(2007/11) November MTBs

Catherine,
Your CL doesn't wash and sterilize the bottles and pump for you? Usually I will juz place them in a container after pumping and she will wash them for me. While pumping, I will read a book or watch TV...will occasionally look out on the quantity, if not satisfied, will try to compress and massage the breasts until I get the quantity I want...haha..I sound like a moo moo cow..

I also like to bond with my boy during latching, but dun want to let him have the habit of suckling to fall asleep...even when I talk or sing songs to him, he also bor chup..

Catherine, how do you prevent your baby from falling asleep when he latches? Mine falls asleep after 10-15 mins and it gets harder and harder to wake him for a full feed. And did you get sore nipples? I also find latching easier than expressing apart from these two problems above.

cindy n litebreeze, I also feel numbness around the wound area and tummy. mine coming to 4th weeks. Wondering what is it. my next appt with my gynae is 3 weeks later.

tinkerbelle, i tin u also clear my doubts on numbness on my fingers. thanks. everytime i go gynae always forgotten to ask her. definietly i will forget something. my gynae is nt chatty type. so just like finish the routine ok bye bye.

Poissons/Rast, i paid abt $39 too (cant remember exact amt) If u go ICA i think only $18.

Catherine actually i like to latch on too, really dread the day i have to start pumping exclusively or most of the time. But becos bb dun take 2 sides sometimes, so now doing latch/pump seems most tiring. if i dun pump to empty the rest, afraid the ss will drop.

But i dun talk/ sing to bb when i latch. dun wan to make it a habit for her. instead will do my own things like watch TV, surf net etc...sometimes even eat while feeding her!

i noticed my gal didnt really latch for comfort. She raelly was taking milk. and i think she is going thru a growth spurt. I measured her today and she has put on more weight:

(extract from kellymom.com)
When do babies have growth spurts?

Common times for growth spurts are during the first few days at home and around 7-10 days, 2-3 weeks, 4-6 weeks, 3 months, 4 months, 6 months and 9 months (more or less). Babies don't read calendars, however, so your baby may do things differently.

Growth spurts don't stop after the first year - most moms notice growth spurts every few months during the toddler years and periodically thereafter on through the teenage years.

How long do growth spurts last?

Growth spurts usually last 2-3 days, but sometimes last a week or so.

What is the best way to handle a growth spurt?

Follow your child's lead. Baby will automatically get more milk by nursing more frequently, and your milk supply will increase due to the increased nursing. It is not necessary (or advised) to supplement your baby with formula or expressed milk during a growth spurt. Supplementing (and/or scheduling feeds) interferes with the natural supply and demand of milk production and will prevent your body from getting the message to make more milk during the growth spurt.

S@L, my hubby went ICA. :p I think is a waste of time.

By the way , is this a good pdt? Snuzzler - Complete Head & Body Support
contemplating whether to buy.

S@L bulk purchase. Let me give u the link in a short while.
I very panicky now. Rang up mumkitchen for catering this sat . Fully booked.
I am afraid I cant find a good caterer. Jia lar..

twiggy:: i also want but my hubby is scared of colic plus i don't want to confuse nipple and teat loh... usually how i wake bb up in the middle of a feed is i change his diaper! try it.. hehe works for me. i do want to mix mix and i hope to start ard when he's about 5 wks ba.

cat, i also find it a little troublesome to wash-sterilise-pu,p-wash-sterilise.. thats why i'm still surviving on direct latching all the way..

dokie,
why dun wan neo garden ah? i'm thinking of getting them leh... any comments on them?

is mum's kitchen good? any website for them?

poissons,
my CL does wash & sterilize the bottles & pump for me. now i usually pump only once a day b4 i go to sleep. so tat if i'm not woken up by baby's cries for 1 or 2 night feeds, she'll feed him the EBM. i really hope she din give him anymore FM.

twiggy,
i let him latch for 10-15min on each side. when he lets go, i'll offer him the same side again. if he doesn't wan, i'll sit him upright to burp & i'll sing the burping song to him...hehee tat usually makes him awake for the other side. i BF him using the side-lying hold i.e. we both lie on our sides. i DO get sore nipples but only from pumping not latching.

hmmm so quiet tonight... all mummies busy latching / pumping?
i'm so hot & sweaty. so far only bathed twice. once b4 PD appt & another b4 gynae appt. yday got wipe my body using the water boiled with Qu Feng Cao. tmr can bathe again! tmr baby jovan is 2 weeks old. another 2 weeks to end of confinement!!!

Cindy,

remember that I have the same prob as you? Fast letdown and baby keep gagging and fussing.... argh! i have resorted to pumping and giving my baby EBM. My baby more manageable now coz i think the bottle teat flow not so fast. She doesn't gag anymore.

Cindy, is your baby your 1st child? My baby is my 2nd child so pumping works for me better. For me, I think I will stick to pumping for awhile coz I don't want my baby to have her face plastered to my boobs 24/7. I have to be fair to my 1st child. She still needs my attention wor.

lynda, mastitis starts with fever/ flu-like symptoms and painful lumps. i had it before hence when it striked again this time, i went to see doc to confirm it.

yoko, are u suffering from breast abscess, hence need the surgery? my right breast has about 6 lumps! very difficult to reduce the size, lucky thing is that gynae confirmed that they are not breast abscess, so no need to go thru' surgery.
now i only need to continue with the anti-biotics and massage daily. hope they will subside soon. hope you will recover soon without having to go thru' the surgery.

catusnah, i am feeling better, the fever subside, now praying hard that my lumps will subside too.

S@L, dokie, sabrina, i m also facing the same problem as you all with my #1
my gal will try to press her mei mei head, pull her hand and leg and give me that "i am hurting mei mei look, what are u gg to do to me?" i tried to explain to her many times to sayang mei mei, and she will sometimes do that, depending on her mood.

when she sees me bfeeding directly, she will say "mei mei cannot drink from mama chi chi (nipples)" and tried to disturb us. sigh.....

how can we talk sense to them? she is only 32 months now. luckily, i am blessed that my hb (working from home now), maid, auntie and CL are staying with me so they will try to distract her as much as possible. But sometimes, she can be so difficult to handle and shouts and screams "i dun want mama, i dun want papa!!"

it is so difficult to handle 2 kids nw

olivetree,

my gal cries everytime she sees me bf directly... sigh! That's why i have to bottle-feed EBM to my baby if my gal is around. My gal doesn't purposely hurt the baby, maybe because she is still too young to fully understand whats going on. But now she throws tantrums and cries alot!! If i really can't cope handling the 2 kids, i will send the elder one to my mum's plc. There alot of ppl to entertain her.

U are lucky u have others staying with u, to help u look after the elder one. For me, only me, my husband and MIL... on top of that, i am doing my own confinement and looking after the baby myself (my husband and MIL?... aiyah.. don't need to talk lah.. u no what i mean..) So no choice must send my elder one to my mum's place. Make me feel like an incompetent mother sometimes, can't even handle 2 kids.

All mummies,
Do you know if our BM should have stabilized after 4th week of birth? Can we still increase our BM supply? My supply seems to be stagnant there already

I am having a hard time with my son this few days. tomo I am going to park him at my mum house and look after baby alone.
i am tired out.

superhappymum, what is your feeding and pumping like?
U have to pump/feed every 2-3 hours.

hello sabrina, yes i couldn't take it anymore. last night i flared up at my bb for taking so long, after 1 hour 15mns he's still MOUTHING! so each feed you give EBM? Can i ask how long intervals do you pump? MY boy is close to 4 wks old now already. this wkend he'll be full 4 wks.
I think i really am gg to switch to EBM fully. How long can your little one last in between feeds if you give EBM? right now he wants to feed every 1.5 to 2 hours. If i want to start pumping before he feeds, i think i need to pump every 2 hours too?

cat, haha if you don't wake up when you hear bb cries at night, then when you get up in the morning, isn't the boobs very full and engorged?

olivetree:: hey babe, i hope you feel better! do keep on massaging! sighs. What a pain to be women!

Olivetree, take care and rest well. At least u have ppl ard to help u look aft the elder one. dun despair as many says this is a passing phase. my son is showing more love for meimei now. he will want to carry/ sayang meimei all the time and whenever she cries, he will tell me mei mei wants to drink milk. so far i m doing full latching and he has no issues with tt.

cindy, yday my gal wanted to be fed from 3-7pm!aft a while she fell asleep so i quickly went to pump out my BM. suddenly she woke up and wanted to feed again. cos my breasts were empty by then so i offered her the EBM and she finished it! (abt 70ml) makes me wonder what she has been sucking during the few hrs and can still finish the EBM? i m confused le...she drinks like nobody's business.

Dokie, oh ya i saw this BP too. personally think it fits unless ur pram is the kind featured. As for car seat, already very hot le...dun think b will like. jus my opinion.

s@l:: hahaha your girl is so cute. day time my boy is fine, can finish in 20 to 40 mins. but night times, aiyoz, the 3 night feedings are NIghTMAREs. it starts from the 8 to 9 pm, then 10 to 11 pm and 12 to 1am feeding, he wants to feed nonstop! yesterday i was so mad after feeding him from 950pm to 11pm, i just gave up. Passed him to my MIL where he cry and cry but finally fell asleep. Sighs. don't know if he's not getting enough or what lah! so frustrating.

rast,
confinement not 30days ah? anyway my CL most likely wun be able do the whole confinement for me. she got another MTB due on 6Dec. these few days i'll try to learn as much as i can from her. still thinking of wat are the things to learn.

Cindy,
hahaha...yes my boobs are always v full in the morning. aiyah sometimes i'm so dead beat tat i just sleep thru babies' cries & CL cant bear to wake me up, so she'll feed him EBM. actually i'm a light sleeper, so i must have been extremely tired. Motherhood is so tiring!

can help me take a look at below list of things tat i should do/learn for confinement? see if i miss out anything?

Baby:
- morning: bathe & change clothes*
- evening: wipe & change to nite wear*
- change diaper
- bottle-feed water & EBM
- wash & dry baby's clothes
*rem to clean baby's belly button with cord powder

Mother:
- breakfast: hot water, warmed chicken essence, milo & bread with ham & cheese OR mian4 xian4
- lunch & dinner: rice, vegetable, meat/fish & soup
- supper: soup
- red dates tea
- bathing water cooked with Qu Feng Cao

hi cindy and yoko, it seems that only us who had GA C- sect will feel numb tummy area above our wound leh...those with Epi c sect seemed to recover much faster??

Do you lie down and sleep most of the time during the confinement? I have been sitting (surfing net) and walking around most of the time. Tried to lie down and nap during daytime only recently. I only removed the tummy binder recently and found I can sleep so much better! Feel so stupid for wearing the tight binder to sleep for the 1st 2wks! so uncomfy, though it did helped me to lose most of the flabbiness on my tum
Now no longer look 3mths peggie liao..hehehe!

hi mommies, my mom insists on getting a shi fu to name my baby (Chinese name) based on baby's and parents' 'ba zi'. We will know the name this weekend. When is the deadline to register for birth cert at the hospital? is it after a number of days, we are supposed to register at ICA? btw, i gave birth at TMC. Appreciate your help, thanks.

litebreeze:: wow haha ya now tha tyou mentioned it!! it's only us with GA c-sect. hmms. but i ask doc he says it's okay le. Andlike you la. i walk and sit most of the time. afternoon also rarely nap too.

cat:: your list is okay ah! why you need to make a list? hahahas. if you're giving full breastmilk, no need give water ah my gynae says. if you want to give, give in between feeds, very very little can already. And you forgot la, bathe that time must use a cloth or i use those cotton buds to clean his nostrils and his tongue.

fussiecat,
u need to register baby's birth within 14days either at TMC or ICA. ICA charge $18, while TMC charge admin fee on top of that.
http://app.ica.gov.sg/serv_citizen/birth_death_reg/birth_registration.asp

litebreeze,
me too. i have been sitting & walking ard most of the time. v seldom nap in the day. so binder really works ah? i wore pregancy belt for a few days & my belly also seemed smaller. but these few days i never wear coz it's so hot!

cindy,
i making the list coz CL going to leave b4 my confinement period ends. i going to do my own confinement for the remaining days. oh missed tat out thanks!

i also sit and walk around for the 1st 2 weeks, then keep feeling very tired. this week i try to follow and lie down for most of the time... even when i watch tv la... i seem to be gaining more energy..

I got a Q for mummies here. Do ur confinement nannies help with the hswork? my mum says CL should help with hubby's clothes and even change the bedsheets?? Just changed it on the day I delievered. And anyone heard that lady's finger cant be eaten?

Gillian,
I mix my clothes and my hubby's clothes into the washing machine to wash. Bedsheets, I changed together with my hubby and machine washed too. My CL will help to hang them dry cos she doesn't want me to carry heavy bamboo.

For lady's fingers, so far, I have already eaten once my first CL say can eat. Btw, any of your CL say we can eat sea cucumber?

can recommend good massage lady to me. my tummy still look like carry a 3mths bb. i still have 6kg more to go. pls help me

Sea cucumber.... I haven eat b4 leh... I am having problems with my mum and my CL.. actually there are some stuff the CL cooks for me, my mum is against it, but I really dunno what to say cos I think its ok. like my CL makes wantan for me, she thinks its not good.. but in my opinion, its ok. cannot everyday eat the same food mah.. so, my CL good in the sense she tries to cook different dishes for me everyday. I so stressed that she comes and scolds the CL, so everytime she says she's coming, I get into alert mode.. How?

Baby had to be admitted to hospital today for jaudice. So heartache to see him put under the light naked. Skin drying out because of that too. His jaundice level was 17.7 today. Any other mummies whose babies had similar problem?

On the bright side, baby has been eating well as he's gained 150g in last 5 days so he's back to birth weight finally. I'm hoping to continue him on his 8 feeds a day 3-hourly routinea.

Gillian, ,my CL does my hubby's laundry and a bit of housework but strictly speaking, most CLs dont. About lady's fingers, I think can be eaten coz my CL asks me to buy.

Gillian,
my CL does almost all the housework. she sweeps the floor every morning. mop it every sat. handwash baby's & my clothes eveyday. machine-wash hubby's clothes. she also did some other adhoc things like wash some dirty clothes hanger, wipe clean a dirty old phone set, etc.

Twiggy,
My boy was admitted for jaundice earlier too, he's was 19.5, higher than yours, and was in the neonatal intensive care somemore. See already also heartache and I cried everytime I visited him. Your baby should be fine after 2 days, no worries ok?

My new CL handwashes my bb's clothes, sweeps and mops the floor daily, and today she juz scrubbed my toilet floor and tiles cos' very dirty. The previous one dun and have the cheek to ask my mum to buy newspapers for her to read!

So sad, my hubby just left on a flight back to SH, after being back 2 weeks for my delivery. Bb and I wun see him until CNY, where we will go back to SH together. Sigh.. Just wondering how I am going to cope without my hubby...

Hi i came across this from Kellymom.com. Tot might be useful cos some of u doing confinement could have taken Dong guai and Ginseng. but i dunno how true.

Herbs that may be harmful to mom and/or baby

Other herbs should be avoided while nursing due to their potential for harming mom and/or baby. Check the index of herbs for more specific information. Here are a few herbs that are generally considered to be contraindicated for nursing mothers. This is by no means a complete list.

* Bladderwrack
* Buckthorn
* Chaparral
* Coltsfoot (Farfarae folium)
* Dong Quai (Angelica Root)
* Elecampane
* Ephedra / Ephedra sinica / Ma Huang
* Ginseng (Panax ginseng)

* Indian Snakeroot
* Kava-kava (piper methysticum)
* Petasites root
* Phen-fen, herbal
* Rhubarb
* Star anise
* Tiratricol (TRIAC)
* Uva Ursi
* Wormwood

tinkabel:: hugs hugs... Who are you staying with now? MIL or mom? I'm sure you can get past it! time flies. my hubby will be gg overseas for work next month and in jan too. So hate to see him go.

twiggy:: don't be sad. I'm sure all will go well! I saw somewhere that breastfeeding more frequently will help the jaundice to go away quicker. Maybe during this period you can increase the no. of feeds? I also hope my boy can have about 8 feeds a day. but He is TAKING in 12feeds a day since he came home!

Hahaha i just rewarded myself by buying something for myself online! SO HAPPY!! walala!

cindy:
Me staying with MIL now. Though my ILs are ok, but still hard la, since not my own parents after all.

Me also feel very deprived. With Xmas round the corner and cannot go out and shop. Sigh...Wish my confinement will end soon...

tinkabel:: i TotaLLY understand cause i'm also staying with ILs. hahaha. but don't worry, time will fly past! and i can't wait to shop too. CAn't wait to buy more new levi's jeans! can't fit into old ones anymore sobs sobs.

Tinkabel,
When are you holding your bb's full month? My parents and in laws all insist that it shld be 15 Dec. So fed up, it's my bb's full month and they demand for this and demand for that..and wants to invite the whole world to come also..damn sian.

Cindy,
No no no..if bb is having high jaundice, shldn't be feeding them with breastmilk. My boy has to take FM on the first day he was admitted, then the next day, I was allowed to bring my breastmilk for him.

thanks for the feedback on the CL's duties... i guess its clearer to me now. As for sea cucumber, my CL says cannot eat leh.
All mommies, must persevere and curb our shopping desire. We survived and enjoyed our 9 months of pregnancy, now its simply 1 month left!
Thinkabel: Can understand your position.. and feelings. My hubby's only gonna be gone for 1 week and I am so unwillingly too. but, guess we have no choice but be happy mommies to our babies meanwhile. ;)
Poissons: My father himself also has 30 over guests.. a lot but i also dun care liao. some things really beyond control. just close 1 and a half eyes.