(2007/11) November MTBs

happy:
yah you are right..didn't think about it cos i usually just fall asleep at 8pm after both baby and my older girl have fallen asleep..

RE: SAHM
guess it's different for everyone.. i'm the opposite.. very happy staying at home and caring for my little one.. .the thought of having to go back to work part time again in a year's time makes me feel sad.. if i go back to work, baby will have to go to IFC..

starlight,

4th day after i give birth, i went out to M1 to get my hb a new handphone, i cannot stay at home type too, every week, sure got 1 or 2 days apply leave with my parents and went out shopping, always giving excuses like need to buy new clothes lah cos now backside too big, CNY coming etc... becos I sacked my CL on the first day so temp move back to parent's and will move back when i start work, on the 5th day of my confinement, i already every evening drive out to fetch my hb from work, though only 1 hr but that is the breather for me, at least on the way back i can chat with hb about bb's day too else once reach home, have to start to carry bb, change diaper, feed, wash etc... no time at all and if hb comes and ask this ask that, will snap at him especially if bb is cranky.

Olivetree,

Dont worry, the rocker not very high. Falling from it should not have much impact at all so won't cause any harm. If fall from crib then perhaps can be quite serious. My neighbour's baby fell from bed. Her Dr said to moniter to signs of dizziness, nausea, sudden changes in sleeping patterns and behaviour.

happy:

Wah 4th day went out already. I still love my little one but I guess I want to strike a balance. Plus with extra income, can buy him more things. Heh heh.

I am looking for job now, I guess once found, I will miss baby terribly when I am back at work.

SStarliht,
I know how you feel. That's what got me thinking about going back to work. I feel as if my world is so small and I have nothing to talk to peopple about apart from baby. When hubby comes home, we only talk about baby. And somedays when he returns from work exhausted and doenst feel like conversation, I feel horrible because that means I don't get to talk all day!! And yet, I miss baby when I'm away from him and can't really imagine how much I must miss him if I go back to work.

Twiggy,

Yes, we are in the same boat. But no matter how, I still wanna go back to work lah. Cos need the extra income else cannot have 2nd kid. And I dun want to be taking $$$ from hubby. I prefer to spend my own money.

When I go back work, I will put my baby at my mum's place.

Regarding baby falling down:
My boy now can lie on his back and go backwards. Dare not leave him on bed unattended already. Really afraid he might suddent stuff his head under the pillow or fall down the bed.

Do all your babies start biting hands already? really bad habit.

Avocado,
My baby also has reflux and still regurgitates milk. How do you prop your mattress to incline?

Sorry I can't comment on how to make baby sleep thru the night because mine is on FM not BM anymore. Also, he's used to having the last feed as 11pm since birth so I dont have any problems giving him the "dream feed" at 11pm. What is the first timing that your baby will wake up in the middle of night to feed? If it's like 1am, anyway you can trick him to bring that forward earlier and earlier so it becomes 11pm?

Starlight, my baby discovered her hands and now... She will suck on her hands, right hand followed by left hand... So i will take away her hand and tell her no "drumsticks"... My Mum told me later, she might progress on sucking on her fingers...

starlight, kaye,

before 1 mth old, my boy already have the tendency to put his drumsticks into his mouth, just that he still dunno how to hold it there to suck, now, whether he is hungry or sleepy, he will sure try to suck, sometimes suck until got sound, zu zu zu, and plenty of saliva around his mouth he still no good at sucking fingers so now only can manage to suck his " knuckles" at times when he sleep, he will also try to suck too, it is only sooner or later, he will find his thumb to suck. he is a sucky bb, if we carry him over shoulder, he will suck on our shoulder or clothes.

my friends told me that if you dun give pacifier, result is they will suck their own fingers, so i gave him pacifier but when pacifier drops, he cried, i got fedup and said no pacifier, at least with his own fingers, it will not drop off :)

starlight,
yes me 4th day already driving, used to take 1 second to get into the car but that day took me more than 15 seconds :)

twiggy, thanks. i am monitoring her now to see any change in behaviour and also if she has fever. so far normal, so pray hard that she will be alright.

kaye, i also tell my gal "no drumstick" in hokkien whenever she tries to suck her fingers. hehehe

any mummies did not burp their baby if they fall asleep after feed? my bb usually fall asleep straight after feed but when i burp him, he is fully awake again and i need to re-rock him to sleep, okay not to burp him if fall asleep? at wat age then we no need to burp?

happy,
i understand what u mean by not being able to follow the feedling schedule..cos my bb also has to drink every 3 hours. and for her age in the Gina Ford method there's this 230 till 630pm gap where she's supposed to nap a while but i keep her awake for 1 1/2hrs she's really sleep le, so no choice let her sleep..and she zun zun wake up at 5pm for milk. no way she can tahan till 630pm for milk. so i think i'll adjust for her bedtime to be 8pm. dunno if will work. so far morning one was ok..she slept the long afternoon nap well.

mummies, how much does yr bb nap in the day time?

i have problem getting my gal to nap these 2 days ...haizzz....renovation work going on outside my apt ...drilling non stop disrupt her naps

so sianzzzz..... spend so much effort to get her to nap, then she nap for 15 mins wake up liao .... dun know how to put her back to sleep..... and she cranky cos want to sleep, cannot sleep, sometimes cry and cry.... how ah?

already brought her out for a walk this morning, but weather here in hkg quite cold this week...so i oso dun want to bring her out .... dilemma man....

skye, my baby's pattern not consistent one, sometimes she can nap for over an hour, sometimes only 15-20 mins.... wish i can help her develop a more consistent nap time.

must admit that i am very frustrated at times cos only me at home looking after her. if she doesn't nap, that means i am occupied all the time with her...

Happy, i also gave Claire the pacifier so that she wont suck on her hands but she will spat it out at times. Still, i prefer the pacifier coz i m worried she might develop the habit of sucking her fingers till her teens... One of my fren is such.

Olive, i tell my gal, "No drumsticks" in Cantonese!

Happy, Claire has the reflux problem when she is a baby.. At times, she will fall asleep after her milk... i won;t burp her.. I just put her back on her bed but in a reclining position... Currently now, she is 3mths old, her reflux problem is getting better and at times, she dun want us to burp her.

Usually, babies dun need to be burped when they re 6mths old coz by then, they know how to burp themselves.

I am trying to look for a maid now. Was told I must do some exam / course thing. What's that? How do I go about it? Anyone has good agencies to recommend?

dreaer@hk & mummies,
does yr bb wake up and not need to drink milk? mine tends to wake up wanting to drink milk..even if she naps so little. so i'll try to drag the time till it's time for milk with the pacifier or till she can't tahan any more.

skye,

yes, my boy will wakes up and we will change his diaper and he will scream for milk so usually all of us dare not make any noise around him, worry that he will wakes up before milk time and start to tear the house down. so what we do is after milk, play for a 1 hr or more then 1 hrs before his next feed, try to let him nap for a while, that way when he wakes up, almost milk time, i think we need to think of better way to keep our bb occupied other than just milk and sleep, they are all around 3mths so time to start something with them right? any mummies got any ideas.

I tried talking but will not last more than 10 mins, tried rattles and toy, also cannot last for 10 mins, then bb vcd, also around 5-10mins, flash card, worse only a few seconds, go out for walk, too heavy, i cannot last for 10 mins too, what else huh???

kaye,

really? till teen, gosh! i keeps pulling it down but he still do it, suck on my sleeves and shoulder too, full of saliva, how to stop or will it go away, should we resort to apply chillli or something :)

dreamer,

as our bb grow, they tends to nap shorter and shorter each time leh, as long as they sleep well thru the night i will leave it lor, if sleep too much, night sleep will be affect leh

I am so mad. I was on my laptop just now, whilst rocking my bb to sleep. Then my FIL came by and want to carry, so I let him carry la. Then guess what.Baby started crying and usually he cannot handle him when he is wailing away. Gave bb back to me and poor mummy have to deal with a crying baby. Give me so much trouble. So much for having in laws around to help... Sigh...

tinkabel, same here...initial days when i was tryin to start a routine during confinement, MIL will always be the one to 'wreck' my plans..she will talk on phone loudly or will come inside room to 'check' on bb and talk loudly. or she will always want to carry her...so i very frustrated. one day i came up with a plan..i purposely ask her to help me look aft my gal while i clean the hse, pack my stuff and surf net...bb cry i ask her carry lo...then i took like a good 2 hrs do my own stuff till its time for her feed then i took over! hahah gues what now she very scared liao...she will nt ask to carry her for no reason and will quickly put her back in the rocking chair aft carry a while....now she know is nt easy to soothe a baby.

Olivetree, dun worry it should be ok. bb not stupid if the fall was heavy, she would have cried the house down. like when i knocked Mischa's head tt day she wailed like crazy. but luckily ur hb nt home, if nt sure like my hb scolded me like mad.hehehe....take it as a lesson learnt la. now i m more careful too.

Hey, I have a silly question. I have a lot of Level 1 Bfree teats which i never use coz my baby prefers the level 2 ones. Rather than buying new teats, can I just poke a hole myself in them using a sterilized pin?:p

twiggy, ur boi has been using level 2 since which mth? my gal still on level 1....feeding ok,so not sure whether to "upgrade" her or not....

skye, some times when my gal wakes up from her short nap, she entertains herself by sucking her fist or looking around. i will also try to play with her or carry her until she "eh eh" then feed her.

happy -- i tot 2-3 month old baby supposed to be take like 2 to 3 1 hour naps a day..... thats y i wundering if she has enuff sleep. ;p

Hi ladies,this is tweety, I've decided to change my Nick!! hehe

twiggy,
I think its ok to make your own holes in the teat if you want to make it bigger.

re;mittens
I usually let Luis wear mittens because he tends to scratch himself, but the PD told me to let his hands out and allow him to explore with his hands, problem is he tends to want to scratch or poke his eyes out with his fingers!! She also told me to file his finger nails as oppose to clipping them. I prefer to clip them.

Anyone have a problem with the shapes of baby's head? My son's head is funny shape thanks to his preference to sleeping with his head to one side. Now, one side is flat and the other side is round!!! I am now trying to make him use his other side to sleep and also to put him on his front in the afternoon nap so that his head can 'mould' itself back to normal. The PD wants me to take him to hospital and for me to learn to 'massage' him. Anyone done something similiar? I am still considering on going because it is such a hassel.

Also very depress about weight!! I went to get some short and almost cried when I tried on XL size and it didn't fit!!!!!!!! <sob>

Plumsource..hehehe...care to share the meaning behind the new nick?

I dun think bb massage is necessary, definately nt a must. well first of all i dun hv tt patience, time and $$..hehee...cos i myself dun even go for massage le!

true, it will be nice to go for it if its nt much of a hassle. I tink bbs are fine without massage too.

Dun dispair la. u haev 3 kids...so nothing to be sad abt....and ur tummy's been stretched 3 x...cant expect it to be like before. tats wht i tell myself..hehehe...but work it slowly i believe it jus takes more time.

Re: filing nails,
i find it so difficult to file them cs the nails are so soft..cant even file properly.i prefe to clip them and i do it when she is latching on so tt she dun move much.

hi tweety,

dun b so depressed abt wt... coz u r not alone lor. i'm now top size M, bottom size L/XL... so weird looking!

n HB oso made fun of me say i got 2 buttocks, 1 in front n 1 at the back! grrr....

Re: mittens
i still let chloe wear them coz her fingernails grow super fast. another problem is dat she likes to cover her eyes/face with her hands when she sleep n will scratch n rub her eyes very rough type when she's sleepy n gets cranky... dun wan her to hurt herself or her face! hahaha...

plumsource,
i have the same problem with Leroy's head. i bought the positioner from baby safe n i put him to sleep on his side. i noticed that its improving so maybe u wana try it out.

S@L,
my new nick is direct interpretation of my chinese name, mei (plum) yuen (source) neat eh?

ueno, which store did you buy the the positioner, is it the padded thingy with support on either side?

dreamer,

yes, day time should sleep around 3.5hr, my boy takes 6 feeds and will have short nap about 4 times in the day, sometimes 15 mins- 30mins, sometimes 1 hr or slightly more, add up will give me like 3 hrs or so, I guage him by his night sleep and feeding. some bb just need more sleep, so less, dun worry too much.

plumsource,
yes, there's supprt on both sides. I bought it from Robinsons but i think alot of places have it too.

help! help!
my boy always wants pple to carry him..
when he wants to sleep, need to carry and rock him to sleep, else he will "tear the house"...
even nanny also complaining..
how how?? any tips for me??

Date: 21 - 23 March 2008
Venue: Singapore Expo Hall 6A
Time: Friday &amp; Saturday, 11am to 9pm, Sunday 11am to 8pm

BabyCare Festival (BCF) 2008 promises to be more exciting than ever with everything you need to make your parenting journey a much easier ride. Join us on an enchanted expedition to fairytale land and enjoy loads of fun entertainment and fantastic shopping treats for the whole family, all under one roof!

FESTIVAL HIGHLIGHTS
Get your baby featured on the cover of Mother &amp; Baby magazine! Download entry forms here.
Your irresistible bundle of joy could be our next Baby Idol – we are on the hunt for mini superstars with the Chubbiest Cheeks, most Enchanting Eyes and the Sweetest Smile!
Sign up your athletic youngster for the exhilarating Toddler Crawl Telematch and cheer him on as he races to the finishing line.
Our specially created Fairytale-themed play zone, with fun rides, bouncy castles, storytelling sessions and face-painting, is sure to make all your little ones’ dreams come true!

PLUS! Get the best and latest products for your baby at this not-to-be missed showcase of maternity and baby products and services, with unbeatable deals and great promotions!

SPECIAL SUBSCRIPTION OFFERS Enjoy exclusive subscription offers when you subscribe to Mother &amp; baby
– only at BabyCare Festival 2008.

WIN! Stand a chance to walk home with over $20,000 worth of fabulous prizes and goodie bags!

do yr babies sleep on pillow? Besides those that hv a "hole" in the middle? Cos most books that i read say pillow is not necessary, juz wondering what is the pros n cons of hving or not hving. Any idea?

Lazykat,

My baby used to sleep on pillow (the one with hole in the middle). My sis told me it helps to mould the bb's head shape. I used it for a while. Now the back of his head really nice shape. But I have stopped recently cos he sweat a lot using tat pillow and his head is stinky!

Hi Starlight,

The gao zou shan i used when i hear the phlegm sound. he had it say on day 6 when back from hospital. it says on the box tat is for loss of appetite, fright, fever etc.. but i mainly used it for the 'phlegm'.. and for fright, i used jin feng shan.

Hi Lazykat,

my boy sleeps in cradle, hence his head is pretty rounded liao. and in cradle no pillow.

nite time when on mattress, i place like 3 nappies folded for him to sleep on though i read before that pillow is not necessary.

i contemplated to buy the pillow with hole cos i feel that the neck part is like very xin1 ku3 for the baby though it may not be else why would be still be buying/selling.

sstarlight, pig07,
cos my gal usually sleeps on back, hence also realise her head is not as round as before. I hv 2 types of pillows, one with the hole, and one flat (babysafe)

plumsource (still prefer tweety.. hee)
will it help to sleep on tummy? cos i am worried if she is used to sleeping that manner, may be dangerous cos of SIDS.

my baby gal has small white bumps on her thighs... abit like goose bumps ... o mebbe, like white heads... anyone with similar experience? wundering how to help clear it? its been a few days. initially i tot her skin dry so i apply vaseline on it. but no help

Dreamer,
I haven't used the Level 1 Bfree teats before because they seem to collapse when baby sucks. So right from the start, I had to use level 2 ones. Do you have that problem?

Plumsource (not used to it leh!)

Thanks, I'll try to poke a hole myself and hope it works. My baby got "flathead" on left side coz he prefers sleeping that way. I didnt notice but my PD did. But she said it's ok to leave it, it will slowly round up by itself. What we're trying to do is prop him with a bolster behind his back to make him sleep on his right side more often.

long time did not login. i started working, but milk supply dip, and baby also drinking lesser too. She is going for her 3 mth injection next week. Kind of worry....

I also have not decided whether should she take 6-in 1 or 5-in 1. Initially I do not want her to take injection in CNY week, but dr advise not to skip and my hubby wants us to take care of her when she is having injection, so next week is a good break from work.

lazykat,
i tink sleeping on tummy will resolve that problem. Cos Matt's head is still round. but then now i scare his nose get flat cos he would turn from side to side rubbing his face against the mattress. dunno which is worse. haha

hi tinkabel
i dun think it's advisable to let our babies sleep on their tummy. Coz most SID (sudden infant death) syndrome happens on babies who sleep on their tummies. Although chances of SIDs are low, we do not want to take chance
I hope i am not scaring you but thought we should share what we know
I let my gal sleep on her sides since she doesn't like me to swaddle her and putting her on her sides she can sleep better.

By the way, my gal is only drinking 60ml and less in 2-3 hours. She is very 'reluctant' on the bottle while i am at work. After i'm home, she will latch on directly. I wonder if she is really a small eater or it's because she dun like bottle and will start 'feasting' on my breats when i return. Anybody with similar problem? I see all your kids are drinking at least 120ml already...

Re: Jabs
My baby gal is taking her jabs at the polyclinc. Her 3rd month jab would be on 22nd this month.

Are you gals dressing up your babies in CNY wear?

din login for the past few days coz my father was hospitalized. he was discharged yday &amp; now resting at home. my mum had to take care of him so i was taking care of baby jovan on my own for the past few days. luckily my father has recovered well so my mum can still take care of Jovan when i go back to work next mon.

baby jovan just went for his first dose of 6-in-1 &amp; rotavirus this morning. we bought a digital ear thermo from the clinic too. everything costs $300+ wow! baby jovan is now 6.7kg at 2mths 2wks 4days. he is v cranky &amp; sleepy now. he refused to sleep on his rocker or on the bed. he wans to be carried all the time! now he is zzz in my MIM sling. so tiring!

today is the "official" last weekday where i can spend the whole day with baby jovan (coz i starting work on next mon). think i'm really gonna miss him badly. *sob*

baby Jovan (@ 2mths 2wks 4days) sleeping in my MIM sling as i surf the web now
1233292.jpg

baby jovan (@ 2mths 2wks 1day) with his favourite toy Pinkie. he can "talk" to Pinkie for at least 15min before he gets bored
1233293.jpg

1) tweety- baby Luis - 6.01kg on FM anud BM
2) grace - baby Ash - 6.5kg on BM
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.6kg on FM (12wks 3days)
4) Jules - baby Natalie - 6.18 on FM
5) Kaye - baby Claire - 6kg on FM (3mth 1 week++)
6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)
7)Poissons - baby Garreth - 6.5kg on FM (2 mths 2 wks) Gosh! I think he is overweight!!
8) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
9) michviv - baby Ethan: 7.1kg on BM (11 weeks 4 days)
10) Plim - baby Bevis - 5.2kg on BM (11weeks)
11) Tinkabel - baby matthias - 6kg on BM (2 mths 2 weeks)
12) S@L - baby Mischa - 6.9kg on BM (2mth 3wks)
13) Yami - baby Kaelyn - 6.6kg on FM (3mths)
14) Superhappymum - baby YongWei - 6.9kg on BM &amp; FM (3 months )
15) Beloved_daughter-baby Matthias - 6.5kg on FM &amp; BM (3months 1wks)
16) Skyeskye - baby Eliza - 5.9kg on BM (9wks)
17) Catherine - baby Jovan - 6.7kg on BM (mostly) &amp; FM (bedtime) (2mths 2wks 4days)

olive,
i pop down to the infant care centre just now. AND AND AND...they dont accept normal kids. only for referrals from govt for low income family.
so no more infantcare centre liao...

the next one is at Depot road called Zion babies.
must travel...sianz......

Olivetree: My boy also has the same rocker and we dun usually belt him coz the rocker was passed down from my galfriend and she lost the safety belt. He loves the rocker too. We'll usually be sitting by him whenever we put him there. My MIL is the super careful one, so i dare not walk away. Hee..wondering who is the mum:p. Hmm..Will have to quickly get a replacement to belt him up esp he may learn to turn soon. Think, u must really sayang sayang her, 2 painful events for her this wk huh. But dun worry, yr gal will be fine.

Plumsource (hee..diff to switch &amp; relate u to this name. Hee..). Anyway, wrt mittens, my boy also still having his on. My HB tried to remove it for him last nite and the very moment his hands went "naked", he scratched his face, leaving 2 red scratches, will try again over the weekend.

Like yrs, my boy also prefer to sleep on 1 side since day 1 and u can imagine the shape of his head. Old folks always comment on the shape of his head when they see him. I also have the baby safe positioner. Eagan been using it since day 1. Find it very useful coz when he was younger, we tucked the positioner by his sides so as to let him feel someone is carrying him. Now, my mil uses it to support his bk when we lay him on his side to sleep.

My colleague told me mothers shld massage bb's head during the first 4 months coz we still have the "qi" in us, the right temp on our hand/palm will help to "reshape" bb's head. I did massage for him for almost an hr the other day, seems like it's a bit rounder. Will continue to do it.

Size: Sigh..my hip bone and thigh also become bigger, can feel the tightness when i pull up my pants. My sis keeps telling me to be patient coz we'll still loss wt 4 months aft delivery. So, also not sure what size to get when shopping for new year clothes. So, just bght a few pcs to suit my current fig and see how later.

Cat: Glad yr dad is well and healthy now. U gog bk to wk on Monday? Never mind, just wk 2.5days then it's another break for CNY. That's why i also chose to return wk earlier so that i've the CNY break to look forward to:)