(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

re: discipline
now chloe is not afraid of me with cane liao. first thing she'll do is hug tight to me and keep on crying, wan me to baobao! maybe she knows my weak point that i 'she bu de' cane her!

but the cane still works if it comes from her papa. her papa just need to say, "dear, bring the cane for me.." then chloe will be guai guai liao!!

there's one good news though, starting today, my SIL is back to work force, not working from home anymore. that means A LOT to me! hee

ecookie, biggest hugs... i know how heartpain it is! be patient be patient ya? give yz some more time okie?

aria, adri is very sensitive to our moods too.. esp the one who is angry with her.. she will start to manja.. and try all means to catch our attention..

jas, danson's not recovered yet? oh my.. poor dear.. speedy recovery!!

anyway, something to share to brighten up your day mummies!! introducing my dancing queen!

dodo, she can finally dance!! hahhaaha..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=953c_xIbSMU
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBsBti3WCIs

ecookie,
i read abt this in the book and saying "no" is a phase and every baby will go through this phase. how true! aria went through this phase. at that time "bu yao" is her favourite sentences and she doesn't really know what it means. sometimes bu-yao to her is "yao" but she still said it anyway..now when she said bu-yao, we know she really meant it. she understand the concept of bu-yao. i think may be YZ doesn't understand it yet..

tiffy, oopsie!! there's this little girl who looks like sherry! paiseh paiseh!

ecookie, yes!! they are reali reaching their terrible 2s.. but we just have to grin & bear it while disciplining them.. they will snap out of this phase but this is also the time we show them watz the right & wrong behaviour.. =)

chintz, hi-5!!! same here.. the cane from me DOES NOT work at all! only her dad holding the cane will have any effect on her.. tsk tsk..

oh ya.. CONGRATS chintz!!!!!!!! LOL... this calls for a celebration! let's all wish ur SIL a great time at work.. and a happy working life (so that she'll never think of working from home to haunt u all again.. oops!)

aria_jo: sigh, yz knows the meaning cos he will run away from me to reinforce the bu yao message! and he will say yao or OK to those things that he wants. argh. hope he will pass this phase soon. hope i will get the book and learn some tricks to handle a difficult toddler at this stage!

chintz: good to hear that sil will be "out of the way" most of the time. hehe

hippo!!
oh my goodness!!!! adri is sooo cute!! i wanna hug her to bits!!! her swaying is soo good and soo feminine.. next time, you can send her to dance class liao..

hahahha! thanks all.. woohoo.. *giggling away*

hippo, adri is sooo cute with her sways..!!! very GIRL, very bootylicious!! :D

and ur TSK DENG DENG background also not bad loh.. hehhehe

ecookie,
at one stage, aria was so naughty. throw everything on the floor, step on it.. not happy, scream, not happy, lie on the floor(still does).. but 2-3 weeks later tone down.. now she hardly throw things on the floor.. last time, i told her she cannot put her hand inside the toilet bowl, she doesn't understand and will throw a tantrum if i close the lid, now when i said no, you cannot put your hand inside, she will listen...

i feel she's really start communicating with me..we really got to slowly teach them the boundaries.. go go, read the book. let me go to NLB and find out the author for you..

aria_jo: thanks for the advice. i must really try to be more patient when it comes to yz. he is really the man in my life to make me a better person, not my hb! lol. :p

ecookie,
found it!

===============================================================================
<font color="0000ff">Title:</font> Positive discipline : the first three years : from infant to toddler
-- laying the foundation for raising a capable, confident child / Jane Nelsen, Cheryl Erwin, and Roslyn Ann Duffy.

<font color="0000ff">Author</font> Nelsen, Jane.

<font color="0000ff">Publisher New York, N.Y. :</font> Three Rivers Press, c2007.

Physical Description viii, 292 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.

<font color="0000ff">Contents</font>
Prologue: by the children
-- Positive discipline principles for your family
-- Welcoming baby
-- Getting to know your young child
-- The miraculous brain : helping your child learn
-- Temperament : what makes your child unique?
-- Trust versus mistrust : "can I count on you?"
-- Autonomy versus doubt and shame
-- Understanding age-appropriate behavior and how to manage it
-- Understanding the learning process for nurturing self-reliance and confidence
-- The development of emotional skills and language
-- You can't make 'em do it : sleeping
-- Your toddler and eating "open wide ... please?"
-- Toileting : "it's my job, not yours"
-- Building healthy self-esteem through encouragement
-- The world "out there" : dealing with the influence of technology and culture
-- Who's watching the kids? choosing (and living with) childcare
-- Growing as a family : finding support, resources, and sanity.

hi mummies me bfing mea now...no time to scroll the archives...

aria who is the author of the positive discipline book? matty has been dispaying some aggressive behaviour towards his bb cousin n mea...i gt v angry with him sometimes and lash out at him, then poor mea cry cos she tot im scolding her. so, ecookie i can totally understand how u feel.

chintz, my hb preggie too haha. but i gave birth liao, he still hasn't :p

any 2nd time mummies-to-be wanna stock up on milkbags? i saw this link, if get 5 boxes got discount...only $7.50 each. wonder if anyone staying in the north wanna pool their order with me? 20 boxes free delivery. http://www.freewebs.com/mybreastmilkstoragebags/

re: preggie hb
got 1 point chloe would say everyone's tummy got baby inside until my mil taught her, only mummy's tummy got baby.

but last week when mil 'tested' her, chloe insisted her papa's tummy has baby too! and it's MEI MEI according to her.. hahahhaa. dunno to laugh or what?

chintz,
haha..yes, aria also said her daddy got baby cos he's "5 months" pregnant now
she also point to her tummy and said baby..

hippo,
adri so cute when she dance.

ecookie,
hahahaha sherry also keep saying no to everything for 3 weeks liao.

chintz,
that's really gd news for u leh. don't need to listen to ur sil those nonsence come out from her.

chintz, no leh but it looks quite ok cos it seems lotsa mummies use it. it's cheaper than Lansinoh for sure...as long as it's ziplock i think should be fine. why dun u get like 1 box to standby...if u dun need, can always sell off. sure got mummy buy one...i regret not standing by that time. cos i had to pour away my EBM that was in the fridge for more than 2 days, while waiting for the milkbags to arrive...

Mummies, you are most welcome. Now got a lot of time on my hands, so organising this was no problem.

Jas, hope danson recovers quickly. Think his immunity not as developed as gor gor, that’s why take longer to recover.

Chintz, glad to hear that your new maid is good. And that your SIL is out of the house! Woohoo!!

Hippo, is it the group pic or individual pics? Very kaypoh... wanna see now! And adri is going to grow up to be a dancing queen. Look at her shake. Phweeet!

Ariajo, Hannah is very sensitive to our feelings too. I accidentally burnt my hand today, and she seemed so upset that i was in pain. Kept wanting to sayang my hand.

Ecookie, Hannah loves saying no too. But when i give her my fierce face, she will guai guai do it. I try not to use it too often though, in case it loses its effect!

when i read that book, i totally agrees that i want a confident, self reliant child and not a child who learn things through shame and negative remarks! most of us are so guilty of that!! it's like i told aria, aiyoh, shame shame if you don't wear your clothes..so after a while, after shower and when she see herself naked, she say shame shame.. aiyoh..i got the message across but in a negative way.. yikes!

zhenzhen: ouch! how is your hand?!
hope its better now.
wah hannah still scared of ur fierce look.. i need to raise my voice and walk towards yz then he will stop whatever notti thing he is doing. but repeatedly doing this is very tiring to me.. ha

zhen_zhen, good that hannah is scared of u when u r firm with her! matty isn't even scared when i raise my voice...jialat...

karrie, count me in for the milkbags then! how many boxes have you consolidated? let me know how many outstanding you need yeah

ok mebbe I can start a list...if we order 5 boxes and above, it's $7.50 per box of 25 milkbags. If we can hit 50 boxes, it will be $7 per box...

1. Karrie: 3 boxes
2. Chintz: 1 box

Mummies, if u want, can copy and paste this list with your name added on. Then we can have a lunch gathering in the north or something, and I can pass to u gals then :D

thanks zhen_zhen &amp; jas, thanks for consolidating our honey orders. I have trsf to jas liao..

I hvn't bought any milkbags this time round..dunno if I want to buy or try this milk trays? I thk they selling at expo last time but I din see the booth.. anyone tried before?

http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&amp;task=view&amp;id=44&amp;Itemid=31

hippo, adri is so good!! I thk she dun even need to go for classes liao.. like a v professional dancer.

Update on Marcus:
Thanks for all the well wishes
Marcus is feeling better. He has stop vomiting and diarrhea. However, the coughing and runny nose will not stop for long...

Hippo,
Oh my gosh... Adri is so cute when she shake her booty... she really enjoys you taking videos of her

ecookie,
Dun worry bout yz... it's will be a passing phrase. Marcus was worse... testing my patience to my limits... getting angry &amp; sitting on the floor, ignoring me... playing in the toilet... screaming &amp; wailing .... refusing to clean his bum or change to clean diapers... you name it, I had it.. keke :p Recently, I can see he's trying to be obedient and nice on 'GOOD' days.... but he still has his bad mood days at times. Just be patient and remind him of his mistake and praise him with a loud applause when he gets it right... Marc loves the whole family to applause for him

sugar_nut, the milktray is something new to me! never see this at all. and, the thought of EBM ice sticks keep floating on my mind now. haha. yummy!! :p

thanks mummies.. =) i reali bth her.. she has been dancing like this the whole weekend.. qns is: who taught her?? we dunno!!
and paiseh for the vomit-inducing quality of the 2nd vid.. i was actuali bopping together with her.. LOL..

aria, thanks for the info on the book! hope it helps me too..

zhen zhen, the pics are the individual ones! =P small little squares of many kiddos' pics..
anyway, at least ur fierce looks work... mine will not work at all! in fact might just work against me..

she is reali very notti nowadays.. she will take "revenge" if we scold her or hit her! she'll walk over and "gei siao" whack us back or pinch us.. though the frequency is getting lesser now cos we reali give it to her when she does that.. i m just hoping she gets out of this phase ASAP!!

chintz &amp; karrie, hi-5! my hb has been pregnant for more than 7 years.. and has yet to pop... LOL

jas, will transfer the $$$ to u later ya?

petitgars, glad to hear dat marcus is much better!

sugar_nut, i was thinking of buying the milk trays too, but the cost really puts me off. somemore must transfer the sticks into ziplock bags if wanna freeze new batches of milk, aiya...im too lazy.... :p

chintz,
i saw the milk trays.. very good invention and i like the idea that the milk trays made from material for freezing but i dun like the idea that i have to take effort to label them.. for bottles i only need to label them or arrange them in sequence. but for milk sticks how to do that? so, i still think my glass bottles the best..hahah...

oh yah mummies if u stay in the east, u should pop by City Plaza if u're looking to change your wardrobe. today i went there for lunch with in laws, was so surprised to see so many clothing stores, all so trendy and much cheaper than Far East Plaza!!! i bought a denim romper for myself, it's only $28. it looks like many of them just opened, cos i see a lot of clothes still in the plastic packaging and the shop assistants are so busy unpacking and hanging them. it's like 2-3 levels devoted to women's clothing, it's mind-boggling! and i used to think City Plaza only has auntie clothes...hahaha.

re: milk trays
and i think we need to wash and sterelize the tray after making 1 batch?? u mummies have good points!

karrie, did u try out the famous fried chicken there? forgot its name! it's much more delicious than kfc hehe

aria jo, same thoughts as u abt the milk trays...i also like glass bottles but they take up space. so gotta resort to milkbags...

city plaza is near paya lebar mrt

chintz, u talking abt Arnold's fried chicken? yah i tried before and it's indeed nicer than kfc... but today we actually went there for the roast meat. the char siew, shao rou and chicken at the foodcourt on the 5th floor is really nice! i dun usually like char siew but this stall is really sedap. it's called Tiong Bahru Roast or something...i know, go figure...Tiong Bahru stall at Katong...haha.

karrie,
keke. cos my milk supply is nothing to shout abt..so, will not take up much space lah..haha..

oh, paya lebar mrt..

haven't logged in for quite some time cos hubby was on leave for 2 weeks &amp; we packed our days with lotsa activities with aidan. haha. don't think i have time to read through the super long archives!

ariajo,
i saw that you have signed up for gracekids! me too. what a coincidence. maybe we might catch each other there. going for the sat 11.15am Busy Bods class. What about you?
Aidan was also quite anti-social during the class but I suppose it's rather common when the tots are in a new environment. Just give them some time to adapt :)

we actually brought aidan to JG mandarin playclub (for a trial), zoo-phonics (for 5-day holiday programme) &amp; Busy Bods @ Gracekids (for a trial) &amp; concluded that we (and Aidan) like Gracekids most :)

karrie, city plaza is like a wholesale centre!! the prices are so much cheaper.. but must reali have the patience to shop.. cos they are wholesale, they dun reali have the fashion sense to display "sensible" clothes instead of ah lian clothes at their store front.. haha! must dig.. shiok hor!!

hapififi,
aiyoh, you managed to squeeze in the 11.15 slots? by the time we signed up, we were told the class is full. so we signed up the 9.15 slot. initiall we felt disappointed that aria cannot get to mix with a larger group but on second tots, hubby felt it's gonna be chaotic cos there will be 15 children and 30 adults if all parents came?

aria class is very small. only 5 kids and less than 10 parents..so there's a lot of logistics surplus. i even get to eat the snacks last week...haha...

wahhh...so many posts to catch up!

chintz,
congrats on your sil going back to work. wahahha

ecookie,
J is also like that. Nowadays when we're stern with him, he will act the 'ke lian' face and try to look for rescue team. the worst thing he has started to develop is lying! dunno is cheeky or what. Whenever we ask him things like "Who buy this for you?" He will answer somebody else and giggle! we find it funny now but really hope it doesn't develop to lying.

Hi Zhen Zhen

Transferred to you $100. ($65 + $35) for Avent.
Have email you the details.

Sorry. Rather busy with work today, havent really have the time to read all the post, only browsed thru. Will come back to post more when have time.. Cheers