(2007/11) November MTBs

Poissons

Your boy is really chubby

dreamer: My boy is using BFree bottle and i still keep the air vent tube for all his feeds coz find it really useful, he used to regurgitate when using Pigeon teat. Lotsa bubbles/foam aft his feed. But with Bfree and the airvent, no more such problem. But think i read from the instruction that we can remove it when bb gets older.

Tinkabel: Gd to hear that the trip bk to SH is smooth. Matt is a gd boy. Am sure aft 3 full months taking care of Matt yourself, u can easily put Matt into routine again.

Poissons: Aiyoh...yr boy is HUGE leh. Ha ha...look at his chunky hands. He looks sexy in that position leh.

So happy, my MIL managed to potty train my boy this wk when he turns 3months. Juz this morning, i witnessed him poo in his potty before his bath. Thanks to my MIL :)

Happy,
Haha..i like to see him wear tight-fitting clothings..looks cute and feel like biting him..actually I'm trying to let him wear watever he can still wear before buying new ones cos' realise that he grows very fast and outgrows his clothes very quick!

Cactusnah,
Show us latest pics of baby eagan leh, long time no "see" him liao..my mum also potty train my boy, wo eng bor eng will ask him to sit on the potty and try to make him poo.

RE: teats size
i have all these at home... for both BM & FM (when outdoors)
3 pigeon bottles - 2 size S & 1 size Y
5 avent bottles - 2 size 1 & 3 size 2
actually i have been wanting to ask this a long time ago. is it ok for baby to use this mixture of different sizes of teats? should i change all the teats to the same size? eh how come u all using size 3 even for BM. tot some1 mention tat should use only size 1 else bb may reject breasts coz flow too slow?

langlao3,
i noticed tat all my 3 pigeon bottle caps cannot be closed/tightened properly. they were ok when i first bought them but this prob arised when i did the first sterilization. does ur pigeon bottle caps give u the same prob?

plim,
it's stated in Mrs Wong's handouts tat red dates drink helps in lactation. but i not sure if it works, or how much to drink b4 it'll take effect.

tinkabel,
welcome back! glad tat u had a smooth journey. i'm sure matt will soon get used to the weather & routine there.

poissons,
wow! Garreth is SOOoo chubby! so cute!

Poissons: Okie, just took some photos of him today. Yet to upload. All photos uploaded in home pc, dun have many in my laptop. Will let u "see" him tonight. Hee..

Anyone has any recommendation for Baby bedtime story books? Tried looking for one in the book store recently, but they only have those with few pages and costs abt $10 each, bo hua leh. Thot of getting one with at least 20 stories so i can read diff stories to him every night.

seashell,

i know but i dun even know his actual weight and height now, can only estimate with our house weighing machine lor

Poissons, Garreth is so cheeky in his smile! I want to pinch his cheeks! Can i? :p

Cactus, my Mum trained Claire on her potty. So every morn, she will have her water parade. After water parade, Claire will be put on the potty to poo poo and once finished, it will either be bath time or milk time.

Hi Tinkabel,

Glad to hear that Matt is taking it well in Shanghai.

Probably i will start on Avent Teat 2 soon then. Yes, though he will finish his milk on Teat 1, but he is like lazy to suck at the end of the drink and i have to keep twilling the bottle to ensure that he drinks and the flow gets into his mouth.

Catherine,

For the cereal intro, my mom said to just add 1 scoop into bb's milk for nite feed so that she will feel fuller and wun wake up so many times - currently chloe still wakes up around 3am for milk.

i tot of trying it out for 1 nite feed 1st dis wkend n see how lor... if cannot then bo pian hv to wait till she's 4mos

pig07,
chloe is fully on FM.

poissons,

so you wanna to fully utilised the clothes. but hor me and my hubby are useless parents in term of bathing and dressing our boy cos my mum does that for us all the time, so during CNY, we let him wore a nice shirt type romper, just fitting only but we managed to put it on for him, after that when me and my hb tried to take it out from him, guess what, stuck! both of us sweating and i almost wanna take a sissor and cut it out, no way to undress it up for him, in the end my sis saw us struggling with the clothes stuck halfway over my bb chest and neck. she laughed and called us pigs! not this way to undress your bb lah, and she helped us to take it out w/o having to cut it out but still very difficult leh so i prefer to dress my bb in looser clothes, easier for me to dress and undress him, else pai seh again if stuck in the middle, between the chest, head and arm, i dunno what to do :p

kaye,

ha ha ha, you made me laugh out so loud, me now in office leh, wait my boss comes out and scold me.

why i have that image in my mind ( japanese occupation time when the japanese force water down the victim)

at first i got this image that water parade is like you taking a water hose and hose down your bb so i thought that is taking shower but then again, you said after poo take bath so i dun think it is shower. so funny :)

kittybride,
baby jovan has his last feed ard 8pm & still wakes up 2x for milk - ard 1am & 430am. eh how to know if it's ok to add cereal to bb's milk?

yday i rushed home after work to see Jovan flip. i managed to capture it on my mobile
yday nite my HB also woke up when jovan woke up for his 1am feed so tat he can see him flip. then this morning, my HB was so tired & stone. hahaha

Happy, u re not wrong in ur image abt the Japanese force water down the victim. Its just that i use spoon... Everytime after the water parade, Claire will pout and complain.

Yup, i use the water hose to wash her butt after she poo...
Its so funny to see Claire's expression when the cold water splashed her butt.

hahaha poissons:: i love loooooking at him. i keep scrolling up and down, he's soo cute! but tshirt toooo short la. haha...

cat:: hahaha i think why don't u try to wake him up at 1030pm for feed? remember travis is a monster like jovan? he also has his last feed like 7 plus to 8 plus and i will wake him up for some snack time at 1030 - cause also need to change pampers for the night,t hen the next time he wakes up will be 330 to 4am already. and then after that will be 630 to 7am. maybe you wanna try doing that? so far my little monster has been keepng this schedule for 1 wk plus le. ehee.

cactus, i was wondering how many months is "old enuff" .... ;) getting a bit lazy having to wash so many parts ... heehee. doing that for the last 3 months as i have been using the bottles since birth.

i tink my gal is a sleep baby .... she luvs to sleep and everytime yawning! juz now in the morning slept abt 930 and woke up close 12+. then 2+ cry again, wanna sleep ...now sleeping liao ... got such thing as oversleep or not??

pray she will continue to "sleep through" the nite !!

potty training...i haven't even buy a potty yet!! my mum has been telling me to potty train baby kaira but i have been very lazy.... think muz buck up liao ;p ;p

poissons -- ur son is very very very cute

Cindy,
good for u. travis is making progress in sleeping thru. yah i think i'll try to wake jovan 3hrs after his last feed. hopefully he'll wake up only once after tat. but his appetite is not good when he's in a sleepy mode. AND i also sleep at ard 10/1030pm, v seldom can tahan untill 11pm.

Kaye,
Can, can pinch him, my MIL always pinch him anyway..so bad.

Cindy,
His tee is ok lah, not short, cos' he slided down from the support pillow, so it looked short. The tee is supposed for 6 to 9 months one leh (from Old Navy).

Anyway, juz called home and baby garreth has developed fever from the jabs yday..sigh..think better go home early to check on him.

cat:: hahah maybe just before you sleep, u can wake him up. even if sleepy mode, take 10 to 15mins also Good. ACtually if you think back, they can sleep for about 6hrs straight de. Just need to pull back the last feed time. Travis also can't eat much when he's sleepy but if i don't wake him up even for some little bit of supper time, he will wake up like jovan, 1plus then after that like 2 hrly le cause each time he takes very little. So I always wake him up before i go to sleep for the night, hehehe. you try tonight see see k? it'll definitely work!

poissons:: how many degrees in baby is considered fever ha? oh my, i hope he gets well soon!

Cindy, based on my PD, if the temperature hits 37.5, have to give medication every 6 hourly.

Poissons, get ur Mum to give him water, it will help to bring down the temperature. Also, make the milk thinner.

catherine,

chloe's last evening feed usually around 630pm and next is around midnite or slightly after. usually both mommy & daddy still awake by then so no prob for us to feed her.
it's the wee hour feeding that's killing both of us... hee hee...
last nite was quite terrible, i thk she had nightmare coz suddenly woke up around 10pm a couple of times screaming... had to give her jing feng san but still the same thing happened until me n hb can't sleep. then she woke up again at 1pm for her feed, then 3pm and 5pm... in between kept making noises so i had to get up n check on her several times... dis mrng so tired! almost wana take urgent leave... sigh...

hopefully 2nite she'll be kuai kuai liao
*fingers crossed!*

Poissons, my nanny aka my Auntie told me cannot pinch 2 sides of cheeks of the baby at the same time coz it might cause the babies to drool unnecessary.

My bro did it to Claire once and kena a scolding from my Auntie.

catherine,

cindy is right, i was about to suggest you to do that too cos your bb schedule is very easy to adjust based on what you mentioned, no need to feed him at 11 pm ( chun chun 3 hrs after 8pm feed), feed bb at 10:30pm and then you monitor what time bb wakes up, shd only improve and wakes up only 1 time and then when bb wakes up that one time in the night, you drag a bit on the time, dun straight away feed, let bb make a bit of noise is okay, just comfort by rocking, patting until bb cannot take it then feed.

and when morning comes, wakes bb up 7am or 7:30am to begin the first feed irregardless of whether bb is sleeping or not, then next feed at 10:30am, then 1:30pm, 4:30pm, 7:30pm, 10:30pm.....persist for 2 weeks, your bb shd be sleeping thru liao :)

kaye

avent lv 3 is for thicker fluids. Ashlee is happy with it tho the FM is the same

btw issin't it too early to potty train? claire so smart leh can poo poo on potty. she does it same time everyday? ashlee's poo irregularly and at diff time of the day. like that can potty train?

poissons

Baby Garreth is soooo adorable and he looks soooo happy.

RE: clothes
my gal will scream if we try to take off tight fitting clothes and she sometimes not happy if wear thru her head. button up clothes r her favorite. somtimes the top too short but the pants still very long and hv to pull til v high and she looked v weird...

re: cradle cap
my mil said that good to 'comb' off so that it won't stay there. Eliza's cradle cap as more or less cleared, after combing it off for 3 days. just dry skin so we rub in olive oil to moisturize

i also give my Eliza her last feed at 1030pm but she still wakes up in the early morning, usually at 3am. last night i managed to drag her milkmilk till 5am. yays! alas we have a new problem which is that she'll wake up anytime from 1+am onwards fussing, which we'll eventually give her the pacifier (also cos i'm so zonked out). it's been happening a few nights already and as much as i don't want her to be reliant on the pacifier, i think of otherwise either.

ashlee oso rely on pacifier esp to sleep. sometimes it drop off n she will scream so i quickly insert back n she guai guai sleep on.

initially we had a hard time debating f to give pacifier, eventually we buay tahan her cries n gave in. my hb even went out to buy diff brands and eventually ashlee selected NUK. now we hv 4 nuk pacifiers on standby lol

Happy, catherine:
I am trying to restart Matt on his routine again. Yest he slept at 8pm, I woke him up at 1030pm for his last feed, giving him slightly more and also a scoop of FM into the BM,to keep him fuller since SH is cold now. He woke up about 430am. I gave him some warm water and patted him back to sleep. Lasted till 630am where he started wailing. So fed him then. Going to try to do the same thing. My feed times are the same you mentioned above. But trying to feed him slightly more slowly so that I can reduce the number of feeds to 5 per day instead of the 6 he is on now.

poissons,
your boy is so chubby, so cute...

Re: clothes
I just took stock of Matt's winter rompers and realise he got so much. The last few mths I was still in SH, I bought quite a bit since it was relatively inexpensive here. Then my friend who returned from melbourne gave me some. gosh, I think he's got too much for this winter.

Yah trying to put Matt on potty training too. Wait for this wkend, I go buy a potty and get my MIL when she comes to SH to help me potty train. My niece who is 20 mths is still not trained cos my SIL says dun want. I read somewhr to say that shd only potty train when child is ready and not so young. but I think otherwise. any thoughts, mummies?

lately i notice ashlee use her lower lips to bite the plastic of the pacifier while sucking the teats. does it mean hv to upgrade to bigger size? she is using 0-6 mths nuk pacifier.

Re:cradle cap
I did a soaking in of bb oil for matt before I left for SH and almost removed everythg. Then yest I see his scalp. Come back again. But cant soak now cos he sleeps in a blanket swaddled up with head in one corner to keep warm. So can only soak for 1-2 hrs in the morning before bath. Need to do how many times. Me heart pain when everytime try to comb off, Matt's scalp becomes a bit red. So sad.

tinkabel, yes me too read tat potty training should start when bb can talk and express his desire to pass motion or urine. too early will result in some side effects.
Not sure how true but my son only managed to be toilet trained at 2+yrs although i started at abt 1yr+. They must first be able to hold their bladder which i think young babies cannot manage to. so far i heard earliest bb who succeed in potty train is ard 1yr plus or when they start to walk. our babies definately too young to be able to do tt.

http://www.pottytrainingconcepts.com/Potty-Training-Readiness/Potty_Training_Readiness.htm#PD

Hi li meili
apologise for late reply. Cos my network is down and laptop down too.
usually, the agency won't allow to txf yr free foc to someone else. But of cos it depends on how flexible the aency is. Cos even if the insurance company refunds the insurance also will be under yr name not theirs. Maybe yr friend will have to pay new set of documentation. But u can always discuss with the sales person. Hope this helps and is nt too late....

Any of you ever seen blood trickling from nipple while expressing? Like 2-3 drops. I think there is a very small cut on my nipple and then while I pumped, i saw the blood coming out and into the pump bottle. OMG. threw away the whole bottle of EBM. but its not painful though.

Dont know if its due to excessive pumping. But no lei, i only pump 3 times a day.

Just tried to pump again. This time no blood from the nipple. But just not sure if i should be keeping this bottle of EBM as 1hour ago there was still blood from nipple.

I am just wondering, if i had latched baby on, wouldnt that mean baby would have tasted the blood from nipple??

Laolang, so the Avent Level 3 teats I bought is the same liao.

Yup, Claire will poo poo every morn on the potty at the same timing after her water parade. My Mum's aim is to train her to get used to the potty and be a clean piglet (our nickname for Claire).

Last nite, Claire is so notti. She wailed till her throat is sore for milk at 11pm and 2.30am. My Mum came in and scolded her for making noise. Guess what, she diam diam the min my Mum scolded her.

Tinkabel, i think u need to apply more cream to Matt's head coz SH is cold and dry now. This might make the skin even dry.

Cindy / happy,
thanks so much for the suggestion
i'll try it out tonight & see how.

jovan's feeding times during the day are still quite irregular. somedays he wants milk 3 hrly. somedays 2hrly. *sigh* my mum also buay tahan his pattern. maybe he din get enuff milk during the day tat's y he still wan to wake up at night. so far there's only 1 nite where he woke up & fuss but went back to sleep again w/o milk milk. tat day he drank 800ml of EBM from 7am-7pm on 3-3.5hrly & napping times were close to GF method. too bad the next day he went back to his old pattern again *sigh*

RE: pacifier
jovan started using pacifier when he's 2.5M. he started on 0-3M pacifier but he dun wan it after 1 week. we gave him 6-18M pacifier, he likes! now he's 3M, he found his fists & dun wan pacifier anymore.

pig07,
i had blood in my EBM before, but that was early on when i just started breastfeeding and my nipples were cracked. i asked TMC Parentcraft ppl and they said that it's ok that bb drinks, though bb may spit it out. i didn't dare try and threw away the EBM. but if my bb did drink any blood when direct latch i wouldn't know also.

pacifier:
i used the Nuk one previously but the shape of the pacifier gave her a "bracket face" that set us rolling with laughter...
1258257.jpg

so we changed to the Avent ones. haven't 'upgrade' to the 3-6 months one...mayb will do soon. i think i'll surrender to the pacifier for her sleep time...it seems like the best solution, no need to rock to sleep..just pop the pacifier in and off she goes to lalaland, but frustrating if she's in light sleep and the pacifier keeps dropping out.

Goodness..I didn't know they come in sizes! I'm also using NUK and they also give my boy the ugly bracket lines around the mouth. Avent ones won't? I hope to wean my boy off the pacifier leh, but my mum will just conveniently give it to him when he makes noise..sigh.

RE:pacifier
I used the NUK ones on Claire and she spat it out immediately due to the discomfort caused by the bracket lines.

So currently, she is using the Avent Free Flow Soothers for 0-6mths. This one is good coz there is no bracket lines. Anyway, now that she discovered her hands... She will spat out the pacificer.

agree about the ugly bracket lines caused by the NUK pacifier... i thk mainly coz our babies have chubby cheeks!

i used avent soothers initially (the tear shape ones) then switched to nuk coz one of the lactation nurse told me beta use those with teats that is ortho-- something like dat, can't remember exact spelling liao... the shape is like the nuk teats lor.

so now my babe is more comfortable sucking on nuk teats despite the bracket lines.

k@ye,
good for claire coz she's not dependant on the pacifier. chloe is like 24hrs stuck to it lately... even at nite, w/out it can't sleep. half way thru i wana pull it out then she will suck even harder to keep it in and continue to 'zud zud zud' away... sigh...

last nite acting up again, didnt want to sleep and waited for me to come home and carry her; talk to her and rock her to sleep. then almost 10pm started to have her 'nightmare' again; woke up screaming n crying till her face so red and all teary eyed... i so heart pain... dun know wat happen to her lately... sigh....

yeah ashlee oso has the bracket lines like skye's baby. ash's is much worst even the 2 tiny holes oso got imprinted on her. but no choice leh, she seems to like the flat teats better. last week I bought one that will automatic close up when drop so that more hygenic but she again dun like

can u believe it? me & my HB forgot to give Jovan angbao! luckily i looked at tinkabel's blog & saw her post on giving Matt angbao. luckily today is still considered CNY. last day! tonight must give! told my HB & he said we are blur papa & mama =P

RE: Pacifier

hee... thought only Javier has that bracket lines + 2 holes imprinted onto his cheeks.. So actually quite alot of babies has that.

I started off with Pigeon pacifier, and realise he doesn't know how to suck ah, keep dropping! Then i try Avent one, same problem! Finally try the Nuk one with the flat shape in front, he can suck better, though sometimes i still got to help him hold on to it till he managed to suck it! But same loh, recently he discover the wonder of his fist, always push out the pacifier & put his fist into his mouth.

RE: Swaddle
Till now, at nite i still swaddle him when he zz. Though he struggle till keep wailing! Advice needed, his hands keep moving here & there, touch his nose, face, eyes, he just cant fall asleep w his hands moving constantly! But he got to learn to zz without swaddling sooner or later, how???

1258506.jpg

HI Skye Skye,
Thanks for the info.

Re pacifier:

my boy using avent 0-3 months and that gave him the bracket too.. hahaha.. tried to give him the 3-6 month avent one. he spat it out. cant seem to suck as well as the teat is bigger. think gotta keep trying.

Hi Catherine,

Actually hor i also never give my boy ang pow lei. Cos all his ang pows are 'confiscated' by me. Ha ha..

joey,

swaddle:

dun worry about the swaddle thing, i am doing that too, according to the happiest bb on the block, even if swaddle until 5-6 mth also okay, no problem as long as the bb is comfortable, after that they will be ok, theory is that newborn are disturb by too much movement, their arm flapping about and unsecure so cannot sleep well, when they grow older, they become more and more stable and secure so even then dun swaddle will be okay, not to worry.