(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

hippo,

hahah...the way you say it so comical. but then how, our bottles then maybe not made of high grade plastic leh? hence not much chemical content?

I know Canada totally banned non BPA-free bottles leh.

Dunno why suddenly like worried about it. and I haven't changed the bottles for a LOOOOONG time

dodo,
dun worry abt ZQ not knowing how to suck. I Don't know how Aria managed to learn it but somehow she did. So it's just a matter of time dear. Every baby learning curve is different. Like aria still cannot walk. Crawl only when she's hitting 11 months but linguistic wise,she's quite fast. Can say quite a number of words already. She can even say "bow bui" (cantonese). Mandarin is "bao bei".

Ponponta,
i started aria with pigeon straw too. At first, she can't control and will keep sucking big gulp and the water will dribble out or she got choke. So, my PIL will always hold the bottle and let her take 1 sip at a time and remove the bottle promptly when they notice she suck too much/too long. Slowly she learn to control the amount to suck and will know when to let go. Now I let her hold the bottle by herself when sipping water. Occasionally she still choke but she's much better than when she just started. So, may be you want to try that.

dodo: U dun like your Avent Uno pump ah? I love mine so much leh!!! Though it's single pump but I find it good in simulating my let down. Troublesome for single pump is tat while expressin 1 side, the other side leak lor. wahahaha.

Re: Avent bottles
I'm also still using. Agreed with Hippo, those bottles used during our times also not of any good quality. keke

hippo,
i check! faintz...really 1K!! my god, was still thinking to engage him if i have a second baby..haha.. aiyoh..so ex..will really have to think twice!

hippo/bbwow,
please change your bottles lah. should change the avent bottles every 3 months lor cos that's the advise from avent right? Under high temperature, the BPA will leak out from plastic bottles and this chemical has been tested to cause cancer in mice. There must be a reason why avent ask consumer to change the bottles every 3 months. I think it's not really to earn more but for health purpose? Cos they might not be able to guarantee that the chemical might not leak out from the bottle after 3 months?? Anyway, just my own opinion and thinking only lah...

Aria Jo: I know for the teats must be replaced every 3 mths but not sure how often to change for the bottle. Also 3 mths ah? Any idea if using those BPA-free bottles, how often need to change bottle?

bbwow, change the bottles! i mean dun have to change brands but must change bottles occasionally esp if we "scrub" the insides of the bottles... =)

chersam, keke...

aria, aria is so cute! "bow-bui" referring to herself right? keke
dun worie gal! i change my bottles every 2 - 3 months or once i realise the insides are scratchy.. cos my mummy & i m worried abt the disintegration of the plastic in the bottles.. just dat i m telling bbwow no need to change brands to BPA-free ones nia... keke..

chersam, anytime u see lotsa scratches on the bottles or every 2-3 months cos otherwise the bottles will slowly disintegrate... thus must change and do not need to use all ur might to scrub the insides of the bottles one.. it is not making the bottle any cleaner. on the contrary, it will only cause the bottle to "die" faster.. keke.

EEEKKSSS! I better go change today! I just buy new bottles but old ones and new ones we just mix together so the usage is rotated.

mummies: any idea where to get avent bottles without the teat 1? they always come with 2 new teat 1! and we dun need that now right?

ponponta: PM u liao. yup its easy to use!

hippo,
yes, exactly.. the scratches will weakened the plastic components in the bottle and the BPA might be easily leak out. So better play safe

haha...yeah, i will occasionally called her "bow bui" and she will copycat and say "bow bui"

chersam,
no idea leh cos i'm not using BPA free bottles but pigeon glass bottles! hehe... glass bottles no need to change woh..hehe...

aria, keke.. my mum is more worried abt such stuff than me so i dun hv to remind her she also will change.. =)
so sweet.. "bow-bui"... suits aria so much lor cos she's so sweet-looking! orh... my family calls adri "sweetheart".. i call her "shit-heart" or "si-hung" (in canto).. LOL..

ecookie, i dunno also leh.. bo bian i buy those bottles and cut the teats... sianz..

ecookie,

if you're getting the bigger bottles, it comes in no. 2 teats. unless you're getting small bottles then it'll come with no. 1 teat. don't think they sell w/o teats. I'm also left with ALOT of unused teats

dodo,
i was also using Medela PIS Advanced (The Limited Metro Bag Edition) & I paid $699 for it at promotional price! So AUD300 is a super great deal esp when the exchange rate is in our favour now :) Go for it! It's really good...although towards the end of my usage, the pump got a bit problematic & I had to send for repairs. The shop lent me a Medela PIS Original & I felt that the difference was quite big. Letdown wasn't as good as the Advanced one & there wasn't a button to control initial letdown so quite painful. Better ask your sis to double check if the AUD300 one is Original or Advanced.
I know that Medela recently came out with a newer model - Freestyle. Very lightweight & handsfree. Great for working mums who need to express but the price also very ex. I think around $800-$900. http://www.medelafreestyle.com/

hippo: we usually wash the inner bottle using soft sponge, i guess not much scatches ba. Anyway bottles have been use for quite some time liao, i better change it away. Luckily I have spare new bottles.

aria jo: my mum also encourage using glass bottles. But wat's the tendency to break it har? My chor lor gal likes to throw her bottle wan leh.

aria, ya! as in loo.. HOHOHOHO! ey.. she responds one leh! she's so going to hate me in future.. my mum keeps telling me dun call her dat but recently she kena influenced by me liao.. from "sweetheart" become "shit-heart" esp if she's angry with adri.. LOL

chersam,
well, got to supervised her when drinking. i will sit beside her until she finish drinking lor.. she will then pass me the bottle.. cannot leave her drinking by herself lah..so far, break 1 bottle cos my mil give her the bottle to finish the milk, she flung her hand and knock it off from my mil's hand.

hippo,
wahaha....you ah...

<font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">any mummies interested in trial class at GUG? i have checked and they gave me a date on 23/11/08 (Sunday) 2pm - 3.30pm for 10 - 12 babies @ $50 per child per trial class. please indicate your interest below. located at united square http://www.gugifted.com/main.htm </font></font>

1. hippo (Cherie) + Adrienne Wee (d.o.b. 08/10/07)

Thanks!! =D

chersam, sorie! just added in the header.. keke.. located at united square and this trial is only for us OCT07 mummies.. keke...

interested. i just put my name first and talk to hubby..keke..

1. hippo (Cherie) + Adrienne Wee (DOB 08/10/20007)
2. ariajo (marilyn) + Aria Ng (DOB 19/10/2007)

hi mummies, must change bottles ah? uh oh...i never change at all leh....

yesterday poor matty was walking and he fell forward and hit his face on the corner of our dining chair. Now got a orh cheh and baluku on his forehead (still a bit swollen) and his lip has a small cut. I feel so guilty coz he fell RIGHT IN FRONT of me!!!! but my reaction so slow not in time to catch him
am a bit worried coz it was quite a hard blow to his head...hope he is fine...today can't be at home to monitor him also.

hippo!!!

such coincidence!!! I booked a trial class for J this Sun! Same price also leh. hehe...very excited to go class now.

I'm interested in the trial too :)
thanks to hippo for organizing!

3. hapi fifi + Aidan Lee (DOB 21/10/2007)

karrie, keke.. go change already ya! =)
oh my.. poor matty! dun blame urself gal! u r preggers leh.. it would have been dangerous for u to just grab matty like dat too... monitor him k? they are stronger than we wld like to tink..

chersam, actuali min is 10! max is 12 so might as well lor..

aria, not exactly interested in JG leh.. cos adri in gymboree already got the play component plus no weekend playnest!.. so was tinking i wana try something else.. call them &amp; ask gal! =D

am helping a fren urgently looking for a babysitter at Yishun area, preferably the nanny’s place nearby Blk 400+. Of cos, other yishun area is welcome too.

Prefer English or Mandarin speaking babysitter. Need the babysitter to commence on 1st week of Dec, Mon to Fri only. No overnight, my fren will bring her bb back every evening. Bb will start solid in Dec.

I will not follow this thread so pls pm me the details. Really appreciate! =)

bbwow, so "qiao"!! join us for another trial too!! cos ours only have the oct mummies ma.. c'mon gal.. keke...

chintz, itz never too late!! dun feel bad silly!

Ok, I also put in my name 1st, later then discuss wif hb. Thanks hippo!

4. chersam (Cheryl) + Cherie Neo (DOB 23/10/2007)

hippo,

very tempting leh...but I was thinking if J is interested in the class then I'll join the term liao. then abit waste money to join trial again. kekeke...but I can meet you guys after the trial!

ya. I have been looking around for some edu classes coupled by play. so have some learning and play involved.

another one is busy buddies at Great World. But I heard more reviews on GUG.

bbwow, onz la! cya after the class!
i am also tinking if i m interested in the class how leh.. cos adri still got another term at gymboree and most likely i will let her continue even after dat.. i m worried i will tire her and myself out with all these.. lucky thing is gymboree is more on play &amp; physical development! phew..

<font color="aa00aa">Dodo,</font>
I also hardly talk to Caelen when he is in my tummy
Anyway, Baby will always hear your voice whenever you talks, no matter who you are talking to. Don't be too hard on yourself.

<font color="ff0000">BBWow,</font>
I can only remember Ikea tree is something like $45 for the smallest at 1.6m without the pot.

Btw, I'm still using Avent. Thou thinking of whether to buy the BPA Free Avent from Amazon. it's US$18.99 for 2 9oz bottles since also time to change liao. Want to buy together ? Since you stay near me

Got FREE No. 2 teat for me ?? .... heeheheh... Caelen still prefer No.2 leh ... refuse to change up.

<font color="0000ff">Ponponta,</font>
Can show your mummy this forum thread ... then she'll know it's normal liao .. kekeke...

<font color="119911">Hippo,</font>
Caelen Hi 5 to Adri !!!
hehehee.... my mum also worry ... I somemore can joke say he natural for gymnastic ... maybe next time can go olympic ...hahahaha...
only my dad blur blur ..help him to complete the somersault somemore ..then claim that it must be me who teach him ....

What is GUG huh ?

We also call Caelen, *Chou4 Chou4* <-Smelly ... even before he is born ... kekekeke...

<font color="ff6000">ECookie,</font>
Don't think the big bottles comes without the teats. Guess Avent thought we might change bottle and teats at the same time. Only the smallest comes with sealing disk.

<font color="aa00aa">Karrie,</font>
Dear dear Matty. *Sayang* Orh cheh / baluku ....

5. jas + Dayan Tok (dob 12/10/08)

jovialz, GUG is "growing up gifted".. =D
hahaha! ur dad is very cool leh.. tink i wld hv fainted.. LOL

avent bottles: guess i ve no choice but to buy and mayb cut the small teats so yz can use too.
i feel bad too! think we ve been using same bottles for almost half a year! *gulp*

karrie: poor matty, hope the or cheh qucikly fade off. dun feel bad abt yrself, ya? cos ur preggy mah, v dangerous to make a dash for him too..

classes: so far i never sign yz up for any classes yet leh,. he hasnt been to gymboree or gogo bambini! wat a suaku baby. but bo bian, our weekends are quite packed recently. maybe will bring him go gymboree see see 1st. let him play more then if he keen mayb can expand to classes that involve learning one.

any mummies interested in trial class at GUG? i have checked and they gave me a date on 23/11/08 (Sunday) 2pm - 3.30pm for 10 - 12 babies @ $50 per child per trial class. please indicate your interest below. located at united square http://www.gugifted.com/main.htm

6. Jovialz (Esther) + Caelen Javier Lim (DOB 25/08/2007)

Thanks!! =D

6. Jovialz (Esther) + Caelen Javier Lim (DOB 25/08/2007)
7. gingerleaf (alice) + Aralyn (dob 1/10/08)
8. doobom (jessie) + jerry chew (dob 20/09/07)