(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

ecookie & sugarnut,
rest well!

just when i thought aidan is recovering from his fever & diarrhoea after his MMRV jab, his temp suddenly shot up to 39.5 degrees celcius last night so brought him to KKH A&E. did a blood test. luckily it's viral infection & not bacterial infection. came back with 6 types of medicine...gonna have a super challenging time feeding him!

Jovialz, got ur PM. Thanks...was readin thru den I realised I haven been as active as most of the mummies here in updatin blogs. I'm so lazy...

San, no need bug him now...wait till 7th lunar mth over den u bug him again :p

<font face="comic sans ms">Maruko: wait until 7th lunar mth over ah... then I will have to wait till Oct liao..</font>

hapififi, oh...u juz brought Aidan to take the jab ah? I haven bring Travis to take. Quite hesitant. Wanna delay as late as possible. I used to "reward" Travis wif a "wang wang bun" when he refused to take the med. U might wanna try but gotta ensure he drink more water after eatin it.

ecookie,
yeah, i now abt that.. today is the 3rd day of usage. but i only use once at night leh..still must stick to 5 days is it?

crabs:
Hubby said he will bring me/tabao to eat after delivery
i wanna eat now!!! boo hoo..

hapififi.. oh dear... hope aidan's fever is under control... poor u gonna crack head feeding him medi besides his meal..

san.. 不要紧.. the pix of folding the towel is no hurry at all =) so how's taka fair? alot of good deals? i was tinking shd i gv a miss cos i dun need bb stuff le... btw, how much u get ur booster seat arh? then u gonna get busier when ur maids on leave..

oh dear pregy mummies please take care ok ... drink lots of water ... and rest when u can .. hippo dun walk walk walk ok ... rest on bed if u can not even sitting on chair or sofa ... rest yr back ... ecokkie and the rest ... keep yr self away from all the Sickening ppl around u ... kiddos please recover soon if not mummies will be very worried ... pray that all will recover soonest ...

hippo /// thanks for the info ... hmmm cake when did u pm me ... i did not rec the cake list ...

junnie ya lor ... i gotto do it mah ... i am the maid cum a lot of things ...

mummies ... do u know which stroller or pram is good and can take up to 20kg or more ... best 25kg ... and which model do u recomment???

maruko, junnie, not that i want to eat crab for breakfast lah. but after reading about crabs, felt like having a hot breakfast... like fried beehoon!

san, how's the baby fair? got any good deals?

CM, as far as i know, maclaren is best for bigger kids. the seat is wider and it can take heavier weights. which one you choose is dependent on your needs tho. go check out the maclaren webbie.

zhenzhen.. so u referring to the beehoon?? thot the main dish is the crab!! keke.. beehoon easy prepare to buy la!!

cm.. u maid also meh? u alr got one back home mah!! re pram.. really depends on ur needs, some like sturdy, some like handy &amp; lightweight...but carlson big liao mah.. still need a pram?

ariajo.. if u refering to the nose drop, yes, the cycle is 5days, better to continue to b effective loh.. i hv bn doing tat for lance whenever he has nose block too.. last time i use the 'I' brand, now i switched to 'Orxxxx' brand...(cant remember the name now). i also will rub vicks on his sole &amp; chest &amp; put on sock at nite if he got cold.

Mummies &amp; Kiddos who are sick.... Please take care and speedy recovery.

Jovial
Do you find that Caelan has any improvement? Oh.. you use the boiling method. The TCM grind it into powder form for me... Andrea is ok taking it, cos I mix it in honey drink, while Lucas as usual, cannot finish his honey drink.. so, I have to pian and be very patient with him, finally he finished his drink. So, you give only pure Dong Cong Cao? Do you add any other herbs?

Re: Crab
Last night highlight to hb I want to try to Mellban Crab, he suggested Still Road one better.. Anyone knows Still Road has fantastic Crabs? He said super crowded and long queue too.... Anyone tried?

Tiffany
Re: crab
didnt try still rd one b4...so no comments. Another crab place is the one along Upper thomson rd. Very crowded n the crabs not bad also. But they dun serve butter crabs. Tink signature is chilli &amp; black pepper. The black pepper is SEDAP.

mm
Oh.. you seemed to be a crab lover.. You know where are th good crabs. My hb insist to try Still Road lei..
Which do you prefer? Still road or Mellban?

junnie, i want to eat the beehoon from holland v leh. a bit far from my home la. maybe tmr, cos i'm staying over at my ILs place today and its nearby. whee...

maruko, also craving for crab lah. but somehow eating crab for breakfast is a bit weird right?

tiffany, agree with mm. the still road one is famous for black pepper crab. it's really yummy! never tried mellban before tho, so cannot compare.

Tiffany,

Easy , try both la n judge yourself!

I never made it to still road but my sis has tried both... Each has it own specialty... Like Mellben' chilli crab is prob just above average for some but their butter n beehoon is best around for most.. My sis loves black pepper but I not so.

zhen zhen, yes its indeed abit weird to hav it for breakfast. :p

wow...our topic today still on crabs...hahaha...

Tiffany, try both on sat &amp; sun. kekeke...den let us noe which is better. :p

Correct me if I am wrong: people flock to mellben cos price is very reasonable. But there are good days n bad days ... Maybe the chief cook didn't do ur crab dish that day?

MM, I tink it applies to most "famous" places bah...not juz Mellben.

Today no cravings...jia lat...dunno wat to eat for lunch...
Mummies, any suggestions???

Junnie ... aiyo Carlson now i dun no la ... but if he sleep how ??? but before I come here he cannot go out without pram ... even from carpark to my hse ... he will also want his pram ... peng he wants where to get the pram and all aiyo its like his pants no pant (pram) no go out ...

BTW I am going to NUH on 2nd Sept to see Prof Q ...

MM &amp; zhen hmmm which model ... cos most that i see is only till 15kg ... and my gal is already 20kg and my boy is already t least 13-15kg now ... hmmm

Maruko ... yes yes yes .,.. the crabs at Upper Thomson is very very Yummy ... must try .. .lots of ppl too if going on Mother's day etc ... yes got to wait wait wait

Aidan vomited his lunch when I fed him medicine cos he was screaming while lying down to drink medicine :-(

Re: crabs
still road's black pepper crabs super yummy. Indeed the best hb &amp; I have tried so far :) try going earlier to ta pau to avoid long queues.
guess different stalls specialise in diff types of crabs!

zhen zhen, pai seh me dunno the add but I noe how to go...if im not wrong, u can turn in from the junction where there is a signboard sayin "Lower pierce reservoir". Once turn in u will c a small carpark. Its located right at the end of the shophouse on the left.

CM, r we talkin abt the same place?

junnie,
yeah, i heard abt rubbing vicks on the sole and then wear socks and so I have been doing that to aria for 3 nights already. I use baby vicks but wonder is it strong enough? What's the logic for this? I didn't rub vicks on her chest because i do this when she falls asleep. did you use adult vicks or baby vicks? i remember once my dad rub lots and lots of vicks on my chest and back when i was having a bad blocked nose when i was young and it worked miraculously! so, i really believe this method but have so far i have not try it on aria.. may be tonight when i wipe her down and rub for her..it won't burn the skin hor..

zhen zhen, er...not sure abt the prata place so cant confirm on it. If u go from amk, there is a T junction dat u turn to upper thomson from ave 1. Then juz keep left &amp; go straight. Will see the row of shophouse on the left. Once u c a small open space carpark den turn left in. It is located at the end of the shop house.

mm, ya. i think it's casuarina too! how's it compared to mellben?

actually, i just found out we're going to eat seafood this sunday! my brother's birthday request. woohoo!!

waaah.. u all still talking abt 螃蟹???

tiffany.. still rd one famous for pepper crab... u'll luv it if u r a 'spicy' person.. haha... chilli crab.. ok la... (repeat.. i dun eat crab, but i eat the source nia...keke).. they dun serve mantou one.. tat plc 4ever long Q, sometime hv to call &amp; 'book' the crab 1st, charges by wt... is a 煮炒摊 in a 'log-cot' small coffeeshop (aka dirty dirty la)... they also serve horfun, fried you-tiao w sotong meat &amp; some ltd dishes..cos they r too busy to serve crabs than other dishes.. many tourists esp angmo like to eat there too... hvnt tried thompson/mellban one...but come to chilli crab.. so far find long beach/no signboard the source v nice leh w the mantou (they hv 炸 mantou)... there's one more plc serving chilli crab.. to us so far ok lah.. but they oni got steam mantou nia.. is at alexander village..

hapififi.. his medi not sweet sweet one meh?? poor boy.. then later u try 骗 him eat something then gv medi again (at nxt feed).. keep sponging him if still hv fever... gv him all sorts of fluid now to prevent dehydration.. worst come to worst like gingerleaf.. try the 'medi cocktail'!

ariajo.. bb tat time i use kids vicks.. then since mine expired, i didnt get new one, jus use adults one.. apply thin layer &amp; rub again the sole/chest shd b ok de.. wont burnt the skin... i tink the main purpose is to massage them on the chest to make them feel comfy (cos if dun apply vicks, v difficult to massage unless use some bb oil which is too mild, no menthol effect).. if not u replace vicks by ru yi oil also can...(not too much of cos later v hot)..

Zhen zhen,

I am prob bias but i think mellben's crabs much bigger size most of the time. The claws are huge and juicy... i only been to casurina once so not fair to comment.

Another interesting pl you can try is orchid live seafood for lobster porridge. Its located at the entrance of a farm... along sembawang rd.

1 Bah Soon Pah Rd Tel : 67560311.
Reserve ahead so that you can eat in a/c .

They have set dinners but might be worth just eating the lobster porridge only cos a few of the other dishes are so so only.

Cm,

You can get volo(lightest but no recline) or quest( recline but more ex) or triumph (2 positions)

<font face="comic sans ms">maruko:
have to wait till oct.. cos end of 7th mth is 18sep.. then maid coming back on 20Sep then hubby flying off on 21Sep.. he only back on 9Oct.. just in time for Clarisse's 2nd birthday..

Junnie &amp; zhen_zhen:
Sorry I din really shop around in the baby fair.. we only concentrate at looking for booster seat.. hee.. cos not in need of baby stuffs mah.. Junnie for the booster seat I bought Graco one.. cost $149 but I cant remember the the model name.. here's the picture of it.. The backing can be removed if you dun want to use it..
2863933.jpg

Notti Clarisse testing the car seat for her 姐姐
2863934.jpg

zhen zhen, den u can eat ur fill of crabs this sun liao...see which u wanna go try 1st...

San, oic...if cant wait den drag ur hb there tonite :p

mm, casuarina??? perhaps...

Tiffany,
Caelen had been on 冬虫草 since he inside tummy (from 2nd trimester). So far he seems quite strong. His medical history :-
1) only diarrhoe when he was younger (might be due he is premie), the last Diarhoe was last October.
2) Only 1 time cough / sore throat for 2 - 3 days.
3) Hardly running nose consider he has sensitive nose.

If I double boil, it's just loin meat + 冬虫草.

If I add to porridge, I just add 冬虫草 to the rest of his porridge's 'regular' ingredient (wolfberry + fish + meat + green leafy veg + dried scallop).

BTW, my mum was telling me that she read from somewhere "how to see good 冬虫草". She say the 冬虫草 should have 8 "legs".

Hm .... all these crab talks make me drooling for crab. But tonight going to my mum's place for dinner. Gotto wait till next week. ....
2864095.gif

jovial... re cordyceps..can see got 8 legs arh? cos everytime i see dry dry one...oni knw if keep too long the 'tail' bcom black black... my MIL used to buy fm her frequent medical hall..

san.. oic.. ur car booster so 'big' ah! i believe urs come in a 'set' w the back... 149 is cheap! my gal has one passed down one.. the handle abit tear.. so i jus scouting ard.. but if buy, sure cant get the one like urs cos car no space for two similar pattern of car seat.. thks 4 showing us the pix.. clarisse sooo happy in it.. haha =D

<font face="comic sans ms">Junnie:
ya its a set.. the backing can be removed if u want to just use the seat.. but right now we will have it on lah cos my elder daughter not very big size also.. yup Clarisse super happy loh.. when we wanted to dismantle to remove the cover to wash she refuse to let us dismantle loh cos she still want to sit on it.. haha</font>