(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

<font face="tahoma"> Hello mummies!!

oh no seems like a few toddlers are sick.. hope they get well soon..

Tiffany:
I did try to find out on how to DIY but seems like there is alot hassles loh so I paid the $250 to get agency to do it for me.. Actually my maid's contract ends in end July but she requested to go back in Sept cos of a major festival.. So I told her how much money I already spent on renewing her insurance, work permit and also the home leave application.. I also asked her to pay half her air tix first and I will return her the half when she is back.. then the rest of the money she brought back.. My colleague told me for her case she will hold 1 month of her maid salary in case her maid play her out.. lucky my maid kept her promise to me and constantly keep in contact with me when she was back there..

cherie bear,
same lah, sherry last time can diarrhea till lots of time a day n leak a few time cos really alot n her bum also reddish. she get the stomach flu fr me n i recover at 3th day but hor for them can took 7-10 days to fully recover.

ecookie,
yah nobody there to play too when we are there so sherry get to play alone in that playground.

zhenzhen:
yah,i fell down frm stairs when i was in sec sch &amp; hurt my back.But no major problem wif the spine except that it will ache at times. Only the time when I was 7 wks pregnant,the pain was intense till I can't walk. So tis time it cld be the weight of bb that press on my nerves which causes the severe backache.

doobom, thanks ger! i m now in my 2nd tri le.. time flies hor? keke..
the drip reali sounds scary. glad u didnt do it for jerry. am sure ur heart would break man..

cheriebear, dat sounds bad! hope u feel much much better soon.. aiyo.. poor thing leh.. ren! 3 more weeks to go!
as for shanice, did they take her blood/ stools for examination? the last time adri kena such a long bout of diarrhoea, she was diagnosed to have kena salmonella! eeks.. but luckily she was well-hydrated and very active. just keep an eye on shanice ya? hope her diarrhoea stops soon!

maruko, so far so good with adri. but i find dat kids are like dat. depends on their mood alot. so i tink travis could be just gg thru a phase. dun be scared ya? i m sure he'll be fine!

Hippo,
My HB says he saw u the other day at JP. So sad we didn't get to meet up. I wan to see whether u are bearing a girl or boy. kekeke! I am very good in guessing the gender.

jas, ya la! he didnt see me la. he saw my mum &amp; hb! hahahaha.. but i wanted to look for u too! end up nvr bump into u.. keke..

hippo, I also hope its juz a passin phase. I observed dat he is very clingy to me lately. Dun even wan my mil at times.

Jas, so u r not onli gd in sniffin ppl preggy here ah? u also can guess the gender? kekeke...ok next time if me preggy den sure meet u to let u guess the gender. :p

San,
Yes.. Agree that holding half and pay her back when she returns is a form of security after having paid so much on renewal, insurance etc. I plan to hold $140 of her money and return her when she is back. Her salary is $370.

Reason for holding:
1) Her contract ends only in Apr 2010 (She still has about 6mths uncompleted months)
2) And I paid for her air ticket now which her home leave supposed to be 6mths later.

Do you think its fair to do this? Moreover, her contract states 14days leave, but she requested for 20days instead. I agreed to pay her salary for the 6 extra days too.

I felt alittle uncomfortable this morning when I told her that I will be holding $140 from her and she appeared unhappy. Want your opinion if its fair to hold some of her money?

Eunice,
Holding her money and returning her when she is back is not illegal lei...The amount of money I paid in advance for her and holding only $140, which is even less than her airticket is not fair meh?

So.. you will not hold any of her money when she return home?

cherie bear, ouch! sounds bad. good news is that you only have to ren for 3 more weeks. hang in there ok.

maruko, think our kids go through phases. hannah is now super clingy too. and she used to have no problems going to sleep on her own, but now she wants me to pat and cuddle her before bed. i think in hannah's case, she knows that her days as an only child are numbered... so trying to get as much attention now as possible.

or maybe.. maybe jas can smell if someone with a sudden clingy toddler is preggers?? hmmmmmm... hahaha! maruko, go and check ar! hahahaha

<font face="tahoma">Tiffany,
erm I think its right to hold some money loh.. cos she havent even finished her contract and we already spent so much just to let her go back.. That time I hold $180++ ($170 for half the air tix and $10++ some balance from the money she had).. my colleague actually advise me to hold 1mth of her pay but I already told my maid I will hold half the air tix money loh.. my maid was quite understanding when I told her I will be holding some of her money..

Is there any reason why she is going back before contract ends and also why 20days?

hippo, hahaha...no way man...coz im plannin for lebbit...not tigger. :p

zhen zhen, hope this phase will go over soon coz its realli heart achin when i c him callin out to me in tearful eyes each morning i put him @ cc. Even his teacher also quite felt weird abt it coz its been mths he has been there n he used to go in even without lookin at me. Den I still gotta call him to say bye bye den he will look back &amp; wave.

Tiffany : no la... my illegal is not tat :p it's something can't share :p

anyway I have not really decide yet. I have the following plan :

Contract ends : 16th Jan 10
Due to sch start and air tix and home leave I ask her not to leave this yr.

Bonus : I will pay her S$200 :p

Maybe I will ask her to go back 1 week in Mar sch holiday. (this i din tell her yet just in case i change my mind :p)

Her salary no change after renew but she obtained 2 weekends off. She wants to study First Aid during her off day. This I up to her :p

Maruko,
U bet i am. hahaha! Gifted i think. anyway, what happen to Travis? I didn't get to read the achives. Like what the rest says this is the passing phrase. More to come!! hahaha...okok..i suppose to comfort..but i think i am mad liao. WORK and two monkeys and TOns of housework with cooking. hahaha..I AM A CRAZY SUPERWOMAN liao!

Hippo,
Wah lau! Blur leh my HB. Never mind. We both got good 缘分 one. Sure "bounce" to see each other one. Gingerleaf also..

bbwow, zhenzhen.... re bintan.. thks 4 info, will let my niece knw =)

my office pc down =( so cant login earlier.. now sharing w another colleague so cant surf long.... hopefully can read up archives soon, catch up again..

maruko: dun worry too much, yz went thru the same phase last mth. suddenly will tear when i said goodbye to him. lasted for a week and now back to normal can hug n kiss me good bye..

maruko, wahahahha! maybe maybe fortress not strong enuf? LOL! but seriously, i m sure itz a passing phase. hope it passes soon enough ya!

jas, whahaha! u never see my comment to u on how to eat with 2 monkeys? "knock one out"! oops.. hahaha.. ya la. .easy to bump into u one. but seriously hor, i have yet to bump into gingerleaf leh! somemore she is moving le, so no chance to bump her liao.. hahahaha

Oh ya mummies. Want to ask your opinions abt giving flu jab to our kiddos. My PD advise me to give them two jabs each before i leave for Taiwan in Dec. is it a real must?? Is there any side effect? My GP says the only side effect is "we won't visit him for the next 1 year..cos won't fall sick so easily." LOL. For your info, Just this OCT (didn't want to incl Sept--countless times)..I have brought the two monkeys to see 3X doctors liao. And yet..not totally recovered yet!! Super sianz!

re:toddler clinging to mummy
hmm, sherry nowaday also want me to carry when outside. last time is always want daddy to carry. now daddy want to carry her, she keep on saying 'NO' n cling on to me.

Jas,
you are indeed SUPERWOMAN leh! pei fu till speechless. btw, who helps to look after the kids when you are working?

re: Beco
which dates in Dec are you going taiwan? i'm also toying with the idea of going after 15 Dec too but no concrete plans yet. still waiting to see if there're any airfares promotions. :)

i have the Beco &amp; it's really useful when travelling. i hardly use it on normal days though cos rather depend on stroller. i won't be selling mine but i don't mind lending it to you if our travel dates don't crash. let me know?

Jas, Travis has been very clingy to me at home and when he is at cc, he gets very grouchy n refuse to play wif others. Hope this is juz a passin phase lor. haha...u realli superwoman...
re: flu jab
not sure abt dat but if GP advise, mayb can try lor. Travis has been under med for nearly 3 wks. Cough still abit but I stopped him on the med liao. Wan him to counter the cough on his own coz med take too long also no gd for him.

Tiffy, ya lor...he dun allow others to carry him now when we r outside. Even when i told him mummy wanna drive car den he will cry for me.

hippo, my fortress super high &amp; strong. Not even typhoon com will destroy it. kekeke... :p

San,
I plan her home leave in Nov cos I am not working now, so I can take care of the kids. She agrees to my proposal too. She feels 14days leave is not enough lor...Her previous home leave with another employer was 14days, and she felt she did not have enough rest and fell sick when she came back to SG to her 1st employer... after 11 days with her 1st employer, she was sent home due to her poor health.

Mind sharing how much you increase and pay for your phil's renewed contract salary?

Eunice,
Agree that home leave should be planned to our convenience as we have to work. The maid just have to accomodate and compromise. As long as she agrees to trade-off increment with off days and she is happy with it.. its fine. Some maids want money, some maids want freedom.

<font face="tahoma">Tiffany,
I see.. for salary, I only increment her $20 which is around $600peso.. She initially thought I wont increment her salary.. and she was happy when I told her I give her increment..</font>

jas, go for the jab! i brought adri for the jabs b4 our hkg trip earlier this year. just to be on the safe side. they will still get the occasional sniffles but wun be very jialat and also protects against the stronger strains.. =)

maruko, wahahahhaha! u ar..

dd ...please hold the salary cos lots of maid go back and nvr return one ...

Doodom ya man in China they put drip on the head i nearly faint too when i was in Yunnan and Carlson, Carissa &amp; myseld were sick ... they wanted to jectus too ... but i refuse to let them do so ...

My maid is not going back to get marry liao ... so she is going off on the 14/11 and I will be leaving on 15/11 the date should be fixed and not going to change liao

Carlson is also sick ... he is down with flu and cough but his vomiting is peng ... every meal adn everything ... he dare not eat liao ... but he looks good and well so i think PD or Doc also think i make Up story !!! only my maid . brother&amp; SIL see it and believe it ... hmmm but he is on the raod to recovery liao thank god if not peng hope he will clear up by this week

seems like i'm not the only one with a clingy kid now. it can be very tiring tho. esp with the extra weight that i'm now carrying.

maruko, never say never! remember that every method also got some risk... for all you know, travis is sensing something... hee hee...

San,

Thanks for sharing.

CM,
Maids bound to be unhappy when employer hold their money. I hear of many people also doing that, thats why I thought holding some to protect myself and also to lure her come back....

How come your maid so many pattern?

Oh.. sayang Carlson. Poor Carlson, always hear him vomitting lei... Shoo shoo away the naughthy virus. My kids were down last week too, now, my turn to have throat infection and bodyache. Hate this stone stone feeling!!

Wow...hav been bz whole afternoon den end up saw so many posts of speculations. No need to suspect. Confirm dun hav one. Like most of u said, this shld b a passin phase for Travis. Confirm not bcoz he sensin another baby. Unless he consider my sil's baby as a jealous target. :p

CM, poor carlson. So many kids fallin sick lately. Shoo all virus away from our kids. How com ur maid change pattern again? So u will continue to use her?

Hapififi,
Thanks! Do you mind if u can lent it to me?? keke! That will be great! Anyway, in the day, i can only make calling when both of them are sleeping. Then in the evening, their daddy comes home, i will dash out for my appts lor. Really like siao char bo one lah!
I'll be leaving on the 3rd Dec to 12th Dec. U leh?? Decide any dates ald?

Tiffy &amp; Hippo,
Ya. tmr bringing them to the PD to take jabs. Or shall i just go to the GP? is it the same?

Maruko,
Ya..i have been feeding them medicine since Sept. They get very excited and happy whenever i say "Medicine time". wah piangz!

jas, your boys and my girl can shake hands. she also likes taking medicine. can pretend to cough then tell me she wants to eat her "cherry" medicine, cos the medicine for cough is red in colour. faint!

Jas,
Is ur PD near ur pl? Usually when sherry is sick, i bring her to same GP so will also bring her there for the jab. PD more exp then GP so i nv bring her to PD b4 leh.

Zhen zhen,
Haha! dun know should laugh or cry. They can even fight to take medicine first. haizz!

Tiffy,
I also seldom bring them to PD. SO far only twice...until very desperate case then go PD. Btw, did your GP advise to take two jabs for sherry with an interval of 1 mth before u fly?

Hello mummies.... feel so outdated here.... :s

Both kids are taking turns to fall sick... esp Tiffie, cos she suddenly had high fever of 39.5 for 2 days... then recover for 3 days, and now she is down with flu and cough... haiz... feel so bad still sending her to school, yet she dun wan to miss her rehearsal for her coming concert this thursday, and graduation ceremony this friday.... plus all the pri 1 prep classes going on... really sayang her :s

worse.. my PC is down since 2 days ago... so upset without a laptop, so went down to best denki to get a netbook... and had a very unpleasant experience with the salesmen...not one but 3... i almost yell at them...

Marcus' bday coming this sat... i'm holding a small celebration at home with my folks, before we proceed down to the beach @ sentosa... feel kinda sad
... cos it may be the last celebration in this house.... my very 1st home... my kids grew up here... lotsa memories... with mixed feelings :s

that explains my disappearance for the past few days...

Hapi_fifi...Aidan's eyes are so gorgeous too... he looks so smart role-playing a doctor

doobom... i almost faint when you mention the drip on the head... where can't they do it on the hand... tiffie had once in Mt alvernia when she is down with rotavirus.... really can't imagine that needle on the head... how to poke... so scary!!! hope everything is well now... you must take care too ok
Hugz.

Tiffany... i fully agree with your method of holding bk the money... if i were you.. i would hold back more... cos half a mth seems very little... if the maid change her mind... is half a mth a motivation for her to return back sin?

Jas,
GP told me only need small dosage for them since they are small kid. GP nv mention need 2 jabs. but we adult take 1 jab mah so kid i think also 1 jab will do. GP explain to me that best effect is take 2 jab in a year, then will see the benefit in long term.

can i join in?
gave birth to Anthony in Oct 2007..
actually was ever being in this thread before giving birth

now can breath a bit to go online thou not everyday.. hope u mommies dun mind

Jas,
Timing seems perfect. If I were to travel, most probably will be after 15 Dec cos hb has some deadlines to rush at work.

I can pass you the Beco anytime. Just sms or pm me to arrange ya? Then you can return me on 13 Dec so that I have a couple of days to wash &amp; dry :) But if I'm not travelling in the end, then no need so rush to return.

Yoz Mummies, I'm back fm my KL/Genting trip!!! Back home on Mon nite but was crazy busy clearing my backlog the whole of yesterday. Well, no luck at Genting for me, lost quite a bit (paisay to say how much =p)

never mind, deposit the $$ there 1st, 1 day will return there &amp; take back plus many interest. hahahah

Chersam,
u 赌鬼leh! hahaha...like my mum, every mth sure go up donate $$$, now become VVIP liao. Got free room stay whenever she arrives.

Hapi Fifi,
Thanks alot dear! i dun have yr contact leh. Can PM pls??!! *muaks!* How's yr tum tum doing? pass 1st tri ald? aiyo! i wanna see u, Hippo, Twinklestar tum tum leh..i think there is someone else is it? i forgot.

Tiffy,
i dun knoe leh. later go back to PD and see how. cos also to do follow up with her on the kids condition.

oh gosh, missed out so many posts, only managed to glance thru some but not able to address all. paisay huh! but YA, aidan &amp; hannah's cutie pictures caught my attention!!! bless all unwell mummies &amp; kiddos speedy recovery!

dreadful mth end coming again! aiyo

jas, dun like dat say me lar. i beri beri long nv go up liao. true for me leh, each time go up sure "donate" $$, dunno when is my luck to take back everythin with interest. hahaha

Good Morning Mummies.

Eufrasia. You are most Welcome to join this thread. Do join us for our occasional gatherings too. Post Picture of Anothny so we all can recognise him....

Petit,
Poor Tiffie and Marcus. Hope they get well soon. Lucas was also down with fever last week and bronchitis, cough and running nose. 1st time he has to do the puff everyday. This is new to me. I was so so worried and woke up at every little sound he made during the night. Andrea has mild cough and running nose. Hear alot of people sick these few days. Do take lots of vitamins, water, tonic to boost your immunity.

Have you found a place to shift? 1st matrimonial house is always full of memories.

Tiffany....it's still early to commit any house right now...will decide this coming dec bah...and you are perfectly right about my feelings... :S Hope Lucas and Andrea are feeling better right now