(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

hi all..

want to correct my post.. my baby is turning one this 22nd Oct..

Serene,
i managed to scroll up and found out that you bought pooh figurines at united sq (using the ctrl+f, din manage to read thru)
.. may i knw which shop is it? i couldn't find pooh figurines there.. quite desperate.. coz my baby's bday is in few days more...

ponponta,
tks for ur reply
.. hope you will receive it soon.. when did you order from ebay?
i can't order from ebay.. coz dun have paypal.. also dunno how to.. so lazy to find out how to.. hehehe.. does yours cost ard S$43??

hmm.. regret that i started looking for bday cake few days ago..

gingerleaf,
wow, seem like more tiring now to look after them when they start to walk. I have to be prepared too. Hope i still can manage to cook dinner when Sherry know how to walk.

Regarding cc, i think for SAHM don't have to put them in cc. I will put her in play group.

eil, thanks! will have a look cheriehearts..

eufrasia, i ordered from ebay on sun.. it cost $25 and i paid using internet transfer since it is local...i was also quite late in shopping for cakes.. haiz..

welcome eufrasia =)

gingerleaf.. u r back! hope u recover soon if not like was jas said, 'no energy' to 'chase' after lyn!! keke.. re cc, for SAHM, send bb to playgroup is good idea, they can go 'interact' w friends, if not stay @home whole day also 'sian'...

*clap clap* lyn & dayan can walk lo!

for bb holding party tis two days...hv a wonderful time!!

enjoy your weekend mummies!!

eil,

think my reply came too late. deposit is 1 mth fee before sub. plus 50 bucks for registration whih is non refundable.

chris, thanks anyway! I visited the place again this morning, and we really like the homely environment and the structured program, they have optional external enrichment from kindermusik and act of life. They will also introduce Japanese language and Piano when they reach nursery. So we decided to place a deposit too, Jae will be transfering from her infant care center to CH in Apr 09. Hopefully everything can goes smoothly, and Jae can adapt quickly.

pretty long time no log in and so many topics flew by! actually didn't really have time to log in this thread coz of work, spree and also recently some stuff happened at home. mum's not well at the moment, thankfully discovered early, so chances of survival pretty high. going for op soon. just going to stay strong and positive for her.

dodo
CONGRATS!!! age gap between ZQ and ur little one is just nice! so haapy for you!

ecookie
dun b envious for dodo, u can also try for ox baby, stil have time!!!

doobum
i also horse mummmy... in the 30s club already. still in self-denial though... :D

gingerleaf
glad to have you back. heehee... hopefully your next trip won't be a better one than your cruise.

karrie
i also finally finished marking and key in marks. so relieved that sch year is over. wasted i'm not sent out for invigilation this year. so have to be in sch everyday. sigh...

Greatings from indigo pearl Phuket! Beautiful resort and good food too! So far so good for the trip! Aria didn't cry at all during the flight to phuket and even manage to take a short nap. Hopefully she's like this whenn we fly back tomorrow. Brought her swimming yesterday. She's so TIMID! Cling on to hubby.. Aiyoh...but i think she still enjoy the water
Brought her to watch the culture show, Phuket Fantasea and suprisingly she enjoyed the show! Certain scene was a bit scary and she will turn away and when a cheery sing song scene came, she will turn and watch again. I think the show is really very good and successful even a 1 year old baby enjoys it!

later gonna bring her to the beach. ok, need to log ooff liao. Dun wanna hog the common computer.
Catch up with you all on tuesday!

and oh, <font color="ff6000"><font size="+2">HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO J!!</font></font>

Aria,
Njoy urself to the max!

Tiffy,
Yeah, must find a way to distract her. I think they are at the extra clingy age? She machiam got seperation anxiety leh, walk 5 steps faster than her she will cry, not even out of her sight yet she cry. Dunno what is wrong with her.

Sanbebe,
Got a 3pt plug 220w. Just one nia. But if you are taking Star Virgo, Im not sure.

<font color="119911"><font size="+2">Happy birthday to DOOBOM, J &amp; Aria!!</font></font>

Oh dodo,
congrats =p

Hi ariajo,

so glad you're enjoying the trip! and aria gets to spend her 1st birthday overseas!

here's wishing aria happy birthday too!

I will be heading to Perth tomorrow on a biz trip till Thurs.

to all other babies coming birthdays, happy birthday in advance!

If send to playgroup, its not a daily thingy right? I dun mind sending her to one for twice a week or what. Do I have to be there at the playgroup?

I dun mind those twice/week childcare too, if there is any. Heheh. Its a nice relief to drop her there for half day so I can catch up on my things too.

gingerleaf.. I think some childcare have dropoff service but depends on avaliabilty. Some also have 2 to 3 days per week childcare. You may want to check it out from ur nearby center.

Usually playgroup program is about 1.5hr to 2hr 2 or 3times a week and parents must accompany e.g. GUG, JG.

Only when child turns 2, then some program dun need parents accompany. My niece 2yrs old goes to MMI everyday for 2hr, but I think she will be extending to 4hr daily. Then you will have some "me" time everyday

aria
have a fun time on ur trip! :D

regarding childcare/nursery.... anyone of you considering putting your child in childcare or nursery in 2010? ie. the year that they turn 3? i casually called a kindergarten near my place and inquire about when they will open for registration for 2010. they told me that as mine's Oct baby, they can only accept him in in 2011 and he will skip pre N and go to N2 straight away. ie. he only goes school the year that he turns 4.

is that true? ie. our kids cannot attend Pre N coz they r year end baby??? any advice?

morning mummies...

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">Happy Birthday Doobom</font></font>
heehee, u shared the same birthday as my sis...

<font size="+2"><font color="ff6000">Happy Birthday J and aria</font></font>

enjoy your trip, bbwow....

gingerleaf, some centers offer 3 day/week class.. babyplanet is 1 of them, but i tink it will too far for you.. you can check it out at mcys website...
http://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/ChdCccSrch.jsp

<font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">happy birthday Doobom, J, aria &amp; cherie!</font></font>

gingerleaf, i collected the pp liao le! haha.. muacks muacks to my sweet gal for ur kind help!
anyway, abt CC.. imo, u r a SAHM and u definitely can teach her. moreover u are sending her for enrichment classes at Trio (dunno watz e new name la..) and i m sure in future u will also look or try her out at other classes which u tink might benefit her. so dun tink CC is necessary for your case.. however, it can help relieve u for some ME-time!! so do check out those p.t ones if u are interested gal! =D my no. 1 aim to bring adri for any classes is for her social interaction skills and confidence building. and i know totoro &amp; hb also have the same aims... so for me, i will definitely continue to bring adri for watever classes she's attending now.. and when she's abit older, maybe pre-N but wun start her off so early lo.. =P

MMR jab: brought adri for her final pneumo jab yday and asked doc abt MMR jab.. no need to worry unduly abt the egg protein in the jab even if baby is allergic! this particular egg protein in the jab apparently has been proven to be well-received even by babies who have egg allergies.. hope this helps in allaying some fears! =)

morning all

happy bd to doobom, aria, j, cherie &amp; basil!

ariajo.. hope u hv a pleasant trip back 2day!

hippo, thks 4 the info on MMR jab.

tiffy.. ya, childcare centre enrol 18mths onwards, tink those playgroup like jg, ex trio,gymboree,tumbletots, they hv classes for bb. last time i duno abt playgroup, so oni sent zann @2yr+ to talentplus @ my hse community ctr for 1.5hr, tink abit too late cos the teacher told me better send her to centre w N1/N2 full time so they can learn more tings cos for 1.5-2hrs, they cant learn much, basically let them familiar w alphabets, singsong. actually i registered &amp; pay deposit @ childcare since she's 1.5yrs (tinking let her go 18mths) but when time comes, so reluctant to send her to childcare scare she'll get sick often, nanny also 'bu she de' as zann still not toilet trained yet scare the teacher no change diaper on time. then until she 3yrs old (age shd go for learning), we then sent her to childcare, for the 1st mth, she cry like hell... then true enuff, will get sick v frequent, then now better liao (immune alr).... (tink is norm to get sick 1st, but still hv to expose them lo)..

gingerleaf.. hmmm.. like zann's childcare (eager beaver @safra), they dun hv partime classes, but they hv half day childcare services, tink less than 100 bucks different fm full time nia. nxt year i headache lo, got to start looking for a daycare for zann she's going P1 @2010 (her current cc dun hv b4&amp;after schl care), may b i'll hv to seach a childcare w daycare so i can put bb lance there @3yrs while zann @the daycare.

dreamz...is correct, PCF (kindergarten) dun hv N1, they starts fm N2, then K1 &amp; K2. oni childcare hv N1, N2, K1 &amp; K2.

so many pple having bday today!
happy bday to doobom, aria, J, cheie &amp; basil!!

cheval very long no come here and chat liao hor?

Happy Birthday to all Babies who have turned 1!!

Had my party last Sat and it was a great success! A lot of stuff to bring to party, like the yao lan, bumper mat, 2 big bags of gal's barang barang, party stuff etc. We have to make 2 trips there in order to transport all the stuff over. Will try post up fotos these few days.

Glad that you mummies suggested to hire a photographer. It's really a busy day for us and I can rely on the photographer to take pictures for me.

Hippo: Thanks again! U know what I meant huh.

Ponponta: Glad that I have opted for outside caterer. All my guests commented NICE FOOD!

Twinkle Stars: Brought the BIG clips there but din manage to use it as i bundled up my hair. :p

Ponponta: Staff services not bad. When we checked into the room, noticed a foul smell at the kitchen area. We called their maintenance and they quickly sent pple in to wash up the garbage area which is just outside the kitchen and also the main door area.

chersam, there is no stove to do cooking there? cos tinking of cooking anders porridge there? u got outside caterer, den did you have to pay $300 extra or sneak it in? i am going to get BBQ food only...

Happy Birthday DOOBOM, J, CHERIE, ARIA and BASIL!!!!

dreamz, yah so relieved it's over. now just have to check scripts and amend marks etc...actually im glad i dun have inviligation. heard this year's invigilation slots all v late like in the afternoon.so morning still need to go school...i got some other O level duties tho...so almost whole of november is burnt for me!

aria jo, so nice to hear that you're having fun!! Share the pics ok?

junnie, i'm considering Eager Beaver at Safra Yishun for Matty next year, it's v near my place! How is it in terms of the teachers and curriculum? Do they have like school bus to pick up and send bb home?

Seems like Cherie Hearts is getting good reviews...but find them a tad pricey leh. Anyone have feedback about Little Skool House?

Karrie: Thanks for your wishes!

Ponponta: No stove provided, need to bring your own if u cookin. Besides that, you need to prepare own knife, cuttin board etc. However kettle no need, there have.
Ya, we paid $300 for the penalty. Not possible to sneak in cos sure ganna stop by their guard house. haha. We did some calculations. Shld we use their in-house caterer, total buffet abt 800+. However if we use own caterer, after discount $600+. If we take in the penalty $300, total is $900+, meanin we pay extra abt $150. We find it y not, since we gettin better food, so go for it. Really very very glad that all my guests very satisfied with the food. 1 of my colleagues just feedback to me that she's very particular for food as she herself likes to cook, got high expectation for food. And she gave a thumb up for my caterer.

karrie..i put my gal @ eager beaver schoolhouse2 @ mt faber safra, tis branch turnover v high, almost half the teachers gone fm time we enjoyed 2yrs back (heard bcos of the wages issue w mgmt). but cirriculum wise so far ok, they hv creative writing, also engaged art-teacher fm outside to teach them &amp; once a week go safra pool &amp; play, they got 'science' lesson teacher will do experiments w them &amp; bring them out to neighbourhood nature reserve, got excursions few times a year, oni con is no computer lesson (which they said hv) but i tink is ok la, cos they dun really get hands on cos ltd station &amp; they oni play game, learnt basic. ours hv schl bus to/fro. tink yishun one better, cos is the main branch &amp; they hv b4 &amp; after schl care. re fees, 2 yrs back we paid $465 (after subsidy), then tis year jan'08 increase $535, then after new policy after national day rally, now $385, but they dun allow sibling discount anymore like last time. i like this cc cos walking distant to my house/office &amp; parent can 'hang around' the ctr during morning time to settle the kid's breakfast, they'r more environment friendly rather than bt mearh branch MMI/learning vision where they r more 'enclosed' (may b located in office building) &amp; parent 'not so welcome' after u sent the kids in u got to leave asap.

junnie,
Is pre-nursery same as playgroup? Me not v sure on this point cos first time learning all these thing.
Actually like what gingerleaf said lor, it is better to leave the child there for few hours and we can have our free time to do some thing at home.

i jus did a search, noted there's cheriehearts @ bukit pumei area (where i intend to put zann for P1), they offer b4/after schl care, may b i'll go down one of tis days to find out more.

btw, mummies who r teaching, izzit v difficult to enrol for P1 esp phase 2C?? must go do volunteer work arr?? i really no idea... nxt year time to crack head lo...((i no hoping for any 'top sch' as long near my house can le, cos hb away often &amp; hv to look after bb, i cant handle two if schl v far).

chersam.. glad to hear the bd party is a success. which caterer u used? hmmm... hear alr sounds yummy le.. hahahaa..

tiffy... playgroup more like those 1.5-2 hrs (pte ones). if under PCF(exPAP) they hv oni N2 also abt 2 hrs then childcare ctr one got half or full day for N1 &amp; N2 (hope i'm correct)... hehe..

Thanks Junnie &amp; Tiffy!

Junnie: It's Neo Garden. My fren used them for baby's 1st month, can enjoy 15% for 1st birthday. On top of that, enjoy add'l 5% for member, really got to thank my fren!
Besides that, their services also very good. So "advance" man, sms me to confirm my order, sms me to inform who will be servicing me on the day of party and this mornin just received their sms to thank me using their catering.

think i have to go to my next blk n ask those prenursery centre liao. Cannot put in childcare cos my hubby don't want as i'm not working lor.
Thanks junnie for ur explanation.

junnie, thanks for the info on Eager Beaver! I'm quite interested in them also because partly because of the swimming programme. That time when I brot my kids for shooting at SAFRA Yishun I saw the teacher bringing 5 kids for swimming. So CUTE. I know my boy definitely needs sports and some kind of outdoor activity one...so considering there and Little Skool House at Orchid Country Club.

As for P1 registration, you can go here to take a look: http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/primary-one-registration/phases/
I think we only need to 'volunteer' if it's a very popular school e.g. mission schools with a large alumni community, or rosyth or tao nan etc. My colleague told me even for those who volunteer also not guaranteed a place if for that year, there are a lot of applications. may also have to ballot. so yeah..maybe the other mummies here can give their input?

chris, ya.. i heard the announcement from them yday when i brought adri for her class.. keke! and i get my classes at half price... ha! and i have a $200 voucher from my aunt for her bday!! woohoo! thanks dear for informing!

chersam, aiyo.. dun mention! i didnt help at all!

chersam, i am also ordering from neogarden but it is the BBQ buffet.. so shd be okie right? btw, how to apply for neogarden member? i wonder if the discount is applicable for the BBQ buffet? thanks for the reminder about the knife... if not the gong gong me, sure forget 1.. haha....

hippo,

why yr half price??

Brig enjoyed his saturday lesson v much.. haha.. but he is not keen in the grp activities anymore, other then the buble time. He prefer to explore all the stations..

chris, cos i m ex-staff la.. =)
i m tinking of trying out other classes soon... adri also loves the bubbles but like brig, wants to explore all stations too... keke..
wondering if i shd put her in the music class anot.. but if i put her in music and she sees the play classroom, she'll surely wana go in.. hahaha!

hippo,

oh i see. There a new play area at E!HUB (near donwtown east). The fee is reasonable during off peak hour. Is a big padded play area. Will bring brig to try there soon. Bring him there yesterday but is PEAK HOUR (which is $22 p[er hour). For off peak is only $9 per entry (with memebership which is less than 10 dollars till brig turns 12 yr old).

Have to put beig into childcare cos i need to return work full time le.. so sian

chris, oh... E!hub is too far for me though not too bad from my mum's place la.. i m not too keen on such play places unless they can prove to me how often they clean the place.. haha! scary with all the germs lurking la.. =) ok for u la dear since putting brig in childcare.. he's got lotsa opportunities for play &amp; exploration in class so dun be sian ya!

Ponponta: Not sure how to apply as member and also not sure discount apply to BBQ stuff or not, perhaps can call up and ask? Understand that using outside BBQ need not pay penalty but it's better for u to check wif Aranda again. Becos the caterer need to drive in to deliver the food. Wait the guard house gong gong, thot it's buffet and stop them from comin in. They actually stopped my caterer to come in leh although we have paid the penalty and also informed their guards when &amp; wat time my delivery comin in.

hippo,

true, will go in th have a look first.

But sometime i wonder how clean is gymboree? Cos aft when they clean up the place aft each class.. some kids will still play.. one of it is Brig loh.. he just refuse to go.. refuse to put on his sock.. Will they clean again before the next class start?? sign

tiffy, u r welcome.. actually i also blur blur one, so hv to go ask around last time, now at least got some pix &amp; hopefully can arrange wat is good/convenient for the kids.

karrie.. thks, i'll go chk the link u given..

chersam.. thks, no wonder is yummy cos is neo! haha..

chris, dun worie, sure clean up before the next class start one.. maybe cos i was with them before.. i always see the teachers clean up the place thoroughly.. even if they are unable to wipe each &amp; every single toy, they will definitely disinfect the place/toys with alcohol... =) but like wat u said, they can't control every single kid who refuse to go out of the class so there might be this lapse.. however, tink abt it tis way, itz still way better than a place dat dun clean up at all right? keke..