(2007/11) November MTBs

Shanediao, i can't give u the exact amount coz it was pre-packed and I got it from the Eu Yan Sang at the HK Airport. My Mum got it from the medical hall, they just packed everything & tell her the directions. Perhaps, u can check with the Chinese medical hall in US?

The Ang Moh Jee is the official latin name for the chinese herbs.

Tinkabel, i paid SG$28.35 for 2.52kg using borderlinx. That is cheaper than vpost plus the service is better.

Ueno, wow... A lot of energy required to chase after LEroy... Ok, keep my fingers crossed that i also hv the energy to chase after Claire!

Hehe, Claire now likes to mutter, "ne ne" meaning milk! So when i feed her porridge and she reject, she will proclaim loudly "ne ne".... Faints!

Jovan had his last 6-in-1 jab yday. he weighs 8.1kg. weight gain slowed down alot. discovered tat he had fever this morning ard 530am. now he still zzz altho it's already way past his 7am wake up time. let him zzz coz bb recover better when they zzz? anyway, is it still ok to bring him to the gathering tmr?

RE: Gathering
wow so many mummies & babies going for the gathering! did we book enuff seats & high chairs? are we having lunch there or just drinks? is there nursing room in United Square? hehehe sorry many qns. v excited to see u all tmr. it should be fun esp since our babies can "interact" now.

my gal has 2 tooth cutting through her gums over the weekend. mummy so excited, to see them.

gathering, me on standby for recall to work tomorrow.
hopefully, dun have to go back and I can join all mummies and babies.

signing, I'm also very interested leh, can interact with the baby more. any books to recommend?

baby massage, this mummy here vain vain la, get someone to do the massage for her, actually more of me learning to massage her. my gal actually fell asleep halfway through the massage

Signing: This month's Morther & Baby mag has a feature on it. I called up one of the places that offered class and they told me can buy materials at $99!! Will try the baby einstein's baby sign DVD 1st.

catherine, Ashlee's fever went away after half a day after we gave her baby panadol.

Hope everyone's having a good weekend so far. Taking Joseph to United Square today to buy stuff. Those of you who are meeting tomorrow, have fun!!! Sorry I can't join in.

RE : Teething
Gemini, does your girl fuss a lot since she started teething? Just noticed Joseph has his two bottom teeth showing. And coincidentally he's been fussing a bit at night. Not sure if due to that.

Anyone knows what's the gel you can use to relieve teething pain? I thought of getting as standby.

RE : Signing
Wow! Jacelyn, signing sounds really cool. So amazing when baby can communicate to us in signing. I haven't tried but migth watch the Baby Einstein tape on how to do it.

I'm going back to work on Tuesday. Finally.... but after 10 months of not working, I feel a bit apprehensive about returning to work. Will miss the baby a lot but then again, I'm not good staying home all day. I don't think I'll be able to pop in here as much as I use to but hope I can do so at least once a week.

RE: Feeding solids
I'm on Day 5 of introducing solids to Joseph and followign the GF method based on weaning at 6 mths. Introduced sweet potato today and he made funny face. It's always quite a struggle feeding him solids. Don't know whether he just doesnt like solids or whether it's being strapped to the chair that he doesnt like. Anyone of you have the same challenges and useful tips?

dear mommies,

i ordered the angelbrush from s@l, and opted for clear blue in a pack of 2. if there's anyone of you who wants a blue and clear, we can pair up tog. Let me know so i can tell sally ks! thanks loads.

anyone wants to pair up with me to get a clear and blue brush?
1428690.jpg

cat:: been wanting to ask you how is jovan's sleep training? I've been seeing some progres with travis he's been able to sleep through since his last feed at 9pm and all the way till 6am this past week. there's one night that he still wakes up but at least i feel i am seeing progress. i hope your little jovan can do it soon! you need some well deserved rest. hugs.

S@L: I would like to have 1 clear and 1 pink for angel brush =D.. for the toilet trainer, me also can wait.. no hurry.

I was called back to work today that is why can login and check on the thread -_-".. moving so fast.. need to selective reading..

tinkabel: wow.. got birthday cake for him on 6mths.. ^-^.. me only say happy 6mths to cailyn niah.. haha..

Gathering:
See you mummies tmr..
.. unless I got to call back to work again.. finger cross..

bad news! Joash and I caught the flu bug and I thought that it is not a good idea to go for the gathering cos might pass the bug to the rest of you and your precious BBs... Was so looking forward to it... *sob sob* Hope you al have a great time!

Gathering on 19th May Monday (PH), Globetrotters (United Sq #02-02) @ 2.30pm. Reservation under MS LONG. So far, we have :
1) Yany
2) Mambobb + bb
3) Langlao + bb (no need hi chair)
4) S@L + bb+son+godma
5) Gemini
6) - plumsource (cancel)
7) Cactusnah + bb
8) - baby40 (cancel)
9) skye skye
10) grace+ bb
11) dreamer@hk + bb
12) ueno + bb (no need hi chair)
13) poissons + bb
14) jaclyn + bb (CANCEL due to flu)
15) catherine + bb
16) Yvonne (may +bb)
17) jay
18) Plim + bb (mayb hb + elder gal)

RE: Signing
Sorry that I can't demo in person how to teach signing but I think it is quite simple. Just sign while saying the word as consistently as you can. Also try to do it in context eg sign milk whenever I feed him milk and show him the bottle while saying the word and signing at the same time. Sign "carry" before carrying BB and continue responding to him if he signs it with carrying him so he knows that the sign will result in him being carried.I'm sure there are lots of materials out there to help you if you are interested. Hope this helps!

As for being lazy to talk, I think the key is to always speak the words while signing and sometimes, the baby's vocal abilities are not yet developed so they dun speak not that they are lazy. However, they are developed cognitively much earlier so they can communicate far earlier than their ability to speak. My MIL said that my husband did not speak for very long and they were worried sick but suddenly he spoke a whole sentence the moment he was able to at 2 years old!!! Clearly he was learning about language way before he had the physical capabilities to express it.

jaclyn,
yeap! so far i only taught her 'sleep' my own sign though..but i don't think she has the motor skills to do other signs yet. but then i also haven't taught her. yeah..teach me some tmr at the gathering!

catherine,
wah..jovan is growing quite well woh! i think e fever frn e jab isn't contagious so should b ok

Cindy, long time no see photos of Travis! Wow, he so good can sit by himself liao!!!

Tinkabel, Claire also equally greedy. She will show her "buey song" attitude when we re eating while she can't eat anything!

Re: Talking
I think it depends on individual babies lah. I guess Claire will speak fast coz she is quite talkative. I dunno whether i heard wrongly or not, she called me "Ma" and today, she called my hubby, "Pa"... I was like, how come call me first... I will be the one who suffered!

Hi all mummies...
It has been long time since i logged on to the thread.... Saw alot of new mummies around. All babies are starting solids.. Mine i started rice cereal and my Jordan voice becomes very hoarse. I wonder if it is due to the cereal. Any other ways to make nice porridge or cereal? Jordan loves the rice cereal and puree. He can finish one whole bottle.. (I think is too much) If you stop halfway, he will be getting paraniod and yearn for more...

I saw some of mummies cook brocoli? How to do it? Learning how to make for Jordan. I think it is healthier then eating cereal or bottle puree even though it is ORGANIC.

k@ye
no sugar ah? my mum keeps telling me to give Ethan honey ...honey is not sugar but still sweet leh .....bbs can take honey meh??? I didn't give Ethan honey cos' he has eczema try not to anyhow give ....by the way, want to check with you hor, I started rice cereal last Sunday, the Eu Ren Shen Zhou Mi Shi Sheng Powder for about 6 days liao, and I realize that around his mouth, his eczema flared up...red and rough kind ...is that a sign of allergy to the rice cereal ah??? I change to Earth Best Organic rice cereal, and around his mouth also red and rough ...I thot rice cereal has no allergen for bbs, but Ethan took already like shows signs leh ....haiz ...now I also don't know what to give him liao since rice cereal he is also allergic to it

S@L
heeee..... I always speed read and skip a lot of stuff ....sometimes also forgetful ..maybe old liao ....haaa..... now I know who M&A are ....heeee.....

signs
I had the same concerns too initially but after taking up signs many years back, it's a very useful tool ..... like what Jaclyn said, you have to sign and talk at the same time loh....it's very effective when they can't talk and you know their needs when do signing .....

kaye:: hehe ya thank you!
no la. he cannot sit upright yet. ehhe
and ya too busy to log in alreadys. somemore the thread moveee sooo fast.. too fast for me to catch up. hhaha. so i guess i'll just pop in whenever i can. hopefully by then i can still 'recognise' some old friends. muahahhaa.

yoko:: take care!

Twiggy

Ya, my gal also fuss quite a bit. Before every sleep, she toss and turn around so many times.

Now better already. For teething, you can try Dentinox, can get from guardian...

all mummies

me at work today, so cannot join for the lunch.

Enjoy yourself...

Shanediao,
No honey for your bunny please!

Actually, honey is just another form of sugar with minute traces of nutrients. However, it is advised not to feed honey to babies below one for fear of the possibility of botulism poisoning. Its just a fear that the honey may contain spores of bacteria. But if you use honey for cooking, it can kill of the bacteria/spores, it would then be okay.
I am of course quoting this from the Super Baby Food Book

Wah! Forum very quiet today for once! haha...I think maybe all the mummies at Globetrotters.

Gemini,
Thanks for telling me about Dentinox. I can't tell if the teething is causing him any discomfort but he does seem to rub his ears a lot. I heard that's a sign of teething too.

ShaneDiao,
Don't give your baby honey. It's a no-no according to all the books because of Botulism risk.

My lazy boy still hasn't leanrnt to turn yet.....jialat. Dr says maybe coz he's fat so he doenst like to be on his belly. I'm trying to make him learn to sit upright on his own gradually. He can sometime sit on his own for a few seconds then topple to one side. I took him for his first MRT ride yesterday. Unfortunately the train was packed and he got scared seeing all the strangers stare down at him. In the end I had to carry him in my arms all the way home. Wah...my arms ached like mad after that. I was appalled that not a single person offered me a seat. Singaporeans......sigh....

ShaneDiao,
The weather's making me drowsy to do anything for those 'MIA' days.. May 'MIA' again aft I return to work on Tues. Hopefully can 'squeeze' some time to check.. =(
Seems like Ethan n Chloe r 'destined' to be together? She has been using cloth diapers during day time too! Easier to train her n more airy. Only put on diapers at nite. *I also lazy to wake up to change for her*
Btw, u can ask tinkabel re: BabyLegs legwarmers.

Twiggy,
I m oso returning to work tmr, Tues! Feeling down.. apprehensive like u. Def will miss my darling!! Arrghhh... =(
Those near u are youngsters? All pretend not to see u rite? I can understand how u feel.. poor thing.

Yvonne,
Yeah, dreading it man! I do miss working but I know I'll miss having so much time to spend with Joseph. Still not use to the idea that I'll not be the primary caregiver anymore.

Can't believe it myself when I saw how people ignored me while I carried a screaming baby in the MRT. Especially the people sitting right underneath the signs that said "give your seats up".

Twiggy/Yany
Thank ya for the info about honey.......
ya hor, very quiet lei....what holiday ah? I never call back quite some time liao, also don't know what holiday ....every time call back, my mum will tell me to feed Ethan honey ....don't know why leh ...must feed him honey .....ya lor, I also heard about not feeding bbs honey, I told my mum about that, and she said "last time 3 of you, I also fed honey, no problem" ...yo... I also don't want to argue with her ....she also told me, she fed my niece honey when she was a bb, and also no problem .....buay tahan her sometimes .....lucky I never stay in Sin, if not if I leave Ethan under her care hor, she will definitely feed Ethan everything and anything .....Ethan's eczema will sure flare up big time man.....

Twiggy
I am not surprised...you know what....when I was in my 6th month pregnant, I went back Sin for holiday ...I was really upset that no one offered me seat!! like what you said ...Singaporeans ....sigh .....My boy also hasn't learnt how to turn ....he ddoesn't even want to be on his tummy ...haiz ...my boy was scared of the MRT noise especially going underground ....very loud and he cried ...that was when he was 3 months we went back to visit .....also no one offer seats ....Singaporeans .....sigh......

Hello Ladies,
It was really nice to meet so many of you. All the babies are soo cute!

Poissons,
Love Garreth's rolls! Looks yummy enough to chomp me teeth... but then again, have to refrain myself... lol.

Ueno,
Leroy has such a big smile.... his eyes dissappear!

S@L,
The clips are big enough to hold Kyra's hair. Look! I guess I'll be a regular customer....
1430446.jpg

Hmmm.... the thought of going back to work tomorrow is making me sad. I know I'm going to miss Joseph like crazy. After 6 months of spending every single waking minute with him, attending to all his needs, I suddenly feel very weird not to be spending all day with him. Feel quite guilty too. Am I being selfish and stupid for wanting to go back to work? Especially since financially we are fine with me not working, and yet I chose to give up the priviledge of raising him to go back to pursue my career. I'm also apprehensive coz I haven't worked for 10 months and wondering how I'll fit in to workforce again. Plus in this new job, long hours are expected and leaving the office at 630 every night is considered "rare" and "very early". My boss stays till 9pm almost everynight. I'm beginning to wonder what I got myself into.

Yany, here's Mischa and Kyra - long lost sisters....

1430613.jpg
1430614.jpg

so happy that u like the clips....kekeke....its such a nice feeling to see others wearing my creations! Come bk for more k?

shane/twiggy,
when i was pregnant in hkg, the one person who offered me his seat on the MRT was a singaporean guy on holiday in hkg!!!!

so there are good ones around... =) ;)

calling S@L!! when u bought the chewing toothbrush ...how much did it work out to per brush ?? can let me know. thanks

now i feel like getting one after seeing mischa using hers ;p there's a BP ... thinking of getting from there.... UNLESS u organising another one?? heehee

S@L
hehehe... the 2 looks so cute together! Ok.. Like I mentioned, I like to get those hair band with bow (interchangeable). Its the white hairband (thinner material).. that looks like stretchable organza. Not sure what you call it. I would like to get 2 sets of hairband with pink and blue bow. Can? I'm going to give one to Kyra's cousin who is 5 months older

nice meeting the mummies & babies today. ashlee had a great time, rarely she scream/shout like she did today

S@L, i oso like this clip on mischa. if the clip is as small as the one i left behind, pls reserve one pc or me. You can send both wif the blegs or when I collect the potty, no hurry.

dreamer, thanks for organizing the party today. I din realise i bought 2 dresses with the same material, now finally can give 1 away no more excuse to keep both. Everytime i wanted to give to ashlee's cousin, always ser bu de & ended up keeping for ashlee.

dreamer, i got the brush S$22.90 for 2pc pack, the BP seller was selling $20 for ONE brush then! now suddenly she reduced her price to 2 for $20 aft i put up my BP. haha...i cannot match her price so i cancel BP lo! u should get from her since her price so cheap now..

Yany, sure u take a look at this. i can make other colours for the bows. lets discuss in email

http://mischaslilsecrets.blogspot.com/2008/05/interchangeable-big-bow-headband.html

http://mischaslilsecrets.blogspot.com/2008/05/interchangeable-hairband-w-medium.html

Langlao, ok ya tat is abt the same clip size, but the bow tt Mischa was wearing is slightly bigger, more puffy than the tiara one u left behind. u want?

Mummies, those who placed orders from me. Pls advise payment status and if by post, pls email me for the postage amt and address pls.

Angel brush orders placed:
1)S@L - collected
2)Langlao - collected
3)mambobb - 2pcs
4)plim - collected
5)cindy - by post
6)deepdreamer- 2pcs
7)kittybride (KIV) - 2pcs
8)Gelyn - 2 pcs
9)Poissons - collected
10)rast - by post
11)Gemini19 - 2 pcs
12) tinkabel - collected
13)Chia SL- by post
14)Grace- collected

plumsource,
thanks for the link on signing!

was nice meeting mummies and babies today
all our babies have grown since we last met & also great to meet new mummies too! it's been fun and i can't wait to try the clips in Eliza...whell..that's when she has more hair...hee.

mummies who took photos today, can you send me the pics? my email [email protected] thanks!

here's Eliza with a hat that's too small for her...
1431057.jpg

Must be nice to have a daughter... then can dress her up... I hope my next one is a girl... Sigh... Wish I could be there with you all this afternoon. My boy got so much phlegm!!!

Shanediao, today is Vesak Day lah... Actually, Ethan's eczema might not be that bad in Sg coz of the humidity in SG. Claire also flared up when i first gave her rice cereal.... So, i waited till she is 6 mths old then give...

I think its normal reaction lah... coz whatever food i gave her, she will flare up... After that will be ok... Perhaps, u might want to give Ethan carrot... As Vitamin A will help in the skin... but not too much.

RE:Honey
HEhe, i m one of those Mummies who broke all sorts of rules in giving food to babies!

I gave Claire (abt 3 mths old) honey when she was on Soy FM coz Soy FM will cause constipation & honey will ease that. Now, i also give her honey coz i m exhausted from struggling with her during water parade!

Wow, Kyra & Mischa.... So alikeeeeeeeeeee!!!!

Skye², Eliza very active!!!

great meeting all the 'old' and new mummies... hahaha... and of course all the lovely 6-mth-old babies!

those who took pictures... please send to me ok? (i realised i brought my cam but din take out to take pictures! blur like sotong!)
my email... [email protected]

S@L, yeah i wan the small puff. pls advise price & i'll tt to u.

dreamer, it's hard to choose which dress to give away. End up of DDs may not hv the same dress after all.

k@ye
oh wow! Claire also flared up after giving cereal, then I should also wait for 6 months to give him liao
..Hope his weight won't drop...I just went to clinic and have his weight checked and after eating the cereal for 5-6days, he increases 9.7 ounces...but hor, he is into eating cereal for 8 days liao leh, still flare up leh....o.k. I will try carrot after I stop the cereal today ....and wait for a couple of days b4 giving him carrot ......wow!! you steady lah ...give Claire honey .....so any problem with her flaring when you give her honey the first time???

wow!I bet you mommies must have great time chatting
can post pictures here for those who never get to meet??