(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

CNY COFFEE CLUB GATHERING ONZ bor??

Date: End of Feb. Vote a date. 27th or 28th FEB?

Sweet Mummies, put down your name:

1) Jas + HB + kids + maid (fine with both dates)
2) Maruko + Travis (fine with any dates)
3) hippo + HB + Adri + tummy.. (ok with both dates)
4) Totoro + Kelly (ok with both dates)
5) Chintz + HB + Chloe + Bosco (would prefer 27th, somebody mentioned 28th is 十五?)
6) junnie + hb + zann + lance (if 27th i can come oni aft 1+pm cos i working)
7) bbwow + hb + jayden
8) sanbebe +HB + Jav (prefer 27th)

thks hippo for offer to book again.. *muack*

eunice..i wan to see can? pm me too. btw, lance also down w r/n (kena fm his class), then ysterday start to cough... if still no improvements tis two days, i wanna bring him to 'tui na' liao. btw, the coffee club we talking is @ clark quay.

thanks totoro. I'll try my best to join since can take NEL there

CNY COFFEE CLUB GATHERING ONZ bor??

Date: End of Feb. Vote a date. 27th or 28th FEB?

Sweet Mummies, put down your name:

1) Jas + HB + kids + maid (fine with both dates)
2) Maruko + Travis (fine with any dates)
3) hippo + HB + Adri + tummy.. (ok with both dates)
4) Totoro + Kelly (ok with both dates)
5) Chintz + HB + Chloe + Bosco (would prefer 27th, somebody mentioned 28th is 十五?)
6) junnie + hb + zann + lance (if 27th i can come oni aft 1+pm cos i working)
7) bbwow + hb + jayden
8) sanbebe +HB + Jav (prefer 27th)
9) Eunice + maid + 2 boys (any date)

<font color="ff0000">by the way, wat's the timing? :p</font>

thks hippo for offer to book again.. *muack*

junnie &amp; totoro, i loved the sch bookshop too! one of my many dreams is to open a stationery/ bookstore! hahaha..

re: trolley bags.. hmm.. apparently no good for the kiddos even if they dun have to carry up the stairs.. cos being kids, they might drag it too fast and trip themselves or others .. so the bags r pretty hazardous. unless u are talking abt our kiddos at tis age now, still okie la cos we wun put much and they will be under our supervision anyways.. but Pri 1? hmm.. too heavy le la..

junnie, wah eatin tim tam...my man likes it alot too until he gotta stop himself from eatin it to prevent gain weight. kekeke...
re: housework
me onli need to iron my own clothes once a wk... :p

re: mummies kiddos coughin
shoo virus away from all...tink its very common among kids now...ensure they get loads of vitamin C.

hippo, oh u plannin to b "lao ban niang" ah? ok ok muz let us noe when is ur opening leh. Den we all sure buy our kiddos stationaries from ur shop. :p

somebody mentioned tim tam? it's my favourite too. the choco and snacks at home are all waving at me for 2 weeks already. and now i'm recovering well, my legs are trembling to the snacks :p

eunice, i also wanna see. can pm me? thanks!

junnie, maruko, chintz,
Wat's tim tam?

hippo,
I also like to buy those cute and pretty stationaries! Last time I went to taiwan to buy those very cute pencils, pens, and notebooks, calender books. They are just so cute and pretty! Very hard to resist.

chintz,
Thanks for the link.
Hahaha...I'm so paiseh cuz I've never seen tim tam before! This is the 1st time I heard of this product.

eunice.. u got eczema also?? me had it for many years too.. till now can oni 'control' but hvnt find 'full cure' yet =( the last specialist i visited is joyce lim @ paragon. now i b my 'own' doc.. cos more or less using the same cream i'm prescribed, if serious, then i go see gp get letter to buy steroid cream.

totoro.. btw, below is my experience w self-hurting to share. as for kelly, i tink u need to talk to her if u really tink she's self-hurting herself, ie, pay more attention to her emotion fm now. tis needs lotsa patience.

fyi, both my kids like to bite themselves (wrist area) or beat us whenever they r angry/got punishment, i noticed it when they r abt 2 yrs old and also during change of environment (eg. go cc/schl). we wud try to distract their bad habits by explaining to them is not rite to hurt themselves. so far, we r correcting lance’s behaviour on/off. As for zann.. long story.. i didnt vent here aft the incident cos i was quite upset &amp; duno how to write &amp; no time to write tis long incident (u all shd knw i v 'long winded' one =D).

during 5th day of p1, her chinese teacher spoke to me &amp; I was shocked to learn she scratched her own lower arm vigorously. I meant, the form teacher shd hv infmd me instead, but tat was until 5th day of schl start then I was infmd. The chinese teacher said bcos the form teacher ‘new’ so she has been working w her on tis case?? according to teacher, whenever zann classmates accidentally ‘knock’ her, etc, she wud start feel v agitated &amp; will want to hit her friend back.. and when teacher ‘scold’ /’punish’ her, she wud start to scratch herself... I told teacher to monitor &amp; get bk to me if tis prolongs. Meanwhile, I was quite upset w the chinese teacher cos she didn’t spoke to me in pte abt tis matter but during their ‘passing out parade’ in the hall where most parents seated (I took 2hrs time-off to attend tis event tat time) and u imagine how noisy the hall is when we both gotta raise our voice talking to each other(sorry no offend, but her pitch really v high/sharp she's fm china). I got few parents came asked me aft the event wat’s happening &amp; tat CQ see until eyes ‘big big’. I’m in a difficult position to tell them wat happened cos I want teacher to investigate 1st. The way the chinese teacher said was like labeling my child as a bully instead &amp; mentioned for action like self-hurting.. is quite serious alr, wat if my child grow up &amp; armed w sharp weapon like gun/knife she wud attack ppl!!!! I'm shocked to hear all tis nonsense.. anyway I told the teacher I nvr rcvd such complaints fm her cc or student care except she'll throw tantrum like normal kids when ask to consume food she doesnt like. B4 I left the schl, I verified tis matter w the form teacher &amp; she told me she did realise it (but y she didnt tell me earlier??) then she asked if zann knw a gal in her class b4? i told her yes, there's an ex-classmate of hers fm same cc in same class as her now (but all along they r lidate, sometime 'not so click' quarrelling over small matters, me &amp; her classmate ah mah knew abt it but we dun see any seriousness &amp; we r all in good talking terms). teacher said she separated zann fm her ex-classmate le, i told her tat's good. she said she jus afraid zann's reaction might influence other classmates too. Tat nite when we talked to zann, she said her classmates (including CQ’s gal) gang up to step her leg she feels v angry &amp; her ex-classmate always like to carry tales abt her &amp; ask the rest dun friend her, she said she duno y she scratched herself… I was sad to hear wat she told me.. telling her she b more open up if such tings happened again, she can talk to her teacher or me. I told zann to report to teacher if she has problems again w her classmates cos I have no rights to find the individual classmates &amp; questioned them, is for the teacher to settle their ‘conflict’ cos within the class. hb was quite mad he insist on changing class for zann but i dun see tis will solve the prblm if our gal dun speak up of her prblms &amp; we duno if she needs any counseling? he then support me to write to the schl but i didnt wanna get principal involve at tis stage.. so i choose to write to the pupil mgmt dept 1st. with nanny’s daughter’s help to 'beautify' my ltr (she has some experience dealing w psychological matters as i dun wan my ltr to sounds like solely complaint ltr but rather to approach the schl for help if they tink my gal has any 'withdrawn behaviour’), if they tink my gal has prblm &amp; requires counseling, I wud jolly let her participate, but the teacher cant label my kid as bully w/o investigation &amp; wat wud her classmates and/or parents look upon her? If my gal really got ‘sickness’, we shd gv her proper treatment rather than jus ‘punish’ cos tis wont help. I also raised my unhappiness of being infmd of tis matter in the public setting. V fast I got reply fm a v friendly hod who also cc tis matter to the schl counselor, she said they’ll investigate &amp; get back to me. Abt 3 days later, the hod called me &amp; said they found my gal absolutely normal after their monitoring her during curriculum &amp; recess time. They find her v responsive &amp; chatty &amp; when the counselor spoke to her, she react quite fluently to her questions. They ensure me my gal is not ‘sick’. I told the hod if not for the teachers to approach me so suddenly &amp; the ‘seriousness’ they put across, I wont b writing to her. But of cos, they dare not mention abt the ‘talking to me in public’ issue la. I tink my gal behave tis way bcos she’s in the transition period fm preschl to new student care &amp; p1. At home when she’s angry she can ‘scold’ us back &amp; throw tantrum, in schl/outside, she dare not do tat to her teachers so she ‘self-hurt’ herself. i'm glad tat on abt 2nd wk, I overheard her form teacher talked to her ex-classmate’s ah mah &amp; complaint to her her grand-daugther likes to scratch ppl!!! Heng.. not oni my gal ‘got prblm’ &amp; i duno who influencing who?? but i jus thank god my gal’s behaviour so far so good except her cheekiness many at times. tat wk after teacher complaints abt her, i tell u.. she let us nagged until she bth, she said 'ok ok, every day so many ppl tell me same ting, u &amp; daddy tell me, ah mah tell me, po po tell me, nanny tell me, etc etc tell me.. my ear &amp; head v pain le!! keke.. we told her we all luv her tat's y we correct her misbehavour b4 anybody else complaints abt her again. Now we oni got prblm w tat CQ nia.. touchwood no more ‘stories’ fm her. The reason y I didn’t ask to change plc for her tis time w CQ’s gal cos teacher alr separate her fm her ex-classmate, if not later teacher wud b wondering y we so problematic? So I tell zann to endure her classmates tiny act, if really got prblms must voice out to teacher. But so sway, she was asked to sit w CQ’s gal, then her form teacher like ‘fresh graduate’ not so much experience like other p1 class, hiaz!! (imagine when I wrote to the schl.. nxt day I got tell her form teacher (jus for courtesy sake), her 1st word to me is : if u mention abt ‘withdrawn behaviour’, u needa provide the schl w doctor certification??? In my ltr alr clearly stated if they suspect my gal got such problm, they shd gv her a chance to be diagnosed &amp; advise me proper help/treatment to help the kid rather than label her w/o findings).. hiaz..

bye bye.. i gotta go fetch zann fm student care le (today she a.m. session). tmr when i come to work then 'chat' ba =)

junnie, woah.. my eyes went blur from reading.. haha.. but but.. i can feel how "distressed" you must have been when u heard the feedback from the teacher. she's so insensitive and good for u that you wrote the letter to highlight abt the matter. at least going forward, they know that they shd be more tactful and also to be more accurate in their "observations" in future.

hope zann is ok now! she is a very sensible girl. and she gives me the feeling dat she is more independent too. so i guess that's y she listens to u all when u nag. =) just remind her to speak up for her own rights when needed and i m sure zann will do so well in school, academic or non-academic.. gambate mummy!!

Junnie,
I also read till my eyes went blur....

I'm sure zann's teachers are both inexperienced teacher...so insensitive. You've done the right thing by writing letters to sch to let them look into the matter. Don't feel bad about asking teachers to change zann's seat. Nobody will think you're trying to be problematic cuz it's really normal for teachers to change seats. I always changed seats for students, sometimes a few times for the same student, so it's perfectly fine ok?

Don't nag too much on zann. Talk to her nicely and let her feel the love and support from the family. Do check with her daily see if any student bully her or if she's unhappy in school.

junnie,
me also read until eye blur blur. But hope zann won't be bullied by her frens anymore. And don't let so many of ur family member nag at her. If so nagging, i also bth leh.kekeke
but glad that u wrote to the management teacher and now u know Zann is absolutely fine.

re: Sherry
thanks all mummies. yah i also didn't expect Sherry to adapt quite fast. this morning when i carry her n walk until the cc corridor, she saw her principal in 1 of the classroom n she immediately said 'hello' n wave to the principal. This gal really funny leh. Immediately the principal walk near to the window and said hello to her. Then when we reach the gate, principal ask me whether is it Sherry loves to sing songs. Yest her teacher also told me Sherry loves to sing songs. I just said yes but some songs she can only sing abit n hum all the way. I dare not tell them watch too much barney at hm cos learn fr there mah.kekeke

Junnie,
so sorry to hear wat happened to Zann...I would be equally stressed as you if this happens to Tiffie. Regarding self hurting...I noticed Marcus will beat his own head if he is helpless or can't convey his message to us....I have to be real patient dealing with him. Moreover, he is not that advanced in his speech, but it's still kinda scary to see our kid hurting themselves. It's a way of showing their frustrations when they can't convey their message across to us.

I noticed Zann can be real quiet and shy when she is hanging out with unfamiliar people. At least, that's what my gal told me when she met Zann...she commented Zann being a shy girl. As for 'talking back'....you are not alone...my Tiffie being a hyper talkative girl can quarrel with anyone... I rather she talk or argue with me than keep quiet, as least I know how she feels. Zann could be bottling up some unhappiness...which leads to self hurt.. you gotta watch her real closely and ask her to share wat happened in school for that particular day....from her friends, to the day's activities, her teachers and homework....at their age....there's alot to face...not easy to adapt.

As for Tiffie...I make sure she will share everything with me....even who befriend or dislike her...anyone bully her (this is exceptionally impt to me), and how she spent her pocket money....so far no major issues for me...except some minor hiccups like bullying among her friends and lying. Luckily, she doesn't know how to tell lies...and i know her well when she does...

I always ask her who's her BEST friend...and it must ONLY be me...and work on this. I make it a point to thank her for being a good student and daughter for the week...and give her little 'LOVE' notes, which carry small encouraging sentences. Most importantly, our girls are learning to be big kids...they need our constant love and support.

morning all

hippo,sanbebe,tiffy... @@ your eyes better today?? kekeke... mon &amp; tues i on leave do spring cleaning... u all can 'rest' your eyes fm my 'long winded' post le =D

sanbebe.. thks 4 sharing fm a teacher's view.. if need b, i'll request for change of seat for her..

tiffy.. sherry cc dun let the kiddo watch tv? those tat we went all 'on' tv nearing dismissal time. tv got pro &amp; con lor... but 4 our hse, tv like a 'must' cos my mum &amp; ILs r '电视迷' =D

petit_gars.. u r rite, we r not oni mummy.. but gotta b 'best friend' to our gals in order to knw wats going on in mind &amp; their daily activities in schl! i wonder for boys.. will they b so 'open' to share with us when their turn to come? hiaz..

today oni i login nia??

Junnie...I'm here *wave wave*....but going offline soon...:p

Yah, i agree on boys...when i compared Marcus with Tiffie...he is not that affectionate with his hugs and kisses...more of a BO CHAP character....so worried he will dun bother to tell me anything. He already felt I am different compared to his daddy.

For example, he don't allow me, my maid or any girls to clean his 'willy' area... and insisted to clean himself. Only his daddy can touch his willy....and only daddy can help him when he wants to pee...beginning of HEADACHE right?

junnie, glad that you've managed to settle this issue. zann is probably just stressed out from all the changes. i'm sure that she'll enjoy herself more once she settles in. in the meantime, just be sure to encourage her more. jia you!

junnie ... HUGS to U and Zann mine eyes not blur but teary cos its must be realy scary to U and hb ... U should have tell us early so that U feel better we are here to share with U (will if u are comfortable to do so la ... cos osme ppl will not come in to share all those thingy) I was just thinking ... cos they are both on long term medi for the UTI ... will there be some side effect from the medi ??? maybe U want to ask the Doc the next visit ??? to me i think its the stress from all the changes taking place in this short time ... she will be fine soon ... JIA YOU U can do it ...
U are the big sister here and Zann's good mummy ya
CHEERS

hi mummies, just popped in to say hello.

Junnie, oh dear I can feel how distressed you were about Zann's situation. I think the teachers were quite insensitive but you were very reasonable in your approach, kudos! Like sanbebe said, don't be afraid to request the FT to swap seats...it's common for us to change students' seating arrangement when there is a need. Whatever helps Zann to learn better.

I think I have to learn from you...cannot imagine handling all these when Matty and Mea reach that age. Being a parent is so stressful
-_-

wah seh...so many posts to go thru...

Junnie, my eyes also blur from ur post BUT im sorry to hear abt wat happened to Zann. It muz b hard on u also. Gd thing u wrote to the school. Tink Zann's teachers muz b both new thus not very experienced wif handlin their transition period. Dun worry so much abt Zann since she has displayed signs of improvement. Dun nag too much at her also in case "nong qiao fan zuo".

petit gars, wow...marcus oredi givin u headaches ah?

hi mummies...hope u all enjoyin ur wkend...my nose is much better except my cough is gettin worse. -_-
hope its gonna b ok b4 i go work tmr...

totoro, u've got mail.

junnie,

I'm sure everything will turn out alright.. just request for what you feel will improve the situation in school and for Zann. That's not v unreasonable. Anyway, I still feel that you are a v steady mum.. I'm sure you can handle it! Dun let it affect your weekend with the kids, k?

junnie,

u r real steady. Must be hard on u. I alway find u v v super. Dealing with 2 kids, working and doing all the housework. Aren't u tired sometime?? Dont u ever want to have a maid to help out since u cannot relied on yr mum or yr MIL?

Zann and Lance will appreciate u for all you havr sarcifice for them. If having a maid will free up you time with them, will it be better? Is really not easy to be You...

hope you all are doing fine as always

I'm sorry for not being log in all these while.. Feeling bad for being bz checking up the BP thread during my little free time.. also was down with headache couple times.. now i catch cough..

anthony got it from the class i think.. and spread the virus to me.. and i spread the virus to hubby.. hee

Haven't really got time to scrolled up till the last i posted here..

Anyway, I'm here to report that I'm still alive struggling with life heeehee.. :p

Btw, I'm going to Indonesia for CNY.. hopefully can visit CM when I'm there.. anyone wants to pass greetings or anything to her?

i'm sorry for not replying to your post yet.. need to be more hardworking catching up this thread from now on.. :p

fyi, i'm an SAHM with 1 boy (27mos) but i'm unlike those mommies here who are super.. i'm way far from a super mommy..

think i'm lousy and slow.. sob sob sob..
i always feel that 24hrs a day is not enough.. need to learn from you for the time management..

wanted to join in your gathering after cny.. but please be patient with me coz i can't speak mandarin yet my english's not good :p

mommies,
i just read up that there will be a gathering on 27/28 feb?
would like to join in.. but not sure yet if able to join in.. coz dunno yet when i'll be back here... either 20th or 28th..

Junnie : You are great in handling Zann's case liao. If I were u, I'm at a loss :p

Eufrasia : hope you better today. YOu are not tat bad la... you are a SAHM! Me dun really dare to go into SAHM. scary :p hahaha....

SAHM is great mummy

Gd morning mummies...

Eufrasia, hey its great to c ur posts. Do try to post whenever u can
will b lookin forward to meetin u during our feb gatherin. Hope u r gettin better.

today is a blue blue day...

junnie, i just finished reading zann's story.
sorry to hear what happened. i think you and ur hb are dealing the matter in a very good way. i hope the CQ's gal won't give any more problem to zann. and seriously hope the teachers to self-reflect and improve on themselves. duhz..!

big hug to you!

chintz, much better for nose but cough seems gettin worse. Last nite cough till vomit while I was tryin to sleep. So 恶心...juz as im typin this msg for u earlier I was coughin like hell...vomit again...so jia lat...

maruko, ur cough sounds bad. u should get an mc and rest at home dear. i'm sure ur kind boss would understand
take care