(2007/11) November MTBs

i am from dec 07.
my bb having constipation. tot of giving her banana.
any mummies given their bb banana yet? is it ok?

Poochi, thanks for the advice.

Is there any SAHM here? I am a working mother and now having maid problems. I just changed my maid because the previous one was really proud and refuse to take instruction from my mum. And this current one, just worked 1 day... tell me she missed her children and want to go home. Sigh... I am seriously thinking of quiting and be a stay home mum... But I am really puzzled if I can be a good one.

jonas's mummy,
I am s SAHM n im enjoying every minute!

suzanne,
do u know whats the best way to get from brisbane to gold coast? thot of renting a car, is it easy to drive up? how long is the ride? or is it better just to get a cab?

langlao3,
i blur leh. i tot is $500/mth for each baby for the private swimming lesson. aiyor stupid mummy! i'm interested in the lesson! who else?

wow i din know so many mummies live ard here
can join me & gace in the "Tiong baru/telok blangah/bt merah 2006-2007 babies n mummies" thread http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353640/1016999.html?1214527706
ok let me make a list (in alphabetical order)

Nov'07 Mummies staying in Redhill/Bukit Merah/Queenstown
1. Catherine - bukit merah central [email protected]
2. fushiastar
3. Grace
4. k@ye - opp redhill mrt
5. langlao3 - dover park view
6. poissons - dover cres, opp St John St Magaret Church [email protected]

langlao, i am quite interested in the swimming class. But my time schedule only permits wkends so maybe i'll have to be a lone ranger and bring my boy alone.

Ueno, from the airport, take the Gateway Motorway which continues onto the South East Freeway (M1) and it will bring you straight to surfers paradise. Really easy. The drive is about 1 and a half hrs. Oh i would loooove to go Brisbane now. We were supposed to go end of the yr for my brother's graduation but then my hubby got news about his posting to Airzona and burned all my plans. Sigh...

hey skye, what are you planning to feed your gal durign the trip? only cereal? or you plan to cook there?

plim,
added yr blog to mine too! The Nov mummies blog listing is growing...

keki,
my DD eats all kind of fuits from apple to banana, even grape (a teeny bit only) & papaya! But she usually has gd bowel movement (once or twice a day) - if you have started solid, maybe needs to increase fluid intake too?

plumsource/ueno,
so sorry abt organising the gathering at GoGoBambini. ok here goes. pls indicate ur preference next to ur nick.

Gathering @ GoGoBambini
Blk 8 Dempsey Road, #01-15 Tanglin Village
Free for under 2
http://www.gogobambini.com/
1. ueno
2. k@ye
3. cactusnah
4. plumsource
5. S@L (weekdays only)
6. grace
7. Suzanne
8. catherine (weekends only, not free on 6Jul)

ueno,
I only bought 4 tees for my boy, was seeking high and low for the $9.90 shirt you mentioned but nowhere to be found, must have been all snatched up. the bottoms were quite expensive ($39~$49.90)so didn't get any. Saw Grace's hubby there, he damn good, grabbed so many stuff before she came, my hubby will not even want to shop together with me during sales

Gathering @ GoGoBambini
Free for under 2
1. ueno ( anytime,anyday)
2. k@ye
3. cactusnah
4. plumsource
5. S@L (weekdays only)
6. grace
7. Suzanne (wkends preferred, not free on 6Jul)

Gathering @ GoGoBambini
Free for under 2
2. k@ye
3. cactusnah
4. plumsource
5. S@L (weekdays only)
6. grace
7. Suzanne
9. poissons (weekends only, if sat have to be after 2pm cos' got part time helper coming)

hi ueno, suzanne
how to travel with young kid? we are planning an overseas trip at year end after my hub finishes his exam but i am ultra paranoid with travelling with baby.
I recalled I asked PD whether I could bring my 5th month old baby then to japan in april, he said I am asking for trouble.
what precaution do your take on board the plane?
air circulation is poor and if anyone has any form of sickness, babies can get it easily with their low immunity.

Ueno, i think if u take a cab. The charges might be more expensive than renting a car.

Dokie, strange har... My PD din gave me such comments when i asked her about bringing Claire to travel. She only told me to get all the shots done.

Wow Grace husband well trained in shopping leh!!! Hehe, must train my hubby to reach Grace's husband std liao! Actually, i think my hubby is super onz when it comes to shopping for Claire.

Poissons, u not KS. Its called just in case, rather buy bigger size than smaller size!

Kitty, feeling better liao?

dokie,
wat nonsense yr PD is saying! maybe he is the very conservative type, this mummy here v garang! i brought L to melbourne twice alredy, 1st time when he was abt 2mths n 2nd time he was 4.5mths. i never think it was hard to travel with a small bb especially when i was TBF, no btls super easy. Now i considered it for a long time cos of the solid food. After much deliberation, i decided that it is possible so went ahead with my traveling plans.
But again, it depends on the parents, how cpmfortable r u with the idea?

k@ye,
i think garreth might be able to fit in the 3-4 yrs shirts cos zara cutting is pretty slim cut, the length might be a tad long though. if she bought the 2-3yrs, might be only just nice.

poissons,
did u try it on him yet?

Ueno, its true... Now our babies on solid foods, really have to think twice abt travelling with them!

Ya, Zara 's cutting all slim type even for the adults one!

Skye², i also got the similar experience as u last nite. Claire was howling and big tear drops was falling, she was in her crawling position on the floor. When i carried her up, there was a big bump on her head! Aiyo, no wonder her cries so loud! I heartbroken when i saw that bump and her tears!

The funny part is my hubby and i discuss abt how she got that bump while i was feeding her water to soothe her. My hubby says a string of comments directing at her, then she buey song and gave that kind of "hmph" look & turn her face away!

ueno,
hehe..the 3-4yrs old too big for him, maybe can fit in another 2 mths time, I showed my mum, she keep shaking her head. the other 2 tees i bought the 4-5yrs old size, shld fit him when he turns 1yr old or for CNY bah.

ueno,would suggest you rent a car cos it's really easy to get around when you have a car.
You can drive to HarbourTown where they have the factory outlets. SO you can do some shopping, and you can bring your boy to the beach at surfer's paradise. Wah you're v brave to travel with your kiddo somemore twice oredi!

Dokie, i can't advise cos i NEVER travelled with my boy on a plane before which is why i am so worried he'll act up during flight. But my PD did say that it won't be a problem travelling. In fact, babies are very adaptable. My PD also said the same thing as Kaye's PD get all the shots done. Which is why i made him take influenza jabs just in case...

K@ye, are you thinking of any theme for your little girl's birthday? I don't have any in particular. My daughter doesn't watch Sesame Street so, don't know about Elmo or Barney, etc. She likes "Hi-5" though. I was joking with my hubby and told him we can't afford to fly them down for her birthday even though very rich. Ha, ha... So I'm thinking of a generic theme.

poissons,
u forgot to paste Suzanne's reply

Gathering @ GoGoBambini
Free for under 2
2. k@ye
3. cactusnah
4. plumsource
5. S@L (weekdays only)
6. grace
9. poissons (weekends only, if sat have to be after 2pm cos' got part time helper coming)

suzanne, ueno,
i was thinking of a trip to Brisbane / Gold Coast in Sept leh! hehe, so your info comes just in time... however, hvn't book anything yet... still hesistating cos Aust. exchg rate quite high and comparable to US rates liao... haiz...
anyway, even if i go, will juz bring my elder gal... cannot bring 2... very difficult to handle...

love to hear more advices on where to go, what is good in Brisbane!

Gathering @ GoGoBambini
Free for under 2
2. k@ye
3. cactusnah
4. plumsource
5. S@L (weekdays only)
6. grace
10. Jaclyn (weekdays and sat afternoon free. Wed aft not free)

Zara & Mango Sale: Was out with friends at Vivo City yesterday. Din have the chance to go shopping coz by the time we finished yakking, all the shops closed, what a waste! Ueno, u're gd. Can manage to grab 10 t-shirts.

Anyway, my galfriends and i went to this Carnivore Brazilian restaurant, all 5 of us LS! So guilty after the dinner coz we ate all kinds of meat, FATTENING!

Fruits puree:
mummies, may i know do i need to cook the papaya or banana before grind/bland it? or can just serve straight? I know pear and apple need to steam and the puree.. not too sure on papaya & banana.. 1st time doing this for my girl =p

Mambobb, i just mashed the banana up and serve it straight to Claire.

Plim, Gold Coast got theme parks and factory outlets. Brisbane, i went for the weekend mkt at this park where they have a man made beach.

I just went to Zara at Vivo, all the good stuff kena grabbed, managed to buy a nice romper for Claire. Too bad their dresses out of budget if not i will buy!

mambobb,
papaya n banana, i just mash them with a fork n serve. i have stopped steaming my fruit, i cut them into small cubes n i feed directly

mambo,

i tried to puree banana for my boy yest..
its very disgusting leh, after puree it looks like phlegm...sorry for such disgusting desc...
im gonna try mashing it for him tmr, dunno if he knows how to swallow...
any other mummies tried banana oledi??

Plim, u can go to the Sunday Market at Eagle Street Pier, I like to go there when I was in Brisbane.

Man-made beach that k@ye is talking abt is call South Bank, normally very crowded on weekend.

Jona,

I am also a SAHM. It can be a tad boring at times but I am also glad that I have the luxury to be there for my kids. I also have a maid to help out. The good thing about being a SAHM is the fact that you can bring up your kids the way you want to and not worry about how 'other' people are treating them.

Zare sales,
Aiyo, I just went to Marina Sq thinking that they had children section but they didn't!! It was very crowded, not worth it in my view, I tried on 10 items and walked out with nothing!! What a waste of time. However Mango sales is much better. The crowd at Zara went throught the clothes like they were buying veggies at the market...pick up and toss to one side. (im also guilty of that) hehe

cactusnah,
How was the restaurant? recmmendable?

Gathering @ GoGoBambini
Free for under 2
2. k@ye
3. cactusnah
4. plumsource (prefer wkdays, wkend only make it on sun)
5. S@L (weekdays only)
6. grace
10. Jaclyn (weekdays and sat afternoon free. Wed aft not free)

Plim, i cant bear to leave baby in singapore.

ueno, suzanne , thanks. Actually I brought my elder son to states at 15th month for vacation.
it was tough managing him but it is still enjoyable. but shortly after i returned he was very sick and hospitalised.
that is why it worries me to bring my baby there.

even havent decide, i even bought a food processor steamer, cum sterilizer etc from forum for the year end trip..ha ha ha

anyone notice their babies cross their fingers?

with fruits u shld just go with the texture, if its soft fruit then it can be mashed and baby can swallow, shouldn't be a problem.

plumsource,
hmm... mine cross her arms leh.. din notice abt fingers.

I have started serving mashed fruits too, no longer puree.

I also no longer steam fruits for my boy. Serve fresh and mashed. Eagan dun like steam apple coz the apple turns sour after steaming. He loves fruit juice and can finish 90ml of apple juice (+ water) at one go, but if we give him plain water, he'll pretend to cough and choke. I'm worry he is not taking enuff plain water.

plumsource: The restaurant ambience is nice and cosy, the service is gd and the food yummy. Just that it gets a little irritating when the waiters keep coming to u asking if u want any food (they go round the restaurant with different kinds of kebab), it was like once every 5mins and it interupts our conversation (though most of the waiters are quite handsome, ha ha...) Also, all 5 of us "lao sai" after the meal:p

Fruits to bb:
oh, so we can start serving fruits to bb without puree them.. heehee.. okok.. but I heard that banana will cause constipation leh O_O".. think I will go and get small amt of banana & papaya for my ger and smash them when i free.. hohoho.. me busy working and only weekend free.. and when weekends comes, too tired to do anything and prefer to bring her out to expose her more of outside world rather than staying at home.

Travel with bb:
I'm thinking of bring my girl next year after she is 1yr but DH said his colleagues all complaining of how troublsome of bring bb/kids when oversea. So prefer not to bring her along. Me also cant bear to leave her back in spore.. haha.. mummy also has separation aniexty. hehee

Mambobb: Looking at the restaurant, the cleaniness shld be an "A" but not sure why. And i dun have sensitive stomach, so if i also LS, then it must be something wrong le.

mambo,

im facing the same prob as u leh..
i oso planning on a trip with hubby end of the yr but he doesnt wanna bring my boy along...
like u, i have separation anxiety oso...

Talking abt travelling with children, it is troublesome to a certain extent. Travelling with adults can also be troublesome.

At the end of the day, it depends on how prepared u re! I think as long as u keep an open mind and be amused by the funny/idiotic/frustrating things that might arise during the trip. It will be an experience.

PS: I dun like to travel with my hubby, i find that travelling with Claire is even more fun!

plim, I love Noosa which is at sunshine coast it's about 2 hrs drive from brisbane, you can stop by the pineapple plantation, the macadamia nut factory, lass house mountians, Australian Zoo (Steve Irwin's one), but that's only if you are really looking into hanging out at the beach and the sidewalk cafes really really slow pace.

If you prefer to go somewhere where there's more crowd then surfer's paradise will be good, cos there's dreamworld, seaworld movie world, there also the beach and quite a number of shopping places around.

Brisbane city itself not much there, southbank tt ZZZ mentioned, they have markets there every friday. Mt Cootha is a look out place. Lots of nice place to eat, quite convenient to travel around using the citycat.

Haha you want somemore info you PM me better if nto too much to write about