(2007/11) November MTBs

dreamer@hk
I got it from US http://www.toysrus.com/shop/index.jsp?categoryId=3088670 If you look at the link..it's a box of 12 ...small slim bootle pre-made formula ...when Ethan was born in the hospital, the nurse gave him the little bottle when I couldn't feed him for the first day ...they have other brand pre-made formula like Enfamil too ....I guess Sin should have it too .....like what k@ye said...

Gelyn
used to be lah .....I always sing the same old songs many times a day, and he likes it very much and keep laughing ..... as long as when you sing, try to be comical and act like clown, they will be amused ...haaaa......he loves me singing the same old songs ... but hor, like today I made up my own piggybag song on using the tune of "Nine Little Duckling" and sing "Nine Little Planets" instead cos I want him to learn the sequence of the planets mah ...and when I sang hor, he looked at me, never smile and laugh ...very serious like that u know ....so I think he likes old songs better ...haaaa...I also bored sing the same song everyday almost 10 times throughout the day ...I also read the same books to him everyday until he not sian I also sian ..but he likes it so no choice read lor ...when I want to take it away, he will grab from me ....and when I read, he will guai guai listen ...today I also change new book, he like "Where is the old book" ..and keep "eh eh eh" ...haiz.....read old book until close eyes also can read to him liao ...haaaa.....

k@ye
I almost lol when you said Claire likes to park herself outside the bathroom ...haaa so funny you...

pig07
go studio ah? wow! they charge a bomb right I heard? so only Kiros will be posing ah? you and hb le?? show us hor ...make us jealous ...haaaa....

gemini19,
I trimmed matt's hair myself. I lay him onto a towel laying in the sink and I cut. I kept a tail for him, hasn't been cut since birth. It's already shoulder length now. haha

Re: books for babies
I have gotten the Einstein set of flashcards for Matt. My MIL flashed to him every day. Ask him where is the ladybird and he smiles. So funny. Also bought him some board books from Eric Carle, Sandra Boynton and Karen Katz. Ordered from Amazon for 2 times already.

hi mommies
I have been ordering hamper online from Noel for the past 6 years to send it to my mum during Mothers' Day.... I think my mum receives hamper of chicken essence, and birdnest until sian liao ...so any suggestions or not har?? I wanted to order Angie Durian cake for her but seems like they don't have internet credit card transaction ...and I don't think can transfer money to their bank ....so drop the idea of ordering cake ...wanted to get my sibling to buy gifts and give on my behalf but no surprise for her leh ..so all these years always go thru' Noel to send hamper to them ....any suggestions pls......

Books for babies:
wow, you mummies are very hardworking hor.. i think i better buckle myself up and buy more books for my girl liao.. all the books you mummies mention, I never heard before one.. sua ku liao.. sigh.. this mummy no good.. only shop shop shop... no books..

ah shane, have u used wishingtree.com.sg before? mainly flowers... but got some hampers too ...

i've been using them for 10 years liao for all sorts of occassions... lol ... since my wedding!

(no no, i not getting referral $$ from them...i juz like their arrangements and stuff)

mambobb, me also very guilty, juz shop for clothes n very few books. even the books which i bought, also seldom read to DD. Must buckle up also!! I only put her in the high chair and play a different baby Einstein DVD while i do my chores.

langlao3
oh! regarding bbs watching TV hor...I also let Ethan watch bb Einstein DVD , but I am always there to tell him what it is ..cos' I read reports about letting kids under 2 years to watch TV hor ...not good le ...reason being ..TV will cause attention deficit ...mommies better check this out and don't let them watch too much TV....it's better to watch with them and explain to them instead of letting them watch passively by themselves ...just my 2 cents thoughts....

thks plim and shane. Kiasu mummy must find out...

I think I bought one whole collections of books for Matt already, although havent used it on him yet. Hmm, but this book is not from amazon huh? Then cant order? Haiz, my shipment from amazon is on the way. Now got to accumulate again before I can order.

shane, yes I heard about that too, so I have to constantly remind my ILs who are helping take care of Matt now he is NOT allowed to watch TV. But their response to me is always, he doesnt know how to watch yet la. Haiz, say until I also sianz. Matt obviously knows, cos when he hears the TV, even when i faced him away, he turns his head towards the TV

my DD likes to watch TV leh, her eyes will be glued to the TV set. i try to explain to her what it is, she bo chap me one. however she only likes certain segment & if those segments dun interest her, she will start to make noise and then when the segments she enjoys comes on, she immed keep quiet!! very amazing one.

I always tell DH, she'll press fast forward if she knows how to use remote.

shane,
yup, intend to go library to get some books dis wkend, also to chk out those bb weaning food.

k@ye,
i hv cloth book for chloe n also quite a few toys wif diff texture. i guess i made the wrong move to give her all at once, so now she knows what she has oredi n gets bored whenever i bring them to her... she must be thinking "SAME OLD TOYS AGAIN AH... SIAN!" ahaha...

re: watching tv
my gal also watch tv most of the time at nanny's place - no choice coz nanny also tired after keeping her entertained with her voice and the toys i brought over. so she will just turn on the tv and put my gal on her walker and face the tv!! then she will quickly go and do her chores.

i wanted to pass her the DIY flashcards i did but HB said the nanny not really educated, later she showed my gal the wordings upside down... then how?? :D

langlao3,
my gal likes to watch soccer match!! *pengz*
but hb said it's coz the grass is super LIME GREEN on tv, dats y attracted her attention. then when it's commercial time, she will switch attention liao... ahahaa...

gemini,
me only bought ONE cloth book (DR Seuss circus or something) for DD... no other books .... hahaha....no DVDs either.

i don't even bother to read the cloth book to her cos she totally not interested kind...look left look right for her toys then flip liao ....in the end, the book is for her to bite ;)

but i do have some homemade alphabet cards and chinese numbers and also the random dots, print and put on flash cards for her.

pig07: Enjoy yr photo shoot tom. Hey, u can take yr 1st trimester preggy foto with Kiros too.

Tinkabel: Yeah, certainly will find the coverall bib useful. I reckon we can use it for months, so decided to buy a few for him.

Langlao: No, dun think bb will sweat in it coz it's normal cotton material. It covers only the front, the back is like normal bid with velcro at the neck area.

Gelyn: I bght from Mothercare.

Flashcard: I dun do it everyday, perhaps only 3 times per week coz by the time we got home, it's usually abt 7+. So we'll play and talk to him instead. Also borrowed story books for him, but only have time to read to him on weekends. Sigh...I did ask my MIL to flashcard to him, but think she did it only once or twice. Dare not ask again...

kitty, mine likes to watch tennis matches
she's also a fan of certain TV commercials.

dreamer, i hv tis book with a teether and end up, DH bites on every other section of the book except the teether lol

Gemini, i bought Sandra Bonyton (recommendation from Skye²) books from Amazon.com.

I dunno lah, i just read to Claire and make funny expressions etc. She likes the colours on the books. Anyway, i also recite the "san zi jing" to her at times and ended up me forgetting the verses most of the time! Haha

Oh, babies are like that. I kept Claire's toys and then after a week, let her play with it again, she s alright.

ShaneDiao
Haha…you so cute! Mine sometimes will amused, sometimes not when I do it too many times. Guess he is sick of it. And like your son, he will looked at me, never smile and somemore very serious too.Your son still will guaiguai listen, mine will try to reach out to grab the book. And if he can’t reach, he will made a lot of noise and try to flip over. But he like it when I hold him up and down…my arms aching man. I think my arms will be very strong sooner or later. Too many muscle build up. Gosh….

Tinkabel,
Still thinking what size to order. Hahaha….But I didn’t see any adidas bodysuite from your blog.

Mambobb & langlao3,
Me too. Only shop for clothes and not so much on books. Not even DVD… I am slack!
Better buck up abit.

Re: watching TV
I also tried to tell my MIL not to let him watch TV cos my niece always glue to the TV.
But hard to control when I am not around.

cactusnah
Thanks for telling me. I hardly shop at mothercare therefore didn’t know that they have the bibs there. :)

k@ye: yes i heard of very good comments of Sandra Bonyton. The amazon reviews are also very good. I also ordered. Now waiting anxiously for them to arrive.

Pig/ langlao,

Your hair has dropped lesser? Good for u! Mine still dropping as much. I tried using Silkpro anti-fall drop, seemed to get better for 1st 2 times then started again. Now I am using Jackie’s endorsed Ba Wang, hope can help. So far, still dropping like mad! I wanted to go Yun Nam but my friend told me to see a doc instead for hormonal pills. I am still BF so dun really wanna any pills.. What should I do? My hair is becoming so thin that my hair line is so visible!!!

Re. Delivery Procedure
Is it a norm for our doc to check and ‘receive’ our bb only when she is about to come to this world? During my labour, he only came in to check (at most) 5 times.. the whole labour was also handled by midwife til Chloe’s head finally got ‘stuck down there’ then doc came in to continue the final push.

Yany,
Which hosp did u deliver your babies and which gynae u used? Seems attentive to me.

Mambobb,
Not sure if all airlines charge. I will be bringing Chloe to SHA this June and both China Eastern n SQ are charging. Just found out that besides paying 10% of the air tix for bb, fuel surcharge n tax are also chargeable in full! So it cost about $400-$500 for our bb.

Catherine,
Fire your boss! Your company is definitely not pro-family! If family finances are ok w/o u working, I would support u in being SAHM – you can rest well, spend more time with bb, your r/ship with your parents n hb will also improve as a result. 1 thing u muz bear in mind thou – money matters. Who pay for the bills.. muz discuss these issues clearly. I took NPL for 3 mths n my hb can feel the ‘pinch’ in paying for almost everything.

ShaneDiao,
Good Qns u have asked abt Mother’s Day. The best would be to celebrate with both moms, and include yourself too (tt make it 3 mums)! But again, it depends if both moms are ok with the arrangement. My hb n I intend to bring both moms out for makan, if my FIL is agreeable – he belongs to the ‘old-time’ traditional man who wants wife to be at home with him.
As for allowance, I do not ask my hb for it. When I was still working then, we took turns to pay for household items. While I m on NPL nw, he will provide for almost most of the things (not my shopping, of cos), basic necessities such as groceries and makan while we are out. One thing about him, he sure loves buying diapers on offer! *haha* I guess this is really up to every couple.

Re. Signing
Ethan is so clever! U read up on sign language or u invent your own?

Thanks mummies for the recommendation. I'll need to source out what books to get also. Found some from babycenter, their recommendations like quite interesting, think now got free shipping within US.

Ya, I read TV is not good for baby. I only let her watch nursery rhymes with me. That day after work, I caught my maid sitting right in front of the TV and I was quite mad. Already told her cannot let my gal watch TV, and definately not right in front. Distance too close for comfort. And yet my maid can still deny one. Aiyo, sometimes, dun know what to do with them.

Tinkabel

Did you also send me my boaster seat already? Sorry to chase...

Re potty training.
My mom started Chloe on potty when she was 2-mth-old, thou she told me can start immed. Seemed to work ‘cos Chloe has been ‘pee-ing’ n ‘shitting’ in her potty while being held by my mom. I would carry her to my mom 1st thing when she woke up in the morn, ard 8a.m., ‘cos usually she wld have her 1st ‘shit’ of the day. 1 thing to note – must be patient. My mom would spend at least 10mins with her, ‘shee-ing’ n ‘agh-ing’. And she also took note of the time of the next ‘pee/shit’. Chloe is on diaper cloth during the day, easy for potty training.

S@L,
When is #2 for legwarmers coming in? I hope to get them before I set for SHA on 31 May.

Langlao,
If there is a gathering for Nov mummies, Count Me In!

Gemini,
Yr gal is steady ah!

Kitty,
I m using flash cards with Chloe when she is in her quiet alert mode. Flash 1 card per second at a time. Each time 5 cards. She will smile. I tried to flash her cards when she is alert n active, I realize she does not want to see.

Re BB watching TV.
I read up on an article in newspaper – BBs under 2 yrs of age should not watch tv for more than 10 mins per day. Something to do with brain devt. Try not to let them watch too much if poss.

K@ye- if u wan to bring claire tink early am before 8am will be nice if not evening will be betta. So far I've brought my gal to botanic gardens as well as west coast park in the am/evening. Am after 9 it gets abit hot liao so best is to wear sleveless and put on a hat! But beware of mossies esp evening time.

Re: Books
As for books my little monster munch away on her cloth book which I got from mothercare. I also bought some board books by karen katz and tony ross (princess series) these books talk abt manners, goin to bed, potty etc.. I love books so I'll read to her. Anyway I tink will have a mini-library for her. hee hee

Making Puree:
Yesterday i took out my u-like blender and tried making apple puree. Wow very easy and yummy I ate the whole lot by myself! ha ha ha.. I recommend this blender v. easy to use and its a handy size.

Any mummies here know of BPs for baby slings? Saw some on Maternalove website, am thinking of getting one for nursing purposes. I have a MIM sling but find it a little cumbersome to adjust. Dunno how to fit my Chloe in.. seems uncomfy for her legs leh.

Re Books.

Chloe has her own lib card! In order to save $$ and space in my hse, I usu. borrow books from the lib. Like poochi, I look out for books on teaching values or things more related to them. I also go for colourful ones that Chloe finds it more appealing. SO far, I have read n re-read abt 10 books.

yvonne, alot of designs OOS
supplier never expected such big orders -actually me too!

So i cant say if your items will be OOS too. -cross my fingers. even till now i have nt placed orders for myself ...sob sob....hv to give the mummies priority first.
i also headache now.

I am not sure if by 31st May batch #2 will reach me or nt. But i can help post to SHA for u. unless u decided to drop them then i take over lo...i can refund you if really that case. Sorry

Poochi, thanks for the info! I m thinking of getting a new hat for Claire... Excuse to shop again!

Yvonne, babies have to pay for the airport taxes & fuel charges also. So hor, if the baby fare is expensive, sometimes i think can just get the discounted adult fare... Coz its abt the same price... But gotta call the airline and let them know its a baby lor.

gemini19,
Let me check and get back to you.

gelyn,
once you decided please let me know cos preorder closes tomorrow. also let me know your alt size if the size u wanted is oos. the adidas romper is fresh from the oven today. check it out. preorder closes tomorrow too

k@ye:
Agree, baby fare is so expensive. We always those discounted SQ tickets back to Singapore, with taxes only cost about S$600. But baby fare is 10% of full fare. When we came, his one way was about S$200 plus. So expensive. Almost equivalent to an adult discounted fare.

langlao,
adidas romper preorder closes tom. Delivery in early June. I am definitely getting this for Matt to suppport the Olympics since we are in China. haha... But got to hide it from my hubby 1st... Else he will nag at me again.

baby Fare:
I tot baby can travel free as long as they are less than 1yr old -_O".. guess i am wrong..

tinkabel: u mean by discount adult fare can get S$200+ for SQ? so good?

Carter's Baby Bag:
Any mummies here has the Carter's bb bag? IS it good? now have a BP on that at $30.. is it worth it?

mambobb,
we can fly back to Spore on SQ on a 7 days ticket for S$600 for 2 way. So yes, About S$300 for 1 way. It's quite a good deal.

Haha, i thought the same as you. Thot it's free until 2 weeks before we returned back to Shanghai. I kapo, go call SQ and ask. Then they tell me it's not free. Lucky I asked, else I will have to leave Matt behind in Singapore. haha. Also, it's a pain cos with babies, now we cannot do internet checkin, got to check in at the counter. Haiz...

Fwah.. the fares so ex for babies. Can I jus hide her in my bagpack and take her out later kekeke...
I wan to bring her overseas come sept/oct. Lucky u gals discussing abt this.

tinkabel, Grace,

I just saw your link!! Can I still get the sailor outfit?? Sooo cute!! (size 110, boy)

Let me know pls.

Yvonne, you muz hv very little hair to start with. I hv so much hair that even tho dropped a lot i cant really tell. I din use any special shampoo so i guess the hair naturally stop dropping.

Actually, i realise my DD has a bald patch at the back of her head, think she's the one dropping hair now

RE: Gathering
anyone interested??? maybe we crush Oct's mum's lol.

poochi.i agree that u blender very ez to make apple puree. however not so for sweet potato puree cos more gluely n hard.

tinkabel, i'll place order later

Hi there, anyone needs to buy desitin cream? I am thinking of ordering some more. Anyone interested?
I have no idea how to organise but can try over the weekend.

langlao,
just checked with supplier. 80 for about 6-8 months, 90 for about 12 months and 95 for older ones. However, the sizes are based on the height of the babies. Let me know which design and what size you are interested in.

langlao, i sent out ur carrier today!
and gathering , yes yes..pls organise something....hehehehe

Mummies, have you all got ur carriers already?

Mambo, u received your orders yet?

Gillian u can try the Desitin Clear, i bought a few tubes the last round and its good. Oh ya I also got the Stellatopia cream and body wash. Its so expensive here right?!