(2007/11) November MTBs

Gemini19, wow! You're fantastic! I love macarons! Really admire you leh
Where did you learn from? I've been wanting to learn how to make them but I know it's not easy. And I like the different flavors like Rose, Hazelnut, Blueberry, etc. I found a cheaper alternative to buy at Bakerzin, which I feel is reasonable.

gemini ... can u boxed some macaroons and send them to me please??
heehee

all the supermummies here!! look after kids well, work or look after home well, bake well, make soup well .... !!! muz give some awards out next time!!!

Seeing you all baking so well and managing baby and working really make me feel so shameful of myself.. sigh...

me not working yet not lifting a finger to cook or even learn to bake. Feel so useless lei..

Re: Sweet stuff
Wow, you gals are great. All the pastries look so yummy... I got a sweet tooth... Pack some and send to Shanghai for me. haha

Pig07, how's everything with you now? Havent seen you post for a while? Everything stable and ok?

Finally brought Matt to swim, but guess what? After all that trouble to dress him and inflate him huge whale float, we found that the pool in our development is under maintenance. What a bad timing since it's summer already... But I was determined to let him "Swim" today. So we went back upstrs and filled the bath tub with water. Check out some of the photos...

Matt in his swim diapers
1457059.jpg

Matt in his Froggie swimming costume
1457060.jpg

Matt in his whale float (on land) haha
1457061.jpg

Finally, Matt "swimming" in the bath tub
1457062.jpg

weishy,
wow admire you for all the flying... I have always wanted to do a regional role so that I can travel, but then never got down to it. Now with Matt, it's even harder. How do you manage?

brought Leroy to PD today, he has bronchitis. he needs to use the nebuliser, thank God he's ok with the mask over his face. poor baby..

grace,
when ash had that the other time, she took a long time to recover? PD said the cough might last longer, is it true?

Plim:
I think diff people got diff taste so what taste very nice to me may not suit someone else. I’m perfectly happy with the taste without any salt at all… However, I think one thing that might affect the taste is how you combine the ingredients. I realized that just “hambalang” throw in everything won’t work. According to my amateurish experimenting, there has to be one or two ingredients from each of the three categories to make a great soup. Too many of any one category will spoil the soup. The 3 cats are: the “sweet” taste, the “savory” taste and the “softening” effect to make the taste more mellow and fragrant.

“Sweet” category – soya bean, black beans, peanuts, corn, onions, dried dates, lotus roots, lettuce
“Savory” Category – all Meat and seafood (so just choose one or two types)
“Softening” Category – potatos, carrots, tofu, mushrooms, cabbage, eggs, tomatoes, watercress, broccoli

So if you observe all those traditional soups, they more or less follow the same formula eg red dates+pork ribs+watercress or onions+chicken+carrots or fish lettuce+fish slices+tofu… aiyah… just my insane ramblings… sorry if I bore anyone

Gemini:
It’s good to avoid red meats and seafood but what about chicken and fish? Also I think, I think only huh… the old folks can’t really think of a good name for that traditional recipe and so jus any o how give the ang mo name to sound more cheem… LOL….

Re: Going overseas
I’m going Melborne this Aug to be my best friend’s Maid of honour! YEAH!!! So looking forward to it! Baby will definitely come with me cos I’m a SAHM but dunno if my hubby can get his leave approved or not…

S@L:
YES! Pls have another gathering… so sad I miss the previous one due to our illness…

K@ye:
Thanks about the “mei cai”… so available in bottle izit?… I’ll look around next trip to shop and save…
Your girl Claire already so good… only give you pissed face. Joash will scream bloody murder whenever I do anything to his face (every time I wipe his face and dry his ears during bath time and when I take out mucus from his nose during his flu… I think the neighbour must think that I periodically torture my son sadistically…. Sigh…

Pig:
Don’t worry about it lah… I guess… I guess only huh, most of us just do all these cos we enjoy it, so nothing that noble. Everyone is diff so its ok. No pressure. If you have the luxury of not “lifting a finger” why not just enjoy your tai tai lifestyle? Why make your life difficult? Heh heh…

Hi Tinkabel and mummies,

I am doing good. everything is going on fine. Hitting 2nd trimester next week.

Matt is so cute in his swimwear. Is tat swim diapers from huggies? I have got a sample from Huggies too. But didnt use it last sunday when I brought him out for a swim. I clad him in his shorts and a singlet. Ha ha.. very last minute decision to bring him go 'swimming'.

Hi Jacyln,

I think i better learn to whip up some dishes soon. I suppose my hubby will sometimes think in his heart tat i ought to be learning to cook.

Sigh, but the thought that packed dinner is so convenient vs cooking, really deter me from learning to cook.

tinkerbel,
wah i like the whale float..so cute. actually i got a float for ash too, plus neck float plus costume. but hor recently due to hfmd, i dare not bring to public pool yet.

ueno,
oh dear..poor leroy. he must have caught a bad virus like ash that time. she struggles everytime i neub her. she hates the mask. it does take a long time to recover and she lost quite abit of weight and never gain back already since now she is so active. i so sad abt her cute tum tum gone.do keep leroy at home for a while. till the whizzing sound is gone. hope he gets well soon...

langlao3

grace
Your gal is so beautifully taken by the studio really worth it!

k@ye
how do yr hb mani and pedi for your gal? I might hv to do it for my gal as her nails are usually very sharp and she tend to scratch her face.

weishy
so you are a stewardess? So how do you manage your baby?

tinkerbel
Matt is so cute in his froggie swimming costume.

ueno
HOpe Leroy recovers soon!

Ueno

Hope Leroy will recover soon. Don't worry too much k. Like wat Grace mentioned, jus quarantine him for this period of time. =) When Jaydyn was 3mths old, she also fell sick. Took so many different types of medication which didnt work. Also took neubuliser which also didnt work for her. In e end, went to another PD, in a wk's time, she was well. She was ill for a mth and only put on 200g then. Haha! sorry for my grandmother story. so long... To put it simply, I think Leroy is a strong boy and he'll be up in no time. Jus be there for him. =)

Grace,
I love Ash's pics! I always like to see her pics. I think she's reali very lovely and she resembles u a lot! I always show Ash's pics to my hubby. haha!

Mummies who hv brought babies overseas before.
What should I bring along for 4D3N trip to Malaysia? Going for church camp. But wondering how to sterilise her bottles,etc. I even bought an inflatable bath tub as there is none at the hotel. As for her swim suit, where I can buy 1? If it's size 1, is it suitable for her cos she's quite petite in size. She's ard 6.4kg. Any advise for me? Need all your eyes to help me check my 'blind spots'.

Oh ya! Is it necessary for me to bringing my own cooled boiled water there to make her milk? Cos I think it's not advisable to use mineral/ distilled water ya? Also, should I bring her pureed food there to feed her or jus give her milk for the 4 days?

As for swimming, can i buy a swimming costume or swim suit for her? Swimming costume very pretty and cute but wonder whether the water will be too cold for her. Any advise? Thanks!

Tinkabel, Matt is so cute!! Quite a damper to know that the pool is under maintenance whereby u are all prepared for Matt's big swim!

Weishy, that's a lot of places!!! Yup, babies are active now so even though they eat more but they burn more calories! So no worries for Hayley!

Jaclyn, "mei cai" i dun think is being sold in a bottle. My Mum usually gets it from those provision shops in the mkt.

Gemini, YUM!!! I want i want!!!

Jules, still can bring your children to HK but Natalie won;t be able to appreciate Ocean Park or Disneyland now till she is a bit older.

Ueno, oh dear! How s Leroy coping now? Getting better?

Pig, how re u? Nvm abt cooking lah, now u gotta cope with pregnancy and Kiros who is definitely getting more active. How re u going to have the mood to cook? Dun stress urself! I also can't cook to save myself! Now, i bo bian gotta cook porridge for Claire and i m usin the slow cooker only!

NewMummy, we bought many sizes of nail clippers, got super big, small and one for cutting cuticles to trim the nails on Claire. After that, my hubby will file her nails. At first, Claire will be super fidgety.. Now she s used to it, so she will stay still and enjoy her mani & pedi session!

Gemini,
your macarons looks delicious. Very professional looking but I agree with you... it is sweet
I know my son would love it coz I made meringues and he couldn't stop eating those!
Hence my decision to make cheese biscuits instead. At least got calcium instead of empty calories! I'll post the recipe later as I need to type it out... lol.

Jay,
Was just thinking... instead of just milk for 4 days, why not try those jar babyfood? Its convenient and you can choose from so many diff flavuor. If they do have a jug to boil water, no need to bring so much water. Just boil at the hotel and leave to cool

Ueno,
Poor Leroy. I did that for Kyra when she was just 2 months old as her brothers were coming back with cold/cough germs from school. She did great and recovered really soon. My oldest hated it at first but now... seems to love the it... strange!

pig,
I only dabble in the kitchen once in a while. My hubby used to complain that I only cook when I entertain

Tinkable,
So funny about Matt and his swim... hehehe. Love his froggy costume.... too cute and comes with hood somemore. ;)

Hello mummies! Always gotta speed read since there're so many posts. Hehe...

Think i saw postings abt enrichment classes? Me also keen in bringing my bb to those trial classes.

Gemini,Yany, all the pics of your work makes me drool. Yummy Yummy!

Pig, dun feel useless. You ought to rest well. I shld be more ashamed... I'm a SAHM also and doing nothing at all. Everyday,just nua at home.

Ueno, hope your bb recovers soon! Take care!

Jay, I'll be going to msia too. My plan is, besides giving bb milk, I'll be bringing a mini cooker to cook brown rice. Will bring apple and pear for him too. As for water, I dunno whether I should bring my own or boil the water there.

ai yo... all the bakeries makes me so hungry leh.... i used to bake also.. but now so lazy.. esp washing up. Last time got my mummy to wash for me... now i have to wash myself. heee

brought my gal swimming over the weekend. It was real fun!

1458722.jpg

1458723.jpg

tinkabel, matt is so so cute!!! Love him

ueno, glad to hear that Leroy is feeling better today. You better take good care of yourself too. Drink lots of water.

gloomybear, i agree with you, watching our baby swim really is a joy.

Yesterday took Ashlee for a swim & ended up I caught a cold. Luckily Ashlee is fine. Perhaps the thermal swim suit kept her warm. Here a video of her chasing after a ball in the pool:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y2r1EcajXjU

Gloomybear, seems that Arielle enjoys her mushroom float more than the neck float! She looks so unhappy in the 2nd photo!

Langlao, Ashlee is so cute!!! I think she can do w/o the float later on!!!

Think, i must ask my PD when i can bring Claire for water play liao!!!

Hi K@ye,

me still ok.. keeping my fingers crossed. so far no morning sickness.. and seems better compared to my first pregnancy..ssshhhhhhh

Ya Ya.. we also using slow cooker for the porridge for Kiros. Anyone heard of baby falling sick as using slow cooker to cook porridge instead of over the fire? I thot it doesnt make sense but...hmmm.. someone told me about it before.

Hi Larryle,

Ya.. sometimes me thinking if i am wasting time boh? or if i should be doing something constructive and meaningful at tis stage when kiros is growing up. But hor, i simply watch tvb serial la, play online games, sleep, and using pc.. anything except teaching kiros new things..

Now me staying at my parents place, will be tough to cook..but maybe i should learn to cook smething tat wont dirty the kitchen easily like steamed food or anything over slow fire..

Hi Gloomybear,

why are you asking about the song? you want the song? can download from internet right?

Good morning mummies, FYI

Motherhood Exhibition - Even Bigger Than Last Year
on 5-8 June, 12noon - 10pm at Singapore Expo Hall 5A

Pig, my Mama told me that using slow cooker to cook things, the stuff might be heaty. MAbbe that's the reason y someone told u that will get sick. But cooking porridge wont coz porridge is cooling by nature!

Poissons: Fed Eagan Pototoe + Brocolli & milk over the weekend, he loves it. Me worried he'll lost more weight since they're starting to crawl (not yet though).

Ueno: Hope Leroy recovers well. Take care.

Aiyo, u mummies always post pic of pastry to tempt us. I used to cook, but aft married i dun coz my HB is a much better cook than me. He'll savour his food and tell me what ingredients are inside the dish, i'll go "huh, dunno lei" coz i'll swallow the entire thing down my throat. And he is very particular abt presentation, he likes to decorate his food, so i prefer to let him do it.

Tinkabel: Eagan has the same whale float. His 奶奶 got it for him. It's gd coz the toy entertains him abit.

Sorry to disturb.

Anyone interested to work for 3 months doing data entry work in a hospital environment. That person will work in a office. Don't need to type very fast but must pay attention to details. And must be able to commit to 3 months of work.

For more details please contact Veron at 91729703

Yany & Larryle

Thanks for both your inputs. =) Think maybe bring some cooled boiled water there for a start then boil water in the hotel subsequently. I might bring her rice cereal there. ya, might buy those commercial puree food. =)

Gloomybear
Arielle looks very cute in that mushroom float! haha! Is she wearing the usual baby swimming costume? Which time of the day did u bring her to swim?

Langlao3
wah! your darling reali loves to swim ya! So cute!

Cactus,
that's gd..i think anything with potato is yummy, i juz made some sweet potato with broccoli and pumpkin with broccoli over the wkend, hope garreth love them as well. spinach puree got this strong stinking vege smell on its own, so i mix with cereals and he's ok too. basically he eats everything la..and he's quite impatient if i feed too slowly..he will go "ho ho ho"..as if telling me to speed up. haha...the sight is so funny.

anyone going to the Motherhood exhibition?

So far, i had given Claire spinach, potato, pumpkins, carrots and some other green veggies. She utterly hates those green veggies and potatoes, she only likes carrots & pumpkins.

My Mum told me not to give that to her everyday as she s afraid that Claire will turn yellow.

Mummies with beco carriers,

I tried mine over the wkends and realised that it's quite a challenge to "slot" my boy in (after putting both his legs into the pocket, quite difficult to pull up the back webbing (the one with design behind) and buckle up. My boy so fed up with me during our first attempt and I sweated buckets just to fit him in and adjust him properly..wonder if you have any tips to share to make the process quicker and easier? Thanks!

poissons, did u loosen the 2 straps for full allowance to slot him in? i find buckling up a real challenge too without any help. tats y i said 4th gen is really much easier to use. but butterfly is good n i finally realised tt its cooler than 4th gen cos body to body contact is lesser.initially i tot is warmer cos of the extra layers.

another way is u can try buckling Garreth (sitted on a chair) in it first then u swing the whole carrier up on yourself.

BECO Carrier:
normally I will slot cailyn into the carrier, buckle up and then adjust her by carrying her up and let her sit properly inside. maybe my girl is still light-weight, only 6.8kg from last fri checkup.. thats y easier for me to slot her in. But i have another issue wor~... does any of your kid keep scratching the buckle and the belt huh?

She keeps scratching and scatching until her nails are all chip and the skin around the fingers also tear.. ahiyo.. and then she will try to lick the belt too.. pengz~.. any place can buy those soft cover and wrap it up boh?

sal,
oh..must loosen the straps? I didn't leh..what i did was i wore the "parachute gear" (that's what my hubby commented) first, then sat down and slide both his legs inside the pocket..the challenge part is pulling the back webbing up (cos' all like accumulated below) and then bring up the buckles to the shoulders and lock them. When he cried, I lagi more ganjiong and can't buckle him..all in all, took me 15mins to get it done..Haha..

Beco carrier,
I have no problem with the carrier. I find it easy to buckle up. I adjust it to my boy's fit at home 1st. next time when i use it just buckle up n go.no nd to loosen/tighten anything b4 or after.

mambobb,
my boy doesn't scratch, but he loves licking the belt..so disgusting, lick until so wet somemore. i got no choice but to wrap that area with his hanky..then he licked the hanky..*slap forehead*

poissons,
i wore the "parachute gear" n slide him in while standing up leh..few seconds he's in and buckled up! Hehe..

dokie,
last mon we had lunch at the hawker ctr, L was sitting in his pram n thus little girl walked in his direction n coughed right in his face. Started coughing a little on wed, Brought him to PD for 6-1 jab. Think the jab made him worse.

when should i upgrade Jovan's avent teats to 6m ?
i bought 4 avent 6m. he's now currently using a mixture of teat size & bottles. S/Y pigeon & 2/3 avent. should i change all his bottles & teats to a standard brand & size?