(2007/11) November MTBs

Hi Langlao,

suddenly i realise i didnt reply you on the zip cloth. paiseh paiseh

I got mine from kiddy palace.

must keep a lookout on the zip too. remember to press the zip head down after zipping it up. the zip may just slip down by itself after a few kicks by time your child's leg can touch the zip. or when after long time use.

What i will be doing is i will use a clothe peg to secure the zip head after zipping it up. This will prevent the zip from slipping down.

I am still in US. My husband works here so have to follow. Already here for 6 years, only last year I knew about this forum. Busy with new baby then so no time to enter forum.

Ethan also has very serious eczema as the weather here is very dry, and low humidity. Currently on 3 diff types of steriods: one for scalp, one for face, and one for whole body ...very serious right? ......I am using California baby Calendula cream for his face, and seems to see improvement.... and Cetaphil is also good too .....

Twiggy

Mine is the Bumbo seat. Dun think can last her long. She wants to get out of it after a while, and the seat getting a bit too small for her already. Quite underuse but I dun mind lor, she enjoys the little time in it.

As to getting my hubby to help, he does help out. He's more of a cleaniness freak then me. I know he's quite stress out with work lately. Been working late himself. My hubby is a nice person, the only problem is I think a bit too soft when it comes to his family. He always think I over-react which I dun think so. I try to control myself and not make too many comments but when it comes to my baby, I sometimes forget lor and will just comment. Guess what, my gal recently caught a flu and my in laws kind of like blame me for not taking good care of her. They wanted me to feed her some kind of chinese medicine which they get from their doctor and which they are consuming. I refuse to not because its chinese medication but I thought its better to bring my baby to the chinese physician for diagnoises for medication. Then they commented I dun trust them etc...

Hi Twiggy

My son is using Bumbo too at 4 month, and I find it useful when I need a breather.I guess kids will outgrow it when they learn to walk, and they might not want to sit. I am prepared for the short term convenience... hee... so far he enjoys sitting the Bumbo and play with his toys.

Hi Gemini

How old is your baby? When my son caught a cold, and had running nose, and cough a lot last week, we sent him to the clinic but the doctor never gave any medication. She simply told me that babies are too young to take medicine for non- serious conditions like cold and cough.... Basically, they encourage self-healing if conditions are not serious. It took two weeks to recover by himself though. The doctor said it will make them stronger when they recover themselves, instead of relying on the medication. Actually I just gave him more liquids.

Welcome Diao!

Claire also has eczema. The doc prescribed steriod cream and physiogel for her. I din use steriod on her but the physiogel is quite effective. Mabbe u wanna try that on Ethan. Also, u can use Badger Healing balm on Ethan. It works as well.

Pig, my hubby like urs also. Ask him to help will make a mess out of it. My in laws also sama sama, they complain to my Mum that they seldom see Claire but most of the time, meet them out for dinner, they always expect us to give in to their timing. Hallo, u still want to complain when u re not considerate to us!

As much as i try to control my comments on my in laws but when it comes to my baby, i really lost it.

I feel like getting away from everyone and enjoy some moment of peace.

Hi Gemini,

Regarding the medication, i think you gotta make yr stand clear. and also get yr hubby to stand by you for this.

Let your hubby know the seriousness of misdiagnosis.

Medication suitable for one person may not be for another. Some chinese medication is so strong that even adult cannot take it and will affect the liver.

My mil and friend are 2 good examples. their liver couldnt take the mediacation, and turned yellow. literally you can see tat the face and skin colour has changed to that of yellow.

I know there are chinese physician whom are specialists in infants/kids. Go to them if you wanna try out chinese medicine. DONT SELF MEDICATE.

Kaye,

same la. my in law will see very little of my son as we staying at my mum's place mah (which my in laws are unaware).

Then my hubby will always comment, must bring our boy to my parent's place more often tis and that. They so old tis and that. In my heart i am thinking, WTF. We go or no go also like that what. They dont really care about our presence, which is what i feel la.

Then every sunday got family dinner gathering one mah. Then still got give in to their timing. Can you imagine? Its already hard enough to prepare and bring a child out. Only then to reach the dinner place and see them rushing to eat and rushing the orders because they want to go visit the other grandson whom are unwell and didnt turn up for dinner. And somemore packet dinner to the house okay!!

if eat until so xin ku, then dont eat la. i dont understand why must eat. ownself settle ownself dinner lor.

I jus cant understand why my hubby is so dumb. Keep thinking that its impt we go over to his parents hse else his parents will mind as dont get to see grandchild.

Pleassssssssssssssssssssssss lor. I dont think they will mind lor as ours is not the only grandson and of course still at a young age whereby cant play and communicate with them yet

Hi K@ye

I was in Sin during Feb, and his eczema got worse. Had to rush to KKH and doctor prescribed Physiogel too, but doesn't seem to work on him. When we were back here in US, his eczema became worse than in Sin, so had to use 3 diff steriods. I try to use only when he flares up badly, most I apply a lot of moisturizer all over him.

Diao

My baby is 5 mths 2 weeks now. She's took medication when she's abt 2 mths plus. i got same metality, too young for medication so give lesser but she turn out to be worse. Nearly got bronchilities. Fortunately recover. So now, when her PD give her medicine, I dutifully follow.

Pig07,
That's exactly what I'm afraid of. My dad has chronic liver problem and I'm not sure whether its because the Chinese medicine cause the problem or not.
Haha, my ils also say the same. Last monday, I got to leave my gal at their place to bring my mum for checkup. My gal cry in their house leh, they quite upset and not too pleased that my gal dun want them. My gal literally shake their hands away when they want to carry her. She very noti hor... My gal very funny one, with us around, she dun want the maid. If we are not around, only my ils, she looks for the maid only.

Hmm, shanediao, i dunno whether will this work for Ethan but u can try. Do US sell bittergourd or dried bittergourd? U can boil them in water and bath Ethan. I tried that for Claire and it helps to bring down the flare ups. The best is to use bittergourd vines. If u can find fresh bittergourd, u can juice them and use the juice to apply on the skin.

Pig, precisely. Mine is have to wait for the SIL one. I was like, WTF coz the SIL's children are 2yrs old & 4yrs old. By the time, finished dinner, Claire is so cranky coz she got to sleep mah. Nvm, got one time, all arranged to meet at 1pm at Taka for lunch. As usual, my hubby & I are the punctual ones.

U know what the SIL says, "Wow u all got baby still can be that early!" I felt like slapping her!

Hi Gemini,

yr daughter very clever lei. Already can show displeasure and 'NO'.. good lei. Aiyo, you dare to leave yr daughter to your PIL ah knowing they got intention to feed yr daughter with all the barang barang medication.

Kaye,

yes yes.. exactly.. bil they hve older kids. then they wil be late or what lor. then will sms to say ask us to go ahead and order la. then when they arrive, pil will hoola hoola over them. Wa lau..

forever they can be late cos they got 2 kids mah. But my sil is not working and has a maid and bil is at home too. am sure they can make an effort to be early if they want. Dont always give the lame excuse that the kids notti hence cant be early. must clean up etc. THEY ARE NOT THE ONLY ONE IN SINGAPORE WITH MORE THAN 1 YOUNG KID AT HOME OKAY.

The more they couldnt manage and be in time, the more PIL feel that its understandable.

still remember got once i was already heavily pregnant. Then bil suggeted to eat at a partcilaur restaurant. unfortunately this restaurant doesnt take phone booking. you gotta go queue one mah. Guess what, bil asked my hubby to go queue hor. he is the one whom wanted to go to that particular restaurant and stil has the cheek to go ask my hubby to go queue. just becos they have 2 kids doesnt mean they can be exempted from everything and can be late. If you cant make it in time to go queue, then go elsewhere to eat whereby can take phone reservation one la. imagine my hubby and i queuing. i already damn du lan in my heart liao. and i think i was like 9 month pregnant at tat time lor. the waiting is stand and wait one hor. No numbers issued. noT sitting down and wait.

TMD. Come liao just enter the restaurant and sit down and eat. just because they have young kids then can like tat la.

that why as much as possible i try not to bring my boy to go dinner with them. very sian one.

If we can reach on time, its not that we are punctual hor. its because i only have 1 child hence 'EASIER' to bring out and be on time. BIL they different. The later they are, the more understandable it is.

!@#$%^&*()_+

pig, k@ye, can understand all the frustration you guys are facing... generally i'm ok with my ILs and my MIL is generally ok one... however, sometimes i juz cannot tahan lor... like certain activities we try to do as a whole family (IL side), always have to give in to their certain timing/days (bcos they are forever so busy even on wkends)... so nowadays, if they try to arrange something very last minute, i always tell my husband, sorry, it's too last minute arrangement and i have no plans to go out, please tell them cannot, otherwise, ask them to come to our house instead... haha... quite effective in a way la and nowadays, since i cook more often on wkends, i will ask my hb on thurs/fri whether there are any gatherings on wkends, then that will help determine which day we do not go out and will be cooking, hence buy the food accordingly... any last min changes, sorry, i won't entertain!

i have 2 young kids leh... just to prepare and get them ready is a big challenge!

well, anyway, i find that sometimes our hbs are too filial (good and bad lah)... end up we are the ones who suffer in some way...

K@ye

Will try the bittergourd method when I can find them. Sometimes it's hard to get bittergourd here. Will let you know if it works for my son.

Gemini
Wow! So serious... in Sin doctors usually prescribe medications. And I kind of use to it already when there is no medication when I visit doctors here. I remember there was once my husband had high fever and was rushed to the clinic, surprisingly the doctor never prescribed any medication for his fever. Just told him to drink more water and take shower. I always tell my husband, I think we have to really almost dying then they will prescribe medication... I still prefer Sin doctors, they seems to prescribe medication whenever we are sick, may it be serious or non serious sickness..

Wow! Sounds like some In Laws are terrible. Glad that I don't see my in-laws very often. But one disadvantage is that no one helps take care of my son : ( ....

Hi Plim,

Can understand la. That preparing 2 at a time is not easy. Tendancy to be late is there.

But hor, they cant always be late 99% of the time and always use that as an excuse mah. SIL is a SAHM and she has a maid. Dinner always fall on sunday whereby BIL is not working. But they will forever be late.

Oops, i shoulnt say 99%. I should say 100%.

Wow, Grace & Tinkabel can do biz even together even though at 2 different countries!!

Okie, will check it out and see can get anything for my Claire.

Pig, i can understand y sometimes got kids will be late. Like late min merlion etc when abt to go out, but not 100% late all the time.

Plim, i hate last min go out also. This year CNY, i wanted to shop to my heart's content but bloody hell, my ILs called and told us to go to my hubby's rich cousin's house. I was fuming mad, the gathering was obviously planned long time, dun hv to tell me last min. Anyway with Claire's help, we din stay long at that rich cousin's house either.

pig, agree, won't be late always if one already prepared to go out, will make the effort... just like wat k@ye said, last min. emergencies only...

k@ye, haha, for last min and no choice gotta go, i will nag my hb from the min i know and all the way until we come back! and ya, normally for last min. thingy, i will not stay long!

i also very angry with my in-laws... and my hubby knows it!

actually was ok with them one, but things started happening.

when i was pregnant, my mil told me, eat the bird's nest until 8mths can already, coz after that the bb cannot absorb and will all go to you, wasted!

when i was abt to give birth, she told my hubby must immediately fetch her down once i give birth. i was already a bit pissed. i told him if die die must fetch, then only can go once i am ok and settled in with bb. he promised me. but when i was in the operating theatre, and bb was out already, my mil just called and called and insisted he go home to fetch her to the hospital. and my husband so bloody filial, really went. i woke up and no one was around. i was so angry that i can never forgive him for it.

dun understand her leh. she used to complain my fil never keep her company that night after she gave birth to the first child, but for me, she purposely robbed my husband from me before i even woke. dun understand why she cannot cab down herself, must insist my husband to fetch her.

my hubby gives them 500 each month when both of them are working and even when i am not! he repaid them all the money for his uni fees etc, now with a child and wife to support, he still gives them money and they still take... even my mom (i live with her) tells me no need, keep money for our flat that is coming soon.

then the few days i was in hospital, she can come every day (magically, she now knows how to come to the hospital). come and insist to see bb, then carry carry carry, then call the nurse to take away once she is done, so that i can't carry. really bian tai. once she came with all her relatives, and i said i wanna carry, her face super super black, pass to me two minutes then take back from me liao, saying bb cannot keep carrying.

now i am forced to bring him to see her every week, coz my hubby says if dun, she will miss him until fall sick. then everytime she delay delay, dun want us to go home. from the moment she sees him until we go home she will be carrying him, but she will always tell us dun carry. somemore she does all the chores until can smell her BO, never shower never change then grab him and carry!! wah, every time we got to rush home and quickly bathe him.

she not happy i want my mom to take care when i go out. but then ah, how to leave with her when she is so damn dirty... her house's floor got like oily patches. her furniture, i sit also got rashes and itchy one lor. her family all men, no daughters, so no one cares. but i do.

then some more ah, i give birth to boy, the first grandson and the first boy of the generation. dunno how many grandmas would be so darn happy. but she went around telling the world that i useless, she want daughter but i pian pian give birth to a boy. she likes her youngest son's gf, china woman, who will sa kar her lah. my hubby give her all the money, she gave all to his youngest bro and gf to buy flat. i really bek chek lor. so now i can't be bothered, just do my duty.

so many things happened, i really hate my MIL now man. Oh yeah, once she insisted on carrying my boy in the car, but she never wear seat belt and hold him loosely, in the end, whn my hubby braked her whole body flew forward and hit him in the side. Really really angry ah.

Every single thing abt bb, she'll blame me. during confinement, she scolded me for not listening to her and drinking green coconut once more (i already drank twice, but she asked me to take once more and gave me little warning time) before i delivered, and so her expert opinion says i am the cause of his jaundice.

then she kept pressurising me not to breastfeed, coz she say keep for the next one. now she's damn pissed whenever she sees me go pump. i really dunno why also. she so damn proud that she never breastfeed, coz she says my hubby refused to drink from her so she happily never feed lor. now i feel that she is like jealous of bb and me lor, coz bb doesn't really like her, coz she shouts in his ear all the time and scares him by swinging him up and down and putting him on the cold cold dirty floor. i ask my hubby to say she also doesn't listen, really bek chek lor.

sorry really a lot to complain, coz i only complain to my hubby then no avenue liao...

pig n nov1mom... i understand how u all feel...
my husband oso wana go hm every sunday so tat his parent can get to see ... n everytime my mil would say... gabrielle onli noe her mother... of coz lah i her mum lah if she duno mi then die liao lor... she keep doing little things so tat the next bb would b a bb boi... plz lor watever she do she oso can change her son'z sperm rite... bb boi or gal is depend on him not mi ok... then she would say not to carry bb too often but plz lor she carry her once we step into the hse... n till we wana go hm she wun reluntavcly pass her to mi...
i rem clearly CYN we went to his grandma place n after tat need to go to my mum place... my mil dare to say DUN GO HM TOO LATE!!! but when we were at her place..abt 7+ n i made signal tat i wana go hm she said huhb so early ar??? watz tat man??? i dun like going her place... so boring... everything is mornited...when we go out eat she neva asked wat i wana to eat... ahe would ask her 3 sons n her daughter plz lor i not a maid lor... horrible...*^*&^%*&^)(
then say she made bird nest soup for us... plz lor... got brain on oso nnoe she made for her son coz she noe i dun cook wat... sigh,... n she alys wan her son to go hm to eat dinner plz lor... bedok (she stay) n bt panjang is so far lor... haiz,... im getting more n more fan abt her... lucky din stay wif her oreadi...
i cant complain to my hubby coz u noe lar... a lot of trouble wa.

best part is she commented tat i dun use washing detergent for her son tshirt... i was so SHOCK...
she oso like to compare mi n my sil... rem most clearly is after i was discharged after delievy n had to go bk to see gabriellez doc n happen tat my hubby had to work couldnt get leave so i was like so sad... kinda post natal blues suffering wif breastfeeding... and hormones up n down... ask wat she said... aiya ur sil oso go alone for her child doc...
plz lor ... i not her daughter... (she din treat mi as one oso) i oso hope my hubby alys wif mi lor... she even told mi not to stress her son when he continue his studies... i was so ^$@$ peace off... she dun give him stress can oreadi..

Nov1mom and Elaine Lee,

wow.. Nov1mom, your mil really bian tai (sorry to say that) lei. why she so sick one. i cant understand why mil always like to cling on to the sons, asking them to drive her here and there when obviously they know how to travel on their own.

The son already has a family liao lei, of course i dont mean absolve from all responsbilities, but shouldnt mil be more senstive to the DILs espcially when the dil has just given birth? They must be thinking they have given birth before and 'BEEN THRU IT' so tough can it get. But pls, things are different now. babies are mroe prone to sickness, things has to be sterelise unlike last time lor. Then there's bf-ing issues also. engorgement etc. i dont know why this issues never seemed to happened to the earlier generations. Plus now we staying in flats or what, unlike last time kampong kampong can get neighbours to help while go washing or what. Different is different lor. they cant expect all dil to be like them lor.

Mil also see that i need to shake shake baby while we were outside. Then she will comment, aiyo cant carry so much la. dont rock so much la. dont make it a habit la. this and that. We know we know. but it is already a habit lor. Its not as if we will rock and carry the child until 21 year old lor. its not as if the child wil in cradle until 21 year old lor. the baby is not going to stop sleeping in cradle, is not going to get use to not being carried often just becos you the grandma said so. or jus becos the grandma attempted to force the baby to lie down flat on sofa or bed.

Wa lau, i see my son cried when she tried to force things on him i so heartache. Then my hubby will snap at her. Will say, aiya, dont bother we rock or not la. most imptly is that we want him to sleep tat's all.

Yes, lucky i didnt stay with her. I think i will die before her lor.

pig, elaine, nov1mum .... "read" your MILs stories... i also feel sianzzz for u
to say that hope that things will be better in future sounds kinda hypocritical ... but i really hope it will be better for u all.

today, i have someting to grumble about ...and that is baby kaira's "cry before sleeping" habit...haizzz....its getting worse and worse... i also don't know how.

now she can cry like 20-30 mins before each nap!! previously it was only the nite sleep....now even day time naps she also cry....

i really don't know what to do liao... routine also try to establish already.... but no help. and now my hubbie going to fly off and i will be alone with her for 6 weeks .... altho i live with my parents, they can't really handle her....so everytime she cries, its me (or my hubbie) who will comfort her... i cannot imagine every day for 6 weeks its juz me and her

All the MIL stories never finish one... I also many complaints abt my in laws but now, my stand is i siamz them if i can. If cannot, just act blur but when it comes to Claire... Dun step on my toes!

Dreamer, aiyo... I encountered this when Claire is 3mths plus. She simply cried and cried. My only solution when all failed, i let her cry to sleep. No choice. Mabbe u can try comforting her by playing soft music in the background?

dreamer:: i think it's because she play too much before naptime. travis also gets very cranky before naptime ALL THE TIME, DAY OR NIGHT. will rub his face with hands, move here and there, want to sleep but can't fall asleep, cry, make noise whatever you name it, you have it. I just don't care, he kick, i carry him tighter, rock a little harder, sing songs, he'll fall asleep. I'm sure she'll be ok and you and her will be JUST fine.

Hi Dreamer,

don't get too stressed up k? I can empathise with u cos jus 1mth bk, my hb went for reservist and it was jus jaydyn n me.
Fortunately my mil helped by preparing my meals and coming bk at night to stay over just in case I needed help. Of cos I had to look after Jaydyn all by myself. It was quite a tough time for me as both Jaydyn n I werent feeling well. Anyway, e bottomline is stay strong for kaira.

with regards to kaira's sleeping pattern, don't be too upset too. I guess it will change over time as well even though she might have her routine established. Cos I'm experiencing similar situation too! haha! Jaydyn developed her own sleeping pattern and I know how much time she'll stay awake and need to nap. But for the past 3 days, she jus dun nap at all. E most is 30min during e day! N I'm a sahm with no maid,etc. Tried all methods, put her in e yaolan, rock her, sing to her,etc... jus didnt work. I'm still very puzzled y she's behaving this way.

Anyway, its gd to vent yr frustrations out.
Hope u feel much better now and try to stay positive! I'm also trying to stay positive. Everyday is a brand new day! Things will get better!

thanks ladies for listening to me... i really feel angry lor. every sunday i also angry. lucky my FIL is good, but even then, he can't control her lor. she always say he lousy, her eyes 'ta stamp' then marry him, but i see he's a good guy what. care for the family and even tolerate her nonsense lor. dunno what's her prob... she complain abt everything only. until even her family cannot tahan.

i tell my hubby how exactly i feel, so that he knows he can't expect anything from me. earlier he wanted us to go more often, and then i blew up. now he doesn't dare to liao. i think it is impt that we tell our hubbies how we feel or else they really blur block, dunno anything lor.

my hubby says his mother used to hate his grandma (her MIL) and tell them how evil she is. so now i dun like her, he says it's normal. SIGH. dunno why last time she 'suffered' under the hands of her MIL, she must make my life hell.

why all MILs like that?!

After reading all yr stories abt mils, I must really count my blessings as I hv a very ustanding mil. She's very nice and caring. Whenever I need help, I'll approach her and she will always try her best to make herself available to help. Like when I had severe backache and cldnt carry Jaydyn 4 too long, she would come by at times in the afternoon to help while I took a break.

I must say tt my mil is very accomodating, really take my hat off her. She will always go all the way for her family even at the expense of her convenience and rest.

So my hb and I hv decided to move in with them when their house is done with reno. hehe! Think it will benefit every1. Grandparents, auntie and uncle can play with Jaydyn everyday, my hb will hv more time to study for his MBA, I can free myself fm all e cooking, hsewk, laundry while Jaydyn has more pple to interact with. Think it's a win-win situation for everyone. hehe!

But once we have our 2nd kid, then might not be able to continue staying there as it will be too cramped. Then we hv to make other plans.

K@ye: Ha ha..if i'm not wrong, think i saw yr HB & mum coz i overheard yr mum saying abt eczema & yr mum said the bb is abt 4month+. I was there at abt the same time, and they were trying to give yr gal "water parade". Saw them again at Delifrance (if i got the right pax). Aiya, if i know it's Claire, shld have gone up to say Hi.

pig07

me no choice lor, no one to look after and i dun wnat to bring her to hospital. my maid will help to keep an eye on her.

so many stories abt mil. agree, b4 wedding, they seems so easy going, after tat, true colors shows lor. like mine, when i stay with them after wedding, as house not ready, they actually not happy tat i did not give them allowance despite the fact that my hubby is giving a 4 digit figure. and the fact also tat i do not eat alot at home. They can complain to my hubby and i'm "force" to give an allowance which make me super not happy.

They are all so weird one, like my gal full month, they everything also say sui pian, then last min want this want that. I wanted a tea instead of lunch, so tat I can bring my gal to pray ancestors etc, they insist lunch, saying no one will come if its tea, ancestors can pray another day. Think more for themselves, including my hubby siblings as my friends and relatives are more concern to come and see my bb and not eat. Then a week later, i say bring my gal go, they say no need already, since we miss the actual day. Was so mad with them, complain to hubby. And the funny thing is they can tell my hubby his friends and my friends so rude, go home only say bye bye to my parents and not them. The point is most are my childhood friends, whom my parents know well. Funny ils.

Really hope we wont be like those MONSTER IN LAW in future.

Hi dreamer@hk,

not sure if you seen my post on this toy and perhaps it may work on your child.

hee, its a cheap toy which i got from kiddy palace. a rattle with smiley face. I think its specially meant to quieten and comfort a crying kid. Dont know why lei, it seems to work everytime i rattled it when faced with a crying child. At least it works for my 2 nephew and Kiros.

I hve attempted to rock harder, shake harder, sing and sing louder, louder than his cries, call out to his name, the english name, the chinese name, give milk, give water, on air con, pat backside, sayang the head, everything.. all doesnt work as well as the rattle.. hee hee..

I am so sorry about what I have read so far about MIL stories. Even though I don't stay and get to see them very often, I do understand the issues of pil.

Dreamer
My son also cries before he sleeps. I don't know if all kids are like that, "cry before sleep" habit. Now I learn that as long as he is fed, changed, not sick, I just let him cry how ever long he wants. It's kind of heart-wrenching to see him cry but if he needs to sleep, he has to sleep without help. I try not to help him sleep because I don't want him to rely on me then he will sleep. I want him to be able to fall asleep by himself. He started to learn to fall asleep by himself only recently by crying to sleep. As long as your daughter falls asleep after her cry, I think it's fine (in my opinion). I remember the doctor here told me that when babies cry out loud, it actually helps to build their lungs and make them stronger. But make sure you meet her needs first before letting her cry out loud.

I remember I was training my son to sleep through the night as he always wakes up at 3am for a feed. My doctor told me that at 3 months, they should be able to sleep through and don't need feed in the middle of the nights. So I trained him by letting him cry for 2-3 nights for 2 hours straight through. Now, at 4 months, he starts to sleep through the nights. Maybe some of mommies children can sleep through the nights already, but mine couldn't, so have to train him : (

Gemini,

I tell you lor. they always say nia lor. Say chin chye lor. say never mind lor. Say things like, you youngster decide lor, we also dont know. we dont know what is good. you all go ahead la. PUI LOR. when the actual thing happened, MIL will always been full of comments lor. say shouldnt hve done tis. shouldnt have done.

i used to be very conscious of what MIL think. so even if she said upto us to decide, i will still consider her feelings and thoughts and the 'what ifs mil ...'

but now no more liao lor. I dont care liao lor. cant be bothered with her liao. get upset for all she wants. i have no more energy to bother about her so call feelings. cos i think if i contd to do so, i will go mad lor. she is unfathomable.

Hi Shanediao,

I think you are right. Crying helps to build their lungs and make them stronger.

Guess what. my mum was actually telling me that she hardly hears my son crying out loud. and ask me to not stop him from crying if he does so as to build his lung. OMG.

I am really hoping to train my son to sleep through the nite though. will it help if i ignore his cries? Like very hard lei. i very scared that he will cry so much and wake the family up as i am now staying with my parents. Right now when he wants milk in middle of the nite, i will jump out from my bed, stuff his mouth with pacifier and dash to kitchen to milk. He used to be able to wait.. and will make slight noises..nowadays he will wail.

Hi Mommies

Recently, I have problems keeping my son awake after he wakes up from his afternoon nap at 5pm. He will get tired and sleep again by 7pm, but he will wake up after 1-2 hours. Then at 11-11.30pm, I will put him to sleep for the night. But he will wake up at 3am. I did train him to sleep through the nights and he did sleep through the nights but recently he wakes up at 3am again because I have hard time keeping him awake during the evening time recently. Last time, he was able to stay awake once he got up from his afternoon nap at 5pm, and was able to stay through until sleeping time at 11-11.30pm, and will not wake up until 6am. But don't know why recently, he feels very sleepy during evening time. I want to keep him awake during evening time so that he can sleep through the nights like before. Don't know why last time he didn't feel tired during evening time, and now he gets tired when evening arrives. Any recommendation to keep him awake during evening time?

Hi pig

I guess it's kind of hard when family members are around. When my husband and I brought my son to Sin for a visit, we stayed with my mum, and my son would cry in the middle of the night for feed. I had no choice but to feed him as I worried he would wake my family members up. And he woke up every night for feed for 3 weeks we were in Sin. So I fed up because my PD here told me that by 3 months, babies should be able to skip middle night feed and sleep through. So the moment I came back to US, I started to train him by ignoring his cries. It's kind of hard at first, as you have to tahan his cries for a few days, the most 1 week, and everything will be fine. He cried for 2-3 nights for 1-2 hours straight through (we stay alone, and no one else with us so it's easier), and he slept through the nights until 6am. But recently he started to wake up again at 3am. I was so fed up! I guess he sleeps in the evening which he never did last time. Now I am thinking of ways to keep him
awake in the evening time so that he will sleep through again.

Actually if you let your son cry, he will cry very hard when no one picks him up or feed him. Be ready to wake your family up if you want to train him cry out loud and sleep through.

K@ye

How old is Claire? Have you started solid food with her already? My son has eczema, and the doctor told me to start solid food at 6 months. But my mum said 4 months can start solid food already. I don't know whether to start solid food with him or not because now he is drinking very little. At 4 month, he is only 13 pounds, I think it's about 5.8kg which I think is underweight for him. Don't know why he can't drink much BM and FM. He will fall asleep whenever he drinks milk, and I tried tickling him, stripping him, waking him, and all don't work : ( .... Every 5 hours, he is only drinking 3 ounces about 90ml. Sometimes only 2 ounces about 60ml. I get to see the PD in 2 months' time, and I hope by then, he will not become a bamboo stick. I don't know by starting solid food, will he eat and drink more. Still don't know how to get him to drink more milk.

Jay

I was SAHM too, and I was reading these books: Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Baby by Marc Weissbluth, Solve your child's sleep problems by Richard Febber, and Nighttime Parenting by William Sears. I like Marc's method by getting child to sleep early about 6-8pm and he explains why. He also talks about the importance of naps for children. My son only gets to sleep at 11-11.30pm which I don't think it's healthy for him. We are trying to push it earlier slowly. My son naps too much which I need to change that too. William's method encourages co-sleeping and not crying out loud. But I like his idea of jotting down the child sleeping time throughout the day to find out the child's sleep pattern. I also like Richard's method of Progressive Waiting Approach by progressively increase the number of minutes before responding to your crying child. I just adopt the methods a bit here and there and see what works for my son. Not all children are the same, so cannot follow strictly. For mommies who have problems with their children's sleep patterns. See if reading the above books help.

After I read the books, I kind of understand how babies sleep, and how to train them to sleep through the nights. But recently, I think my son take too much naps, and he sleeps in the evening which he didn't in the past. Trying to keep him awake during the evening so that he can sleep through the nights.

Hi Shanediao,

as Jaydyn sleeps very little for e past 3 days during daytime, she will sleep ard 8-9+pm. Then will sleep right thru to ard 4+am for her next feed. Problem comes cos she will be wide awake after tt. Put her on our bed she'll keep turning towards me and 'talk' to me!

B4 all these started, her sleeping pattern is as follows:

9 - 10+am: nap
12+-2pm: nap
4 - 5pm: nap
7+-8+pm:Nap
11pm: sleep thru till ard 7am

Now, dunno wat happened, jus cant sleep. I even brought e blind down to make it darker at times. also didnt wk. She doesnt know how to go to sleep by herself on her bed. So recently, i tried to do so slowly. I will carry her till she's dozing off then place her in e cot, then she'll make noise a while then sleep. At times, I will put her down when her eyes are fluttering. She'll cry for abt 5min then sleep. If I put her in the cot to pat her to sleep, it will take abt 20-30min cos she will resist and cry.

But lately as I said, I don't even hv e chance to put her to the bed! Even nursing her to sleep also doesn't wk. She will suddenly open her eyes and unlatch. Will see how it goes today!

Btw, I endorse Dr William Sears school of thought. :)

As for solids, I think it's better to start at 6mths. Think their digestive system will be more matured then. Better, less complications and allergies. Of cos I dun mean all babies will react e same way, but just to play safe. If u wanna start earlier, maybe ard 5 1/2mths.

Don't worry abt his weight gain. Jaydyn is coming 5mths old but she weighs ard 5.4kg now. She was borned 2.265kg. I feel tt as long as yr baby is thriving and developing well, let nature takes its course.

welcome ShaneDiao!

ur son drinks on a 5hrly basis? wow! my baby son Jovan sometimes still drinks 2hrly coz he developed the bad habit of drinking milk b4 he naps. my mum said he v farnie one, MUST sleep with a full stomach. hahaha.
5hrs 90ml is really quite little. how much is his total milk intake within 24hrs? the guideline is 150ml x weight(kg). did u change the teats? maybe it's too slow for him tat's y he always Zzzz when drinking milk.

Cactus, hehe. I think u got the right persons at KKH. Who else but me or my Mum will give Claire water parade in public places! Can u imagine, we also bring the spoon out for water parade! *Evil laughs*

Yup, my Mum told me that she and my hubby went to Delifrance to makan after seeing the doctor!

Shane, Claire is going to be 6mths soon. Her PD told me to start solid when she turn 6mths old but we can give her puree fruits at 5.5mths. I tried to give Claire rice cereal when she is 4mths old twice and her eczema flared up. So, dun play play, just listen to the PD.

Also, Claire can't take soy milk formula, it will cause flare ups too.

If possible, give Ethan lotsa water. The water will moisturise the skin (read from somewhere), thus my Mum or I will give Claire water parade every morning. Usually, i will feed Claire at least 2 oz of water every morning.

In TCM, eczema belongs to a type of heatiness. Thus by drinking more water, the babies will pass out those toxins. I realised its true coz everytime Claire go for her jabs, her eczema confirmed flare up big time.

For her last jab, my Mum and I started water parade one day before her jab. Then after her jabs, frequent water parade and guess what, her eczema didn't flare up!

Anyway, Shane u wanna give me ur email addy? I got one article that Dokie sent to me on eczema. I can forward it to you.

Jay

Wow! That's a lot of nap for your daughter, and she still can sleep through until 7am! That's really great! I let Ethan take 2 naps and the most 3, worrying that he will wake up in the middle of the night. Don't know why recently he naps in the evening which he never did, and now he wakes up at 2 or 3 am : ( .. According to Marc's school of thought, he said that baby's wakefulness time is about two hours which means that the minute the baby wakes up, he/she will feel tired within 2 hours. And we should let them nap before they get too tired. When they get over tired they may feel hard to fall asleep. And if they don't take the first nap, skip that nap and wait for the next nap. he also believes that the association of sleep is important too. If you allow baby to fall asleep with bottle or breast, they would want to do that each time as they already associate sleep with those two. He encourages putting down babies to sleep when they are still drowsy but awake, so that they can kind of soothe themselves to sleep, and it's the skill that they have to learn, otherwise, they will keep relying on us to make them sleep. Last time, Ethan used to sleep when we were holding him, and when we don't hold him, he wouldn't sleep. I started to train him to sleep by putting him down when he is still drowsy and awake, and just leave. He cried at first for a few times, and refused to sleep after that. But I pressed on and kept doing that, and now we didn't have to hold him to make him sleep. It's the association that make them sleep.

Catherine
I tried to change a bigger teat but he still falls asleep. I always feed him before he goes to bed, and I guess he was over tired to drink and rather choose to sleep. So now I want to try feeding him after he wakes up to see if it makes a difference. I think he drinks less than 20 ounces in 24 hours : ( ... Wow! Jovan drinks every 2 hours, so does tht mean you still have to wake up to feed him every 2 hours in the middle of the night? Or Does he sleep through?

K@ye
I think I better start him at 6 month. I haven't tried the soy formula. But I do change my diet...I used to drink milk, and now I change to soy to see if it makes a difference to his eczema.

Guess what.. The doctors here discourage mommies to give water to babies before 6 months. But I don't care, I just give him some but not a lot though. Yo...we also started to figure out that the jab causes the flare up. His condition was under control until his jab, and it got worse. So my husband and I suspect that it must be the jab. So we are going to spread out the jab in two months time....My email is [email protected]