(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

zhen zhen,
i really like the shirt u make. the moment i saw it on sunday, i like it so much.
yes, bought some embellishments fr people's park centre. can't find alligator clip leh. even golden dragon also don't have alligator clip. In the end, bought some snap clips. Too bad, the usual shop i went to last time was closed on sunday.
btw, i tried doing felt clip but seem like hard to make. I shld look at ur felt clip on sunday . Felt clip take up more time to make. Hard to cut the design out nicely.
Does spotlight sell ribbon? If have, i want to make a trip there.
And this is my 1st result of hair clip

2656517.jpg

petit_gars, saw some info on nightmares and night terrors which u may find useful...
http://www.cyh.com/HealthTopics/HealthTopicDetails.aspx?p=114&np=141&id=1678#3
http://www.cyh.com/HealthTopics/HealthTopicDetails.aspx?p=114&np=141&id=2241

There's one suggestion there which I think u may wanna try...the planned waking one:
Some people have suggested trying planned waking for about a week.
Since the night terrors tend to start around the same time each night, go to him about 10 to 15 minutes before then.
Rouse him a little so that he is almost awake, talk to him, perhaps take him to the toilet or give him a small drink of water.
After about 5 minutes, let him go back to sleep.
This might change his sleep pattern enough so that he does not have the partial wakening later in the night.

dunno whether it will work or not...

tiffy, good for first effort leh. very neat!!

actually, i'm not very familiar with chinatown. have no idea where to find anything there. just know of people's park centre, from my friend's recommendation. happened to chance upon the alligator clips at the biggest beads shop there (not sure of name). they were selling in a pack of 2 for $1. buy 1 get 1 free, so came up to $0.25/pc. the rest of the shops don't carry. if you come across cheaper alligator clips, let me know where ok.

yes, spotlight has a very good selection of ribbons. but think most are sold by roll. they do have some that are sold by meter as well. not sure of pricing, cos i didn't check. heard from ariajo that it's a bit pricier tho.

felt clips are a lot more troublesome to make, esp if you make them small. you need a pair of very good scissors! but i like making, cos can really let your imagination go wild!

btw, where did you get your button from? also from PPC? i'm trying to find cute BIG buttons. most of the ones i see are small.

cm... hahaha... i agreed 'must b a crazy woman den she scare'!!! we really dun hv 'xing xiang' anymore =( cos if at home keep screaming... when go outside will auto scream at them too if they out-of-control! may b treat it like u gv carissa a 'break' till she joins u in nov =)

zhenzhen... awwwww... u really good at art&craft la.... i like the t-shirt w the sheep, soooooo sweeeeeet =) no wording also v nice! lucky hannah! got such a creative mummy! faster go consider putting ur craft into biz... do a small small one first la....

ariajo.. botanic garden sounds fun... not a bad idea for our gathering too like wat totoro said =)

surgarnut.. thks so much... ur info on taiwan is bb friendly helps alot.. we giving it a serious thot now.. re swollen lip... cant put salt on the kid's wound la, will b v painful de... thot tat's for adults if hving mouth ulcer? i tink bonjela is fine, u may try sugar like ecookie/chintz/sanbebe said. they must b v happi - sugar = sweet sweet?? haha.. hope lleyton's lips will b ok by tml =)

ecookie.. yz also hurt his lip 2wks back? aiyo.... he's down w cough or r/n now? ok liao?

sanbebe... thks 4 sharing ur forthcoming trip, wow, the plcs u r going seems v interesting esp 'ming su4'!!

petit_gar... ya, like sanbebe said, u can get the flowers fm market flower stall. ask the seller they will teach you how to use. promenganate leave hv to 'steal' fm ur neighbours (dun tell them u taking... jus quietly plug & go, ppl usually will understand for wat purpose). if not, then u can buy 1 pot fm flower stall & plant yourself for own use. tis plant is v pantang... if got mensus cannot touch/water it, if not it'll 'die' easily. or u try to massage some soothing oil on marcus b4 bedtime, try calm him down. poor boy. or seek advice fm ur elderly since u r a free tinker, do watever u feel comfortable.

tiffy, i hvnt refreshed the page.. so now then see ur 1st clippy. v matching button & the ribbon color... 'jia you' =)

karrie.. thks 4 the link.. someting new to me...

zhen zhen,
hahaha yah i also go to that shop, buy 1 get 1 free. but i can't find alligator clip there perhap i miss it.hmm, think i saw those with teeth but i want those without teeth.
wow, this friday if my hb is at his office HQ, then i can go meet him there n go spotlight buy ribbons.
that button is from 1 of the romper that sherry wear. it is add as a design so i took it out to stick on the clip.hahaha i must dig out all her old clothing n see have any nice button that i can make use of.

zhen zhen,
i must find a day to go people park alone. easy to shop without sherry. If can find cheaper alligator clip at the usual shop i went last time, i will let u know.

tiffy, haha... have fun in spotlight! show me your stash when you're back ok.

for alligator clips, maybe they sold out? cos there were very few when i was there the last time.

for the buttons, i also use the existing ones that i have. they're good for hairclips, cos they're small. haven't started dismanteling hannah's clothes yet though, cos want to save for #2 (if it's a girl).

tiffy... good lah... at least u hv ideas to 'recycle' fm sherry's dresses!! can save $$, hehe =D

okie... happy making clippies, me going zzzzz le =)

karrie, junnie, thanks for compliments.

tiffy, where's you're usual shop? you mean there's an even better one in PPC itself?

Hi petit_gar

promenganate leave/loose flowers/lime, all can get fr flower stall. i noticed they will sell during lunar 1st or 15th.

morning

zhenzhen,
the usual shop i went is at level 3,Mix n Match. Always went there buy crystal bead. really must go n check whether they sell clips.

aria jo & sanbebe,
Wow, got water fountain at botanical gardens ah! all the more must make a trip there liao. thanks ya!

petit gars,
get those loose flowers & "sia lew" (in hokkien) as suggested by sanbebe, junnie & YL.

zhen zhen,
aiyo, the matching T-shirt & clippy so cute! same goes to the sweet hairband. just curious, how stenciling works? using spray?

tiffy,
good attempt for ur 1st clippy! N idea hor, using button fm sherry's old clothes. hiak hiak hiak

karrie,
thks for the useful links on nightmares and night terrors!

junnie,
LOL at the way u describe where to get promenganate leaves! cos my mum also "steal" fm neighbour. Ya, agreed tat this plant is "pantang" type, not easy to look after, tats y my mum resort to "stealing" lar. wahahah!

petit gars, just to share. My boy doesn't have that kind of nightmare after those 2 times. I think it's more like nightmare combined with teething that's making him real frustrated. He was popping his molars back then. Is yours teething? I personally feel it's nothing to worry about.. it'll go away by itself. I cant bear to scold him when he cry till so kelian.

tiffy, i see. i think thhe shops at PPC, most are more geared towards jewellery making. no ribbons and not much clips. wish there was a shop that had all the material under one roof.

chersam, i used freezer paper to create the stencil, and painted using paint brush and fabric paint. it's a bit tedious, but i like the results. will wait for my plain t-shirts and rompers to come in so i can make some more.

morning mummies

zhenzhen:
I like ur t-shirt,it's very nice. U are very creative & hannah is very lucky to wear ur creative designs. Agreed wif other mummies, u can really set up ur biz le

petit gars:
there was a few days when shanice oso wakes up in the middle of the nite & point to our bedroom door & tap her chest(indicate that she's scared) & cry. Then after much coaxing,she will sleep in between us but it's usually abt 10 mins. After a few days, I happened to read the buddhism chant, & no more of such incidents.Not sure,if the chant really helps.

tiffy:
nice clip u hv. Sherry is oso very lucky

morning ladies!!

chersam, the children's playground they are referring to is jacob ballas.. think totoro, bbwow & many other mummies brought the kiddos to b4. i have always wanted to go but am scared of the parking cos i m not familiar with the roads there. shall recce this weekend... keke

totoro, onz u! we shd hv one at JB (not m'sia) b4 the east coast one!

zhen zhen, ain't hannah the luckiest little princess?? the stuff u have made are so sweet & beautiful! can i be ur godsister?? so adri can be ur godniece?? kekeke...

sansbebe, will u be going to 九份? i love the place and the desserts!! keke..

junnie, ya! the promegranate is one super pantang plant. some1 once commented something abt the plant and my mother cursed & swear cos within days, the plant went bald.. hahaha! but she nursed it back to health liao..

petitgars, think the best florist to get the flowers from are those at wet markets. they will surely have them. tell them u want a pack of 5 or 7 coloured flowers and maybe ask them to throw in jasmine as well. the pomelo leaves works very well on itz own too. my mum always keep "stock" of them in the fridge for "emergency" uses.

tiffy, nice clip too! do more do more then showcase to us! =)

Hi petit_gar,
just to share my experience.

the leaves i used is those big type, only avail at flower stall. i use it together with the ("ang hua") leaves.
my gal cried non stop for no reason for 1hr+. then followed by my son. me and my hubby were both "panda" next morning.
my mom even went to temple to get amulet for both. doesnt help.
after the "flower" bath + we also made some minor renov changes at home, things are improving.

read the topic on botanical gdn. yest, received a letter fr childcare. they bringing my son for an excursion to botanical gdn. parents can tag along.. me looking forward to the day trip!

cherie bear, thanks!

hippo, haha... god-niece. got such thing??? dun need to worry about parking. there's a carpark right outside the JB gardens! very convenient. doubt we can have a picnic inside though, as it's quite small. maybe can have one at the main gardens just outside. there's lots of nice open space there.

btw, any mummies here giving their kids gain iq? i just received a voucher - buy 6 get 1 free (plus home delivery). must buy from guardian. not sure whether worth it or not? if anyone wants the voucher, let me know?

hee zhen zhen i got that voucher also...but dunno where i chucked it oredi. the abbott ppl really very on the ball...wyeth also. like after i got discharge i got a call from the lady to promote the follow on milk liao...got 2 satchets of Gain IQ samples also, any mummies want?

I have 1 small tin of similac follow on for bb above 6 mths, any mummies using? can give u....i prefer to use NAN. wonder why NAN never gives samples one...so niao...

karrie, i was thinking the same thing! hannah is taking NAN too, and they have very few promos. i think i have only seen NAN on offer ONCE. rest of the time it's full price.

there was only once my colleague managed to get a small tin of NAN Pro 2 from her kid's PD clinic...but she had to ask for it...she was nice enuff to give it to me. other than that, I never see NAN giving samples. Mebbe must ask fr PD's nurses/receptionist when we bring our bb there for jabs...

zhen_zhen, mebbe u can go those chinese medicinal halls or places like Ang Mo super market to get...NTUC sells NAN at $28.15 per can if i remember correctly, but i managed to get it from Ang Mo at $26.60...the only catch is sometimes they run out of stock.

thanks zhen zhen for the info! need to check out on the website on how to go.. haha! and yes.. there's such a thing called god-niece if u take me as ur godsister.. hahahaha..

karrie & zhen zhen, me me me! adri takes gain IQ.. =P

morning junnie!

zhen zhen,
wow! your T-shirt & clips are really nice :)

Zhen Zhen & Karrie,
Ya! I was also thinking why Nan hardly has any promo. Someone organized a bp a couple of months ago so I stocked up 6 tins with free delivery (about $25 per tin). Else, I will usually buy from those provision shops for around $26+ too. Hah

zhenzhen/tiffy,
spotlight sell ribbons in meters. no roll lah. they even sell as short as 1/2 meter. but like i said, their price is on the pricey side but the good thing is you don't need to buy in role. i think they even sell 1/4 m?

yes, there's a shop on the 2nd floor in people's park place. the shop is behind this shop called lye nai siong. Lye Nai Siong sells sewing items too but not a lot of button varieties.

actually there are a few other shops (2nd and 3rd floor) there that sells sewings accessories like trimmings, buttons, etc.

zhenzhen,
nice creation. it will be nice if you do a bit of stitches along the lamb to give it a more 3D look

chersam,
i didn't go to the fountain. may be it's the other side of botanical garden. feel like going there again this sunday too.. see how..

junnie,
yeah, it's a nice place for gathering and for the kids to mingle with the nature

hubby just got a job offer and it's damn lousy one! it's a 6 days work! so, saturday, i have to bring to gracekids by myself. hubby said he'll ask his mother to accompany me but i'm still so upset! really wonder if i can cope with aria in the class with my bulging tummy... now then i know i'm so reliant on my hubby!! he suggested bringing my 6+years old niece along so that she can help out but I'm quite reluctant because there's possibilities i have to look after her also and i don't want to trouble my SIL. plus it's so funny asking other people's daughter to help out right?

may i just tahan these 2 months since we're not extending the class after 1 term. super upset with this lousy job offer (lousy pay also) but hubby said economy no good, just have to bear with it for a while..

yl, cherie_bear.. glad ur kids can sleep well now...

cheram,hippo... so u all also knw tis 'pantang plant' ;) my mum 标 a pot last 中元节 but now like '营养不良' the leaves skinny skinny (may b i plugged 'too much' le.. hehe..but not botak la). hippo, can ask ur mum how to nurse it back? must put 肥料 izzit?

aria jo,
dun be too upset. if your mil can't help u, u wanna try asking grace kids if u can change your class to 11.15am cos i'm in that slot? i can help u look after aria since my hubby can take care of aidan :)

hapififi,
so sweet of you
my mil sure no problem following me and to help me carry things but when in the class, it will be me i guess. yeah, may be i should discuss with hubby if i should change it to 11.15 class. at least he can join us and have late lunch with us.

is the 11.15 class very crowded? what time does it ends. the other thing is aria usually very sleepy around 12 plus. so we might be disrupting her daily routine.. haiz..

ariajo... aiyo.. y like tat.. bobian.. got to bear w it for time being since ur hb said is hard to get a job now... or like happififi suggested, she can help u. re 6yrs old.. unless ur niece is guai guai type, then may b can bring her along, if not.. better not (eg. look @ zann). i cant bring her & lance out myself.. i'll 'die' cos both cant sit still one. (unless go supermarket, they like to sit in the trolley, so everytime we jus get one & both will sit inside, of cos, must avoid toy section fm her sight la).

aria,
there were about 14 kids last sat so i do find it a bit crowded. when i was there last mon for the trial, there were only 8 kids & they had time for 2 art & crafts. whereas on sat, only managed to do 1.

i overheard a couple of parents commenting they wanna switch to 9am slot so hopefully this week will be less people. the class ends at 12.45pm. ya, it does disrupt aidan's routine too since he normally eats lunch around 1130am or 12pm. but since he's into his food rejection phase again (what's new ya? haha), think it doesn't make too much difference to him. we just try to feed him when we are having lunch after the class :)

junnie,
my 6 years old (P1 now) is quite ok though she herself also cannot sit still but she will listen to me and will do what i ask her to do like run after aria, guide aria over to me but sometimes there is just so much a little kid can do right. the thing is i dunno what my SIL will think and i also dun want to always disturb other people's daughter lor..

aria cannot sit still even in trolley! headache man.she likes to go to cold section of the supermarket and stand on those aluminium bar.. aiyoh...

aria,
u mentioned u can go rhythm in me as makeup lesson for busy bods? i have 3 makeup lessons so i asked the staff if i can go rhythm in me. but she told me cannot leh

hapifif,
yeah, yesterday hubby called and gracekids said cannot leh.. i feel like writing to to school. so inflexible.. wonder why..

aria, hmm.. some changes to be made ar? maybe u can consider hapififi's idea! at least there's someone u know and they can be each other's playmate too. all the best to ur hb! the situation out there is reali not too good.. so grin & bear it! good times shd come soon gal.. gambate!! ren ren ren..

junnie, huh? i dunno leh. i'll ask my mum for u but very impt thing is not to spout rubbish in front of the plant lor.. and also like wat u've mentioned, dun anyhow touch the plant.. keke.. i check with her & i let u know okie? i have no green fingers.. any plant under my care sure die, pantang or not.. hahahaha..

aria,
exactly! so inflexible. they are simply discouraging people from signing up mid-term by being so inflexible. first, dun allow pro-rated payment. second, dun allow going to different classes for makeup. sigh. cos the weekday & weekend classes exactly the same activities. a bit boring for me although not too much difference to aidan! haha. luckily i only have 3 makeup lessons to go to. going for 1 this thur afternoon :)

hapififi,
actually for kids it's good to do repetitive things. kids learns things through repetition unlike adult we find it boring
but weekday is out of questions for us since we're working.

so i might forfeit the classes leh. i might just write to the school..

Karrie, ya. I’ve been getting from Ang Mo too.

Ariajo, i saw a whole section of printed ribbons being sold per roll leh! The shelf looks so pretty, cos the ribbons are sorted by colour. See also shiok. I saw at another aisle the satin ribbons, and those were sold by meter. Maybe you’re referring to that section issit? BTW, the shop you’re referring to is at people’s park center? The one opp Chinatown point? See whether i can go again soon.

Ariajo, it’s good that your hubby is able to find a job now. And don’t worry too much about taking aria to class on your own. i was taking Hannah to JG during my first tri, and the teachers there are very helpful towards pregnant mummies. They helped us a lot, esp during those activities which require lots of carrying. I’m sure the teachers at gracekids will be able to help you too, esp if there aren’t a lot of kids in the class.

hippo.. TIA =)

ariajo.. i thot 6yrs is K2, ur niece P1? understand where u come fm... may b ur SIL also happi u help her look aft her kid.. hehe.. agreed wat they can help is ltd, sometime 越帮越忙 keke... cant imagine aria so 'active' in supermarket!! she like 'cold cold' stand la..

aria,
u mean forfeit your makeup classes? dun think they will refund u but u can try. actually, u dun have to do makeup lessons on weekdays. can roll over to next term & go to the weekend classes