(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Tiffany,
Yup, we went Disneyland the weekend before he fell sick. But we didn't manage to go Ocean Park, which we planned to go the weekend that he was hospitalised.

Re: meals in HK
I cooked simple meals like porridge or macaroni or pasta for him since we stayed in a serviced apartment. Problem is he didn't want to eat at all! Ended up throwing all the food I cooked everyday :-(
I did buy him some HK porridge & feed him some of the food we ate. Ya, quite salty indeed but since he hardly ate (or ate a few bites & spat out), I wasn't too concerned. Hee hee, for myself, I like to eat the HK porridge leh...watery kind! Haha like those in Crystal Jade :)

Karrie,
Haha grazer! what an apt description :)

Well, what to do. We can't choose our kids & just have to our best to "guide" them along the "right path" Haha. As long as he is healthy & grows well, I'm happy (although I still like to grumble incessantly about his food strike!) Sometimes I think I'm suffering from retribution cos my mum said I was a terrible & slow eater when I was a toddler too! Bad karma

karrie, oh i didn't know u stay pretty near to me. cos most of the mummies here stay at JW ah, east ah.. so far only u and san that i know stay (near) at yishun

hapififi, so is aidan happy to see those disney characters? do post the pictures... =)

speaking of pasta, what type of pasta do your give your kids? spaghetti bolognese??

hapififi, wat a trip! glad to hear aidan is much better though.. phew.. poor dear...

aria, tried hanskin & dr. jart b4. personally i like hanskin control bb.. cos i hv combi skin.. =)

mummies, jas is fine! just came back from BKK.. busy busy now i guess.. no worries abt her! =)

petit_gars,

I like to go to the beach too but I stay in Woodlands so ECP quite far for me. Same as zhen zhen, weekday meet up is better for me cos weekends usually my older girl has classes and we have family outings with my mum and my siblings.

hapi_fifi,
Weclome back!
Must have been very worrying when Aidan has to be hospitalised in a foreign country. Glad he is recovering.

Regarding Aidan's poor appetite, guess you have to be really 'zen' to his food wastage and all efforts gone down the drain after spending so much time to prepare his meals.

Chloe is also very selective in eating... she will instantly zip her mouth when she doesn't want to eat certain things.. now she rejects soft food like bottle food, most cereal, oatmeal and porridge and never sits long in the highchair for a meal...Feeding her can be a nightmare too... but I remember Chintz once said if they like the food, they will eat...which is true...for eg she loves fruits and will even get uo the highchair and try to buckle herself if she sees me cutting fruit... so you just got to keep trying different things. Even if it means putting grapes in rice or gerber stars in porridge...keke

What I have learn from feeding Chloe is to prepare food in small quantity and in different forms or hide/mask the things you want her to eat... Eg i use to prepare 1/2 bowl of cereal, now I only try 1st with few teaspoon in case its not up to her liking that day.

Right now she is also rejecting meat.. if her food has minced meat she stops eating... so I keep aside some plain pasta/noodle/rice or plain veg that she usually eats.. in case she detects meat or hide meat in between the cavities of seashell pasta ...
Another way is to use egg omelette to hide vegetables/white bait/meat etc..

And instead of throwing away the formula milk and boxes of cereal she stop eating... I use them to make muffins for her.

btw, just to share a new easy to prepare vegetable which was agreeable with her. I cut up a beetroot like french fries and wrap in foil and pop into the toaster oven for 15 min... just let her eat like fries. she likes it... and this can be a standby snack when she rejects her main food.

ponponta,

My girl doesn't like saucy pasta, so its still soupy pasta for her.

I like to use wholemeal spaghetti, seashell or this heinz dinosaur-shaped pasta:

2393794.jpg

Bwt, I was at Marks and Spencer on sat, and saw this new range of children organic pasta shaped in zoo animals and teddy bears .. very cute!

ariajo, oops.. punggol is a bit too far for me.. sorry!!

maisymouse, thanks! i do not get to see those heinz pasta before, where to buy huh? can share how to cook soupy pasta?? it looks so interesting.. you are also another mummy who put alot of effort in your kids meal.. pei fu pei fu...

hippo, glad to hear that jas is fine. so long never hear from her too, get a bit worried for her.. so she managed to go to BKK in the end? heeheee...

very long never hear from chersam, is she in japan now??

BB cream, went to sasa and was recommended to BB cream which only has 1 colour.. now got really confused by the brands and dunno wat to get.. heehee..will check out the BP though.. thanks ariajo..

aria, i got hanskin from this bp organiser too.. ha!

ponponta, i tink this organiser is selling sample packets too.. so can buy to try ba.. =P

hippo,
which hanskin bb cream did you use? sorry so many question. kind of shortlisted:

HanSkin Magic BB Concealer (Jar) - $27 (Pink Base) Blemish cover and under eye circles - Ready stks
Cream concealer that contains healing properties just like the BB Cream. The texture is excellent for covering from dark eye circles to acne scars! One shade for this concealer. New concealer that supple nourish and moist the skin. Covers skin flaws such as acne and hyperpigmentation.

HANSKIN CAVIAR GOLD B.B CREAM- Ready stks
BB Cream with three-layer-function.
(whitening, wrinkle-free, UV-Block SPF21)
Caviar, white gold peptide based essence,and vegetable ingredients nourish the skin making it soft and healthy.-3 in one: whitening, wrinkle decline and spf 21.

hapififi..... sorry to hear wat happened to aidan in HK.... hope his cough/flu recover fast... lately got one virus outbreak seems like creating a hoo-ha in mexico.....most airports start temperature scanning again.... hopfully it wont spread to asia... hmmm.... fussy fussy aidan, y he dun wanna eat? poor u got to b more 'creative in preparing his meal.... hopefully is jus a growing phase 4 him & he outgrown it soon...

maisymouse.... can see put in lotsa efforts in preparing chloe's meal.... even hv to 'camoflauge' some ingredients, so cute!

tiffy.... tat day i 'support' u dun bring sherry for jab cos must attend 1st may gathering... then my turn to forget lance's appt! i set reminder in hp - actually he has to go for 18mths jab tis morning! hahaha..... since too late to cancel appt also he alr 19mth, hb said jus let him tk the jab... so i took time off tis morning to bring him for the jab. at first he so happy 'babbling his own language' w the nurse, when the nurse ask me tuck his leg in btw my thigh & asked me to hold his hand tight, he start to feel something wrong, v fast, needle poke in his left thigh & he start crying so loud & said 'bu yao bu yao'....... lucky he oni cried a short while & later kept saying 'pain pain' pointing his thigh... we had to wait for doc's assess b4 leaving polyclinic, overall his chk is ok, wt 90% percentile (12kg) and ht 82cm (80 percentile).... duno izzit the scale @ polyclinic not accurate or the one @ nuh not accurate or he strunk a little??? last mth his wt/ht was slightly higher @ 83cm/12.45kg!

aria, i used the hanskin Control BB cream.. u choose according to ur skin type or rather wat u need in it ba? keke.. for me, i need spf cos got lotsa freckles le.. and also for oil control.. =)

hippo.. thks 4 update on jas.. so she went holiday..

jas...now BKK safe for holiday? nvrtheless, hope u hv 'charged' ur 'battery' come back afresh to resume ur role... see ya & the two boys on 1st may =)

hapififi: ohdear, so sad to hear abt aidan. hope he is well on his way to recovery! really hope that he will outgrow his fussy eating habits soon! quite worrying to hear that he is drawing from his reserves..

junniez, i think it's either last time overmeasured or today the polyclinic nurse chop chop anyhow measured! hehe.. go polyclinic very heng suay one leh, sometimes u meet nice n patient nurses, sometimes very bochap!

last appt while waiting for chloe's turn, we heard one nurse shouting from inside the room to one of the mummies, that she has to leave her stroller outside. somemore shouted in hokkien. alamak. like pasar malam like that.. tsk tsk tsk, lucky come to our turn we met nice nurse n doc (young n handsome) too!

hippo... i tink he grow taller so look like 'shrink' in size, but still so heavy 4 me to carry lor! let u try on 1st may =)

junnie, hurhur.. my little 10kg terror already very heavy liao man.. esp when she twists and turn!! but i still wana carry bb lance la! keke.. offer taken!

chintz... wat is tsk huh?? ya, i agreed..... esp when long Q/peak hours those 'auntie nurse' v 'frustrated' one, may b 'too pressurised'.. hehehe...... i went 0845hrs tis morning, not so bad..

hippo... onz... 10kg 'sub-sub shui' la... i one hand can carry le! (hao lian.. hahaha...) i wanna carry adri too - cant 4get the last pix u post!!!

junnie, tsk tsk tsk is the sound effect when u comment on one person hehe (esp negative comments)

guess what, we were there at 8am leh. the poor mummy was that nurse's 1st patient. talk about pressures!!! the best thing is that the 'auntie' nurse can call the young mummie "AUNTIE!"

*faintz*

chintz, piangz! wat kind of attitude is dat man? reali tsk tsk tsk man...

junnie, wahahaha! of cos u can carry her! if dat crazy little girl allows la.. so fussy leh!!.. she pinched, bite and knock her head on me yday.. going bonkers liao le..

Ariajo,
Maybe you can follow as since we stay SOoooooo near. But I need to check with hubby to confirm if he got other plans on that morning.

As for BB Cream, I haven't tried yet. Still waiting for the one I'd ordered from Skinfood BP to arrive :p

HappyFiFi,
Sorry to hear that Aidan had to be hospitalised in HK, Hope he is better liao.

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Lunch Date @ Penang Place
01 May 2009 @ 1130 hrs </font></font>
<font size="+1"><blink> ** It’s this Friday !! Yeah !! **</blink></font>

Where : <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Penang Place. </font></font>
6 International Business Park
(off Boon Lay Way)
#01-05 Atrium
Singapore 609918
Tel: 6899-9446

Booking made for <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">40 adults + 20 highchairs</font></font>

Price: <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">S$25.65nett</font></font> per adult , <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">S$15.90nett</font></font> per child (3 – 10 yrs old)
Payment to <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">POSB Saving ACC: 198478512</font></font>, please use SMH Nick name

<font size="+1"><u>Mummy &amp; Kid Confirm (S$25.65) </u></font>
1) Sugar Nut + 1 kid ---- <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">PAID</font></font>
2) Ariajo + 1 kid
3) Chersam + 1 kid
4) Jas + 2 kids

<font size="+1"><u>Mummy, Daddy &amp; Kid Confirm (S$51.30) </u></font>
1) Tiffy + HB + 1 kid ---- <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">PAID</font></font>
2) Junnie + HB + 2 kids ---- <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">PAID S$67.20</font></font>
3) Ponponta + HB + 1 kid ---- <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">PAID</font></font>
4) Hippo + HB + 1kid ---- <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">PAID</font></font>
5) Jovialz + HB + 1 kid ---- <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">PAID</font></font>
6) Unice + HB + 1 kid ---- <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">PAID</font></font>
7) Zhen Zhen + HB + 1 kid ---- <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">PAID</font></font>
8) Chintz + HB + 1 kid
9) Totoro + HB + 1 kid
10) Gingerleaf + HB + 1 kid
11) Twinkle Star + HB + 1 kid
12) BBWow + HB + 1 kid

<font size="+1"><u>Mummy, Dad &amp; Kid all NOT Confirm</u></font>
1) Chris + HB + 1 Kid
2) Totoro_bb + HB + 1 kid
3) ECookie + HB + 1 kid
4) Dodo + HB + 1 kid

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">28 Adults</font></font> &amp; <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">18 Kids</font></font> Confirmed, 8 Adults &amp; 4 Kids Not Confirm

hippo,
yaloh..i want the SPF thingy and also to control oil. but actually now, my skin oilyness is under control, usually so during pregnancy..haha...getting BB cream is more to use it as foundation and shielding from sun..hehe...

I wonder should we call the restaurant to 'revise' the booking since we'd booked for 40 adult but we only got 28 confirmed ?

Zhen Zhen,
I remembered last time you'd brought Hannah to St James Church swimming right ? It is swimming lessons ? Where can I find out more, my friend is interested to bring his 6th month old for swimming in heated pool.

Hi Jovialz
Just a quick note before I go off. Please count me in as confirmed. I'll make the transfer tomorrow. Can't wait to meet the rest of the mummies and babies after soooo long.

totoro.. yeah!!!! can see kelly le!!!!

chintz... oic... now i knw wat's tsk tsk tsk liao..... huh.. the nurse @ ur polyclinic so fierce one arrr??? *shake head*.... poor mummy infront of u tat day....

hippo.. oh dear, adri so 'violent' arh?? wat u do to her?? may b she thot tat's another way of 'playing' w u?? cos lance also like to beat ppl's face, he thot playing, sometime so painful, warn him he dun understand, now we let him try himself by doing the same thing to him, then he stops. haha..

okie, mummies, hv a great evening, me going home le..

totoro_bb,
ok

Ariajo,
My hubby says "should be no problem, can't expect a pregnant lady with a kid to go on her own
". I'll SMS you again on Thursday to arrange.

Gingerleaf,
You'd been to penang place right ? Any idea where can we park ?

Chintz, I'm looking forward to my "honeymoon" period too.

Hapififi, glad to hear that aidan is recovering. Re aidan’s fussiness with food, I have a friend who’s a speech/oral therapist, and she mentioned that a reason why some kids are fussy is because they have sensitive mouths. You might want to bring aidan to a therapist to check. If it’s really the case, then there are exercises that can be done to “de-sensitize” the mouth. If you’re interested, I could find out more for you.

Karrie, high-5! That’s why I’m interested in sending Hannah to classes conducted in mandarin, as all her caregivers speak to her purely in English. Hannah is at the Evans Road branch. She’s in the mandarin play nest program, but she’ll be graduating to mandarin play club as she’s 18mths now.

Jovial, the swimming lesson is under aquaducks. They have free trial, so can ask your friend to go for one first, and see if he likes it. http://www.aquaducks.com.sg/.

Re: gathering
There is ample underground parking at the building itself. So shouldn’t be a problem. 

Re: childcare subsidy
Do you know if PTWM is entitled to the full subsidy? Or classified under “non-working” mom?

im back! the weather is horrible!!! i keep drinking cold drinks non-stop! :p

had gynae visits today wi my gynae and dr paul tseng.. bb's head circumference is indeed 34cm, and there's umbilical cord ard bb's neck but he said that it's common and the cord is not tightly ard... got a feeling that both gynae are okay to let me try natural delivery but asked me not to pin high hope... so now im still considering whether to opt for c-section or not.. considering all the bb factors and the uncertainty of hubby may not be ard when i deliver.. really shang nao jing now..

we took a 3D pic of bb, he looked v chubby and nose v big!

hapififi,

relieved to hear that aidan is recovering... must be very worrying for u &amp; family.. hubby gonna outstation to HK again? if so, maybe ask ur mama to help out u at home.. dun overtired urself.. must have some rest too k... hugs..