(2007/11) November MTBs

Jay, dun be dishearten ya.

Mayb she dun like those veg. I tink like wat Yany sugg u can mix in abit of milk or cereal to hide the taste. u try later in the evening wen she happier mood to feed her. Like adults they have their mood swings lor... like drinking milk they will certain times refuse. Dun stress urself ok.

Sigh, my maid is sick and I've to handle bb on my own. 1st time help him chong liang on my own and he slipped from my hand. The back of his head hit the tub and then his head partially submerged in the water. Luckily he didn't cry but i felt so guilty. Mummy is so useless... Sigh

Thanks Dreamer, the thread is running so fast and I nearly missed ur blog url. Will check it out!

Kitty - Can I join ur spree? I'm looking at PP website now. Will PM you later...

Sstarlight, dun worry lah. Your mom will understand. I also have arguments with my Mum over Claire. My Mum is even more demanding on taking care of Claire than me. Perhaps, ur Mother too... coz she wants to let ur baby hv brown rice as it is more nutritious than white rice.

Kitty, i think if next time we ever got chance to meet up. We must let Chole & Claire shake hand and be good frens! Haha... Claire refused to drink her milk lor and now she only drinks at most 120ml!!! Mabbe i over worried coz that day we weigh her, she is growing...

Plim, dun feel guilty lah. I also none the better. I fed Claire poached apple and then she gave me that type of dun want to eat expression but i dun care... Guess what, she merlioned everything inclusive of her earlier meal.... So, everything is a learning process.

Thanks all.

Yes, my mum also told me brown rice helps to strengthen baby legs. My hubby actually bought one package of organic short grain brown rice (that comes without husks). Hope the same nutritious value is same as the one with husk.

Going to tactfully give my mum that. Tell her its from ang moh country, give it a try..

jules,

my mum say red spinach after cooking, it will gives out colour. is it true? She is using the normal green ones now.

Larryle,
Practise makes perfect. But do check if the back of the head is okay. Babies are very slippery when they are in the tub so we must always have a firm grip.

Sstarlight, yes it does give out a little dark red color even when cut into fine pieces after soaking & wash. But once cooked with other ingredients in the porridge, there's no color already. My MIL says it's richer in iron although I'm not sure if it's true. But I've been alternating this spinach with broccoli

larryle,

no worries, once u decide on the items, just post it on the thread! very tempting, rite? all so sweetttt....

k@ye,
u're right lah, these two little Miss-"C" very similar hor.. hee hee... at least ur's growing, i yet to wt her coz next PD appt is in Sept. but HB did mention she put on wt coz he can feel the strain when we carry her daily over to nanny's blk, which is 3 blks away... i can only carry her at least 2 blks then my arms very tired liao.. ahahaa...

huh mummies,

so where do i buy brown rice??
any recommendations??
can mill the brown rice ourselves ah??
which type and brand of brown rice??
with husk/without husk??

Actually no need to buy organic rice as where in the world got so many organic things around with air pollution, water pollution and so much environmental problems that now we are getting lots of natural disaster.

Can anyone guarantee that the rain falling on the organic crops are not Acidic and free from pollution and the soil is free from environmental pollution for 10 years?

I always feel that those people selling organic stuffs are just out to make profits out of us.

I was in Isetan that day and even the person who demonstrate cooking in the claypot Tanyu said the same thing to the Aunty who told him that she is taking organic rice. He said dun waste money as he also think where got so much organic around when the environment is so polluted. We just need to buy normal rice and spent the money getting better food.

Just my 2 cents worth. Hope I dun offend anyone here.

I heard that starting baby early on solids will cause allergies in them later issit true? I'm thinking of starting giving my gal cereal when she is around 9 months to 1 year old issit ok?

My gal now starting to decrease her milk intake from 130ml to 100ml every 3 hourly dunno why?

plim
Hi5 my gal also same wakes up many times in the night (not for milk), but fussing or cos pacifier dropped (not in mouth anymore) and can also happen almost every hour in the night! I so fedup carry her to sleep loh no choice because I also sleepyhead after a while.

Hi NewMummy,
You are right that our environment is polluted. That is the reason of buying organic coz do not want additional non-organic fertilizer or other chemicals used. Not only that, some are buying non-genetic modified food items.

Totally understand as I agree that organic stuff are sooo expensive! If only I could afford a piece of land here, I'll plant the food myself... lol!

NewMummy,
I read that you should not wait longer than 8 months to start solids. Reason being after 6 months, baby need solid food for nutrients such as iron, vit C, protein, carbohydrates, zinc, water and calories. Besides nutrition, baby will also develop eating and chewing skills. If delay, baby might refuse textured food when solid food is intoduced after 8 or 9 months.
I am quoting this from the book but best is to talk to your PD on introduction of solids.

It is not necessary that eating early will cause allergies. If genetically, allergies run in the family, it is a good chance baby will inherit it too.

I'm no doctor but just quoting what I have read. I started solids at 4 months for all my kids and none of them have any allergies

New Mummy, no offence lah.... Its true that there is no so much organic stuff. Its just that when possible, we try to give our babies the best, that means giving them organic food within our means...

Kitty, ur PP spree.... Awwww.... I m trying to see whether got any nice hats....

Yany
Thanks for your advice. Where can I read abt this info? Will also talk to her PD about this issue as will be going for jab soon.

kittybride ... aiya the PP hor ... what i want no more liao leh ....
i wanted some of the winter clearance stuff....heehee.

k k, me go take a look at the summer stuff ....

jaclyn - c u on monday!

Thanks for all your words of comfort and suggestions. I gave Jaydyn 2 weeks of rice cereal with milk. Only this wk, fm Mon to Fri, I gave her sweet potato puree on top of her cereal. I tried mixing a little into her rice cereal, she also didnt like it. So after 5days of sweet potato, with no sign of allergy, I move on to carrot. Usually I would peel the skin first, chop into smaller chucks before I steam them. After tt, then I put them into e U-like blender and add some water to it before I blend. Blend till paste-liked... My steps correct ya? Usually I feed her after she wakes up from her naps. Will see how it goes lor... If all things still fail, I'll just get those commercial ones. But I love preparng food for her leh... sigh....

Hi NewMummy,

I also read that not to start solid too late in my weaning book as it might be more difficult for them to adapt later.

Ya, I am not getting organic for everything unless the price is reasonable and easily available. I never buy any organic leaf vege so far cos the price is so expensive and it cannot be kept too long.

Weee.. long weekend coming!

Yup Jay,

Your preparation steps are exactly like mine. I read some babies might not be so adaptive to semi solids yet. Maybe want to continue with cereals but just give the purees as testers first? That means just give your baby a taste of purees but mainly you still feed cereals.

1426077.jpg
"Imprisoned" him after his last 5-in-1 jab.

1426078.jpg
And here's my ah boy's reaction when i told him we gonna meet many Nov mummies & babies.
Yeah yeah...

Hi NewMommy, you do have a point and I agree although I do buy selected organic food, like rice cereal or Heinz, for my daughter thinking it's best for her. But then again, it can be rather expensive to eat on daily basis so I try to choose vegetables that are pesticide-free

Jay,

Some baby are picky. Or try changing her cereals. I have friend who have this problems before when starting semi solids. Baby refusing food and milk, but aftersome time they are okay.

Sstarlight,

tt's wat i did. I changed to frisocrem jus now. She also didnt want. Kept sticking out her tongue and arching back. Faint leh.... haha....

Gosh, I missed out this thread for a week and took 1.5h to finish catching up! Now my eyes are 'blurred'..

S@L,
Keep me updated (PM me) on when I can get the legwarmers. I actually req’d for a change since 1 of them OOS. Pls refer to your BP thread.

k@ye,
I’ve booked an air tix for Chloe. Still cheaper than adult fare though it is 10% based on published fare.

Mambobb,
U can start potty training anytime u like. Carry your bb in your arms, forward facing, with backside facing down the tub/pot (u can basically use any small tub to begin with).
I’ve been using Ba Wang Shampoo + conditioner for abt 3 wks, yet to see improvement.

Tinkabel,
The px is good for non-peak season is it? So cheap.. I just booked for SHA n cost me $800+!
Re check-in,
Cannot do internet check in? I m intending to check in 2 days prior to departure leh.
Anything I have to look out for travelling in SHA?

Btw, your FIL really take v good shots! No need for studio shots liao..

Langlao,
No leh, I used to have thick hair, so tt’s y I ‘kan cheong’ on my hair drop! Anyway, I will be gg to Yun Nam for treatment – made my hb pay for my ‘sacrifice’ as a mummy & bday pressie.. hehe.
I like your ‘bumbo’!

Pig,
Kiros Look Great!! So nice!!! Tempting.. but hb says wait til Chloe can sit/stand on her own 1st.

Sstarlight,
My mom is directly opp. of yours. She’s training Chloe how to sit like this!

1426106.jpg

These nites, I find Chloe likes to keep flipping left right while sleeping on our bed, ‘kicking’ me up. Kind of disturbing. Any mummies have the same prob? How do u solve it? I dun wish to sleep separately though.. And I am going back to work next week! *S.O.S* I m feeling terrible at the thot of gg back.. =(

Dreamer,
Tks for being our ‘spy’ on Studioloft.. so glad.. we have lobang queen, we have puree experts.. now we have good tip-offs. Hehe.

Gillian,
How is your bb now? I wonder how your bb manages to flip over those blankets n pillows.. tks for alerting me on this.

Jules,
I can only travel during the peak seasons - sch holis leh.. unless I quit my job =(

Gloomy,
My hb n I may be heading to Toyko end 08 to visit my bro-in-law. Will ask u more on Shopping & Food when the date is near! Btw, r u in sales line? Still need to work on PH?

Yvonne,
Are you referring to the 500+ ticket I mentioned the last time? It's for SHA - SIN - SHA. It's cheaper than SIN - SHA - SIN. And this is only good for 7 days. If you want the front bassinet seat, i don't think you can do internet checkin, cos those seats cannot be reserved online (from what I have experienced). So what you can do is, call the reservations and tell them u paid for the bassinet and ask them to give you the bassinet seats. That way, the seats are reserved for you. but I think you can only check in at the airport, cos bb cannot check in.

I think a good baby carrier is important. We don't use the stroller here cos the streets are just so unfriendly. Too narrow and the roads are not even. Although the summer's coming, the early mornings and nights are still quite chilly, so make sure you and your bb carry a light jacket. In the day time, it's warm, so ok.

Not sure what you are staying, but if u need any organic food or baby cereal, check out City supermarket at the Shanghai Center.

Yvonne, like what Tinkabel says.... BB cannot do online check in. What i did was actually call up the airline reservations office and asked for the bassinet etc... They will do the necessary allocation of seats for you.

Tinkabel,
Oh.. I thot u were tokking abt SIN-SHA-SIN tix.

I m actually thinking of bringing stroller over so when we need to eat, she can be left to sit in it. How do u settle Matt while outside?

I have not started Chloe on any cereal yet. My mom just tried giving her a few strands of mee sua n plain porridge these 2 days.
Do u mean I can get organic food at Zheng Da hypermart?

Chloe's 1st try @ Solids - Mee Sua

1426179.jpg
1426180.jpg

k@ye,
Tks! I din realise I need to book tix online 1st for ourselves then call reservations office to book tix for Chloe. Anyway, I have made my bookings and got my bassinet window seat. I have always like window seat.

Is it recommended to sit by the centre row so that it is more spacious?

yvonne,
I try to look for seats with couches so that Matt can sit. Else I just hold him in my lap. I think you can brig your stroller and decide if u want to use it. You might find it ok. I just find it a hassle to bring the stroller out, so I use a baby carrier

Yany,

Ya.. to think that my mom is so creative! haha. I even qns-ed her "U sure can? Wat if she falls.." She has been the daring one to 'try new stuns' on my gal, training her to flip, to sit, to eat... I m so glad to have her ard.

Chloe's 1st try at plain porridge tdy
1426305.jpg
Her expression after the try
1426306.jpg

Gathering on 19th May Monday (PH), Globetrotters (United Sq #02-02) @ 2.30pm. Reservation under MS LONG. So far, we have :
1) Yany
2) Mambobb + bb
3) Langlao + bb (no need hi chair)
4) S@L + bb
5) Gemini
6) - plumsource (cancel)
7) Cactusnah + bb
8) - baby40 (cancel)
9) skye skye
10) grace
11) dreamer@hk + bb
12) ueno + bb (no need hi chair)
13) poissons + bb
14) jaclyn + bb
15) catherine + bb
16) Yvonne (may +bb)

zzz,
u can try cold storage at Parkway, they have a small selection of organic food. I get my supply from L'organic n Four Seasons GWC.

Jaclyn,
Welcome to the gathering! Look forward to meeting u and Joash!

jay,
is she teething? it can cause baby to reject food. i think ur doing everything right, dont worry abt it. Do u wana just give her cereal without any purees n see her reaction? try to feed her when she's hungry.Sometimes babies r like this..today they reject, tmr they might like it.

Spinach- Do not feed yr baby too much spinach, due to the high nitrate content. Some PD advised spinach only after 1 yr old

RE: rejecting food
Babies have MOODS SWINGS!!! ha ha ha... My boy had a bit of nursing strike before. I was a bit worried at first but I decided to take it easy and let it be. He'll drink when he is hungry... which he eventually did after a week or two...
Joash also made weird faces the first two days I intro broccoli into the cereal. Ate very little as compared to the plain cereal. But I wasn't bothered. However, for some strange reason, he lapped up everything enthusiastically today even though the recipe didn't change a bit!

Maybe I'm just too relaxed for a first time mom but I guess we should just learn to take it easy as some things just take more time like getting used to eating diff types of food. I'm sure WE wouldn't like to be forced to eat what we dun like and the amount we can't stomach... jus my 2 cents' worth. :p

See you all on Monday!

Hi Ueno

Dun think she's teething leh. =) Oh, I dun mix the puree with the rice cereal usually. Jus in case she doesnt take to the new taste still can take the plain rice cereal. =) Its ok lah, let's see how it goes. =)

I'm actually interested to go for the gathering this coming Monday. But its not easy to get there from Seng Kang as most probably I'll be going with baby alone and will need to bring her pram. My hubby is chionging for his coming exams. running out of time. hehe! So is it possible to have car pools?