(2007/11) November MTBs

baby Jovan was hospitalised on Sat midnite due to gastric flu. so poor thing, only 7.5 months old & he got to be put on drip, take lots of med & take temp every few hrs. he was such a brave boy. when the big needle was inserted into his small vein, he only gave a cry & immediately quieten down when i sang him his fav lullaby. even doc & nurses were impressed. the nurses said all the babies wail v loudly when they insert the needle for the drip. he lost so much weight (i think at least 1kg). now he's only 8.35kg. my heart really pains to see him like this. his appetite for solids is not back yet. he'd rather drink milk. there's no more vomitting but he's still having diarrhea.

i stayed with Jovan for 3D3N at the hospital. din even dare to leave his sight when he was awake. i woke up almost every hr at night. either due to Jovan crying, next bed boy crying or time for Jovan to take temp or med. i am zombied. supply dropped so much. i'm going to stop BF when he turns 8 months old on 14th Jul. so sad, had wanted to BF for a year but now... sigh. i'm really v upset. Jovan started infantcare last tue on 1Jul. less than a week, he got this bacteria/virus. we r not 100% sure if he got it at the center but i blame myself for letting him go thru this ordeal. if only i can just quit & take care of him...

hi catherine,
*big hugz* for you & bb jovan.
chloe too was down wif fever & diarrhea and her PD said the stomach/gastric flu bug were HOT in season for babies as she had seen quite a number of cases for that week alone (when we brought her down for PD visit).

we're lucky chloe's case was mild and she was cared for by the nanny, hence less contact with other babies her age. even when hers was not as serious as Jovan, it had keep both me & her daddy worried sick too. i'm sure yours is many hundred-folds...

you must take care of yourself; in order to take better care of Jovan. i'm sure when he's feeling much better, he'll be gaining back his appetite for semi-solids and soon regain his wt.

do hang in there and you have our prayers and support here ya!
jia you!!

Hi Catherine,

at least you know that Jovan is better and will be fully well very very soon.

Take heart that after this ordeal he will be a stronger boy.

Certainly it will pain the hearts of adults to see helpless little ones going thru medication, injection, tests.. we adults have to be stronger to be there for them. So catherine, be strong. You have done everything and at best for Jovan already. Even if you have to stop bf-ing, dont blame it on yourself. There is nothing wrong.

It may or may not be due to infant care. But if you choose to drop him from infant care, you will be back to your square 1 problem again. discuss this at great length with your hubby when jovan is better and when you both are more settled at hearts.

Take care for now and help me kiss little jovan okay?

Catherine, hang in there, ya? Jovan will be back to his old self very soon, he is such a strong boy.

pig, u r right, Kiros does look like u!!

Hiaz, I've no scanner so cant show off my wedding pix. Like dreamer, mine taken 10yrs ago so dun dare show also lah, haha.

aww... cat, you need to take care yah. You need all your strength to take care of Jovan, poor baby. BF for 8 months is very, very good already and you should give yourself a pat on the back.

I still think you need help at home so you can have a break once in a while. I never liked the idea of infantcare as I think they are too young to be exposed to the environment outside. I would rather them to be home. However, when they reach 2.... they should be out and about ;)
That's just my opnion... .and I am sure others would think otherwise
I have friends who swear by infantcare so there ya go

I bought some poppy seeds recently and didn't know what to make... then found this receipe, poppy seed yoghurt cupcakes. Trying first hand decorating it as well.. but as you can see, only left a few to decorate!

Lazykat,
I am thinking of making macarons so will keep ya posted!
Its hard and I'm not so sure I got standard yet!

Birthday Bash,
I am not sure if I will be working by then... so, not going to confirm just as yet!

Since I have no photos of my wedding, I will share pictures of my recent bakes instead.

1549628.jpg
1549629.jpg

pig,
actually the gown i actually wear for my dinner was something similar, minus the sleeve.. hehe

catherine,
do take care of yourself too... babies are strong... I'm sure Jovan will be up and about in no time!

OMG Yany,
muffinsssss.... i luv them! :p**** see me drool buckets oredi... so tempting!

maybe can get you to do the NOV BABY BIG BDAY CAKE hor... ahahaaa...

Yany, when re u inviting us to your house to eat your baked stuff? :p (Gotta be thick skinned so that can eat the cupcakes!)

Annie, somehow find that you & ur hubby are familiar faces!

Catherine, dun be too hard on urself! Going to infant care or any child care centre is like that, one baby down with virus, the whole lot will be down (most of the time). Besides, going to infant care is the last option that all parents want to do.

Pig, yup.. I still keep my ROM dress in my closet. I hope that Claire will be able to wear my ROM dress & Kua when she gets married in the future!

hi ladies, been awhile since I chatted wif u all. Cos work is Crazy!

Catherine, take care at least the worst part is over. I'm sure u wan the best for jovan dun beat urself up abt him falling sick yah. Jus focus on norishing him back to gd health! Hugz..

Wow Yany cool stuff.. muffins with icing on top somemore!! Agree wif Kitty u can be our cake baker for the event!

Wa all the wedding pics on display. so nice. ;)

you ladies make me blush. I am an amateur only as I am baking most of the stuff for the 1st time. I have interest and I guess that helps ;)

I wouldn't dare make cake for parties. Too much pressure!!!

k@ye
Ya. both of us are about the same height only 1.5m and big eyes and big nose too. I'm fairer and he's tan, my hubby is a life guard. So Leroy looks more like him than me.

yany,
you're baking the things for the 1st time and they all turn out so fabulous! i want to get tips from you! been wanting to make cup cakes and do decoration on the top like urs... but how to do those decoration ah?

pig... you are so cute as a baby! got the cheeky look... hehehe.

plim,
its all about camera angle... hahaha. Hide the imperfections ;)
on the decorations, its only whipped cream and some food colouring. I learnt from the other thread, use non-dairy so it stays on. Dairy ones taste better but will melt in our hot weather. The brown part - melted chocolate ;)

yany,
wah...1st time and all of them turned out so fantastic leh... makes everyone drool...

i'm a complete idi*t when it comes to baking but seeing your creations, so tempting to give it a try too!
if i can recall CORRECTLY, i've only done a non-bake oreo cheesecake ONCE in my life! muahahaa... but muffins & cupcakes of yours, yumm....

Just something popped into my head after seeing all the wedding pictures!

So tempted to work in a bridal shop and help ladies become beautiful & Pretty brides!

Kitty, the only time i baked is during Home Econs class in Sec sch! That's like so long ago!

Cat: hang in there. Jiayou
Jovan will be back to his own self again in no time. Will pray for him

Mega Birthday Bash Dates Suggestion!

1st Nov 08
1. Plumsource
2. Kaye
3. Mambobb

15th Nov 08
1. Mambobb
2. Kaye

catherine : take care and dun take it upon yourself the blame that jovan is unwell ... we all have our "constraints". he's a strong boy and will come through even stronger! u have to take care and stay healthy! *hugs*

plim : i dun think i got married young leh...more like i am old now liao lor. hahaha

mambobb : i only have 1 wedding date -- so very easy to count ...heehee

k@ye : hahaha -- tat's an idea ... i will have to check it out over here the photography ... hahahaha...but sekali very ex ;p u r so fortunate to have home made dresses!!

pig : kiros does look like u!!! and u r such a cute baby too :p

birthday bash : hope u all have fun at the event!

seeing gloomybear's video makes me feel like wanting to get married and take wedding pic all over again!
seeing all your wedding pic then i realised how old i am compared to all of u! time really flies... i am married for 10 years already!
can't believe it!
all your pic so nice, mine so lao pok. think must take again. hehehe

birthday bash? i like!! can use yany's muffin? look so nice.

1st Nov 08
1. Plumsource
2. Kaye
3. Mambobb

15th Nov 08
1. Mambobb
2. Kaye
3. Queenaire

Dreamer, another suggestion for ur wedding photos to be retaken. There are local photographers (SG) who got arrange overseas location for photoshoots. Mabbe u can liaise with them and ask them to con ppl to go Holland..... Then, u might get cheaper photography prices!

Yany, got demand for your muffins & cupcakes liao! HEhe, if u re not working by then, mabbe u shd bake the goodies for the party!

1st Nov 08
1. Plumsource
2. Kaye
3. Mambobb
4. Langlao (prefer)

15th Nov 08
1. Mambobb
2. Kaye
3. Queenaire

Heng ah, kiros looks like me. if more like my hubby i will faint liao. people said that baby boys will resemble mummies and baby girls resemble daddies, i hope it wont be true in my case.

Kaye,
Me too. The last i baked was during sec 2 home econs. i still remember i baked 'rock buns'..sigh, been so many years liao wo..

pig, i took technical cos during my time can dun take home econ one. i heard home econ very diff to score, haha. ya rem the home econ girls always make rock buns & bathe babies.

langlao3,
during my time home econs is for girls. technical for boys. reached sec 3, i got streamed to dont know what funny class.. no more home econs. i dont mind cooking, but i cant stand sewing..

pig me too, hate sewing. one ting i remembered fr home econs was i was so "embarassed" cos suppose to sew a "blouse" for ourselves...then dunno y mine end up super small (everyone else was OK) ... teacher ask me if i sewed it for my doll??!?!!?!! lol.

but cooking i love .... i remember making kueh dadar (is that how one spells it?) yummzzzz....

dreamer,
you shld tell teacher that the dress is for mini you. for your baby next time. hahaha..

i took my sis's piece of old work and improvised it and submitted it. Got seen thru by the teachers as the hemmings were so different. Mine of course was more untidy.kekeke

1st Nov 08
1. Plumsource
2. Kaye
3. Mambobb
4. Langlao (prefer)

15th Nov 08
1. Mambobb
2. Kaye
3. Queenaire
4. weishy(TBC but really loved 2,hv 2 wait til nov roster out :p )

1st Nov 08
1. Plumsource
2. Kaye
3. Mambobb
4. Langlao (prefer)
5. Poissons (cos 15 Nov is my boy's exact birthdate, need to celebrate for him with my families)

15th Nov 08
1. Mambobb
2. Kaye
3. Queenaire

ahhh, mine is on 28Oct.. so i guess maybe i should join OCT party and Nov party..haahaahaa.

1st Nov 08
1. Plumsource
2. Kaye
3. Mambobb
4. Langlao (prefer)
5. Poissons (cos 15 Nov is my boy's exact birthdate, need to celebrate for him with my families)
6. Grace

15th Nov 08
1. Mambobb
2. Kaye
3. Queenaire

Hi, any mummies interested to try out Gymboree at Tanglin Mall? I've actually registered for the trial class next Sunday, 20 July from 1215 to 100. Just wondering who might be interested to go together.

Catherine, dun worry. I believe that you have given ur best and ur baby knows it too. u must be strong, he can feel it.

Birthday Bash
1st Nov 08
1. Plumsource
2. Kaye
3. Mambobb
4. Langlao (prefer)
6. Grace
7. Gillian

i wish to exchange the following milk brands Dumex Mamil
Friso
Nestle-Nan 2
Similac stage 2
Wyeth-Promil Gold

for enfapro A+,
if interested,please pm me

Hi mummies, been following the thread but on and off only.
Went to KL with Eliza last weekend, tiring!! actually it's the bus ride that's tiring la..imagine 6hrs in the bus...boring. and my gal ah...cannot sit still one, plus i can't really pace up and down the coach. i think it's cos it's a really different environment, and a lot of ppl always wanting to play with her, she was quite clingy to me most of the time. feeding her solids was difficult, out of 4 meals only 2 successful. but a good try to get out of SG la..i think i rather take a plane. hoho.
still she was really cute la...she slept really well at night and also very happy to be out gaigai.
1551297.jpg

catherine,
hope Jovan is doing better now, we all mums can understand how it is when our babies get sick, it's not easy, but u'll pull thru well too.

haa..i'll post up my wedding photos soon..it's in some cd somewhere...inspire me to look thru all those photos again! and the big big album hor..gosh i'm not sure where i put it le!

gloomybear
Congrats again! All 3 of u looks gorgeous on that day. Baby Arielle is so adorable and looks just like you.

Catherine
Hope bb Jovan is feeling fine now. Take care and be strong. Maybe you would like to consider sending him to a nanny instead so that he will be better looked after.

You ladies volunteered my baking services ah? hehehehe.

I'm stressed over my upcoming exam next sat. I so lost interest in studies already... so to make myself feel better, bake a cake instead of studying... lol.

Tried making zebra cake but made a mistake of using a different oil. Looks ok but does not taste so good
Boys didn't like it much

1554711.jpg
1554712.jpg

Oh... dd just had her 3rd tooth and I see the 4th coming out soon. 2 on the botton and soon, we will see 2 on top! New teeth are so sharp.... ouch!

Yany, what exams u taking? I kpo!

Wow, is that cake also called marble cake?

Talking abt teeth, Claire still has one only! Wondering when the rest will emerge!

Hi K@ye

oh... taking a marketing degree but getting way too old for studies! Started out ok... but now lost interest... lol.

Followed this receipe that call it zebra cake.. slightly different from a marble cake in terms of how the batter is poured into the pan... lol.

Better they have teeth later.... lesser chance for it to have cavities plus it makes BF so much easier ... tee hee hee

Hi, I am selling Baby Brain Flashcards Dvds. Items are all brand new in packaging distributed from the company. Would you be interested to get it? It comes in the following:
1) English Level 1
2) English Level 2
3) Chinese Level 1
4) Chinese Level 2
I provided the link below for your reference. Please check it out and get back to me if you are interested. I am selling it at $14 per disc. Retail price is $16.90. Please confirm your order with me so that I can put you on the waiting list. Shipment will arrive latest by next weekend. Collection will be at Hougang / Sengkang. Other venues can be discussed. Thank you.
http://www.babybrainflashcards.com/
Please get back to me at:

morn ladies.

We finally saw one tooth emerging, it is a whitish spot now

DD has a fiery temper, she'll cry & struggle if we take away things that she wants. Hiaz, she will prob grow up a spoilt brat

Yany, it takes skills to fail marketing! So, i m sure you can pass!

Yup, lesser teeth now better, dun hv to worry about cavities!

Langlao, Claire also sama sama like Ash... Things she dun like will cry & struggle, if not turn her head away from us to show that she buey song!

No lah, wont become a spoilt brat. We just have to teach them lor... When Claire's mood is better, i will tell her that she should not behave in such a way... Dunno whether she will know but at least i got do my job!