(2007/11) November MTBs

superhappymum,
when i was still on maternity leave, i leave my mum's hse back to my place ard 9pm... that is usually after my husband knocks off from work, come over to my mother's place, we have dinner, wipe up the kids before we head for home... sort of a typical timing since my 1st gal already...
after i start work, will prob continue this arrangement bah... although my mum keep thinking that i will leave the kids to her on weekdays... but if i need to work at night, then i hv to leave them in my mother's care at night liao...

re: bb staying awake for longer periods of time
nowadays, my bb somehow follows the following routine, take milk, wans pple to play with her + some time alone (up to an hr), then after tat she feels sleepy liao... time to pat her to sleep... so i guess when the time passes, they will spend more time awake and less time sleeping, that is where u're going to get even busier!

plim, u r bk?

nope! still here... in SFO... haha... now it's past midnight... was back at 11+pm from a day's of shopping... so tired... going to zzz soon... Monday blues..

hi julia, i am also a SAHM looking after my baby gal Kaira.... i have no helper and away from "home", living in hong kong...and yes, i feel stressed too! cos no one to turn for help !! i can imagine how u feel.

talk to your hubbie abt how you feel....mebbe u'll feel better?

its getting better for me now. i was really stressed the first 6 weeks! if u need to talk....u know there's me u can talk to!

hi mommies, do ur babies cry and fuss before they manage to fall asleep? mine most of the time will cry and cry until very poor ting type....stress me man ... wunder isit normal? or may be i am not doing something rite??

LAzykat,
No prob, you can send me applications on Facebook. When I have time I will accept but most of the time, I find them too complicated. :p

RE : How much formula to drink
Anyone remembers how to calculate how much FM a baby should drink based on his weight? It's weight x something, I dunno what. My baby is 9 weeks old now and drinking 120ml every 3hrs, so he has 8 feeds a day. But he seems to want more than that. I'm not sure whether to give him more or not. When I give him 150ml, he'll finish it, but it seems like he'll finish anything I give him. How to tell whether to give baby more?

Jules,
besides mobile cot, i also rely on bouncer which she can self entertain for at least 15min so i can do my own stuffs.

Twiggy,
i think its 150ml x weight divided # of feeds, which is juz a guideline. My gal who juz turn Wk11, is drinking 170~180ml (5 scoops + 150ml of water) and 5 feeds a day. She was drinking that amount since Wk9+ but u will hv to ensure he is capable in handling bigger amt, less feeds, which hv to go thru trial n error. Dun force him to complete if he cant. FM tin usually also provide some guidelines on the feeding amt, so u can also refer to that as a reference.

what do you do during yr bb's wakeful times? trying to source for ideas...sometimes

and...the 5-in-1 will cause fever in baby?

Hi Julia,

I am a SAHM with a maid. I also kinda feel low at times. My CL left last saturday. she was with me for like 2.5month. Not so much of being unable to cope. but more so i feel its the adjusting to the 'new life' we are experiencing now.

Hi Twiggy,

My boy is 10weeks old (borned 15nov). He finished 170ml FM or 170 BM. His weight is like 6.3kg last week. When his previous feed is FM, the next feed can come in at 3.5hour or 4hour. When on BM, he can only tahan 3hour.

Rightfully, if he is on FM, should be able to tahan longer before his next feed. like 3.5hours or 4hours sometimes. Probably you can increase your baby's milk and then drag longer?

Skye_Skye,
there is always a possibility that the jab may result in fever in some bb, but in my case, my gal was only lethargic for 1-2 days after her 1st 6-in-1. So again, depends on each indiv bb own immunization.

Re: going back to work
Me also started working remotely from home. It's bad. one hand or leg shaking the baby rocker and the other hand typing away. then must carry bb when he throw tantrums. Gosh, got stuff at work to do but progress just so slow hvg to jaga bb at the same time. My hubby's finally going be back in Singapore next Tue for CNY. Need to offload to him for a while. Cannot tahan alone already.

thanks k@ye & lazykat,
tho Eliza's next jab is still quite far away (in march), my sil was advising to let her have the jab in the mornings instead of evenings instead she gets cranky. then also was confused with which jab will cause bb to hav fever etc etc. so many jabs..poor bb.

re:going back to work
jiayous tinkabel! while i haven't started workin yet i find myself really quite scatterbrained...cos i'll do things halfway and bb cries and i forget what i was doing le. anyw i'll be opting for a 3-day week work, to relief my mil who's helping me take care (so she has 2 days off to have her social life & rest). lookin fwd to going bac yet not too eager. wonder how i'll con't the pumping BM at work :S

tinkabel,
yr hubby hardly taken care of Matthias n u think he can handle ah.. but of course another pair of hands is definintely useful to relief u at times.

skye,
u r not alone in that aspect - scatterbrain.. in fact both my DH and myself r hving similar syndrome. How i wish my company has the work flexi scheme.. cos i wld want to spend more time but not 100% of my time with my gal too..

plim,
u brought baby to SFO? Am thinking of bringing my boy to USA in March. Worried abt time difference..

ueno, think Plim is asleep already
she's there for work/meeting.

tinkabel, can understand cos me too started working from home already. i was even using my feet! i lowered her Combi rocking bed and used my feet to rock her hahaha so tt i can have my hands free cos i need to DRAW! other times i m also using one hand to type, surf net or pump milk when no one is at hm to help me...

ueno, S@L,
i was sleeping juz now... i am here for work..
not sure how bb will adjust to time diff leh... might be difficult when u come here and after u go back trying to adjust him to the diff in day and night... dun dare to bring bb so far yet...

now waking up to pump trying to maintain my supply... sigh, dunno to pump according to SGP time or USA time leh, right now managing by pumping on SGP time so hv to pump by waking up in the middle of night!

pig07,

ur son's intake is good.
my gal still taking in about 110ml ~ 120ml per feed of FM and can last her about 3.5~4hrs, so we still hv to get up for midnite/wee hrs feed. quite tiring.
tried dragging her feed by giving her pacifier, can last about 1 hr more. but after dat she will cry her lungs out seeking milk! :p

Hi Kittybride.

my son's feed can also last so many hours like 3.5-4 hour nia.. and that is for FM. night time i still have to wake up to give him feeds. can get quite tiring.

hi pig07,
agree... me oso very tired waking up to feed my gal. nxt day still hv to work. smtimes so tired i thot i dreaming she crying for milk n i feed her... but hor, she actually crying oredi... then my HB will poke me to wake up... sigh!

but hor, after feeding (sometimes i oso almost fall asleep while feeding my baby) see baby smile, everything is worth it liao.

My BB is going to be 7 weeks old and he is scheduled for injection on 25 Feb. Till now I am still wondering which is better 5 in 1 or 6 in 1 injection? Can anyone advise me.

Cherry, difference bet 5 in 1 & 6 in 1 is that 6 in 1 includes Hep B.

Now i know y my daughter wakes up in the wee hours for her feed. Her eczema causes her to wake up in itch and she realised she is hungry... So got to drink milk!

Hi Mommies

Am glad I'm not alone
Your messages have encouraged me.

Was told milk powder in Malaysia is a lot cheaper. Is it safe? I don't feel comfortable about it.

Hi Jules,

In fact we can find lots of support, information and encouragement in the forum here. So keep coming in when you have time. It can take away some of our worries or down times when we feel lousy.

Hi Kittybride,

I am not working so not as tiring as working mums. But ah, having to wake up middle of nite, not knowing is he making noise for milk or just being cranky can be difficult. sometimes afer warming the EBM, then realised he is asleep after that. Lately getting naughtier. will use his tongue to push the teat away. then turn and toss his head when being fed. or at times will 'pretend' to crY when being 'forced' to drink. after removing the teat, he will then smile.

sometimes when i thought i might be imagining things like my boy is crying for milk, or my hp ringing. but actually he is asleep at that time.

you sctually dreamt of feeding yr gal. haha.. i guess is a stage we mummies going thru. Paranoid?

re: gathering
i am so glad to join in the gathering last week coz nw my gal sleeps longer in the night!

she couldnt sleep well during the gathering, guess she was over excited and stimulated, and ended up she slept longer in the night!

now, after her last feed, she will sleep straight for 5.5 - 6 hours for her next feed. this gives me and my maid more sleep! hehehee....

hope she continues like that!!

tweety, i dunno what is my gal's weight now so can't add on to your list. btw, i still can't download your pics from facebook, could u email them to me instead? [email protected] thanks!

catherine, i will pm u my details to add on to the mummies' list

S@L, did u go and check out the rocker bed from kiddy palace? the brand is haenim (korean brand). And....Happy Birthday to you (one day in advance!) "zhu ni nian nian shi ba"! (wish u 18 years old every year!)

jules, welcome to this thread! join us at facebook yeah!

gemini19, i tried adding u in facebook, but cant find u leh...

Hi Tweety, my daughter is almost 3 months by end of January. She's on formula, drinking 150 ml 4 hourly and weighs about 6.18.

multivitamins

i bought a bottle of GNC Prenatal multivits last Thursday, suitable for lactating mums as well. after consuming 2 tablets, my urine became yellowish green! my BM became..."melon milk", i.e. light green in colour! got a big shock!!

after talking to the nutritionist in GNC, he adviced me to stop taking and told me the vitamin B12 will cause the urine to turn yellowish. but he is not sure of the bm.

so, if anyone of u is thinking of purchasing GNC prenatal multivits and u are still breasfeeding, pls think twice.

i'll be going to the shop to ask for refund later. haiz...

1) tweety- baby Luis - 6.01kg on FM and BM
2) grace - baby Ash - 6.5kg on BM
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.6kg on FM (12wks 3days)

my bb still sick, think his weight gain will b slower than u gal's bb..SOB

4) Jules - baby Natalie - 6.18 on FM

kaye:

my bb has rather dry skin too and i'm wonderg if it's eczema. e PD said he can't really tell at tis pt in time. how do u know ur daughter has eczema?

5) Kaye - baby Claire - 6kg on FM (3mth 1 week++)

Hi Olivetree

I blur blur la, din know must register in facebook first. will do that tonight as cannot access hotmail from office.

Steffie, Claire has red, angry rashes all over her body and it flared up when she is hot or when exposed to wind.

6) Poissons - baby Garreth - 6.5kg on FM (2 mths 2 wks) Gosh! I think he is overweight!!

6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)

K@ye, yes i'm Xiaoyu's fren! u know her? can u "reveal" urself to me? u can pm me

pig07, my baby boy about same age & weight as urs! he's born on 14Nov & 6.3kg at exactly 10 weeks old. Your boy can really drink! my boy can take only abt 100ml BM & he can tahan abt 2.5hrs. tried giving him more but he will always vomit out.

tweety, my boy is not 3 months old yet. he's 6.3kg at exactly 10 weeks old. i give him one bedtime FM if i'm taking chinese medicine, rest are BM. i dunno his weight now coz i dun have digital weighing scale at home.

Pig07,

agree, hallucination liao... hahaha...
my gall oso the same leh, smtimes she just wana make some noise n wake me up to check on her, then when i look into her cot, she's sound asleep! wah... like kena con like dat... hahaha...

nw i wise up a bit, wil check the clock 1st, if not her feeding time yet, i wun even bother to get up from my bed! hahaha...

i oso wana join the list but hor, dun know my bb's wt coz din wt her...

Lazykat,
Thanks for the info. My baby sometimes takes 150ml but because he sometimes still has reflux problem, I think I should stick to feeding more frequently but 120ml each time. At the moment, its 7 feeds a day, out of which 2 will be 150 ml and the rest 120ml.

Skye,
I find it quite hard to always keep baby entertained when he's awake. Especially now he's more demanding and when he's awake, he wants to be entertained. I'll take him for walks around the pool and garden etc, let him play on his playmat gym, sit on his swing to look at outside, play him his CDs, play with his toys, play on his tummy etc. On of the books I read said to vary their waketime activities to keep it stimulating. Lazy mummy me use to just let him lie down all the time but now I try to get him to do more.

Pig07, Julia,
I sometimes find it quite depressing to be alone at home (alone as in no adults around) all the time too. That's the part I don't like about being a SAHM. Really deprived of conversation and mental stimulation. So I try to take baby out more often, go shopping, go parks etc. But even then, it's still on my own. Do you mummies meet up w other mums? Maybe that may help. MAybe a few of us SAHMs should meet up for tea with our little babies sometimes so we also get to enjoy ourselves.

RE : SAHM or FTWM
Anyone facing the dilemma about whether to stay home or go back to work? I initially planned to be a SAHM for a least 6-12 mths but now I'm feeling like I miss work and want to go back to work. But I know I'll miss baby and I would love to raise him on my own rather than trust someone else with it. But wondering if SAHM is for me. I miss having income, having stimulating work challenges and adult conversations etc. Hmm....wondering what to do...Sorry for ranting, but as you can see, you gals are my only "adult conversation".

6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)
7) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)

My baby not 3mths yet. But weight at 2 mths was 5.3kg. Based on his projected weight gain, should be about 6.3 at 3 mths. I'll update again ltr.

Olivetree - I am taking the multivite for pregnant & breastfeeding Moms from Nature Farm and so far no problem. Am shocked to hear about GNC - I almost bought from GNC; luckily I didn't!

Need some advice from you all.

I have always give my gal the pacifier to calm her down as well as to nurse her to sleep. However,after she discovered the "beauty" of her hands, she refused to take the pacifier and prefer to suck her fingers. But she is unable to control her hand fully, such that her hand will sometimes fall out from her mouth and she's not very satisfied from sucking her fingers too. She will keep crying and refused to go to sleep.

Now she will only sleep if I nurse her with my breast. As I will be going back to work after CNY, I will not be able to offer my breast to her everytime. I tried patting her, switching on the music for her, it doesn't work.

Anyone has come across such a situation before? Anyone has any solutions to such babies?