(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Tiffany,

think andrea and chloe sama sama.. dun wan means dun wan.. chloe can rip out her diaper and start running around butt naked... but she very strange.. only go potty at night... daytime refuse to pee in potty.

Nite training can start when your child has many nights of dry diaper in the morning... that shows their bladder is ready... need to get a few mattress protectors.. sometimes can change a few a nite. very tiring. But even after success... still good to keep the proctector on just in case.. sometimes can accident still... esp when child sick or nightmare etc.

eunice,

ya, try to adjust your kid's last milk or water timing and of course pee before getting in bed. Best also to wean off the last milk feed liao. So that won't have tooth decay problem.

maisymouse.. duno leh.. radin mas, zhang de & gan eng seng all lidat, p1 & p2 oni friday a.m. sessions like the upper primary. is their CCA day as well.

gotta go liao.. cont'd tmr =)

Just to share... Just received a call this morning from the kindergarten...and Marcus secured himself a place early (supposed to start in March) ...he's starting this coming Monday...no more restless days for him..

ecookie ... bb so sweet looking and cute ... handsome boy ... YZ ... did u let him carry didi??? why not ask him to sit on the bed den let him carry didi ... and best is didi cry and YZ carry didi and didi stop crying ...
;P

toilet train ... aiyo aiyo ... all of U so hardworking ... i am not thinking of this at all kekekeke hmmm will think of that after March when they are 2.5 yrs old ...

For Carissa ...she drank like 4oz only so its not alot of water ... I will ask her to go to the toilet be4 she sleep and i will also bring her to the toilet and ask her to pee on the toilet bowl when i want to sleep ( abt 1 to 2 hrs after the last pee) ... try a few times den she ok liao she is easy BEST bb in the world remember but off cos 1 or 2 times still pees in her sleep la ... but for a few mths etc ... 1st few times i cane her and reminded her to go toilet den after that ok ... and also watch out for sign that they need to pee too ... that is crying ... moving a lot in their sleep
cheers happy training keke ... "sigh" me soon

Junnie i think the food was ok ... but still too ex liao but to think i have to go there and come back and cook den bring there again .. hmmm its like got to drive there for 25-35 mins depends on the jam here ... so hmmm
Yes we are sleeping earlier den in SG ... now the kids will be in their dreamland by 10 pm and hb ... he hope to sleep by 8.30 but haha U can still see him doing thing at 9.30

Ya I think I will still bring Carlson along 1st to play save

yes with God's strength I should be able to make it ya ...
Amen

oh yes talking abt our kids scold us back .. aiyo just den hb was scolded by Carlson cos hb kept Carlson toy that he use to beat Carissa and Carlson likes that toy very much ... he kept saying noti daddy noti daddy ... den slowly quietly ..he walk to take the toy again and been caught by me kekek very funny ... he also like to said " U see la" " not fair H"... when he did something wrong and know that we will scold or cane him he will faster say "I dun want cane I dun want cane "

CM,
nope for today.
Today receive call fr cc, she have slight fever 37.7 so bring her back lor. then form teacher told me she vomit water cos drink too much water and lunch teacher feed her she vomit liao. Teacher say she went to another class for chinese lesson 1 hr, when she back she saw sherry water bottle empty liao. Cos w/o her fav teacher by her side she cry then another teacher give her drink water so that she stop crying who know my gal finish up all her water. Aft she vomit, fav teacher took her temp lor then know she slight fever. Actually aft vomit she cry cos she scare mah so i think this trigger her temp to be slightly higher than normal. But nvm, i bring her hm lor. Let her take med n eat some of my lunch then aft her milk she take nap. Wake up i measure till night now is always ard 37.1 or 36.7. But before she sleep i still give her med too in case temp up again in midnite.
tell u hor, this morning she smart liao, she don't turn n walk in the direction to cc, i have to carry her to cc and when i took her slipper out she cling on to me. but still have to pass her to her fav teacher.

congrats ecookie! Your boy is so cute! Dun worry abt YZ not being able to accept didi... just be careful that he is not too rough with him. Every soon, he will love didi like crazy.

That was what happened from what I see.. at first lleyton was so violent, then now so sweet.. everyday morning and evening after school, the first thing is request to see mei-mei and want to lie beside her.

super busy at work.. can't even take a breather. A lot of things to catch up. I miss my leave.. sob sob..

Gd morning mummies...

Tiffy, how is sherry today? hope no more fever liaoz...

Travis cc reported another few cases of HFMD over the past wk. But its not from toddler group. Hopin the kiddos who hav will recover soon.

i think i'm not going to toilet train aria yet cos she's a milk monster recently!!! v v scary. nowadays, i have to change her diaper in the middle of the night to prevent overflow. yesterday night, i gave gave her 240ml, didn't go to sleep and requested somemore. top up another 100ml, then she fell asleep. scary right?

then middle of the night woken up and requested for milk again. gave her 120ml. then this morning 7am requested again and gave her another 120ml. lucky i got more than enough, else bankrupt man. dunno how many tins of milk she's going to consume..

aria jo,
perhap u have to give her more rice during dinner. They have grown up, need more food. Cos i notice if i give Sherry less rice, middle of night she want milk milk but if i give her more rice she will sleep till next day morning.

dodo/karrie and breastfeeding mums and mums-to-be,

i found out abt this
make me want to commit even longer! i'm glad i TBF aria for 16mths and now giving her ebm..hehe..let's jia you together

from kelly.com
=================

Although there has been little research done on children who breastfeed beyond the age of two, the available information indicates that breastfeeding continues to be a valuable source of nutrition and disease protection for as long as breastfeeding continues.

"Human milk expressed by mothers who have been lactating for >1 year has significantly increased fat and energy contents, compared with milk expressed by women who have been lactating for shorter periods. During prolonged lactation, the fat energy contribution of breast milk to the infant diet might be significant."
-- Mandel 2005

"Breast milk continues to provide substantial amounts of key nutrients well beyond the first year of life, especially protein, fat, and most vitamins."
-- Dewey 2001

In the second year (12-23 months), 448 mL of breastmilk provides:
29% of energy requirements
43% of protein requirements
36% of calcium requirements
75% of vitamin A requirements
76% of folate requirements
94% of vitamin B12 requirements
60% of vitamin C requirements
-- Dewey 2001

Studies done in rural Bangladesh have shown that breastmilk continues to be an important source of vitamin A in the second and third year of life.
-- Persson 1998

It's not uncommon for weaning to be recommended for toddlers who are eating few solids. However, this recommendation is not supported by research. According to Sally Kneidel in "Nursing Beyond One Year" (New Beginnings, Vol. 6 No. 4, July-August 1990, pp. 99-103.):
Some doctors may feel that nursing will interfere with a child's appetite for other foods. Yet there has been no documentation that nursing children are more likely than weaned children to refuse supplementary foods. In fact, most researchers in Third World countries, where a malnourished toddler's appetite may be of critical importance, recommend continued nursing for even the severely malnourished (Briend et al, 1988; Rhode, 1988; Shattock and Stephens, 1975; Whitehead, 1985). Most suggest helping the malnourished older nursing child not by weaning but by supplementing the mother's diet to improve the nutritional quality of her milk (Ahn and MacLean. 1980; Jelliffe and Jelliffe, 1978) and by offering the child more varied and more palatable foods to improve his or her appetite (Rohde, 1988; Tangermann, 1988; Underwood, 1985).

Good Morning Mummies

I will here alot today as I am home nua-ing.... haha.

Tiffy,
Good to hear Sherry has recovered. Looks like the momentum has been broken and she needs to be pacified again. Should not be too difficult for her to get back to the momentum.

Aria,
Hahha... Aria sounds like my Lucas now. He has been a milk monster since he was 8th months till now, on and off, he will request milk in the middle. His last feed is 11pm, and he will usually ask for 2nd bottle after he finished his 1st bottle of 240ML. Andrea has been good all the while until lately, she will also at times ask for extra milk in the middle. Till today, I never had good sleep for the past 4yrs liao.
My kids are drinking as though Milk is FOC wor... I have to order 10 tins of 1.8KG each time and it only last me for 3-4 mths. Well, cannot complaint la.. better than some toddlers already stop FM.

Ya, you really safe alot with your own production. Keep going and remember to claim a big present from your hb when you stop BF. Start adding the amount you will save each month!

tiffany,
i think she getting smarter leh. She know wear shoe mean have to go to sch so cry n struggle don't let me wear her shoe. I don't care lah, force it on her. Then guai guai let me carry her n leave hse for cc. But reach cc cry abit but don't care i just pass it to her teacher in-charge n i walk off.

Tiffy,
They are all Smart alec la... Ya, just have to persist our way and not let them have their own way. They can adapt easily one.

So, while Sherry in school, you have alot of freedom loh. envy envy

Tiffy, ya the cc will inform me even if it is not from their group. Coz its still within the cc mah. They hav to inform us. Plus they advised parents to minimise trips to public areas for the kids.

ariajo, wah seh...u really helped ur hb to save alot wif ur abundant supply. hahaha...makes me more determined to BF for #2 liaoz... :p

tiffy,
i think aria eat quite a lot for her dinner. sometimes my FIL commented that she ate more than my niece! at night she has a habit of drinking milk and goes to sleep. so, we try not to overloaded her with solid in case she wants to drink a lot of milk! i notice that if i give her 240 to 300+ ebm (around 9.30pm), she can sleep until 7am. but yesterday night is an exception.

tifanny,
haha... i still remember dodo telling us abt hubby popping champayne after she wean off ZQ..haha..right now, i really no idea when to stop but i will commit at least 1 year first.

maruko,
yes, i want to encourage you to do that for your no.2!

aria,
oh so only yest she want more milk. See how today lor. Maybe back to normal.

tiffany,
more quiet at hm, more freedom but still not so sing lang cos still have to cook. kekeke

maruko,
oh no wonder in dec when the cc have 2 cases of HFMD, they also called me up to check whether i want them to help me appeal the admission of Sherry. Then now i also know why this cc have such long waiting list cos they operate fr 7am to 7.30pm, normally cc close at 7pm

tiffy,
not really. happened a few times already. last time she use to drink 150ml FM only.. lately i increase to 240ml. if i give less than 200ml, for sure she will wake up in the middle of the night asking for milk.

it's weird loh.. i'm not doing this to earn leh.. i'm selling it away cos aria doesn't drink anymore...also, i only have 3 tins. not like i'm gathering people for BP..

morning all

eunice.. u still in office arh?? keke..

tiffany,ariajo.. wat a 'milk monster' we hv! keke.. i thot as they grow older shd not crave for much milk, but is opp!!

tiffany.. hi*5.. me too nvr hv good nite sleep since i got the kids =( it has been few months lance keep waking up middle of nite asking for milk! oni ting to stop him fm crying is quickly make milk for him & stuff in his mouth! zann also, no matter how full, she must hv milk b4 bed (like we call 'ni gian' in hokkien)! my 1.8kg FM oni last 3wks for each of them (step 3 & step 4 hor, ie 2 tins).. really v siong! but to 'compensate' them & for their good, bobian.. X also must buy.. cos i dun hv BM =( both my kids can say nvr BF b4 (i tried 1st wk aft birth oni.. supply so pathetic & feel so helpless + no support fm family.. so stressful & no time to pump cos always sandwiched btw CL & my mum.. finally gv up).

ariajo,dodo,karrie... must 加油.. dun gv up as long as your supply nvr fails u =)

re toilet training.. lance still not ready... thou he keep saying 'shh shh come out' recently but he pee in diaper then tell u. pass motion he ok, oni want to go toilet. when i'm w him at home (usually sunday), i'll let him wear training pants, of cos, gotta wash every now & then loh.. for zann, cant remember how old liao, tink late 2yrs+ or begginning of 3, she automatic dun wan wear diaper for day time (may b bcos we keep telling her go toilet to pee) for nite, when u notice the diaper is dry till morning, tat's when she's ready. we also make it an effort to bring her to pee middle of nite, it takes 2-3mths b4 diaper free. for lance, i wan to train him but no time, cant totally rely on nanny too... gotta 走一步看一步..

cm.. keep praying.. everything will b fine your end =)

tiffy.. glad sherry's fever no more le.. try tell her abt good tings of schl, etc, etc.. tat's wat i did to lance.. tis wk he no cry in schl... nanny say he'll tell her 'wait outside for you ok' ('you' = me).. hehe..

drop in to say hi

remember dreamz? she has delivered to his 2nd boy too this morning

dodo, saw u asked me about breastfeeding.
hmm i wish to try until 1 yo, but not sure if i can do it. so far bosco still on total breastmilk. let's see!

anyway, bosco is still coughing. sigh.. i swear he was so much better on sunday. then monday night came home to start coughing again. it's hard not to think that my sil and niece pass the germs to him again. i'm quite sure cos both of them cough without covering their mouth. shoot!

i just hope he will recover soon!

CNY cum Valentine Day is arriving. What do you all usually do for preparation of CNY ah? Besides spring cleaning, have u all start to buy the goodies? buy fm where?

re: caning
chloe gets a solid one yesterday. chloe is extremely clingy to me recently. every morning cry asking me not to go to work. then see i spend more time taking care of bosco (sick mah!) she's acting up a lot. cry cry cry until i buay tahan.

zhen zhen,
saw ur problem bottle feeding deborah. try changing the teats? that helped a bit when i faced the same problem with bosco. but after i went back to work, he just guai guai take bottlefeed. i guess the babies are just too smart!

karrie, aria & chintz,
let's jiayou together!

chintz,
ya, YA also on total breastmilk so far.. i still reluctant to intro FM to him leh but worry supply running low.. and this boy really dun like solid, reject cereal & porridge. his favourites are wholemeal bread & avocado! but impossible to feed him these all the meals right.. coz BM has lil iron after 6mth, and bb needs to replenish this from solid but he not eating well.. shang nao jing.. i know FM got more iron but i still abit reluctant to give leh.. in a dilemma now..

oh dear, hope bosco recover soon! his coughing "dry" or got phlegm? let him drink more lukewarm water ya, and apply babyvicks on his chest & soles..

im looking for cane here at BJ leh! cant find it

gonna 开张 on zq.. coz he always cry n cry and make v drama scene when he wake up from nap.. wan me to keep carry him and dun even allow me to sit down! persuasion, coaxing & threatening all no use.. realy wana get a cane!

oh ya, my helper is sick for 3 days liao, keep sneezing and runny nose.. and zq start to show signs of runny nose too.. wah, i damn scared leh!!! can i request her to wear a mask? is it rude of me to make such request?

eunice.. sama sama, i also tried forum.. except i dun go chinatonw (too crowded until bth =D)
jas.. sometime i jus buy fm neighbourhood cake shop aft trying their samples.. happy shopping =) (i hate spring cleaning.. bleh.. gotta take leave to do it cos w two monkeys at home can nvr do a single ting!)

chintz, dodo.. hope your kiddo faster recover!

dodo.. no cane in bj?? here got many =D

gingerleaf,

he's going to a church kindergarten...that is so accessible for me every afternoon...can't commit somewhere too far...cos i have no personal car. It's just 5 mins walk. He's starting Music at Mandeville this coming feb....I will start him for extra lorna whiston and chinese when he turns 3 only....same as Tiffie when she's younger...

how bout you? have u decided for lyn?

eunice, junnie, Jas
I also order fr forum cos 1 supplier will deliver to my hse and another supplier will deliver to certain MRT station for collection.

do you ever encounter maids with BO... my indonesian maid smells weird even though she just took a bath...not that kind of perspiration smell...could it be the spice they took since young? hb pointed out to me several rounds, and i personally can smell it from 1 metre away.

any suggestions...really BTH that smell leh.

tiffy,

glad sherry is better liao. mon when i bring ashley to CC,she oso dun wan to go,cry and cry..maybe bcos over the weekend no need to go mah.then i got to carry her and she cry along the way..sigh.. luckily yest and tdy,she did not cry when i left.
she stil dun wan to take her nap there..oso dun wan to drink milk made by the teacher.my mum said she scare kena "poison"by ppl.