(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

ecookie,
for discipline, now me and hubs only talk to her in stern voice and straight face, she scared liao. but the next minute she forget everything and do again one. hiazzz. how arrr?

she also start to imitate us adults, can say "no,no,no,no,no" and shake her head. but dunt think she understand the meaning.

ecookie
I think I posted some stuff on this last week.
It mentioned that our age babies still cannot associate pain with doing things wrongly! So no point hitting them. But like you, sometimes I was slap her buttock when she cannot keep still low but I constantly remind myself not to do that and have to control myself.

Just yesterday afternoon, she made quite a scene outside Daiso. Keep crying, tilting her body when I carried her or insisting on crawling on the floor. I was like super stress and don't know what to do loh! Felt so helpless and keep thinking why is she behaving like that - like so spoilt and naughty loh! She can really throw her temper when she is not happy.

eccokie,

Just my thought, dun be offeneded ok?

Try not to slap them, they will be immume to it v fast.. End up you may resort to Cane v soon. Kids r v clever and they will interprete as it is OK for me to slap others if they do domething that im unhappy abt.

Try to talk... talk.. talk..

My standard statement to brig - " Mummy know the switch is interesting, but you must learn how to take care of yourself. It is dangerous"

If no response, shorten the sentence to - ' Away from the SWITCH NOW'

If still no response - Carry him away from the switch area and occuped him with other things

It take a long long time for kids to get the msg. But just keep trying. They will understand.

They are more mobile now, so everything attracts them. I will not stop brig from opening drawers in the kitchen. But i only allow him to open certain drawers tt i put plastic stuff inside. And he has to pack everything after playing... after awhilw, he will stop opening up cos is so tiring to pack up....

We used this method at my MIL place too. He like to pull out all the newspapers. My MIL get him to pack everythin one by one... and he stop doing that immediately.. haha

chris: sigh. i know too. but i can get impatient and cos when i young i kena beating from my parents too so sometimes i ll hit him abit too fast, that i admit. look like i ve to try to control temper. and try talking reason to him...

ecookie,

dun worry, u will be able to do it. Im v impatient too. Im not againsr smacking but my hubby is 100% against. He really into reasoning with kids. He will goand read up books on coomunicating with bbies and children etc.. he taught me all these...

ecookie,

I think I'm the most hard-hearted mummy here. I will beat his hands and smack his mouth whenever he try to scream with no reason. like sudden outburst and his voice is really very loud! many times ppl kept looking at us and thought why is he screaming like we're abusing him but we really dunno what's the reason for his outburst!

well, apparently pain doesn't work for him cause the more we discipline him, the more rebellious he become! he goes around the house touch sockets, bring out the pots and pans, bang things. last time he fall down he will cry but now whenever he fall, he will cry angrily and then start hitting the floor! and when I ask him what happened, he will take my hand and hit the floor too! like very angry the floor made him fall la.

re: yougurt
tried giving J the fruit yougurt but he'll still shiver like the yougurt is very very sour. then he wouldn't want it liao. any more ways to engage them to take yougurt?

wow chris,

very interesting method you've shared. maybe I'll try it on J too. I thought imposing discipline early will be good cause we tried to talk to him but he wouldn't listen. haiyoh..."shang nau jing!"

bbwow,

my hb and i went to a talk on communicating with yr child (is by a taiwanese). is v informative.

Soethin to share but the presenter,

Dun beat the floor or the chair etc when the bb fell down cos of it, bb will interprete that it is not his fault, is others fault.. they may grow up to be irresponsible and push the blames to others.

Tell them :- Mummy undrstand is painful. We are sorry abt it. Pl take care of yr own body and be more careful.

chris,

wow, that makes sense, but the strange thing is i find it quite common to see parents blaming/beat the object to pacify the crying child.

eccokie, i've started to discipline hannah already. usually, i will speak to her very sternly if she's doing something wrong. now, if she sees me looking at her sternly and calling her by her full name, she will stop whatever she is doing. i sometimes smack her when it's dangerous and i want to get her attention immediately, like when she tries to climb out of her high chair or when she plays with wires and stuff. i think we're all learning here... have no idea which way is the right way...

bbwow, maybe you can try giving the yoghurt as a bread spread? i never have to do that though, cos hannah loves yoghurt.

bbwow, u r not the only 1... keke.. i hv mentioned b4 dat i can't bear to whack adri one.. cos she's like my playmate (erm.. realise i dun say i'm her playmate? my fren said i m hopeless and m taking adri as my playmate.. hahaha!).. however, i will not tolerate some behaviour and i smack her too... if not me, then my mum, grandma or hubby will do it...

as i have always said, my parenting belief is "spare the rod & spoil the child".. but of cos diff parents are bound to have diff ideas.. keke.. itz okie! as long as the child learns the right things.. =) adri is like J.. she will hit the floor and the headboard of the bed if she knocks her head.. there was once she hit herself on the headboard of the bed.. she waited for every single family member to come home for dinner at my mum's place and she will point to the bedroom to every single one of us.. then when we bring her in there, she starts to pat her head and whack the headboard!! hahahaha... this happened quite a few times.. even to the floor! LOL... however, we draw the line at hitting pple.. i know itz not healthy but itz a way to comfort the little one...

so i believe they know and they understand things one.. just that they are incapable of expressing themselves too well... =) at least she will listen if we raise our voice at her and talk to her sternly... then she will act blur and do other things... she might try her trick again once she senses that the gunpowder aint so strong but we will just repeat ourselves lor...

chris, adri is an early bird leh! she wakes up at 6am+.. even now she's attending the 9.30am class on sunday just dat i find the class getting too packed la.. though abt 11 students la.. but only 1 parent at a time.. sianz lor...

zhen zhen, i tink it will work leh! but hor, datz y mothers are always deemed to be "naggy".. cos for reasoning to work, we have to be broken recorders!! esp at this age.. ha! else they wun understand us wor... or at least their brains wun register wor... cognitive learning? hahaha

chris.. sorry huh.. last question : where u get ur 7 color beans? your discipline method sounds cute & reasonable! keke.. cute = got 3 version (long, short, bring him away), reasonable = beat too much they bcom immune & cane is last resort - tat's v true!

wah i must learn to be patient. cos sometimes in the car, baby yz will start screaming non stop like he doesnt want to sit in the car seat and want to be carried by me. then will get frustrated and start picnching my face! then i ll get frustrated and after telling no sternly to no avail , i will hit his hands and he ll cry v pitifully. then i also at a loss. sigh. i dun want to give pacifier to calm him (though i know it will) cos i want to wean him off that too.

hippo. adri darn cute leh! hehe

reasoning/beating the child:
i try my very best to reason with chloe.. but at times really buay tahan her.. and *piak piak*.. me heartpain to beat her though

these days she's rejecting water.. i got really tired, i told her, "ok, i'll put the bottle here, u just drink it whenever u want to ok?" then the next moment she grab the water bottle and drink liao.. so, have to play along with her rebel too!

chris,

that's a very interesting statement! and very true indeed.

zhen zhen, chris,
thanks for sharing on the yougurt spread. I'll try on the toast first. hehe.

hippo,
I think our kids got our genes. We're stern but our kids are no pushovers too. hahaha

ecookie,
me too lor. sometimes I just resort to pacifier.

any mummies successfully wean off the pacifier already?

so coincidental. i was just having this conversation with my hubby over the weekend, about how we should discipline hannah. but i don't think i have the patience to reason with her at the moment. :p

chintz,
myra also dont like water. she always drinks and let it dribble. so irritating.

myra is still with her pacifier. i more i take it away from her, the more she wants to suck it. hiazzz.

yah, any mummies successfully wean off the pacifier?

bbwow, i still use pacifier every now and then. i think as long as they are not "addicted" to the pacifier, it should be ok. for example, hannah will happily take the pacifier out of her mouth when we ask her for it. so i decided not to deprieve her totally of her pacifier.

madlynette,

like the more we try to take out, the more they suck on it hor! and they can suck so hard you can't remove it! quite funny to see it tho. hehe

bbwow, hahaha! so true... she's definitely got my stubborn & rebellious streak!

re: pacifier.. like zhen zhen, i dun tink i will wean her off so soon cos she's not reliant on it at the moment... she only takes it when she's sleepy.. and she will take it out if she's not sleeping or when she's awake... and i seriously dunno how to wean leh! tis girl can take spicy stuff lor! *faintz*

chintz, she's plain notti and a bully ah! haha..

zhen zhen,

unfortunately for my boy, he's like a drug addict to it. when he needs the pacifier, he will look around frantically for it then when he found it, he will sound like breathless and then once suck on the pacifier, PURE JOY.

bbwow: haha J addicted to pacifier! baby yz needs it only for sleeping so i not weaning him soon. come night time when he sees it , will start shouting for people to remove the cover! but at morning when he wakes up and when i said "pui pui" , he will spit it out onto my palm. ha

bbwoes,
L goes to Shichida n some of the babies here attend Trio. SM uses right brain training n Trio uses left n right brain training. They use flashcards(mainly) n different games in class.

Noon mUmmies...

hippo, bbwow, zhen_zhen, ecookie,
Yes, the impatient me has since started disciplining Jerry whenever he does wrong things/acts. Sometimes to extend whereby I raise my voice, he pause n look @ me. But try it after I am not looking. I did resort to cane as I hold his hand and show the 'beating' action. His eyes blink blink as the cane flips. Then when I let go of this hand, he will sit down n look @ me as I nag n nag telling him stories about his wrong acts lor. I oso question him if he wants me to 'cane cane' him, sometimes he will shake his head. OMG, I try all ways to control blasting out my laughter (Got to go n hide in one corner to laugh it out aft that). Unless he is too much, then I will cane his palms as I hold it. He is kinda of thick-skinned since young, so he cries to my scolding, not abt the pain. Thatz from my observation. Cane is normally my last resort.

Haiz... What can we do? The power of the nutrients in the milk formula lor...

I do used some of the stuff that he is scared of, such as 'Monster' when he does something wrong. I will tell him that the Monster is coming, or the Monster is going to bite him. This helps @ times too.

All these different approaches depends on his curiousity level of the acts he is trying to do. If this dun works, I try out another.

So long disciplinary actions taken are deemed ok as per individual perspective, I think itz ok. Different parents have different way of disciplining the kids, so long not to extend of child abuse. Anyway, we are just having the kind intentions hoping our kids behave and be gd boy/gal.

Let's try harder. Yeah!!!

bbwow,
I find it ok with pacifiers too. Jerry takes it only before he goes to sleep. Once he falls into deep sleep, the pacifier will pop out on itz own. Hee...

doobom, hahaha!! i like the way u put it.. so funny lor.. u & ur "Monster".. haha...
ya, i agree that itz all personal perspectives and styles as long as the child grows up to be a good person!

bbwow,
wow your boy really loves his pacifier, myra must take it when she wants to sleep or else will cry. nowadays i try not to let her have the pacifier during the day. so far ok but at times she get really fussy the only thing that helps is the pacifier.

doobom: haha monster come n get jerry! that time garang guni come by and i told him "come n catch you" cos he v notti as usual. then he blur blur look at me,. think he just associate my evil tone with the toot toot from garang guni. but he also not scared leh..

hihi mummies!

just a glance thru the posts... been so tired recently, must be the 1st trim sleepiness...

re nap:
zq naps ard 3 hours a day, then he sleeps from 830pm to 730-8am... nowadays i nap together wi him for all his naps, i notice he will sleep better if i nap wi him...

re cooking porridge:
any mummy can teach me how to cook porridge wi slow cooker? i never cook wi this b4.. going for a short trip this weekend and gonna bring along the slow cooker for his porridge... TIA!

dodo, so sweet! hannah likes sleeping with me too. but she is so violent and noisy in her sleep, that i end up not being able to sleep. fortunately she can sleep in her own room, if not, i will surely have panda eyes.

chris, can use 75g (3 oz) of blueberries to 2 tablespons of water. basically the blueberries should not be like "swimming" in the water. the water is just to moisten the mixture. put both together in the saucepan and cook gently for 2-3 minutes to soften slightly.

if i keep in the fridge, will usually use within 1-2 days. if i freeze it, i'll use it within 2 weeks. dun like to keep too long...

quaker oats must cook...? arrr i dun think my maid has time to cook leh. matty is such a handful nowadays.

re: disciplining
have not resorted to smacking yet. like some mummies heresaid , right now our babies can't associate the pain as a consequence of doing wrong. so no point in my opinion...i just tell him sternly "No" and carry him away n distract him...

oh yah chris, no need sugar or salt for the blueberry jam. the fruits themselves are sweet nuff.
must confess that i do it coz i love blueberry jam myself hahaha.

phew.. so many posts...

zhen zhen, thanks! CIO doesn't work on me, his grandparents and aunts will come to his rescue.. sigh!!

disciplining, i also smack anders on his hand when he does not listen..

chris, your method sound very interesting, will try it the next time...

weaning off pacifiers, he is still on pacifier and no intention of weaning him off as he used it only for sleeping.. =P

karrie, i thot blueberries are rather sour? or maybe it's just me. haha

ponponta, ya. definitely cannot use CIO if you're staying with other people. they sure cannot tahan one. you must chase them away if you intend to try CIO.

zhen zhen, yah some are sour...but somehow i've had luck with those from the supermarkets..they are sweet! :D

then i definitely cannot use CIO liao. my maid and in laws cannot take it...

CM,
Oh dear, Hope Carlson is feeling better. It might be a good idea to go hospital, not so taxing on you and your helper.

Gingerleaf,
sigh ... last time uy the microwave ..still very ambitious. Promise hubby buy so ex ($1 short of $1000) sure will use to bake ..lucky he forget te promise liao... kekekeke....
Ponponta,
the accident seem bad, lucky you are not injure.

re: Feeding,
wow.... makes me hungry despite i'd just had my dinner .. yum yum

Caelen mainly feed on milk, cereal and porridge. But he gets to try outside food as long as it's not too oily or salty.

totoro_bb,
Heng kelly not injure, She must e pretending it's camping.

Ecookie,
I same as Zhen Zhen. 1st is Talk, 2nd is stern warning, then slap on the hand or thigh. Normally, I only need to reach stage 2.

As for the car seat, could you be a bit ambitious trying to achieve 2 things at the same time (sitting alone and wean on pacifier) ? Maybe try one thing 1st? May I ask, you used to carry him while travelling in the car ?

dodo,
For slow cooker, you need to try and error the correct amount of water required and the ideal timing ? cos either factor can make the porridge too watery or 'gluey'.

junnie,

any organic shop will have. U want me to buy for you? I can pass to you if it is not urgent. IT selling at Brown Rice Paradise at Tanglin Mall where Gymboree is.

eccokie,

brig has the same problem recently. It seems to be worse when we are going out as a family w me and my hb sitting infront. If i drov w him alone, he is much better.

Can try to inform him before u reach the car. I will tell him that we ar reaching the car soon and he has to be in his car seat for safety... Well, depend on his mood, sometime it work..

So mummy has to nag nag nag