(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

so now we still hvn't officially go for any follow-up appt cos' he still hvg cough / fever on and off.. how to go KKH for follow-up?

ecookie, congrats on hvg a boy! YZ will sure love his didi very much, like how Dodo's ZQ sayang YA..

re: cough
Advice from TCM - avoid cold food/drinks. Leave it out @ room temp. before giving.
Advice from PD - strict No-No on biscuits/choco.

I have stopped all biscuits and he is only taking milk and porridge/rice/etc. No even giving any cereal. Coz too heaty, may worsen the cough.

Plan to resume when cough is gone.

Elevate slightly on the pillow so that the mucus wun backflow and worsen the cough in the nite.

Have been trying to give him more Vit C rich fruits such as gold kiwi (non-refrigerated), etc.

Tiffany, no prob...c u on Thur...wats the unit no. for Out Of The Pan har?

doobom, bleed after pap smear? 1st time heard of it coz I tot its very safe? muz b a very inexperienced gynae dat did for u...gotta b careful of these gynaes in KKH...heard so many feedbacks from frenz...

eunice, tink I read abt a report from a gal who had an op after delivery n the gynae was not skilful n end up she had to go for another op to clear up the blood inside her womb...heard she kept bleedin after the op which is very risky...so scary...

Maruko,
I do heard that not all med professionals @ KKH are bad. But somehow, I seldom hear good feedback. I guess the ones with no prob are really lucky to have met the actual PROs in KKH.
The one who did the pap smear looks younger than me, looks more like a medi student. I was then 25 yrs old, so can u imagine how young she can look? She is a MO.

Maruko
Out of the pan is at Basement 1 centre, just next to the escalator. When you take the escalator from Cortina Watch, you look down, the eating place surrounding the water fountain is Out of the Pan.

doobom, so wat did the KKH Quality person tell u after u told them wat happened?
sounds like the MO is REALLY young...

not sure if u all hav heard of ruyi oil but I hav been applyin it to travis back @ nite...not juz his tummy...coz at nite they tend to sleep on their tummy den back is exposed thus supposed to hav more wind gg in...this is suggested by my fil...so far its been pretty gd...

sugar nut, u might wanna change to another PD liao since cant go for any follow up...gotta do something abt it if condition no improve at all...

Cough : another smoothing method. Use Vicks. Rub a lot (Really alot) on both the feet. wear socks and go to sleep

maruko, yah.. we may want to do that. Cos' we stay quite near KKH, so most of the time we either go KKH straight or go GP downstairs. A bit worrying when hear him coughing for so long.

eunice: yes i think that method really works. so far i only tried it once on yz 1 mths back cos the night coughing really too much for me to bear. once i put on the socks, the coughing really gone!

ask you about VICKS. read that it's good for stopping cough at night. I applied a thick layer of VICKS on their soles, and cover their feet with socks before sleep... so far so good for their cough.

However, VICKS = MENTHOL right? is it alright for Marc and Tiffie to use regularly?

Eunice/ecookie
Which kind of Vick Rub you use? Is it for kids or the adult version? I read from adult vicks, not recommended to be used for children under 3yo. Please advise.

eunice,
lol... this vicks thingy on my mind...wanted to ask, and you have already brought up...keke.... but I am concerned over the usage of menthol. But I must admit... it's really a good method.

eunice, no offence but I tink i read somewhere sayin dat Vicks is not suitable for toddlers...dat time I was abt to apply when hb stopped me...

sugar nut, try manuka honey...hahaha

btw, annie from the manuka BP said oredi best price liao...so even if order more also same price...haha...

I also thot Vicks cannot use too much on small kids.. so sometimes I just rub a little. And everytime I put socks on for him, he will remove them..

Does it help for the phlegmy kind of cough also?

I use adult one :p btw cos feet r the part of our body will feel cold. so you put the vicks rub at the soles, and cover them, give warm feeling instantly.

But <font color="ff0000">no</font> vicks on chest and nose. although I use it on Elbib too :p

maruko, got leh.. gave him manuka honey 12+ once in awhile. He will finish the drink quite quickly cos' it is sweet.. I also take quite frequently but I still get a bit of cough..weak lah, haha..

eunice,
huh....really huh... but I have tried applying on Marcus' chest and nose leh... cos it really relieve him greatly at night.

Petit
There is Kids VICKS rub too.. not sure if it works. I bought the kids vicks previously, but hardly use, now expired. When I try on and smell the kids Vicks Rub, its quite mild, and the methol also not strong.

Maybe I try the adults Vicks on the sole tonight.

Doobom
Peifu Jerry also. He can still take cereal, no biscuits etc.... Andrea refused cereal already. Btw, what brand cereal you giving to Jerry now?

I am stuck with 2 brand new boxes of Heinz Banana Grain cereal, anyone want to take over from me? Will offer below NTUC price, though I forgot how much I paid. Interested, let me know.

mummies: for me, i used normal adult vicks. think not on a regular basis. so far i used it once only and it really works.

sugurnut: yah, yz was having those phlemy kinda cough and night coughing somemore so it disturbs his sleep. this method works on him. yz also doesnt like socks so i put on the vicks n socks when he is in deep sleep.

by morning, he will remove the socks himself liao. the vicks would have been absorbed by socks/his soles? so no greasy stains on the floor!

vicks: i used it on yz's chest once when he got a very prolonged cough when he was ard 10m, scared the coughing hurts his lungs so put there to ease. it seems to help but think likewise for most things, dun overuse should be fine.

Tiffany,
Marcus is the opposite... he refused any food that requires him to chew... other than a bit of bread/ cheese/ plain rice.... other than this...he's still on mashy poridge and cereal. He takes either muesli or brown rice.

Tiffany : yes. only relieve not cure. but at least u won't see our darlings cough till woke up again in their sleep.

Heniz banana cereal? sorry to ask if you have other fruit cereal? :p They din try this b4

wow.. i m catching up with the posts.

doobom, i m so ANGRY for u!!! wat the hell?? wat rubbish is this?? omg. MAKE IT BIG. write to the forum, call the chinese newspapers, The New Paper. complain big time! rubbish leh.. dumb..

eunice, i read of the case b4 too. so scary. and they tried to push the blame away lor.. haiz.

re: Vicks. I use the Vicks for kids too on adri. works for her. =)

eunice, yes im stayin at amk so can collect from her directly. Thanks though.

will keep the reference in using vicks on the soles since it sounded gd for relieve @ nite...

Eunice
Thank God I did not stuck so many boxes. The last time I was stuck with 2 boxes of Healthy Time, cos Andrea suddenly refused cereal. Some time later, we tried giving again, she starts taking and I had to buy again.

Petit
Ok la... Mashy food is easier to digest. I wish Andrea still love all the mashy food. She rejects fish already.

petit gar,
that time when marcus keep waking up at nite n behaving weird is it u use mixed flower to bath him? other than this what is needed? Cos sherry these few nite keep crying n struggling and feel v frighten. I want to try any method to see any improvement

Tiffany,
Huh? Peifu Jerry? Haha... Do u recall his trademark since he's 4mths old? He dun drink from milk bottle, I need to sit and faithfully spoonfeed him his milk. Till recently, he tries to copy his cousin using the milk bottle and drink. Then, I feel so relived and fortunate.

He used to be on Nestle Honey &amp; Wheat. Coz of the DHA &amp; AA thingy supposed to be in that, so give him that. On and off, gave him different kind of cereal too.
But during cough/sicky, I avoid banana coz elders told me that banana is phlegm proned.

Petit
Your Marcus can shake hands with my Lucas. Super fussy eater!.. Lucas is a milk monster though. I am still waking 2-3 hours in middle night giving Lucas milk, just like caring for a newborn!!! Think he is not eating enough Solid, thats why gets hungry easily, resulted to Milk milk milk at night. Forever Panda Eyes.

Doobom,
Still peifu, cos he is not a fussy eater like Lucas. Yes, of cos I remember his trademark, you just reminded me last week. Xin ku ni le...
Haiz... thats why our kiddos must really treasure us for being so great. Wow.. you really have discipline and observe his diet very carefully. Andrea is so tum chiak that whatever she sees.... she will says.. I want I want.... My caregiver also no choice, end up giving her all to forbidden too. She will kick a big fuss if she dont get what she wants. Easy way out, my caregiver will jus give give give... Who ask me to choose to be FTWM?

Tiffany,
For those strictly forbidden food/drink, I have given strict instructions to helpers that I rather let him cry and fuss than to give him what he wants. If really that bad, have to call me and ask me first. Haha... Sounds crazy rite?
Luckily most of the time, my mum is at home so can help give the Yes or No.
I am very kiasee, as doing the one-man show in taking care of him. I am just trying my best to do whatever I can. Prevention is better than cure.

Doobom
Tell you hor... even my in laws also give all the forbidden food. So, cant blame my maid also.. I heard from my maid that when my FIL brought Andrea for walk outside, came home with her eating chocolate all over her mouth.. See.. can die or not??? Not my father, if my own father, I will make noise liao.

Tiffany, yes yes...they really gotta treasure us in future...hahaha...travis can ^5 wif Andrea liao...he will go to whoever is eatin n ask to eat watever they r eatin...hahaha...if dun give he will resort to whining liao...den of coz my mil gotta give in lor...

doobom, at least J will accept a NO if dun give him...yup prevention is always better than cure.
dats wat I always tell my hb also...

Tiffany, wa seh...ur one still not so jia lat...can u imagine Travis is being fed durian??? yes n he smell like one when he came back home one night after my in laws brought him out...sigh...wat can I say?

Tiffany &amp; Maruko,
Haha... U think too highly of J.
If he want the food/drink that we are eating and they are the forbidden ones, then we will tell him NO, u cun eat coz u are too young.
Know what next? He will scream and fuss. Cry and then do the faint action onto the floor. I let him faint lor. Next, he will roll on the floor. LIke the La-Bi-Xiao-Sin (Crayon Shin-chan)'s rolling on the floor act.
I dun care abt him, let him roll as much as he like. After a while, he will come back and then repeat the fussing process (scream, fuss, faint, roll) again. Like drama serial episodes.
Haha... I am not too angry, coz it's quite comical when he does that.

doobom, haha...J is funny to do dat faint action...as for Travis, he will juz stand there n scream n fuss at the top of his voice...of coz hard to ignore coz mil will b runnin to him &amp; givin in to watever he wan...unless she not ard den I will hack care abt him :p He is smart coz he only do dat when mil ard. When she is out, he dun do dat coz he noes I wont give in. :p