(2007/11) November MTBs

Hi Happy74,

Welcome.

Re cutting nails.
I read that for fingernails, trimming is twice a week. and for toe nails is twice a month.

With my bad experience in nail cutting few hours ago, i tink i will have phobia to next trim his nails. Wont know if i have the courage to do it twice a week.

hi poissons,

my boy is a heavy drinker too, before 1 mth old, he is drinking 120ml and still crying for more, then after bb shower i gave him 150ml, still cannot, so at around 7 weeks, i gave him 180ml, until now he is drinking 180ml ( 2 mth+ 1,2 weeks) PD and Mrs Wong (TMC) told me that can gave him more if he wants, I was shocked. at 8 weeks, he is 6Kg and PD said it is not overweight cos his height is 60cm and can gave more if he wants, i dare not leh cos when he sits, he is like smiling buddha and everyone said he got "D" cup, btw he drinks every 3 hr FM

Hi Poissons,

if indeed babies tend to drink lesser at 3rd month, do we then reduce the EBM/FM? Or leave it status quo?

pig07,

thanks for the welcoming :)

initially i hve phobia too, first 2 times was done by my sis and then after that, I do it, i push back his finger meat and then cut, sometimes the nail cutter is not so sharp so I just grit my teeth and cut it, as long as he doesn't cry, i assumed it is ok :) wat a terrible mum i am but no choice lor cos he dun wear mittens now

i already removed both mittens n booties. only put on socks for bb when i go out. need to train him for 0 degrees in shanghai.

i cut bb's nails with safety 1st bb nail clipper. quite ok. but i cut him once. so now i hv to be v careful.

Hi Pig07,
I think that trimming twice a week is too often. For me, I trim at max, once every 2-3 weeks.

Yup, the scissors is the one with the rounded tip.

Re: Botties & mittens
My boy has not been wearing these since 6 weeks old. But when we go out, we make him wear socks or his soft shoes. You can choose to put booties on him at night too but I usually make him wear long pants that cover his feet.

Hi happy74, I would not be too worried. Your baby is indeed very "tall" for his age at 8 weeks. So not to worry la. Mine was 5.8kg at 8 weeks but he was 56 cm. So similar to your boy I guess. =)

Lazykat: I also engaged auntie sadiah for massage, she is very gd. It's so relaxing aft each session. I got 3 sessions from her.

Pig07: Same here, my boy used to be able to down all his 170ml(4hrly) 2 wks ago. But recently, it reduces to abt 140-150ml every 3hrs.

Btw, wanna check with mommies here. How many times do u burp yr bb during the feed. 170ml is actually quite a lot for bb at one go. Gynae told me to burp him abt half way thru his feed when he was drinking 120ml then. But, problem is once we remove the bottle and try to burp him, he'll cry and his head will ding dong around searching for the teat. We ended up continuing the feed. However, i asked my sis's CL, she said no need to burp bb as long as he is drinking and is not "struggling" during the feed. If bb struggles, means he is uncomfy and is time to burp him. Else, just continue then burp him once finish. Also, now that bb is older it takes longer time to burp him. Anyone shares the same experience?

My boy is still wearing his mittens. Coz like Poisson's, my bb likes to rub his face. He does alot of kicking and stretching too,sometimes even in his sleep. So we worry he might scratch himself. We dun let him wear his booties since yest coz MIL said it's too tight on him. But will let him wear those "rabbit pants" at night.

Nail cutting: My HB uses the safety first scissor to cut his bb's nails while i feed him. If anyone has phobia of cutting bb, think using the file will be another option.

Tinkabel: The weather in SH is terrible now, some flights cancel, etc. Ask yr HB to bring sufficient winter clothes for Matt since he is coming bk.

Back track a bit. I'm also on facebook, my email is [email protected]. Still trying to figure out the functions though

sorry, as advised, mittens shd be taken off by 6 weeks not 12 weeks, me nowsaday too blur, after delivery, does anyone become very forgetful like me???

btw, all of you got good experiences with all your CL, i sacked mine after 1 day, cannot stand her hygiene issues and the way she handled my bb, so rough, anyway 1st week i was w/o any CL too so thought that instead of having to nag and put up with her hygiene problems, might as well do everything by myself. Should I have the next bb, really dunno if shd get another CL :-( wonder if you guys got good CL?

Hi Cactusnah,

re:trimming nails
File from the same nail clipper? Mine is the safety first nail clipper. and tat is the 'culprit' that cut my boy's flesh. Is it better to trim the nails when they are sleeping?

re: milk intake
Ya.. lately my boy been taking lesser. I just pour away the EBM when he cant finish. The it becomes like I wont know if I should carry on my 3 hourly feeding interval or shorten it since he couldnt finish his previous round.

re:mittens and botties
my boy still using booties for the whole day. cos we feel that while sleeping, his feet might be cold and cant get to sleep properly.
I attempted to remove his mittens and he will go scartching his face. So nite time i have put tat back cos he might be scratching himself more during sleep.

cactusnah,
I know. My hubby's coming back next Monday, hopefully his flight is still on the go. Worst winter in many years. Me very worried for Matt. We got winter clothes for him already, but just worried the sudden change in temperature (ie drop of 30 degrees) will be too much for him.

Hi Happy74,

My CL is good. I find her clean and neat and very professional when handling babies. I extended her service. She stayed with us for 2.5months. A bit reluctant to let her go after that.

Hi Tinkabel,

My friend in Nanjing told me they had snow this year. seems like there has been no snow for many years. And this year is one of the biggest snowfall decade back.

hi pig07 and mummies,

my boy drinks 180ml every 3 hrs, any methods to stretch to 4 hrs? cos i thought by the time he drinks 180ml to 210ml, it has to be 4 hrly already right? but since birth it is every 3 hours so seem like cannot change leh, sometimes before even 3 hrs he already wants his milk, i thought give him more will stretch longer but no leh.

usually for me if he did not finish his milk in the previous feed, i will still stick to the 3 hrs schedule else everything go haywired, in between if he is hungry, you might want to give him some water.
I dun really demand feed becos i scare to disturb his schedule as he is sleeping thru the night after 6 weeks old. feeding time: 7 am, 10:30am, 1:30pm, 4:30pm, 7:30pm, 10:30pm and then 7am .....

plim, i had the same prob with the manual pump before. after i changed the white circle thing, it works well again. so, i tink it's time for u to buy new ones.

re: booties and mittens
my gal is still wearing mittens coz she likes to rub her face too. but she has not been wearing booties since day 1. only wore that when i bring her out.

at home, she only wear shirt and diapers, coz i dun have aircon, so this is cooling for her.

yesterday, my #1 gal scratched my bb's forehead till there was blood! now she is "disfigured", sad sad....
sigh, dunno how to discipline the elder one now.

hi pig07,

you are so lucky, my first 3 weeks was hell, almost post natal blue, kept crying thanks to the CL, initially she played me out by saying she cannot come in sg when i give birth, only last min then say one week later, then when she came, she got problem with her personal hygiene too, kept on touching her oily face and put her hand inside her t-shirt and scratch her back. never wash hand b4 touch bb, told her to wash, she just rinse fingertips, asked her to use soap and kitchen towel to wipe dry, she use the dirty kitchen top towel which she also use to wipe the chopping board too, worse is first night already twice cannot wakes up to feed my bb, i need to wake her up and woke up liao, blur blur, made the milk like doing cocktail, shaking it until a layer of foam and told me if not, powder will not melt totally and best part, for 60ml of milk she used 30ml normal temp and 30ml boiled water.
I threw a pet bottle away to the rubbish bin, she picked it up and used it to contain cool water to make milk for my bb and the way to handle my bb, terrible, just pull the clothes out from my bb that he screamed and when she put my bb down to the cot, so rough that my bb rolled over to his side.

phews...sometimes it's hard to understand our babies, i'm trying to keep her on a routine & try sleep training. dunno how it'll work out in the end. yesterday she slept so much in the day i couldn't fall to sleep till 1130pm after her 9pm milk. then wake at 2am for milk and wouldn't sleep till 3am+ i was so groggy and sleepy i keep slipping in and out of sleep to give her pacifier and pat her to sleep, but didn't carry her. so tired in the morning!

lazykat & fanny,
so hard to buy pants! and then i look fat in my pre-preg clothes
feels like i need a new wardrobe!

Hi happy74,

yr CL sounded like nightmare to me. I would have 'sacked' her too if i were you. fortunately you send her packing, else i guess your condition would have worsen.

Like now, I have a maid to help out. But i tink i am not any better off with her (except she helps with rocking the baby and housework). Instead I am kinda stressed by her and the boredom of staying at home facing the maid and baby. I think i may be better off w/o a maid as subconsciously, she may be causing me more 'harm' mentally, than good.

Hi Happy74,

I understand from my CL that hours can be strecthed by giving more milk. actually why do you wanna stretch? Since your baby is not waking up for nite feeds. 3 hours seemed fine.

pig07,
No, it's a separate file. My sis bought for me a set that contains 3 files, nail clipper & round tip scissor.

Tinkabel,
Hope yr HB can be bk on schedule. Ya, lotsa thing to consider for Matt esp it's a drastic change in temp. Perhaps can try to let him sleep in aircon room for gradual transition?

Happy,
Same here. Initially we thot by increasing the quantity, we can stretch the time a bit. It worked during the first few days, but thereafter he wants his milk every 3 hrly. Told my HB think our bb is a "walking" alarm, rather "zun" in his timing. He can be in deep slumber, but once his feeding time is up, his alarm will start ringing.

Olivetree: Ouch, it must be very painful. Was it accidentally?

hi pig07,

need to stretch cos worry overfeed, shown the in guide that when drink 180ml need to change to 5 feeds per day but mine still same 6 feeds, wonder how to change leh even increase milk also still 3 hrs

pig07,
my bb still wearing mittens & booties tho...i'm don't really want her to scratch her face as she always rubs her face, so the mittens still stay on. my fil cuts her nails and he's quite gd at it so i leave him to do it.

plim,
i'm using the Avent ISIS manual pump too! it happens to me too, once i was pumping the lil white circle 'popped' out 4 times. i was so frustrated i threw away the milk in the end cos i wasn't in some public toilet pumping (had to empty my breasts cos i was out for quite a long while). if i'm at home i can wash my hands and fix it back again. i don't really know why it happens...on good days it doesn't happen.

anyone tried the crying down method to get bb to sleep? how's it like?

hi skye and mummies,

regarding cry down method,
my gf was so "cruel" that she left her bb boy, 2.5 mths old cried for 2hrs non stop becos she cannot tolerate that her bb refused to sleep, wants to be carried all the time and when put down to cot only starts crying, her boy cried and cried until her maid also cried with him but after that episode, her boy now can sleep on his own w/o having to be rock or carry.

when i delivered, she told me not to give in and must be firm but i still cannot bear to do that to my bb, anyway her theories are from this book: The contented little baby book by Gina Ford.

she gave it to me when i delivered and told me to follow it, i tried to but on the way, change here and there to suit my bb, I dunno if it is becos of the book method but my bb can sleep thru the night after 6 weeks. the only method that I did not change to suit my bb is the schedule for the feeding which is also supposed to train my bb to sleep thru the night. You might want to try and get one to read and see if it is helpful to you.

hi olive,
dont abush me ah.. i have not gone to the infant care. me busy with spring cleaning and also do my hair for cny...hee. will get back to u soon.....

hi cactusnah

yes, no way to change the 3 hrs alarm clock schedule leh

another problem i have with my boy, during the night time, after the 10:30pm feed, i will straight away swaddle him and he will automatic goes to sleep in his cot on his back till the next morn but daytime, he is like a changed bb, no way i can put him in his cot to sleep, he needs to be rock and pat and then sleep on his stomach on anywhere except his own cot and can only be on his stomach else he will wakes up after a few mins. me going back to wk soon, wonder how my poor parents going to carry him whole day :-( especially he is gaining weight

Any mummies have this problem?

I'm new here, and my baby boy now is 2mths 3 weeks, only 5.7kg, and he been drinking milk lesser and lesser I wonder why.

He now drinking range from 70-120ml each time feeding, recently, drink every 4-5hrs, total up he will drink around 600-700ml in 24hrs.

I feel that he drink less that the baby at his age should.

Nowadays eversince he was 2mths old, we need to beg him to drink, he hardly want to drink milk, really don't understand why. He starts teething now, is it because of teething?

At his age I think he shld drink each time at least 150ml right? and at least 700-800ml 24hrs rite?

hi shernine,

i am new too.

your boy starts teething now at 2 mths???? first time i heard that but isn't that a bit early or mine is too slow ???

5.7kg at 2mths 3weeks is okay for weight, got to depend on his height too and whether both parents are on the small build side.

usually when teething, they tends to have some issues, fever lah, loose stool, poor appetite etc...

how much they are suppposed to drink is only a guideline, different bb behaves differently, pd always ask if bb is gaining or losing weight, lethargic or not, got fever or not, stool ok or not,feeding okay or not etc...to assess bb.

you said he now drinks 70-120ml, but what about previously? alot of differences and for how long already? if teething then shd be it, unless you found other problems then best to consult PD cos they are just bb

Cactusnah, pig 07
No aircon at my in laws place now. It's windy here, so I just open the windows and leave him without mittens and socks. My colleague suggested to put him near the fridge with the door open more often. crazy guy. I just crossed my fingers and hope everythg wil be ok. Matt's prob going to be home all day until late spring. It hasn't snowed in Shanghai for years now. My friend who has been there for 4 years said it's the worst winter she had so far. Just 2 days ago, they closed down Pudong Intl airport in Shanghai cos they didn't know how to deal with the snow. My friend's car also skidded whilst driving at 40KM/H.

hi happy,

Yeah, I was surprise he start teething so early, and this is not good as his appetite really drop till dunno how!! Some more he only 2 mths plus now and how to grow like tat!?

Well, actually he never increase his drink. 70-120ml since 1 mth old. Thought intake should increase since he now 2mth plus already?

However, due to each time he drink lesser and less frequent, the total intake in 24hrs becoming lesser, drop from 700-800ml to now 550-700ml.

Sometimes really wondering he doesn't feel hungry at all? Last time he will ask for milk but now he never. Even when feed him, also need to fight with him to make him drink, and 9 out of 10 times he never finish, only drink half or 3 quarter of milk given only. Really pek chek sometimes !!

My boy seemed to have lots of phlegm though he is not coughing. He has tis 'phlegm' thing from day 1 when he comes back home from hospital.

is this normal?

plim, the white valve is the 'star' design one? that is the older version. u can replace with the new valve (duckbill shape) instead. i have a spare one, can pass to u if u need. tt one wont pop out like the one u have now.

Hi Shernine,

You felt the 'teeth' on the gum or have you seen a PD for that?

What happened was i thot my boy was growing a teeth too on his lower gum. we felt it with our fingers. and it's sharp and hard like a growing teeth. Then i brought him to a PD. PD diagnosed that its calcium deposit', a type of pearl called epstein pearl, which will cause discomfort to the baby and resembles teeth. She gave me a gel to apply on the gum. The pearl came off 2 days later.

hi shernine,

have you checked with his PD? if PD said okay with his growth then shd be okay.

my nephew needs to force to drink milk too, the CL sometimes doing cup feed just to get milk into him, he was born full term but small, only 2.38kg at birth so quite difficult during feeding milk but after that he is okay. some bb are just different.

pig07,

the phelgm is not really phelgm right, just when they breath, sounded like got phelgm? sometimes i thought mine have phelgm too and raise my concern to PD, but he said it is ok for his respiratory. his lung dun have sound leh. that is what they always do ( check his lung) when I said like got phelgm or loud noisy sound when breathing.

Hi pig07,

Oh is it? I didn't touch his gum, however, he is having loose stool from time to time, then his saliva drooling everytime, and his tongue keep rubbing his gum, and also using his hands to rub his gum too.

Which PD you brought him to? Maybe I thinking to bring him to PD to check.

Happy,
I havent check with PD yet. My baby was born 3.125kg, and now 5.7kg really not much growth I feel. Think when bring him for 2nd dose of injection then see how doctor say.

hi shernine,

3.125 to 5.7 is alot of growth liao, like my mum said, cannot expect like blow balloon like that, I am sure your PD will tell you his growth is okay.

Hi Shernine and Happy,

Ya.. sounded like phlegm but not phlegm. I gave him the chinese powder for phlegm call dont know what 'gao3 zou2 shan3'.. bought from medical hall at i tink $12.

the PD i brought my son to located at rivervale mall-sengkang. tel 68811711. both PDs from this KIDS CLINIC were previously from KKH. I saw Dr Lilian. pretty crowded. best to make appointment or get a queue number early for weekends.

hi Pig07

Thx for the contact :p
Well, you can try to give him jing1 feng1 san3, my mom in law said can get rid of phlegm too. Selling at medical hall at S$6-00.

My baby breathe like got phlegm, even till now also like tat sometimes, he some more snoring leh, so loud !

Hi Happy,
hmm... heard from wat you said then i not so worried liao. THx!:p

nail trimming -- i usually trim my baby's finger nails when she's in deep sleep.... so far no problem! have been doing it this way since the CL left which is ard 1 month old. ;p

this week, baby kaira's feeding interval seem to be shorter as well.

she was on 150ml water + 5 scoops FM for the last 4 weeks or so and each feed she can last abt 4 - 4.5 hours. this week, she lasts abt 3-3.5hrs only. so scared of overfeeding her... seems like alot to drink. but maybe its a growth spurt for her?? any similar experience?

phlegm -- my dotter also sounds like she has phlegm... but no cough...so i let her be ;p actually she developed it after she went for surgery @ 7th week old. but doc said nothing to worry abt....

hmmm, mebbe i should also get some of the chinese medicine to see if can help clear her phlegm. but am in hkg...wonder whether they have the same stuff...

pig07,
my CL also recommended the same chinese medi to clear my gal's phlegm but we only used a few times cos i am sceptical on chinese medi on newborn, already given away the medi. Tho, there wasnt any adverse reaction then.

Re: Mittens & Booties
I also removed mittens and booties (too small.. she got big foot) when my gal is 2mth+ cos its impt for them to explore their 5 little fingers, one of the impt motor skills. Only at nite will we let her wear socks cos she is one who perspires easily, and we sleep in aircon room. Or when we r out @ shopping centres.

Re: Nail cutting
So far I am the only one who dares to cut her nails, and i did it at least twice a wk (hands) cos it grows very fast. Feet maybe once a mth or as when i think shld be cut. Some scratches will be inevitable, juz hv to calm babies so they dun scratch too hard when frustrated. Anyway their skin will heal very fast, sometimes within a day, the red marks will be gone.

Re: Drinking less
My gal is @ WK11, sometimes did not finish the milk, but din cry for milk earlier and still able to sleep thru the nite, tho a few times she wake up earlier and play by herself.. we kinda feed her around these 5 timings 7am, 11am, 3pm, 7pm, 11pm, +/- half an hr. So far quite stable, juz that nap time is erratic which i also din strictly follow the Gina Ford's method.

Wah the thread moves so fast today.

Heh heh.. ya my boy also talks a lot to me. He prefers talking than playing it seems. Lately he likes to stare at dangling objects.

mrs_choy:
Yes, I wanted to sign up KKH massage class in Feb but its full already
Am on waiting list now.

Re:mittens and botties
I have removed mine few weeks back. Now I let my bb wears socks if weather is cold during the day and before he sleeps at night.

Like to know if you all start to let your bb wear sleeveless top or romper? I really scare he might caught a cold cos it seems so exposed.

By the way.. I am slowing giving up BF. Now only pumps 3x per day (can sustain abt 3-4 feeds). Feel so tired to pump and look after him at the same time.

Feeling a bit guilty. Don't know if he will miss mummy's milk milk.

Re: Nail cutting
Has been doing it since he is born with nail cutter. First time I did it for him, I cut his flesh and he slept throughout. Heh heh. Now more careful already. I cut every 10 days or so. Not only he will scratch himself, he will scratch whoever carrying him too. Heh heh.

By the way, I still have 7kg to lose. Its been like that long time. Any idea how to lose it? Sigh.. so busy looking after baby, no time to exercise too. CNY coming.. gonna pile up more weight.

lazykat,

so you also follow gina ford method, initally i tried hard to, wokes my bb up to drink when time up, especially the so call 5pm and 6:15pm feed, gave up on that and stick to my own 3 hr feed cos find it too much feed for him 5pm to 6:15pm too early liao.

so your bb sleeping thru the night too?