(2007/11) November MTBs

Catherine, we met a few times in NTU campus. I m Josephine from Accountancy.

Twiggy, i was also thinking of being a SAHM but i realised at this moment, i still prefer to work. I will go nuts facing Claire 24/7 even though she is very dear to me.

1) tweety- baby Luis - 6.01kg on FM and BM
2) grace - baby Ash - 6.5kg on BM
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.6kg on FM (12wks 3days)
4) Jules - baby Natalie - 6.18 on FM
5) Kaye - baby Claire - 6kg on FM (3mth 1 week++)
6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)
7) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
8) Plim - baby Bevis - 5.2kg on BM (11weeks)

7) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
8) michviv - baby Ethan: 7.1kg on BM (11 weeks 4 days)

Sigh...I knew Ethan was overweight...=P

hey catherine, k@ye,
me from accountancy in NTU also. which batch are you gals in?

6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)7) Poissons - baby Garreth - 6.5kg on FM (2 mths 2 wks) Gosh! I think he is overweight!!
8) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
9) michviv - baby Ethan: 7.1kg on BM (11 weeks 4 days)
10) Plim - baby Bevis - 5.2kg on BM (11weeks)
11) Tinkabel - baby matthias - 6kg on BM (2 mths 2 weeks)

mummies, u all calculate bb based on CALENDAR WEEKS from birth or by date/month: e.g. 7th Nov till now bb should be 12 weeks on 30th Jan, but base on month, bb will turn 3mths on 7th Feb right?

wow the babies have really good weights
Gosh, some of the babies are very big!

Olivetree, I tried to email the photos to you but my hotmail keeps hanging at every attempt! Can anyone else forward her the photos which I've sent out from the gathering? [email protected]

baby40 what happened at GNC? I haven't heard.

6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)7) 7)Poissons - baby Garreth - 6.5kg on FM (2 mths 2 wks) Gosh! I think he is overweight!!
12) S@L - baby Mischa - 6.9kg on BM (2mth 3wks)

Hi Catherine,

I increased my boy's milk intake gradually. At 1 month old, he was taking 120ml. I guess the amount of intake is secondary as long as the baby is gaining weight.

Hi Kittybride,

I am also trying to 'ignore' him when its not milk time yet. However his stretching noise can be quite disturbing.

I brought him out again today. And again the sky was dark on our way home. He was fine in the car and fell asleep. I am less worried now.

Hi Twiggy,

Ya, it can get really bored staying at home 24/7 stucked with the baby. I have a maid helping me out. She is 3 month old first time singapore. I kinda of think my 'low' feeling, and lousy feeling are partly caused by her presence. I dont feel so comfortable having her around though she is fine. But if without her, it may not be easy for me to take care of my boy alone also. She is there for my housework and to clear up the items after I shower/clean my boy. Yet sometimes she need me to say to do this and that etc which is making me frustrated. I am also in dilemma if she is helping me or 'harming' me mentally.

Tinkabel, i graduated in year 2000.

Pig07, u re using Mamex Gold for ur baby rite? I have one can - 800g that is open a bit (used for 1-2feed only). I m changing my FM from cow's milk to soy based due to her eczema. R u interested in gettin it from me?

1) tweety- baby Luis - 6.01kg on FM anud BM
7)Poissons - baby Garreth - 6.5kg on FM (2 mths 2 wks) Gosh! I think he is overweight!!
13) Yami - baby Kaelyn - 6.6kg on FM (3mths)

Twiggy, k@ye, that's exactly how I feel too (so I'm normal
. I was determined to quit my job to take care of Natalie full-time. When I tendered and am now serving my notice, I realize I prefer to work. But I feel guilty about not being able to be there for her. Sigh...

Twiggy, I'm facing the same dilemma. I wanted to look after my daughter for about a year and I have a 7 year-old son. But it's easier thought or said than done. I just can't do it. So I plan to get a maid (although I don't really like to) and return to work after 3 months. It's better to be financially independent too (can buy anything I want for the kids).

twiggy,
i recently dropped by the library to borrow books, borrowed one on games to play with baby..eh haven't had time to read it yet. :p will update more on that when i do read it! she can't really play stuff yet so it's just looking at her toys..and she gets bored by it after a while. tho walking around outside home is a gd idea..should try it next time.

Hi Kaye,

Thanks for the offer. But my boy only on 1-2 feed on FM per day and i so silly to open a big tin thinking can finish within a mth (the instruction said so).. i guess i wont be able to enjoy yr offer. Thanks anyway.

Jules, don't feel guilty about wanting to work. Above and beyond taking care of your kid, its also about your own fulfilment and if working gives you that, you should stick with it. I know that I'm going to miss my son terribly when I go back to work but I don't think I can give up my job as it sustains me in a way I just cannot describe.

I think when babies getting older and know how to manupulate the adults...

My Baby's Behaviour

Now my boy is getting more demanding than before. When he start to make noise (for example, milk time) if don't attend to him immediately or slightly later, wow he gonna tear the whole house. When u finally give it to him, he start to grumble in his language, enen the teat in his mouth... He can cry non stop for like 20mins, if u re late to deliver what he wants... He demands attention too. So my maid can't do much houswork except attending to him. My maid used the yaolan to rock him to zzz so tat she can do her housework. At night, I usually put him in the cot or my bed, he will start wriggling here n there like worm. and i have to carry him in my arms til he zzz. by the time he zzz, my arm break liao.heehee. Also need to put him near my breast so that his cheeky cheek can feel that is soft, tender n warm.
My granny said if he smile worth alot of $$$$ if he cry don't worth a single cent.... haha.
I try to flip on his tummy. but his butt will be up. Look so funny.
He is trying to sit and love sitting position. Problem is his head and neck not even strong enough to hold upright. the head will go ding dong. If put him down lie straight he will wail.... OMG!
If u try to wake him up while zzzz, he will open his eyes, frown his eyebrows and stare at u..Haha.

Anyone encounter same issue????

Twiggy,
I also have the dilemma of being FTWM or SAHM. Have started work but still thinking about it. I doubt I can be SAHM but I really don't like the way my MIL taking care of baby. She trusts the maid too much. You stay in Sembawang or Woodlands right ? Me too.

1) tweety- baby Luis - 6.01kg on FM anud BM
7)Poissons - baby Garreth - 6.5kg on FM (2 mths 2 wks) Gosh! I think he is overweight!!
13) Yami - baby Kaelyn - 6.6kg on FM (3mths)
14) Superhappymum - baby YongWei - 6.9kg on BM & FM (3 months )

everyday, am learning new things about baby... just when i think i know baby's pattern, she changes her pattern....lol... can be stressful ah!

last few weeks, in the day, she can stay awake for quite a long stretch, so must play with her, talk and sing etc. but this week, she suddenly is sleepy most of the time and wants to sleep immediately after feeding. initially i didn't know, thought she want to play ... but she got frustrated with me!

do other babies also sleep lots?

Heh heh my baby still sleeps quite okay. Takes 2-3 naps in the day.

But I am running out of ideas what to play with him. I only know a few songs in my head. Sigh.. But he loves company and loves to talk. So end up I always ah-goo to him.

Pig07, no problem abt the FM... I just dun want to waste the open can....

IMO, its not easy being a mother and a wife at the same time!

I agree with Yoko, when baby smiles.. All your worries gone! Claire is my motivation, i guess whatever i do now, she will be my main priority!

Sstarlight, mabbe talk to ur son about ur day.. work etc? I talk to Claire abt my day, my thoughts etcc.... Sounds crazy even though her only response is "ah goo" or smile...

Thanks for the encouragement, michviv!

Was told by my girlfriend that the first 6 months is the toughest. Once the baby is on solids, it'll be easier. So we're almost there!

Mu husband is now training my daughter to sleep through the night. Her last feed will be at about 10. We'll feed her water & give her the pacifier if she wakes up in the middle of night. Surprisingly, she'll fall back into sleep & then wake at nearly 6 for feed. She'll fall into sleep again till 7 or 8.

k@ye,catherine
I also graduated in 2000. Haha so qiao, but dun think I see K@ye around before though.

My bb is abit haywire, woke up for a feed at 5AM this morning and dun want to go back to sleep. Want to sleep. I had to keep him entertained for 1 hr before he decides he is tired and went back to sleep. Then concussed until 9AM.

Re: baby's changing patterns
so i am not the only one who is forever catching up with my gal's ever-changing patterns, phew at least her night sleep pattern din change yet (touchwood!)
dreamer, tinkabel, mine is starting to sleep less and less again.. play will follow after first morning feed at 7am, and she wont sleep long before another round of playing and bathing session begins. This can go all the way through 9pm+ at night. I am just hoping this wk happens to be her playful mode, and slowly she will zonk out more thereafter.. or am i wrong to expect that?!

sstarlight,
gd to talk/sing to baby - not simply using baby talk, u will be amazed how fast they will try to mimic u, tho in their own language
Mine goes beyond Ah-goo already, and she will rattle off #$#@%^ when her mood is gd.

sstarlight

Are u the 1 who mentioned about the baby massage @ KKH in the previous post? I had enrolled my gal to attend the feb class. U interested?

Mommies

U got any very good massage lady to recommend? Mine keep giving me all kind of reasons after accepting my $$. Then already 2 mths+ after my c-sect, i only done once and stopped coz she broke my blood vessel and the pain is unbearable. I have to go back to work on 21/2.

fanny,
try aunty sadiah. she must pay me advertising fee man. Her number is 97724579. I used her for 5 times after I delivered in Nov.

tinkabel,
does the massage has any impact on narrowing hips, which is my main grouse now.. cos was sceptical on the "effects" so din engage one at all during confinement. Thinking twice now tho, esp when most bottoms cant fit in at all!

fanny,
prob is preggie bottoms a bit loose, so ended up bought new skirts instead. I am so sick of wearing those preggie clothing that i hv put them into a box already.

Tinkabel, mabbe hor i skipped too much lectures & tutorials liao... So u dun get to see me...
Anyway, i m quite a lone ranger in campus.

Babies will start to sleep lesser in the day & more in the nite when they gets older.

My daughter is usually asleep by 9pm and b4 her eczema, she will sleep thru and wake up by 7am.

lazykat
what aunty sadiah does is massage and then she will bind the stomach area, also the top part of the hips and bottom, then wrap with ur own binder as well, I think it should help. My tummy went down quite a bit after the massage then.

lazykat

U still can find new skirts. I just come back from bangkok and cant find any bottoms there. Only lug back 2 tops (those free size now in trend). My hubby happily buying his tops and i only happily buying things for my baby.

The pratunam wholesale market sells a lot of baby clothes, see until everything also want to buy.

seems like few of us are already experiencing 'haywire situation' taking care of the babies.

Wonder if you all experienced this. My boy used to take full 170ml interval 3-4hour. Lately, he can only finish like 140-150ml then he will use his tongue to push the teat, then pretend to cry, then will you pull out the teat, he will smile at you. I dont know if this is a normal phase that babies will go thru (not finishing the milk) as they get older.

Sometimes in his sleep and passed milk time, he will make noise and i quickly go warm up the EBM, by time ready to feed, he fell asleep. Then i have to make sure the EBM has to be finished within 1 hour which i have to make him stay awake to drink the milk and then the struggle happens again.

<font color="0000ff">

Sorry to intrude into this thread.

Just like to share with you all...
if you are planning to get insurance for your newborn, children or yourself,
I have a good recommendation! (I'm not an agent)
Understand you all may already have an agent but if you are looking for <font color="ff0000">Value-added Life Policy</font>,
please PM or email me at [email protected] No obligations. Thanks!

Are your babies still wearing mittens and booties?

Any of you attempted to trim the baby's nails? I tried to do that just now. Trimmed 5 successfully. When reached the 6th one, he wasnt struggling at that moment, but omg, i cut his flesh. Got blood. And he cried. Really phobia to trim the next time. Dont know if got professional to trim baby's nails or not.

pig07,
my mother managed to cut my gal's finger and toe nails when she was 2 mths old... very long already wor and sharp! haha...
be more careful when u trim their nails... if i rem. correctly i think they were saying since their nails so soft, we can bite off for them?!
but luckily my mother experienced, hehe, managed to cut her nails when my gal was awake and using a nail clipper!

re: bb's changing pattern
same lah, my gal also like that, some days fall asleep immediately after feed and on some occasions refuses to finish her milk, only drink abt 20-30ml... some other days, she seems so wide awake that hardly sleep (only naps 15-30mins each time) in the day time!

re: Avent ISIS manual pump
anyone using the pump and facing this frustrating problem that i'm facing now?
when i pump, i will press a few times quickly then hold on to the handle before releasing it (this was the way taught in the avent manual booklet)... now, everytime i pump using the manual pump, the small white circle thing that is used to cover the hole in the pump always 'pops' up and then i will lose the suction... now because i'm pumping and throwing away, so i can use my fingers to put the thing back into the hole, but if i'm pumping to keep for my gal when i go back home, if that thing 'pops' up, how? my fingers wnt be tat clean to put it back in the hole again leh... anyone has the same problems?

pig07

i had already removed my baby's mittens and botties. My mum let her wear those "rabbit pants" (long pants w legs covered).

Re: trimming of nails

I also dont dare to cut her nails. Normally is my hubby will trim her nails when i am feeding her. Then i will say to her "Daddy is cutting your nail, dont move ah. Later pain pain if u move". Very funny is she knows what i mean and she dont dare to move.

Pig, such things happen to me b4. No choice but to waste milk. In fact, its better for them to sleep than eat.

Also, babies are like us... They have moods also.. Sometimes they want to drink more and sometimes they dun want. Claire is also like that, as long as they re growing &amp; gaining weight... No worries

Hi pig07,
I faced the same problem as you during bottlefeeding. But mine was worse, he will also cry and choke till you pull the bottle out. In addition, besides using his tongue to move the teat around his mouth, he will spit the milk back out at me! This carried on everyday till last Saturday when he cried so much till he "zao sia" and literally lost his voice. Then miraculously on Sunday till now, he has been drinking from the bottle without a fuss. You jus have to be patient with him and make him drink it all even if he cries. Initially in his "difficult" phase, we took 0.5 to 1 hour to fight with him and make him drink 150-160mls. Now, it just takes 10-15 minutes.

Re: Trimming of nails
I find that using the scissors from Pigeon makes cutting nails a breeze. I cut my baby's nails myself when he is latched on so that he cannot fight with me. My husband used to cut my baby's nails using a baby nail clipper till he accidentally niked my baby's fingertip. From then on, we have been using the scissors and it has been so easy. =)

RE: Cutting of nails
Try cutting using the baby scissors for trimming nails, personally I find it so much easier. I bought mine from Mothercare.

RE: Milk intake
I read from other threads that when babies reach 3 months, they tend to drink lesser than 1st and 2nd months. Hope this is true cos' my ah fat boy is already overweight now!

ok ok.. i will go buy the baby scissors. Is it rounded on the tip?

Btw, any mummies also removed the mittens and booties for the babies already?

RE: MILK INTAKE

Say if the usual milk intake is 160ml 3 hourly. FThen if he finished only 80ml and refused to drink anymore, do i give the next feed 3 hour later or do I hve to bring it 1.5hour earlier?

Cos sometimes though he cries, I do not not if he is crying for milk espcially when he didnt finish his previous milk intake. Then i will go warm up the EBM. Then will have to pour it away after an hour when realised it is not milk he wants.

Also, becos he is on partial FM. I am wondering if it's becos he prefers FM to BM. Realised that he usually finished his FM and not BM. Dont know if it's coincidental or what.

Michviv,
High Five! Haha..

I didn't remove the mittens, cos' my boy has the habit of rubbing his face with his hands, so afraid that he might scratch himself. As for botties, he has outgrown them and I have let him wear socks instead, to keep his feet warm.

can i join in the chat, on and off came to this thread but hesitate to join in cos did not "register" myself when I was preggy last yr, my bb boy born on 16 Nov 2007, now finishing maternity and going back to work on 11 feb.

needed mummies to share experiences with cos always wondering if my bb boy is on the track or not :)

regarding booties and mittens.

I still put on booties cos his feet always sweating and therefore when wind blows, it will be cold, but for mittens, I attended Mrs wong class and was advised to remove after 12 weeks cos she said some reports mentioned that bb wearing mittens for long time are no good in Maths cos when the rest of the bb w/o mittens know that they have 5 fingers and the bb wearing mittens will thought they have only 1 finger.

love cutting my son nails, he is extremely quiet when feeding on milk bottle so that is the chance that i can cut his nails and boy, i have to cut his nails almost every few days cos it grows very very fast ( is that normal???)