old), and my 'not so competent' maid. its barely 1 week only, and i tell you, i almost had depression and no mood for anything. i just couldnt face her. she and i just couldnt click even though she didnt exactly do anything to me.

its only when my parents told us to shift in with them and then my sister offered to 'swop' her maid with mine that i feel better.

my husband was also so scared at that time and then i learnt that he phoned and smsed my sister on the sly thinking that i had depression and then they were trying to work things out for me. that's how i ended up at my parent's place now and also with my sister's maid to help me.

Hi K@ye,

voted again and again with different email addresses i have.. haha..

realised that the winners are usually the ones with votes catching up at the closing day.

jiayou jiayou.

pig07,

Agree with you, doesn't matter how old, married or single, experience or not. At the end of the day they are just another human being and bound to have flaws. You will never find a perfect maid, hopefully you will find one that is good enough for the job. I can't say my maid is perfect but as long as she does what I ask of her and not give me a headache over her own personal matters than I'll be happy.

They will always miss home and I think that is understandable. So I allow my maid to make calls back home once a month and give her access to stamps and stationaries so she can write home whenever she wants. This has proved to improve her work attitude because she knows that she can always keep in contact with her love ones. I hoped this would help with her home sickness, but I know that she is always thinking about her 'home'. Sometimes wonder why they are not mentally prepared for the shift. I feel that they should know what they are getting into but the truth is some of them have no idea what they are doing in a foreign country and when they are here the culture shock sometimes become to overwhelming.

My maid is an ex-saudi arabia maid, so i was hoping that her experience would make her less homesick..I was wrong. They are an emotional bunch, so I think sometimes as an employer you have to make some allowance. Lower your expectations and slowly build up their skills with some guidance.

Hi Plumsource,

Ya, you are right to say that. will never get a perfect one. so long we can get one whom is suitable for the job and no need us to bo4 kui3 so much, then we should be pleased liao.

Correct, i also agree that gotta let them make phone calls back and write or anything. We allow them access to the home fone (but they gotta ask as form of respect before they pick up the fone to make outgoing calls) and they use their fone cards to make calls. they can tok as long as they like so long the boys are sleeping or one of the maids is looking after them and doesnt require both their immediate attention.

some employers will not want the maid to use the fone and call home. one example is my mil. she claimed that they should be ready that they are coming to sgp to work and there is no need to call home to report saftey to the family upon arrival. but just how much can she control? when the maid worked for a few months, then she start her tricks etc liao. when my mil goes market, she will call indo using fone cards she got other maids to buy for her.

what my sister and i did was to let them call home the moment they got to our house, and then let their family know they have arrived safely at the employer's place. being mothers ourselves, i would think we would be equally worried if our child(ren) leave us for a foreign country. what's more it's for 2 years at least.

My hubby always tell me to take things easy as the maid is there to help us. Not to tekan us. if they ever make certain mistakes, it could be becos they are really unaware. (i think he is so understanding becos he did the online test before we can employ a maid). but i dont like it when he said this to me as it makes me out to be an unreasonable person. Which i told him, try staying home with the maid for 24 hours and you know what i mean. then once i got fed up giving same same instructions over and over agin to the maid, i made my hubby do the job. then he realised that my maid is really not so upto it.

Pig, u very funny leh... Even if i sell off my apt, i m not a half millonaire coz i need to buy another apt also mah! I feel that money can be earned back, no point making ourselves so tired holding on to a house that will cause more problem when it comes to child care etc!

Can i say in conclusion, getting the maid is like heng suay?

actually i am not a very high expectations person. My mum will still do the care part. I'll work flexi hours and earn less. My helper will be more of helping with the chores. My mum/ myself will do the cooking. I just hope that I can manage their homesickness. Actually sometimes, I pity them. They've come so far to work. True that they should be prepared, but some of them are not highly educated so sometimes, cant anticipate well. But well, I haven got 1 myself. I can only experience then I'll know if I can handle. Thanks for the input.

Hi K@ye,

Ya la.. we can only really make money from selling unless we dont buy another house after selling away the present one. You are right... i fully agree about selling it away if its not helping in many ways. like me, house at bukit batok. we are near to my in laws, but so what? only thing is hubby's office at bukit batok.

why i said my in law will be buay song is becos they always like the idea of 'unity' and they have this mentality that by staying close by, it's bringing the family closer. so if stay near to my mum, they will think that we are closer to my parents and not them. plus mil will think the son will have a hard time driving to and fro bukit batok/sengkang everyday.

mil know that we are putting up at sengkang now. she asked us a funny qns that day. she said, 'will kiros and the maid be staying at sengkang for the 1 month by time your wife does her confinement at Bukit batok'. Our answer to her was NO and we are puzzled by her qns. i mean is there a need to ask such silly qns?..

we told her the maid will help with kiros and confinement auntie will stay with us for like 3 months to help with the NB. Then you know what funny reply she gave.. ' oh, then won't it be very hard on you (referring to the son)'.. i think she must be thinking i am expecting the son to drive kiros and maid to from bukit batok seng kang everyday to let my dad help out with kiros while i am doing confinement ..!@#$%^&*()_+..

wa lau, she thinks too much liao lor. she always worry that anything will 'hurt' the son one lor. how hard can it be on the son? what is she talking? i am the one giving birth here lei. the son no need to express milk ler. no need to go thru the pain lei.. is she referring to that 2 kids at home will disturb her son's beauty sleep? wa lau, all is taken care of lor.. i always know to let my husband have ample of rest as i know his job requires lots of concentration. she worries unduly lor. which is why i hate to tell her plans and things.. and until now, we darent tell her our plans about shifting.

i think so luck also play an impt part in getting maid. It's really not easy that why i told my sister, pls hor, i wont be training the new maid hor.. get the existing 2 maids to train her in their own language. i think i am too impatient with such.

Hi Koh Gillian,

at least you have an open mind for start so you should be fine. plus you and your mum will be the main caregiver and wont need to depend on the maid hence at least you wont stress yourself too much and expect lots from her to be up to it.

ya, sometimes hear their stories really pity them. imagine whole family back there waiting for their salary and for a new maid is like 7 or 8 months no salary. jiat lat also. when i got my maid udner direct hire, she kenna 4months salary deduction insetad of 7 months. but then knowing she has young kids back home and her hubby not working, we also soften and then let her have some money every month to send back. but by doing so, we are at risk and disadvantage also as we drag the loan repayment period for a longer time frame.

my fren was telling me her myanmar maid came and told them sob stories about the sister hospitalisation back in myanmar and then kept crying. being kind hearted, my fren gave her $100 to send back. then when she employed a second maid, a myanmar also, in hope that they can communicate and co-operate, who knows that this 1st maid actually taught the 2nd maid same method and gave her similar sob stories.. she got so fed up and told both of them off.

sometimes we are trying to be kind. but they take things for granted. but if we are unkind to them, then days are hard to pass also.

Hi! hvnt been having much time to post anything and always speed reading. =) I wont be able to join u gals for the gathering. So many mummies and babies going!

As for my mil's maid tt she got 1mth ago, my mil has decided to send her bk to e agency tis afternoon. She kinda outburst on sunday. She said cook and cook and cook. She wanna go bk to the agency. She even said tt the agent told her tt if after 1mth cannot tahan, can go bk. Can u believe it? Sigh. And she said she wanna complain too. Said we didnt say need to bathe the dog, only said to feed the dog at the agency. Faint leh! My mil told her hv to feed the dog and take care of the dog! She will also eat the oats prepared for my parents in law after she has prepared it with the spoon she uses to scoop the oats and uses it again to scoop! I caught her red handed jus yest and she had the cheek to deny! My mil decided to send her bk cos don't wanna risk her running away to embassy and my mil will need to pay her airfare and the maid loan tt she paid will be forfeited. So after she's gone, we'll have to rough it out till the new maid comes! But dunno when also.

Anyway, nowadays maids are quite educated with their rights. They also know wat they can do to make their employers send them bk to the agency so that they can find another employer. In other words, they learn how they can pick and choose.

k@ye

Voted

Gelyn
I'm getting a replacement maid. Got to wait at least a month leh, no choice la, coz parents are old and they cannot cope with 2 babies (My brother has one also)... Heeheee, me planning 2nd one also, so guess need a maid around to help out. If not, no quality time to spend with my gal and hubby also. Sometimes I wonder how people cope huh? me already no time to watch TV, or read newsapaper. and less then 6 hours of sleep daily.

Sure got lots of issues with maid, but many times we are left with no choice. Would love to stay at home, but think now abit difficult. Think will work with boss to see whether i can make special arrangement like work shorter hours instead.
hee, now, I come in 10 am (told boss no maid now so need to come in later), was thinking of working half day of 3 days week later. Dun know feasible or not, (my overseas colleagues, many are doing that also)

K@ye, voted! Claire is so cutey!!!

RE: steriliser

mummies, jus wanna remind u to remember to descale the steriliser IF u are still using it. Ihavnt been using and yday descaled it...YUCKS!!! Esp for AVENT and Tollyjoy hor....

Hi Pig, one thing about my previous talkative maid that I happened to find out. She like to tell tales. She can tell me that she don’t like this and tell another person in the family she like. Eg. Food/ bread….etc. I have to agree that talking to her must really be careful. God knows what she told others behind my back when I am off to work. I think she thought I won’t find out but she didn’t know we do exchange some conversation within the family behind her and that how we find out. If can, I rather have PT helper too. Save alots of trouble.

I agree no matter what is their status, really have to depend on luck to get a good one.

Hi Gemini, that was what happen when I am waiting for my current one to come. So troublesome! You planning for 2nd one already? :p I am still having second thought though I like to have no.2. Although I have no time to read newspaper but still manage to squeeze some time to watch TV. As for sleep...I also quite deprived from sleep too as I still have to wake up for night feed. I do miss those days that I can sleep as long as I want! Heehee…

Plumsource, u are right. No perfect maids.

Give and take! After reading all the postings, I also scared because we not only must ensure they are good now. But also good all the times during period of employment. Sometimes these helpers tend to change over time.
very scary.

sharron, it should come with the Citric acid.If not, u can buy from Avent at TPY. or some mummies actually say lemon / vinegar can do the trick too..but i nvr tried.

follow the instrutions and descale at least once a month. i usually do every 3 weeks. but i seldom use the steriliser now so to my horror! the grime built up is disgusting!

happy 'De-scaling' ...

Thanks S@L for the guide!

Ok I shall go get the citric acid and descale it this week! So many things happening - my mum just got admitted to the hospital because of dengue fever

de-scaling sterilizer:

this is wat i do with my avent bottle sterilizer on a monthly basis:
1. mix 10ml white vinegar + 50ml H2O & steam on an empty sterilizer.
2. once done, let it cool for 10 mins and redo the process again but with 60ml H2O only; to kill off the vinegar smell.
3. after this is done, let it cool and then rinse off the sterilizer a few times with running tap water.

actually i'm thking of NOT using the sterilizer and just rinse with hot water before use (after wash n dry la). any mommy already keep their sterilizer aside?

sharron,
wow, dengue is serious leh, hope your mom gets well soon!!

Sharron

you got to take care, and hope your mum recovers fast.

Sterilizing

How long do we need to sterilise the babies bottles huh? Stop at 1?

Gelyn

Ya, trying la, age catching up and I think 2 years gap is ok la. Hopefully I can manage though.

Gemini, i stopped sterilising the bottles already. Except for breast pumps but usually i jus soak an rinse thru. So far no problem (touchwood) and i believe that kids need to be exposed to 'not-so- squeaky-clean' enviro too...

my logic is simple, cos since we dun sterilise their tablewares, then btls shouldnt be an issue.

sharron,

i use lemon weekly to clean the steriliser, squeeue out half a lemon juice and pour into the steriliser, leave it for an hour or so and then use a clean cloth to wipe off, rinse with water, thats all.

for vinegar, you need to dilute with water, one part of vinegar to 3 parts of water and then put in, on the steriliser and sterilize as per normal without all the bottles for one cycle, then rinse off with water :)

today first leave after i resigned, i did not tell my maid anything but morning she looked me up and down on my dress code, guess she really curious why i did not work today :) and her expression abit disappointed, good, hope she will buck up and be on her guard.

i bring my maid and bb to my mum house every day and pick them up after work so she kinda of have to work 2 houses though the hours are the same and for my own house, she need not do hsework everyday, only half a day on sat to clean up, and yet some maids can complain that need to do 2 houses, i always tell them that if they want, they can stay at my mum's hse but sleep in the living hall lor or go and work in one house and do housework till past midnight lor, she will not sleep at 10:30am and she only started her day when she comes to my mum's place at about 8:15am, her schedule already reduced to very simple housework, clean toys also twice a week only, toilet once a week, yet still so slow. Next maid I am going to let her mop the floor on four since all the maids dunno how to appreciate using mop, always mop like writing calligraphy and so wet or break the mop, already 3rd mop, use the mop and knock this and knock that, really fed up. my dad told my maid to clean the kitchen tiles using magic clean mop, push up and down, that really spoil her, even my kitchen cabinet, she also using the mop and push up and down, really up to her own convenience.

she really kaypoh, likes to ask this and that, ask her to find out where is my new photo frame and she started saying that i want that becos i wanted to put the pictures that my hb and son in and also my family photo? what has it got to do with her! just take out the photo frame for me lah. things that i asked her to throw, she will read and look lor, can't she just throw, why need to see and turn it over here and there. I ask her to help me take the magazine, she will take and see up and down lor, hate it leh, told my friends why can't she just do her job and disappear quietly. I am quite a private person, dun like someone around making such a big presence leh.

luckily in my mum house got my parents and sister so i need not face her alone else i sure tear my hair.

Thanks ladies - my mum is the HOD (Head of Domestics) for our 2 households...hee hee... so we now got to depend on the 3 maids since all of us are working. Yes - hope she will recover soon!

i tried de-scaling my Pigeon steriliser with both methods before - lemon & vinegar. prefer vinegar method coz easier & cheaper. no need to buy lemon & squeeze the juice out. each lemon cost abt 90cents leh.

huh u all stop sterilising the milk bottles ah? i still sterilze everyday.

dun need to remind me abt having no time. the last time i actually sat down to watch TV was when i was in confinement. BUT yday night, my HB "forced" me to watch a movie (Jian4 Gui2 1) with him. our empty packeted food containers were still lying on the coffee table, coffee table was dirty, bb clothes/hankies/bibs not washed, milk bottles not washed/sterilised, our laundry not washed, floor not sweeped, etc etc. in the end, i can only manage to watch half of the movie, but IMO tat's already a treat for me! but i also slept later lah.

De-scaling

I wil descale like once a month. then hor, as i am not staying at bukit batok, hence not using the stereliser unless we go back like once a week, i will see black black rust when i removed the tray. worse, when i remove the stereliser cover, jus beneath the vent is the pacifier. i saw black mold growing on the pacifier.

ever since we started putting up at my mum's place when kiros was 3 month old, i hvnt been using streliser. just rinse his bottle and teats with hot water before use.

i heard that can do away with stereliser from 6 months onwards?

i have ran out of the citric acid. what i am doing now is just descale with tap water. dont know if can add salt to descale boh.

Hi Happy,

yr maid like quite jiat lat lei. how long has she been with you? will you be replacing her? not only is she kpo, her scope of work isnt that much also yet still not upto it.

act since now that you hve resigned, you can afford the time to replace and retrain a new maid?

Ya ya, toking about magic clean.. i cant stand it when they are suppose to drag but they arent. they will handle it like a broom. give them mop and broom is to make their job easier. but i tel you hor, if they arent careful, they can actually spoil your furniture as they bang the plastic part of the mop to the furniture. same for vacuum cleaner.

wash toilet only twice a week is very seng nang liao lor.

if you ever get a new maid, just load her with work and reduce it if she cant manage.

i used to hve a time table. like clean windows weekly, mop floor daily, wash toilets daily, change bed sheets weekly, wash thermal flask weekly and goes on. but all this applies if no need to take care of babies la. then we reduce gradually if we see that they cant manage.

Hi Catherine,

i think your hubby is seeing that you are working so hard hence ask you to relax and watch a show. he not bad lei. and sometime for you both to spend together.

but if i am you, becos i am such an impatient and gao zhe person, i tink i will end up having my mind elsewehere about the housework even when watching the show. hahaha..but if i reject watching, like very spoilsport lei..

pig07, i think salt will rust the heating plate..better not....

in fact its ok to put away the steriliser now that our bb has started on solids. cos to be frank the foods/ cooking wares etc are nt 100% clean anymore too. but i hv frens who sterilise bb stuff till 2yr old...its basically ur choice...but to me is a waste of time/ electricity!hehehe

Sharron, wow 9mths! dun freak out aft u hv seen the stuff that comes out..hehehe...

happy, my maid left during my confinemnt period becos of the same problem lor. she did not grumble, but came and tell me that she cannot work for me cos she didnt wan to work 2 households- my mum and my pl. But i asked her if we ever over-worked her? most of the time i m the one who chased her to sleep aft she settled my son - i nvr let her touch Mischa. When she comes bk hm with us in the evening, she only hv to wash the plates etc and its her bedtime liao. only weekends she work at my pl fully....

hubby said i was too nice to her...talk abt getting another maid i also very very sian...yes and i hate the part where i lose my privacy..hv been thinking of another maid since then..but no mood to go and find one and very tired to deal with maid issues...so till now...9mths and i m still struggling inside.

i definately believe in FATE and LUCK when it comes to maid. Some ppl will say its how u treat the maid and gain respect etc...to me is crap. cos i really treated my maid so well...she complained to me abt my MIL and cried..i felt so bad for her...but in the end she doesnt appreciate my kindness...whereas for my auntie who always scolds her maid even though she did nt make any big mistakes, her maid is so obedient to her. if its really abt the way we treat the maid, then i think it should be the nastier we are, the more obedient the maid will be.

Hi S@L,

Ya, i hve frens whom treated their maid like frens and sister so much so that they cross the line. I still tink its utmost impt to let them know who is the boss. if a need arise to scold, i tink its inevitable.

i dont know how you all get your maid to address you all... regardless of age..we got them to address as mom and sir, and our parents as ah gong and ah ma. even towards our frens will be mom and sir. this is not to demean them. But i tink sometimes things/actions like this is to let them know their stand and not cross it.

my mil's maid can show black face and never address us at all. not even address my mil as mom or nonya.. nothing.. if she wants to look for her in the room, she will jus keep kncoking at the door and dont even bother to call out 'mom'..

S@L/ pig07

I fully agree. My hubby says we are too lenient with our ex-maid also, that's why she climbs on top of us. S@L, seems my maid is sama sama like yours. Actually nothing much for her to do at my place coz except to ensure my baby's clothes are washed daily. Even at my mum's place, she finish everything by 1 pm and got free time all the way till dinner (though my dad is the one who cooks, she just assist)

hopefully, my next one can be better, fingers cross. My mum got to look after both my brother's baby and my baby, definately cannot cope alone in the long run.

Hi Gemini,

if you can have your parents to help oversee then will be good.

just a few minutes ago i overheard my dad telling my mum something(my dad is the one making frens at the garden). he said there is this maid whom always push the old lady in wheelchair one will be kenna sent back.

what happened was she got pregnant several months ago, and she borrowed $ from her employer to go for abortion. and now, this maid is demanding for off days as all her frens has off days.

imagine, w.o off day and she can get herself preg liao.. so jus how did she get herself preg in first place? she must hve gotten the man into the house when the employers are not around. and also dont understand why her emplyers want to lend her $ to go for abortion. this is like accomplice and partner in crime liao. maybe they thought they couldnt do w/o her but the final straw comes when she keeps demanding for off day.

it was just last friday i saw this particular maid. with 5 other maids they hang around at the playground in the morning. 1 maid pushing an old lady in wheelchair, 1 maid with a baby in pram.. and 4 other maids seem to know the timing and they arrange meet there. the old lady like so poor thing sitting in the wheelchair while the maids were like toking happily. then i also pity the baby in pram as there was another maid like disturbing the baby and making fun of the baby.

we used to allow my sister's maid to do the same and push the boys in pram to go downstairs and have chat with her frens. but we realised we gotta stop doing that as they are bad influence to one another.

sorry to say that. but some are really very very vain lor. especially when they gets together and laugh and laugh.

and for those staying near to sengkang, if you realised at compasspoint.. there are always one group of eldery seated in wheelchair chatting outside ocbc bank.. and then the maids will be chatting also. this is ok at least the elderly are chatting. but the one i saw at playground is really pitiful.

Pig07, my ex-maid was 39yrs old and she called me 'mom' i think its right to make sure they add us irregardless of age. in terms of respect she was ok, will greet us in the morning. actually till now i still dun think its becos of overworking here. i guess she was used to being the '2nd' maid in her previous emplyer's hse.so over here she had to work solely, kinda spoilt.

my hb disliked my maid to show black face, and will always question her if he 'catch' her with blackface.

Gemini, ya lo hubby always said i bothered too much abt her. like i always made sure she had her lunch, enough food at hm...hiaz....
my maid was actually quite free...most of the time she will finish her chores by 7plus and will be sitting there reading papers while waiting for us to finish our dinner....

S@L, thanks for the reminder. I ought to descale the steriliser at the nanny's house again so far did it once. Few months back, my hubby finally went to TP avent to get the citric acid but they run out of stock so better call to check before going.