(2007/11) November MTBs

hi pig07,
i switched the teat coz my gal took too long to finish up her milk, like 20mims...

hv to carry her when feeding still my arms aches... so i decided to change to level 2 teat. she took it quite well, but initially got a lot of tiny bubbles - end up after her milk, the bottle left wif foam like bubbles... but at least she can finished within 10mins or less.

now she passed 3 mths liao, thought wan2 change to level 3 but seems like she's not ready yet.

Hi happy,

A lot of toys are out for loan in www.rent-that-toy.com . I wonder what are the toys that we can rent. Is those saucers and jumperoo suitable for our babies?

My baby already can lift his head up unassisted already. Really feel like getting a toy for him to entertain himself. Lately he been wanting people to carry at all times. So tiring.. and he is already more than 7kg.

plim,
i dun think taking green tea or coffee will make milk ss dip but these drinks contain caffeine, not advisable to take when BF. i'm thinking of taking red dates drink to increase my ss. i got those instant packet ones when i'm preggie. still haven drink any =P

just now i phoned home to do a daily check on my mum & baby. my mum told me baby jovan can flip to one side already! he's 3 months & 5 days old today. i'm so happy & abit sad at the same time. happy tat he has reached a development milestone. sad tat i din manage to witness him doing his first flip.

Catherine, dun feel sad abt not witnessing Jovan's 1st flip.

My lazy Claire has not even learnt how to flip at 4mths. But she is a greedy pig. My Mum let her have some puree apple... She is so eager to eat it whereas when we let her eat rice cereal. She spat them out.

plim, catherine, alittle caffeine is fine, e.g. 1 cup per day. maybe can dilute and take half cup instead of a full cup.i take them sometimes when i really need to 'refresh' myself. but i stopped taking tt often cos i realised Mischa will be hyper active aft i latch her aft my cuppa. she will fuss and cant sleep although can see she is very tired...so i very scared. only when she is nt with me then i take coffee so whatever i pump out will throw or give to my son.

i do think too much of it might cause a dip in ss cos caffeine actually dehydrates the body. so tt might affect ur ss. try to cut down if possible. BTW chocolate also has the same effect on me.

Hello K@ye,

You already let your girl start on puree? My sister also tells me that we can start to introduce when bb is 4 months. But alot of people ask me to wait unil 6 months.

Starlight, yup... My Mum gave her some homemade apple puree.

Our family doc did mention to my Mum that can only give solid food like porridge when the baby is 6 mths old.

Reason for introducing solid food so that Claire wont get hungry so easily.

catherine,

ur bb jovan can flip oredi?
mine still have problem shifting her lazy bum unless we flip her sideways... then she'll stop or wana slip back to lying flat on her back... not sure when she will start flipping! :D

K@ye,
hi 5 on the flipping ~ guess our girls r really lazy piglets! hee hee...
u so fast oredi gave claire rice cereal?
my mom said i can start to add a spoonful of rice cereal (super fine type) into chloe's milk for the nite feed so dat she'll be 'fuller' and not wake up twice crying for milk. i thk will start that dis weekend n see how's her progress.

last nite was really irritating ... chloe woke up like almost every 2~2.5hrs crying for milk and then she only wana drink like 60ml! i looked so zombie dis morning...

starlight,

i dun think our bb can take jumperoo and exersaucer yet, they are still too young, maybe just bouncers or swing lor, the rest got to wait. given the link by friend, have not rented from them yet but seem like it is okay, they sterilised their items

kittybride,

is your gal overstimulated during day or too tired cos sometimes my boy will suddenly scream and cry until very sad, really got tears, i suspect he is having nightmares cos eyes still closed, comfort him a while, he sleeps and then after sometimes cried again.

maybe chloe just cranky and not crying for milk. my boy loves to be swing up and down and he gets very excited and smile very brightly but i was warned that he will get over excited and later hard to sleep well :-(

starlight,

rent swing or gym for him, i got a fp bouncer and a rainforest gym bought for him so that sometimes we can rest our arms

clothes for our 3 mths old??
do you mummies realised that most of the clothes label 3 months are too small for you bb? i bought GAP 3-6 mths romper and all looks like bachang on my boy, really tight so some cannot wear liao, that day bought from BP carter rompers 9-12 mths, thought wanted to keep, in the end, now he is wearing, just fitting only, the only loose part is the bottom ( a bit long) anyone encounter that or just me, so now i buy clothes that labelled 12-18 mths just in case :) everytime i look at the clothes and the label said 6-9 mth or 6-12 mth, I always thought how can it be? my son can wear now leh and if buy those top only, it is too short, his stomach always show :-( then got to wear his pant higher up, so funny

Kitty, the rice cereal i bought is the Heinz one, suitable for 4mths onwards.. I just put a small teaspoon and mixed with FM, fed Claire with a spoon lor... We just let her try but she dun really like it.

HAppy, the cutting for the baby clothes varies between brands. So, rule of thumb, i always buy bigger sizes.... Plus, not to mention some babies at 3mths old can be the size of a 5mth old..

Like my Claire, ppl always tot she is 1-2 mths older just by looking at her size.

hi happy,

dun know leh, my mom says she's quite kuay during the day, takes her nap n drink up about 100-120ml of her milk lor.

but last nite was like 1st time she like dat... previously only wake up once around 2.30~3.30am once then will last her till about 6.30am.

dis mrng i so tired oredi when she started making noises n wailed for attention... i scolded her for making me lose sleep n guess wat, she stopped n gave me the widest grin... alamak, how to get angry wif her... :D

as for being cranky; for the past 2 nites i tried to 'rock' her to sleep but she will wail n cry till both eyes so teary... so i surrender to her daddy n he managed to get her to sleep within 10mins... grrr... dun knw y she reject me liao... last time no problem wan...

Kitty, will Chloe give u a brilliant smile if she poo poo? Claire will give me such smiles when she poo/pee or when i scold her!

Claire also cried herself to sleep last nite. No matter how i pacify her, she will just cry till i also gave up!

Ya, think I will introduce when my boy seems to be more hungry ba. In the meantime will stick solely on milk first.

Regarding toys:
Haha.. so tempted to get the saucer. I got a swing for him. But he got tired of it after sometime and he dun like to lie down to play his gym too. Really headache.

kittybride,
ur baby Chloe is only 1 day earlier than baby Jovan. Can start cereal so early?

happy,
is ur baby on the big side? mine weighs 6.7kg at 2M2W4D. i encounter similar prob. i bought a 3-6M top for Jovan to wear during CNY. sidesways it's quite fitting already. length-wise it's too short & i got to pull his pants v high. so ugly. at home, jovan sometimes wear 6-12M hand-me-downs coz it looks much more comfy for him.

K@ye,

Ya, saw those heinz cereal for 4mos onwards; prob will try giving to chloe dis wkend, just to let her try smthg different coz her milk intake is reducing...

re: smiles
chloe is a frowner... every1 commented dat to me when dey saw her coz she NB oredi frown... hahhaa..
when she poo, she will make those 'eh eh eh' sound when 'pushing' so hard till her face looked super constipated. each time after her poo comes out, she will cry as if to say it was super painful!! hahaha... initially i laughed at her facial expression but kena scolding by my mom. so now i will do the constipated look wif her when she poos then will console her lor. after she done her business, she will smile brightly; sometimes even coos... buay tahan dis girl... hee hee...

Kitty, Chloe is so cute with the "frown". Claire can high 5 Chloe on the poo poo session. Its so funny to see their expression when they tried to poo poo....

Claire also frowns in her sleep. Does Chloe also pouts? My notti gal will pout after a water session, she like complaining that she buey song we all force fed her water!

happy,
hahaa..same for my bb too!! gosh i suddenly have to take out the clothes and look at it again cos a few are already just nice for my bb. have to quickly wear before she outgrows it!

happy,
me oso very disappointed, the denim dress i bought for my gal to wear during CNY was labeled 6 mths but when i try on her like bak chang so wasted. all the dresses look so cute but at this stage still rompers more comfy for her.

Now she wears 6-9 mths clothes. However i think the sizes depends on the brand. Recently I bought 12 mths clothes fr pumpkin patch but so big i think hv to wait til 2 yrs then can fit, faint!

hi twiggy
my gal is using lv 3 teats since last week and now she finishes the milk in 10 mins.

My aunty looks after her while I am at work and over thr, she uses pigeon bottles. Last weekend I bought pigeon L teats but she rejected. Anyone using pigeon bottles, pls share if ur bb using Y or L teats.

jules,
I realise my hp number is incorrect...typo..sorry.
9369 1809

Btw I'm thinking of joing a yoga/ pilate class to shift the excess weight and tone the body. Theres a place called 'Inspire' mum and baby store that offer these classes in Katong mall. anyone interested to join me?

www.inspiremumbaby.com

Finally back in Shanghai. The 5 hours flight was easy as Matt was asleep most of the time, only waking up once for a feed. But last night, being the 1st night was difficult as it was really cold. He couldnt sleep alone in his cot and kep waking up every other hour. We had to let him sleep between us. But guess as much that we din sleep well cos we were trying to be careful not to suffocate him and I was waking up periodically to check, left a side light on as well. Today in the day was much better as it was warmer. i tried to bathe him but think he was shivering cos it's too cold. Think I need to be even faster. Now he is sound asleep, hopefully he wil go back to the routine I had trained him on when in Singapore.

hey tinkabel,

glad ur trip back to Shanghai was smooth!
do take care n hopefully matt will get used to the new life and weather there soon!
jia you!

Langlao3, I use Pigeon teats with Avent bottles. I'm using Y teats. It's same as M, only difference is Y is leak-proof. So far, it's been pretty good, milk flow is quick & BB sucks effortlessly. Can finish 150 ml in about 15 minutes.

Tinkabel, great to hear tt Matt has been good. ya was also concerned abt the weather for him there....hope it gets warmer soon then not so bad for him.

skye, Dokie left me a msg saying tt she has nt sent the items to u...i also hv nt collected the clothes from her aunt's plc...hehehe..guess it over the CNY not so enthusiastic now

S@L,
heh..yeah...now all start work, we're busier! heh....would love a new wardrobe tho...but i'm slowly starting to fit back into my pre-preg clothes
so not too bad. heh..

Hi kittybride,

you using avent teat 2 for BM for FM or both? Cos i thought BM is smoother and finer and Teat 2 will be too fast?

catherine, din know red dates drink will increase supply?! hehe, if good, i will also wan to try...

re: clothing too small for bb
i realised some of the brands are small even though stated 3-6months, mostly sideways fit gam-gam... the length can be juz nice or slightly longer though... i think especially gap ones... guess hv to get bigger sizes then... that reminds me to take out all the clothing from my elder gal and start to see which ones can already wear!

tinkabel, great to hear that your flight's smooth... hope weather gets warmer for Matt's comfort
as for bathing Matt, u might wan to warm up the room/toilet u using to shower Matt before showering him, and quickly wrap him up in thick towel after shower, to prevent him from catching a cold...

Just now flipped my girl on her tummy and realised she can hold her head up for a few seconds liao.. hehe... cos juz over the weekend, when i put her on her tummy, her head always go sideways... haha...
as for flipping, don't think Bevis can do it yet.. but i realised that when we put her on the bed, she will keep using her legs to kick the bed, end up she keep moving upwards from where she's lying! my mum said hv to put barriers around her when we put her on the bed already, else she kick, kick, kick, scali fall off from bed...

pig07,
Matt uses Avent teat 2 for BM. We are thinking of changing to 3 cos towards the end, he always look like he is too lazy to suck cos it's slow. Will prob try tomorrow morning and see how

S@L

Yes, the place in chinatown is cheaper. And they do delivery if purchase 150 and above. Can call and place order if you know the model and they will deliver. cash on delivery.

jules, i'll chk if current teats are Y or still S/M. In the meantime will keep the L teats til she is ready. Dunno y she is ready for avent lv 3 but not pigeon L leh.

RE cradle cap:
luke seems to be allergic to oil
both johnsons baby oil and olive oil results in rash.. someone was asking about why cooking olive oil right? it's cos it doesn't contain fragrances compared to the olive oil used for cosmetics..i'm also using the mustela cradle cap shampoo to try to keep it at bay cos no other solution but yah, paed does say cradle cap will resolve itself..

Re: swing/bouncer
i've the fisherprice rocker swing too..Luke doesn't like being swung, whenever i push the swing , he will yell..so it's more like a chair for him but i find the playgyms good.. can entertain him for awhile as he used his hands to try to swipe at the toys

Morn ladies~

Tinkabel, dun worry Matt will get used to the routinue again.

Langlao, the avent level 3 teats is it the one for thicker liquids?

langlao3,
Pigeon Y teat is equivalent to M size teat, juz that the hole is Y shape, not the usual one hole type and it's leak proof. My boy is on Y teat and he usually takes abt 10mins to finish his milk. Will prob switch to L size teat when he turns 4 months.

Yday brought my boy to the PD for his 3rd month jab, he was so friendly to the PD during his oral jab (rotavirus) that the PD had to say sorry to him when he gave him the other 2 jabs on his fat thighs. Baby garreth weighs 8kg yday at 3 months and 4 days, PD said he is OVERWEIGHT, but not to worry cos' soon his milk-intake will decrease and weight will stabilize. Really hope so leh...cos' now it seems like a challenge to carry him when we go out.

Updating Baby Garreth's weight:

1) tweety- baby Luis - 6.01kg on FM anud BM
2) grace - baby Ash - 6.5kg on BM
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.6kg on FM (12wks 3days)
4) Jules - baby Natalie - 6.18 on FM
5) Kaye - baby Claire - 6kg on FM (3mth 1 week++)
6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)
7) Poissons - baby Garreth - 8.04kg (3mth 4 days)
8) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
9) michviv - baby Ethan: 8kg on BM (12 weeks)
10) Plim - baby Bevis - 5.2kg on BM (11weeks)
11) Tinkabel - baby matthias - 6.07kg on BM (2 mths 3 weeks and 6 days)
12) S@L - baby Mischa - 6.9kg on BM (2mth 3wks)
13) Yami - baby Kaelyn - 6.6kg on FM (3mths)
14) Superhappymum - baby YongWei - 6.9kg on BM & FM (3 months )
15) Beloved_daughter-baby Matthias - 6.5kg on FM & BM (3months 1wks)
16) Skyeskye - baby Eliza - 5.9kg on BM (9wks)
17) Catherine - baby Jovan - 6.7kg on BM (mostly) & FM (bedtime) (2mths 2wks 4days)
18) Cindy - baby travis - 6kg on FM and BM (13 weeks)
19) fanny - baby cayenne - 5.5kg on FM (10 wks)
20) Jadefeet - baby Ethan =- 7 kg on FM (10 wks 4 days)
21) Sowie - baby Jaeanne - 7kg on BM (2mths 1wk)
22) Joey - baby Javier - 6kg on BM (11weeks)
23) Adelinechew - baby Amber - 7.1kg on FM ( 3mths )
24) yoko - baby Jordan - 6.78kg on FM (3mths and 2 days)
25) winwin - baby carrie - 5.6kg o FM (3 months)
26) efynn - baby xuan - 7.3kg on BM & FM (3 mth)
27) nov1mom - baby tailoong - 6.35 kg on BM & FM (3mths)
28) gemini19 - baby ying ching - 6.9 kg on FM (3 mths)
29) fushiastar - baby Luke - 6.1 kg on BM (10wks)
30) dokiesim - baby brayden - 7 kg on BM (3 mths)
31) Queenaire - baby Darius - 7.1kg on FM (3 mths + 1 week)
32) Twiggy - baby Joseph - 7kg on FM (3mths)

re: clothes,

my boy weighs 6kg , 60 cm at 8 weeks,now not sure cos his next vaccin is at 4th mths but i think now should be around 7 or 7 plus kg too. i did not wash some of the bigger mth clothes too but now dun care, just wash and let him wear cos else alot of hang me down cannot be wore already, and some never even wear at all so yesterday when went to Taka, i just buy clothes 12-18mths, went back to hold it on him, only slightly bigger so wash too and now can start wearing liao.

re: poo poo time

my boy also makes sound and squeeue when poo-ing until his face red then like ambulance, all of us will start shouting : BB POO POO liao and then quickly rush him to his changing pad, open up his diaper and continue to let him poo poo, usually poo-ing time, he will be damn serious and quiet, mouth will form a O shape and freeze in his position, so serious :) no fuss when we clean him up too unlike night changing time, crying and screaming and when finish, he will give a grin too like so relax and comfortable for him now :)

re: bigger teat

my boy using size s pigeon and when try to change to size Y, alot of dribble at the corner of his mouth ( like he cannot swallow fast enough so alot comes out) but size S seems to be abit longer time to feed than before and when left a bit, he will start to get distracted , uses his tongue to push out and smile at me. so got to coax him to finish his milk.

re: scold bb and bb smiles back

ya lor, wonder how come they smiles when we scold them hor, normal time play with them, use very gentle tone, they just stare at you but when use harsh tone to scold, they thought we are playing with them and start to smile and get more and more excited when i scold him louder and faster :)

re: swing/bouncer/saucer

think saucer still too young, better to use it after 4 mths. even when put in bouncer or swing, my boy still wants us to play with him, if just leave him there, only can be for a while and usually after milk, but at least need not carry until my arms wanna drop. all toys can only last for a while, so usually i put him in bouncer, play with him for a while then he started making noise, then i switch him to gym and when started making noise, i flip him left and right and when started making noise again, i flip him over on his stomach and when he is tired, i pick him up and carry him lor, usually by this time, he is tired and wants to nap liao :)

re: flash cards

my bb now like to look at black white flash cards, he will stare at it for a while, so usually when make noises in the bouncer, i tried to show him picture books and black/white flash cards and he will keep quiet and stare at it.

re: lift up head

my boy cannot really hold his head up for long but after i taught him and put his two arms nearer to his chest, at the front (like dog when dog sits) instead of spreading wide at both side, he can now hold his head higher and longer :) and also before that, i bring up his legs backwards and from then on, he understands that if he wants to hold his head longer up, he can also flips his legs backward, whole position now is like mermaid or those performing sea lion lifting their tails upward :)

anyone taking the KKH vaccin package? KKH package is 2nd mth and 4 mth so actually i duno how my boy is doing leh in term of weight and height :-(