(2007/11) November MTBs

hahaha... yes happy mother's day!! baby Jave seems fine till now.... Any of u gers wanna order things from Leapfrog?? I intend to start a spree...

Let me know?

Gillian, glad that Jave is OK
kaira also roll off my mattress the other day ... and i felt so guilty and angry with myself too!!

kitty bride : thanks for the tip ;)

NewMummy : i was based in hkg.... came back to sg in march. i think i need to change my nick soon .. heehee

HAPPY MOTHER'S DAY everyone

RE : Gathering (hee, realise i forgot to put my choices)

17th May,(Sat):
1) Yany
2) Mambobb
3) plumsource (just mums)
4) baby40 (just Moms)

19th May,(Mon, PH):
1) Yany
2) Mambobb
3) Langlao
4) S@L (just mums)
5) Gemini
6) plumsource (just mums)
7) Cactusnah
8) baby40 (just Moms)
9) skye skye
10) grace
11) dreamer@hk

7th Jun, (Sat):
1) K@ye
2) Langlao
3) plumsource (just mums)
4) Cactusnah
5) dreamer@hk

18th May Sunday

1) Plumsource (just mums)
2) Cactusnah
3) baby40 (just Moms)
4) dreamer@hk

VENUE : Any more suggestions?
1) Gemini has "volunteered" her place in CCK.

Mummies, please continue to respond!

hello mummies, we're back! So many pages of post to read... trying to scan through..

1413950.jpg

Regarding travelling to Tokyo:

Anyone going to Tokyo, please go to the outlet mall... i bought BAGS (YSL and Miu Miu)! Feeling so guilty now.. but it's soooo totally worth it. Time to save up again!
1413951.jpg

See how useful the baby pram is? Hehehehe it's God's Sent for shopping bags and traveller's bag!

Remember how I was saying that Baby Arielle was sooo good on the plane on the way to Tokyo? It wasn't the same when we were on the way back! For the first 3 hours, she was very cranky, i had to keep offering her my breast. She drinks, then refuse, cried, walked her around the aisle, when it doesn't work anymore, offer her the breast again, then she drinks, then slp. This went on for good 3 hours then... suddenly, she was all ok again!
Regarding air pressure, she can handle it even better than me. She didn't want to drink while we were touching down, but the air pressure didn't get to her. It got to me though... it hurts sooo much till I got headache. Stuck on my left ear, no matter how hard i try to blow it out also cannot. Sigh. I get it on and off... i guess it depends on the skill of the pilot? LOL

As for clothing for her, I just dress her an extra layer of what I would wear (the extra layer is usually a long sleeve romper). I read that from some website and it works for her. So, no problem on temperature btw 16'C to 22'C.

Here's a pic of my hubby using the beco carrier while we were eating:
1413952.jpg

Baby slping @ Starbucks:
1413953.jpg

Photosticker!:

1413954.jpg

Rgd rice cereal:
I just bought the Ballemy Organic rice cereal and Heinz Organic rice cereal today. Waiting for opening ceremony on her 6th month (28th may). Any mummies using the above 2 brands? How much to feed babies the first time? I'm soooo excited... heee

BTW, Where to get the U-blender ar?

gloomybear,
u can get the blender at Isetan or Tangs. isetan having sales this thurs. Where is the outlet mall located? How much is the discount for the bags?

Happy Mother's Day to all.. i know i am abit late. but late better than never heehee...

gloomybear,
can show wat u buy at miu miu...me like miu miu too! can tell how much wahhaahaa...

Hi Gloomybear,

welcome back. Show us your conquest lei.. So envious.. bet this must have been a memorable mother's day for you..

Hi Shane,

We noticed the pi sai and buck sai. Then i tried to wipe away the pi sai, but Kiros was turning here and there as i suppose the skin around the nose is little red. I didnt want to make him cry during the foto shooting session. Plus i thot can touch up later and didnt expect myself to want print so many pics. But if i try to print smaller prints like 4R, i guess the sais arent so obvious..

Hi Jules,

Besides studio loft, you can consider the other one that was highly recommended in the other thread. If i remember correctly, the photographer's name is benjamin. Go to the link that dreamer@hk posted regarding feedback mummies had of studio loft and you will see this benjamin's name being mentioned there several times.

Kitty: will send u my orders for babymall soon! Thks!

Gloomy: Green wif envy I wan to travel also! If I travel next rd can ask u for advise liao... BTW U-blender can get from isetan or tangs.

Hi Gloomybear
Really envy your courage to bring along an infant all the way to Japan and the long hours of plane ride. Where is the outlet mall in Tokyo? Can tell us some tips on how to bring an infant overseas?
1414961.gif

S@L
Thanks will browse thru the website.

gloomybear,
wow, looked like your trip was very worth it! yeah, do show us your bag loots!

poochi,
rec'd your email on the orders.
will post in the thread once i update the list.
thx so much for your support! YEAH!!

pig07 : Kiros so cute he looks"advance" for his age cos he's 2 days younger than my dd. Photos look great- so tempting! Anyone got lobang for bulk photoshoot purchase ha ha...

Shane: like wat my mom says baby every week will have different pattern. A few weeks back my hazel also very grouchie like ethan. Cry when feeding, goin to zz etc... now she's ok.

Tink if he's fussy now may not be good to start solids cos u may find find him "fighting" wif u. :p I started hazel after her fussy week and she's v happy taking her cereal & pumkin puree.

Oh as for bb nua nua.. the last time pd says we can try doing exercises wif bb to train their neck muscles - wen he's lying on his back hold on to his arms and gently pull him up to sitting position he shd lift his head up abit if he's lazy his head will dangle abit. Do this a few times daily. For tummy time u can try placing him on tummy and use a rattle to distract him to lift his head up. Not sure if it helps but I did this wif my gal and after a while her neck got stronger - she turned at 4 mths+.

Gloomybear: Yes,yes,yes... show us the bags.. show us the bags.. hahaha.. we mummies here are filled with envy and drooling over your bags.. haha.. how much cheaper and the location too.. in future I have the chance, would want to make my conquest there too.. muahaha

NewMummy: welcome onboard

Baby Falling:
I slipped my girl after bathing her into the tub when I tried to hold her up.. heart pain too arh.. lucky the water was already drained and only left abit.. she cried quite loudly.. me cried too... so heartpain.. lucky she was ok.. my girl already can sit liao.. ever since 19th Apr.. she can sit without much support but if she tries to grab anything too far beyond her reach, she will topple off to the side or front.. sometimes she also nuah nuah doesnt want to sit.. will topple off once i release my hands.

Semi-Solid:
May I know does the bb's poo change in color once feed Nestle Rice cereals? Or change the poo color when change the FM? Last week I have started to feed her rice cereal before she hits 6mths coz mummy too excited, cant wait till she 6mths.. haha.. Then I started to mixed some Similac FM with her current Dumex Gold to prepare her to fully on Similac, and realised her poo changed in color yest. I don't know is it cause by rice cereal or the FM. Any idea?

Morn ladies!

Claire really got very bad heat rashes.... A little bit of heat, wow.... Her whole body red liao... Faints!

Shane, yup... I also do exercises with Claire. My hubby likes to pull her up with her lying down, then Claire will really pull herself up into the sitting position. She thoroughly enjoys this activity and gives me wide grin!

Pig07, thanks! I'll go check out!

Gloomybear, very "xian mu ni". Can go holiday with BB. Me really need a holiday badly but don't think can go very far until Natalie is older. Besides, we can only go during school holidays but then pay peak season prices.

So mommies, go holiday with your kids while you can before they start going to primary school!

help help

me having lots of problem with my maid. Sending her back now. But before that, need to get a replacement maid.

Can anyone let me know what best to let the agent knows and how best to scritinize one huh?

Me so stress with it, been losing sleep over it and does not have when my gal clings on to me tightly, refusing papa also. I go toilet she also can cry one. I heard its this separation anxiety when they are abt 6 months, but how to cope huh?

my gal is 6 months today! will be getting my mum to start her on the sample pack of Nestle rice cereal today! so excited, can't wait to hear from her tonight wat is Bevis' reaction to semi-solid... kekeke
but i think she dunno how to swallow yet, cos my mum has been feeding her gripe water since 2 mths back and she always like use her tongue to 'throw' the water out... :S

gloomybear,
wa, so good, ur trip very fruitful! yes, do share with us your buys!

re: holidays
i also thinking of going holidays leh... but i dun think will bring Bevis lah, cos if i bring her means i will be bringing a toddler (her sister) and her (an infant!), think i'll be like 'working' during the trip rather than enjoying myself! hehe, so planning to bring only the elder gal somewhere, mayb Aust.. but haven plan anything yet! arrggghhhh!

re: heat rash
k@ye, how does heat rash look like ah? my gal 2 or 3 wks back, developed a lot of little red spots on her legs and back... but funny thing is, those red dots are very very tiny, only when u look nearer then it is more obvious, besides, when you touch her skin, it doesn't feel like there're bumps, skin still feel smooth to the touch leh... so, is this heat rash? we observed her for the day and it went away slowly the next day... now, i saw again on her thighs yesterday... dunno wat is it, anyone, any ideas?

Gemini19,
oh no, what happen to your maid?
is she taking care of your gal?
you might want to go into this thread to seek help from some of the more experienced mummies there...

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/306115.html?1204185833

actually based on what i've read and seen (i also got my 1st maid last Aug), very difficult to really know if a maid is good, unless got good recommendation from someone you KNOW... even with that, what is good about the maid for the ex-employer might not work as well for you leh...
do you have anyone else helping you with your girl when u 'catch your breath'? i know it's very tiring to care for them 24x7 now...

HAHA I went to Gotemba Outlet mall: http://www.premiumoutlets.co.jp/gotemba/index.html

Here's the YSL:
1415608.jpg

Here's the MiuMiu:
1415609.jpg

Both of them are big bags. Cost about $1400-$1600 (forgot the exact amount). they are winter 2007 range.

Tips bringing bb overseas:
1) MUST MUST bring their "smelly smelly" or fav toy
2) If going to japan: FM and Diapers are a must! Very hard to find in city area

Other than the above, I didn't meet with any problems... very convenient feeding baby as she's breast-fed. No need to bring any barang barang. Sleeps with us on the queen size bed as per a home, but I swaddle her up so she don't move and fall down the bed while sleeping.
Think it's good to bring bb to places where temperature is btw 16'C - 25'C, very cooling. So when you shop at crowded places with bb in the bb carrier also won't get hot.

Pig,
The pictures are very well taken. Make me want to bring my son to take the picture too. :)
Kiros so Cute! But my son like to frown so I better think twice…if not, come back with all the picture that he is frowning.

ShaneDiao,
So poor thing but I think the way that mum said like not very friendly as if you have let her son/ daughter fell on his/ her face. Like you, I will always said its ok, not pain. :)
My son love to fall backward or sideway if he sit on the bed and keep laughing. But if he happen to fall on his face on the bed, I will just hold him up but it’s my PIL that will fuss over if they saw.

GloomyBear,
So envy of you going for holiday. I am not confident to bring my son oversea. Cos sometimes, he want to sleep in “yao lan”, how to find one oversea? Haha…Guess I will have to wait till at least he is one year old and see how again.

HAPPY BELATED MOTHER'S DAY!!
Gosh I am so late! So much to catch up.

Gloomybear, I like your Miu Miu bag!!! I want!!!! Droolssssssssss

Plim, heat rashes is little red dots and they come when hot and go away when the babies are cool. And they re itchy!!!! I can't tell u much abt the texture coz Claire has eczema so her skin is already rough.

Gemini, i can recommend u this maid agency. She is actually my cousin's friend. I find her good, i wanted to get a maid from her to help out my Mum but my Mum eventually dun want. The maid agency is Award Maids, the lady is called Shara Wong but i dun hv her card.. So i can't give u her number.

happy belated mother's day!
mia for so long liaoz wondering if anyone still rems me..hehe
actually i juz changed job, took a 1 week plus short break to spend time with my boy..
now finally back online again...:D

Ueno,

you mentioned isetan sales from this thur onwards ah? i went to online site n check, not stated leh.
very 'gian' wana get the U-Blender liao...

zzz: I'm using HT brown rice cereal for my gal. She's taking it well and she poos. I make 2 tsp (2 scoops FM spoon) mix with FM milk, feed her for lunch.
I've tried nestle samples its sweeter than HT so decided to give her HT.

wow this thread is moving SUPER DUPER fast man. took me SO long to finish reading all the posts.

thanks for your sharing ur experience, giving me advice & showing ur concerns. i'm so touched. i just wanted a channel to pour my woes. din expect to have so many replies.

boss
had a talk with my boss last week to work out another soln. now i come in to work earlier & i can still go home on time to feed baby. yeah!
i'm not so good with my bigger boss. seldom talk to him at all =P so dun think complaining to him is a choice. my boss actually told me he had wanted me to stay late coz he afraid the bigger boss will be unhappy abt me pumping at work. hmmm i dunno how true...

SAHM
yah i know SAHM is not relaxing at all but at least can zzz when bb zzz. tat's provided i dun do any other housework at all lah. we were thinking of getting my mother to help out on certains days so tat i can really rest.

my health
i'm sleep-deprived bc of baby. Jovan still wakes up many times at nite. like last nite last feed at 745pm, slept at 930pm, woke up at 1am (feed him milk), 3am (water) & 5am (water). last nite was already considered a good nite, sometimes he can wake up 5x! i think i'm one of the unfortunate few mummies left who's baby still wake up at nite. i think most babies already sleep thru the nite. *sigh* i'm already signed up Jovan for sleep training at TMC under Mrs Wong. hopefully, there'll be some improvement.

btw, last few nite when i woke up to coax Jovan, i kept seeing white flashes. at first i tot it was lightning but the curtains were all drawn & it wasn't raining. now tat i think back, could it be tat i was having blackouts and i was going to faint? quite scary coz i was cradling baby to sleep. wat if i really faint and baby knocks his head on the floor? or worse, i squash him? so scary, i dun dare to tell HB...

breastfeeding
i was targetting to bf for 1 yr, but doubt i can make it tat far. now i pump only 3x a day. i latch when i reach home. i have noticed tat my ss at the 230pm session is getting lesser & lesser. i'm already thinking of buying Domperidone to standby. i was hoping tat once semi-solids can replace some of Jovan's milk feed, i dun need to be so stressed on keeping up with milk ss.

allowances
As a FTWM, i dun get any allowance from HB at all coz i earn almost as much as him. infact, i pay more - utility (water, electric, gas), phone, diapers & extra allowance for my mother for taking care of bb. 70% of time i pay for our meals & groceries too. this was the exact reason i quarrelled with him lately. i find tat i'm supporting the family more than he does. he said tat if i be SAHM, he wun be giving me allowance, but he'll pay for the expenses tat i'm covering. extremely worried if he can handle so i'm still hanging onto my resignation letter.

plim,
i'm in the banking industry doing IT.

k@ye,
Jovan still on 3hrs interval leh, drinking 160-180ml.

plim,
Jovan can hi-5 ur gal. sometimes less than 3hrs need to drink liao. but if he napping, he can stretch to 4hrs.

mambobb,
i also wan to get bumper mat. my mother will let Jovan sit in his high chair for the whole day. else she'll carry him ard the house or worse, let him watch TV! i'll order from the Chinatown Cheong Choon store. price same as BP & they also do delivery. no need to wait for BP.

langlao3,
i need a nanny for both day & night. she can handle 2 babies at a time? eh, sorry, dun think i wan. coz might be dangerous since he going to start crawling soon. needs alot of supervision.

cactusnah,
u can still rem me ah. *so touched* actually when i was preggie i was at my fattest time in my life. it's not in terms of weight alone but i really got much "meat" than b4. now i'm back to my pre-preg size or even more skinny. i'm lighter by 1-2kg compared to pre-preg wt leh. really hope can "pu" back soon. now i always eat coffe-break & tea-break besides my 3 full meals! how can ignore ur suggestions. i'll take one step at a time & try to talk things out with HB. thanks!

pig07,
kiros photos are so well-taken. so nice! u just tempted me to consider studio shots for Jovan. hehehehe

Jovan is turning 6 months old on this wed. din have patience to wait till then so i let him tried rice cereals last sat =P 1st time he rejected coz i was too ambitious. gave him rice cereal mixed using water. sat him on his high chair & expected him to swallow sitting up. so next feed i sat him on my lap lying slanted (as if like feeding bottle milk) & fed him rice cereal mixed with warm BM. first few spoons he sucked on the spoon coz he tot it's teats...hahahaa. next few spoons he bite the spoon, then he learnt to swallow. last few spoons he pushed my hand inside him mouth & eagerly finished all the cereals! so farnie! sunday gave him rice cereal with FM. he liked it & he managed to sit up & swallow. but he din finish all coz i think it was too thick.

i bought brown rice with "si4 shen2" from a trusted chinese medicine hall. cant wait to try it on him this weekend.

Hi Jaclyn,
Nice to "meet" you! I am currently a SAHM and staying in Bt. Batok. Kyra is born 21 Nov so she will be 6 months soon!

Gloobybear,
Arielle is sooo cute! Love the 1st picture!
Also, another jealous mom who is still refusing to travel with kids on the plane! Perhaps soon... but with 3 kids, the cost would be way too much! lol

Mambob,
Yes, the poo does change.. not only in colour but smell too! Never again will it be 'sweet' smelling! hahaha
Oh... and as their digestive track is still not functioning at 100% don't worry if the poo colours come out strange. It will look similar to what went in. For example, if beet is given, don't get a shock to see blood red poo!

S@L
I saw Misha on your blog and yes, she does look like Kyra! wow.... but I just took this picture yesterday. Do they still look alike now?

1415803.jpg

k@ye: how to differentiate eczema with rashes huh? my bb has been having this rough patches on her body near the neck area for months.. i tot its the heat rash wor~.. so didnt take much notice of that.. only try to keep her cool and dry.. sometimes i can see very dry and flakes.. now u mentioned eczema also rough.. i tot might be eczema... *worry*

Mambobb, babies with eczema will kena heat rashes more easily.

Babies with eczema, usually kena on their cheeks, the elbow joints, the knee joints. Heat rashes can be anywhere....

Mabbe u wanna bring ur bb to see a PD further assessment?

Yany, ur gal is so cute!!! *kisses*

Catherine, i dun want to teach u the wrong thing. U should get ur hubby to pay for at least Jovan's diapers, milk powder and the babysitting allowance to your mom.

I know i very bad, i always tell my husband that Claire's surname is Ang not Wong. If he wants me to pay for the household expenses and Claire's basic stuff. I will get Claire to change her surname. Anyway, i m the one who pays for Claire's expensive toys... So, its a give and take plus see how situation.

me got back from BKK yday, so tiring!! didn't shop much cos' the stuff there quite exp and quality not that good. they were selling clothes from carters and the place in platinum mall, so tempted to buy but they are only for bbs up to 6mths. in the end never buy anything for my boy, only bought stuff for myself..haha.

Gloomybear,
You and hubby really gung-ho! brought gal all the way to tokyo! I'm quite reluctant when my hubby suggested self-drive to Malaysia. Imagine so much stuff to bring along to the trip. Regarding the rice cereals, I feed my boy with Heinz organice too, just 2 teaspoons for a start for 1 week. This week, I'm doubling it and it adds on for the coming weeks.

Catherine,

*hugz* did you try training Jovan to sleep through? Like when he cried or make noise, just ignore him or give him the paci? this was what I did and within 2 weeks, we succeeded and he now sleeps from 8pm to 7.30am. It was only when I was away for the past few days that he started to wake up at wee hours and cried looking for me (that was what my mum claimed), but last night he was back to normal...phew. Missed him so much during my working trip, when I saw him at the airport, I quickly dropped all my bags, carried him and kissed non-stop..hehehe.

k@ye, u're so funny on the part that getting Claire to change her surname... i think that will prob work on most hbs! hehe

Cat, my advice is to work out with ur hb who pays for what so as to leave no ambiguity and also less cause for quarrels later on...
i guess nowadays wives may earn about same salary as hb or even more, hence situations will be unlike 'olden' days where hb supports family (wife not working) on his entire pay package...

good to hear that you worked out 'something' with ur boss... ah, u work in a bank, so it's quite unlikely for you to work from home then...

possons,
did you bring your boy along for ur BKK trip? looks like things in BKK are more ex. nowadays huh... mayb not that worth going liao :p

plim,
nope, didn't bring him cos' it was a working trip. i sneaked out to shop during my free time..it's so convenient to take the BTS from my hotel, i'm such an expert right now..haha! And yah, BKK it's not that great anymore, I see more indians going there then Singaporeans!

Hi Catherine,

I kinda of agree with what K@ye says. you must try to get your hubby to be involve. make him feel like he is responsible for both you and baby and make him pay for stuff. Ok tat if he cant manage everything, but at least partial right? tis kind is more of like a habit.. the more you dont involve him, the more he will get the hang of it. Yes, and i always tell my hubby, Kiros's surname is Lee hor.. not Goh.

Gloomybear,
i like your bags.. so nice...

K@ye,
you wan to try the milderma powder for claire's heat rashes? kiros had very bad ones too.. and he used to rub his chin against his neck when he had tat. with the milderma powder, his heat rashes subsided and no more liao. i am now using it daily as after bath powder. if you worry that it's harsh for claire's skin, maybe you can apply very thin layer first. but i guess its not harsh like steriod cream.

Plim

My maid keeps falling sick leh, she's here for less than half a year, went to the doctor 3 times already.

1st time- gastro problem due to eating too much. (not we did not feed her)
2nd time - cough and flu
3rd time - just last week, suddenly tells me her eyes very painful, cannot sleep at night. Though cannot see her eyes red red, I still bring her see a doctor. Doctor examine, says only seems to be abit red, nothing serious, she insisted painful, then tells doctor pain until ear, make her headache. Doctor then says monitor for 3 days, if worse, must go specialist...

My parents and PILs think she's pretending one. She keeps complaining of homesick, then want to use handphone, dun give her, she'll cry.

My mum says maybe she's not very healthy, better to change one coz my baby still very small. Dun want her to pass anything to my baby.

Somemore, everytime, when she's sick, I got to take leave or arrange for help as she cannot handle my baby. Making me very stress leh...

Actually, even now she dun really take care 100%, only see head see tail. My mum is there for my baby. And I dun think I never let her rest enough, afternoon, she can take a rest and she goes to bed at 10 pm and wakes up abt 6 plus next day.

aiyo, very difficult hor!

The maid agency good, I dun know whether to stick to my maid agency or not. My agent keeps saying give her a chance that kind, saying got 2 babies in a household not easy to manage. (my sil baby but my sil is taking care of it now - still on ML)

gemini19,
wa, ur maid really sounds like trying to 'geng' leh... so on those occasions when she tell u she's 'sick', then u will let her rest right? and you yourself have to take leave to take care of ur bb...
i think in the long run, it will not work out for both of you lor... i will definitely be worried that she pass her cough/flu or eye redness to my bb!

if u feel ur agent is good, then mayb u can consider getting transfering this one out and getting another one from them (but i believe since ur current maid still serving her loan so ur only choice is to send back to agency and do a transfer unless u decide to send her back and forfeit remainder of ur loan)...

i will seriously consider changing her if her prime role is taking care of bb and she is not even doing that very well!

hehe, i think hor, mayb we can discuss offline if you want to vent your stress/anger... not good to 'flood' this thread :p
u can PM me... else i'm on msn: [email protected]

Pig, i agree with u... Must get our hubbies to be responsible for us, if not once it becomes a habit, very difficult to break.

Hehe, the surname thingy i told my hubby before I was pregnant with Claire coz he hinted to me about paying for the utilities bills. I told him straight out that if i pay, the future children's surname will be Wong! :p

Gemini, dun stress urself okie! U must take care of urself....

As for babies dun want anybody except u, u got to be iron hearted. Claire also dun wan anyone except me at times... So, i just let her cry and cry, then she no choice just gotta stick with her Papa.