(2007/11) November MTBs

dreamer@hk
yo...no lah ...it's not a matter of clever or not clever lah ..... like you said, I think it's the matter of how much time we want to spend teaching our bbs .... I strongly believe that if you cut down shopping...heeee, do less BPs...heee, watch less TVs and in front of computer ...haaa....and focus your attention to your bb, your bb will definitely learn too ....I believe all bbs will learn, it's a matter of how much time we want to put in them only ...mai kan cheong ....

Wow, Shane!! U really put into effort in teaching Ethan! Mabbe that's the one plus point of being a teacher!

Claire really taught me patience. I m still impatient but not as bad as before. I also do silly things in front of her... Like shaking my butt, or dancing etcc... All these silly things will make her really happy & laugh!

Dreamer, no need to feel paiseh. Looking after Kaira 24/7 is no easy feat! I think as long as we give our babies plenty of love and care, somethings are optional....

dreamer@hk
yes ...shendiao here ...heeee ...yo...slack har? what you do facing your bb at home? she sees you, you sees her ah? haaaa.... like me, be a clown to her, she will love it ....heeeee...

k@ye
ya...don't know why leh ..bbs loves to see us do silly things, and they will keep laughing and laughing ....and they are so happy to see us like clown like that ....haaaa...
ya... agree with k@ye, love and care is the most important ....bbs will learn as they grow ..it's just that like what k@ye said lor, last time I teacher mah ..it's my passion to teach and see children learn .....don't feel paiseh lah ....

k@ye ...

shane, kaira is a very "physical" baby -- she loves to be on her tummy and practicing how to crawl and move. she can spend quite long time on her tummie so sometimes i juz let her be until she "ee ee eh eh" .... while i surf the net or read newspapers.... heehee.

plus, some of the activities i do with her ... i also get bored lor ... then i stop ... hahahaha ...initially, quite "hardworking" showing her ABCs and stuff ... then after a while....i sianzzzz liao...

the thing i do most often with her is singing to her and "dancing" with her .... abit of exercise for me too!

now this "Transit" time in sg, i more relaxed cos my parents are around...so sometimes they entertain her by bringing her for walks

o o, one other thing i do pretty often is bring her to NTUC and show her the different fruits...lolol..the aunties sometimes think what am i doing???

wow!! 1.45am liao ..so fast ah?? ..better sleep liao ...haiz...will read long long thread again tomorrow .... don't go too fast ah ...old liao ..hard to catch up ...night night mommies!!

dreamer@hk
I saw your thread after sending mine..thot "talking" to you before I kun....
wow!! you see ...bbs are different ...my Ethan doesn't even want to be on tummy, he cries whenever I put him down ...so until now, "nuah nuah" ..he is not the "physical" kind ...lazy to exercise ... put him in jumperoo, the most 10 min ..then will cry when in there too long ....at least you still sing and dance with her what ...that's hard work o.k... not slack lah .....good mah ...parents bring her to walk around see more people ...will be more sociable ..Ethan only sees me ..now see people will cry .... oh ...good good !!! show her fruits and tell them the names ....seeee... you are doing something to teach your bb also ....no slack no slack lah ...... I better kun liao ...1.55am liao ...

Dreamer, u re not alone lah... sometimes i also get sick of the activities doing with Claire.

Yup, i also sing & dance with Claire. I will make up silly songs and even sing those super outdated songs to her!

I m thinking of bringing Claire to botanical garden one day. The only problem is that Claire can't stand heat if not her eczema will act up BIG time!

k@ye... weather is really hot .... unless go evening or early am
but be careful of mozzies also...

personally, i think better to bring babies to aircon places...heehee...more comfy for them.

today juz brought kaira to bugis...she seems to like to watch the water fountain there.... may bring her again ...

Ueno, my flight was delayed for 1hr plus. On flight, they took a long time to get the bassinet set up.

Nevermind, it was very hot in the plane. Claire's eczema acted up and full blown lor... Claire was also tired and as usual, she started being cranky.

Basically, whatever i requested onflight was extremely slow to attend to. Then, my hubby did a stupid thing, he let the air stewardess carried Claire. Wow, Claire's cries can be heard from the first class all the way to the end of the plane!

Nevermind, once reached HK Airport, wow... WAITED A LONG LONG TIME for the stroller.... And Claire was crying! Imagine, Claire was crying for a full 20 minutes while waiting for the stroller.... And it was supposed to be waiting for me when i disembark from the plane!

It was really very suay..... Heng heng on Claire's return flight, my Mum & sis din encounter such things lor....

Oh, just to side track, my Mum & Sis bought Claire back to Singapore and I can't imagine how they managed to lug back check in luggage of 90kg from HK to Singapore..... Not to mention, 5 bags of hand lugguage & a stroller!

dreamer@hk,
i also think i'm slacking le. bought the 'teach you baby how to read' vcd & books. now i lose steam liao...actually i'm bored watching the video..and previously Eliza wasn't so on abt it. i tried it again recently, seems like she'll pay more attention to it. trying to read to her when i'm not working. tho she tries to eat the books. actually i think i'm the one getting bored, not her! haa...

k@ye,
i wanna bring Eliza to botanic gardens too! but usually our family day is on sunday aft church & it's so hot, we always postpone. mayb can bring Claire there in the mornings or late afternoon..at least not so hot.
hahaa..my hubby's the one who make up silly songs and i'm the one who always sing the same songs to her...i dunno why i suddenly forgot so many kids songs liao. have to ask my hubby's nephews how to sing some songs some more..cham.

k@ye
ya ..ya..I realized that too ...bassinet is only set up when the plane take off, but after the plane took off, we actually waited for very long for the bassinet to be set up.....hb said have to wait for the plane to be stable first ...but I thot the plane very stable liao leh after take off ....until I was so fed up, coming back transit in Japan for 6 hours actually never put him in Bassinet cos' waited so long I also didn't want to ask for it liao, so got to carry him and sleep ...haiz....

Hi skyeskye
The book is by Glenn Dovan...very good book... but never really follow exactly, all bbs are different so I make some adaptations...don't get bored...I was bored at first too, but I got nothing better to do, so everyday do the same thing to occupy Ethan, what to do ...but when he knows what mobile is ..I was excited lor..even though I teach him 10 words per day and he only knows one word ..haiz ...I take it easy lah ..as long as he learns some words, don't really care how many words he learns liao lah ....can go to computer and search for children's songs and some got lyrics too ....

Gemini19
wow!! steady lah ...your bb is so firm on the mattress liao ....so sweet and chubby

Shane, No lah not migrating there hubby posted there for 2 yrs. so 'muah' and boy will have to tag along. Not really prepared to be a SAHM afraid i will run out of ideas on what to do with him. Is baby sitting facilities available in the US? Bcos i might be doing some part time job that might require me to fly to New York or San Diego for meetings, it's not goign to be v frequent maybe every quarterly.

Gemini your gal so strong! my son hates it when i flip him on his tummy he will always turn back v fast. And he dosen't know how to turn from the lying down position to the crawling position. Dunno how he'll learn how to crawl. btw, anybody knows when babies starts crawling?

Weishy, no portable water then how ah? Can i bring my own hot water flask and water to make milk? what happens after my water in the flask turns cold? I don't think the water can maintain it's temp for 16 hrs leh..

re: Bassinet
so is it better to ask them to assemble it first? Before take of or right after take off ah?
see lah... stress again haha!

Dreamer, yalor... My sis told me the tough part was actually bringing the lugguage from my auntie's place to the ground floor coz got no lifts!

Skye², yalor only late afternoons then can bring Claire to botanical garden!

Gemini, ur gal is so cute!! I like her hair... Claire is still growing her hair... I bought her to trim her hair again coz of the hot weather!

Suzanne, the bassinet is set up once the plane is up in the air. They will dismantle it during turblence. So in the end, i ask them to dismantle it coz Claire dun want to sleep and she prefers to sleep on my lap! Got water on board the flight lah... U just ask from the flight stewards/stewardesses!

hehe... thks Kaye! Ayoh i scared I buah tahan my son when he starts his non stop crying sigh. I v v impatient one. And can get v 'yim chim' when it comes to certain things.

shane you doing Glen Doman ah? I bought the whole series of flashcards and i try to do the sesison with my boy every night. I don't have time to follow exactly according to the book cos it's too time consuming. Maybe when i move to states i'll have nmore time.

I have seen so many nice studio pics of babies from the threads here and elsewhere. Am bringing Kiros and my sis's boys to have theirs taken tomorrow. So excited.

suzanne, on vaccinations rite, u can share with your PD where u r going and he/she can probably give some advice...e.g. when we knew we are relocating, we visited our PD in hong kong and told him our plans that we are relocating (1) to sg and (2) to holland, he did a quick check on europe and assured us of the "continuity" of the vaccinations, shud we take it over there. and when he left, he clearly give us a list of the brand, batch numbers of each of the vaccination kaira took. only rotavirus, he told us there are 2 brands on mkt, so best to complete her course before returning to sg, which was what we did.

then now in sg, the PD we go to, i also told her on first visit that we are moving to holland after kaira turns 6 months, so she has already checked out the holland vaccination schedule and looks similar except for prevenar ... which she is going to advise us when we next visit her.

so i think u don't have to worry about that

which airline r u taking to the US? i think with babies hor, best is SQ ... heehee. when we came back fr hkg, we took sq, the bassinet was brought to our seat prior to take off (but not fixed). once take off, and stable, stewardess automatically came and fix it. no hassle at all.

the next time, me taking klm to holland, wonder how that will be????

Good morning mummies

Thanks for your compliments

K@ye, I was thinking to bring her for a haircut. My parents are saying its so untidy. But I scared, cut already look like boy boy again.

Dreamer

You are right. Everyone says look like me, esp when I'm at that age. Even my Grandma says so

Suzanne,

Normally baby starts crawling about 8 months, but it really depends on each baby.

Wow, the whole series of flashcards very ex leh, I'm thinking very hard whether to buy or not, in the end, I thought of trying out myself first. DIY...

Shane

I bought the book also. Is it Glen Doman? I'm waiting for my blank cards to arrive to start though. But they say needs alot of discipline one, hope I will perserve.

re: flash cards
haiyo, i'm one slacking mummy lor... i DIY all my flashcards based on GD method... was quite consistent (though not following their advised schedule) to show my elder gal since she was 7 mths... but i think due to the frequency and sometimes i was out of country, end up i did not manage to do it and hence din find it effective for my elder gal :p this younger one huh, i am only flashing it as and when i hv time... kekeke... i juz treat it as another activity that i do with her lor...

hi dreamer, default airline is UA but i cannot tahan the service cos it sucks lor. I'll opt to top up on my own so that we can take SQ. Untill my boy gets a bit older than maybe we'll take NWA. When are you goign to Holland?

So far seems like CX, SQ, NWA are the more baby friendly airlines.

Gemini, my son loves to be held by his armpit and he'll stand up then sit down for a split second then stand up i'm so worried it'll affect the development of his legs but when we don't carry him to stand, he'll fuss and then cry until we carry him up on his legs again sit down also cannot ok?? v demanding....
I bought 2nd hand flashcards so was more affordable. paid $600 for the maths and english set.

can any1 share wat's GD method all about? i got some blankcards (slightly bigger than the 4R photo) which i print out a few words in BOLD RED color (like apple, bear, cat...)

i flashed them to my gal (few weeks back, now slacking oredi...:D) and at first, she seems interested then later on i realized she wanted to grab the card and EAT them... hehe...

m also running out of ideas and my gal's bored with the toys i got her... she can get so irritated that when i pass it to her, she will scream and use her hand to push it away!

kittybride

You can refer to this website for more details. www.gdbaby.com.sg

heehee, my gal also, anything within her reach, she'll put into her mouth. I rented the exesaucer for her, she removes the toys that she dun like and threw it away. Very noti.

Suzanne

My gal also like that, always want to stand and jump. I heard from other mummies, its ok one, babies at this age all does the same thing.

Aunties, look what mummy did to me. She dressed me up like a girl!
1407475.jpg

The coverall bib doesn't belong to me, it's meant for my cousin. Luckily mummy bght 3 bibs for me, else i'll not forgive her. Ha ha...Coz "I'm The BOSS!"
1407476.jpg

Suzanne
you mean child care? oh ya! but here my area is pretty ex...about US1K per month Mon-Fri, and that's why my hb wants me to stay at home instead
... you mean your company still allows you do part time or you get a part time job here? actually what we did last time during the flight was that we bought a dozen ready-made Similac Advance milk for Ethan, cos' too troublesome to bring milk powder, and also the water also don't know safe or not? so never make milk on plane...ya, I am doing the Dovan method but I didn't buy the card, like plim, I DIY my own and adapt accordingly ...never really follow their schedule too ...

kittybride
I read that book few months back, kind of do some adaptations and never really follow .. it's about showing flashcards to bb for the first time like 5 words (words that is related to things that bb see for a few days and change one word and add another and like end of the week, bb will have shown like 25 words or so ....didn't really remember liao cos' never follow exactly ....see if you can borrow from library or buy online....or maybe check out the internet on Glen Dovan .....but the book will have more details ....Ethan gets bored easily too, and that's why we never buy a lot of toys for him cos' he will play a few times then don't want liao ..so I rather spend my time with him than to let him play with toys by himself ....now I try bring him to the library every week to listen to storytelling time for bbs, hopefully he will meet more people and interact with other bbs ...

cactusnah
yo...Eagan looks so sweet and pretty ...kekeke ... I thot pink bib but lacy too ..haaaa... the bib is so nice
...no more mess for him ....good for you and him ...heee...

<font face="Comic Sans MS">hi moms! i'm a mom from the Oct 07 thread. i have the following milk formula for sale. hope to clear them soon.

willing to exchange for Nan 2 for 400g tins.

self-collection at tampines mall / century square / tampines mrt / tampines st 12, wkdays after 6pm and wkends (timing to be confirmed). otherwise, for wkdays during office hrs, self-collect at central mall / central square / ministry of manpower.

for sale:

1. Nan 2 HA - 900g : S$32 (Expiry date: 26 Aug 09) (NTUC selling at S$33.50/tin)

2. Nan 2 HA - 900g : S$32 (Expiry date: 21 Oct 09) (NTUC selling at S$33.50/tin)

3. Enfapro Stage 2 - 400g : S$15 (Expiry date: 30 Aug 09)

4. Mamil Gold Step 2 - 400g : S$15 (Expiry date: 14 May 09).

willing to let go both tins of Nan 2 HA at S$60.

pass the word ard...thank you!</font>

shane, where did u buy the liquid formula? in US or SG? i am looking for it in sg ... can't find it yet. also thinking that pre-made one more convenient....

Hi Nov mums. I'm new to this thread but I'm a Nov mum and very worried sick abt my baby. He's not taking his formula milk ever since I intro-ed him to cereal (Frisocrem and Nestle Brown Rice) 1 week ago. I've tried Nan1 Nan2 and Friso1 Gold. He doesn't want to drink.

Seems like he is rejecting all milk except my breastmilk, and he only wants semi-solids. Can I have advice? I'm trying to source all different types of sample size formula milk for him so that he can try and hopefully settle on one. Coz I've already 2 big tins at home (Nan2 and Friso1 Gold) that he refuse to take. It's costing me man.. Broke. But worse than that, my heart hurts la. PD says he is undergrowth.

So the advice I need from all of you is: for those who breastfeed consistently for 6 months, did you also have problems like that? My boy has been on BM for 6 months but supplemented with formula. He's ok with formula actually. but once he tasted cereal, he doesn't want it anymore.

advice advice pls! He's 6 months and his weight and height is less than the 25percentile. worried sick.

Dreamer, i think those liquid formula can be bought in SG coz in the hospitals, they used that for the babies.

Cactus, the bib is so cute!!! No wonder ur hubby kick up a big fuss! The bib is like a dress!

Kitty, i bought board books with texture so that the babies can feel. Yup, sometimes Claire will just grab the book or things and stuff it into her mouth!

Claire likes to park herself (in the walker) outside the bath room and see those water droplets! Or my parents washing clothes... She will laugh &amp; jump with joy....

k@ye, thanks ... i will continue to scout around for it... cos no see it in supermarkets/pharmacies leh. (errr, at least those that i went to lah)

mebbe approach nestle directly ...

Hi Lydia,

I have tried to add nestle rice cereal to the milk for my boy to drink, and also to feed it to him via spoon. He doesnt like it too. He is on full FM from 4 month old.

It could be a phase where yr child is rejecting milk. But shld still manage a few feeds a day. I suppose.

cactus, the bibs will make bb sweat inside?

dreamer, i broke liao lol

Grace &amp; tinkabel, I've rec the booster seat, thanks!

weishy, do we need to wash &amp; soak the barley before cooking?

any mummies has made spinach puree? do we use the round spinach only? i saw 3 types at the supermarket: normal spinach, round spinach &amp; round &amp; red spinach.

My DD is 6 mths today!!! Any babies born the same day???

ShaneDiao
Ya, BB always like us to do silly things to make them laugh but cannot do it too many times a day. Cos my son always find something like toy that he never play before funny and keep laughing when I move and shake the toy. But after awhile, he just got sick and won’t laugh anymore. Not even the next day…unless its something new again! Just know you are teacher…no wonder you are good at it. :p Its good that you bring your son out for more exposure rather than always stay at home. If not, if they see strangers, they will cried. Will try to find more time to try more stuffs and see what he react. Sometimes, he can be so focused on thing that amazes him that he just ignores me. But I have to agree…really need to sacrifice our own time to play with them. :) My son too get bored with toys easily and he will just take and throw it aside everytime I pass it to him.

K@ye
Can bring Claire to the Jacob Ballas Children's Garden. Its quite a nice place…especially when they know start to walk. I saw mummies bring their kids there and some brought their babies too. But its hot thus you might want to consider bringing her when she is older…like 1 &amp; half yrs old.

Skyeskye
You are not the only one…sometimes I also get bored with the reading and sing songs. Always sing that few songs only. Cannot remember how to sing those children’s’ songs too.
Think my BB also get bored with the same old songs again and again.

cactusnah
Where you bought the big bibs? Its nice! Maybe I didn’t shop enough to see it outside. Always rush home after work.

dreamer: I have been looking at the BP thread and it seem like the items they are selling is repeating and repeating... no new stuff... heng arh.. if not, broke again.. haha..

Lydia: I have just intro nestle rice cereal to my girl for the past few nights, but only 1scoop with 30ml.. just to let her taste and pratice how to swollow.. so far so good.. she will still drink FM after that. I have advise from other mummies that don't give those rice cereal comes with milk coz its sweet.. and the bb wont want to drink FM anymore coz FM doesnt taste sweet. I dont have any advise wor~ coz I am still new to semi-solid.. other mummies might able to help..

Deep Dreamer

I have not trim her hair leh, thinking of doing so only. Scared she look like boy boy again...

k@ye/ Dreamer

What kind of books did you buy for your baby?
I'm trying to get hold of some books for her also.

gelyn,
yes all the booster seats are here already. But then, we are still pending shipment for your tux, so hang on a bit ok? Oh btw, have you decided on the sailor set? We also have some adidas bodysuits in germany, china and france. See our blog for the pix.
http://mattnashcloset.blogspot.com