Plim:
I think diff people got diff taste so what taste very nice to me may not suit someone else. I’m perfectly happy with the taste without any salt at all… However, I think one thing that might affect the taste is how you combine the ingredients. I realized that just “hambalang” throw in everything won’t work. According to my amateurish experimenting, there has to be one or two ingredients from each of the three categories to make a great soup. Too many of any one category will spoil the soup. The 3 cats are: the “sweet” taste, the “savory” taste and the “softening” effect to make the taste more mellow and fragrant.
“Sweet” category – soya bean, black beans, peanuts, corn, onions, dried dates, lotus roots, lettuce
“Savory” Category – all Meat and seafood (so just choose one or two types)
“Softening” Category – potatos, carrots, tofu, mushrooms, cabbage, eggs, tomatoes, watercress, broccoli
So if you observe all those traditional soups, they more or less follow the same formula eg red dates+pork ribs+watercress or onions+chicken+carrots or fish lettuce+fish slices+tofu… aiyah… just my insane ramblings… sorry if I bore anyone
Gemini:
It’s good to avoid red meats and seafood but what about chicken and fish? Also I think, I think only huh… the old folks can’t really think of a good name for that traditional recipe and so jus any o how give the ang mo name to sound more cheem… LOL….
Re: Going overseas
I’m going Melborne this Aug to be my best friend’s Maid of honour! YEAH!!! So looking forward to it! Baby will definitely come with me cos I’m a SAHM but dunno if my hubby can get his leave approved or not…
S@L:
YES! Pls have another gathering… so sad I miss the previous one due to our illness…
K@ye:
Thanks about the “mei cai”… so available in bottle izit?… I’ll look around next trip to shop and save…
Your girl Claire already so good… only give you pissed face. Joash will scream bloody murder whenever I do anything to his face (every time I wipe his face and dry his ears during bath time and when I take out mucus from his nose during his flu… I think the neighbour must think that I periodically torture my son sadistically…. Sigh…
Pig:
Don’t worry about it lah… I guess… I guess only huh, most of us just do all these cos we enjoy it, so nothing that noble. Everyone is diff so its ok. No pressure. If you have the luxury of not “lifting a finger” why not just enjoy your tai tai lifestyle? Why make your life difficult? Heh heh…