(2007/11) November MTBs

tinkabel,
I've emailed u my order and payment

so silly, i forgot to ask my gynae abt the numbness the last time. only ask abt a lump above my wound which he says is muscle.

He did say i can do exercise now,not too rigorous though...I guess swimming should be ok. Pity I do not know how to swim. he says my flabby tummy now is all fats, got to exercise and do sit up to trim down and he says diet is also important.

Cindy, I did went back at the 5th week, pap smear failed as what you mentioned. Asked to go back in another month's time to do the test.

Tinkabel, my gal cannot sleep soundly if I do not swaddle her esp at night. Mum told me to continue and slowly try to discontinue swaddling.

Would love to join you ladies for the gathering but I'm having lesson on the 17th. DO let me know of the next one though.

Tweety, i have forwarded the gathering details to Cactusnah.

Gemini19, can email me ur orders, easier to track cos i dun have ur contact.
Fish soup works for me. i simmer the soup for 1-2hrs till very thick broth. but must still latch/pump regularly.

Superhappymum., maybe u need to inc ur pumping sessions. and also really empty ur breasts instead of following the clock. how many times u pump a day?
u dun latch right?

Dokie, oh but u look like the independent type to me, shouldn have a problem la. i used to bring my son out shopping whenever hb is busy and with Mischa inside me...only during the 3rd trimester i can move abt much then i stopped. i have been using the ligthweight Combi pram to push my son, and take trains to town...quite challenging but still manageable. but have nt tried going out alone with 2 kids now....cant imagine.

anyway te gathering i nt bringing my elder son, so ok for me...u intend to bring if going?

Tweety, no problem. havent got time to sort them out. my gal is super 'spoilt' today..hiaz...only managed to sit down for lunch now....

how do u all pump even when latch on??? i tried to pump after feeding her but seem like 10-20 ml onli... n now 3rd week my milk supply like still not enuff for her felt so sad she alys not enuff...

Elaine, if ur bb can empty both breasts during feed then no need to pump. but cos my bb only can finish one side, the other side have to pump out. and i find it helped to inc supply alot. if u wan to inc ss u can do tt too. even if u only get 20ml or less....slowly u will build more ss cos u keep emptyin the breasts.

gemini:: did your gynae tell you what's the pap smear for? is it painful? the test? i supposed to go tmr but aiya, lochia havn't finished so guess i don't go down yet.

Organise amother one gathering la! this time later on when bb are bigger so hb will feel safer letting us bring bb out on our own. i really want to meet all of you! or you all post a photo of the gathering here when you all get back ha!

S@L, yes I am independent type. But husband very protective over the children.
No, cant how to bring elder one when he already stopped me from bringing the little one. :p

Been reading the posting about cranky babies. Luckily for me my son is very good. (touch wood). So far I have manage to get him to sleep straight through the night. My last feed for him would be around 10-11pm and he will sleep to 5-6am. I've swaddled him and I wake up to feed him as soon as he stirs. I try not to let him 'wake up' for his feed. That way he is still in 'la la land' and continues his sleep throughout the night. In the day I will put him his cot as much as possible so that he doesn't depend on cradling to soothe him, and he will happily lay in the cot 'talking to himself'. So far my method has given me a bit more time. However my baby hasn't shown signs to be fussy......yet.

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">Hello Mommies!!</font></font>

Sorry to interrupt....i have brought in a few very nice Disney Rompers and other apparels in the BP thread
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1118857.html?1197621888

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">All are authentic Disney apparels from HK. Designs not available here. Stocks are limited!</font></font>
Do visit the thread and check out the rompers for your babies for this Xmas/CNY festive seasons! Thanks!

tweety:
You are so lucky. Your bb sleep throughout? Can't remember, you do full breast feed or a complement of FM? How come your bb can last throughout the night? Amazing.

Got your orders. Still waiting for 2 payments. Will put through order by tomorrow.

tweety,
Thank God! My baby too sleeps through the night, from 10-11pm to 5-6am,just like yours. But i've stopped swaddling him since he's 2wks old. He's been sleeping in another room on his own since he's 1 mth old n i used the baby monitor to wake me up when he cries at night. So by the time i get to him, he is usually very awake n kicking! But after each feed, he will settle down himself n drift off to sleep. I think its because i dont really carry him alot since day 1 n sometimes when he cries i just let him be so he is quite happy to be left alone.

wow tweety and ueno:: how did both of u do it!! i already tried to keep his last feed 11 to 12 but he'll surely wake up around 4. and that is complemented with FM! how did you both manage to hit 5 to 6am?

ueno:: guess my MIL spoilt him already. each time he cries we carry. she say don't let him cry for so long next time will have coarse voice and hoarse throat. he cn't drift off to sleep on his own. only gets more and more awake on his own bed. needs to be carried to deeeeeep sleep then puthim back to his bed. OH my.

ss@l:: yes yes one more gathering!! i really want to see all of you! hehe. eh your bb takes only 1 side for feeding, mine too, usually. makes me think is there really 100 to 120mL like what most bbs are drinking now in one side? cause usually we pump both sides then can get this amt. now he drink one side, i really wonder how much he is drinking.

Gemini19,
the Nan 1 HA i got from a shop in Hougang Ave 4... the next time i go get, i must rem. to check the price and also the address... ok?

Cindy,
I went for my pap smear on Tues leh... still having lochia but still can do pap smear leh... gynae din say cannot...

plim... hmmm! tinkabel cannot ley! hmmmx. hehee was thinking if can skip doing the PAP smear hahahas. is it painful the test? fast? the results immediate? or must wait?

sounds like that the desitin cream is very good huh? anyone has extra tube to let go? wld like to try it first before i order...

cindy,
i think PAP smear is a yearly thing that needs to be done lah...
results must wait i think 1 wk...
er, they will use something to scrap (i think) fluid off ur cervix, i find it a bit painful lor...

my baby is 1 month old today & went for his PD checkup this morning. he weighs 4.88kg now. PD said it's a good weight
END OF CONFINEMENT! YIPPEE!

congrats cat... end of confinement.....

gemini, i also feel numb around my wound n still bulging tummy.

suppose to do pap smear today, I also change to next week cos still got mense. i am also very scare and duno what's pap smear is all abt. Never done before.

May I know what desitin cream is for?

My tummy skin very loose.

Plim, how to do PAP smear with lochia there...i dun feel comfy with tt. anyway gyna didnt mention will do the test netx visit. i think i did my PAP aft my my 1st delivery ard 2mth or so...

As for the Desitin, no need to try..its really good...i dun have spare now, but can spare u some in a container pass u on Monday and u try on bb for few days. if good i can order together in the Drugstore spree.

Cindy, to me PAP smear is quite painful when gynae scrap the fluid from cervix. kinda like a shock to me. i compare it to VE before natural birth. if u have been thru VE and feel ok then PAP smear is pretty much the same. and i HATE it!

Re: feeding
ya precisely, my gal takes only 1 side sometimes cant even empty 1 side but she seems satisfied. and aft tt i can still pump out decent amt. actually i read somewhere tt btl fed bb seems to 'over-eat'. i think for my case is. cos my gal took 100ml tt day and 'asked' for more. i defrost another 60ml and she finished! but she dun take tt much everyday..maybe yday was too hungry? good thing abt feeding thru btl is can monitor the amt. for latching will depend on her mood. usually need to feed 2x or more for a complete feed before she can sleep thru 2-3hrs.

Catherine, wow looks like most of our NOV babies have quite good weight be it on BM or FM. at least our hard work paid off.

Yoko, desitin is for bb diaper area. usually will have rash cos poo/pee so many times a day. So far its the best cream i have ever used for bb. my son also used tt since birth till few months old. U can get DEsitin Creamy from PD locally, but very very expensive. Pharmacy only sells the normal desitin , nt as smooth as the 'CREAMY' version. much cheaper to buy from US, thus alot of ppl buy to keep stock. in fact desitin is good for insects bits as well or as a smoothing cream for bb.

check this out:
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=10747&catid=19465

RE: tummy, ya mine too loose although i m bk at pre preg weight. but dun worry la cos it took 9mths to expand our tummy, cannot expect it to go bk to norm so soon right? hehehee..

S@L,
thanks, will get the sample from you and try, hehe, then if really good, will order in your drugstore spree

re: pap smear
actually i was quite surprised that i was supposed to do pap smear on tuesday gynae's visit... now the lochia is not a lot but still hv lor, so still not as messy when i see him (from the screen) when he take the fluid from the cervix...

Cindy, ya, exactly wat S@L describe pap smear comparing to VE, it's tat kind of pain and i also dun like it...

Oh, and i got my results on the pap smear back today... all clear!

re: feeding
my bb also feeds very eratically on certain days, even after a 70-80ml feed, she will ask for me, and i hv to give another 30-60ml, and even after that, 30 mins, she will ask for more, again i give another 30ml... it is only after then she will drift off to la-la-land happily!

hmm, hvn't taken my gal's weight since the 1st weight visit, but think she has gained as she no longer feel as light as when she was born, at least now when i carry her for longer period of time, my hands will feel a bit tired! Tml is 1st month visit to the PD... will be able to check out her weight liao :D

beloveddaughter, I got 2 dogs. One with skin probs. Also duno what to do. Now put in the clinic cos need to use the very strong medicated wash to clean him. cost me a bomb. Fence both up in the kitchen they make alot of noise. They so use to running around in the house. Sleeping on my bed. Now their lifestyle totally change.

S@L, Where to order for the cream? I order 2. i pay u at tweety's place.

Nowadays my BB feeding seems to be different. he used to drink 120ml, now 90ml. Instead of 3 hrly becomes 4 hr. Is it normal?

I got 1 pack of mamypoker NB til 5kg diapers to giveaway. Only used 1 pc. Cos my bb pui liao can't fit in. 28pcs pack. Today just open up and use 1, dan realise too tight for my boy. PM me. I can bring to tweety's place.

s@l, plim, beloved daughter:: thank you all re PAP smear! ehehee i guess pain also just for a while bah!
similar to that time the test for the Group B strep during pregnancy? beloveddaughter, that's what my MIL says too. want to be carried, we carry. after they grow older won't be like this already. don't know how true. HOw are you and your BF?

so happy today gg out! walalala. gg to cut bb's hair and we shopping!

plim,
if you interested, I got 1 spare tube of desitin creamy. I just reordered, so can spare u this. Let me know and I will bring it on Mon for u.

Cindy:
Haiz, shd hv gotten professional help in the cut. I thot I wanted to keep bb's hair. then just cut the sides cos slightly covering the ears. Then cos he was moving when I was carrying him, my MIL end up cutting the sides a bit short.

Yoko, as babies get older, their feeding intervals get longer. And sometimes, they dun finish all their feed. It is normal but do monitor for a while, if its persistent... Better to check with the PD.

I really buey tahan my daughter and hubby liao. Currently, I m staying at my Mum's place with my daughter... My hubby is a part time father. He only comes over after work and the occassional weekend. whenever he comes over and see the way, i handle my baby, he will comment this and that as if very expert.

As for my daughter, i really gave up on her. Her sleeping pattern is horrible and she will cry and fuss at nite till i really feel like giving her away.

Hi Mummies..

How do we thaw frozen milk? Eg If I store 2feeds into a Avent Via Cup.

I just took out a 2feed stored Via Cup from the freezer & put it in the lower compartment of fridge at 1am, till now, 9.40am still din really melt much. If let it thaw itself at the lower compartment of fridge, the milk can last how long?? Was advised by someone ask me to take the frozen milk to thaw in the fridge overnite, then when need it (since it din melt much yet), run the bottle under tap water, then pour out 1 feed, and put remaining feed into the fridge for next feed.

Do you all just store 1 feed of milk per bag? If so, isn't that we have many many bags/bottles to store in freezer!!

Anyone using baby carrier?? Any brands/models to recommend?? My baby doesn't like to be in cradle position, always want ppl to carry him upright. And I always dunno what he wants, he doesn't seems able to lie there alone! Constantly need ppl attention. Sometimes even you carry him, he also not shiok, still keep yelling! Anyone you having the same problem? Advise needed haha.. CL going back next wed! STRESS ah..

i'm worried about mishandling my baby when breast feeding. sometimes, when i try to put my nipples into her mouth, she'll struggle. i let her struggle freely but sometimes, i hear her bones moving! so scary. anyone wif similar exp?

yes, tub, my bb also struggled esp when he has wind in his tummy and I latched him for comfort, when he is in pain, he looked as though he is labour:p then he will fart loudly!

anyone here sucumbed to the pacifier already?
my HB told me to use it after I complained to him abt chronic backaches from latching him in between feeds, whenever he cries...

for c sect mummies, does ur wound still hurt & if you tumy still feel numb to touch? I can't seem to get rid of the plaster residue marks on my tummy after gynae removed it..even after I bought something for such purpose from the pharmacy..anyone can adv wat to use??

me still got slight lochia dischrge too, esp after direct bfg, tink uterus contracting due tio bfg, so more lochia flow out..

and have anyone started doing away with the mittens after full mth?

I also experienced numb fingers at night, esp after washing the milk bottles after feeds, cos hands touch cold tap water...any old wives remedies for this?

hi breeze, i'm also a c sec mummy. wound doesn't hurt now but i'm still wearing the corset. also, for the numb fingers, my mum advised me to wash wif cool boiled water. dunno wat's the scientific logic tho... u may want to try.

u mean u hear your bb's bones too? sounds like a scary movie... :x

hi breeze,
i used axe oil to remove the plaster marks and it works. i put a drop of axe oil on the finger and rub it lightly on the plaster mark area. mayb u can try it. becareful not to apply it on ur wound area.

wow S@L! Even after latching u can still pump a decent amt. that's good! how much ml can u express each session? i did try fenugreek for a mth but it didn't work for me. So up till now, just frequent latching and pumping for me. I use the Pumping Pal too... at least can do other things to keep me sane (like eat, read, surf) while pumping. If not, i think i would have given up weeks ago.

Re: Pacifier
Lite Breeze, this question has been in my mind for a few weeks already. and have been discussing with hb regarding the pros and cons of gving paci. hiaz...cos my gal also want comfort sucking in btwn feeds kept giving me a false signal of hunger. now i cant tell she is really hungry or jus wan to suckle. even my mum commented how come she wants to 'feed' so often. the first doubt she has is whether i have enough milk. FAct is, i have enough but she jus wan to suckle and suckle sometime even spit out the milk in her mouth as she dun wan the milk jus wan the comfort.
i m feeling very lost/ tired too cos i cant stand her wailing when she wants to suckle. tried to rock her to sleep to distract, aft a while she will wake again and rooting reflex comes again.
i hv no problem to latch her now for comfort or milk, but soon will pass her to my mum durin the daytime then i dunno what to do liao.

my son was on pacifier from 2mth-2.5yrs. although he had no problem weaning off (only 1 night without pacifier and he got off the habit) but i jus dun really like to start my gal with it unless i m really driven to the wall....

Sabrina, my left side has lesser milk, so when right side nt latched on i can get at least 120ml or more aft latch from a pumping session (combine both sides). if right side is latched before pumping i can ard 60-80ml. this is provided my pumping session is relaxed cos once my elder son comes into the room to disturb, i cant have good letdowns.

Are u using Ameda pump? I still have nt figured how to use the pumping pal with supershield properly. cos i m using Avent Duo. i find tt the Supershield/pumping pal works better with Ameda/Medela pumps. till now i have nt been able to pump handsfree.

S@L, yah, i'm using the Ameda pump. The pumps hang just fine. Is it because Avent has the motor head at the pump which make them difficult to balance?

Lite Breeze, i gave my gal pacifier since birth.. on top of that she sleeps in a sarong cradle too. Both my gals have super diva attitude so no choice but to "spoil" them to appease. :p

S@L:

My left side also lesser milk. Is that normal? Yah I also everytime stress that when I express milk, bb starting crying. Me also using Avent but the Uno one. But find it very difficult cos got to keep holding it. Hand so tired.

hi all mummies! i'm new here. my baby was delivered on 27 oct although his edd was supposed to be in nov. so i've been always logging into this thread.

my baby has been drinking alot lately. i heard it is something to do with growth spurt. does anyone know about this?

btw, here's my blog to share:

www.blessedwithbaby.blogspot.com

HI S@L,

My baby same as your daughter - always want to suckle at breasts. I came to the conclusion why he wakes like every hour, sometimes even half hour for feeds , because he only 'snacks' and not really drinks to his fill, then fall asleep at the breasts. Most times he cries and only stops when you put the breasts to him, he drinks little and then falls asleep...thats the way it has been, and its been tiring. I have tried to make him drink more by tickling him, trying to wake him up like rubbing his chest, tickle his ears, but somehow doesnt really work so well...so I end up feeding like every hour , occasionally, if he is tired, maybe 2 hours. Like you, I also try to make him sleep w/o suckling but doesnt work, still wants to suckle..really tiring