(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Gingerleaf
the two of us can clap hands on the topic ..
I thot you mentioned about odyssey? Actually I like a few schools looking at what they do for the kids but all too exp and I'm thinking should I start later instead????

the Pre-N and N is really confusing loh... if they are the same, why have 2 names hee hee

totoro,

hahah, i thot u started already!

Im looking at st james oso leh. Dunno if I wanna go for it or not since its still at 15-20mins drive away, or look ard in my area.

Odyssey is very expensive leh.

Totoro,

It does sound alittle confusing for 1st time mum. If you are used to it, it is not too difficult.

Pre-Nursery = 3yo
Nursery = 4yo
K1 = 5yo
K2 = 6yo

If not wrong, schools usually use PN and Nursery. N1 and N2 are laid-man term used by people who dont really get it....

I think its whether you bear to leave your kid in school as early. Bound to have crying, however, I feel, if older, he/she would be able to handle the "stress" better.

I think Andrea is still not ready for school as she still cant take instructions very well, so, I think it will be better that I delay her to school until she is more tong-si. As long as Kelly has activities at home, there is no hurry to send so urgently. Going to school also has its cons, they tend to fall sick more often too.

gingerleaf have u placed a name in that school ??? if not i think Lyn can only get in by K2 ??? but they do have new timing that is not very good as in its during the CCA timing so the kids cannot join any extra class

Pre N & N is differ ... PreN & N1 yes the same ...

Gingerleaf,
St James has vacancy or need to be on wait list? Its a popular school. James Lye's son is there. If you dont mind travelling 15-20mins everyday, then its nice to send her there.. I have friend who sent her son there, but pulled out after 1 yr due to distance.

gingerleaf: st james is also expensive! for a kindy at least lah, i feel. cos u need to take into considertion all the extra fees for the books/computer lessons etc thrown in. dun think u will be letting lyn take school bus right? cos st james has one of the highest intake of students for kindy ard 500+ pple. so abit chaotic when come to after school. better to go fetch lyn yourself if possible.

gingerleaf: oh and the registration is atrocious. my friend has already booked a place for her daughter when she's only 1 year old for her pre-nursery year(ie when she is 3 yo). the waiting list can b very long esp. for morning sessions. u may want to email them to find out more 1st.

gingerleaf,

the last post i posted long time ago was ashley had chicken pox when she was 1yr..so that time u are asking how she got it.

anyway jus now ard 1pm,i fetched ashley back cos she still abit sad and was sitting alone with teacher at aside cos everyone is taking they nap,she dun wan to slp and drink milk..hoped tml she still wan go school.

Maruko,
The reason why we delaying het cos hubby think she's still young n immune not so strong yet. Anyway it's not a good time la. Worry aria will bring back the germs n spread to naia. 

Ecookie,
Ooh  exciting! Cant wait to hear ur good news! I too hv nit started toilet training aria though we hv introduce the used of toilet bowl to her. Hehe. She had a few times pooed in it. When she's playing she will poo in her diapers n v lazy to go toilet. I personally think she's ready but mummy lazy to start. He he.

Kathy,
Cuties you hv! Dun u think your girls complexion v good?  

Junnie,
the Taiwan trip is fun but very exhausting! hahaha..regards to Dayan school, unfortunately, he is not big kor kor leh..most of them are older than him. This boy did one thing that makes me most proud of him is whenever it is breakfast time, he is only one who finish up all by himself. Dun know should laugh or cry. This is called GREEDY! hahaha...

A Quick Post on Caelen's 1st Day of School

He didn't cry on Day 1 as I'm allowed to accompany him (Only for 3 days). Tried to sneak out today but he kept crying when he found out. Most likely will "harden" my heart and try to leave him alone tomorrow :p

3462592.jpg

Picture taken on the 1st day, How our little Kiddo had grown ! Recently Hubby and I kept singing “衣服本来刚刚好,怎么现在穿不下” ... Jingle from Scotts Emulsion, whenever Hubby washes and I fold Caelen's Clothes.

As for my new place, it's more or less ready just waiting to install grills in the back yard and wait for some new stuffs delivery. Definately will shift in mid January. Very tired these few days with the partial shifting (didn't want the mover to handle Caelen's toys and our Clothes etc) as well as 陪太子上学.

Gingerleaf
I didn't actually started as I just went to one place since it's near my office and let her try for a few hrs then.after getting all the forms, I'm still pondering as it's a full day childcare. My girl sometimes will still cry for me like this afternoon, my mother has to bring her downstairs to show her that I'm not at home! So I'm worried that she will be more unsecured if I just leave her there. Somemore this girl will cry till vomit type so really cannot bear to leave her there especially when my parents can still help me to take care.
ST James very popular, pats is also good but ex. I also like mindchamps, another exp ones hiaz

jovialz
guess we need to give them some time, I'm sure Caelen will be happy and looking forward to school soon. So where is your new place? In the west ? Or still northeast?

Ecookie
so fast you gonna pop soon, remember to rest well and bb will be guai guai and wait for daddy to be back next week

Jas
Dayan changed school ? You did send him to school earlier right ?

Tiffany
thanks for the explanation. So it should be pre- nursery now.

Mummies who sit in the class, so what did the teacher do/ teach during class?

hi hi ladies! still on leave today to send & fetch adri and play with her after dat so didnt log on.. =)

junnie, glad to hear both kiddos did well in school! zann is so cute with her 20cents chix rice.. hahaha! she is a growing kid la.. so need to eat lots!!
adri's bag? nah.. cos 1st day i didnt know wat to pack so packed 2 panties for her with her milk & water bottles.. hahaha! geez.. it wasnt heavy at all! just dat the bag was big and she dun wana carry. wat an excuse she gave to the teacher!! changed her bag today and she loved it so much cos the material is softer and smaller and i undersized her bag contents so no issues today. phew! the teacher took her bag and carried it just to test the weight today. so sia suay! and she told me again dat adri told her "it's heavy! it's heavy!" yday.. *hides face*

tiffy, congrats!! glad things went well for sherry too!! with u by her side to go thru the motions for the 1st week, she'll be well-prepared!

jas, ur sis told me dat adri said "不要回家" after class today... wah piangz.. i dunno to laugh or cry. but apparently she's quiet in class though she is fitting in.. keke.. and as for the toilet part, i asked her what she shd tell teacher if she wana go toilet.. she went "teacher, can i go toilet??" hahaha!

tiffany, ha! the way u describe andrea is so cute.. have u tried to put her on the potty in the morning and ask her to poo?

aria, u are back at work liao? =)

ecookie, SO exciting!!! so fast and u are full-term le! must keep us updated.. hope baby guai guai wait for daddy to finish reservist 1st!

gingerleaf & totoro, no hurry la but u girls can source for the schools now le esp when u both are interested in the popular ones.. just in case no more seats ar..

maruko, poor gal.. tried TCM for ur cough they shd be able to help with ur cough! recover fast!

hippo: adri is so smarty pants! heheh know how to get pple to help her carry bag. so how is she today?

Gd morning mummies...

back to work today liaoz...got loads of things to clear but peepin in for a short while...thx for all mummies concern. My cough is much better except dat I tend to cough more when sleepin...disturbs both my sleep & travis who is sleepin next to me...worse thing is he seems to b coughin as well...prayin hard he dun get the virus from me

junnie, zann is so funny wif her 20cents chicken rice...I was tinkin how com got so cheap one?

hippo, adri is so sweet...she noe how to ask teacher to go toilet liao ah? so smart...travis still cant poop sittin down...coz he still tends to poop in his diapers while standing up...lazy mummy still takin own sweet time to toilet train him...

gingerleaf, welcome back...missed ur posts leh...tink u gotta start lookin out for the school u wan to place Lyn in liao coz the waitin lists can go very far...

ariajo, ya dat is one of the cons for placin them in school early...

Good Morning Mummies

Re: Potty Train
Me also have not officially started although she did that before some time back. Now, when I asked her to go to potty when she want to poo poo, she says "NO". just wanna hold my hand and get moral support when she do her business!!!
Is there a deadline for potty training???? ha ha

Any kiddos doing phonics classes now?
My girl is able to recognize A-Z but am thinking the sound of it should be more important right?

oh, was talking to my bro yesterday as he had a friend working in a very well known pre-school. he told me that there is no syllabus in the school, basically they just teach what the children want to learn. For example, during F1 time, they will gather all the information on F1 etc. So now he say maybe CASINO since it's opening soon ha ha

seems like many of our kiddos start schooling! hope all is doing well and i bet they enjoy the class v much!

zq started on 21st dec.. the sch has "tier-enrolment", only 1 student in the class for the 2 weeks, so teathers can pay more attention to the new kid and get him adapt to the sch life... he was hero on the 1st day, never cried at all and always very happy.. coz everything is still so new & exciting for him! then 2nd day cried alot! coz he kept asking teacher "mama where?", teachers said it's very common esp im a full time mum and we had not separated for such a long time.. and i was teary at home also.. i find that the house very quiet and empty w/o him at home.. very contradict feeling i was having, when he was at home and behave very mischievously i hope he will be at school, but when he was at school i hope he back home soon.. wahaha

then 3rd to 5th day were okay, just asked teacher "mama where?" on n off.. now into 3rd week of school and he loves it so much! he requested to wear his uniform on sat & sun morning and told me "骞要上学了, 和小朋友玩".. haa.. and the lead teacher calls me everyday after school to update me his progress at school.. zq also gave me some commentaries on what happened at school of coz many times i catch no ball :p

the school don't allow parents to stay in when they 1st started sch, not even for 15mins! we had to bid farewell at the classroom entrance. sometimes im trying to peek but very difficult coz the classroom door is of toddler size, so i need to bend low very xinku..

hubby and me very happy to see zq enjoys himself in school, i hope i have made a good decision!

totoro,
u crack me up la! "moral support!" wahahaha

re potty train,
currently training zq and YA.. yes YA also.. haa
still a long way to go i think.. coz sometimes he dun wan to sit on potty n poo.. and sometimes when he told me he wan to poo is actually pee.. so im still trying my best! hope he can make it soon..

maruko,
pls take care! speedy recovery!
CNY coming soon, got lotsa of goodies waiting for u!

hippo,
hi-5! zq also told teacher 不要回家! wahaha
after experience what sch life is, home is just a boring place for them.. haaaa

Anyone keens on Japanese Class for toddlers. Brig had stop attending LNT. I found it too boring and found some concept too high level for him. Dun want to kill his interest. But he is keen in Japanese. Can sing a number of Japanese songs now..

So i though of sending him for Japanese class just for exposure.

I approached a language school which has japanese class for 2.5yr old, weekly at 1 hour each.. Will be going down for observation. Anyone keen to join in. MAybe can nego lower fee. :0

hello mummies! aiyo, i am busy like mad with month end aka year end closing. Stayed in office till 12.30am then back hm, continued to work until 3am. Look like a zombie today! :\

wah seh, the thread alive again! thanks to school opening. hehe!

good job to all toddlers who did not cry on the 1st day school!
(hippo: i know adri sure can made it! she din disappoint me =P)

well, i "extra" a bit, also update u all on my 1st day of school on Mon evening. I filled up my bags with lots of tibits (strong mint sweets, sour plums & even those sweets that will "jump" & "pop" inside mouth). In short, basically all sorts of stuff that can help to prevent me fm falling asleep. Funny right? can't help to laugh at myself too. but bobian lar, i really doubt my brain cells function-ability.

ecookie,
so excited for u! got ur hospital bag packed already?

kathy,
ur 2 princesses look alike leh & both so fair!

junnie,
wanted to laugh at u, how do u come up with the calculation of giving zann $1.10, kind of odd amount. LOL!

Dodo
She still have the poo poo problem so will want to hold my hand or our hands when she tried to "push" them out!!!!

Chris
Do they have a trial or something? I wanted to continue with LNT but Kelly says NO!! She has been crying for the last few lessons so end up almost $$ go down the drain as she will insist of getting out of the place hiaz !! Actually they have changed to another new location for bugis but my stubborn girl keep saying no.

I'm still interested to get the Japanese songs CD that you have. Can you give me the title or show me how it looks like??

ok, going for my lunch now

Hi Hi! Happy New Year!

Phew, been a hectic first 3 days of sch for me! Sch starts at 11.45am so aft breakfast, have to prepare lunch and feed the girls... they eat so slowly... we were nearly late for sch .. today is the last day parents can go in ... so my hb suggested I bring them to try the canteen food instead of eating at home.. Aiyo, now I know how bad the food taste...the noodle soup was brownish, full of soya sauce cos salty.. my girl said the fishball not nice. I checked out the other stalls... seems to have a lot of fried frozen stuff...and 2 malay stalls which I doubt my girl will patronise... sigh.

Junnie,

Ha, my girl spent 60ct on noodle 1st day and just 30ct on watermelon on 2nd day. She said I gave her too much porridge at home so very full... I cut her allowance fr $2 to $1.50.
Her cc friend very funny... spent $2.50 tho her pocket money is $2. Her mum said she dig her piggy bank and brought extra $.... ask stallholder for extra chicken, veg.. buy potato wedges, milo and fruit etc. No govt liao...can buy all she want... I was tickled pink when her mum told me about it.

KAthy, your girls are very cute!

Regarding potty training, chloe managed to successfully pee 3 times in the potty by her own accord for the past week. Otherwise, she always sit down and spring up in 2 seconds... for fun.
But this funny girl only do it at night before bedtime and insist of stripping naked before sitting on the potty. And she will fight will me to try to empty and clean the potty... sigh!

hi mummies... I'm back... so long me din log in...

Junnie : kekek... I like yr girl told u chix rice S$0.20 only. I was "shocked" hahaha....

Maruko : oh dear... take care. drink more water...

Ecookie : Elvis is not toliet train yet.

Kathy : wah... yr girls are pretty.

Totoro : No deadline for training... but usually is we mummies stress tat everyone is trained so we also fast fast train. I saw 1 article tat normal training starts 3yrs (hardship) - 5yrs (very simple).

Elbib was potty train on his 3rd birthday

*hi 5* my Elvis also recongise A-Z. I was so shocked cos he has not start schooling yet till mon

Aria_jo : if you want to join nearest sch, Tots house la. Apple tree next. Talent plus, PFC, lastly Punggol end (can't remember name)

School :

Elbib start his Nursery class on mon. 8.30am. after sch, wants to join Elvis's class at 10.45am. cried. 12.15pm when fetching Elvis, Cry again. Wants to join 12.30pm class... Faintz.

Elvis was very good. 1st day only saw maid leaving and wanted to follow. Distract him and ok liao. The whole class almost all students crying.... Elvis still tell me they all crying.

He happily go ard take kids toys. When teacher took one of his, he shouted "Mine". hahaha...Then the teacher asked him "can I borrow?" :p

2nd day I let him in the class alone n he's ok

eunice: dont worry, its normal for them to get unsettled and cry initially. im sure elvis will adapt soon!

chersam: yes, packed liao! now waiting only haha.

dodo: zq is so smart n guai!! glad to know that he enjoys school now!

Eunice
Thanks, do I don't need to be so worried as I won't know how to bring her to public toilet if she is toilet train ha ha

Gingerleaf
So both of you can have the whole place by yourself!! I think 1st 3 days of school so all muumies still busy with their little ones. How I wish we were there as my girl will be asking "BALL place" again soon!!!

gingerleaf, u @ polliwogs today ah? now school start liao so sure will c less crowd compared to past 2-3 mths...

eunice, no need to worry abt Elvis cryin...its very normal. He will get used to the school in no time.

totoro_bb : after I toliet train Elbib, going to public toliet I want to faint liao. He's not tall enuff for some adults' seat to pee. faintz. tat's my biggest prob

Eunice
ha ha that's my worried. Somemore the mummy don't go toilet often one!! LOL

BTW, is Tot's house good? What do they teach there as there is just one at the corner!! Anyone have kids at Tot's house?

skl : school. sorry. I learnt from another mummy :p

totoro_bb : Elbib n Elvis are now in Tots house. A-Z, English, Chinese, Art n craft, singing, numbers etc...

But of cos not as gd as those private ones tat has extra activities likes pool (water playing)/ sand playing/ slides etc...

Their fees are per terms. not monthly. sch holidays are not subject to sch fees

Eunice,
So clever of Elvis to recongnise the alphabets. Mine can recongnise food nia. Sigh!

Hippo,
Haha! Adri must have adapt and love that place very much liao. Heard the teachers are really good as per sis opinion. Plus the teachers turnover rate is very low there. i am sure very soon she will come back become more vocal..then that's where our ears gonna be tired...hahahaa!

Today Dayan took his school bus alone..glad that he didn't cry. Cos i gave him biscuits to let him eat during the trip. Btw, quite worrying for this 19 seater bus, cos under LTA rules, there's no need to have seat belts. And the auntie just let him sit alone..scared he will fall out.

Gingerleaf,
U gg on a trip AGAIN??!! win liao..so blessed lor you..keke! Anyway, have a super nice holiday ahead. When u gg?

Hannah also started school on Monday. She’s quite happy when in her main classroom, but looked a bit unsettled when she had to move to other parts of the school. Cried a bit on Tuesday when going to the music room, which I think was triggered by other kids crying. She didn’t go to school today though, as she’s down with flu! And she passed it to Deborah!!!! What an “exciting” first week of school huh...

After just 2 days at school though, she’s already picked up a couple of new Chinese words. On Monday itself, she said “ma ma bu yao”. Am really glad that I decided to put her in a Chinese kindergarten. Give her some chance to not be a “kantang”.

Re: potty training
I’m another lazy mummy. But the teachers at Newton are going to try and train her. Every time they go to the restroom, they will put each kid on the toilet. That’s why they ask that we put our kids in pull-ups, so that it’s easier for them. So I might not have to do the dirty work after all. Yay!

Sorry to intrude...paging for Jas.

Hi Jas, your son in centre of new life kindergarten right? I dropped you a PM yesterday...check it out.