(2007/11) November MTBs

anyone using ear scan thermometer? i noticed that the temp measured from both ears are always diff. for my girl, the left ear always record higher temp. i keep forgetting to ask my PD and nurse abt it... do we take the higher of two or average? So far I am taking the higher of two...

yami, I also thought of buying the ear thermometer by PD said not accurate for baby cos their ear is very small so it is very difficult to chk the temperature. Must buy thos traditional kind for armpit....

yah, it's really hard to get a measurement...and my girl hates it when i stick the temp into her ear. maybe i will get the traditional kind as well.. to double check temp.

i tried the method of stroking my bb's forehead to make bb sleep...oo, it works on Eliza! whell..at least till she falls deep asleep.

yay for skyeskye!!

Have i missed out anything on stroking bb's forehead to make baby sleep? Pls advise what is that so that i can use it when my boy refuse to sleep.

Btw, any idea how many hours our babies should be sleeping, playing each day?

ladies whose babies are on total emb, i'm wondering how u keep up with the demand once babies increase their intake since there's no direct latch on to stimulate the ss?

if taking BM and FM, how often ur bb poos? my friend says his bb poo every 2-3 days. He says PD says it's not constipation unless more than 10 days. strange. My bb on full BM poos 3-4 times a day still. Is it too excessive?

Hi baby40, just added you on facebook. =) I'm just guessing but is that a photo of you and your family on an Alaska Cruise?

Hi tinkabel, not to worry, my boy poos around 3-4 times/day as well. Think that's to be expected of breastfed babies. Matthias seems to be a healthy weight so I don't think there's a problem. =)

HI Mummies,

Anyone of you ever bring your baby out till late say like past 7pm when the sky gets dark?

My boy was never out of the house say past 7pm. today we left my mum's place at 720pm. he was perfectly ok when at my mum's place. but moment stepped into car, he cried.. all the way for the whole 25minute journey.

I am just wondering if this is the old saying of cannot bring baby out when sky is dark else pantang or what what.

pig07,
my gal always out after 7pm leh, cos when i bring her back from my mum place back to home, it's 9pm or later liao...
mayb ur boy not used to it niah... or he was hungry/sleepy then?
but car ride tends to calm bb down leh..

the latest i got home with baby was abt 10pm. baby was ok. agree with plim that maybe baby is tired or just hungry. maybe environment unfamiliar too.

Hi Plim,

the first time he cried very badly was also in mum mum's place. but then when we got to car at 4pm plus, he was ok. guess is the car ride that calm him down.

but today thru out the car ride he cried and cried. never seen him like that. he looked 'frightened' and cried very badly like a bad scare type. moment we got home, we on all the lights and do a fast cleaning up and then he dozed off till now. I really hope its just hungry or sleepy.

so far i oso bring BB back home before 8pm coz she oredi zzz in the sling.
but after reach home, she will wake up then dun wana sleep liao

pig07,

if u got jin feng shan, can give a bit to ur bb.
my bb oso easily frighten type, dats why she jerks a lot when she wana fall asleep, so have to hug her very tight till she doze off, then put her in the cot or sarong. else she will wake up suddenly n crying very loud.

pig07, did u try to hold on (carry) ur baby in the car? perhaps tat will help to calm him down... it cld be unfamiliar environment (in car but dark) that frightened him...

Hi Kittybride,
i gave him jin feng shan a while ago just before he fell asleep.

i guess like what plim said, though car he could be familiar, the darkness in car he not used to it and got frightened. We did turn on the orange light in car.. but doesnt help. even hug him very closely and call out his name.. he simply cried and cried.

Hopefully he can sleep well tonight.

actually spore roads quite brightly-lit so inside the car oso wun b super dark.
mayb nxt time u can try talking to your baby lor, like tell him/her that you all are going home liao, now getting into the car, etc and reaching home liao, etc...
even if bb sleeping oso nvr mind, just say it out - last time my fren's auntie taught me to do like dat lor. even my mom oso did the same.
old ppl say its beta to do that lor. like pantang thingy... no harm trying lah.

ya, hope ur bb will have a good nite's rest.
sayang sayang your baby when u feed baby again lor.

Hi Kittybride,
my mum ever mentioned something like tat too. like when they sleeping soundly, dont suddenly carry them up and transfer to another place. gotta 'inform' them while doing it else they will get a scare. pantang thingy. I had forgotten to do that just now. cos he just woke up and we quick quick leave my mum's place.

act at 720pm just now also not totally dark. just that it wasnt brightly lited. he has never been out at such 'late' hour. even at night when he sleeps, we on a small night light which is quite bright. Old people say will outgrown one. wonder when will tat be.

tub, i think u need to increase ur pumping session. add 1 or 2 more pumping sesson into ur routine.it will send a signal tt ur bb needs more milk.

Pig07, ya i think is becos the sudden change in environment of bb feel 'disturbed' cos woke up from a good sleep, i dun think is the timing la. i bring my kids home almost aft 9pm very often. last night even went Jalan Kayu for late night supper! hahaha

Plim, yami, kittybride,
Why do you have to fetch your baby so late ? You start work ?
I am also one of yours who fetch baby at around 7pm. Sky dark liao. No choice.

So tired, I was out for both 2 days of this weekend and carry baby. No my arms pain. My baby is 7.9kg when she did her jab last friday. OMG !

s@l, thanks. got 1 more qn... can we accumulate the bm in fridge, then combine and put in freezer end of the day?

I have disappear for a while. Now juggling at home with my baby boy. Heh heh.

Like to check with you mummy, are you all using Bjorn or Ergo carriers? I can't decide which one to get for my baby. He is 12 weeks and already 7kg. I am afraid he will outgrow Bjorn fast. But his head is still not really that steady yet. Sigh.. really dunno which one to invest.

Tub: Yup, I do accumulate the milk in fridge and combine before I put it into the freezer.

Regarding fetching baby late:
my mum always tell me to face baby towards my body when walking outside when its late. Dun let him look about. Cos baby can see "those" things. And when you reach home, before entering the door, call out baby's name and say "we are home already" before you step in.

Tub, from what i know we are suppose to freeze EBM immediately Chilled EBM is good in the fridge for 48hrs. i do combine the EBM from different pumping sessions of a day in 1 pack. I dont freeze EBM tt has been standing in the freezer.

sstarlight, i have the same concern with u. my gal also at 7kg, hb said she will outgrow bb bjorn very fast. another concern is i m nt sure how long i can tahan her weight even if carrier can hold up to 12kg
hahaha cos the carier is more for me, my hb is fine with his babyrock!

actully i prefer pram, at least can use to hang my shopping bags when i go out with my gal. with carrier/ sling i dun think i can go out alone with her unless jus for 'window shopping'. so now i m trying hard to train her to sit in her pram cos she dun seem to enjoy it much

Hi Sal,

I love visiting your blog :p My hubby likes the music on your blog.

Yes I prefer stroller too. But sometimes we take bus to my mum's place (we put an extra stroller at her place). So need a carrier so easier to get on bus.

I saw KKH "First few year" selling the Bjorn active carrier for $199. Feel like getting it.

You put Mischa sitting position in the parm? For mine, I still tune it down to lying position.

sstarlight,

oh thanks for supporting my blog

i have the mothercare card. can get 10% for bb bjorn. i let u know if i will be buying then can help u get disc too.i think retailing at $210?

Hallo ladies,

Pig, stroking the baby's forehead so that the baby will fall asleep faster when they re going to sleep.

Actually, i think the going out late is not really pantang, it s more like afraid the babies will get chilled by the cool wind at nite and gets sick!

Sigh, my daughter kena ecezema and she looks so red with all the rashes... My heart pain pain... Her skin is no longer soft!

superhappymum,

yup, i start work liao but bb still at home; next mth then send to baby sitter. these few wkends bring bb out lor, dats y come back late.

wah ur bb gain so much wt liao ah... hee hee... i thk my chloe still lightwt, not sure she crossed the 6kg or not?

sstartlight,
yup, agree wif you, need to call bb's name n tell him/her we're reaching home liao. whether they can see those 'things' or not, have not heard abt it. but always be safe than sorry lor.

k@ye,
my bb oso like kena ecezema on her face but now beta liao. skin still bit reddish under the sunlight n not smooth. but at least not as rough as 2 wks back! takes time to clear but no worries about it. i just use cool water to sponge her face.

Kitty, Claire has rashes all over her body and her face is the worst.

My Mum kept on blaming that its her 5-in-1 jab that caused it even though the PD says no. The PD told me that it is inherited and she told me to use soy-based milk and keep Claire moisturised.

k@ye,

claire's whole body too? sounds serious leh.
i dun thk 5-in-1 jab can cause such seriousness, usually is fever lor.
Claire on TBM all along?

Hi Mommies

I'm new! Had my baby girl - Natalie in November 2007. I just quited from my job & am taking care of baby alone. Any mommies here doing the same because I'm feeling very stressed? I think I'm having Post Natal Depression.

Hi mummies, hope everyone had a good weekend!

S@L
I emailed you abt the pump. Thanks! Btw, wat's your blog? Can I have a look?

Julia,
Welcome to the thread. I'm a SAHM too, for the time being. Where do you stay? Are you feeling stressed about coping w the baby alone?

RE : Facebook
I got a lot of application invitations on Facebook but I usually ignore them because I find Facebook a bit too complicated liao. Don't be offended hor, those mummies who send me application invites and I ignore.
I'm quite a internet-bodo.

Twiggy, same here..i also ignored a few..hahah cos need to sign up then add ppl before can use application..i really hv no time for these...

Hi Sahm, I live in Tanjong Pagar. I tried staying home alone (and not going to in-laws) to take care of baby but I can't manage to put her to sleep for long in the afternoon. She wakes every 40 minutes or so and I got housework to do. Any advice?

Kitty, i believe its her fever (after her 5-in-1 jab) that triggers off the rashes as Eczema flares up when the body is hot. Claire is on FM, so got to change the FM to soy based...

Kinda depressed to see her in rashes and can't do anything to help her.

Phew, long time din log in and post. So many posts to read up. Reported bk to wk since last Monday and really miss my boy alot. Cant bear to leave him every morning and night time seems so short aft i knock off from wk to be with bb Eagan. So, i try to wake up slightly earlier to play & talk to bb before i'm off to wk. And, i try to take over the feedings from my mil who is staying with us. Else, will feel very guilty. Also try to make up to him over the weekends.

tinkabel,
my bb oso poos 3-4 times a day; mine does massive one b4 bath, then afternoon once & evening once. tink it's still ok for bbs on BM.

tub,
i also accumulate BM in the fridge before freezing them. but i won't let it stand in the fridge for more than 8-12hrs b4 freezing them.

S@L,
my bb sometimes don't like being in the pram oso...really depends on her mood. but pushing the pram around helps so she'll at least stay in there.

Cactusnah,
at least u'll get to play/feed yr baby when u r home - i may end up as wkend parents else the logistical arrangement durin wkdays will be too much of a hassle, esp now my gal wants to play after 7am feed.. cant settle weel fr 7pm thru 11pm.. and i am going back to work next wk!

k@ye, is this the second 5-in-1 jab that Claire is taking? Mine is due to take the second jab next mth.. hope fever doesnt breakout..

Re: Facebook
only when u r bored then its fun playing around with the applications, else can be very irritating with all the invites. Its ok to ignore lah.. i always do that. BTW, i juz send 1 invite to both Twiggy and S@l.. oops. Ha.

I went to try out the ergo and bjorn carrier at paragon. Personally I like ergo carrier better. Cos the support is on the hip/waist while Bjorn support is on the back.

However, my baby keep fussing the moment he is in Ergo. But was very happy when he is in Bjorn. End up I bought Bjorn Active - $199.

The Bjorn Original is selling at $137.

Hi Jules,
I am a SAHM too. I think these days our babies will have more wakeful periods during the day, so i guess u just have to talk n play with her to keep her occupied.

Maybe u can invest in a cot moblie cos i find that my boy loves looking at it. That gives me some time on my hands to do housework

i would like to join in this thread. my gal was born on 19 Nov.

re: freezing of EBM
I agree with S@L, i realised if i dun freeze EBM immediately after expressing... the milk can't be kept long in the freezer or there would be a 'smell'. I usually keep EBM in the fridge no more than 48 hours.

Lazykat, its only my 1st 5-in-1 jab.

Jules, u can try music also. I used that on Claire during the weekends when i need to do some housework, i switched on to the radio for her.

Do you all know where can we sigh up for massage class? Know KKH holds such class but its full for Feb.

I am currently a SAHM also. My baby likes people to talk to him. He loves company and hates tummy time. The moment I put him down for tummy time.. he will cry until like I am torturing him.
I wonder if he will learn how to turn without spending time on his tummy.