(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

finally finish my closing yday,can relax a bit le,hehe...

jovialz:hope charlyn will guai guai still in ur tum tum until the right time.

CM:has carlson's fever subside? Mayb he's sick hence he's losing weight. Dun worry,he will gain back once he's well again.

re:IBS
any cure for it?Do u hv anything that can help u destress? So ur hb oso coming bac for gd? He finish his studies ah?

Gd morning mummies...

CM, gosh...hope carlson's fever has subsided. Dun worry abt his weight. T also always lose weight when he gets sick. Will gain back once he recovers. The doc & nurses there so un-pro one ah? Cant help it since u r there now & need their help wif carlson's fever.
Wow...workin will make u hav IBS ah? due to stress? Perhaps u find a more relax job den wont get IBS again?

Jovialz, im feelin ur excitement in countin down.

Jas, seldom see ur posts lately. How's ur condition now?

cherie .. .ya all of us coming back for good
... kekekek hahaha i LOL cos we like to go back to SG but also like the weather here ... but i know my HB 100% dun want to stay even a day longer

IBS ... no no cure for this ... destress ... hmmm maybe when i have lots of $$$ and i dun have to work or stress on looking for a job LOL ... i really hope thati can find one that i like and not work for the seek of working that's all ... Maruko i will not get IBS due to work .. but IBS due to looking for a job asap

Carlson's fever ... yes its gone for now ... if by tomolo the fever is still not back den i think he has recover liao but i am also 90% sure that the fever will not come back for good too cos he is also on antibiotic which i knew that he needed it long ago ...

CM, glad to hear Carlson's fever subsided liao. So the IBS is due to lookin for jobs & not due to workin. Dun worry lah. Currently job market quite ok. Perhaps u can start brushin up on ur resume for now?

CM, so heartpain to hear dat Carlson is losing so much weight.. sayang sayang. hope his fever subsides soon!
and for your IBS, DUN take cold drinks ok? it will trigger...

hippo ... is it ... cold drink will trigger it ??? hmmmm ok will take note thanks for info

maruko ... ya will have to update the resume soon ... sian man ... LOL but if i can find a work in town den can meet up for lunch also not too bad right ...hahahaha

Good Morning Mummies!!

Been occupied and thinking about my maid going home issue until, I had no time to pop here to chat.
Conclusion: My maid willing to come back after 6wks home leave, but I will have a problem during this 6wks! So, I am now on a maid hunting spree.....

Junnie,
Thanks for your update on lasik procedure. Ohh.. sad to hear your case not so direct and may have to spend more if proceed. haiz.. I think I already have "lao hua" now. Whenever I read, somehow I need to adjust the distance in order to see clearly. Old liao old liao....
Ask you... do we need to take medical leave or leave from work after procedure? How long is the down time? I need to make some arrangement if I cant report to work and I need to know how long I need to be away from work.. Please advise.

CM,
Please dont stress abt job search... Plenty in the market. It is more about managing your expectation. Trust you have a sum of savings to last you for some time, so, dont stress, okie?
haha.. your hb is the one dealing with indonesian, of cos, he is not enjoying his life there, while you are there being a taitai, of cos you dont want to come back...

Andrea also suddenly has fever this morning.. was cranky this morning and kena canning from her daddy.... need to teach her to "grow up" she has been seeking attention from the maid and wants her to carry and dont allow her to do other things! Haiz.. I hope when my current maid go, she will grow to be more mature soon.

Maruko,
How is MS? Getting better?

Jovial,
So excited for you now..... Enjoy while you can and take care mummy.

CM,
Yes... find one in town and we can have mummy's lunch regularly..

btw, which area are you going to buy or rent? You sold all your house and cars?

CM, ya find 1 in town den can join us for lunch when we hav any.

Tiffany, MS still not so gd. Plain water is totally out coz it triggers each time I tried. So had to find alternatives lor. Tried the teh-cino which I normally drink from Mr Teh Tarik. When hot still ok, but when less warm drink it taste like my puke. End up still chiong toilet. No more liao. Sigh...
re: maid
wow...6wks ah? Juz make sure she dun com back being preggy den u gotta send her back. My fren's maid was like dat. Haha...buy her boxes of condom to bring back juz in case. :p hehehe...

Maruko,
I am much better now. waiting for the day to come for xray on the 19th oct. Regards to the stupid company, i am mentally prepared. I wrote to them a long letter and told them of all my disasters is bcos of them. If they still want to sue me, just go ahead la. I am sure the judge has his/her compassionate side on this helpless civilian. So i am just take it easy attitude.

Btw, mummies..i think i have 危机感 already. Dayan can't recongnise ABCs, 123s, shapes, colours etc..he is only good at talking "rubbish" to me. I am getting kan cheong. Cos all of his friends can not only recongnise, but also can draw & write..wah! I have to only blame myself cos didn't make an effort to teach him daily. Plus i got no patience with him especially.

Then now i start to intro alphabets & numbers to him. And he has no interest at all. He display those Bo Chap attitude to him. So piss off with him. Then i yell at him lor. I say your friends know everything, you dun know anything!! (repeat several times) I think this hurts him alot. He says he want to go to yiyi's house after school. (from ytd onwards, i ask him to come back straight home, instead to go to yiyi's house cos i want him to skip nap & sleep early in the night)

How to instil happy learning AbCs? I feel so guilty to him..see how impatient i am lor?

Tiffany,
Wah! six long weeks leave ah? You better standby a maid ald.

CM,
Means your 大肠 is weak too. When you come back, must tiao your body. Look for chinese physican?
Must take care..dun rush too many things at the same time.
you can spending your time finding a house first lor..settle down ald then look for a job.

Jas, gd to hear u r takin a positive attitude. I believe dat stupid company sure hav "loads" of cases to sue ppl. Best is they lose all of the cases.
re: Dayan learnin
relax there. I tink if u stress too much on his learnin now den mayb it will trigger his "hatred" on studyin in future. Perhaps tink of incorporatin games wif the alphabets & numbers to begin with. Sometimes when we r outside or when T sees something den I will take opportunity to ask him either the color or number on the thing. If he is wrong den I will correct him. For eg, on the rd we see a taxi. T will say "taxi" den I will ask him wat color it is. When he sees a bus den I will ask him the number on the bus. Sometimes the number will not b in sequence den I will correct him accordingly. Make sure u sing praises to him when he gets it rite. Take it ez. I'm sure he will pick up soon.

Actually T also cant write yet. He can only differentiate colors & numbers so far.

Jas: glad to hear that u are recovering well. Take a step each time in teaching Dayan. Mayb u can start off with playing alphabets/numbers game wif him. Like what maruko said,when there's opportunity to ask him on colour or shape,guide him along if he's wrong.

Shanice oso can't write yet & she's bad in numbers.

Jas,
yes, I am getting another maid to replace her. Really hope I get a suitable maid and no blood boiling later on... Haiz.. really hate the transition.

Regarding Dayan... You need to be patient. Need to put effort de... Set a daily routine to read to him, keep inputing to him and one day, he will surprise you with his output. Also, dont scold him and compare him with others... and do praise him for every little things that he does. I have learnt all these from Shichida teachings...On the other hand, doesnt he learn all the ABC/ 123/colours/ shapes etc from school? I do see improvement after Andrea attended school lei. Also, she will bring back a simple story book regularly and she can usually read the whole book. As notified by the school. they will only let the student bring home the story book if they are able to read the whole book.

Try to act out and be as drama as possible when you teach Dayan. Also, learn through songs and music.. they love music... Do you put him in any enrichment classes?

Maruko & cherie,
I guess Patience is all i need now. last min wants to hug the buddha leg. hahaha! Suddenly feels dayan is so lag behind all bcos of a lazy mummy. Before i am injured, all i care is to make sure they eat well, sleep well, mess the house while i keep clearing them up. Ha! Little did i know that i didn't really pay attention to their development progress. Got to work harder on this. Tsk. Got to teach him like a baby who has a stubborn attitude.

I wanted to send him to a phonics class but the least criteria is to recongnise ABCs. that's why i so kan cheong now lor..hahahaha!

Jas, perhaps u can delay sendin him to phonics class for now. Take 1 step at a time. Dun rush him & make both of u so stressed out over his progress. Juz remember their brain is a sponge now, very ez to absorb but u need to observe & tackle him to listen to u. I also agree wif Tiffany not to compare him wif others. It will make him feel inferior & add more pressure also. Make it a habit to read stories to him b4 bedtime. I also insist my hb to read to T nowadays, which I hav been the one doing it previously.
HEY, no need so kan cheong lah. He is only 3. Wat hav we been doing when we r at 3? Playin marble, hop-skotch, zero pt, barbie dolls, transformers? Hahaha...see how we bcom PROFESSIONALS now? *ahem* kekeke... :D

Tiffany,
No..he didn't learn much from school leh. Only keep singing songs. And on rare occasion, the school will let him bring back a book. He doesn't know the words..i read to him though.

Maruko,
Okok! i know i need to be patient BUT BUT must do something to it liao. i am too slack in the past!

Both of you are right. I shouldn't compare him with others. But you must see his face & attitude. Makes your temperature boil! BTH! ok! i must be exceptionally cool when handling him.

Jas, perhaps next time he makes ur blood boil den u go drink a BIG glass of water to cool down? No lah u r not slack lor. Me the slack one. T learns onli bcoz he in cc. If not perhaps he also in similar case as Dayan liao.
Juz out of curiosity, do u often shout at both boys when they get notti? How do u punish them?

I noticed nowadays T will observe my facial expression liao leh. Like last nite he gets cranky for no reason den I scolded him 越来越坏蛋...he cried even louder coz old empress pacifyin him. Den she carried him into her room to calm him down. I hack care watch my tv. After some time, T came out of the room den keep lookin at me while walkin little steps towards me. I can see his face showin fear, den he walked to my knees & put his head on my thigh den waitin for me to sayang him. Wah...den I realised he cares alot abt how I feel towards him coz he noes im angry at him for makin noise. I hugged him den told him no more next time & he nodded his head. I even told him to go sayang daddy also coz T shouted at him to go away when he gets cranky. I tot he juz hugged daddy nia but he even said "sorry daddy". Surprised both me & hb.

hihi mummies!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ALL OCT KIDDOS!
Wish great health & happiness for all our lil ones!

been super busy since my mama's arrival at Beijing, everday go shopping, makan, outing! shiok!

jas,
hope ur leg's condition is improving much.. dear, like what the rest said, dun get too anxious over this.. i believe Dayan is learning and absorbing lots of things as well, he may not show it out.. and i understand it's natural that we nervous abt their "academic" performance, like knowing all the numbers, ABCs etc.. he maybe more advanced in other aspects like social & emotional skills, he will pick up all these ultimately.. agree wi Maruko, try not to press hard so not to instill hatred towrds learning.. how abt those songs teaching numbers & alphabets? zq loves to listen to all these songs and he learns much from there..

actually i find that sch's education system is really making all very kancheong.. zq's sch here at Beijing everyday is abt PLAY! never see him learning to write in sch.. maybe that's montessori about? i wonder can he "survive" when he back to SG.. mummies, is it norm that CC & kindy in SG start teaching writing at 3 yo? i have been teaching zq writing and some simple maths whenever he shows interest.. he's quite a keen learner, im the one who always tired out and lazy to think of activities for him esp on days he dun hv to attend sch!

CM,
hope carlson is feeling better now... poor boy..
and good luck in ur house & job hunting! are u going to find an apt near pei hwa?

jas,
this is quite a bad idea from me, but i think it may help if "use" moderately.. how abt let him watch Leapfrog Letter Factory dvd to teach him alphabets? i let zq watch dvd half an hour a day.. he's favourite is hi-5, word world & leapfrog.. but only half hour a day, i will switch it off once times up, he also learn to "read" the clock thru this... haa

tiffany,
all the best in your maid-hunting also!
sigh... maid issue is always a headache.. even my ayi here also show pattern once a while.. i can only be more zen abt it and set my "blood boiling point" higher!

Junnie,

Wa, so much hurdle even aft you decide to do LASIK . Read in papers the latest tech is now Flex. Less complicated n reverSible much more $.

Jas,
Don't kancheong, Chloe also talk nonstop but don't know her ABCs n 123s.

Dodo,
I let them watch dvd (incl letter fac) everyday!! hahaah...he can recongnise a few letters only. but can prononuce all the sounds of the letters.
Share with me what do you do for them for a normal typical day leh..

maruko,
I was contemplatin whether to send them to CC instead cos longer time..means more learning time? haha..lazy bum me. What you think?

I seriously cannot be like hapi fifi and dodo who makes all the effort to teach the kids..

Dodo,
According to my sister (the kindy teacher), they only start to write next year. is it true?

Mummies:
Btw, what enrichment classes have you sent or intend to sent your kids to?

jas/dodo:yes,frm what i heard frm shanice's teacher,they only teach kids to write alphabet next yr when they are in N2.

re:enrichment class
i plan to let shanice go to phonics class next Jan. I hv let her go for the trial class but the teacher said she's not ready yet & ask me to start her next Jan since they will start frm Alpha A. My sis suggest to me to let our kids go for abacus class which is gd for their mathematics.

dodo, *wave wave* so long no see ur posts. wah...so shiok hor? tai tai life leh...eat, shop, outing everyday. :p
so when will u b comin back SG?

Jas, frankly if u ask me, I tink if ur finance allows den u can consider sendin them to half day cc. Coz afternoon after their nap time, its like playtime while waitin for parents to com fetch them. If u r "lazy" den juz put them full day to hav more ME time...hahaha... :p
re: enrichment
I only enrol him in the Kindermusic which his cc hav. I didn't & hav no intention of "occupyin" his wkend time. Frankly, I dun wanna "snatch" too much of his childhood time since he oredi at cc whole of wk days. So wkends will b play/family time.

Cherie,
Abacus? i tot can only start when they turn 5?

I think next year our kiddos can attend alot of enrichment classes. MEans bigger hole in the pocket. Phonics, english & chinese classes, swimming lessons, music (piano etc) lessons la...aiyo headache! hahahaa...

Should start opening a business anything regards to young children! Sure earn money.

jas u are not alone ... me a lazy SAHM also hmmm i did teach Carlson but he is not interested sometime and also if i teach him ABC he will just tell me no no no he is not willing to follow me on the things i teach him unless its abt transportation alone ... nothing else .. .BIG HEAD for me too ... and also he always like to say ... " I is Ready to go out" which is wrong .. and we will correct him by saying "I am" but still he will not listen to us
if he said that the color is blue and infact its RED ... he will also not willing to change the answer ... dun need to talk abt writing ... he is not willing to learn too unless i hold his hand but he is 100% relax and nvr learn anything ... i am giving up now till he go to school in Spore ...

oh Jas dun need to teach him ABC ... direct to phonics ...

dodo DD maurko jas ...
just today my hb's coll offer us his HDB in Teban Garden(rental) ... but hmmm dun no take or not need to ask the school bus too if they go there ... but the good thing is no agent is in the pic so not agent fee etc ... kekekeke yes will have to stay near to Pei Wah cos both the kids school will be there ... maid is also another big headache for me too need to hunt for one ASAP when i am back ... my ex maid wants to come back and work for me but the agency dun want to help cos she is already working for another family in singapore ...

DD ... just be careful in yr maid thingy cos my friend's maid also say she wants to come back and work and she is with him for 4 yrs liao ok .. . my friend even lent her the camera and she nvr come back ... wasted their time their return ticket and also the camera

Sick ... i think carlson should be almost well now ... i am still giving him medi on time so till now the fever is not back yet ... but the running nose is with blood !!! ... he PD here only gave him antibiotic ??? its ok i will just wait and see but he will recover soon

Gd morning mummies...

CM, wah not bad leh. U can skip payin agent fees to rent the flat. Den no need worry abt accomodation when back liao. Ur ex maid still got how long contract wif current employer? Mayb u ask another agency if can help or not lor. I'm not sure if they can or not. Hopefully can den another headache settled for u. How's Carlson today?

Jas,

J also can't write or color within the lines. He only knows shapes, colors, 1 - 10. I thought still not too late if we start the enrichment when they're N2. Which is also part of the reason why I decided to put him in CC. At least he gets to mingle with kids and play instead of staying at my in-laws place and watch TV. Trying to cut down on TV now also.

re: phonics
I didn't know they need to recognize ABC then can attend phonics???

Jas,
I did not enroll Caelen in any enrichment classes. He learn his alphabets and basic phonics from Leapfrog factory. Then whenever we see things with wordings, we'll ask "where is the letter "a" .. "b" etc.

The other 'good teacher' is the Iphone lor. I would download education application for him cos he is like me, like to explore thing and find out how it works himself rather then me teaching. Can't sent him to any phonic classes cos he can recognize the sound (from what I observe when I play the iPad app with him) but he don't talk.

Guess what, I end up still sign up with Studio Loft for Bloom shots. Cos I still don't have the courage to wear bikini by condo pool :p and I would need makeup service (as you girls can see at gathering, I simply don't / don't know how to make up). Scheduled to take it next week.

enrichment class topics again... stress.... nowadays the kids all went to enrichment classes / pre-school. Whoever din go become abnormal liao

Sigh... next yr bigger expense as Elbib gg K1 & Elvis pre-Nursey. wat a strain to pocket

Jas : I use word world disc to teach spelling and Elbib to teach Elvis. Elvis koes to write a few letters but when write their names (include Elbib) is mixed of capital n small letters

Junnie : sorry di read read past post. so u went for Lasik?

Jovialz,
Hahaha then ur hb sad or not cos u don't let him have chance to shoot for u. N remember to share ur pics with us. Hmm, I did light make up on my own b4 heading to studio loft. Will they do light make up for u?

Tiffy,
Dunno leh, he say if you want to go studio, go ahead
I'd requested for the make-up and hairdo service at additional $80 lor. I'm hopeless at makeup but mean I save cost of cosmetics

Long time no chat! Only have time to read the most recent page and seems like a lot of things have happened...

Tiffy, congrats on the safe arrival of Jaren.

Maruko, congrats on #2. Hope your MS disappears soon.

Jovial, you’ll be seeing your little girl real soon. So exciting!

And Happy Birthday to all Oct 07 kiddos!!

Any more exciting news that I’ve missed out? Anyone else preggy?

CM, how’s Carlson now? Hope he’s feeling better.

Tiffany, all the best in your maid hunt!

Jas, don’t get so stressed up about teaching Dayan. As Maruko says, it might make Dayan more resistant to learning. Try to have fun. And remind yourself that each kid learns at a different pace, so don’t compare.

Re: writing
For Hannah’s school, they’re starting to do tracing of pattern (e.g. straight line, zig zag etc). And my brother got this toy for Hannah for her birthday, and she’s starting to trace alphabets and pictures too. First her laptop, now this. I love her toys, help me do a lot of the work. Haha...
http://www.amazon.co.uk/LeapFrog-19139-Scout-Scribble-Write/dp/B001W2WKS0

Gd morning mummies...

Jovialz, enjoy ur bloom shots next wk. We will b waitin for u to upload for our eyes to feast. :p

zhen zhen, *wave wave* welcom back. Thanks
U missed out totoro who is same same as me now. :p Post more whenever u can.

I hav been feelin so tired lately. Also due to the times I chiong toilet to merlion till my legs wobbly. *yawn* Initially wanna take leave sleep at home today but since oredi Fri liao den endure 1 more day.

maruko, HI! 1st tri can be really tiring. just try and get as much rest as you can. just a short while before you hit 2nd tri right?

totoro, congrats too!

zhen zhen, yup im countin down to my 2nd tri coz really hope MS will b gone by den. Tink my work ability also affected. Keep yawnin & wantin to doze off. Totally no mood to do things. Juz wanna laze ard. hahaha...heng not so bz lately. If not tink I might faint.

hi morning all ... sobsob ... i am really coming back for good in no time ... the cartons of boxes arrived this morning for me to pack and ge tready to move back to Singapore ... i will miss the weather here so cooling and every when i go to bed with icey cold fingers and toes ...

Zhen welcome back hope U have a nice trip hope yr uncle is feeling better too

Carlson is well no more fever but still a little cough & running nose

Totoro how r u ??? so long nvr post here hope U are ok

Doobom, Zhen zhen and CM
thanks for asking and I'm doing "fine" ... well at least still surviving!!

I'm like a working zombie everyday, tiredness on my face is beyond words as anyone see me will ask the same question " You look so tired!!!" What happened!!
It doesn't help that I have a whole week of event to plan in office, report to rush and now conducting training!!! After work, still have to "help" my hb since he still need my help and my parents were away on holidays for 7 days finally back yesterday!!!! At night, I might get insomina so end up not sleeping well though I'm extremely tired!!! I seriously think there should be ML for the 1st trimester!!! How I wish i can just stay at home and sleep in the afternoon!! The other day I have no choice but to find a place to sleep at the shopping mall, I end up deciding to go for 1.5hrs of facial so that I can lie down!!!! this is how pathetic it gets!!! Really hope this can be over soon!!

Happy Birthday to big eyes princess - Adri!!

Maruko
I have tension headache and insomina this round and still can't eat alot! Been eating lots of chilli stuff as that's the only thing I feel like having and everyday after 10pm, i will feel hungry and have supper almost every night!! Cannot imagine if this is to continue!!!
By the way, are you going to do OSCAR? I was asked to book the date already but have not done anything yet!! Maybe mid of next week then I have the time to slowly look through what needs to be done!!

CM, glad u r comin back soon den no more irresponsible maid issues to handle. Haha...tink the weather is the only plus point dat attracts u there? Tink on the gd side.

totoro, wow...u havin insomnia ah? I had it a few nites also. Juz stare blankly at ceiling for more den an hr but I managed to doze off finally. U still takin chilli ah? I totally dun dare to touch leh coz when merlion, very unbearable for the throat. So I refrain. Supper every nite? Im oredi eatin 4 meals everyday now so will try to control. If cant bear wif hunger den juz drink a cup of cereal/milo.
re: OSCAR
So fast ask u book date liao ah? My gynae no say leh. Dunno if need to do or not. Tmr den I ask him.
Does ur boss noe abt ur condition? Perhaps can ask him to reduce ur workload slightly. My boss noes & he will ask me if certain work is ok for me to work on.

My boss knows but as my team member is quite new, so i still have to be around to guide them. If not, i most likely will be working from home liao !! Just endure another 3 more working days and I'll see how it goes!!
I have no choice but to take chilli as I just don't feel like eating anything without it!! though the after effect is horrible due to the gas and heartburn ...

totoro, oic...endure for now den. Yup the after effect for takin chilli is horrible. I substitute the chilli wif ketchup if possible. But I realised potatoes seem to b able to curb MS. :p time to get some chips. kekeke...

Zhen,
So long never hear from you! Welcome back too..Hannah's school so fast teach tracing lines ald? Mine still at playing stage. Sigh!

Just wanna ask mummies besides the normal schooling, any enrichment classes you send or intend to send next year? Let's do up a list, kpo kpo:

1) Jas: Art & music class, English.

Maruko & Totoro,
Xin ku hor. Endure for a little while. Just take it that the more MS you have, the healthier the baby is. Rubbish me lah. But at least you might feel better mentally. Jia you!!!