(2007/11) November MTBs

hi plumsource - yes there is a bbq pit near to the pool / club house. i must say the club house not very impressive but is big. Ok lets see what is the final number for the turn out by end of next week and shall decide if we would have the gathering at the club house or my place... hope to see you on the 31st!

Hi Kaye,

I think hor, maybe you want to settle for ready set earrings? Better if to buy a more than 1 carat diamond solitaire. My personal experience with 1 carat ring la is that someday you may find it too small. the toopid salesperson from one other jewellery shop commented that mine looks like a 0.7carat ring which sent me jumping. Now i kinda regret buying the 1 carat ring.

If you can hor, instead of buying diamonds, have you thot of buying a watch? like perhaps a rolex? or you not keen? (some feel its too oldish la). even if you dont get many chances to wear, at least the value is always there.

My husband knew that I have this wish to own a rolex queen. and then after i gave birth to kiros, he bought me my dream rolex queen... Eeer, he said cos he see me ke lian wo.. see me pump milk so ke lian. wake up middle of night so ke lian (act CL stayed with me for 2.5 months). kenna tear when delivering kiros so ke lian. And that since i am not working, he feel that there is no way i am going to fulfill this wish myself..hahahaha

Now i am toying in my head what should i next ask for liao after this second delivery. But he told me the rolex queen is final. chey..(but i suspect he wants to buy me a 2 carat ring now as he asked if i am willing to trade in my 1 carat ring for a 2 carat one and how much trade in value i can get back from gold heart) But hor, if he offers hor, i think i wont want to buy diamond liao. I will buy GOLD. hahahaha...

Maybe i am being selfish to have this thinking la, but i feel that if i dont help him to spend his money and slowly siphon his money to become mine, and that he has so much money, man will probably be upto more tricks. what's going to happen to me who has spent my youth being with him? and if he suddenly feels rich and lavish all this on other women then i will knock my head into the wall. and what is going to happen if someday he jilted me for someone else and i have nothing in my name? Or maybe i think too much liao.. kekeke.

Hi Catherine,
Seems like your man is improving. at least he is helping out with some household chores. keep it up and put it into his brain that you both are working, and there is every reason why he should help out. What's more you are also helping with the family expenditure.

I kinda of agree with k@ye about not letting the men making it a habit thingy. Perhaps betw a husband and wife, there should really be give and take. But hor, if anything adverse happens, its always the woman and children to suffer. So hor, i very kiasu and kiasee and selfish is that i feel i must always protect myself to certain extent that I must have a sense of security (and that is money) should he someday leaves me and my children.

Sharron,
thanks for letting us go ruin yr place, did u mention its at Laguna Park? these 2 days many posts, speed reading..

pig07,
waaa...wat a serious topic for my morning read.. but true to a great extent tho. But hor, diamonds really not much value, so i rather encash! I prefer $ sitting in my bank for investment - watches i may consider, but heng i am not into rolex yet. yr hubby so da fang - me gotta pay for my own for those little pleasures!

pig,
I'm so jealous! I have to reward myself... as hubby didn't do it... hahaha.

plumsource,
He was kinda offended but did mention that he would buy bigger when we have the extra $$$. But hor, since we have 3 kids now, looks like never gonna happen! hahaha

this ebayer... well, have to see for yourself

http://stores.ebay.com/Diamonds-by-Lauren
please don't drool hoh! hahaha

pig07, i share ur sentiments. Its right to hv some control over our man's wealth. I hv seen and heard too much abt straying men aft they become rich. It does help to keep abit of their wealth with us. ITs a very realistic issue IMHO. If hb strays, at least u still hv his money for our kids, myself etc...although the heart is not there anymore.

I believe in knowing what hubby does with his money although he can hv his own savings acc. BUT bottomline is the hb must do this willingly, and nt being forced to cos that will strain relationship.

Haha my hubby also believe in buying watches, but i prefer diamonds- always my BEST FREN! But its true la, diamonds hv no value, but i jus like. And like Lazykat, heee i also like money sitting in my bank...

s@L,
I don't know. I felt that he was quite sincere. I communicated with him first with e-mail before. That was almost 5 years ago now. He did some customizing for me for my second pair ;)

I guess I trust too much! hahaha

Pig07, similar to u I also got a rolex for my delivery but he said is his gift for me the next 5 years....I told him no way....
I am also a watch lover than diamond lover.

Yany, if u want cheap and reliable diamond, u can PM me because my neighbour works for a diamond wholesaler. hee... I paid for good quality with cert diamond at a very good price

Pig07,
I am a diamond and watch person, infact if my hubby buys me jewelry he won't go wrong. He brought me a Cartier watch when I gave birth to our first son, a Ebel watch when I had my second son and for my third a pair of diamond studs. But he can be forgetful about birthdays and anniversaries. Everytime I give birth it is very traumatic, so I guess my hubby like yours feel that we are very ke lian and need some sort of pick me up!

Dokie,

My diamond also comes from a friend who is diamond wholesaler in HK. All come with cert and super cheap compared to Jeweller. I will be getting my diamonds when he comes over in Oct...can't wait.

act before i deliver Kiros, i asked him what reward he gonna give me as i read that some mummies here hve reward from hubbies mah. then his reaction at that time was, where got money blah blah.. then i jus let it rest. cos i always feel that its impossible for him to spend that kind of money on a watch for me. So when he offer to buy me the watch, speedily i went to. I dont want him to change his mind.. hahaha..

Yes, cash is another security. but he always say i no need to come out with $ on household items and anything i buy is using credit card which he pays, so why do i need money? Then now i have this bad habit, which is to keep less than $20 in my wallet.. wahahahaha... anything i will use cards and let him pay.

CASH CASH CASH.. yes, good idea.. shall ask for more cash gifts..

anniversaries are good chances to chop chop chop.. when i bring up a date, he will ask me, how come so many anniversaries one huh. got rom anni, wedding anniv, par tor anniv, xmas, cny, new year, bday lah etc etc...

Hi Yany,
online lei.. you very daring lei. i only dare buy small items like clothes or cute cute thingy online.

i ever been to a fren fren's office at park mall. he has all sort of diamonds. For 18k (year 2004), can easily get a 3 carat loose diamond form him. but quality not so good la. but cant tell from naked eyes.

I have lost track about diamond pricing liao. in year 2005, a 2 carat from gold heart costs 40k (before discount), with prices going up for everything, i think now surely more expensive.

Plumsource,
your hubby so nice. rewards for all deliveries. My hubby didnt say his is reward for me. just say see me so ke lian and know is my dream hence he fulfill it for me. so there maybe or may not be reward for this 2nd delivery liao..

I realised that the FM powder doent get dissolve totally when making milk. A lump will get stucked at the bottom of the bottle.

Can i ask if that happens in your case and also how to ensure that all powder are fully dissolve?

what i did was to pour in 160ml of cold water, then 40ml of hot water, then the powder. As such, the water isnt hot enough to dissolve the powder fully.

I didnt dare to shake the bottle too vigourously as i heard will induce air??

pig07,

Your water is not hot enough. Its better if you do 50%hot and 50% cold, the powder should dissolve and then cool the milk by standing the bottle in cold water.

I didn't realise the price for diamonds are soo high here. I haven't really looked. But it all depends on the cut and the clarity. I saw a pair of 1 carat studs in D'Meyson's and they were priced at $7700, I think the the salesperson said they were D clarity. Still left me clueless.

Hi Plumsource,

But if i do it 50%/50%, it will probably be too hot for immediate consumption. I needed it immediate at timing like say night time when i wake up to make milk for kiros. And usually he is already at a stage of flipping here and there and hungry liao.

Dont know if can stir with spoon boh to make the powder dissolve fully?

Ya, for diamonds got what what cut and clarity etc... and some got black dots, some what yellowish etc..so many things..

pig, I always do the FM 60% warm - it's warm and 40% hot. cause at home we have the keep warm filter thing.. then I will take 60% that and 40% hot. End result if still hot, I will run under running water. I also make for immediate consumption loh... can keep him distracted by showing him how u make the milk and how u cool under running water.. hah works for me.

pig07,

With FM you can either mix a batch of milk and keep in fridge, just reheat in bottle warmer or hot water. This will save you time from having to mix the FM. FM can be stored in fridge for 24hrs.

If you want to give milk immediately, then I sugguest that you pre-mix the FM first with 50-60% hot water to make sure powder is completely dissolved. Keep this stored in fridge and when you want to give to BB...say in the middle of the night, you top up the remaining of with hot water. Because you have premixed and stored in fridge the hot water you add should make the FM just the right temp for you to give to BB. (Test first, you might have to try different amount for you to gauge the right temp), this will also eliminate the shaking of the bottle so less likely to cause colic. Try and see if this method works.

For example: For 200ml milk, you can premix FM with hot water, use 120ml. Once cooled, store in fridge. When u need milk top up with hot water, in this case 80ml. Voila, milk is ready in no time at all.

I use this method when I go out for the whole day. No need to carry soo much stuff, just the premix bottles, and a flask of hot water. I just top up the water when I need to feed and can do it anywhere.

Hi Cindy,

when i make the milk hor, i will usually leave him in the bedroom on the mattress or cradle wherever he is at at that moment. and then i will dash to the kitchen and make milk. Soemtimes my hubby will oversee him for a while if he is also awaken by kiros. Otherwise he will be sleeping. Then i fear that kiros will roll out of place, tat why i have to make the milk very quickly. if carry him in one hand hor, i cant make the milk lei. will slow down the whole process and he will be wide awake by the lights in the kitchen.. and i fear that he wont go back to sleep after his feed which could be 5am. Cos currently after his feed, he will doze back to sleep. there was once i brought him to kitchen and let my mum took over the carrying, biang eh, he didnt sleep right after his milk at 5am. from 5am to 7am, he just keep rolling and rolling on the mattresses. scary.

Hi Plumsource,
i didnt know that FM can be stored in fridge for 24hours. Now i know of this alternative. faster than what i am doing now and also at least it dissolves completely.

This is also a good way of storing milk when going out. Now that i am out, i have to carry the Tiger vacuum flask for hot water and another bottle for cool water. Aiyo, i am already thinking of how to store 2 babies stuff into one bag when we need to go out. Now i am already like siao char bo with a big haversack with bottle and vacuum flask portruding from it. come the second baby this year end i think i will have to carry another big bag.

Hallo ladies!

Thanks for all the advice!

My hubby gone case liao.... I was at my Mum's pl for 2 days liao.. He din even bother to call me....

Will be going to buy a pair of diamond studs later on...

Pig, i m not a Rolex person.... Ur hubby very good to u leh! Oh, as for the FM.. now our babies can burp on their own... Its okie to shake more if it dun dissolve!

Hi guys jus got my roster and alittle sucks...need to swap fo 2 off days on 1/2nd b4 i can come over sin on 28th haiz......

K@ye,take it easy la....think need to sit down and talk la.if relationship turn sour...affects the kids too

Dokie, u can go to this website, www.bluenile.com to check out the prices of loose diamonds...

The price is similiar to what i had done the market research...

I just got my pair of diamond studs. Its 0.3carat per piece... Its fortunate for my hubby that 0.5carat studs dun look good on my earlobes!!!

Just to share, i bought the diamond studs for 2.2k, 0.3carat, D Color, VS1 clarity & cut ranges bet very good & excellent.

Based on my research so far, the most impt thing that make a diamond shine is cut + clarity!

Plumsource, i also got my diamonds in HK from a wholesaler... choose the loose diamond and get it set...

Eye opener when that uncle bought me to a place in Tsim Sha Tsui... That place all full of jewellers & stuff... U wont believe that how ugly white gold looks before polishing etc etc.

Hi K@ye,

heng you never go buy loose diamond and let them set for you into earring. What happened is my grandma has loose daimonds and went to set into a pair of earring. it doesnt look nice on her ears as probably her lobes were loose or too heavy for her lobes. IF you had went to to buy 0.5carat each side and let them set, then no return liao when you find that it doesnt look nice on your lobes. I think D colour and VS1 clarity is the higher range liao right?

perhaps your hubby feel that you are both safe and happy at your mum's place hence never call you to disturb?

My hubby ok la. he siao siao one. will let him know what i want and he will say siao ah, so much $$$ etc. but he will try to fulfill if within his means but not immediately. perhaps he didnt want me to think that things come so easily. Sometimes i also grumble that i got no $ la this and that la.. then he will reply that he also has got no $ what.. !#@$%^&*().. then my answer to him is, i never say you got $ what. i only say i got no money mah. He is like that one lor. siao one.

I also realise that solitaire being more cuts will shine better than princess cut though i would love to have a pair of princess cut ring or earring.

Hi Dokie,
if i remember correctly , i got my solitaire ring 1.01carat from gold heart at @$14k after 20% discount. That was suppose to be in year 2003 xmas period. As for clarity and cut is also of slightly better range one.

ever heard that the elder child will be especially noisy when mummy is pregnant?

aiyo, i heard of this before.. but it slipped my mind. I think that could be one of the causes. Kiros has been so so noisy for the past weeks consider that he used to be a good boy last time. My mum said such will end only after the second child arrives. omg. I mean this is pantang saying la..

mummies, got any 'antidote' for such boh?

K@ye,

You got your diamonds!!!! You go girl!!! No messing around with this lady! haha
Did you get your studs from bluenile or the uncle in HK? Now I bet your hubby wished he helped you in the morning. Enjoy them and keep telling yourself that you deserve it, because you do

Pig, if the diamond is more than 0.5 carat... I will go for loose diamonds....
Coz usually diamonds to look the best is very simple setting, 4 claws is the most simple... Mine studs is 5 claws coz it looked good on me!

Plumsource, i bought my studs from Goldheart. My wedding engagement ring & the pendant was bought from the uncle in HK.

morning mummies..

wow so many posts just on fri and weekends.. hv to rush thru all the threads..

update on cailyn:
weight: 7.6kg
lenght: 69cm

nurse told me that she is below 25percentile wor~.. sigh.. too light for her age.. and now recently she refuse to finish her milk too.. making me more worry..

Hard Stool:
any mummies know how to make the stool softer so that bb can easily push it out. Yest night she was pushing so hard and I can see the poo at the edge liao but cant get it out.. poor bb.. mummy see liao also hard pain.. me scare got blood.. sigh.. any remdy for this? oh, she has not poo for 3days liao.. today is the 4th day.. hopefully she can pushed all out at nanny's plc..

On my Saga with my hubby, i finally went home last nite.

The moment my hubby saw us or rather Claire. He immediately scooped her up from her stroller and sayang her!

The best part is he simply refused to put her down... Just carried her... Claire just seemed so happy to see him too.

hi mambobb,

hard stool,

some are cause by food, some naturally, after my boy takes solid, he poo twice everyday, sometimes I worry he dun absorb enough nutrients, everything comes out. I feed him brown rice mixed with 5 grain rice, veg, meat/fish and every meals comes with apple and water too. and sometimes yoghurt, oatmeal too.

maybe you might wanna change her diet? more fibre and water.

you mean your gal refuses to eat solid and now milk too? sometimes some babies are more fussy in food so you might need to come up with varieties to make them eat, every day porridge might be too boring for her, sometimes marcaroni, beehoon soup etc... just got to find what she likes lor.

. Weishy, Hayley and HB (2A 1BB)
2. Kaye & Claire (1A 1BB)
3. Gemini, bb and HB (2A 1BB)
4. Mambobb, bb and HB (2A 1BB)
5. Sharon, Ashton and HB ((2A 1BB)
6. Happy, bb and HB (2A 1BB)
7. Catherine, bb and HB (2A 1BB)
8. Lazykat, bb and HB ( (2A 1BB)
9. SusanY, Jaxten and HB (2A 2BB)
10. Skye skye, bb Eliza and HB (2A 1BB)
11. Cactus & Eagan and HB (2A 1BB)
12. S@L w Mischa and HB (2A 1BB+1TOD)
13. zzz, Aaron and HB (2A 1BB)
14. grace w Ashlyn and HB (2A 1BB)
15. Plumsource w Luis + Maid (2A 1BB)

I can confirm my attendance now that we have decide to go on our hols in November instead.

mambobb,
did u give ur gal fibrous food as well as water?
i think these will help in her passing of stools, although there might be some days she might still hv prob poo-ing but will not be as bad lor... i can imagine it's heartpain to see them 'gek' so much yet nothing come out

i always chop up spinach and add to her porridge... will also give her apple puree (yes, still puree :p), prunes, plums as fruits.. actually i hardly give her water apart from the sips she takes when taking her porridge, cos she will be playing with the magmag and not sucking from it!
if still no output, perhaps you might wan to bring her to doctor to prescribe medication (to standby) for her poop...

k@ye,
you good ah, action plan done already!
hehe, did ur hb see your studs already?

update:
Bevis weight: 8.3kg (considered light or not ah?)

actually same as some mummy who mentioned her before, Bevis hasn't been to any further check-ups since her 6-mth jab... asked the PD (not the same one she saw when she was born) if it is necessary, he said not required unless i feel that she is not meeting some milestones?... the next visit will be at 12 or 15-mth for her next dunno wat jab... is it true that not required for checkup between 6-mths and 12-mths ah?

k@ye,

At least your hubby is back. Have u made peace? I bet he miss u and Claire, but too proud to admit to you. Anyway I'm sure he will buckle up and pay attention to you now.

happy: meehoon soup? u mean those from hawker center one or cook ourselves?

plumsource: I dont hv time to cook over the weekend. Need to take care of her by myself and sometimes DH needs to work. So I only feed her cereal from Nestle.. different taste each week lor. I tried to give her honeydew, she doesnt like it.. gave her watermelon, oh at least she likes it. Yest wanted to give her papaya at IL's place but she refused to eat.. maybe still full from her cereals and biscuits.. I think I didnt give her enough water.. shd give her water parade liao..

So there is nothing that can soften the stools now? I mean those at the edge now? I know for adults can insert something inside and soften it and it will come out easily.. for bb leh?

Mambobb, rice cereal heaty... So might have difficulty in pooing...

Now my Mum told me to give at least 4oz of water to Claire for water parade. Its harder to give Claire water parade now coz she knows how to twist & turn... Sometimes, she will even use her hand to swipe at the water!

Plim, i din talk to my hubby unless necessary when i went home last nite. He din see my studs but he saw the GIA cert for the studs.

Plumsource, dun think got make any peace with him. But he did try to provoke some reaction from me by purposely switching his PC loud. I just ignore him.

Ya and i will try to prevent my in laws from seeing Claire where possible. I know its bad of me to do that but this will teach him for taking things for granted.

mambobb,

cook ourselves lah, got to make it very very small,cut and cut and cook longer, put in chopped veg, meat, as per normal lor.

just gonna try all kind of food to get her to eat, make eating fun for her, dun force if she dun want and another way is drop a few drop of olive oil to her food ( to help put on some weight)

if she wants to eat adult food, then pretend to put her food in your bowl and eat together with her, basically make it like a game, eat with her and makes all kind of yum yum sounds, sometimes, give her and sometimes dun, play like fighting food with her.

most important is to get her to eat, table manners, habits later lah.

mambobb,

forgot to mention that, maybe her lost of appetite is becos of her constipation, imagine your stomach bloated and intestine full of stool, still wanna eat? so got to help her on that first, after we go toilet and release liao, we feel very comfortable and stomach all empty so feel hungry lor :)

prune and yogurt is good

kaye: ahiyo.. it makes me need to cook porriage for her liao lor.. sigh.. now back to newbie again.. dig out all the threads to see how to cook porriage.. haha..

i rem some mummy put it in a slow cooker and cook it over night and next day can eat liao. or we can just cook it in the morning like 8am and dump all the veg inside and cook together?

happy: she doesnt like yogurt arh.. even a little of sour taste also cannot one.. I dont see any Prune juice for bb leh.. or do I miss out that on the shelves?

k@ye,
well, mayb ur hb is guilty of agonizing u, hence dun dare to make any comments even when he saw ur cert!

qn, how do u give Claire water parade? feeding through milk bottle? how to make sure she gets the water without choking and that she drinks all u gave her? so far, i only give her in spoons (small mouthful), even so, she will sometimes choke also...

mambobb,
porridge very easy one, jus dump in all the vege u need into the porridge and cook altogether... usually i will pre-cook the soup base (so that i can freeze and store for sat and sun's porridge cooking)... my soup base can be pork ribs + corn + carrot or just all sorts of vege for a vege soup base... i cook my porridge in a claypot and cooks within an hour... otherwise can put inside slow cooker (but i find it longer, like 3 hrs at least?), good in the sense that no need to watch over fire...

<font color="ff0000">RE: Water Parade</font>

First, i will feed Claire thru the milk bottle. Usually first thing in the morning before she has her milk. So, usually she will drink 2-3oz on an empty stomach...

When she stopped drinking from the bottle, i will coax her till she drink the min amt. When all else fails, it will be feeding thru spoon lor..

The standard tactic Claire gave me will be crying, twisting, closing her mouth &amp; choking.. So, got to coax her till she finished everything...

BAsically, need to have time to do water parade. Usually it takes me at least 15 mins to get her to drink the min amount of water.

Also, my Mum will on &amp; off con her to drink water.

mambobb,
no need prune juice for bb, just the normal one can liao. sunsweet? add water har. bailey boil with sugared tong gua strip good too but try to cut out the sugared layer. helps to cool her system and clear her stool out and hydrate her too.

yogurt can add in apple puree or banana to make it less sour, try again, my boy dun like new stuff usually give me awful face but after i kept trying, he get used to it, he eats but again dun force, just intro the new taste first, today dun like, next few days try again and then dun like, then stop and try again another day, else becomes choosy, that's my theory :) and intro new taste when they are hungry only.

cook brown rice porridge, good and full of fibre, everything chopped till fine and throw in, buy little silver fish instead of ikan bilis and chopped till fine too so that she can eat the fish instead of just using the soup base.

if using slow cooker, must put in boiled water to cook else longer, slow cooker to cook for dinner better, for morning, use normal steel pot else no time, put in rice first, once boil, put to small fire, got to stir else stick to the bottom and then put in meat or hard veg ( carrot, potato, pumkin), when rice half cook, put in veg, water becomes dried, put in boiled water again. usually i prepare all ingredient in the morning and then half put in fridge to cook for dinner later.

really no time, then cook brown rice in rice cooker, then take out the cooked rice and put in boiling soup and add in veg to cook, faster.

Mambobb, what i usually do is to cook the veggie first.

Then use the veggie stock to cook the porridge in the slow cooker. USually 3 hours is enough but sometimes i cook overnight coz i m lazy to wake up early to cook.

I realise if u cook the veggie first rather than dump the veg + rice into the slow cooker. The porridge will taste better.

Spinach is good for easing constipation!

kaye,

wow, your water parade keeps reminding me of japanese occupation leh, everytime you mention it. have you tried using straw :) my boy likes to play with it but at least some water goes in :) i gave him pigeon mag mag, step 3 and he is drinking from it liao, but meal times, I still spoon him water to make sure more water goes in :)