(2007/11) November MTBs

lazykat,

how did you managed 4 hrly schedule? from birth already feed her every 4 hrs? i cannot seem to change it from 3 hr to 4 hrs leh

happy,
how did u work out the gina ford method? not sure if i'm to late trying it now cos i juz borrowed the book. my bb is 8weeks. plus i bathe bb in the morning rather than at night. and how can bb sleep only 15-45mins? usually my bb will wake from her nap wanting to drink milk...not really to play.

happy,
i tried the split feeding, but decided to do away with it cos my gal is capable of taking bigger feed. (She can finish in 5-10min) So I tried to stretch her milk time fr 3 hr to 4 hr in the day. Using GF's concept of squeezing in all the feeding fr 7am ~ 11pm, i work out my own schedule, initially will give the largest feed at 11pm, but thereafter, i juz give all equal feeds throughout when i increase my gal's intake to 170ml. Yes, she has been sleepin thru the nite for the past 2-3 wks.

lazykat,

yes i squeeze in during 7am to 1030pm too so that my boy sleeps thru from 11 pm till 7am but daytime, he still needs milk every 3 hr instead of 4 hr and he is already drinking 180ml since he is 7 weeks old, now he is 10 weeks, so increasing his milk is abit too much right, my boy also finish in 10 mins, me too give 180ml at 7am and 10:30am feed, the rest 150ml but he scream during the 150ml feed, not enough so i forget about it too and give him 180ml to avoid him crying and crying after the feed, there are a couple of times even 180ml does not satisfied him and I made another 60ml more for him, thinking he might just drink another 10 or 20ml but he finished it. Nowsaday before 3 hrs is up, he is already eating and sucking on our shoulder or sleeves and started to make noise after the feed (showing that he wants more) I am reluctant and hopefully i can just control not to increase till he is past 12 weeks.

while the rest of the mummies are complaining that their bbs are reducing milk intake, mine is asking for more leh even though his PD said can give him more, I still a bit worry, not that milk powder is expensive but whenever i make the milk in the bottle and look at the amount of it, it sort of scare me leh, so much even sometimes i wonder whether i can finish or not, oh by the way, i forgot to mention that he poo once a day or sometimes once every 2 days so that added to my worry too, though his PD again said that is normal for FM bb, so much milk goes to where???

happy,
how many feeds is yr bb taking now? Mine used to be 3-hrly but hv now stabilized to 4-hrly.Try to increase her intake, and delay feeding thru play/talk.. expect some cries of course, but need to trial n error a bit and takes time of course.

skye,

you mean each time you bb nap during day, it is more than 1 hr right? basically i din follow on the sleep schedule, initially i do, imagine i woke my bb up to play based on that schedule and my parents called me siao and my bb takes bath morning too. i followed more on the feeding part, easier cos bb basically love and will drink milk rather than ask them to sleep at a specified time. i tried to follow the feeding time and after 4 weeks old my bb tends to sleep shorter each nap ( 15 mins to occassionally 1.5hr or 2 hr) as long as he dun sleep past the scheduled feeding time, I leave it but will wake him up to drink when times is up, and i find that it does not disturb his sleep thru the night pattern. His pattern for every 3 hr feed becomes like this: drink milk, then play for 1 hr, then sleepy and starting crying cos wanna rock, then sleep for 30 min, wakes up 30 min to 1 hr before his feed and then start the pattern again.

not too late to start gina ford method, only have to struggle more to get the bb to get used to it again lor, my gf started her bb 2 mths and it took her 2 weeks and 2 hrs of control crying to see result

lazykat,

still 6 feeds now. when he is hungry, he dun care about anything, just close his eyes and scream till he gets what he wants. still increase???

any babies here drink more than 180ml every 3 hrs at 10 weeks??

happy,
my gal is drinking similar amt but 5 feeds, and since yr PD also says its ok to increase, why dun u try out on some feeds, esp morning 7am one by increasing another OZ or half OZ? Every bb is diff, n since u kinda sure he is screaming for milk, why do u want to hold back?

Hi Shernine, pig07
My boy also sound like this. I was given tis spray STERMAR it is actually see water spray with no chemical. It really helps to clear the nose and throat.Just spray inside the nostril. My boy sound like blocked nose or lots of phlem but actually is the respiratory system. Cos still small.

Seems like all babies are increasing of milk intake and drop. I don't know if j haven give him enough he has been drinking 125ml from3week til now 11weeks. PD told me if he don't want to drink then don't give him cos he is bit bit overweight.

Today he drank at 7am, 11am and refuse to drink till 9.30pm. The whole afternoon from 12pm to 5pm never want to sleep. He was playing happily and out of sudden he just wailed so loud. And he just cry n cry non-stop.My whole family have to attend to him cos I am at work. I Got scolding cos they blame that i brought him out this morning. I think it is 2 different issues. But... Hiaz.... He is getting more and more cranky. I told them just let him cry 15mins and he will stop.

Any idea what is happening? To me, I jusrt feel that he is tired but can't sleep so getting cranky. Does yr bb behave tis way too??

Yoko, yes I like this spray Stermar. My PD prescribes for my elder son.
Actually all babies sound like they have blocked nose. To me as long as no mucus , is fine lor.

My baby still drinks 120ml or 4 oz max. Increase marginally by 30ml. At birth, he drinks about 90ml.
As he sleeps throughout the night from 10pm to 6/7am the next morning, I will not increase his milk qty. Until he wakes up in the middle of the night, (an indication of insufficient milk) then I would increase or introduce solids. My elder son happened at 5.5months.

happy, i oso scared of increasing the feed for my dotter.... like alot of miilk! as i mentioned before, she currently drinks 150ml + 5 scoops FM which when mixed euqals 180ml. and now the feed cannot last her for more than 3 hours....aiyo...wondering how come her stomach can take so much milk? ;p

dokie, u so blessed that he can sleep through the nite!

Pig, i only put on socks for Claire when we re going out. At nite, i will cover her with a blankie!

I used the Stermar spray on Claire when she has a blocked nose. Wow, she screamed murder man! Yoko, did ur baby boy has such reaction?

Yoko, when babies are over stimulated or too tired, they will get cranky and cry etc...

In my case, when i bought Claire out consecutively for a few days and u dun bring her out... She will fuss and scream the whole day. That's what happen yesterday as last weekend, i bought her out, my Mum bought her out on Mon & Tue.

Also, at certain timing they will want certain ppl. Ever since, i started work, i will be back home by 7pm, if she doesn't see me or my hubby by that timing... She will fuss again!

Happy,
My boy is exactly the same as yours. At 10 wks now, he is drinking 180ml. Yday juz weighed him and he is already 7kg!! His height is about 63cm, so hopefully he is not seriously overweight. For his milk, I used 5 scoops of powder instead of 6 (as indicated in the milk tin) and mix with water to get 180ml (so as not to overfeed him). He is also on a 3 hrs interval although sometimes I try to stretch it by rocking him in the yaolan or play with him longer.

So envious that your baby can sleep through the night. Mine still wakes up once and I dunno how to make him sleep through although we tried to feed him more on his last feed before his sleeps. Any advices?

Btw, I thought GF method is for babies who are on breastmilk and not FM? How to apply on babies on FM? Anyway, dun think I got time to try on the GF method again cos' I'm going back to work tmr...sob sob.

Oh yah, my MIL's frens also commented that my boy looks like smiling buddha after seeing his pic...sigh...no neck and got double chin..fatty bom bom.

Hi Mommies, what's the maximum no. of hours baby can sleep through the night without feed?

At the moment, we're training Natalie to sleep through 8 hours. Her last feed is normally at 9 or 10 p.m. and we don't feed till 6 or 7 a.m. She usually wakes in the middle of night and make some noises but we just stuff pacifier and feed water.

Anyone has stretched their baby longer than 8 hours?

RE: gina ford method.. me too also use it but vary it to suit baby and my own schedule..

find that the nap times recommended are good and my baby functions well and can keep to it..

feed wise, find that i can't follow.. i'm TBF and only latch..don't bottle feed..and too tired/lazy to pump.. luke still feeds 2-3 hourly in the day.. but suprisingly at night he feeds at 7pm, 1am then 7pm again, some days it's 7pm, 3am then 7am.. i'm ok with that so just let it be..

poissons,
i tried GF's method when my gal is still on EBM, and still need to wake up at least one time for night feed. Its only when i manage to hit 5 feeds (happen that i switch to FM) that she is consistently sleepin thru the nite. I only apply some useful concepts which worked for my gal, hence u still hv to trial n error along the way.

skye, s@L, cleocat should be sending our purchase today. We need to arrange collection soon. Hopefully both of your can get it before CNY.
Skye, where do u stay?

poissons,

gina ford is more for bf but i dun have enough and mine a heavy drinker plus no CL so in the end give up on bf. I stick to gina ford feeding times, dun care about putting to breast for how long, just go by the times and recommended oz, plus and minus but find the changing of oz not suitable for my boy cos sometimes more sometimes less, more he is happy, less he screamed murder and though I kept telling him that I will give him the next feed 1.5 hrs later instead of the usual 3 hrs, he still screamed (how to communicate to bb that mummy feed you less now is to prepare you for the next bigger feast, no way right) so after 1 week of 5pm feed and 6:15pm feed, i give up and then just give every 3 hrs but like she recommended, i starts everyday at 7am, so every 3 hrs means the last feed is at 10:30pm and then sleep till 7am again, he is okay. quite stress to follow gina ford method especially with old parents around, they said i siao, sometimes wanna let my son died of hunger, sometimes wanna let my son died of too much milk cos gina ford recommends different amt at different feed mah.

soon after 3rd mth, i will start to stretch his sleeping time from 10:30pm till 7am to 10pm to 7am, then 9pm to 7am and then 8pm to 7am especially when he started on solid, gina ford recommendation is 7pm to 7am but i am satisfied with 8pm to 7am :) wish me luck when i start the training then, it is gonna be a battle again.

jules,

sometimes my bb slept from 10:30pm till 8am, provided he did not sleep alot in the day and i am too tired in the morning to wake him up at 7pm to drink but i try not to do that now lor, bb can sleep without milk for 12 hrs when they are older than 6 or 8 weeks liao but of cos if suddenly bb sleeps alot suddenly and even day time is still lethargic, then something is wrong else no worry. initially when my bb slept thru the night when we came back from hospital, I jerked up suddenly and thought gosh! i forgot to get up to feed bb and my bb is gonna die of hunger, faster latch him on and make him FM, din know that it is okay for them to skip meal.

dreamer,

how many times your bb poo in a day when your bb drinks so much? mine only once or even once every 2 days so i scare lor and heard from chinese physician that sometimes when bb wants to drink all the times ( sucky bb) it is not that bb is really hungry, they are "thirty" so call in mandarin "gastric heaty" so they keep wanting to drink and then mummies usually overfeed and cause indigestion problems, solution is to cook sugared perserve winter melon strip (dong gua tiao) in water and let the bb drink the water but to take out the sugar first. so far, my bb no vomiting, stool is pasty so i did not make the drink for him lor

happy,
i also intend to bring fwd the last feed, fr 11pm to 10pm then 9pm. But at the sametime worried she might wake up earlier than 7am. She is going to be 3 mths soon.. i will try to bring fwd last feed by 15min each time..

Hi lazykat,

i stil have the gao zou shan and jin feng shan at home.and in fact tat day i went to buy 1 more bottle again to 'stand by'. My CL told me such is like 'kan1 men2 gou3- watchdogs. I tink it means when you need then you have it. no need to go looking for it.

When i went to the medical hall, the auntie there also told me tat these 2 is a must have for babies.

Dont know la. just be kiasu and kiasee and buy and keep. just in case.hee hee

Hmm..really envy mummies with bb sleeping thru the nite.Mine still wakes up once for his nite feed at wk 10. He is also drinking 170ml every 3 hrly during the day and abt 4.5hrs from his last night feed which is usually abt 10pm.

Other than that, his routine is more or less fixed. I'm glad my MIL helped to train him to pass motion every morning since Eagan is 3 day old. We usually will lift up his legs and tell him to pass motion and he'll.

Thanks, happy! Looks like I can stretch her a bit more then.

This forum's good! Managed to pick up some tips here & there.

cactusnah,

i tried to train him to poo too, my friend told me to get a potty and every morning, dun care if he wants to poo or not, just hold him for 5,10 mins, i rushed out to choose a nice design one and it was a struggle man... first he is fat and heavy, second, he screamed and screamed, less than 1 min, i surrender, dun want to traumatise him too in case wait he dun want to poo, so valuable for me when he poo you know, i keep asking when are you going to poo and when he poo, i so so happy and have to text my hb to tell him the good new, crazy hor...

maybe you can give him more milk at the 10pm feed so that he can sleep longer in the night and when he wakes up in the middle, instead of giving milk, try, water, pacifier or rock him to sleep again.

lazykat,

yes i think mine will wakes up early than 7am too, so need to adjust slowly lor and if really wakes up then rock and struggle abit to delay lor, but first for my case, I need to work on his sleeping schedule first cos now he is awake for a while but will sleep short or long after every feed, I am trying to train him to sleep shorter nap and one long nap between 12pm to 2pm, then hopefully more successful when bring fwd the last feed.

zoe+luke,

actually initially my bb also wakes up once in the middle of night to feed, 10 pm, 3am, 7am but i increased his amt at 10pm and refused to give him 3am feed when he wokes up by rocking or giving pacifier, then he is okay.

for your case and timing, I think very easy to let him sleep thru the night. 7pm one feed and wakes him up at 10pm to feed again and he should be sleeping till 7am. this way, you do without the night feed. just my 2 cents worth of thought cos he can sleep from 7pm to 1am or 3am, that means he need not wakes up to drink every 3 hrs just maybe confused that daddy and mummy sleep from 10pm till 7am instead of 7pm to 3am :)

today very sad...my bb gal fell down from her rocker this morning. i din put seat belt for her, so she wiggled and wiggled and pushed herself down the rocker.

i was sleeping and din hear any thud, only awoken by her usual "eng eng" sound, so thot she was playing by herself in the rocker. when i saw her, she was already lying on the floor, and din cry at all.

hopefully she is well, at least she still finished her milk after the fall and now sleeping soundly. when i thought of the bb who died after hitting his head against the toilet bowl, i feel so scared and worried now...

hi olive,

rocker? you mean bouncer? not very high right? I am sure she is okay, just monitor her closely if she keeps crying, vomiting, lethargic or anything unusual behaviours.

the bb who died after hitting the toilet bowl kept crying and crying, yours did not so dun worry.

me also paranoid after saw the newspaper cos my parents toilet also got a washing basin right on top which my mum squat down to bath bb so i kept telling her be careful and my boy will wriggle and kick very hard, nearly knocking his own bath tub every time.

falling down are inevitable, just need to be careful, my cousin 5 mths old, fell 5 times from bed, my nephew first fall was at 5-6 mths from his cot too but both now so intelligient and naughty.

dreamer,

you mentioned your bb gone for surgery @7 weeks? may i know for what condition if you dun mind cos mine going for surgery in March too, he got a tiny skin tag very near to his ear so we are going to remove it, sometimes I wonder whether it is better not to do the surgery cos kind of worry as he will undergo GA

thanks happy. i feel so lousy, coz' my fault for not belting her (hb said the belt too tight can cause rashes) and also i too tired to wake up and check on her immediately when i heard her making some sound.

yes, it is similar to bouncer, quite low in height. she likes to sleep in this so we usually put her on the rocker even at night.

coincidentally, the bb who died is 2 mths old, and my bb now also 2 mths plus, so i very worried now...

hope she will react normally when she wake up later.

this is the rocker, now i will belt her when she sleeps at night
1231017.jpg

i am very interested about those who can help their babies sleep through from 11pm to 7am. seems most of you who can do that are using the Gina Ford method?

I try to adapt the Baby Whisperer method, which says to give a 'dream feed' at 10pm or 11pm, and squeeze the rest of the feeds in day time (similar to GF i think). My situation is that baby sleeps at about 7:30pm, wakes up about 7am, and wakes up 2 times in the night for feed.

also she has reflux and regurgitates milk, so we incline her mattress and she will slip down n wakes up more easily.

When i try to give her a 'dream feed' at 11pm, she doesn't open her mouth and suck. i put my finger in and she sucks it but i don't know how to transit from my finger to the breast.

i am on TBF and latch-on only as she doesn't know/ want to drink from bottle (yet! i am still trying

any mothers latch-on at 11pm for the last feed, and how do you get baby to suck without waking her?

1) tweety- baby Luis - 6.01kg on FM anud BM
2) grace - baby Ash - 6.5kg on BM
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.6kg on FM (12wks 3days)
4) Jules - baby Natalie - 6.18 on FM
5) Kaye - baby Claire - 6kg on FM (3mth 1 week++)
6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)
7)Poissons - baby Garreth - 6.5kg on FM (2 mths 2 wks) Gosh! I think he is overweight!!
8) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
9) michviv - baby Ethan: 7.1kg on BM (11 weeks 4 days)
10) Plim - baby Bevis - 5.2kg on BM (11weeks)
11) Tinkabel - baby matthias - 6kg on BM (2 mths 2 weeks)
12) S@L - baby Mischa - 6.9kg on BM (2mth 3wks)
13) Yami - baby Kaelyn - 6.6kg on FM (3mths)
14) Superhappymum - baby YongWei - 6.9kg on BM & FM (3 months )
15) Beloved_daughter-baby Matthias - 6.5kg on FM & BM (3months 1wks)
16) Skyeskye - baby Eliza - 5.9kg on BM (9wks)

hi olive,

i have this rocker too, combi brand but have not used it yet cos my bb only sleep on stomach in the day, bought this rocker becos it was a great asset to my nephew, w/o it he cannot sleep, had a hard time making him sleep when we went oversea. but i understand this rocker can adjust in height too right? assume that you put it at the lowest height? and below where your gal legs are, there is also a barrier, you dun lift it up when she is in?

your gal gal so chubby and cute, wow so much hair too :) how many weeks is she?

i'm trying the Gina Ford method today..dunno how it'll work..she's not sleeping thru the night yet..last night woke up at 12mn, 230am, 4am..for milk..the last 4am, she didn't want to sleep. aiee..tired us out..cos she was making noise..not really crying but making noise to get our attention, sometimes 'ah' very loud.
ah...envy those whose bb can sleep thru the night..i'm gonna start work soon so that a bit more sleep is gonna be precious! when i tell Eliza gdnight everynight..tell her to sleep longer so i can sleep longer too. :p

dokie
i stay at tampines..how do we collect it..do we meet up or something?

happy,
my baby poos once a day. quite consistent. of coz sometimes miss 1 day... she's been like tat since 1 month old. every am i ask her where is her "poo poo" and make the "ummm ummm" sound. if she doesnt poo, i keep asking her until she poos :p

surgery : she had to have corrective surgery for a condition called indirec inguinal hernia. a form of hernia. no choice, muz hv surgery n yes, under GA. thank God it was a smooth surgery ! only thing abt surgery is the 6-hr fast be4 surgery n after surgery 2 hrs also caanot drink....so scared baby will cry n cry. but she turned out quite ok!

Was out yesterday and coulndt log in and so many posts! Can't catch up.

RE: SAHM or FTWM
Good to know I'm not the only one facing the dilemma. I went for a job interview yesterday and looks likely I'll start work in April if I get the job. Now going to start looking for maid. Hope I get a good one. Then will talk to my mum about quitting her job to help w baby. I prefer the mum + maid option to infantcare.

RE : Sleeping thru the night
My baby's started sleeping through the night at last! He's gone from 11pm (last feed) to the next mornign 7am twice in a row now. Hope he keeps it up. But then, I have to make up for his missed feed of 120ml by adding 30 ml to the rest of the day feeds. Is that the right way?

RE : Mittens and Booties
I've taken the mittens and booties off baby, unless I bring him out to aircon places. I read that it's important to do so because at 2 mths or so, they start learning how to grab things. Joseph can now grab his rattle and hold it for a few minutes, but then he'll drop it after awhile. I'm trying to teach him to use his hands more now. Problem is he will sometimes get scratchs on his face. Even though I cut his nails regularly, it's quite hard to file them properly so can still be quite sharp.

skye,

dun give up after 1, 2days of trying, i tried for 4 weeks before my bb can sleep thru and with my situation, in my parents hse, not easy cos there is another 2 yrs old nephew there and their place next to the roadside, so noisy and bright too. my boy needs alot of carrying and attention during the day time, tired all of us out but i told him that we only tolerate his day time behaviour becos he sleep thru the night :)

mummies seem to understand their bbs more than other caregiver, me going to start work on 11 feb, so worry that he will cry and cry during the daytime too much, find that my parents seem dun seem to figure out what he wants. my parents can rock and rock him for so long but he still cry, one look at him, i know he wants to be stimulated and dun want to sleep but yet my parents said he wants to sleep. My parents put him in bouncer, talk to him but he just cry, one look at him, I know he is sleepy and have difficulty falling asleep. sigh.... i am lucky to have my parents to care for him so i am not complaining but dun you think it is just funny that mummy knows their own kids better even compare to the daddy :) that's why i worried that if i go back to work, how? my poor parents also will have hard time man cos my boy really knows how to bully one

dreamer,

your bb same as my boy hor, i also keeps asking where your poo poo, drink so much goes where?

oh yes, the fasting part, was told about that but the nurse said will call me to instruct me but i wonder how to fast for him? i can only hope that the surgery is in the early morning else tear the house down liao.

Really envy those who baby sleep through the night. Gonna buy this Gina Ford book. Is it call "The New Contented Little Baby Book"? Can it be found in popular?

Pig07:
What is the gao zou shan used for?

happy, yes, this rocker is a saviour to me at times! she likes to be rocked when she is sleepy.

now she is awake and responding well like other days, hope she continues to be ok.

this photo was taken when she was 7 wks old.

sstarlight, the gina ford book can be found in popular and kinokuniya. i bought from the latter after finding it much cheaper and also free home delivery service with min. spending of $50

olive,

do you know in japan, they have the automatic one for this rocker, need not rock by yourself, i remembered my nephew needs to be rock every night for almost 30 mins or more especially when he refused to sleep. so isn't it wonderful that it comes in automatic mode too :)

Thanks! I will check it out.

I feel quite depressed staying at home. Although is a wonderful feeling to see my baby growing up everyday, but I feel like my world has become so small. Everyday is just pumping, washing bottles, play with baby, doing housework.

I guess I am not suitable to be a SAHM.