(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

sugar_nut, looking at the ad cheriebear sent just now, don't think im going leh..

let me know if there's any huggies promo there though

cm, indonesia have major brand formula milk, like similac or dumex. what brands are they drinking?

cherie_bear.. thks for the info.

surgarnut, ysterday i went expo for food fair last day, parking quite ok, oni the crowd in the fair is horrible, cos got john little & popular too.. motherhood, may be will drop-by tis sunday abt noon time, which mummies is going??

cm.. now schl holiday the kids can relax abit?? aiyo, u forever sooo busy... then how? u miss the pp collection? can make appt w them again? cos the waiting time is real long if no appt esp now schl holiday. better bring carlson for all jabs b4 ur trip in case u cant find a suitable PD/GP over there.. re milk powder, most supermarkets shd hv, nvrthelss better chk it out w ur hb local contact regard the brand u using, if nt, got to carry enuff stock w u/change brand/shipped fm SIN to playsafe.

bye mummies, me going home le, hv a nice evening =)

thanks for your feedbacks and I can't bear to ignore my girl lah. So i'll just keep reminding her to start talking. I think yesterday she was holding her milk bottle and looking at the pics on it and them she blast out a loud "BEAR" ha ha .. it should again be a one time thingy i guess

Anyway, managed to read the post again but no time to post as I'm busy packing as we are shifting office. Whatever time that is left after clearing my work is to pack my stuff!!!

Going home now to see my girl liao.
Can't wait for next week to meet up with so many mummies.:)

oh yah, I'm ordering personalized banners from celebrate express, anyone need to buy banners as well for the 2nd birthday? Please email me okie.

junnie,
haa! ya.. i got a milk monster bb at home! true, the breastpump i got really a good investment, no regrets at all!

CM,
poor thing.. seems like u have a very busy day ya.. hang on! as for the milk powder, i think u better to check the country that manufactured.. as for China, they got Enfa, Similac, Mamex etc brands also, but i dun feel safe to buy there as the BRAND maybe the same as spore but they maybe packed locally, and the labels/ packaging are mainly those chinese wordings, making me scared! so i never buy there..

Mummies who visit my blog,
Have you encounter my blog have "RA" picture popped up before ? Today then I heard from my sis that she'd encountered but it never happened to me or my husband before. I wonder if it's once off where there is something wrong with the link or her pc kenna some kind of virus.

Tiffany,
Is that so? which branch did you call up. At Thomson, it was conducted 1 hr english, and 30mins mandarin?

Holiday programmes,
I signed up Tiffie for 1 week of Ballet & Jazz Dance summer camp with CSTD, 1 week lorna whiston & Tien Hsia holiday programme, last week of holiday will be rest & relax @ downtowneast for her bday. Oh yah... lots of school projects for mummy to do too. As for Marcus, I only sign up the zoo phonics holiday programme for 1 week. Other than this, no other programmes leh... do you have any suggestions? thinking of swimming or gym lessons for them...

Learning Lab/ British Council/Berries/Jiang Education
Any mummies has any experience with the abovementioned? Intending to transfer Tiffie out from Tien Hsia to Jiang, Lorna whiston to learning lab... any feedback?

Dodo..
you must be very happy to see ZQ can gobble up your EBM
I felt very satisfied then when Lucas also takes my EBM, both brother and sister share share.. haha...

Re: Avent warmer
Hmm.. I dint really like to use it, find that I dont know how to control the temperature...It takes time to heat up the water, then also takes time to warm up EM, then later always too hot. GAVE UP! However, I used it more for melting purees.

Petit gars
Envy your energy of sending them to so many holiday programmes.

Zoo-phonics - I called the Thomson branch. They only offer biligual on weekday classes, but not on weekends. I am FTWM mah, so cannot take weekdays. Too bad lor....

My Lucas is with Berries now. Cant really advise you, coz your Tiffie is in K2. However, I have read and hear that Berries has good standard comparing to Tien Hsia. If you surf the forum, there is actully comparison between Berries and Tien Hsia. Have not heard of Jiang though.

I have a friend told me Lorna Whiston is good. She used to send her son there for few years. Her son is impressive mann... As for learning lab, also heard very good, but the fees can kill. Its like $1000 per subject right?

Tiffany,
Yah... heard that berries is good for preschoolers... but in terms of academic for P1 onwards, heard that Jiang is very good... but sian to travel to FU LU SHOU lah... so still considering bet berries and jiang.

As for learning lab, also hear very good. If planning to send Tiffie there for P1 maths & english next yr, have to sit for entry test this august, then start classes for P1 this coming oct... Science only in P3. Just asked the fees this afternoon, $242 for per subject every 4 lessons. turns out $726 per subject per term... As for lorna whiston, been sending Tiffie for the past 2 yrs, find it so so, no dramatic improvement leh... except reading portion... she's a better and keen reader now. I also dunno wat i want at times...

Re: Avent warmer
I used it for Marcus throughout the 1 yr I breastfeed him... find it good for thawing milk or warming up milk (4 mins only). Sometimes when marcus can't finish his expressed milk, I will keep it in the warmer bag, and warm it up in the avent warmer for him again... can't stand wasting my precious milk... hahaha...

maisymouse,
very nice but the furnitures so ex! hehe....i think it's so sweet to have a nicely decorated room for my 2 girls..dreaming..zzzz..haha...

sugarnut,
i used pigeon warmer! yes, it's so convenient because you just put the milk there and let it thaw.. I chose pigeon over avent because pigeon use temperature to control the heat. So, at least a bit of assurance the antibodies in my EBM will not be killed off lah but minimal impact. The downside is it takes abt 20 mins to thaw. But overall i find it useful because when i use hot water previously, i have to keep changing the water and the hot water might be too hot to warm the milk. So much hassle. Even my in laws and hubby find the food warmer a good buy!

We didn't get Avent because it didn't mention what kind of method it adopted but simply said it can thaw in 10 mins or less?? so, hubby believe they use high heat to achieve such speed. So, to play safe we bought pigeon.

petit gars,
is the milk very hot after warming?

sugar_nut, mine is a hand-me-down mothercare warmer. the milk is just nice, ready to drink (warm) after 1 cycle. it's just that sometimes we forget about it and it became too hot.

have to bear with hungry wailing bb, while we cool off the bottle with running water :p

hi mummies! sorry MIA for a while. both hannah and i are down with a cold and cough. sigh. on holiday, yet cannot enjoy cos sick. double sigh.

sugarnut, congrat on your girl. all the cute little clothes and accessories... sure burn a hole in your pocket!

tiffany, i'm also looking for somethings for #2. you have steriliser? how much you selling? PM me?

and any other mummies have infant car seat to lend/give/sell? PM me?

chintz,
the mothercare warmer also dun have temperature control? wondering if avent alos like that. I really like the fast speed but wondering if i need to watch the time. for pigeon, we just leave it there and the warmer will auto off when the temperature hit 40 degree. So, in a way, it will never shoot pass 40 degree. good for forgetful people like me..hehe...

ariajo and chintz,

just another question hor, when heating EBM with warmer, need to put water first then the bottle, or just put the bottle direct?

How about milk bags? Will the warmer "melt" the bag?

sugar_nut, u need to fill the warmer with water then put in the bottle. to speed the warming procedure even more, sometimes i pour hot water inside the warmer hehe

ariajo,
my first 2 weeks i didn't know how to latch bb on, so speed was really crucial to warm the milk. especially midnites!!! moreover was still staying with ILs back then, wah stress!

sugarnut,
either way. but must have water lah :p i never use milk bags cos they are so expensive and can only use 1 time only right? i use glass bottle to store my EBM. so, i put the bottle directly in
I'm using NUK teat on pigeon screw cap (is this how you call it??hehe) and it fits all the bottles i got from hospital leh... So, it's very convenient

aria_ho,

yah.. but sometimes I find the bottles v small esp. when their intake increase to around 150-180ml. Then must thaw 2 bottles at a time right?

Milk bags can hold up to 300ml I thk. But maybe warmer may not be big enuff to hold hor.. haha.. I stick to my bird-nest and nescafe glass bottles.. accumulating now. hehe..

chintz,
yes, i remember the crying...before i manage to latch my girl and fully BF, she was drinking FM..hehe.. so no problem lah.. EBM is used only when i'm not around. my MIL always take it out warm the milk 1/2 hour early before the feeding time.. So, they just leave it there to warm and when baby cry for milk, just pop it into her mouth..hehe..

sugarnut
bird nest bottles too small lah... i keep those bottles that can store at least 100ml like similac glass bottles and baby fruit juice bottles. When her consumption hit 150ml and more that we pour the EBM from the storing bottles into her feeding bottle (pigeon glass bottle). Then put the feeding bottle into the warmer.

chintz, hvn't receive yet leh.. still waiting

aria_jo, the bird nest bottle I used is ard 150ml (the conc type) so a bit taller.

yah, I use the smaller hospital bottles earlier on also, since supply also may not be a lot.

sugarnut,
you must be wondering if i have problem with my my storage..i never store more tha 30 bottles of EBM because i usually feed non frozen EBM and i will discard any bottles that are older than 3 months though we can keep the EBM for 6 months.

My friday EBM will be in the fridge till monday. Some mummies will transfer EBM > 2 days into freezer but actually it can tahan 3 days before you need to move up to freezer. Aria has no problem with her tummy at all. I actually tested my EBM by storing in fridge for 3 days to ensure the milk did not turn sour. after that experiment, i stretch the storing in fridge for 3 days because I dun want aria to drink thawed milk from freezer every monday when i'm back at work..hehe.. Only occasionally when Monday i'm not working, i will move the milk up to freezer..hehe..

that's how i control my EBM i the freezer. Also may be my quantity is just enough lah, not abundance like Dodo..keke...

sugar_nut, actually was asking u about the bird nest bottles that u used to store EBM hehe. so coincidence u mentioned it here. what is the conc type?? what about the caps?

aria_jo,

hi 5! That was what I did last time also.. I try to feed the chiller ones first (cos' I thk fresher) then only thaw if I need to top up. But sometimes I mix lah.. not sure if that is a problem, but i thk if no tummy prob, then shd be fine..

actually, not only fresher but the antibodies still intact. once in the freezer, they will die and left only nutrients...hehe... can mixed thawed frozen EBM to fresh EBM lah... sometimes i did that when my EBM not enough.

morning all

jovial, i also dun hv prblm when visiting ur blog, perhaps ur sis's pc got hackers?

zhenzhen.. hope u & hannah getting better..

petit_gars & tiffany, thks both 4 ur informative posts =) agreed nowsaday got many many enrichment schls/holiday camps, envy u all got the time/$$, hehe.. i'm a lazy mum, always saying wanna sent my gal to some class but nvr got the time to really sit down & do some 'homework' myself 1st, tink basically i work 5.5days a wk, left 0.5day go 'reporting' @ IL hse, 1 day 4 family/house chores... also trying to convince hb abt the impt of basic foundation cos he feels shd let the kids hv more childhood time rather than study study cos they cant esc fm study once enters P1 onwards...... hmmm.. anyway.. i tink i start to get panicky than my gal when she goes primary schl...hiaz..

chintz,

I used the hockhua concentrated birdnest. I din change the caps leh.. but they dun seem to rust cos' there is some inner plastic lining the cap.

chintz,

I dun throw away leh.. when I stop expressing, I use the frozen EBM v quickly. Somemore my boy is a super milk monster.. his one day's feed and use up few bottles..

chintz,
i dun have a lot lah.. mmm..may be at one point when i'm having a little more, i think when aria was abt 6-8 months, yes, i did throw a bit away like 3-4 bottles as and when the number of bottles hit more than 25? hehe... during that time, i dun feel a pinch liao cos i know i got enough. before that, every single drop is soo precious to me!!

sugarnut, ariajo, thanks thanks!
now i get a clearer pic liao hee. so blur!

last time i throwed away EBM that's kept more than 2 days in the chiller! so wasteful!

so let me summarize ur points:
kept in chiller - up to 3 days, then can transfer to freezer after which?
kept in freezer - 6mths?

correct or not?

i wonder how is dodo managing her bottles and EBM now

Gd Noon Mummies...

Any idea where I can buy anti-slip socks? I need to get some for J as he is starting his JG class in July.

TIA ;)

chintz, that is a good summary..must keep somewhere shd it become useful next time..heehee..

ariajo, like chintz, i used to throw away EBM after more than 3 days in the chiller...i just dunno how to manage them.. and somehow anders always reject frozen milk..so i dun keep them anymore.. how to thaw frozen EBM? bring down to the chiller?

i will also prefer warmer though i used the traditional way of heating up using hot water.. been eyeing but that time was determined to stop by 6mths so did not buy it.. =(

jovialz, did not see the RA when visited your blog.. could it be an advert or something?

any mummies still haven give your toddlers MMR or 18th mth jab? i haven brought anders for the 2 jabs yet also did not bring him for the 18mth assessment.. he is already 19th mth liao..guilty...

ponponta:
dun worry, me oso hvn't bring shanice to her MMR jab. Mayb i'll bring her next wk or so, bn dragging for too long liao.

how's andre in the cc?

ponponta,
yeah, the night before, bring down to compartment below chiller, it will thaw faster. If you put the chiller, it'll be semi frozen still the next day. Once the milk is completely thawed, move it to chiller. This bottle of EBM must be consume within the day. Any unconsumed portion must be thrown away.

junniez, you sounded really busy,, your hb back already.. btw, have you decided whether to send both lance and zann to the same childcare? or zann to the student care near the school?

zhenzhen, please take care..hope both you and hannah got speedy recovery...

CM, wow.. alot of homework to do hor.. jia you, take things easy.. dun get too stressed up..

cherie_bear, i will thinking of bring anders next week.. he kept having those phlegmy cough.. so that why keep delaying.. i also curious of his height and weight..recently, feel no energy to carry him for long..

every week, he go CC with a new pattern.. this week, he cried when he go there and refused to go home when he is there.. bleah.. how is your little shanice?

ariajo, thanks thanks!! this is very helpful..i must jot it down..very blur about this..

ponponta:
haha..mine oso giving me new pattern each wk. Last wk,she doesn't wan to bath when reach home. Keep crying when we bath her till I hv to chk wif the teachers if she cry in cc. Then tis wk,she doesn't wan to sit stroller. & when she walk to sch,she can walk the other direction & cry when I carry her to cc. Faint man..I really exhausted liao. No strength to carry her oso,+ i hv bronchitis,i feel breathless after carrying her for a while.

hello mummies!

jovialz, didnt see the RA thingy the last time i visited ur blog leh..

dodo, wat happened? lucky u r with ur mum.. know u must be very heartpain for her but she loves u alot.. so just make sure u love her lots lots back and bring her for a good meal once ur confinement is over! miss ya...

sugar_nut, i have a warmer but dunno wat brand it is and not used before too.. but if u r interested, will go and check and let u know.. =)

ponponta, dun be guilty! just schedule for it now if anders is ok! =)

adri fell on tues morning (again... she's so clumsy like me! aiyo.. something i had hoped so much dat she wldnt be like me!) and bruised her left under-eye and her whole lower left leg is bruised and swollen.. grrr... so upset and heartpain. but dat silly girl seems ok. just very whiny cos she's kena running nose again from my brother.. feel like smacking him..

zhen zhen, hope u & hannah are much better now? speedy recovery!