(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

totoro, hope you're not too worried about kelly, as she can understand instructions and say mama, you know her hearing and speech are fine. perhaps the reason why kelly is taking so long to talk is because she can communicate thru signing? just thinking out loud, cos hannah took a while to say please and thank you, because she knew the signs for those 2 words.

hi all thanks will try to plan well and do my best ...

Junnie no one is over there to help ...
got to find out all things ourself in Singapore or maybe fly there and check ...

the hot hot days are here ... so drink more liang cha ok ...

hope the kids get will soon

Aria,
I cried while watching ur link. Its so beautiful.

Doobom,
Hope you have already simmer down. I hate it too, when ppl anyhow feed lyn. I anhyhow feed can, others anyhow feed cannot.=p

Sanbebe,
Oh dear, pls do take some meds n try to rest more. Ask your maid to relieve u abit?

totoro_bb,
Haha... I almost forgotten it until you mentioned about the 18mths jab... Marcus is almost 19mths... Think I will bring him next week. As for his speech, my son also SAMA SAMA... understands a lot, but refuse to speak much, other than the Barbar (means barney), daddy, mama, jiejie, shoos (means shoes), duck, there, bubble.... very limited. He always give me a cheeky smile when I teach him a new word. Haiz... I'm kinda stress when the paed ask me about his speech development, cos she has been asking me to force him to speak b4 I give in to his demands... but I think it's too stress to hear him screaming...

SEAFOOD:
I am also told by paed to delay seafood until 3 yrs old for allergic prone kids... Marcus is one such allergy kid, he started fish only at 1 yr old... no other seafood so far. I'm very strict with his diet too. However, recently I gave him diluted YAKULT (original taste) after he saw me drinking... think this is ok right?

MUMMIES,
I have a concern. My elder gal (6 yrs old), Tiffie who is sleeping with his brother (18mths), Marcus in the same room, will always insist on burning lavender oil in a candle burner every night before sleep in an air conditioned room. Marcus is in the same room.... is this alright for their age? It's a daily affair. She claim she can sleep better... keke... Mummy is a FAN of burners too. However, I'm concerned whether any side effects for them, pls advise?

DIAPER RASH,
Marcus is screaming in pain whenever I bathe for him for the past 2 days. Initially thought he has hurt his penis, cos he has a habit of pulling it as a way of discovering it during diaper change. The diaper rash is so red and angry, not those pimply bumps, but big red angry patches! I have been just washing it with water and cetaphil, tried soaking him in dermaveen oil bath, and apply LOADS of thick desitin... but it still looks so angry. He refused to put on his diaper or let me clean him up.... poor boy
... I din experience such bad diaper rash in my whole life with both kids.... what else can I do?

CM,
Take care... and try to keep the kid away from daddy... My hb just passed a very chronic cough to Tiffie 1 week back... and they have been taking turns to cough the germs around the house
So worried Marcus will be next. Nothing seems to help much for their itchy cough.. haiz.... you take care ok

Thanks so much for the concerns.....I've popped some panadol but fever still there and throat is burning. I'll go see a doc if I don't feel better tmr.

Jav is admitted to gleneagles this morning. He's still very sick for a week already so I decided to bring him to a PD this morning. Guess what, he is having BRONCHITIS !!!

I should have brought him to see a PD sooner. No wonder he saw 2 GP and yet nothing has improved. Haiz....blame me.

Hi Sanbebe,
You must really take care... guess you may be over tired. Did you try to gurgle with salt solution and try to get some lozenges from the pharmacy. if it's ticklish cough, try tussils, if it's painul sore throat, try difflam. It works for me.

Dun worry too much about bronchitis. Marcus has it 2 mths back too... Just be patient with the antibiotics... it should subside in few days time. Take care ok

petit gars,
Thanks for the info on lozenges. Mine is painful sore throat. Think I'll try difflam....

Re: rashes
Last time when Jav had this big red patch of rashes, I just applied loads of desitin cream on it. It takes quite a while to subside. Oh I tried changing the diapers more often so as to keep the bum dry. Am not sure of other methods.....

gingerleaf,
As Jav is super clingy to me and only wants to me carry him, the maid can't do anything to relief me....not even my hubby. So bo bian lor....

cm,
Hope that your hubby will recover soon so as to help you in packing and researching on the accommodation and education institute.

I was thinking, perhaps your hubby can go over and settle down first, then you and the children go later to join him. Would it be better? Else you have so little time to get everything ready.

Doobom,
Sorry dear, I was not feeling well yesterday. Something about fluid in the ear inbalance causing giddiness. When to see doctor and given a jab to stop the giddy and vomit. jialat until I'd to leave Caelen at my mum's place for one more night. Had put the phone on silent mode and didn't notice the battery had went flat until this late afternoon. :p Today much better liao. Can bring caelen for breakfast at Airport McDonald and bring him home.

Re: Seafood,
didn't know todds not suppose to eat seafood. Caelen had been taking prawns on weekly basis. I guess to be alright since he didn't have any problems so far.

CM,
Maybe can consider Sanbebe's suggestion. Let hubby go over and settle down 1st. Then let Clarissa finish school this year (not so disruptive? ). Also not so rush for you.

petit ger,
Are you using the blue (creamy) desitin or the purple (original) desitin ? The purple one is more 'powerful' for bad rash as it contains 40% Zinc oxide (creamy only has 20%).

Sanbebe,
for lozenges, it helps to relieve the sore throat but some my doc, it also prolong the treatment. Especially for those who have phlegm.

petit gars & Jovialz ... HB wanted to go over 1st but the school term start in July so got to go together ... if not we are planning to go in Mid Nov ... so now also no choice liao ...

I am also looking for employer for my maid she dun want to go back ... i can let go in end Jul or Early Aug ... dun want her to waste the 2 mths agent fee again ...

hb is better liao after the morning 6 am med ... but now i think coming back again ... he metal teeth ... ask him to sleep he dun want cos after medi he super got energy ... !!!

Spread to the kids ... hmmm I got 4 C with me now Carissa, Carlson, Clie & Cleo(my sister's gals)... hmmm brew lots of liang cha too for all of us . Will need to bring the gals for Han Yu Pin Yin Class Opp Forum from Mon-Fri in coming week. Who wants to have breakfast there with me ??? keke Class start at 10am - 11.30

sansbebe, oh my... i hope Jav recovers soon! poor dear.. u have to take gd care of urself too cos he needs u to take care of him.. take difflam or mac for ur sorethroat. these 2 works very well for me. rest more & drink lotsa water too. dun blame urself silly...

totoro, agree with zhen zhen. kelly might not be saying some words cos she knows the signs for them. adri learnt "bye bye" & "sorry" & some other words later cos she knew the signs for these. hope u r not too worried! just rem to talk to her more.. =)

aria, got e chance to watch e pantene ad. so touching.. very nice vid. thanks for sharing! i love the song canon-in-D alot alot..awww..

CM, busy week for u in the morning next week ar.. hope u get everything sorted out soon!

petit_gars, if u are going out, maybe can just let marcus wear his undies instead of diapers so that he can air his sore bum? i know itz tough to slap on the cream for him esp when he refuses to let u near.. but no choice ya? e only solution is to make sure the area is clean & reali slap on the cream to prevent further rashes.. =)

Petit gar

Red patches could be fungus infection ...u can get anti fungus cream from guardian .... In this case putting a lot of diaper cream may not help cos it does not allow e rash to dry..but lots of airing will help... Let him go diaperless as much as possible n change more frequently.

hearing what you all have mentioned about sign language, do I have to start to ignore her?
Hiaz, her sign language is getting more and more and I always knew what they meant and she will be so happy about it!! So now how, should I just pretend I don't understand?
I have tried to pretend that I don't understand her signing for milk but that only frustrates her and when some time I don't give in. she will be just so frustrated that she slept without milk and end up I have to wake up in the wee hours to feed her!!
Really must think think think on what should I do.
Maybe I should have a sit down down with her and tell her the pros of speech ... ha ha

So fast weekend is ending ... sob sob

Sanbebe
Take care and hope J gets well soon. the blood test will be important for the doc to determine which type of medicine esp. antibiotics to take and he will get well very soon after that.

CM
I'm sure you will be able to settle everything smoothly. :)

Evening mummies!

petit gar,
scanned thru the posts and saw u ask about burning oil at air-con room. i read before that it's not advisable to do so, esp on air con room. moreover, it's prior to sleeping.. can ask tiffie to let go this indulging habit? ;)

<font color="119911">Morning Mummies !!!</font>

Jovialz, hippo, maisymouse:
Marcus is feeling better... no more screaming during baths and cleaning time.... though there's still some red patches around. Regarding the purple desitin, I used to use it for Marcus, until I find it a hassle to clean it off esp at his folds area... cos it's too thick to be removed. As for going diaperless.... Hahaha... I tried once, and here goes the mess everywhere. I'm so afraid he will pee on my sofa and bed, cos he will be climbing everywhere! Even those pooh bear/mickey waterproof briefs I bought online at BPs can't hold his urine in..... in the end, i bought pampers active for him instead.... thinner compared to huggies ultra.

Chintz,
Oh is that so.... then I better stop that.... though I notice I can sleep better too with the lavender burner on
How about those humidifier that allows you to pour in essential oil, and they will spray out the smell? Never tried that before.... any mummies has any experiences to share?

totoro_bb,
Marcus is the same, I just can't force any proper words out from him (accordingly to paed's method).... he's still into lotsa screaming and limited words
For example, he can say 'Milk' (when he wants milk )at 8 mths.... but stop at 12 mths.... and I never heard him saying it again... he's still babbling a lot....

petit gars,
aria got some rashes after wearing pampers active. the rashes were at the butt cheek near the waist. Small small white lumps and it's itchy. I noticed that sometimes the butt area will be wet with perspiration and we think that causes the rashes over time.

We really like pampers active because it thin and provides good absorbency but we stop using it after aria developed the rashes. Not sure whether marcus is experiencing the same thing. So, now we're using mummy poko pull up pants. Still looking for a better diapers to replace nepia.

Hi Aria,
My kids are on Nepia until they outgrow them. I have tried Goon, its quite good. You may want to try. Its not sold at Departmental stores, have order from Supplier.

morning all

petit_gars..glad to hear marcus nappy rash got better... recently i try applied a thin layer of destin (blue) + pureen cornstarch powder it works well on lance. jus to make sure have to keep the affected area DRY.

doobom... hope u hv a nice weekend =) no more angry le.. keke..

sanbebe.. oh dear.. is tiring looking aft a sick child, &amp; u urself also down? hope u &amp; jav recovers fast fast, take care...

jovial.. hope u feeling better too... i got tis 'ear buay balance' prblm too b4 i married, last time i see chinese doc, she told me due to 'crystal/ions' in the ear not balancing hence causing my headache &amp; 'ping xue'.. (something like wat u said 'flud' imbalance).. other than giving me some medicine to 'tiao', she also asked me to do mild exercise, like yoga, swimming, say can improve.. eversince i gv birth, i no time to exercise,hiaz... occasionally i still hv tis prblm, but not as bad as last time...

cm... hope ur hb is feeling better.... u going china nxt wk rite? aiyo...really short of time 4u..... hope u can settle the move to bandung smoothly....

kitchen set ..hippo &amp; tiffy.... wow.. nice pix of the two sweet gals &amp; interesting toys they have! i tink as they grow... their 'collection' will be different &amp; u'll will hv to find bigger storage space for them le!! keke.. our toy mostly hand-down fm nieces/nephews..... i hv to filter their toys every now &amp; then cos really no space to accomodate as we got no storeroom =(

ariajo.. thks 4 sharing the video clip. seldom get 2 c an ad lasting abt 4mins! v touching =)

tiffany.. can i chk w u for Goon, the size/cutting izzit similar to nepia? (cos i find nepia cutting big, suitable for lance, but too bad they dun hv XL for tape one, oni pants).

Junnie
I find their cutting bigger than Nepia. Need to order minimum of $70 then FOC delivery. They do have XL tape and pants.

Aria
Yes. You can call for sample.
http://diapers.com.sg/home.php?cat=1

I find Pampers Active XL cutting very small. Goon is more expensive than Pampers Active. When my elder outgrown the pampers active XL, I switch to Goon XL.

Received this email earlier ....

F A M I L Y

I ran into a stranger as he passed by,
'Oh excuse me please' was my reply.

He said, 'Please excuse me too;
I wasn't watching for you.'

We were very polite, this stranger and I..
! We went on our way and we said goodbye.

But at home a different story is told,
How we treat our loved ones, young and old.

Later that day, cooking the evening meal,
My son stood beside me very still.

When I turned, I nearly knocked him down.
'Move out of the way,' I said with a frown.

He walked away, his little heart broken.
I didn't realize how harshly I'd spoken.

While I lay awake in bed,God's still small voice came to me and said,

'While dealing with a stranger,
common courtesy you use,
but the family you love, you seem to abuse.

Go and look on the kitchen floor,
You'll find some flowers there by the door.

Those are the flowers he brought for you.
He picked them himself: pink, yellow and blue.

He stood very quietly not to spoil the surprise,
you never saw the tears that filled his little eyes.'

By this time, I felt very small,
And now my tears began to fall.

I quietly went and knelt by his bed;
'Wake up, little one, wake up,' I said.

'Are these the flowers you picked for me?'
He smiled, 'I found 'em, out by the tree.

I picked 'em because they're pretty like you.
I knew you'd like 'em, especially the blue.'

I said, 'Son, I'm very sorry for the way I acted today;
I shouldn't have yelled at you that way.'
He said, 'Oh, Mom, that's okay.
I love you anyway.'

I said, 'Son, I love you too,
and I do l ike the flowers, especially the blue.'

FAMILY
Are you aware that if we die tomorrow, the company that we are working for could easily replace us in a matter of days.
But the family we left behind will feel the loss! for the rest of their lives.

Do you know what the word FAMILYmeans?
FAMILY = (F)ATHER (A)ND (M)OTHER (I) (L)OVE (Y)OU

Junnie,
Jialat hor. I'd to be given a injection and despite that, head still spin when I lie down. Only much better the next day. 1st time so jialat.

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Gathering at Coffee Club @ Clarke Quay on 13th June 2009.</font></font>

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Minimum 25 Pax, $22 nett, 12 – 4pm.
Need to final no. of paxs by 06 June 2009</font></font>
<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000"> Jovialz POSB Saving ACC: 198478512</font></font>

We'll get the whole inner dinning area to ourselves!
http://www.coffeeclubworld.com/

<u>Confirm Attendance - PAID</u>
1. Hippo
2. Hippo Hubby
3. Jovialz
4. Jovialz Hubby
5. ECookie
6. Zhen Zhen
7. Zhen Zhen Hubby
8. Jas
9. Ponponta
10. Ponponta Hubby
11. Karrie
12. Karrie Hubby
13. Petit_Gars
14. Petit_Gars Maid
15. Chersam
16. Tiffy
17. Tiffy Hubby
18. Happy FiFi
19. Happy FiFi Hubby
20. Twinkle_stars
21. Twinkle_star Hubby
22. BBwow
23. BBwow Hubby
24. Junnie
25. Junnie Hubby
26. Gingerleaf
27. Gingerleaf Hubby
28. Totoro_BB
29. DooBom
30. SanBebe
31. SanBebe Hubby

<u>NOT Confirm Attendance</u>
1. Ecookie Hubby
2. Totoro_bb Hubby
3. Jas Hubby
4. Doobom Hubby
5. Ponponta Hubby
6. Petit_gars Hubby

totoro..thks for sharing.. is indeed v true!! re kelly's speech... dun worry much, i'm sure she'll open her golden mouth when the rite time/mood comes =)

jovial..yalor.. the head can pain until 'kio toe-long'!! ang mo doc say stress will cause tis too??? everything stress stress stress?? 4 u better 'tiao' properly if u TTC (duno izzit after i conceived/confinement (eat 'bu').. my tis prblm + ecezma much under control.... *touch wood*)

sanbebe, hope u are feeling better. must be tough on u, taking care Jav at the same time. And please don't blame yourself, you're already doing the best job u can dear *huggs*

petit_gars, sorry didn't come in to read the posts earlier, if not i would have recommended the cream which our GP prescribed for Matt's painful nappy rash. he also gave potassium permanganate solution (but must dilute 1:10 with water) to wash his bum. it was super effective, rash totally cleared within 1-2 days. but im glad Marcus is better now!

Re: burning essential oils in aircon rm i also heard it's not recommended. perhaps putting 1-2 drops of lavendar essential oil in a spray bottle of water and spraying the room is a better way? my doula did that in Mt A to relax me when I was labouring. I guess if it's safe for unborn baby, it should be safe for older ones too.

totoro that email made me tear. feel ashamed cos there were a few times i was harsh towards mea/matty and even my hb. it's true, we must treasure our family.

as for Kelly, sign language is still meaningful conversation just a different form. i tink as long as she is able to communicate and attach meanings to words/signs she will be fine, and im sure she will speak when she feels like it. but please don't ignore her...

Jovialz, sorry to hear u were unwell, glad u feel better now...do rest more yah...

yesterday was a good and bad day. i managed to make a lunch bento for hb and his colleague and he liked it so much he's requesting for more :D

2518964.jpg

2518965.jpg

It was made up of onigiri stuffed with ebiko, cabbage and asparagus rolled in proscuitto ham, panfried salted chicken with 2 wedges of lemon and cherry tomatoes ;)

But the bad thing was his CHILDISH colleagues played with our car's windscreen wipers (took off the rubber leave the metal parts exposed) and cracked our windscreen. it was too serious to patch, have to send all the way to Alexandra workshop to change the whole windscreen. I was damn mad cos we just bought the car and how can his colleagues be so disrespectful of ppl's property!!!!! these are 30-something year olds and this kind of behaviour i would expect from my students but ADULTS???

Karrie,
Oh dear,very heart pain one leh. Especially this is your family's 1st car. I hope the colleagues are matured enough to take responsibility and pay for the damages / inconvenience caused.

Your Bento looks Yummy.

karrie,
the bento set is sooo yummy! and looks so professional and good too
Gee, you mean his collegue didn't even offer to pay for it? The whole windscreen not cheap right?

jovialz,
are you getting better?

karrie: the bento set look very yummy! ur hb is a lucky man!

and his colls are impossible. so childish!!! and yah, they never offer to pay?

karrie, i saw ur bento set and ur hb's lovely messages in FB yesterday too
so lovey dovey :D

and his stupid colleagues really got nothing better to do!! did they offer to pay??

morning ladies!

jovialz, hope u r feeling better already.. hugs..

totoro, dun ignore kelly okie? she'll be so upset.. i tink she's great in understanding u guys so give her some time to develop her speech ya?

petit_gars, did u try nepia? my fav brand like most mummies to-date.. =) hope his rash goes away fast!

junnie, i dun mind hand-me-downs u know! in fact wld love them BUT problem is adri is the oldest (or youngest???) and i'm the 1st in my close group of frens to pop so no one give me anything.. sob.. heehee...

karrie, the bento is so nice!! makes me wana grab something for breakfast now..
and ur hb's colleagues?? downright idiotic and childish!!! must hv been so heartpain. make sure they pay cos datz the only compensation they can make for the dumb acts.. dun forget the inconvenience they have put u thru.. eeks.. so angry..

Hi sanbebe

my daughter also had bronchilitis early may, is very tiring for the parents. she kept vomitted her milk feed. every morning sure "merlion", we didnt know whats wrong. thot is just usual cough.

karrie,
Thats so stopid of your hb's frd. They better pay up for the damage! Such a new car somemore!

Totoro,
Thanks for sharing that. Seen it before, but reading it again made me tear today. I am always so harsh to lyn when she is in my way, especially when Im at the stove n she comes over, I will shout "GO AWAY!!" at her, and she always gimme that "what did i do again!" look.

Hi Jovial,
I have done transfer of S$22 to your POSB as detailed

Txn: 2286883657
Date: 2/6/09
Time: 11.25am.

Please help to update in the list. Thanks.

So happy that I can join in the gathering with the kids and able to catch up with all....

Hippo and Ariajo,
Much better liao. At least stop spinning. But these few days very busy lor. stress ah.

But I'm looking forward to July. Cause going to Bangkok for short trip with Hubby, parents, sis and Caelen. Very lucky, cos had thought of booking the tickets yesterday @ $338 nett per adult. Today SIA got promotion (promo ends 4th June), $198 NETT per adult !!! Heng ah ! save $700+ .. hehehe. ..so mai tu liao ! I booked liao !

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Gathering at Coffee Club @ Clarke Quay on 13th June 2009.</font></font>

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Minimum 25 Pax, $22 nett, 12 – 4pm.
Need to final no. of paxs by 06 June 2009</font></font>
<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000"> Jovialz POSB Saving ACC: 198478512</font></font>

We'll get the whole inner dinning area to ourselves!
http://www.coffeeclubworld.com/

<u>Confirm Attendance - PAID</u>
1. Hippo
2. Hippo Hubby
3. Jovialz
4. Jovialz Hubby
5. ECookie
6. Zhen Zhen
7. Zhen Zhen Hubby
8. Jas
9. Ponponta
10. Ponponta Hubby
11. Karrie
12. Karrie Hubby
13. Petit_Gars
14. Petit_Gars Maid
15. Chersam
16. Tiffy
17. Tiffy Hubby
18. Happy FiFi
19. Happy FiFi Hubby
20. Twinkle_stars
21. Twinkle_star Hubby
22. BBwow
23. BBwow Hubby
24. Junnie
25. Junnie Hubby
26. Gingerleaf
27. Gingerleaf Hubby
28. Totoro_BB
29. DooBom
30. SanBebe
31. SanBebe Hubby
32. Tiffany

<u>NOT Confirm Attendance</u>
1. Ecookie Hubby
2. Totoro_bb Hubby
3. Jas Hubby
4. Doobom Hubby
5. Ponponta Hubby
6. Petit_gars Hubby

jovial... bcareful dun get stress okie... tat's one of the cause for ear fluid imbalance hor! wow... tat's v good deal u hv for BKK trip!! can put the 700+ in good spending during the trip!!! hohoho..

karrie... ur hb so lucky got 'ai xin' lunch!! ur bento looks yummy yummy!!! aiyo, 'xin tong' le.. new car so fast need go workshop? hope ur hb's colleagues knw their mistake &amp; compensate wat they hv done.

YL... glad ur gal recovered fm bronchilitis le... if nt v hardpain to see the kid's suffering fm the cough/vomit..

tiffany... yeah!!!! can see lucas &amp; andrea le!! u forgo their nap time arh??

Junnie,

We will come after Lucas class which end at 12.15pm. Since Andrea no class, we will stretch abit until she cranky, then we leave.. If she in Fun mood, usually can stretch till abt 3pm.
See ya there!

tiffany.. oic.. ok ok.. see ya.. andrea sure in fun mood seeing sooooo many little friends!! (aft tat sure 'knock-out' &amp; zzzzz....hehehe)!

Junnie,
She is one troublesome kid. When she tired, she will cry and cry. Duno why, my kids cant sleep outside one... always have to rush home to let them nap then go out again if we have full day activities.