(2007/11) November MTBs

k@ye,yes yes !

All the babies look so cute!! Haha!! Like some baby advertisement, so many babies on display.

Dokie,
I'll be in NZ next month and my niece in NZ had rotavirus attack last month. She had bad diarrhea and ended up w convulsions due to dehydration. Dr says rotavirus is contagious, so to play safe, I thought better vaccinate him now. I may also be sending him to infantcare from April onwards coz I'm seriously thinking of returning to work now. A bit bored w being a stay home mum...

K@ya, Michviv,
Thanks, quite relieved that he's a good weight now. He was very small when born coz almost premature. Glad he's caught up somewhat.

wow, the babies really super cute... n really like advertisement for rompers and booties hor. hee hee...
some of the babies so 'long' and 'chubby' leh, must be the BM! hahaa... i thk if my bb's there, sure will look small :D

michviv,
wow ur bb at 8wks oredi can drink 150mls ah, mine still struggling to finish 120ml and she's almost 11wks liao.

k@ye,
3Oz of plain water? wow, really salute u, no wonder claire so smart to act sleepy... kee kee... chloe can only manage a few gulps n she'll start to act up oredi.

S@L,
u give consent oredi ah, ok next time when i start blogging, wil try out the 'cut & paste' method. hee

wah jus woke up from my little nap with Mischa. feel so good now.

kitty, dun copy wrongly hor..hahaha....once ur blog setup remember to post addy here so we all can see.

ok will send the pics to those mummies whom i hv the email add.

hi mummies (at the gathering),

it was great meeting all of u today!! thanks for bringing the food..yummy!!! and also thanks to tweety for letting us have the gathering at your place!

my gal couldn't sleep after reached home and she only managed to zonk out at ard 730pm! so tiring!

i din bring my camera along today, so if any of u took the photos, pls email to me at [email protected]

i received quite a number of facebook requests, confirmed all the requests liao!

Kittybride: No la, my boy is 11 weeks this week. If he drank 150mls at 8 weeks I think I will have a hard time generating enough breast milk for him. haha.

Hmm...now you ladies have inspired me to set up a blog for my boy. Will check it out and update soon. hehe.

kittybride, michviv,
actually quite fun to do the blog. It's like a diary for the bb. My hubby in Shanghai gets update of pictures of bb from the blog too, else he will ask me to email photos to him every day. Check mine out.

http://matthias-chan.blogspot.com

Me also no IT savvy person. I had to ask a friend to guide me step by step how to set up and post. Actually it's not so difficult after all. Anyone wants to guide me thru Face Book? that seems much more complicated.

the gathering seems more people are joining. Really wanted to go but was caught in my seminar. Can't leave. SO tired cos these 3 days starting to move my ass to get my work done. After so many mths of so-call resting "where got time to rest during confinement" Need to drag myself back to work. So stress and pressure! More responsiblity and more targets to meet. Sian!!! Currently also no time for baby. Send him to my mama's place in the morning and picking him up late at nite. then watch him zzz and just feed milk during nite feeds. So tiring....

The gathering was a great success! Lots of mommies and babies came and we all had a great time getting to know eachother. Thanks to all those who contributed to the pot luck. Unfortunately the weather wasn't on our side and AGAIN we had to abandon our plan to have our pot luck outdoors and retreat inside. I put out 2 mattress for the babies because last time the babies took up all our sofa space! hehe
Sorry to the mummies who struggled to get here with their prams cos in the end we really didn't need them

To the mummies who'd ventured out alone with babies for the first time..well done...it'll be the first of many, now that you've proved that you can do it! (catherine, dokie to name a few

I've posted out emails of the photos.

Morn ladies!

Kittybride, Claire also acts up after drinking a few sips of water but i make sure she finished the 3oz. After each session, both mother & daughter all perspire one....

S@l, Mischa's red botties hard to miss!

Yoko, u re right abt the so-called resting during our confinement!

Any ladies here have babies who still need the wee hours feed? My Claire dunno what's wrong with her, she is starting to have the wee hours feed again.... I woke up at 2am for the past few days to feed her again!

Michviv,

i come online irregularly and most very interested to see that your baby was bottle trained at TMC. my baby daughter (12 weeks old) has been on TBF and she refuse to take a bottle.

we tried forcing her once - she just cried her heart out for an hour. i gave up. and now ii express a little milk everyday (20 ml) and try to give it to her. have been doing it fore more than a week - but with no success.

so i hope i can learn from your experience. besides a bigger size teat (M size?), what other special thing did the nurse do? how old was your baby when she was successfully trained?

k@ye,

Chloe is bottle-fed n her feeding timings r usually about 3-4.5hrs; so usually i need to get up either 3am or 430am for her feed; been trying to prolong the 'sleep' time by giving her the pacifier but usually can only last another hr before she starts wailing super loud (again!!) for her milk...

even her daddy oredi buay tahan of her cries these few nites/early mrng coz she really can wake up the whole floor!!! sigh...

Kitty, I see... My Claire has stopped her wee hours feed since she was 2mths+ and now she is back again. I tried feeding her water, she will drink (hungry mah) but she will get angry.. Then i will put pacifier.. she spat it out and use her hand and make noise! So no choice but to give her milk!

This morn, my Mum and I "scolded" her for wanting milk at that timing. Guess what, she smiled at me! Anyway, i managed to establish a morning routinue for her. My Mum told me that when she is 6 mths old or can sit upright... Must train her to sit on the potty by herself! Wonder whether can this be done?

twiggy,
i made it lugging my pram, baby in one hand and pram in the other for the gathering..hehe. not too easy but possible! though, curious, how do you bring around the car seat after you get out of the cab..ie go shopping?

K@ye,
i still do feed my baby in the wee hours..sometimes once, sometimes twice. ie. 1am, 4am, 7am. then again my baby is somewhat the youngest among all e babies here cos she's born on 30th nov.
but amazing thing happened last night...she slept from 11am till 5am! and her last feed was 9am (took her 2 hours to sleep..faint). i woke up at 4am wondering why she haven't woke up yet and feeling so engorged. had to pump anyway but didn't empty one side, in case she wakes up soon.

re:Blog
it's quite easy for blogger. i can never figure out the template stuff so i use what they provide. just that sometimes i take few days to upload my post..i started one 3 days ago, but i've not finished writing it :S
mine's at http://danielgracebaby.blogspot.com/

K@ye, my gal still wakes up for wee hrs feeds..her typical night is falling asleep ard 9.30pm, wake at 1am for feed then another between 3-5am and wakes up at 8am. her daytime nap is quite irregular. aft implementing the routine for her it seems she is more comfortable with her own routine.i m fine with tt as she has reduced her night feedings to 1-2 instead of 3 times when she was abt 1mth plus.

anyway for my boy he didnt sleep thru the night till he was 1yr+ , so i m kinda resigned to my FATE

cindy, plim,
I think my menses are back too. Got some bloody discharge. So disappointed. Was hoping to not have menses for a few months since I am going to continue to BF when back to work. Sianz now...

k@ye,

yup, agree wif u how smart babies can be!
chloe oso the same reaction whenever i scold her for being notti, then she will flashes her innocent smile... so cuteeee till u can't tahan not to sayang her!

actually my mom oso said for nw, can't really establish a routine coz milk easily digested n when babies need to feed, they NEED to feed! no choice, can't deprive them of food so we parents hv to sacrifice our sleep for them!

frozen EBM,
hi any mummies here who freeze their EBM? how long does it take for you to defrost it or how do you defrost it? i tried once but it took like 2 days in the fridge.
and i got soo many bags of EBM in my fridge (16 packs of 200ml each) i dunno what to do with them, throw away also can't bear to. how do u use them? i bottlefeed my baby twice a day (for the anti-colic med) and would usually use those in the fridge instead of the frozen ones.

skye,

oh i saw her name - Eliza right?

oh u are nt suppose to leave it to defrost totally for 2 days! read sometime bk tt defrosted milk can only last 12hrs...i guess it means once the milk leave the freezer means its 'de-frosting'...

i usually dun defrost in advance.i.e, i bring out the cold hard frozen pack and jus sit the bag into the hot water in a cup (from thermo flask) and change the cooled water with hot water again. usually it will be a nice temperature for feeding. but tt i give to my elder son cos usually give my gal the fresh EBM or the chilled ones.

skye,
if i want the frozen EBM to defrost by next day for feeding, i will place the frozen EBM in a bowl of water at night (the whole bowl will be in the fridge)... by next morning, it will b soft, but mayb not all frozen parts has melted, but it's ok to then put into a bowl of hot water to warm up...
otherwise, i will sometimes use the method S@L mentioned, i.e. to put the frozen EBM directly into hot water...

tinkabel,
mayb it's uterus contraction like mine? monitor and pray hard that it's not menses ;P

Skye², b4 i gave up BF, i had some frozen EBM. It takes 1 day to thaw in the fridge in my case lah.

Kitty & S@l, actually the morning routine is more like Claire's rather than ours except for the water session and some training on her poo timing.

Her morning routine is in the below order:
1. Water parade
2. Poo time
3. Bath time
4. Milk time

S@L,
yups her name's Eliza
i'm still trying to remember everyone's name + nick..+ baby name.

oo..okie thanks! cos i read somewhere to thaw it in the fridge overnight. didn't work at all..i threw that bag away anyway and my mil said isn't it so wasted. gee..now i dunno what to do with the excess..then CNY coming, got more food in the freezer..

tweety, how do i save those pics into my comp from your facebook?

skye_skye, thanks for the ride home yesterday! wrt defrosting EBM, i usually thaw them in the fridge within 24 hours. if u want them to thaw faster, i suggest that u pack them into smaller packs which is sufficient for Eliza to drink, e.g. 120ml

tinkabel - i've added u in facebook!

aww....the picture of all the babies is so cute!
must be very fun to meet everyone and see so many babies at one go. :p

k@ye, I also trying to potty train my Kaelyn.

From 2 months onwards, i will let her 'sit' (carrying her actually) on the potty every morning after her bath. Sometimes she will pee, sometimes she will pass motion, sometimes she will just fall asleep. Just to let her get into the habit and familiarise with the potty :) Dunno whether it will work, but we just wanna start early lor.

S@l, my Mum told me to toilet train her lah by putting her on the potty every morn after her water session. So now, Claire will automatically poo after the water session or milk (if i hv no time for the water) in the morning..

I also no patience but after a while, i stopped but since Claire on auto mode now. Its good but she sometimes will still poo in the noon!

yami,

2 mths old oredi can sit meh?
my bb still got prob wif tummy time, she either no strength to lift up her neck or just plain lazy...

i train her poo poo now by 'ngg ngg ngg' to her after bath every day (now my mom takes over), if nothing in the mrng, then try again in the afternoon or just before sponging her in the evening. so far she's ok wif it. and very funny when she oso 'ngg ngg' herself, she will frown while pushing out her poo... hahaha...

Hi Avocado, actually it was "starz" who went to TMC for bottle training. =) But the principles she shared from Mrs Wong have worked for me and my boy, Ethan.

He started to reject the bottle on the 12th of Jan. For the past 1 week, he has been able to drink 120ml once a day to 150mls twice a day now from the bottle. (We're trying to train him up to accept 3 bottle feedings of EBM when I go back to work) Here are some things we did:

1) We bought a NUK bottle (wide neck teat and size 2 hole for faster flow)as well as changed all existing Avent bottles to the Avent Variable flow teat (and use the side with 2 markings for medium flow)
2) We found a place where he is more comfortable drinking milk (for Ethan, he sits in his car sit which can rock for his bottle feedings).
3) There is no use feeding him when he is crying like crazy. He has even choked a couple of times already cos he is crying and cannot swallow the milk. What we do is to wear his resistance down by letting him cry, calm him down then try feeding him again. This process is rather tedious but after a couple of tries, he reluctantly accepts the bottle and drinks from it. =)It helps that the baby is hungry enough too.

This method has worked for us cos he have managed to increase both the amt we feed him and the number of feedings per day. Hope it helps you.

kitty, no lah she cant sit yet...so i actually just carrying and resting her buttocks on the potty.
Have to support her neck too. will get easier when her neck is stronger i guess :p

Wow! you guys are already potty training????
I def have to salute to that.

Olivetree, as far as I know you can save the photos from facebook by selecting the individual photos, right-click and select SAVE AS or SAVE TO. A bit time consuming but you can pick and choose which photos you want.

I've always comtemplated creating a blog but I thought it was to hi tech for me. Is it easy? any website to offer for absolute beginners?

tinkabel:: how come so fast yours? you're on TBF eh? mine i got give one FM feed a day so quite understandable if came earlier. but damn sian la! i hate having that! haha

s@l:: my bb's schedule also same as mischa, sleeps around 9 to 930pm then 1 to 2am then 4 to 5 am then at 7 to 8am haha.

michviv:

fr what i gather, i believe i hv e same prob as u as my bb simply refuses to drink fr e bottle. i've changed to NUK teat as well but i'm not sure if thats e wide neck one. i believe it's not cz when i put e teat in, it doesnt seem to fit snugly in her mouth. if so, where can i get e wide teat one? fr Kiddy palace? perhaps i shld also get e variable flow teat fr AVENT.

tho i'm not workg, i'm really at my wits' end as i wld prefer if she cld drink fr e bottle as well, helps ease off some of my load.

SOS.

Cindy, our bb can hi-5 already lo! hahaha..they created their own 'routine' cos i tink they find the GF too strenous for them..lol...me too cant cope with GF routine la...give up already...doesn suit my timing at all.

s@l:: ya loh! too strenous le la. they already actually form their own routine le hahaha after the 7-8am feed, he'll feed around 1030 to 1130 and then around 2 to 3 and again at 5 to 6 all the way till last feed around 830 to 930, everyday is this pattern le. think it's quite okay for me so i hahah pass on the gina's routine! hehe.

Can someone email me the photos of the gathering? Would love to see what you girls look like (with your permission of course.)

I've got a lot of you on Facebook now but I dunno who's who. :p Me trying to figure out Facebook as well because so many functions.

K@ye,
My baby still wakes up every night to feed at about 3-4 am. I don't know when he'll start sleeping through the night.

Skye,
My car seat and stroller are a combined system so I just need to put the car seat on the stroller. When he's older, he can sit in the stroller directly without the car seat. Quite troublesome but no choice.

Baby Joseph also miraculously slept till 5m last night. I gave him a big feed of 150ml and he finished all. So maybe that's why he could sleep longer.