(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

tiffy,
omg! how many kids she has now?

eunice,
ya loh.. actually im thinkg abt de lasalle which near my sch, but im so suay, it's just outside 1km loh! so very slim chance.. i wun be surprise neighbourhood sch also need to do PV...

MM,
is it?! if i own a HDB flat and i rent an apt nearby, can i use the apt address to get in? i agree wi u, if the kid cant take stress then those branded sch may do them more harm then good..
oh, so higher chinese is available in many schs now huh? can every student opt for that or only open to those in top classes?

maisymouse
Am just worried as being a mother, i would want to give her the best learning environment! The rest will be up to her already!

PV
I know neighbourhood school in Hougang have banners for PV! I wonder how do we do PV when we need to work unless the job is flexible to come in later ???

For mummies who gave Nestle Nan Pro 3 to your child, did you realised that the milk powder is from Philippines now? It has lots of bubbles n the nutrient value has dropped for most of the ingredents.

I am worried for my boy who has colic since young..

Dodo,

I am not so sure about the renting a place and putting address thingy... I just saying if no $ to buy property how about rent a place to stay nearby bah...   I think it's good to put your child in nearby sch otherwise daily commute can be be a strain and wear out your child. 
My girl's sch is whole sch doing higher Chinese... Think most of the sch doing higher Chinese shld be same.
It's my cousin' kid.. 1 km ballot ....  Without PV. Think NY is so popular... Not many pp willing to take chance to ballot... Most wld have PV... Same case for RGPS I think.  

Totoro,

Don't worry so much...Sad to say, sometimes You can't control what's the best learning env... your child might end up in the not so good class in a branded sch and suffer... Most important, you must be guide her along the way.
PV must do earlier will be  easier... Try to ask for full day assignments on sats... U can also send your hb to do traffic control in the morning before going to work... Keke

MM,
yup, i would definately wana stay close to the sch, best if within walking distance! so that the kids can have more time to rest and play instead of wasting time on commuting..
i used to travel to and fro JB & SG during my sec sch days, it was a nightmare! if causeway jam, i reached home about 9pm! (when i was sec 1 & 2 in noon session. and the KS me dun wana loss out to my classmates coz i spent so much time a day on travelling, so i always study/ read on bus.. heng i din get short-sighted becauseof this!

ya, even PV i heard they also very selective.. and i duno what can i offer to the sch loh.. haa!

Primary school:
Ya. I really dun wan to be too stressed out over it too. I think i should understand myself. if the school work is too stressful, n my kids are stressful..I WILL BE STRESSFUL too. So after thinking, it will be good enough for him to enter neigbouring school (also needs to do PV too lor!). Pengz!

Hello morning mummies....

Today thread is more active. Hee hee...

Brig will be going to a neighbourhood school that is within walking distance, the school is one of the better ones in tampines, but provided can go in la.. sign.. At least he dun have to wake up to take school bus early in the morning.

Brig just went for his first music performance last saturday, haha, he looked so shocked when the curtains drawn and he saw the audience that he is so stoned that he didnt ring the bell... end up the mummy had to hold his hands and ring ring for him...

Jas,

What time is the play at the national museum?? may want to join in too...

morning mummies! so quiet today?

sorry i've MIA for a while. been too busy with the 2 boys & adapting to my helper. realised it's really tough to manage a maid. haiz. long long story.

wen wen: my son is drinking nan too. but i stocked up a lot during guardian's april 20% discount promotion & they are all from switzerland. i saw my friend who's feeding her girl nan 3 from philippines & i'm appalled by the many many bubbles while she's drinking! think it's prob time to start searching for another brand of fm once he finishes the current ones :-(

good morning mummies!
i'll be on leave for the next 2 days in preparation for my paper this Sat. Still got alot of chapters yet to cover, hope i'm able to finish covering all.

ariajo,
i read your encouragement message to me. U r really a diligent one!!! i got to admit tat i'm a lazy one, assignments always rush out at the very last minute even though I have my mum to help me to look after cherie. I really got to look into better time management. gal, really appreciate your word of encouragement! =D

wooah, gathering changed to Marina Barrage ah. Nice!!! I have been planning for a trip there for the longest time.

<font color="119911">Re: JUNE HOLIDAY PLAYDATE</font>

Date: 16th June 2010 (Wednesday)
Venue: Marina Barrage (Picnic/Kite-flying)
Time: 9.45am - 2pm

1) Jas
2) hippo
3) Maruko - Egg Mayo Sandwich
4) Eunice (samosa?)
5) Jovialz?
6) maisymouse
7) chersam

I havent thot of what food to prepare, mind is all formulas and figures. hehe! I confirm next Mon ya =P

chris,
oh, brig is attending sch at our nearby ah. which sch is that? if not convenient to reveal, tell me the blk also can =p

hapi fifi,
hope ur maid can get used soon &amp; be a good help to u. is aidan a good little helper to u? =P

Anyone interested in this? I can get ard 20% discount. Wonder if the outing is suitable for our kiddos???

Ballet Under the Stars 2010
16 to 18 July 2010, Fri to Sun | Fort Canning Park
Gates open from 5pm for picnic | Pre-show Segment starts at 6pm | Main Performance starts at 7.30pm

Jas
Which Play are you looking at?
Is this the one? Shiro and the Cherry Blossom

Morning Mummies..

What a surprise early this morning.... Guess who I saw in my office - Ariajo!!!! She is here for a meeting.

Re:School
Stressssssssss. Everyone seemed to be planning and ks!!! so, tat forces us to prepare early.

Re: JUNE HOLIDAY PLAYDATE

1) Jas
2) hippo
4) Eunice (samosa?)
5) Jovialz?
6) maisymouse
7) chersam
8) Tiffany_seah (Froot loops/ snacks)

What can we do there and what must we bring for the kids to play?

hapififi
Glad to see your post. Maid... another stressful issue. All the best ya...

Chris
Are you feeling better already now at the 2nd tri?
Brig going to change school soon, guess at the end it's really the proximity that matters! Hmm, I'm thinking how long can I tahan after K goes school! well... shall not think too much now

Morning mummies:
quite settled down at my new job. Manage to finish closing the a/cs le
can relax a bit now.

Yday,i gave Javen his 1st taste of FM. My ss is dropping drastically &amp; the frozen bm gg to run out soon. So started him wif FM yday. A bit "she bu de" to give him but it's a matter of time. I actually intended to stop expressing since last nite. But tis morn when I came to ofc, I hv a weird feeling &amp; I wanna try to express later &amp; see still hv bm or not. Haha...hvg a confusion mind hor. Really dunno what i wan.

re: pri sch
Going to enrol Shanice to neighbourhood sch. I think i'll do PV as that's a popular one which juz shifted to near my blk beginning of this yr. Hopefully she can get in,then dun hv to walk too far.

Chersam: gd luck for ur exam. Jia you!

CM: oh dear....take care of ur health. U can brew "chuan bei" for ur cough. The ingredients needed are chuan bei,nan xing,bei xing,ji zi &amp; "tun" for 1 or 2 hrs.

ecookie: how is yz? is he better le?

hapififi: how are u? coping well wif ur 2 boys? saw ur FB &amp; keagan is so chubby

preggy mummies:
anyone wans nursing tea &amp; milk bags? I dun think i can finish using all as my ss is really low le. So will stop soon. Anyone interested to get from me,pm me. TIA.

chersam &amp; totoro,

So sorry for the confusion.. im talking abt primary school, not his current cc. He is doing well at his current cc...

Chersam,

Brig is at blk 878. Most likely will try to enrol him to GOngShan if can la, if not will be Tampine North.. both within walking distance. Will our darlings be classmates?

Totoro,

Now already past 6th mth, so it is still 2nd or 3td tri??? blurred...

in term of MS, is nil now. just v tired cos not enough rest. But hor, v pissed off, cos still nobody give up seat to me on public transport...

sign

I didn’t end up going Sentosa yesterday as my mom forgot about it and got some contractors over. And although I’ve been trying to bring my 2 girls out by myself recently, I’m not so adventurous to bring them to Sentosa. Think I will faint!

CM, what happened to Carlson? Infection? Hope he gets better soon.

Totoro, Kids Kampong sound like fun. Should try and bring Hannah there one of these days. Do you know whether it’s crowded on weekends?

Eunice, Nanyang pre-school don’t have direct entry to Nanyang primary if I’m not wrong.

Ecookie, how’s yz today?

Dodo, you can use rental address to apply. Or your parents/ILs address too.

Wen Wen, Hapi fifi, I also noticed the switch in manufacturing country for Nan. I tried S-26, but Hannah doesn’t like the taste. I bought one tin of the Phil Nan 3, and she also noticed the difference. I happened to see Swiss Nan 2 at a shop the other day, so I got 4 tins first. Buy me some time to find a suitable replacement. I’m so irritated...

Re: school
Do you think it’s better for me to send my girl to my old school Tao Nan, or to try for Kuo Chuan Presbyterian, which is a mission school (my hubby’s preference)? If Kuo Chuan, can continue staying in Bishan. If Tao Nan then need to consider shifting to the East. I hope to stay near the school to minimise on travelling.

chris
unfortunately, people who give up seats tends to be male from my previous experience so you get more chance if you walk towards the MALE gender!! Wow .. so you are in 3rd tri liao .... rest more if you can when brig is in CC. Take care!

Tiffany
Such a coincident!! Sg is just too small lah!!

chris, a lot of ppl are very buay zi dong one. just go up to someone and ask "do you mind giving up your seat to me". wait for someone to give up, might never happen.

i'm so darn irritated with the reno work going on in the unit downstairs. the noise keeps waking deb up when she's having a nap. feel like going downstairs and smacking them. grrrr...

cheriebear/zhenzhen: yz is much better today. back to his active self.. fever still hovering low grade 37+ but i think should be recovering well... hope we can still make it for the zoo outing tom!

zhenzhen: isit hard to get into kuo chuan? if by PV/distance more or less can guranteed a place, i would go for it since no need to shift plus mission school should have a good culture. not that tao nan doesnt have, but i heard its really stressful in it. for me i would hope to send yz to an OK school with good culture/environment than one which is stressful one. having said that, im still undecided to send him to red swastika/yu neng....

hapi_fifi: good to hear from you! and saw k photos in fb. he is so chubby now hehe.
maid story is never ending one like MIL hence im still v hesitant to even consider this option .though hb sometimes is entertaining this tot when the going get tough for us handling 2 kids on our own during weekday nights+weekends..
but i believe things can only get better as they grow up so ask him to hang on for time being! :p

totoro_bb,

not true, i try to stand in front of both Male and female... they will just suddenly zzzz.... and i will stand infornt of the reserived seat leh... sign..

totoro,
hahaha my hb also said must stand near guy in MRT cos mostly it is guy who will give up their seat.

chris,
Whenever i travel in MRT, always have people will give up the seat to me leh.

dodo,
think Zoe Tay is having her 3th kid now

cheriebear, thanks! =)
btw, glad to learn that u r adapting well in ur new company. i remember we both joined this thread around the same time and co-incidentally were still new with the company. And now u have left your old company &amp; i'm still around (been ranting to go but still stick here! LOL!)

chris, gongshan is a popular school! we r so near but still got to ballot (that's wat happened to my neighbour). For me, i would want cherie to enrol into my pri sch which is Yumin (save headache on PV/ballot issues. haa!) Anyway i think my kiasu hb will want to enrol cherie into gongshan. Sigh, shall take 1 step at a time, see how 1st.
Hey, i also encountered the same thing in MRT when i was preggy. Everyone act blur, so irriating! but for bus no such problem, sure got pple let me have the seat.

ecookie, enjoy your zoo trip with yz to the fullest tmr! is yr going?

zhen zhen, poor deb getting disturbance for her nap. this is wat i hate too!

tiffy, so lucky u, always got seats in MRT.
wah seh, zoe tay having a boy again?! OMG, 3 boys in a row.

<font color="119911">Re: JUNE HOLIDAY PLAYDATE</font>

1) Jas
2) hippo
4) Eunice (samosa?)
5) Jovialz?
6) maisymouse
7) chersam (fried beehoon)

oh ya, i have the same question as tiffany. what can we do there &amp; what to bring?

hapififi.. nice to hear fm u! now u hv a helper to lightened ur load? hope she's a capable 1 =)

ecookie.. glad to hear yz is much better 2day..he shd b recovered on time for tmr zoo trip =)

dodo.. yahor.. so fast 端午节 nxt wed! so good china go holiday on tis day =)

chersam.. good luck to ur exam =)

tiffany..so 巧! u can meet ariajo @ work =D

tiffy.. so the rumours is true arh? my nanny's daughter edd tis oct (1st bb, boy) also seeing ZT's gynae.. duno if she bumped into her or not cos she ever said there's lotsa pixs @ the clinic.. keke..

zhenzhen.. u telling me abt the noise! my mum (bk fm work 3pm) and nanny also complaint.. st theresa convent nxt to my block now under major construction.. every day hear the 'kong kong kong' until they headache! but lance is happy thou cos he every morning ask us to carry him see the cranes &amp; bulldozers working!

chersam: of cos yr not gg . muhahahahaha. handling 1 tod is enuff to drain our energy liao...

yup its announced that ZT is preggy! she s my nightmare ... 3boys!!! *gulp*

tiffy, no wonder. a preggy woman with her hb carrying a todd. any commuter see liao dun give up their seat also cannot. wahahaha!

junnie, thanks thanks! =D

chersam,

His daddy will be the one doing PV, not me... haha... i dun want him to take school bus at such a young age.

Is it so popular???? Well, they have a chance to be classmates leh.

chris, got students fm tat sch topped for PSLE! my 1st employer is a committee member of tat sch. If only i'm still working for him, no problem for cherie to get into but too bad.... haha!

cherie bear, ecookie,
ya i also think keagan is getting chubbier by the day! haha. cute :)

but one worrisome thing is his high TSH (thyroid stimulating hormones) level. he has taken 4 blood tests since he's born &amp; so far hasn't gotten clearance yet. good thing is the TSH level is at downward trend. but bad thing is the level is not low enough to be within normal range. PD said i have 2 options - one is to treat as if he has thyroid (but this means he has to start on the medication for at least 2 yrs &amp; still go for regular blood tests to check if the level has dropped). second option is no medication but continue with monthly blood test until TSH level is in normal range. well, i chose the latter option. wouldn't want to let him be reliant on drugs, esp when it's not a confirmed deal yet. haiz. really worrying.

then last night, aidan suddenly had high fever &amp; doc said is a strong viral infection. now keeping my fingers &amp; toes crossed that he won't pass the virus to keagan. to make things worse, the maid just told me she has headache &amp; not feeling well. sometimes i feel that having a maid is like having a 3rd baby (or maybe even worse)!

my maid has been here barely a month &amp; she seems to be rather 'problematic' &amp; choot many patterns already. well, i think i've been quite tolerant &amp; tend to close one eye on most things. i just hope she won't push her luck. will probably have a heart-to-heart talk with her this weekend &amp; thrash out all our differences.

i'm also very 'lucky'. bleh. my maid kena selected by MOM to go for compulsory interview, to ask her if she's happy working here, if she knows her rights &amp; safety requirements etc. she just went for the interview this afternoon. came back then straight away tell me she has headache.

sometimes i wish i can be a supermummy &amp; take care of both boys &amp; the household all by myself :-(

zhenzhen,
can you kindly pm me your email address? thanks in advance!

hapififi.. oh.. looks like u gonna b busy w aidan down w fever.. shoo shoo the virus away fm every1 at home esp keagan.. hopefully aft ur talk w ur maid, she'll turns better, if not, change a new one b4 is too late.. re TSH.. izzit genes or wat? howcome k has tis symptom? if me, i also will choose the latter option.. he's a strong boy boy... dun worry much ya..

ecookie.. may b dun let yz go for waterplay at the zoo tmr he jus recover...

Hapififi,

Oh dear, K didn't pass his blood test.. Hmm... This was the blood test Chloe had to take too because of our thyroid prob. Thankfully she cleared it.. Hope K can clear it too.

It's really hard on you to have to manage a new maid with a new baby and a toddler! What a bundle . Hang in there!

Meantime, isolate A or K .. So that K won't get the virus. Maybe let Maid or your mum take care of A solely?

Hapi Fifi,
brave of you to chose the second option. Will keep You all in prayers. Since K is a born fighter, I m sure he will be able to overcome this as well!! N Aidan a speedy recovery to him too. Jia you k! As for your maid, talk reason with her, got to be tactful. Just now, my maid become so emo after making a call back home. Got to spend half an hour to coax her. Pengz!!!

Marina barrage:
there is a huge water play there!!! Bring the bikinis on! Haha! Dun know if there's any changing room or not. Maybe it's like Jacob ballas garden. So please bring towel to dry them up.
Then we can go up n see the scenery, let the kids run about, fly kites, enjoy the picnic, then we chit chat n enjoy the breeze. Hope it's a cooling weather!!!

yoohoo!!

hmm.. talk about pri schools again huh? heehee.. i hope adri can get into GMPS though i shdnt foresee any problem since itz my alma mater..

ecookie, hope YZ is well enough for zoo tmro! i had a super tiring day today but it was fun!! enjoy gal!

zhenzhen, when will u be gg to sentosa then? u can handle them one la! i hv seen u so steady with the 2 of them b4..

tao nan is such a good school.. i can remember my teacher giving us all the tao nan maths papers to do!! tsk.. hee..

chersam, yeah! i can see u during the outing!

jas, ha.. huge water play area.. sounds fun! but guess wat? i m damn anal about water play area. i hv never let adri play except to wet her legs.. i can't imagine the cleaning up after dat. plus her skin can be pretty sensitive.. hahaha! very bad of me hor? i didnt let play at kidsworld today too. just wet her legs nia.. LOL!

Re: JUNE HOLIDAY PLAYDATE

1) Jas
2) hippo - fried carrot cake sticks
4) Eunice (samosa?)
5) Jovialz?
6) maisymouse
7) chersam (fried beehoon)

Ecookie, I personally would prefer to send my girls to Kuo Chuan too, as I think the environment would be better. But the lazy me is thinking of sending to Tao Nan so I don’t have to do PV. :p

Chris, think you must look very healthy and not very preggy, that’s why everyone ignore you. Next time you try and put on your most pitiful face, see whether it works? If not, just “accidentally” kick them to get them to notice you. Hee...

Chersam, Junnie, there’s reno work going on all around me – Bishan park, new condo nearby. But the downstairs unit is the worst! I really can’t wait till it’s over. Right now, if I want Deb to get uninterrupted sleep, I have to bring her to my parents or in laws place. Even Hannah is disturbed by the noise, and keeps asking me to make it stop. How????

Hapi fifi, you made the right choice to wait and see. The drug to control the thyroid cannot be taken for a long time, as it can damage the liver. That’s why for prolonged cases of hyperthyroid, doctor will usually recommend “killing” the thyroid and then give thyroid hormone instead as that is considered more natural. Is it possible for you to isolate Keagan for now? Best is to have separate caregiver for each child. If not, then just keep K in his room and don’t let A go into room. And remember to wash your hands etc before handling K. And think you better talk to your maid soon. Nip the problem in the bud before it gets worse.

Hi All .. am much better with the medi the doc here gave me .. .THANKS hugs to all

As for Carlson i dun no what happen to his bird bird ... its still red on the skin and inside still the red blood line is there ... still have no chance to call the PD as hb take the com to school
but he never complaint abt pain when shee shee ... only when i want to put cream or wash it and he will ask me to take it out he dun want that !!!

Zhen Tao Nan ... got very very high standrd in heir higher Chinese and i heard that they will ask them to leave if their chinese is not up to the school's standrd ??? if i we U i will take Kuo Chuan

ZT is pregy again ... so nice ... why can't my hb be like hers ??? also in air force mah .. and they are older den us ... well my hb wants to retired at 50 yrs and he got it all PLANED nicely ;(

Carissa got her results ... am pleased with her result too ... all got 75% and above
she will also start her school holidays from friday onward ... will be going over to JKT for the weekend too

Morning Mummies.

Hope all is well.

Some of u might already know that my dad had stroke last week. And now he's suffering from memory loss. I'm checking on singapore hospital/doc/rehab centre on his condition.

If anyone has any recommendation, pls let me know. Thanks!

Morning Mummies:

hapififi: Hope A recover soon. Pray for u that K's thyroid problem will be cleared as times pass.

CM: glad to hear that u hv recovered. Pls find chance to call PD or bring C to the doc there to chk &amp; congrats on Carissa getting gd results

Chintz: can't help with the recommendation,sorry. Take Care.

mrng mummies!

hapififi, hope aidan recovers soon! and keagan is a little warrior.. i hope his condition gets better soon!

chintz, sorie 2 hear abt ur dad's condition. hope u find e best care 4 him. tk care dear. big hugz...

CM, hope carlson's condition gets better soon. r u feeling better urself?

morning mommies,
yes, what a pleasant suprise to meet tifanny at her office!
Though i'm there to meet her collegues (our vendor), but still, it's more pleasant feeling to know somewhere working there

i'm now slowly drowning with works and got more and more assignment from my team lead. yesterday i just got a big big task from other superior, my senior manager and really started to feel the stress... haiz...i hope i'll be able to pull it off at the end of the project..

wow, zoe is having a 3rd boy? wow, feels like she's trying for a girl..haha...but i think it's also sweet having 3 boys.. actually i don't mind my 3rd is a girl as well. surprise surprise.. hubby recently agreed to have a 3rd because he thinks 2 siblings is still lonely...so funny..don't know why a sudden change of mind. initially it was me who's keen to have a 3rd but now i'm seriously thinking if I should have a 3rd because taking care of Naia is really not easy.. we will see how it goes..

tifanny,
i envy your working place.. your collegues were making breakfast? i can feel the heartwarming working environment in your office
was joking with tony that we should have all the meetings at Comverse because we have nice free coffee and cakes!and of course Evian mineral water!! At my office, they have to buy their own beverages from our canteen and also mineral water is those cheapo type..haha..

hapififi,
try to be nochalant abt your maid's interview and don't feel threathened. You have to let her know, you're ok to let her go at any time if she's not happy working for you. Sometimes I will purposely share with my maid news abt other maids and what they did and see her response. Recently i shared with her Twinkle's star maid story. I told her my gf send her maid home. I hope she gets the message. If you do anything funny, off you go..

ok mommies, now going back to work liao..

chintz,
oh dear. so sorry to hear about your dad. hugs.

thanks! just scooted aidan &amp; maid off to FIL's house to separate the kids for some hours.

ya, certainly hoping keagan will not have thyroid, else might have to be on life-long medication. quite worrying initially as PD mentioned this might affect his brain development if indeed he has thyroid &amp; yet wasn't treated early. so i struggled for some time before reaching the decision to wait &amp; see. bcos his TSH level is in grey zone &amp; at least it is going downwards. hope that i have made the right decision.

aria jo,
yup. actually my maid has told my sis she's quite unhappy, and told my FIL's maid that she feels like changing employer as she feels very tired. i'm planning to give her 2nd chance but if she mentions to me during our discussion that she wishes to go, then i will be more than happy to let her go. i find that she lacks initiative, likes to act blur when she's actually pretty smart, likes to complain to others (but always says 'ok' if my hb &amp; I talk to her), will talk back to me, sometimes never bother to listen to what i tell her etc. in fact, her contract states no leave for first 7 months. then we will give her a day off every month after that. but now, she told my FIL's maid (who in turn told my FIL who told me) that she wants this sunday off to go church with my FIL's maid. frankly, i dun mind giving her day off (we relented &amp; she gets her off day this sunday without her opening her mouth to request)or giving her other perks. I just want her to put her heart into taking care of the children &amp; love them genuinely.

sorry that i keep ranting my unhappiness over maid issues. haha. i think this is a good channel to release my pent-up frustrations. and i feel that those mummies with maids will probably understand how i feel. so do bear with me ya :p

Hapififi,
Of course.. maid is to relief your work load and not to add on to your worries, workload, etc.. Seriously I think your maid has “no heart” to work for you. Did you really load her with lots of housework? Sleep late and wake up early? We have to be fair with our maid also. If she tired, she cannot concentrate with their work and worse if she dozes off when taking care of our kids? That’s why no matter how tough, we try to take care of our girls ourselves at night. Will not wake our maid up unless no choice.

My colleague let go of her Filipino maid because apparently she’s not happy working with her. My colleague even arrange to call up a potential employer and told them abt her maid. +ve remarks of course. And you know what happen? The potential employer told my colleague the interview turned out to be the maid interviewing them instead..asking this and asking that..haha… so funny..she really think she’s indispensible. Anyway, eventually she got a new employer and my colleague heard that her working condition is much worse than working with my colleague. Haha.. see, she doesn’t cherish and appreciate my colleague and ended up in worse situation..