(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

chris
can your gal chew yet? coz i give my boy rice when we eat together and he's ok with it. but i dunno if rice with soup he can chew and swallow or will he choke. coz if porridge have some slightly bigger pieces of carrots,etc, he dun chew, just swallow which makes him choke and vomit out instead...

zhen_zhen
i do give him pasta on alternate days. but again, the pasta has to be slightly mashed coz he doesn't really chew leh... sighz!

i also give my boy cheerios/gerber stars/rice/etc while we are eating. put it on his tray to let him grab and munch on them so that we can also eat in peace! he everything all eat, so scary! :D

dodo,
u're lucky that your ZQ dun eat put everything into his mouth. its v.dangerous. my boy puts everything into his mouth, so have to watch carefully the place that i put him to play doesn't have small items. but books he can chew until small bits drop off if i'm not fast enough to stop him. scold him but he just cry and then crawl away. ah yoh...

chersam/ecookie
haha... i was actually v.tempted to sigh him up for the Julia Gabriel holiday program. but v.ex lor and a colleague advised me that at this age, he's too young to really appreciate what is taught, its more the parents n listening and learning while the babies just crawl around or worst case - bawl their eyes out.

not to say that all babies won't learn but her viewpoint was that, i should see the need of my boy, if he's not ready, dun push him unnecessarily. let him learn at his own pace.

ecookie
u really gonna put ur YZ in chilcare when he turns 18 mths? i'm still hesitant coz my place dun have a really gd one though their rates are cheap. there's a cherie hearts one but its pretty ex coz its in a bungalow, so price range around $600+ per month after subsidy. big headache!

CM
oh dear.. so sorry to hear that your Carlson's not well. do quickly bring him to PD, see what can be done to ease him.

re: lunch meetup
my school far from town, dun think i can rush back in time to pick up my boy n meet you mummies. :D

dreamz,

brig can chew. He has ben eating rice since 8 mths. Try to stem and cook longer if you are worried. U may be surprised tt they can use thier gum to chew. They will need some tries before they get a hand of how to chew bigger pcs of food, is good for their oral motor skill development. Try to cook softer carrots in big pcs and get him to self feed...

Dodo, Jovialz,

Thank you so much for the advise.

Do you think baby will not have the appetiate upon waking up? Bcos I will wait at least 1 hr after he wake up from his sleep so that he will eat more.

Jovialz,

My baby last time used to sleep only 1/2 hr at each nap. This is because he couldn't get back to sleep after he passed the 1st cycle of sleep. So I on the radio and tuned to the static sounds (Whiet noise) and it did helps him sleep longer. Mayb you can try. :)

Can share with me what formula are you feeling yr little darlings?

I'm still giving her the enfalac step 1 .Think it's time to change.

CM
It's must be really painful for Carlson , hope he'll get well soon . Take care of yrself too .

hi mummies, finally anders' party is over...

wat a tiring weekend...took 1/2 day on friday to prepare for the party.. on the way to tembling center to collect complimentary ticket for parking, met with car accident and the whole car front was damaged.. could not move at all!! argh.. so suay..worse still, we were so busy that we did not exchange for the complimentary ticket... faint...

party was on sat.. wow, that was a great turnout, cake was nice and yummy (love the lychee martini), BBQ food was good.. but no enough pple to help bbq, decor was nice!

<font color="ff0000">thanks to totoro and hb for doing up the decor.. =)</font>

my friends and relatives all love it, so i gave the website to them.. =P

almost missed out..

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">happy belated birthday to sherry....</font></font>

enjoy your weekend and holidays, mummies!!!

hi mummies:

CM: poorl C, ulcers are the worst.. no wonder he got no appetite. hope they will heal soon. will pray hard for his speedy recovery.

dreamz: yah definitely going to put yz in childcare,. but will be on part time programme (ie 3 days a week) then my mum the other 2 days. i cant stand MIL liao. even only for the 3 days she is taking care/ somemore she stays over 2 nights for a week leh! just on friday night, had a tiff with hb over MIL again. n we both agreed better lesser contact w her for me, if not i get too resentful!

baby yz party today at our hse is just short n nice!

the cake from PG is nice, esp the blackforest (we got 2 tiers - lychee martini &amp; blackforest) and the agar agar from mrs chan was a hit! all wiped out! heh.

catering food was ard 90% finished. lucky cos dun like wastage..

baby yz got v few pressies like 4 only and the rest ang baos haha. he seems to know he s the star and was smiley for most of the time. but when everyone sings happy bday to him, his initial reaction was want to cry! ha then after that smile... heh.

Wow... almost missed the gathering!
X'mas Gathering
1. hippo (6/7th dec)
2. gingerleaf
3. chersam
4. ponponta (6th dec)
5. jas
6. ariajo
7. ecookie
8. junnie (tbc)
9. dodo
10.Twinkle_stars
11. Hapi Fifi
12. Tiffany Seah
13. Tiffy
14. ueno
15. Chris
16. CM (TBC)
17. Totoro_bb
18. jacq
19. Jovialz (can't make it on 20th Dec <- my mum's BD + Christmas Celebration)
20. Chintz
21. sugar_nut
22. sylvia
23. bbwow (prefer weekends)
24. zhen_zhen
25. annie
26. doobom (06Dec)
27. eil (6Dec)

zhenzhen... "clap clap" your cupcakes look yummy.. next time can bake for our Oct mummies gathering...

CM... Carlson has been strong all these while and he will continue to be strong and very soon he will recover. It's ok if he cant eat much, he just needs lots of your TLC...

Jovialz.. I was scanning thru all the post when I saw the "We are Pregnant again" and saw my name there, scare me leh. I was actually staring at the chart for a quite awhile before I saw your 2nd post... hahaha... Congratulation to all expectant mummies again!!!

Quick Update!
I declare Jae is officially walking! It was until when she wore her cousin "peep" peep" sound shoe, only then she gain the confident to walk without falling down! Now she wants to wear that shoe whenever she goes out!

Twinkle star,
Sherry really appear on Mother &amp; Baby mag? Which issue is it? October or November? I didn't buy the magazine for october.

Jas,
i also never sent Sherry for any enrichment class yet.

chris
i tried to give him bigger carrots/veg in his porridge but he doesn't chew, just swallow and chew. mayb i should try to give him a bigger piece to hold and learn how to chew.... thanks for the advice.

ecookie
you found a childcare centre for YZ already? yah, i also emphasized to my hubby, minimal contact as far as possible to minimize the conflict. the best part was when we were at the peak of the conflict, she even got us marriage counselling info and told us to go for that. i told my hubby tat she's the source of our quarrel so she needs counselling, not us. :D

so thankful that the year's coming to an end, so dun have to stay back at work that long, can come back earlier if i like.

happy to hear that your b'day bash for YZ went well. mayb i should try ordering from PG next year, for a change, since there's been rave reviews about them here! :D

eil
hooray for your clever Jae! she can finally walk and is now a toddler.

CM, oh dear! really hope the doctors can decide what to do to solve Carlson's reflux problem..

just need your mummies' advice here...havin trouble with my boy's afternoon naps. he refusing to nap anywhere else except on his baby rocker--which he is getting too heavy for!! tried putting him in the playpen downstairs, and his cot upstairs, but he always ends up either standing up and playing in them or bawling his eyes out. I tried Tracy Hogg's PU/PD method but my tummy started cramping think from all the carrying and bending over and standing back up. my boy is really heavy. but cannot ask my helper to do it. she gives in whenever he cries. DUNNO HOW!!! arrrggghhhh...

feeling frustrated coz we actually trained him to nap in the playpen as a newborn. but my maid/in laws (cannot rem who started it) started using the rocker to make him sleep and he never wanted to go back to the old method after that. Undo my 3 months' of hard work trying to establish good sleeping habits...

sorry for ranting. i just feel helpless loh. but what to do. day time not at home to look after the baby. so have to pick up the pieces from other people's 'accidental parenting'.

cm.. hope carlson is doing well...

ponponta..then today u must hv a good rest after the party!! lucky no injuries during the car accident, must b chaotic w tat happened &amp; rushing to organise party.. nvm, is all over liao..

ecookie.. yz must b hving good dream the min. u kiss him happy bd =) glad his bd party went on smoothly too...

eil... so 'peep peep' shoe can motivate bb to walk faster?? wow!!! *clap clap* jae 'upgraded' to walking list le!

twinkelstar..re FM recently we jus switched to mamilgold step3.

ahg...mine also hv no prblm w feeding once wake up, tink u can try adjust lunch/dinner earlier, no need wait exactly 1hr later. interval btw meal shd not b too close, unless bb intake 4 milk/porridge v little each feed.

karrie.. dun carry him or heavy stuff le if u feel cramping... as they grow older, they wont like to nap so much....may b u let him play &amp; 'tire' himself &amp; 'knock off' in the playpen? (my nanny often said i 'mix-up' her timing, cos bb will nap 2x @ her house, but when i take over sat/sun, swing 1hr also dun wanna nap, end up nowsaday i let him play &amp; stay awake as he like until he cannot tahan, he'll make noise then i swing him, v fast he sleeps le)

re: SAHM mommies weekday Lunch meetup
1) Tiffany Seah (Next FRIDAY - 31/10/08-Anytime - Town area)
2) Ueno ( Fri after 2pm)
3) CM but need to send &amp; fetch my gal to school 11.30 - 2.30 ...
4) zhen_zhen
5) hapi fifi
6) karrie (except tue)

karrie
oh dear.. so sorry to hear about your troubles over little matty. can still remember that we were discussing about this PU/PD method back then. perhaps as what junnie says, let him exhaust himself so when he's really tired, he won't be so fussy over where/how he is put to sleep?

my boy nowadays only have 2 naps of 30min or 60min each time. on average, he has naps of 1.5 hr to 2 hr at max. sometimes he sleeps 2 hrs at one go in the morning and his afternoon nap is foregone.

perhaps you can track out how many hours of nap time matty is sleeping? as long as he has sufficient nap time, to cut down on the no. of times he naps should be ok.

junnie
'peep peep' shoe dun work on my boy leh. he 'peep peep' a while in his shoes/slippers, next moment, start to crawl liao. think he figured that crawling gets him to places faster than walking. thus, his fav.mode of movement now is speed crawling! i dunno when he will finally decide that walking can be just as effective! :D

dreamz: yup i ve put baby yz on waiting list at a childcare near my workplace. if nothing goes wrong, should have a place for him next may.

karrie: dun carry matty so much when trying to make him sleep. dun strain urself.. now that you are preggy cant carry too heavy weight things.
nowadays baby yz sleeps for 2-3 naps too, ranging from 30 mins to 1 1/2 hr. ard 2-3 hrs. im not so strict on his sleeping hrs now. so long got > 12hrs im ok.

ecookie
to put my boy for childcare and we have maid somemore is a drain on our finances. that's why i'm dragging my feet over this though i'm gritting my teeth over MIL issues. unless give up maid, but also not easy to handle household chores as a FTWM. same here, as long as my boy has 12 hours nap, he plays well and is active, should be ok.

CM, how's carlson now? did you send him to hospital? have been praying for your family, that God's healing will be on carlson, His protection on carissa, and His strength to be your portion as you cope with the situation. take comfort from this, ok.

dreamz, i make the pasta quite soft, because my girl is still quite bogay. but i have slowly been increasing the size of her food, so that she will learn to gum her food. maybe you try to slowly increase the size?

ahg, i find that my daughter's tummy needs a bit of time to wake up too. usually i will play with her for a little while, before giving her morning feed. guess every baby is different.

twinkle, hannah is taking Nan 3. i've also started her on fresh milk this week.

ponponta, glad no one got hurt in the accident!

ponponta, ecookie, good to hear that your parties went smoothly.

eil, if you and the other mummies don't mind, i can make some for our next gathering.

karrie, have you tried CIO method? but you need to harden your heart for about 1 week though. it's tough if there are other people in the house, cos they will be very tempted to pick matty up. i had to chase everyone out of the house when i was training hannah.

karrie, but i don't force hannah to take her naps at specific times. i just observe when she's sleepy, then i'll put her in her cot. like what dreamz and ecookie mentioned, as long as she gets > 12 hrs, it's good.

dreamz, you can consider getting a PT maid if you decide to put your boy into a childcare center. that should help to reduce your expenses.

Morning ladies~!

Hope ponponta, ecookie and tiffy had enjoyed your 1 yo birthday celebrations!~

cm, how is Carlson now? Hope he recovers soon... poor boy.. lotsa hugs!!

dreamz, zhen's idea to hire a PT maid is worth-considering!

have a great week ahead, mummies :D

morning mummies! today feels like monday to me after the long break!

dreamz: perhaps u want to consider taking a part time maid or domestic helper? for me, cos my hse only got 2 adults + a baby, i find the domestic helper comes once a week to help me vacumn/mop floor, wash toilets, clean table tops and iron clothes is good enuff. our part time auntie will do extra things every time like clean fan, wipe windows etc too. so hb n me just need to vacumn every other day, wash clothes via washing machine, and take care of baby thats all.
for 100+ per mth, i find it cheap.

the childcare that i've put baby yz on waiting list is not exactly cheap too. due to its location, even though its 3 days prog, its ard $700 after subsidy! but bo bian, i need him to be near my workplace and i really have enuff of MIL! :p

morning ladies!

so many posts! didnt have time to read thru all but i saw my name on the pregnant list over the weekend.. my hb almost flipped! hahaha.. he kept asking who's pregnant?? =P

zhen zhen, so sweet of u to bake the cupcakes! they look nice!!

bbwow, u ordered from cupcake divinity also? nice cakes u've got there! scary to imagine the cookie monster's look after 'dissecting' it though.. LOL

CM, poor carlson! one after another.. must be very very uncomfortable... hugs...

dreamz, i second the other mummies' suggestions! a PT maid reali can help out alot without so much of the financial strain!

<font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">x'mas gathering - please indicate the date you are comfortable with.. 6th Dec (Sat) or 7th Dec (Sun).. =P</font></font>
1. hippo (6/7th dec)
2. gingerleaf
3. chersam
4. ponponta (6th dec)
5. jas
6. ariajo
7. ecookie
8. junnie (tbc)
9. dodo
10.Twinkle_stars
11. Hapi Fifi
12. Tiffany Seah
13. Tiffy
14. ueno
15. Chris
16. CM (TBC)
17. Totoro_bb
18. jacq
20. Chintz
21. sugar_nut
22. sylvia
24. zhen_zhen
25. annie
26. doobom (06Dec)
27. eil (6Dec)

x'mas gathering - please indicate the date you are comfortable with.. 6th Dec (Sat) or 7th Dec (Sun).. =P
1. hippo (6/7th dec)
2. gingerleaf
3. chersam
4. ponponta (6th dec)
5. jas
6. ariajo
7. ecookie
8. junnie (tbc)
9. dodo
10.Twinkle_stars
11. Hapi Fifi
12. Tiffany Seah
13. Tiffy
14. ueno
15. Chris
16. CM (TBC)
17. Totoro_bb
18. jacq
20. chintz (6/7th is fine)
21. sugar_nut
22. sylvia
24. zhen_zhen
25. annie
26. doobom (06Dec)
27. eil (6Dec)

1. hippo (6/7th dec)
2. gingerleaf
3. chersam
4. ponponta (6th dec)
5. jas
6. ariajo
7. ecookie (6/7th is fine)
8. junnie (tbc)
9. dodo
10.Twinkle_stars
11. Hapi Fifi
12. Tiffany Seah
13. Tiffy
14. ueno
15. Chris
16. CM (TBC)
17. Totoro_bb
18. jacq
21. sugar_nut
22. sylvia
24. zhen_zhen
25. annie
26. doobom (06Dec)
27. eil (6Dec)

ecookie,

glad that the party went well! today feels like a friday to me. :p

tiffy,
yea I saw sherry's photo on the mag too! so sweet looking!

twinkle stars,
J was on Friso 2 but I've just changed to Gain IQ for him. So far so good but his poo has become explainably smelly!

karrie,
poor thing. I know how you feel. My MIL can't make J to sleep so she'll always bring him downstairs and carry him till he doze off!! it became such a habit that whenever I want him to nap, he'll cling onto me and telling me that he can't nap w/o being carried! it's SOOOO frustrating because I don't have problems making J sleep. I'm with zhen_zhen's idea of CIO tho really have to be hard hearted. I let J cry out while he's on the bed and I'm beside him. It only took him 15 mins and after that he slept. from then, he knows that I won't carry him to sleep. tho my MIL still do that, it's not affecting my weekend schedule. *cross fingers* hope matty will grow out of it soon.

re: naps
J still takes 2 naps of 1-1.5 hrs each. at night, he'll sleep from 830pm-8/9am. I'm not so persistant on the naps anymore as long as he still goes to bed at night early.

bbwow: wow, J goes to bed early. baby yz used to go to bed ard 830-9pm too. but i want him to drink his milk before zzzing at 9pm+ so nowadays he sleeps ard 930pm but wakey up at 7+am when we prepare for work. heh.

Morning Mummies!

1. hippo (6/7th dec)
2. gingerleaf
3. chersam (6/7th dec)
4. ponponta (6th dec)
5. jas
6. ariajo
8. junnie (tbc)
9. dodo
10.Twinkle_stars
11. Hapi Fifi
12. Tiffany Seah
13. Tiffy
14. ueno
15. Chris
16. CM (TBC)
17. Totoro_bb
18. jacq
21. sugar_nut
22. sylvia
24. zhen_zhen
25. annie
26. doobom (06Dec)
27. eil (6Dec)

Karrie/Junnie: I also encountered napping problem!!! My snow white dun wan to take any day naps liao! She used to take at least 2 day naps but now once I put her into yaolan, she will cry loud loud, then immediately stop cryin once carried out. At my mum's plc, she's very guai. Sure sleep at least 2x a day! Tink she see me this mummy good to bully.

After hearing ecookie, dreamz &amp; zhen zhen, i guess i shldn't b too bothered over her naps as my gal for sure get >12hrs sleep a day.

One more thing, dunno is good or bad news. At night, Snow white now likes to sleep on bed instead of yaolan. Cos she sleeps wif my mum on bed when she's over at her plc during weekdays. As my bed is in the centre of the room, I got to put pillows on top &amp; bottom of her as precaution. Then hor, we got to sleep horizontal instead of normal vertical with her sleepin near the bed head. *pengz*

Eil: Clap clap for little Jae!

Twinkle Stars: Snow white is now in the midst of switching fm Similac to Gain, mixture of both.

Tiffy: Yes, I saw Sherry's pic on the mag. Was still tinkin is it our Sherry, so its indeed! Congrats!

ecookie,

I feed J milk too before he goes to bed. but I try to make him go to bed before 9 la. He used to wake up at 7+ but nowadays like sleeping later. Weekdays we have to drag him out of bed for work. Weekends he'll sleep longer. hehe

So he sleeps quite abit, eats ALOT, output also ALOT and we still wonder why he's underweight! haiyoh

bbwow: he must be very active when he awakes!
so good needs to drag him out of bed. weekdays yz will auto wakes up ard 7-730am when he hears me getting up to the bathroom. then weekends, he will climb up our bed and thump my face to wake me up! ha

good morning. Brig shrunk alot recenrlty, no appetite at all.. not even like his milk. He 'man ya' came out at last.

He totoally rejected porridge. Nowaday he like fried rice!!! I also have to cook fried rice with soup. Sign.. And he like his side dish in the shape of ball. I have to make sweet potatoes /potatoes/salmon/parnip/veg etc etc balls and coat them with bread crump and oven bake awhile.. !!! Yestersday, my HB make rice balls, potatoes/prinp/veg skin with rice inbetween.... sign.. Any of the babies are like my Ah Brig..

Now everyday, he will daddy...daddy.... daddy.. make my HB so happy.. haha..

He will say.. 'waht is this' 'there' and yesterday pointed at the apples in NTUC and said 'apple' ..

But his temper is one of the kind... sign...

1. hippo (6/7th dec)
2. gingerleaf
3. chersam (6/7th dec)
4. ponponta (6th dec)
5. jas
6. ariajo
8. junnie (tbc)
9. dodo
10.Twinkle_stars
11. Hapi Fifi
12. Tiffany Seah
13. Tiffy
14. ueno (6/7th dec)
15. Chris
16. CM (TBC)
17. Totoro_bb
18. jacq
21. sugar_nut
22. sylvia
24. zhen_zhen
25. annie
26. doobom (06Dec)
27. eil (6Dec)

ecookie,

I think if J sleeps with us he'll also wake up early cause we're very noisy when preparing for work. So we'll close his room door when preparing for work. think he sleeps better alone.

chris,
your culinary skills is amazing! I must learn from you! I can only make porridge now and even cooking it feels boring! haha

eccokie/bbow.

Im sp peiseh, i cant cook at all. My culinary skill is hopeless. I can only prepare Brig food. My HB is a better cook, learn abit here and there from him.

eccokie,

im not hardworking.. cos i got NO CHOICE... sign

sleeping habits,
usually he will nap twice a day.. morning about 1/2 hour and afternoon 2hours.. night he will sleep from 9pm till 7am next day...

weekday, need to drag him out of bed as he tend to oversleep till 8am sometimes.. weekends, when it is time for me to sleep longer, he will wake up as early as 6.30am.. and i cannot get to sleep longer.. argh!! naughty boy!