(2007/11) November MTBs

my after thoughts:

support from your hubby is very impt!!!
when i was going thru the labour pains, he was there for me even though i was very cranky... he took my nonsense and a bit of scoldings. haha

when i was worried about my supply of breast milk, he brought in the lactation consultant and even went to find Mrs wong to come in to help. haha...

the past few days of nite feeding, he was always asking me to rest more in the day and also at nite he kept asking me if i am ok/tired or not/wound painful or not, etc etc..

Mandy,
Thanks for sharing the details with us
I was quite touched (almost in tears! must be the hormones!) to read how supportive your hubby is and I definitely hope my hubby will be as supportive too. I guess this is yet another way to establish an even closer bond with our partner, having to embark the parenthood journey together.

Btw, have your episotomy wound recovered yet?

plim:: nopes hehe can breakup de. like I can choose to take 20 together with the first 56 days and then save the rest of the 8 days but must clear within 6mths.

mandy:: so nice to hear your positive BF story too! I really really want to BF so I will come back here often to gain some support.
But i'll be doing GA, so don't know when I'll wake up.

mandy,

so touching your story..
i wish my hubby would be like yours too when the day comes..
indeed, hubby's support is the most impt during that period...
u rest well hor!!

mandy, i'm so touched by ur hubby. i also hope my hubby can be supportive. today is our 10th pator anniversary.. how time flies! it's the last anni tat we'll spend as a couple b4 the "third party" arrives... hahaha

mandy, u delivered in TMC. do u know if TMC provide free milk bottles like MAH?

ladies (esp those tat went for the 1st gathering at merchant court),
i just realised tat 3 (ueno, tweety & grace) out of the 10 mummies have already popped! wonder who is next?
anyway, long time never hear from simply1980 & olivetree... wonder how they are...maybe they have popped?!

Catherine, when i was discharged the nurses did passs me some glass bottles w/ caps..... If that is what u are referring to. SHe even asked how many i needed.

Agree with mandy, hubby support is definately the most impt. Even if MIL/ mum dun support, with hubby beside is def different. During my confinement last time i broke into tears (slight post natal blues) cos i was doing everything myself as hb didnt know how to handle bb. Aft tt he was more sensitive to my needs and helped alot during confinement. Til now he still helped alot when it comes to my toddler. Hopefully when my bb gal arrives, he will be the same if nt better

Dokie, why moody? I feel so sick all over....back aching like crazy.

S@L, you drink plenty of water and if u can take fruits (at least 4 servings with various colours) or vit c pills to boost immunity.

If u choose to take antibotics, after completion of the course, take yougart (no salt no sugar) to replenish back the friendly bacteria wiped out by antibotics.

Hi Tinkabel, Winwin and Poissons

Wow...big coincidence....we share the same gynae and my EDD is right after yours....27th Nov...looks like Dr Chan going to be so busy if we're going to deliver on the same day...hehe...

This is my 2nd bb and both times were by Dr Chan....so rest assured u'll be in good hands...he's a very experienced doc...and his stitching is superb and really not much pain afterwards (as he claimed during the delivery ward)....

If you're going for Epi, do try to get Dr Dicky Tay as he is one of the best docs there.....really not much pain when he did the epidural administering......

i was very garang back then and din wan epi, but when i walked into the labour ward (already 4 cm dilated and not much pain), i saw the hook to burst water bag, and immediately begged the nurses to call dr tay.....no guts heh......luckily he was just next door doing epi for another dr chan's patient.....

If you can tahan the pain, dun go for epi as you really lose all sensation and i din knwo wat i was pushing back then.......and afterwards, i couldn't pee and had to go on catheter (which is a much worse experience than epi)....but again, i was a nervous first time mummy and the nurses kept encouraging me to go on epi.....

s@L:: you feeling betteR? hope so. my cough is gettting better i can feel hahaha. the phelgm is GREEN! yucks. I hope tmr i'll recover fully for the sectioning on sat.

dokie:: I'm also feeling sianz and moody these days. Like at a loss of what to do. don't know why. Sigh. like nothing seems right man. HAhaha.

Poissons, the episotomy wound not so fast recovered. Need at least 1-2 weeks.

Yup, i agree a supportive husband is the most impt. Like S@L, i suffered slight post natal blues in the beginning... Now, in my 16th day of confinement, getting the hang of it... Told myself not to think too much.... Just enjoy my time with my gal and learning to take care of her!

Its such a joy to see that my gal is different each day even though she can be a monster at times!

Btw, any ladies here know how to cope with a baby who sleeps in the day but not at night? My gal is such a baby! The CL told me she wont sleep from 12am - 3am.

Dokie,
same here le...have the urge to load off my baby even though another 6 more days to go also cannot tahan.
M feeling much better now as nose nt so runny. but still feel lethargic going to take a nap in a while.

Oh must take yogurt aft tt? ok will try didnt know that

Cindy, same here...but my phelgm is yellow! equally yucks! hahaa trying to cough and spit them out so can clear my lungs better....last night hard very bad wheezing sound...

K@ye,
how abt baby who wakes up every 1-2hrs middle of the night? hehee....i have been thru tat for my son ...nothing much can be done. Hb even had to rock bb in his arms in the middle of the night. Some frens tell me their young bb can sleep thru the night...but i nvr had this experience!

s@l:: hahaha me too, trying my best to cough and clear them out asap.

Is anyone following the gina ford's routine? hehes, can't remember who was the one who suggested this book, but i am thinking if feeding on demand is better or feeding on routine? Still quite confused le.

cindy, are u feeling better now?

Agree with u that babies cannot be feeding on a routine. From experience i find it is pretty impossible unless ur bb happen to be the 'guai guai' type.

I was quite active in the july thread few months back when they were all talking abt the Gina Ford's theory/routine. Then recently i saw that they also began to think its not possible. I wanted to get the book to read on too..but aft realise it probably would not apply to all babies.

Catherine, Rachel's bb weigh 2.88kg and jus got to know that her Nicholas was born today, not yesterday! She was admitted abt 3-4am yday morning and only this morning she gave birth. Aft 27hrs of labour pain! Gosh! Must ask her to share her birth story!

Hi hi Catherine...I haven't deliver yet. Been reading the post rather than contributing coz' I was busy for the past 2 weeks doing handover and training a new guy to cover my work.

I am officially on leave today! (clearing my annual leave from today onwards and starting my ML on 12 Nov, also my EDD).

Please change my EDD from 9 Nov to 12 Nov. And..I am expecting a bb gal. thanks!

Also went for check up today, and gynae said bb should be delivering around my EDD as my 1st one was overdue. Hope I don't have to be induced again! Praying hard....

I will be able to post more now coz' not working mah!

As the D day gets nearer, I start to feel more nervous....

Grace, Tweety! Congrats to both of you!!!

Now is the time to enjoy special attention from your hubby! We "suffered" for 9 months so, our hubby should take special care for us during confinement. :p

Take care and rest well ladies!

There is a book called babywise ;cant rem title. I practise that for my first child. It was effective. Feed on schedule in the day and feed on demand at night.

He slept throughout since 10 weeks. Then started to wake up at 5.5 months because inadequate food.
I introduced solid at 5.5months and he went back to sleeping throughout the night.

S@L, okie... So, it guess its up to individual babies... The Gina Ford method, i m not very sure what it is about... But i guess if u really want to put babies on a routinue... Must really tahan their cries!

Like today, my gal simply refused to be breastfed in the afternoon... I was so frustrated coz usually she is able to latch on properly...

So in the end, i gave her 1 oz of formula milk to calm her down. This whole feeding took me 1.5hrs.. I was so exhausted after that... No wonder some ladies can lose weight looking after babies!

catherine: tmc will provide the glass milk bottles if u ask from them. but be prepared that the bottles are different shapes n sizes.

my gal having a bit of jaundice.. 2moro is her routine check.. hmm... dunno what pd will say....

congrats to mandy, yami, grace and rachel. Rest well ladies.

I'm not sure about anyone else but i am having such a hard time BF. My nipples are sore and bleeding...I know the reason is because my son won't latch on properly and he only suckles the tip of my nipples which is why im getting so much pain. Try as I might he just won't latch on. I am spending at least 1hr trying to feed him each time. It is getting very frustrating, and I feel really hopeless! My hubby tells me to just put baby on the bottle seeing how much we are suffering. But I know I have to persevere and carry on. I have been back to TMC to see the lactation consultants, who have shown me how it should be done. So I have tried using their method. However, baby is still stubborn and having me make him latch off and on is only making him more frustrated. I'm soo upset right now. I hope he learns to latch on properly soon..I don't think I can handle another week of pain!! sob..sob

yah the bottles i have also all different sizes.

Mandy, how many bottles did u collect? I had 12...

tomorrow my CL will arrive and i will also have my massage. I cant wait to wash my hair...its so yucky..

oh tweety..
i understand how u feel, i hope bb will latch properly. i have slight bleeding on one nipple and its sore. Do try to perserve on. have u tried a nipple shield? mayb not so pain... otherwise, express out your milk, at least bb is still getting your breast milk.

dont be too stressed otherwise it will affect the milk flow. pls take care!!

I read some reviews of gina ford on the net. Seems like most of the reviews found her book useful but may not be practical, as sometimes, it is hard to get a bb to stick to routines. Hmmm, I am trying to get a book to read up and see what she recommend, although I prob need to tailor it for my bb.

1st time being a mum & reali taxing 2 attend 2 bb most of e time bt seeing his lovable face juz made me able 2 go thru..nt enu rest evrydy. Bb wakes up twice for feeding in e nite & i cant sleep durin e day coz nt a habit. My milk supply came since day 4 after latching bb. Bt he suckled veri hard & i heard so much stories abt sore & bleeding nipples so i quickly started using Medela Swing electric pump w stimulation function (most r juz ordinary electric) Been enjoyin expressing coz its nt painful at all & able 2 noe e amt tat i express out. Empty breasts after ea session.

After i gave birth, i was so surprised tat my tummy strunk so much..& as i bf mre, it got even smaller as it will contract ur uterus. Nw looked like 2mths preg & most water retention r almost gone. Guess tis is wat i been hoping 4 coz i missed my former fiqure. To be frank, i hv been gg out quite a few times alredi & i totally break all confinemt rules including bathing. Altho i hv my mum doin my confinemt bt most of e time i take care of bb including bathing & changin nappies & cleaning accessories. The rest like cooking meals, washing nappies & clothings & etc i leave it 2 her so as nt 2 tire her too much. I even had visitors who wana visit me at hm...so showering is a muz for hygiene. For e sake of bb & ppl ard us.

TMC provides great svc so far & upon requests u can ask for glass bottles & disposable nipple cap.

Tweety, dun get too stressed. Let your baby feed from bottle first and let ur nipples recover. In the meantime, u can pump the breastmilk to keep the supply going.

That's what happen to me. Claire can't latch on properly and both my nipples are sore & bleed. So i pumped out the breastmilk and feed her initially... Now, getting the hang of it, so its direct breastfeeding...

Mandy, jaundice will only show up during the 2nd day. Dun worry too much about it. My baby was hospitalised for jaundice when she was 6 days old, and her jaundice has gone now. The PD told me that it will take 1 mth to go away.

S@l if i postpone my c section next date will be on 6th or 9th Nov. Called my gynae today and told her that i am down w flu. She asked if I having fever. If I got fever guess I need to postpone.

Cindy, same I wish to get the load off me too. Can't stand it. Sleeping and walking everything seems to be so difficult. Unlikely to postpone it.

Adeline must be preparing for her arrval.

I just finish my bag pack. Tml will be checking in at 9am to do scan and proceed to administration.

Twiggy, plim,
Contractions were e most painful exp i evr had esp when i was strapped to the CTG & on induction drip at e same time. Wana move also cannot (tied up). Too bad i inhaled e laughing gas too late. Personally i tink e laughing gas is sufficient bt nt too sure if labour is mre than 6hrs. My advice is nt 2 go for induction unless no choice.

Superhappymum,
Yes, Dr Ang is veri busy almost evrydy rushing fr clinic to hosp then bac 2 clinic and to hosp several times a day ..as he handles alot of deliveries almost evrydy. Wonder hw gynaes like him can cope w such tight schedules? As he was preparing 4 my delivery, he also had another one waiting & etc.
My assigned PD is Dr Terence Tan bt his clinic is at Mt A. Btw, when did u attend e bf & bathing session at tmc?

Congrats 2 Tweety, Jo, Grace, Mandy, Yami, Rachel! Bundles of joy!

Mums,
I admitted my bb to TMC for jaundice on Mon & discharged on Wed. Its such common prob 4 chinese babies. They said wun clear off until few wks later thus i din worie at all.

Tweety,
Dont' be too stress. I understand how you feel as I experience the same thing during my 1st baby.

For the sore nipple and bleeding, don't latch on anymore. Apply nipple cream and "air" your breast. I mean with you front button open. It helps on me.

Try to pump out your milk as personally, I find it less painful as compare to baby suckle.

Don't feed your baby using teat as baby will "addicted" to the teat. Use cup feed of your EBM.
Have to be patient during cup feeding as some of your EBM will leak out with baby's mouth. "Heart ache" when seeing the limited milk wasted this way

Hope this will help.

I am now still struggling with increasing my milk supply....

congrats to Rachel! our 1st Nov mummy!

Vivian, my checkups are normally on Saturdays. then i think i never met u b4...hehehe

Thanks ladies for your support and advice.

I am expressing my milk, even after every breast feeding attempt to maintain my supply. I did feed baby through a bottle at first and I realised that he prefers the bottle! He is much more comfortable with it and is able to suckle more milk. I have insisted my CL feed him with a spoon now hoping it will wean him off the bottle. But, like you say Supermama ...seeing the precious milk being spat out of his mouth because hes not used to swallowing by the spoon makes my heart soo pain...especially when hes hungry. At this point I feel like bottle feeding him my expressed milk and be done with it! Should I? Will it be easier to feed him the breast later on when it is more managable and less sore...because as far as I can remember the nipples becames quite 'rubbery' after a few weeks right? Quite immune to pulling and tugging by the baby.

One question,
Anyone know where I can get a replacement funnel for my medela PIS electric pump? Mine has cracked already!!

Lynda,
Congrats! Your baby is adorable!

Good luck to the mummmies who are 'popping' today!

K@ya,

I'm taking my son to TMC today to check his jaundice level. How high was your baby's jaundice level to be admitted?? There has been no sun these pass few days, so very hard to 'sunbathe' him. I do not want to admit my son in hospital. As far as I know, almost all babies get jaundice, and a few sessions of 'sunning' will get rid of the yellowness.

Tweety, get spare parts from Mums and Babes.

If u feel v stressed up, just expressed and feed bottle. Retrained him later.

Most importantly u are not stressed up and can produce quality milk for him

wow just 2nd Nov and already 11 mummies popped...and can see that a few mummies popping today!!

Congrats to all mummies and remember try to take lots of rest if possible!!

for those still on waiting game (like me)..enjoy the last few moments hehe

Dear all...

been MIA for quite long till can't follow :p

Wanna share my joyful news..

I've given birth on 22 Oct 2007 to my cute bb boy, Anthony B Lim. Weight: 2.885kg. Length:48cm.

Here's my birth story..

I had natural birth with epi. Stayed 3days in TMC.
Admited to TMC on 11.15pm, 21/10/07. Discharge on 25Oct07.
22 Oct 2007:
12am: Had tablet insterted to soften the cervix.
7.25am: Still no dilatation
8.15am: Had another tablet insterted. Was sent back to my room and I walked a lot to help my dilatation. My butts really hurts!!!
2.25pm: Was shaved, had my bowel cleaned
3.00pm: 1-2cm dilated. Doc burst my water bag.
3.15pm: Was put on drip. Contraction coming every 2mins for 30secs.
4.26pm: Had VE by doc. 3-4cm dilated.
5pm: Had the entonox.
8pm: Nurse check my cervix. Still 3cm dilated. ~*Faint*~. (onli 1cm dilated after 5hrs in contraction pain).. Decided to take epi.
8.40pm: Took epi.
10pm: Doc came. Full dilated. Ready to give birth. I couldn't believe. 7cm opening, in less than 2 hours wif epi.
10.18pm: My dearest bb Anthony came to the world. What an amazing feeling I had, when I saw him in my hands (almost in tears)....
kao_love.gif

Will share his pic wif u soon :p

Adeline has delivered her bb. According to her the c-sect was pushed forward to this morning as her contractions came midnight so she admitted and delivered at 9.48am. bb at 3.125kg. COngrats to her!

Re: Drugstore Spree #1

Ladies, the stuff are here! Finally for batch 1. Give me some time to sort them out and weigh them so that i can advise on the postage. Those of u whose hubbies can collect on behalf, do inform me can come over the weekends!

Superhappymum,
do u still want the tea urgently? i have received the 1st batch, i can pass u my tea if u need it first. Have sent u an email with my contact. Let me know.

congrats to eufrasiajq & adeline! pls rest well. we are waiting for baby fotos. so many Nov mummmies popped already. so exciting!

K@ye, thanks for your reply on how to use the Da Feng Cao. Hang in there w your BFing ok? Hope you and baby will settle into a nice feeding pattern soon.

Lynda, thanks for sharing your advise on induction. I will be going for induction too and wanted to know what to expect. Your baby is really adorable!!

Dokie, the book you're refering to is "On becoming baby wise" by Gary Ezzo I think.

RE : Breastfeeding
I'm worried too that I will have trouble breastfeeding. Thinking of expressing into bottles and just feeding baby from bottles. But I heard that once you get baby use to bottle, can't switch back to breast. But then again, what are the disadvantages of feeding fully expressed BM apart from having the added inconvenience of having to wash bottles?

Twiggy,
I guess part of the nutrients will be lost thru freezing/thawing and warming of milk. Also read that the some nutrients/ antibodies will cling onto milk bags used for storing milk.

Best choice is definately to latch on as its always at the right temperature. But if really cannot like my 1st bb, some BM is better than none.

Dear Mummies

I HAVE ONE BRAND NEW MINI FRIDGE-TO-GO (FTG) FOR SALE!

1051806.jpg

A revolutionary new way to keep your expressed breastmilk cool for 10 to 12 hours. This is your ultimate mini-fridge equivalent if you are looking for a place to store your Expressed Breastmilk (EBM) in office.

No Messy Ice
No Bulky Ice Packs
No Batteries!

FTG features the cooling power of a refrigerator in a standard cooler bag size. The secret is in the patented "Surround Cooling" Technology. With this Technology, the bag is cooled from every side so that any contents stored inside is kept cold for a full day. When your bottles or packs of EBM is placed inside a fully recharged Fridge-to-go, it will take less than 2 hours to chill it, working just like a refrigerator.

Features :
High-Performance Chilling Design
Versatile 6-Can Capacity
Easy-Tote Handle
Collapsible
Durable, Easy To Clean Exterior
Surround Cooling 10-12 Hours
16W x 16.5D x 22.5H(CM)
Just fold your FTG and place it in your refrigerator's Freezer Overnight so it will freezae and be ready for use the next Day.
It is 100% Reusable and you may store FTG in or out your refrigerator freezer for as long as you like.

Original Purchase Price: $44.90

Currently selling at $48 at retail stores and online.

<font color="ff0000">DISCOUNT Price that I am offering: $38</font>
<font color="0000ff">Self- Collection at Redhill/Tiong Bahru/Outram/Chinatown</font>

Interested buyers please feel free to contact me at [email protected]

S@L
I want to collect over the weekend ok?
How much do I have to pay for shipping costs? U compute and let me know.
I PM you to get your contacts for collection.
thanks so much