(2007/11) November MTBs

Oh yah, anyone using Nestle NAN milk powder as a FM supplement? Heard it's the closest to breast milk. How does bb take it? And poo poo still ok? My boy has been on breast milk since he left the hospital, not sure if he will reject FM, so want to try something closest to BM. Prob need to stock up to bring back to SH. Anyone can spare some for my boy to try? Don't want to end up buying and then waste the whole tin.

re: gathering

I've booked the BBQ pit which is just outside my apartment. Theres a lot more space since there are more of us this time round. You can bring your prams/strollers so that you can 'park' the babies at the bbq pit to keep watchful eye on them while we chat and eat. Otherwise I have 1 carseat to spare for anyone who doesn't want to bring stroller. I'll also have a kettle ready so you can reheat milk on the spot....nappy changing and breastfeeding in the house, I can also provide the nappies and creams so you don't have to bring those to lighten your load.
Hope this helps when you're packing your travelling bags!

I am keen to attend because probably cant meet u gals when I start work. In fact most of our maternity leave are coming to an end and so good chance to meet up.

tinkabel,

I used the NAN brand. But my son's stool was super runny and green. So I stopped using. You have to try different brands to see what suits them. I'm now trying Similac.

Pig07, $120 is ok. I will take note in case need it for emergency . I very KS, a little bit unsure, I will go for consultation. It is better to pay then to suffer later on.
By the way, will dr karen advise on bf problems or how to prevent abcess etc ?
Plim if unsure, just go and see. Bear in mind u leaving for states sat. treat it before u depart

Tweety, u mentioned in the past some direction if I want to take taxi to your place in the past gathering. Can repeat?

baby Jovan seemed to have lost quite abit of weight recently. his appetite has decreased. he used to be able to easily gulp down 110ml EBM every 2hrs. now he cant even finish 80ml every 3hrs. i am abit worried. my mum say it's usual to lose weight after jabs, but baby Jovan haven started his 6-in-1 yet. any mummies experiencing the same with your babies? Baby Jovan is now 10 weeks old.

tweety,
i din know it's going to be outdoors. din intend to bring my stroller. can i "parK" baby jovan indoors?

how do u transport EBM from office to home? pour EBM in feeding bottles & put in FTG? i dun intend to get FTG coz there's a fridge in my office. Can i just transport in Insulated Milk Bottle Holder?

after i pump, the lump doesn't seem as big liao, also not as hard, a bit softer... but area still painful when i press dunno i pressed too much already not...
think i will try to call her and see her this afternoon (managed to find her contact number liao)

tweety,
will prob get a bit from you to try out before i stock up. Matt had similac at Glen E and was ok. But just afraid that now he is used to BM, he will reject and also harder to get similac in SH. The more common brands are nestle, dumex. Also worried that back in SH, cos cold, my breastmilk not enuf "fats" to keep him warm, and he will hv to constantly feed. U come from UK, what's ur advice on this?

catherine,
if you are not out for long hrs, it should be ok to use the insulated milk bottle, since just to and fro. I intend to use the FTG to store when at wk, so had to get a 12 hrs one.

Matthias at 2 months

1212458.jpg

hi tinkabel,

my son had dumex gold in kkh. he ok with it. when we came back from hos, i tried friso gold on him. his poo was very green and smelly. (and her merlion-ed his milk. not knoeing if its oso partly caused by the friso or not) so no choice, we switched back to dumex gold.

and i have been supplementing with dumex ever since 3 week old. reason was also becos i worry the sudden switch to FM from Full BM maybe too sudden and his stomach couldnt take it. being kiasu. haha..

pig07,
his poo poo for dumex gold ok? Haha, ironically, dumex is one of the brands under my hubby's company and he keep saying I shd let bb try that. Can I get some from you to try it out also? daddy says we shd support his company's sales haha

Hi Dokie,

i didnt attempt to ask dr karen yap re bf-ing problems.

but since she speiclaise in breast matters, perhaps she will bah?!

i will be seeing her on thursday for a follow up. intend to ask her if i can obtain the medication form her in advance for stopping BF. So that i dont have to go back to her months later when i decide to stop. The nurse did mention to me that they have such medication in their clinic.

bad news, the Drugstore #2 batch items are nt here YET!!! so some of you might not get ur items tomorrow. i will jus have to send to you when they arrive. I think is due to the festive season hence since Xmas i have been receiving these items late.

Grace, u are affected. but the ON things are here though.

Catherine,
I do have some glass bottles with NUK caps, approx 10. So if u r keen, can bring to u tmr.

Tinkabel,
my gal took Dumex when she is in TMC, then we supplemented her with Friso when she went home (cos my fren gave us wrong info that TMC bb will be on Friso, hence we bought one to standby) And subsequently, she is on total EBM, the momen i decided to stop BF, i switched her to NAN 1HA. The poo will be quite runny, smelly and yes, dark green, but nothing to be alarm cos its the iron content per PD. If u wanna try NAN 1 HA, i can bring some tmr, (how many scoops do u need?)

just now managed to book apptmt wif karen yap for this afternoon...
was preparing to pump b4 i go see her... b4 pumping can still feel the lump forming and pain... halfway thru pump, weirdly, the lump and pain gone miraculously! so happy! but area a bit sore from my pressing :p
i decided to postpone my apptmt and monitor the situation. will go see her if experience something like tat again...

Catherine,
You can use my carseat for your bb if you want.

Tinkabel,
I don't have anymore NAN left, I usually finish the tin then start on new brand. As for bringing up babies in cold weather it should not be a problem. Your bf will have sufficient amount of fat in it for baby. And i find that some bf babies are 'fatter' than fm babies. As long as Matthias is gaining weight you shouldn't worry. SH is cold but at least you can snuggle and cuddle up with baby without sweating buckets!! haha

lazykat can spare you some NAN to try (right lazykat?). I think you need to have at least 1 day's supply to find out if it is suitable for baby. So you can see the stool the next day and whether baby wil 'take' the new formula. I haven't tried Dumex anyone can let me try try??
My Luis has taken everything i've given him, so like his father, he's not fussy

Dokie, I already post the directions. I think you were referring to the taxi once you reach my place. Tell them to go to tower A3 level 1 carpark. Because its easier access and the intercom on B1 is abit dodgy. The guards like to send visitors to the B1. Just tell them you are instructed to go to level 1

tinkabel,
i can spare u some NAN 1 HA as well cos i hv tat for my gal as backup... let me know how much u need...

tweety,
thanks for offering the baby stuff for use at ur place tml, really helps a lot for us in packing all the barang barang! Now i know what i need to bring!

I'm really looking fwd to tml's gathering!

hello november mummies

i am oso a nov mummy and a first time mummy too! i actually have been browsing this forum since i got pregnant but never posted ;p one reason being i am in hkg ...so like a bit "far" ... but decided to post now as really got alot to learn as first time mother and hope to learn from you all here :D

my dotter Kaira was born on 21 Nov ... juz turned 2 months yesterday.

3rd gathering for Nov 2007 mums
POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!
Venue: Tweety's place
1. ueno - famous delicious soon kueh
2. S@L - prawn with fruit salad
3. Grace - chicken nuggets
4. Tinkabel (chocolate mousse cake)
5. Yoko
6. Gillian - pasta
7. tweety - sandwiches and beverages
8. PLim - potato salad
9. Catherine
10. starz
11. baby40
12. Skye skye
13. lazykat - fruits (prob grapes)
14. olivetree (dunno wat to bring..any suggestions? or should i just order pizza when we reach there?)
15. Adeline chew

I will be joining e gathering but i wouldnt be bringing my bb gal instead i will bring my son can't handle 2 together. Tweety i will be late be there around 1.30pm. Need me to bring and food? any cravings?

Tweety can sms me ur add? 96662522

catherine,
i tink i also hv some 3 glass bottles with the NUK teats. If u want, will bring for you tomorrow.

lazykat,
tweety mention need 1 day to monitor. Tink prob too much for u to bring. I get 12 scoops from you and 12 scoops from plim? Is that ok?

Transporting Milk Home:
My company also has a fridge for me to store my ebm till I go home. I'll be using the Cool & Carry Tote that came with my breast pump. It has 3 cooling elements and can store 6 storage bottles. I think you can also buy these cooling elements separately to keep your breast milk cool when transporting it home. Alternatively, you can get the fridge to go.

Outing tomorrow:
Really wish I could join you mummies tomorrow but I don't think I can handle all the barang + baby. Maybe the next outing...sigh...take more photos and post okie?

i j ust asked hubby again and he says it's too far for me to go alone le. sigh. next gathering IF there is, please have it on a wkend okay!!! if on wkend i don't come u all can CHOP me UP!!

who else needs gerber milkbags? i have 4 boxes hehe let me know if you want them.

michviv, cindy,
i am not bringing baby along for tmr outing, try to drop by, it will be fun to see all in person. Also wkend might be hard since all got own family commitments..

I wish i can join u ladies for the gathering tomorrow!

Work really sucks big time but my motivation is my daughter.... The min i think of her, it seems worth it!

Hi Tinkabel,

His poo now is yellow and it could be becos he is taking BM too. But definitely his poo not smelly anymore. I give him like 1-3 feed of FM per day. Depending on my 'energy' to pump on that day.

No prob.. I can spare you the Dumex Gold powder. But how do i pass it to you? I am not attending the wednesday gathering.

I do hear some friends commenting that Dumex gOLD is closest to BM. But ah you know la most brands will claim that theirs are closest to BM.

Got quite a few of you on my Facebook now but I havent figured out who's who yet.
Let me go sort it out soon so we can share photos there.

Dokie,
I stay i Sembawang but I wont be going to Tweety's house from home because I need to bring baby to Dr in the morning. I got your email on your postage address. Will send to you soon. Dont' bother about paying me for postage, it wont cost much.

Skye,
Sorry about the Anmum milk. I've agreed to give it to the girl who's buying my Ameda pump. Paiseh...

Tweety,
Can you sms me your address pls at 97499707? I may drop by tomrrw but w/o baby. I want to meet everyone in person too.

Plim,
Is your lump red and sore at the surface? Do you have fever? If so, it means you have mastitis or possibly engorgement. If not, then most likely not, but still better to get it checked out.

Lazykat,
My mastitis is gone but now have some small lumps left. Am I suppose to do anything, or leave it?

Pig07, is the Dumex Gold also known as Mamex Gold?

My daughter is drinking it, the poo usually is mustard yellow in colour but her urine stinks big time. Somehow, i think if bf, the urine & Poo wont be as stinko as drinking FM.

Skye,
oops.. i think mine is Friso, not Anmum (cos its given to me free but never bother to open to drink) if its really Friso, do u still want it? I will prob juz bring along tmr else i will be throwing away soon..

Twiggy,
as mine din develop to mastitis, so i cant really comment. i din massage my breasts at all after i took the medi. then 1-2 wks later they become all soft, but now i start to feel it becoming slightly firmer again. no lumps at all in my case.

Twiggy, no the lump not red, just painful... anyway, it has gone off for now, hope it's juz some blocked ducts which cleared after few pumping sessions and tat it doesn't come back tml...

Hee, also added u on facebook... very new to facebook, still learning how to use it... hehe

3rd gathering for Nov 2007 mums
POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!
Venue: Tweety's place
1. ueno - famous delicious soon kueh
2. S@L - prawn with fruit salad
3. Grace - chicken nuggets
4. Tinkabel (chocolate mousse cake)
5. Yoko
6. Gillian - pasta
7. tweety - sandwiches and beverages
8. PLim - potato salad
9. Catherine
10. starz
11. baby40
12. Skye skye
13. lazykat - fruits (prob grapes)
14. olivetree (dunno wat to bring..any suggestions? or should i just order pizza when we reach there?)
15. Adeline chew - Pineapple tarts

I will be joining e gathering but i wouldnt be bringing my bb gal instead i will bring my son can't handle 2 together. Tweety i will be late be there around 1.30pm. i will be bringing pineapple tarts.

dokie,
ya pls sell me the gerber milk bags. i got it from S@L at $11.90 (i think). let me know if this amt is correct & i'll tx to ur acct? u can PM me. U going to gathering tmr, rite? pls bring it tmr. thanks!

tinkabel,
RE: milk bottle holder
thanks for reply. actually i got 3 of them (can hold 6 bottles) all free from relatives. so i was thinking if it could be put to use.
RE: baby Matthias pic
heh...i like this pic of baby Matthias. he seems like ready to talk. hehehe
RE: FM
my baby drinks friso gold for one bedtime feed. his poo is actually same color as BM poo. only more seedy. if u wan to try friso gold, i can bring some for u tmr. how many scoops & how to give u? u will bring milk powder container, so i can just pour from mine to yours? sms me if u keen. incase i dun login later. i have already PM u my contacts.
RE: glass bottles
think i'll get from lazykat. 10 is enuff for me. thanks for your offer anyway =)

lazykat,
thanks! pls let me know how much i should pay u? u can PM me.

tweety,
thanks! now i dun need to bring my bulky stroller. else i sure mess up & cry for help...hahaha. oh the HANs near my place dun have the char siew puffs u mentioned. i still dunno wat i can bring. u need drinks?

sorry catherine. I forgot my cousin needs it. very sorry.

plim, u and yoko added me to facebook. I also blur. Learning how to use. I saw tweety's family album there. :p

Was playing Facebook while on leave waiting for actual delivery.. pretty cool i wld say.

Juz added tinkabel, superhappymum, Elaine Lee..

I am wondering if I bring baby and he wants to nurse during MRT trip how?
I am very concerned. In fact, if he is cranky during trip, I donno how to pacify him.
Anyone encounters before?

dokie,
use the PACIFIER. It helps. I read from a website that u can help bb pacify themselves by either swaddling them or giving the pacifier. Of course, use only when necessary.

Gosh, facebook so complicated, I just learnt how to do up a blog for my bb. Facebook seems more complicated than that.

add me to facebook too

twiggy,
no probs abt the Anmum milk

dokie,
yeah pacifier helps lots...i always bring it when i go out with baby..if she cries and i can't find any other ways to calm her fast. tho it doesn't quite help when she's really super hungry..she'll suck the pacifier really hard and turn red...which later turns into a cry. quite cute tho.

Re: Gathering & stroller
for mums who are taking cabs..how do u carry baby and put stroller in the cab?? gosh i wish i got 4 hands!