(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

baby yz fever has been on n off for the past 6 days!! very worrying. but seems to be going off today. fingers crossed for tonight.

anyway his body started developing some rashes since yest. i tot the rash will appear AFTER the fever? not concurrently with the fever right?
and he got throat inflammation n runny nose. the poor boy been extrememly fussy nowadays. cant be left alone n needs to be carried alot. *sigh*
really hope he'll get well soon! my mum pantang , said cos we kept saying his bday in front of him. not sure if its true.
now he kept rejecting water n milk! today whole day only drink ard 400+milk . is this normal? very scared that he'll get dehydrated.

gingerleaf: wat is rosella? means fever with cough?

dodo/bbwow: have zq/J's appetite come back? cos we are scared that yz will reject milk feeds after he recover too. now he cries when he sees the milk bottle. cos his throat is red , guess drinking is painful for him now..but hope he'll drink more when he recover.

ecookie,
rosela is the fake measles thingy.
BB will get high fever n fever on and off coupled with flu n cough and the 5th day, fever will go down n spots wil appear all over the body and will go away soon.

Sounds like YZ got rosela.

hi mummies, just pop in to say hello. drowning in marking now...

so many babies are unwell...hope they all get well soon!!

ecookie, yah sounds like yz has rosella. matty had it that time too...the rash appeared just as his fever was almost gone. i think if he drinks 400+ ml, it's still fine...since minimum is 350ml. is he eating ok? mebbe feed him more watery porridge to up the water content loh.

ecookie, hope YZ recovers soon..
and all other babies who are not feeling well.. get well soon..

it's mid week already.. cheers!

morning mummies..

aiyo, sad to hear so many more babies sick..hope they get well soon..

is rosela a phase that all babies have to go through?

thanks hippo for your email. need to check it later at home.. office cannot access outside mails.. sigh!

oh dear, poor yz. is rozella a must-go-thru phase for all babies?

ecookie,
don't worry too much about it. once he recovers, his immunity will build up stronger ya. J's milk is going downhill. Nowadays he just drink 120ml/feed or sometimes worse, refuse to drink at all. I dunno if it's the milk or what. just 2 days I switch to Gain IQ to try and also same problem. nowadays see milk like see poison.

think for YZ is because his throat inflammed so eat/drink also feel painful. Just have to wait for it to heal and it'll get better ya.

gingerleaf, wahahaha! u r rite.. will go throw it back at them.. LOL

jas, i will i will! must get back my $$$

eil, thanks! got ur PM & change liao le.. phew! thanks for reminding me.. keke..

karrie, yup! i got my cakes from cupcake divinity... very nice & buttery for the butter cupcakes... but the icing was woah! so sweet... i threw my icing away.. hahaha...

ecookie, poor YZ.. been a long while since he got his cough... hope he recovers soon!

ponponta/bbwow,
it's not a must but if suay your bb will get it.. choi!!! aria very "dao mei" kena rosella and croup. my team lead keep saying, see i told you not to bring your girl out so often

Any mummies using ergo? it is front facing? I need to get a baby carrier front facing cos we're going for a short trip to phuket next week to celebrate Aria's birthday. thinking of buying a second hand one. Well, my hubby's idea. It was such a last minute thing and we had to scramble to book everything last minute! Aiyoh, tiger airways ticket so ex leh because of that. comes up to $350 per person!

aria jo:
i think ergo is not front facing.I'm using combi & it can be used front facing. I bought it @ $148. I think baby bjorn oso can use front facing.

cherie bear,
where did you bought the combi one? do you feel a strain on your back after carrying your baby for long?

Aria,

All front facing carrier will put a strain on ur back after a while.
Coz of the gravity properties. Baby is learning outwards, so u will needa counter balance by leaning back abit. Baby also tends to kick alot in excitment when front carried.

I have a bjorn, but it gave me so much pain, I swtiched to beco.

aria jo:
i bought at Isetan.Mayb bcos i hv backache,so sometimes i feel the strain.I read frm the manual,actually it's not advisable to carry baby in the carrier for more than 2 hrs.

gingerleaf,
oh i see..make sense..how long can you carry baby in beco?

cherie bear,
oh thanks for the feedback. may be combi is out then..

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO SWEETIE ADRIENNE!

hope all the sick babies recover soon... poor thing..

ecookie,
i think 400ml+ per day is perfectly alright if bb not feeling well... zq's milk intake now abt 500-600ml per day, i changed back to enfagrow though.. sometimes he also reject milk on n off but i try to "see open", and remind myself that milk is only supplement now... more important is he takes solid well loh.. and he's teething now, so more difficult to feed him milk, i think he hates the teat, so i spoonfeed him milk sometimes as well... no worry abt yz's milk intake now, it will get better soon..

doobom,
zq's smile got sot tio u or not? haa...
i think he likes u too, keep smiling so sweetly at u... buay tahan... and hor, i notice that jerry and zq got abit similarity in their looks leh..

jas,
i also waiting EAGERLY for the photos!!!
the photographer said he need to touch up and editing leh coz many of them... i wait till neck long long liao... :p

bbwow,
bluff J to drink milk wi cereal possible? our boys just dun like milk... shang nao jing...

gingerleaf: thanks for the explanation. i think yz really got this rosella thingy. his fever is finally gone on day 6.. was wondering why the fever on off for so long. and the rashes really come out from end day 4 but not alot mainly on his back/buttocks and some on arms.. then the cold n cough set in ard day 4 too.

karrie: he just drank ard 400+ml mikl yest without any food! see food/milk/water like dun know see wat. will start screaming n pushing away things. the milk/water is we force-fed one and always ended up him crying.

but yest middle of night, we dream-fed him and he managed to down 150ml and this morn he saw the bottle not so fussy and finish the 150ml as well. maybe the appetite for milk coming back. will ask my mum to feed him rice cereal later for lunch.. been like 4-5 days of no solids for him! dun dare to even weigh him now. surely slim down quite abit. *heartpain*

aria jo,

I have carried her in beco for quite some time b4. But carried too long will also hurt.

Maybe if you are keen, can swtich carrying her with hb. But its not advisable to carry baby in carriers too long also. For bjorn is becoz of bb's spinal development. Beco/ergo never say, but imo, it'll be too hot for bb anyway.

Beco/ergo can also be used for tods up to 20kg. It also have baby insert for beco, so maybe can use for ur 2nd one. Bjorn more suitable for infant and lighter babies.

If you are keen to get a beco, can PM our balloon expert(u know who. Cannot put down her name.) to see if she still have stocks.

zq gave me the greatest shock of life yesterday!!!

when he had his noon nap on my bed in the MBR, i was surfing net at living room and my ma was at kitchen... then we heard some noise sounds and were shocked to see zq was climbing and reached kitchen doorway already!!!

we were so shocked! how did he come down from my bed? how he overcome all the hurdles (walls of pillows)? how did he climb down the steps in my bedroom? head down or leg down 1st? coz he never dare to climb down from my bed before, always sit on the verge and make noise waiting for me to rescue... and this time he managed to come down himself and climb all the way to kitchen!!! omg...

then my ma and me kept asking him "how u come down? how u... how u...?" of coz he couldnt answer and give his usual cheeky smile! :p

ecookie,
dun fret so much k. All mummies feel so heartpain when their babies dun eat. But then when adult is sick, they dun crave to eat too. So guess its the same for the little ones. Im sure he'll start eating well again! Cheer up!
Me still hoping to see some rashes from lyn, coz not sure if she is having rosela or not. So far her throat still isnt red(pd say if throat is red is due to coughing), but at night when she sleeps, she hacks on and off. Wakey from sleep sure hacks. Cry too much also hacks. Hope its juz a normal cough and nuthin much coz we are leaving on Sunday. *x fingers*

dodo,

walls of pillow isnt safe anymore. Lyn can climb over all this n even down the bed n crawl a distance with herself in the dreambag!

Oh, Im gg to PM u now.

dodo: must be more careful next time, now they will crawl over all kinda barriers!

gingerleaf: hope lyn will get well soon. yz will also cough when he wakes up n during his sleep. sometimes will wake himself up and started crying pitifully. let her drink more water. its good that lyn likes water!

omg..dodo,it is really amazing.. did you ever train zq how to climb down from bed?

i still trying to teach anders how to climb down, what should be the proper way? face the bed then leg down or face the ceiling then leg down?

btw, any babies sleeping on their own in baby cot/room?

ecookie,

you can try putting a bottle of water beside YZ. I learnt that from sugar_nut. hehe.
now, J also can find the bottle at night and drink himself! It's really amazing how these kids figure out themselves. I'll put a full bottle and next day only left half.

dodo,
zq improve liao. my fussy boy still don't like milk. now his total intake still 300ml. and I think he hates Gain IQ cause when I switch, he'll taste the milk and give me the yuck look then refuse to drink. grrrr!

ponponta,
J has been sleeping in baby cot since birth and his own room since 8 months. I like the arrangement cause 1) he doesn't wake me up with all his tossing cause I'm a light sleeper, 2) We don't wake him up when we prepare for work

ponponta,

I taught lyn to go down the bed by back crawl.
She must be on her stomach, then I grab her leg n imitate the wriggling backwards action, to gentle guide her down now. Before her feet touches the ground, I will let go, coz wanna let her feel that she is wriggling down on her own. So when she touches the ground on her own, she will know thats the way to come down. I taught her many many many times in a day and it took her a few days to master the trick. Its very easy, Im sure Anders will pick it up soon.

Lyn have been sleeping in her own cot in her room since birth.

ecookie,
yeah manz, heng she likes to drink water. Else i also headache.

ponponta,
bring anders to my hse n i will teach him.hahaha
i use 2days to teach sherry the proper way to come down from high mattress with my scolding n demonstration and it is successful.
face bed and leg down. if he want to use hand come down, u prevent his hand fr coming down n at the same time, u shift his leg down. do these step till he learn this skill of coming down.

aiyoh, so many bb sick. hope all babies recover fast. scare will be sherry turn to fall sick cos everytime when i heard alot of bb fall sick, then 2 weeks later sure sherry will fall sick too.

Saw many of u bought the nepia pampers, so i did too. But it was all in Japanese...i cant understand. Can someone enlighten me wats the sticker behind the back of the pampers for? Mine is a pull up pants. Thank you.

Baby sleeping alone:
After Dayan's birthday on Sunday, i gg to start to train him to sleep alone in his cot though same room. I am really very scared leh. This joker can cry for hours till u come to him. I have made the biggest mistake to co-sleep with me since 1st day. He is a super light sleeper, everything we do must be quiet..if not he will wake up. I often describe even an ant must lifted up its four legs to tiptoe to walk pass him. Plus stupid airplanes that fly by daily scare him off! Its really gonna be a big challenge to me!!! Hope i can succeed if not i die if the 2nd one comes out!

long time no drop by to say hello! :D

drowned in marking like karrie. 1 more stack just came in. sigh... can't wait for the sch term to end. so many things to do...

read tat so many babies sick... poor thing, hope everyone's babes will recover fast.

my boy also had a throat infection and threw up a few times over the weekend so brought him to PD. he's better now but still have to dilute his milk and porridge so that he can swallow easily. meantime, he's quarantined at home. hope he recovers in time for his b'day celebration this weekend.

re: birthday celebration
v.impressed by the efforts that you mummies put to throw a lovely b'day bash for your little one and even prepare little part bags for your guests. love hippo's cake. so cute!

haha... my boy's celebration v.v.simple. just gonna have dinner at restaurant for 20 family members and relatives (2 tables) and a cake. no frills. :D

dodo
ur boy really v.smart hor. how he did that, only he knows! must have gave you all a huge shock, thankfully he made his way safely down, really a v.smart boy!

ponponta
haha.. i also trying to teach my boy to climb downwards the safe way, not headlong crash down. like tiffy and gingerleaf, i angle his legs down but once his legs go down, he start to climb back up again onto the bed. faint! :D but recently, he's getting the hang of it after practising and practising for so long. sometimes he gets it right, sometimes he still prefers to dive head fast into his mattress beside the bed.

my boy recently loves his mattress alot coz i put lots of pillows/bolster around to buffer his movement as he rolls, don't want his head to hit the floor and he really loves to dig his head into/under the pillows and eats his bolster. so cute! reminds me of piglets wriggling and digging in the mud and he's a piglet! :D

sharz.. re nepia, u rolled the soiled diaper & pull out the sticker to affix it b4 disregard it...

tiffy.. choi choi choi.. sherry will b fine..

ecookie/garden_dreamz.. hopy yz rosela goes off soon & ph's throat infection recovers fast..

gingerleaf.. cant imagine lyn crawling/walking in the dreambag, must b v 'cartoon'!! keke..

dodo..tat's amazing!! tink zq must b v 'de2 yi4' now cos leaving u & ur mama in puzzled how he find his way crawling to the kitchen! hahaha..

hippo...happy bd to 'da yan mei'!

Sharz,

The green sticker behind is the back part(butt).
When the diaper is soiled and you need to change it, tear along the side seams on both side or one side(up to you), roll up the diaper n pull out the tape to affix b4 you discard.

Tiff,
<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">CHOY! CHOY! CHOY!!!</font></font>

Jas,
If dayan cannot make it, then train 2nd one to do so. When dayan is older, you can tease him that didi can sleep alone, but korkor cannot. Who knows? Soon he'll want to prove something to you, and sleep alone too.

Hmm, if dayan is a light sleeper... how did didi came abt?? KAKAKAKAKAK. =p

Eh, I seldom hear planes on my side leh. 1st few years used to hear it often every afternn(have been staying here for 6 years liao).

Something interesting to share. Lengthy but extremely interesting.

Toddlers' moods can change as quickly — and with as little warning — as the weather. There are about a million reasons why your child might be pushing you away (or suddenly seem desperate for a snuggle). While the best advice is usually just to wait it out like a thunderstorm, here's a list of some of the more common reasons your toddler might be acting standoffish and how to respond:

He's had a bad day.
Just like grown-ups, kids have days when all they want to do is crawl under a rock and stay there. While the issues may be less complex than those adults face, disappointment and frustration can bring out the loner in a toddler. Maybe he didn't get a turn on the swing at the park or he got reprimanded at daycare. Either way, he doesn't want your hugs or cuddles to make him feel better.

How to respond: Respect his desire for distance but let him know that you're there if he wants your help. He may just have to lick his wounds on his own and will seek you out after he's done pouting.

He's recovering from a tantrum.
If he pushes you away right after you've disciplined him with a time-out or by taking away something he wanted, it's common sense: His feelings have been hurt and he wants you to know it. Or maybe he's just tired — screaming and collapsing on the floor in misery can take a lot out of a person.

How to respond: First, accept that he's entitled to feel disappointed. Think about how you feel after a fight with your spouse or best friend — you probably need some time before you're ready to make up. Your toddler is no different.

Before you give your toddler space, show him that you understand his feelings: "You don't want to talk to Mama because you're mad that she didn't let you run in the parking lot, right?" Let him know that you'll be there for him when he feels like a hug. Assure him that no matter what, you still love him — even if he broke the rules.

He's upset with you and doesn't know how to say it.
Toddlers' emotional lives are complex — they can express their feelings but can't yet explain them. Maybe you've been away on a business trip and he missed you but is angry that you were gone. Or perhaps he's upset that you've spent most of the day with your new baby. Whatever the situation may be, his feelings overwhelm him but he doesn't know how to let you know what's going on.

How to respond: If you suspect that there's an underlying reason for your child's rejection, talk to him. Ask him questions in a gentle manner — "Are you feeling like I don't spend enough time with you?" — and accept his responses without judgment.

It may hurt to hear that he's angry or upset with you (he may say, "Mean mommy," for instance), but remember that his feelings aren't permanent. By talking to you, he's trying to make sense of them.

He may be going through an "independent" phase.
At age 1 your child may have seemed glued to your lap. As he gets older he may refuse to even let you near his block tower. This could be because he needs you less, because he's testing you to see if you'll be steadfast in your love if he tries pushing you away, or simply because he's going through a busy stage where his focus is elsewhere (and you're just interrupting his learning time with your requests for kisses).

How to respond: Try not to take his rebuffs too seriously. He still loves you but may not need your hugs and kisses as much right now. If it seems like you're bothering him when he's hard at work, save your hugs and kisses for bedtime or when he's not so occupied. As long as he's sure you adore him, he'll know where to find you when he's in a cuddly mood.

He's in a Daddy-favoring (or Mommy-favoring) phase.
He's acting up with you and is just peachy keen with his papa — or vice versa.

How to respond: It's normal for kids to go through phases of clinginess or rejection with each parent, especially if one of you is working outside the home full-time. But if you think your child's change in attitude means something more significant, look at your and your partner's behavior. Do either of you somehow encourage this favoritism?

It could be that without realizing it, you're acting annoyed every time your husband comes home or you're suddenly lavishing your son with affection. Does your husband expect your child to run to him with open arms, when it's really more your toddler's style to warm up slowly?

He may not be the touchy-feely type.
Even if you're very affectionate, your child is his own person and may not have inherited this trait.

How to respond: If your toddler seems distant, you may have to simply accept him for who he is. Instead of acting hurt, let your child lead the way when it comes to affection. Chances are that even if he has a more self-reliant temperament, he'll still need a hug or a kiss once in a while — when he's upset or scared, for instance.

Try to read his reactions, and if you think he's open to it, offer him your affection. He'll take you up on it when he's ready.

He isn't feeling well.
Your normally cuddly toddler is suddenly impatient and testy, pushing you away when you expect him to embrace you.

How to respond: If it's a really striking shift, consider a check-up at the pediatrician's office. It could be a physical issue, such as a newly developed allergy or some other illness.

He's experiencing real anger or distress — and acting out inappropriately.
Some toddlers can occasionally cross the line, and their rejection becomes physically violent (pushing, hitting, or biting, for example).

How to respond: Even if it isn't especially painful, it's important to take a very definite stand against any sort of violent outburst. For a toddler, this means setting a clear and simple consequence: "No. Mommy doesn't like that. If you do that, I'll have to put you down / take you home / take it away." Then make sure to follow through.

Hi Hi,

anyone interested in the below?? New, not worn, wrong size bought.
Interested parties, pls email me @ [email protected]

Item 1 - Size 90 - $30
1773310.jpg

Item 2 - Size 90 - $28
1773311.jpg

Sorry if I've jammed your thread...

hi mummies, thanks for your experience in guiding your bb down.. i must be more stern and teach him the right way..

anders is now sleeping in his own cot but in the same room as us..middle of the night, he will cry and want his pacifier.. den i must get up and pass him his pacifier haiz... the cot seemed very small for him, as he tend to turn 180 degrees around.. can find his leg or hand sticking of the cot at times.. haha...

ponponta, i called during weekend, think their shop is closed, winnie left a message to say only open in oct 8 or 9, i can't remember hehe..

this morning i called also no answer.. so let's try again tomorrow

chintz, i also called on weekend, they will be back on 7 oct after 1pm.. hm..

just keep trying.. i wanted to buy the play yards.. heehee

thanks mummy. tats what my maid did after figuring out for a few days. But i heard pull up pants is also diaper trained pants u see.. so, i was wondering if it got some indicator to that... ah..now, i know... my maid is smarter than me... kua kua

gingerleaf/junnie,
it's true. for 3 times liao. Everytime i read from forum alot bb fall sick, then 2 weeks later sure sherry turn to fall sick. I also hope she won't fall sick lah but seem like most bb near 1yr old will fall sick before their bday leh.

dodo,
Yes lah. ZQ gives me the little prince charming feeling. In what way u think Jerry n ZQ are similar? OMG... ZQ is with innocent and little prince charming look. Jerry har? He is with the super duper cheeky and playful look.
Similarity, maybe with their climbing skills. @ least ZQ make gd use to his climbing skills. U can witness Jerry's spiderman skills @ his blog. I really surrender.

Gingerleaf,
Jerry is just in his real BUSY stage. Starting to ignore me, makes me feel like I am an extra. Like his shadow, following him everywhere he goes.

gingerleaf,
keke, yes, i know who you're refering to

dodo,
clap clap for ZQ! so smart can climb down liao..son, he'll join the gang that can walk liao