(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

zhenzhen: ur cupcakes looks reallee LOOK for amateur!! with more practice, u can starting selling for the kids 2nd birthday!

jovial: tried baking with my microwave (with baking functions).. and it failed terribly..my brownie turned out to be hard like rock. dunno it's the microwave or my skills...

bbwow,
i like pastel color cakes! the cupcakes are beautiful and sounds so yummy! and your guests went home with blue teeth?? hahaha... so funny...and j really "dong shi" already..know how to punish the place that hurt him! smart boy!

tiffy,
okh oh...aria also like to play with my wallets and start taking out the credit cards too..it's the only thing that can occupy her for the longest time
but yeah, very dangerous.. must watch out after her, else she'll throw away my credit cards!

happy bday to sherry! Hope you all have a sweet celebration!

gingerleaf:
phew..lucky u got the sweets out frm lyn.

zhen_zhen/bbwow:
ur cupcakes look yummy

re:baking oven
I hv a oven cum toaster/griller.It can bake small cakes,the brand is tefal.I bake brownie wif it b4.

Happy Birthday to Sweet Sherry & Handsome YZ! May you have a wonderful birthday celebration

Have a good long weekend wif ur babies & families. For those hvg party tis wkend, hv a wonderful bash!

tiffy/cherie_bear.. thks on the baking tips..muffin - slurp slurp!! sherry so 'xinfu' can eat homebake muffin! tefal.. ok, will take note..

tiffy.. u really 'yong xin liang ku'.. even get wallet & card for sherry to 'pretend' is real! keke..

bbwow.. j so cute, blaming the floor making him fall?? smart boy!

happy bd to sherry!
happy bd to yz in advance!

ponponta.. hope u r 'all ready' for a smooth & enjoyable party tml!

for those not working tml & SAHM mummies.. hv a great long weekend w bb & family!!

ZhenZhen
Pratice make perfect & i think it's so sweet of you to do that .

gingerleaf
Dun say that ,you are definitely not a bad mommy .
when i log on from my home last nite , it also lag .but today ok leh.

aria
i think Garina is a lazy baby . Ya she always want to be carried though.
i just slowly streched the hrs of pumpping.

junnie
yes i tried to put her favourite stuff/toy in a distance also , she will try then she'll give up sigh.

bbwow
the cupcakes very nice .

Happy Birthday YZ

Happy Birthday Sherry.

Junnie: Paisay. When u asked abt the Spanish dress, dunno y my mind thot of hawaii dress. :p
Last time there's this PAP related organisation located near Kallang Stadium allow pple to rent clothes fm them. I ever rented Thai costume for my company D&D at $20+ only. Not sure if the organisation still around or not.

Twinkle Stars: Snow white till now still dun crawl leh. But she rub her buttock ard. Very often she rub till out of the "safety zone" (bumper mat). There's once i was busy cookin her lunch, din noe tat she can rub so much distance liao, end up she fell off fm my platform. Dunno whether she hurt her head or not. So heartpain leh. For the rest of the day she looked fine, i then fang xin. My niece oni walk at 17 mths, dunno snow white will break her record or not. I tink for the Xmas gatherin, Cherie & Garina can sit side by side lookin at those babies crawlin, walking or some even running liao. hehe

Twinkle Stars: Same as snow white, always wan pple bao bao. Once she see u sit down like very free, sure ask for bao bao liao. So got to pretend like very busy. keke

Anyone mummies like me who has never sent yr lil one to any courses/classes before??

Btw, just now i casually show & say "apple" to Dayan. And this joker simply repeat what i say! and numerous of times he say "apple"...very clear! haha..we gonna be careful what we say le..their input & output now is very fast!

oh my... didn't drop by thread for a while and so many posts until hard to catch up!

bbwow
love your cookie monster cake and the cup cakes! the remaining product seem a bit sad though. :D

gingerleaf/tiffy/jacq
my boy also likes to eat every SINGLE thing until now. he has gnawed through some of his board books and even magazines when i wasn't fast enough to grab it away from him. he practically puts everything into his mouth, be it edible or inedible. anyone knows when they will outgrow this - everything all eat - stage?

jovialz
ur initial preggie again list gave me a shock. for a moment, i tot i MIA so long, so many mummies pregnant again! :D

its amazing how time flies, all our babies are 1 yr old already.

chersam
your little butt shifter may suddenly spring you a surprise by walking! one of my friend's daughter was like that. one day, her daughter decided that butt shifting wasn't the fastest way to get around and started walking upright in a few days.

zhen_zhen
really admire your baking efforts... so sweet!

jas
till now i've yet to send my boy to any classes yet, except for a gymboree trial. haha... shall wait till he's older. meanwhile, just keeping him active and try to read to him whenever i can.

junnie, normal oven is better than microwave with oven function. esp if you want to bake cakes.

bbwow, pretty cupcakes. maybe 1 day mine will look half as nice. my whole family will probably be fat by then though, from having to eat all the failed cupcakes. hahaha.

enjoy the long weekend everyone!

Thank you so much for all the feeding information. Can kindly please advise my baby schedule. As i thought it is not too good for him.

8:00am Wake up
9:00am 3 scoops of cereal + fruit
11am Milk
11:30am Nap
1:00pm Wake up
2:00pm Lunch
4:00pm MilK
4:30pm Nap
6:00pm Wake up
7:00pm Dinner
9:00pm Milk
9:30pm Sleep

Please advise is this correct?

Thank you very much.

Since there are a number of Mommies ONZ, so, let it happen. Shall we pick a Date/Time/Venue for the meetup?

re: SAHM mommies weekday Lunch meetup
1) Tiffany Seah (Next FRIDAY - 31/10/08-Anytime - Town area)
2) Ueno
3) CM but need to send & fetch my gal to school 11.30 - 2.30 ...
4) zhen_zhen
5) hapi fifi
i'm ok for lunch next week (tue, thur or fri)

I am a free bird, so, mommies, please pick a most convenient time slot.

Jovial,
Thanks for refreshing us with the pregnancy detail chart.

Ueno,
If you are someone who enjoy good food, there is also FEED AT RAFFLES under AMEX worth applying. Basically all the restaurants at Raffles City and Raffles Hotel are going at 1 for 1. Infinite card sure has lots of attractive benefits, so far, its FOC for the 1st year i think.

Ecookie
YZ can really drink lotsa lotsa of milk which is good. I think the portion on the pigeon 8 bowl is too little, that's why YZ can drink so much. Andrea was taking more solid and taking very little milk previously, and my MIL thinks she needs more milk. So now, she change her feeding pattern by feeding her less solid and now with more milk. I realised that she is alot heavier now. Hope she can continue taking lots of milk.

I really envy those toddlers still taking cereal. My gal rejects cereal + FM + Fruits liao. Even with fruits also dont want liao. She also dislike bottled puree food now. Think she enjoys our food rather than baby food.

Omg mummies,

check this out.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/385183/1/.html

SINGAPORE: The Agri-Food and Veterinary Authority (AVA) has instructed importers and retailers to withdraw all Malaysia-made Julie's brand of biscuits from the shelves.

This came after AVA detected the industrial chemical melamine in 12 Julie's biscuit products imported from Malaysia.

AVA said there are 25 types of Julie's biscuits sold in Singapore, but as a precaution, it has decided to recall all Julie's biscuits.

Five other Malaysia-made biscuits are also affected. They are "Khong Guan Assorted Biscuits", "Khian Guan Biscuit Osborne", "Leo Gold Finger Choco", "Santa Chocolate Gold Fingers" and "Swan Chocolate Fingers".

AVA advises consumers who have bought the affected biscuits not to eat them.

AVA's tests also included various types of biscuits under the major brands of "Khong Guan" and "Meiji", as well as other traditional biscuits that are manufactured in Singapore. Melamine has not been detected in these products.

Three more China-made products have also been found to contain melamine. They are "Lotte Koala's March Cocoa Chocolate Biscuit", "Hello Kitty Strawberry Cream Filled Biscuit", and an unbranded industrial pack of non-dairy creamer which is not available in the retail market as it is meant for re-export.

AVA said the "Lotte Koala's March Cocoa Chocolate Biscuit" and "Hello Kitty Strawberry Cream Filled Biscuit" have been recalled since September 19.

The tainted products will be destroyed under AVA's supervision. The latest detection brings the total number of affected products to 33.

As of October 24, some 3,200 types of milk and milk products, chocolates, biscuits, non-dairy creamers and other products imported from more than 40 countries have been taken for laboratory analyses to check for melamine.

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_294509.html

ANOTHER 20 products have been found to be contaminated with melamine, including well-known products such as Lotte Koala biscuits and Julie crackers. Three of them are from China while 17 others are from Malaysia.

This marks the first time that non-China products available here have been found contaminated with melamine.

The latest detection brings the total number of melamine-tainted products here to 33, said the Agri-Food & Veterinary Authority of Singapore in an update on Friday.

The tainted China-made products are Lotte Koala's March Cocoa Chocolate Biscuit, Hello Kitty Strawberry Cream Filled Biscuit and unbranded non-dairy creamer in industrial pack.

The two China-made biscuits contained milk ingredients and had been recalled since Sept 19.

AVA said melamine has been detected in 17 biscuit products from Malaysia.

Importers and retailers are required to withdraw the affected Malaysian-made biscuits from sale with immediate effect.

As 12 of the 17 products are Julie's brand of biscuits, AVA said they should be withdrawn as "a precautionary measure."

AVA advises consumers who have bought the implicated products not to consume them.

All the 17 tainted products will be destroyed under AVA's supervision.

AVA also tested various types of biscuits under the Khong Guan and Meiji brands, as well as other traditional biscuits that are manufactured in Singapore. No melamine was found in these products.

Some 3,200 types of milk and milk products, chocolates, biscuits, non-dairy creamers and other products imported from more than 40 countries have been tested for melamine up till Friday.

tiffany
my boy also rejects cereal nowadays. bottled baby food he's also not keen. so he's on porridge for his solids. but also like not v.interested nowadays. what does your girl eat nowadays? all the food that you adults are eating?

gingerleaf
thanks for posting up that info. its really scary coz some of the biscuits are targetted at the young. can u imagine the kids chomping on them, without knowing that they contain melamine?

Happy Birthday to Sherry and YZ !!

re:Microwave Baking,
I'd tried baking small cake too. It turn like a volcano but very edible. But since Caelen here, never bake before. Very waste talent of the microwave since we bought it quite costly back then.

Gingerleaf,
Think their gums still itchy lah. Caelen also will grab things, PEOPLE or his own fingers to bite everynow and then. I must admit nowadays not so on the ball to give the teething chew, partly don't know if they will puncture the toy or not.

Thanks for the info !

Dreamz,
heheheh...paiseh.

Zhen zhen,
I agree, normal oven is better for baking. only problem is you'd need to at least heat it up once every month, too long never use will trip the electricity lor.

Jas,
I'm 1 of those you looking for. So far only brought Caelen to ONE tumble tots trial.... kekeke..

AHG,
Think the night interval is very long. Last feed of the day is 9pm and 1st feed next day is 9am (12 hours later). Maybe you can try to feed as soon as possible after baby wakes up and a bit more cereal(3 scoops seems a little less)? Lunch seems a bit late lor (unless that is going to be the timing for lunch when baby gets older). Better to train the regular eating hours since young.

Frequency wise look good as it evolve around your baby's nap time. How I wish Caelen can nap like your baby
The most he takes 2x 30 - 45mins nap.

zhenzhen..thks 4 tips on buying oven, ntd.... dun gv up on baking your cupcakes sure can succeed one! ((fyi, i like to eat 'chao-ta' one, kekeke))...

jas.. i also nvr send bb to any classes yet cos mon-sat working, weenkend go IL's plc 'reporting' =(

gingerleaf...even the 'lao zi hao' khong guan traditional biscuit also affected!! wonder wat r safe 4us to eat???

hv a great weekend mummies

dreamz,

brig dn take cereal many mths back.. He v fussy.... he take rice with soup. Reading Annabel Karamel book now, have to be creative for him... cos now he sian of rice le... sign..

bbow,

think is a growing process. Brig will alway boject when we place him in his high chair or car set.

sign.. their pattrn change faster than we can think abt

Great Weekend, Mummies & Babies!

Jas,
Try to avoid maggie mee during preggie. Take more nutritious food. If lazy (like I m during my preggie days), take deli sandwiches. I take sandwiches and plenty of fruits during preggie days. Fruits for easy consumption, cherrie, strawberries, etc. Take soya bean milk? I oso stock up yougurt drinks at home.
Take gd care n njoy ur pregnancy.

bbwow,
Yes, Jerry oso has that habit. When he is excited, he will clench both his fists and straighten his arms and act like a robot. So funny...

Happy Birthday to Babies turning 1!

hippo,
Thanks for leading the gathering list. So happy that another gathering is coming. I ought to join more often now as I would not be sure if I am able to join gathering once I move on with new job.

X'mas Gathering
1. hippo (6/7th dec)
2. gingerleaf
3. chersam
4. ponponta (6th dec)
5. jas
6. ariajo
7. ecookie
8. junnie (tbc)
9. dodo
10.Twinkle_stars
11. Hapi Fifi
12. Tiffany Seah
13. Tiffy
14. ueno
15. Chris
16. CM (TBC)
17. Totoro_bb
18. jacq
19. Jovialz (can't make it on 20th Dec <- my mum's BD + Christmas Celebration)
20. Chintz
21. sugar_nut
22. sylvia
23. bbwow (prefer weekends)
24. zhen_zhen
25. annie
26. doobom (06Dec)

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YZ!

gingerleaf,
thanks for the info. yup, really wonder what's safe for us to eat now.. sigh...
i hope gerber star and gerber biscuits are safe, these are the only one i gave zq... *fingers crossed*

yup, so happy zq can self feed now!
and hor, he told me he wanted the biscuit papahan bought from germany leh... hee :p
but so far he never put any toys and books into his mouth, he only put food that i told him "mum mum or the name of the fruits..." but to play safe i still keep all the small small objects away from him loh..

zhen zhen &amp; jovialz,
yes agree normal oven bakes better... and im lazy to heat up my oven once in a month so called for maintenance few months back..

ahg,
i think as long as bb grow up healthily and happily, gain weight gradually, it shd be okay bah.. let him grow at his own pace, every baby/ toddler has different nap &amp; eating patterns... but i also think that 2pm for lunch seems abit late...
my boy has lunch at 11am and dinner at 6pm, then last milk at 830pm, sleep throughout till next 8am next morning for breakfast...

Yet to finish my post last nite as rushin over to MIL's plc for dinner, now continue.... hehe

Jas: Wat's the name of the korean restaurant? Made me drool.... heh heh. And I'm also 1 of the mummies who did not sign up any class for baby yet.

bbwow: Nice cookie monster cake! Initially we were also tinkin of gettin a 3D one but feel tat quite difficult to cut it up.

YL: 2 more mths u goin to pop liao yet still dunno the gender? Oh, tink your baby wants to give u a X'mas surprise! hehe

zhen zhen: So thoughtful of u to bake cupcakes for Hannah's party. U mentioned "parties", u mean Hannah got a few celebrations?? Lucky gal.

dreamz: I really lookin forward for tat day when my snow white suddenly stand up and walk! hehe

hi mummies: thanks for the bday wishes for yz! im now waiting for midnight to come so can go and give sleeping him a bday kiss. hee.

bbwow: nowadays baby yz see us eat anything, he also want a taste! last time he will still entertain himself in his pram while we eat. now cannot already, will whine and make noise till we give him abit. but sometimes certain food really cant give then very headache!

re classes:
im also one of the mummy who never sign him up for any lessons too..

re baby bites: im giving gerber biscuits to yz only so far. hope its safe.. but hor i find that for this biscuits, it tends to break into chunks when yz gnaws at it long enuff. today i dug out one chunk from his mouth. lucky he never swallows!

Jovialz,

I also got a pretty costly National microwave 6 years back. Thot can use that to bake as well, as it can be use to grill and bake. Tried to bake once with it, but the cake turned out pretty horrible.

So we only use it to microwave now.

Hi All MIA again for a while ... Cos Carlson is down with super high Fever 40oC for 2 days ... den after that Found some rashes ... and also notice that he is drooling ... cos he is down with HFMD ...sobsob ... he is in great pain man ... so sad to see him in this stage ... he does not want to eat even more now cos of the pain he is having ... he also vomit too ... but i dun know its due to his reflux or HFMD ... but if its cos of HFMD den need to admit immd. the Doctor said so now i wait and see lor ... hmmm send my gal away too cos she is having her concert on Thusday ... hope she is fine man ... praying real hard now

Jovialz Caelen is well now clap clap ..

zhen and another mummy nice yummy looking cupcake ...

Gingerleaf you are a good good mum liao ... we need a break mah ... keke

Junnie how can you make it when yr bb fell sick that period ... hmmm so tiring sobsob ...

Long weekend ... but i cannot go out cos my Carlson is also a flower leg ... he is so so so so sad to see his sister leaving him and cannot hug his jie jie ... so poor boy ...

i dun know too ... hmmm no one lor ... last time my gal got it also she was at home not in CC ... but my niece is a carrier ... she got it from Church mate ... den now Carlson i dun know ... !!!!
i can tell that its going to be a very bad one too cos at least 7 in the mouth liao

tiffany, maybe you try changing cereal? hannah is now a bit sian with rice cereals, but will take wheat or oat cereal still. BTW, i'm fine to meet on fri for lunch too.

gingerleaf, saw those articles in the papers too. scary!

dreamz, maybe you can try giving PH other foods? cos porridge everyday can be quite boring. we sometimes give hannah pasta. haven't got round to trying noodles yet.

dodo, it's v convenient when baby knows how to self-feed right? hannah also just learnt how to feed herself. so now, after her meal, she will happily feed herself cheerios. gives us time to finish up our own meal in peace.

chersam, ya. we had 2 parties. 1 for family, 1 for friends. otherwise too many people la. :p

happy birthday YZ!

zhen pray for me ok ... need God to be with me ... i find myself too "strong" outside liao ... will break down soon ... crying in his house is a very good form of releasing my problem to him but now ... i dun have time and chances for there as i changed a new church ... and also at home i dun have the time to cry out loud too ... i need his hand to be upon me ......

cm.... so sad to hear abt carlson... one prblm after another... now your hb outstation again... u really must b v strong ok. during tat time when mine in hospital for 30over days, i keep telling myself hv to b strong 4him cos he's so helpless, duno wat doctors/nurses doing to him, he only knws our familiar faces/voice, i keep telling him to fight the bacteria if not will b v painful to set plug every 3-4days for the antibiotics. with us around, he'll feel more at ease. ulcers in the mouth is no joke, 1 alr so painful, he got 7?? poor boy...sure he dun wanna eat at present, but u still hv to gv him fluid &amp; keep sponging him to bring down fever. 40deg is v high le, better to admit if it doesnt subside within a day cos at least got doc to standby/help if anything happen, at home, u r alone w maid, v siong. so who's taking care of carissa? lucky u separate them for time being. she must b v sad to see didi like tat. hope he didnt get the disease fm the trip.. will pray 4 carlson to recover soonest. u hv to rest as when got chance, u cant fall sick now, lucky u no need to work le... take care..

thanks junnie ... I ask Carissa to stay with my brother for the time ... hmmm me &amp; helper also not feeling too good too ... but will take care too ... his fever is in control for now ... ask for the medi from the anus ... hmm

wow so many posts to catch up on...

CM, poor little Carlson. will keep you both in my prayers...

Zhen_zhen, welcome back! nice to see u in the forum again! nice cupcakes...very commendable leh. i can't bake anything to save me life.

Jovial thanks for the list hahahha...i also got a shock when i saw all the mummies' names up there hahaha...Oct mummies so fertile hehehee

re: SAHM mommies weekday Lunch meetup
1) Tiffany Seah (Next FRIDAY - 31/10/08-Anytime - Town area)
2) Ueno
3) CM but need to send &amp; fetch my gal to school 11.30 - 2.30 ...
4) zhen_zhen
5) hapi fifi
6) karrie (except tue)

Fri sounds great!

CM,

Poor Carlson. U take care of yrself too. Mummis have to be strong... Send him to hospital if it is too much for you to take care, at least there pofssional care there