(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

dodo,
i totally understand your feeling. somehow feel v reluctant to intro FM when all along managed to TBF. but then think of it this way, the most important thing is to make sure YA grow well and satisfied! If you really feel tired abt expressing, supplement. I'm targetting at least 1 year of expressing.. v v sian but no choice i have to commit to this becuase I TBF aria for 16 mths. So it's not fair if Naia doesn't get as much BM as Naia..hehe.. And anyway, Aria is hooked on my EBM too. So, i should jia you! Thank God my session is relatively short, abt 30-45 mins and 4 times a day only. I'm still thinking whether to cut down to 3 sessions.

totoro,
the lessons are desk bound right? kelly is able to sit down for 1 hour?? I'm so afraid that Aria will get bored..

eunice,
hubby checked out the montesorri punggol plaza and he read that there's lots of bad comments!

jsut called home. naia just drank her milk..phew.. what a scare! that's like almost 12 hours from her last feed! i hope the next feed she will not reject again. if reject again, highly suspect she's having sore throat..

ariajo, glad to hear naia is drinkin milk liao...u might wanna observe if she is havin slight fever or gettin cranky. Travis appetite & mood always no gd when havin throat infection.

maruko,
this morning i tot i felt she's a bit warmish but checked her temperature, she's ok. will let my hubby know. thanks.

ariajo, there r a couple of times when I felt travis being feverish but i used thermometer to check & no indication of fever. Den I noticed I gotta "insert" the thermometer further into the ear to check & sometimes will hav a slight fever indicated. U might wanna take note of this also. Or mayb im the mummy here who dun really noe how to use thermometer. :p

tiffany, eunice & aria,

thanks for the reply..
im still BF & expressing now, still manage to meet his demand.. but this milk monster can drink 900ml even though he started on solid! i will till continue to BF and expressing till maybe hs 18 mth or when my supply really dry up, but thinking to intro 1 FM feed for his night feed.. but the thought of him not total BF soon make me abit sad.. duno why..

i exclusively expressing for zq till his 1 yr old (when i preggie wi YA).. but supplement zq wi FM from newborn to 3 mth old (when my supply established).. then supplement again from 6 mth old to 1 yr old coz my supply not that much last time round..

aria,
glad that naia resume her drinking.. her rejection of milk is it because she miss mummy??

tiffany,
u very funny leh! damn happy that ur milk stopped.. :p
i actually enjoy BF and expressing leh.. just that supply seems to reduce, not sure why though.. menses not here yet leh..

oh regarding the nose bleed, it's only a lil bit of blood right? is it because she rub her nose when her nose blocked so cause the irritation and nose bleed? dun worry much since the blood stop.. but keep monitor ya..

maruko,
i'm using the thermoscan. pretty accurate because i scan my forehead first before scanning hers.

dodo,
no lah..btw, in the beginning do u hv constipation problem? i'm so dry now and everyday going to toilet is a nightmare.

tifanny,
andrea sleep in aircon room? it could be because her nose is dry which might lead too nose bleed. happen to my niece a couple of times..

Dodo,
I hate expressing. Cos, everytime I will feel fainting after expressed, and I need to gulp a cup of warm milo to replenish all my loss nutrients. I have been blessed in a way, as I have lots of milk and it could be because of this, I feel very xin ku? How many hours of interval do you express and how much milk in the morning 1st pump? I could get about 500ml in the morning and I thought it was abit scary and I will feel very exhausted after draining out the milk.

Dodo/Aria,
She does sleeps in aircon and I thought it could be due to teh dryness and her running nose medicine that dry up her mucus too. This time her bleeding is fresh blood and flowing, the 1st time so much compared to previously just streaks of blood. Thank God it stopped, so I am not so worried now. Will continue to monitor her and also gave her barley water to cool her down.... hahahaha... Kiasi mummy!

tifanny,
i'm the opp of u.. i felt relieve after expressing cos the breasts so heavy!!literally like carying to small melons in the morning leh..haha...

my session last abt 30-35 mins and my yield is also really a lot! freaks me out in the beginning but now get use to seeing so much!haha. i express 4 times a day now ie 12 midnight (450ml ), 7am (470-500ml) , 2pm (480-500ml) and 7pm (350ml). scary hor? that's why i have bad constipation and body v v dry. my breasts suck up all my body fluid!

seriously for the 1st time, i feel good boasting..ceh..dun abish me hor..hehe...

tiffany... cud it b heatiness? monitor if tis happens again, if so, bring andrea to see doc.. thks 4 info on berries & tian xia.. will chk it out when i'm free..

dodo.. mix feeling to stop bf?? tink is normal for bf mummies.. u alr done your best, ya & zq both so lucky =)

petit_gars... u r rite.. machiam we 'going to schl' too!! i duno how zann gonna sit for exam year end, she's still in her 'pre-schl' mode!! tiffie's schedules forever so 'packed'... heng she enjoys them.

cm.. glad carissa 1st day @ schl goes well & the meal so cheap?? remember u mentioned ur hb & carlson's schl start as early as 4+am!! really v early leh!! u gotta stay alert like a hawk for yours & family's safety cos u @diff country...

ariajo... tink if naia hungry she'll drink milk.. dun worry.. must gv her sufficient fluid more importantly..

eunice..bobian.. we all staying in sg =(

ariajo, oh...u using thermoscan? Tink Naia might b missing ur "milk smell" so refuse to drink. :p
re: milk supply
gosh u really express alot leh...I dun tink I can ever express dat much. hahaha...

yoz ladies!

tiffany, andrea could be heaty.. do monitor her ya? and bring her to a doc if it happens again.. =)

aria, glad to hear naia is drinking milk again! phew!

junnie ... not carlson only hb ... yes 4am for weekend and 5 for weekdays ... but i heard that after a week or 2 they will need to go school at only 6am !!! hope so if not the time is too short for us liao canot do much things and its time to sleep ... but i am very happy that both kids are sleeping much earlier hahahahaha ... same here la i need to too ... cos i need to wake up early too ...
Meal ... cheap??? S$2.30 per day ... in SG we only give her S$2.00 ... i only hope that she finsh her food and dun waste my $$$ man cos she eats very little ... i think a normal kid her age can eat 70% more den her REALLY ...

Piano is here but i think the condition is no good hmmm will ask hb and carissa to try out

Family Safety ... sian man i was thinking i can just bring Carissa to school myself with the driver ... den now that driver said he saw Maid's hb outside my hse ...peng ... dun no how liao ... and also i can go and fetch her myself too cos the school dismissal time is also Carlson's nap time ... "sigh"

How mummies ... what will U do if U were me ???

my maid also always forget to off the tap ... i ask my hb to tell her that if the next time i see it again i will deduce rp20,000 from her everytime ... cannot take it when ppl waste water like this

ariajo ... ya la ya la can come here and boast abt yr milk la ... kekekeke ... very happy right when U can express more ... me too hahaha

tiffany & aria,
hee.. i dun mind expressing, but i prefer latch on, makes me feel very relax n warm..

i used to express 1.5litre a day, but recently it starts to reduce till 900ml.. guess my body knows that bb starts solid so start to produce less, but YA still prefers milk, he dun really like solid loh..

aria,
u hv lots of supply! my peak was also when bb 3mth to 6mth old.. and yes, i have less urine & poo also very dry.. now also like that even though i drown myself wi lotsa fluid!

junnie,
ya.. not planning to stop BF, but the thought of intro 1 FM feed makes me feel abit sad... getting v emo over this..

Aria,
WOW... you are superb. Dont worry, I know deep down you are very contented that you can produce so much milk to Naia. SHhhhh.. actually I am also very satisfied that I can produce the amount enough to feed both my kids during Andrea's time.... but I really cannot tahan the expressing...cos I do get block duct easily too. I will take up to 1hour each session, very sian. Envy envy your powerful milk gland. Good and keep it up. Go quick boast to your hb that you help him to safe alot of money on milk and in return, get him to treat you to something nice and pamper yourself. hohohoho

Dodo,
You also another powerful one with solid milk gland. No wonder your 2 kiddos so bai bai pang pang. very chubby kiddos.

Junnie, Hippo,
Thanks for concern. I will keep monitoring her and give her lots of water.

milk : btw dun let kiddies drink excessly cos it'll affect their intake on iron. just drink moderate. kids above 2 yrs should drink a certain amt only (forgot the amt liao)

Junnie n Jas,

Ya, also thinking of bringing chloe to trial for berries.

Tiffany,

Usu nose bleed cos a tiny blood vessel broke... Usu due to child rubbing nose too hard when she sleep. Reason being nose too dry etc. dont be too alarmed.

I feel that aft a child turns abt 5, we tend to start to nag and nag and nag,, haha.. My girls also want to watch tv during meals and eat super slow ...

Zhen,

Chloe totally turned her nose at ebm aft the confinement lady left.. She simply refuse all forms of artificial teats.

Dodo, aria and tiffany,

Wow, 400-500ml is really amazing! But aria, don't pump until u totally dehydrated... Can faint like wat tiffany say.. Think tiffany u might have overtired yourself and burnt out

tiffany
my girl is in Bugis branch since day 1. she is taking Jap as they only introduce Malay langauge much later so since we already expose her to Jap, we just stick to it. At least now, she knows have to count 1-10 in jap ha ha ... she like to listen to the jap songs as well

The last time when we were at Polliwogs, there was this group of jap toddlers playing and they were counting while throwing the ball. She immediately turn to me and was pointing to me with excitement!! ha ha it's like she never hear anyone outside speaking that language other than in class so was quite amazed!!

CM
If you asked me, I'll bring him along at least for the initial period until trust is built between you and the maid. But i know it might be tough.

nosebleed
Could be heaty but just continue to monitor ... the dryness of the air plays a part as well

tiffany,
ya same as u, i need to drink some hot drink after the pumping.. if not will feel very thirsty and giddy..
my boys average bah, bai bai yes, pang pang ok bah.. but YA very tall, duno coz of my milk or hubby's genes.. hee :p
i commented on ur FB that Andrea looks so chubby now! she eats lots huh? she really looks like 3-4 yr old girl.. and i envy her voluminous hair!

mm,
ya.. so i keep my pumping session 15-20mins, as long as there are 2 letdowns.. coz got a few weeks i pumped till 20-25mins, then my nipple crack and sore! damn painful!!!
and hor, i already start to nag nag nag though zq just 2 yrs +.. hee

Dodo,

900ml should be ok for YA... Dun need to give FM la..

Tiffany,

Think the flatuation of milk expressed is too big and prob irregular or too long intervals will tend to lead to block ducts. You must have been very hard at yourself then?

language:

mummies, does ur child has a dominant language?
as in they really prefer 1 language and only wan to converse in that? zq prefers chinese and i notice it's getting more n more intense.. he dun even wan to reply to us in english when we speak to him in english. he understand what we talk about but he just dun wan to converse in english.. im trying to let him have a balance of both language but seems very difficult, esp my helper only speak chinese..

mm,
he drinks abt 900ml a day beside latching on in the morning.. then i still need to use some milk to make cereal for him..
and beside the one latch on, i can express abt 900ml of milk from the 3 pumpings.. so it's like barely meet the end everyday.. getting abit stress over this.. and yesterday and today he seems to drink more milk.. so i think very soon i gonna intro FM though i quite reluctant to do so.. sigh

finally free to log in... hehe. still at TMC.
thanks for all the well wishes. as usual my milk supply has not come in yet so will let peanut suckle to stimulate but asking the nurse here to feed him w FM as well. TMC very pro TBF and i dun really like that they are reluctant to feed peanut FM and kept stressing to me to try TBF for 1 year after learning that i BF yz for only 4m back then.
personally, i feel BF is a personal choice and should not be impose on the mummy. :p bleah.

anyway, have not think of a name since got to go count strokes to decide. but peanut will be yong-something as well. heh.

aria_jo: this time round its also natural w epi and induced one. exactly same as w yz.
labour time is ard 8hrs +, i hr shorter than previous 9hrs. tot it will be faster but end up abt the same.

aria_jo, dodo: wow ur milk ss is v good. if like that i dun mind BF for longer cos i really dun like direct. if pumping can yield enuff intake for the baby, i will do so for longer period.. :p this lazy mummy..

feel that he doesnt look like yz. but still too soon to tell bah..
anyway yz not reacting well to didi!! yest he came to visit us with my mum. and he said he doesnt want didi to go back to our hse w us. and when he saw hb and myself carrying peanut, kept asking us to put him back to his plastic cot. @_@
think have a lot of persuading to do to let him accept didi...

MM,
Dont know lei?!?! I used to express 4 times a day with an interval of about 4-6hours and of course the morning pump with an interval of about 7-8hours, thats why can get bigger volume. I like to empty my breast, so, I tend to take long time. I heard Medela PIS is very good, can be done within 20mins. I used to use Medela dual electric and Amelda.

Dodo,
Andrea has been a fussy eater lately. Reject fish totally for quite awhile already. She loves eggs and can eat up to 2-3 eggs each meal hor..... She will ask for hard boil eggs every meal. At times when she refuse to eat, she will also end up eating rice with soup only. One thing, she is still taking lots of FM.

Hmm... look like big girl? guess is photo tricks... hahaha.. my MIL thinks she is too short and commented her body structure looks like round round short short type.... hmmmmmm.... I think its her long hair that makes her look like older bah...

Andrea is the opposite of ZQ in terms of language. She refuse to speak mandarin. Whenever I read chinese story to her and tell her the word in mandarin, she will point and tell me in english. Eg. Rice in mandarin... Fan1. she will say rice and when I say louder, Fan1, she will raise her voice and say RICE.. she just refuse to say Fan1, OK??? so angry#*($_#

However, I think they will change. Cos for Lucas, he used to refuse mandarin when he was 2-3yo, now, he can speak mandarin already. I feel Berries environment has instill the mandarin in him and he is open to mandarin now. He can even recite one of the tang si which I taught him. hehehe

Totoro,
Kelly must be very happy to hear someone reciting the Japanese numbers, which she is familiar with.

eunice,
really? may i know why? not sure if aria is drinking excessively leh..

dodo,
bb at this age can balance the language one meh? aria speaks mostly in english though she understand mandarin. i think that's what you call mother tongue? hehe..i think YA inherit your hubby tall gene lah..

tifanny/maisymouse,
haha.. now I know what is power breast! I just express abt 30-35 mins until breast almost empty.. so far still ok, no dizzy feeling.. just feel whew, realieve.. body “piao ah piao ah”..haha… when the breast full of milk, really a bit heavy leh.. no wonder those very well endowed have back aches man..keke…

maruko,
yes, thermoscan. Bought it from BP sometime back. It’s the same brand as the one use in hospitals. Quite useful especially taking temperature for infant because those ear thermometer not accurate for them. Also it’s useful when you don’t want to disturb you kid when he/sleeping and you need to keep taking temperatures.

ecookie!
how are u feeling now?
did YZ visit didi & u already?
so happy to see didi's photo! he is so chubby! and he got bushy hair also.. his face very round and feel like pinching him leh.. hee

dun worry abt the milk supply, it will come in soon.. meanwhile just latch on and stimulate.. is didi power sucker?

agree that BF is personal choice & decision, just do what u comfy at! let lil peanut to suckle ur breasts the moment whenever he cries, ur supply will kick in v soon! rest well and drink lots of red dates tea

ecookie,
peanut looks fair
yeah, too early to tell. when naia was born she also look v diff from aria. but now, she's looking more n more like aria. just that her eyes are bigger..haha...

i think it takes 1-2 weeks for YZ to get use to the idea of having a sibling. dun worry. aria was like that too. now, once in a while, she will go over to naia and shake the rattle for her or kiss her arm, etc very endearing to see that

totoro,
which LNT branch you're sending kelly to?

ecookie,

didi is so cute & cuddly! I still like infant look cause so innoncent. now our terrible two kiddos can argue back with you. hahaha

agree on the bf part. I only bf for one month as supply was pathetic.I still remember my CL suan me say the milk not enough for bb to wash mouth. wah lau. anyway, don't stress yourself out too much! have a good rest!

ecookie,
oh, you induce in the midde of the night cos i received sms from you and you said peanut arrived at 7 plus in them morning? that's why i thought you c-sec..

ecookie, aiyo! didi is so cute.. i like his chubby cheeks.. he doesn't resemble YZ in this pic.. but who knows! keke..
oh dear. TMC so naggy in their approach ar. i m worried they'll do the same to me when i deliver #2. tsk tsk. cos i will be just like u! argh.. personal choice ma.. chey..

hope YZ accepts didi into the family soon! maybe it'll get better when u bring didi home.. =)

ecookie, peanut so cute...am sure ur milk will com soon. Dun bother abt the nurse pressin u abt BF. As for YZ, juz let him slowly adjust to diversion of ur attention. Travis also dun like me to carry my niece lately. Keep askin me to carry him instead. :p

re: milk supply
my god...all the mummies here talkin abt milk supply. Tink I pai seh to say how much I express previously. -_-

ecookie,
dun worry abt YZ's reaction.. it's a new thing for him after all.. just hv to keep assuring him that papa mama still loves him lots.. then at this age they very KPO one, u can ask him to help burp didi, throw didi's diaper, fold didi's hanky.. he will feel that he very "important" then will develop a sense of responsibility towards didi.. im sure he will love didi v much!

tiffany,
haa! zq loves hard boil egg also!
precisely! same as zq! when i read him english stories, he will re narrate the stories in mandarin.. faint.. i hope he will be more receptive towards english..

aria,
hmm.. i hope zq is more "open up" for english.. he can point the items and say their names in english but he very reluctant to speak english sentence.. and when i keep communicate wi him in english, he will get annoyed..

Hi Ecookie,

Nice to see your post and picture of peanut. He is so sound asleep. He looks fair too. Handsome peanut.

Slowly encourage YZ to accept the new addition. Tell him that he will not be alone and that now he as a didi to play with and they can do many many things together liao.... When there are 2 kiddos, fights are inevitable. House will be super noisy too... hahaha... Enjoy the noise....

Jiayou on Breastfeeding. Sure to come soon. Honestly, I think feeding alternate is better, so that we wont have difficulty weaning off our nipple. This is my point of view.

dodo, adri's dominant language is english but she speaks in a mix of rojak as well. so i guess itz ok ba? maybe the helper can speak to him in mandarin and u guys speak to him solely in english? i guess one person speak to them too many languages they also blur.. whereas itz more acceptable to have diff pple talk to them in diff lingo..

tiffany,
i fully agree! my house super noisy everyday!
last night when hubby and me had dinner, the boys were playng in the play yard.. and we heard some screamings going on, so we went and checked it out, both sitting in front of a xylophone, YA was pulling zq's hair and zq kept shouting "bu yao bu yao", then one of zq's hand holding 1 end of the xylophne and one of YA's hand snatching the xylophone from the other end.. BTH! haa

hippo,
ya.. i wana speak to him solely in english also, but very often i have to speak to him and my helper the same time so i usually speak in mandarin.. i try to implement a "day system", duno workable or not.. tues, thurs & sat english day, hubby and me have to speak to the boys only english from the moment they wake up till they zzz.. then the rest mandarin.. duno can make it or not :p

eunice, haha...if I didn't recall wrongly, I tink so. But it's a low 3-digit. :p

dodo/tiffany, I noticed Travis speaks more eng den mandarin though he can understand. But at least he attempts to say it when I guide him along. For eg, when he wan something he will say "I wan 面包" but I will always tell him to say 我要面包 instead. BUT he will still end up wif "I wan" if he speaks in full sentence. -_-

dodo,
i think it's the environment that ZQ is expose too. now, everyone around him is speaking mandarin right? I'm sure when he's back and when he mingle with those english speaking kids, his spoken language will change again
dun worry k?