(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

gingerleaf, hmm.. u just provided some food for thought.. i dunno if my parenting method is any parenting method at all.. for me n hb, we dun bother with these stuff. cos there's simply too many pple at home fighting to dote on & spoil her. however, these very same pple are also the ones who will not hesitate to smack & scold her when she is rude or has done something wrong.

and we dun blink an eye or stop them cos we do the same to my cousins when they need disciplining. i always say i m spoilt but i know for sure my manners when needed. and this reali has to do with upbringing. i tink itz really abt striking a fine balance between protecting & spoiling & disciplining. i am grateful so far for the disciplining done but I WILL NOT tolerate if it is not out of good intentions. =D

thanks gingerleaf for the kind reminder... made me pause & tink.. cos i never bothered.. haaha!

aria,
i'm using Mac and I couldn't find paint in my laptop

gingerleaf: yah good point will take note. for me my mum is the disciplinarian. but she wont tolerate if i bully other pple. so i think its abt instilling the right values so even if the mummy not ard, the kid will know what is the "right" things to do.

discipline should be a complimentary tool not the essential tool i feel. imparting right values n manners still the most impt!

Finally got chance to read...

Gingerleaf,
I'd already send in my order liao leh. But if you need the desitin, i got order 1 creamy and 1 original extra.

sanbebe,
wow ... you and hubby powerful siah ..try everyday. Thought suppose to try alternate day to have 'fresh load'.

sugar nut,
yah ..especially for private sector company.. already I saw some post in newspaper forum that pregnant women is a liability. I heng .. stat board.

re: marble dropping sound ...
The website give some talks about it. the possible answer is right at the bottom of the page

http://www.api.sg/main/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=95&Itemid=1

dreamz,
Now I see more from your post, I hope you are not offended in any way from my earlier post. I just thought sometime could be 当局者迷。 It difficult to handle mother in law since it would 'involve' our hubby. I would agree in this case that your hubby shouldn't ask you to quit because of just that one day thing - a bit over reacted. I sincerely hope that things can work out between you, hubby and MIL. Maybe, interim .. you can take leave on the day that your MIL is suppose to come ? So that it change from "i don't want you to come ....to I don't need since I'm home" or try look for 1 day a week day care , or baby sitter ?

bbwow,
if don't change than guess you have to complain to town council or neighbourhood police liao lor.

ecookie,
My mum started to look after Caelen at the age of coming to 61 (her birthday in Dec) last year. She does say it's very tiring, lucky got my dad to help look after.

bbwow,
tell them "no worries, I can handle on my own. I also want to try to be independant. If anything, for sure I'll call you for help"
That what I tell my PIL whenever my hubby is oversea.

totoro_bb,
I love Kelly's eyes !!!!!

RE: Stroller BP Thread,
Lioele replied my email. She say moderator remove due copyright (I think it's the pictures) so she will email us today or tomorrow and update us instead

Hippo,
Can buy high floor...just don't buy the highest one can liao. High floor got lesser mosquitoes and insects.

totoro_bb,
if want outdoor, you need to have backup plan in case of rain lah.

I agree with gingerleaf too. I also tell my family. Do scold / beat if it's for his good. I also believe spare the rod, spoil the child. And I believe, "it only people who love you would bother to discipline you when you'd done wrong. If I don't love you, why I bother?".

Oh, one more thing... courtesy..
I feel upset that more and more children like don't know what is courtesy ..take things for granted. Simple things like saying thank you when someone help to hold the lift doors open for you or even to help hold the lift door open for others. Sad to say, even the parents are not setting the example. As a matter of fact, most of the time, it's the grandparent who say 'thank you' or tell the grandchild that they must say thank you.

junnie,

yea..wonder why we got such horri-gi-ble neighbours!!! *shows fist to them*

jovial,
you handled caelen alone when hubby was away? So you fetch him thru & fro huh? Wah..how you do that?

jovialz, courtesy??? in sg? i always tink i m the rare species who's like an idiot going around saying thank u to aunties who clean the tables at foodcourts, taxi uncles after they send me back, pple who hold the lift & the door.. i dun mind saying thank you and i always do it very gladly cos it makes pple's day!! =D

BUT!!! there are bleddy idiots out there who know nuts abt doing the same!!! i have held lift doors for pple to come in and stare at me like i m some freaking lift service person. i have held the doors for pple to think i m the doorman.. sigh.. and kids not saying thank you? itz just so sad..

i have "scolded" some parents before at jurong point. The library used to be on the 6th floor. and there was once i needed to go to the 5th floor. i held the lift door for some parents n their kids and they are obviously gg to the library. guess wat? they just walked in, stared at me and expected the lift door to open n close just as they wish without lifting a finger. i turned around n told my hb very loudly.. "watz e point of bringing ur kids to the library and read so many books when u dun even teach them basic manners???" and walked out on 5th floor. i was PISSED! but felt so great.. i just hope they will think abt it.. haha..

hey i was just looking thru baby YZ photos, think he not as chubby as last time. maybe cos of height sprut. hmm. so sad. he looks really v chubby when he's 3-6m old!

saw this new infant / childcare centre website. it's located at Buangkok (near sengkang)opening in Sept 08
http://www.merculearning.com/images/slideshow/KMBflyer.pdf

<table border=1><tr><td>infant care (upto 18th mth)</TD><TD>Monthly Fee (B4 subsidy)</TD><TD>Monthly fee (After subsidy) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Full day</TD><TD>$900 </TD><TD>$500 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Half day</TD><TD>$700 </TD><TD>$500 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
*MCYS subsidy is $400 (full day) &amp; $200 (half day) for working parents

<table border=1><tr><td>child care (18th mth - 30 mth)</TD><TD>Monthly Fee (B4 subsidy)</TD><TD>Monthly fee (After subsidy) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Full Day</TD><TD>$550 </TD><TD>$400 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Half Day </TD><TD>$375 </TD><TD>$400 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
*MCYS subsidy is $150 (full day) &amp; $75 (half day) for working parents

no lah hippo, where got ah san adri, still chubby just that they are really at their peaks few mths ago..
so cute when they got thunder thighs hor. now yz like got lean arms/forearms but thighs still thick lah..

bbwow,
Actually, I start looking after my 2 dogs and baby alone when Caelen 6 week to 8 weeks old (hubby is in town but working during the day). But since I return back to work, Caelen stays with my mum from monday morning to friday evening. I'll bring him back home on friday night and kept him till monday morning then send him back. So I insist that this arrangement should not be changed even when hubby is away.

Our parent / in law do get 'worried' when hubby is not ard and wonder if we can handle on our own. Thus, over the month, I establish the independance ... thru little things. like going to change baby alone at shopping mall, bring him back alone while hubby is away etc. After a while, they gain confidence and will not ask you to stay over unless you request to. Remember, generally, it's out of love and goodwill that they ask you to stay over

Hippo,
Like that say, I also special species. I also say thank you to cleaner...others...and every morning greet the HDB cleaning aunty... *no wonder my floor alway quite clean*
I agree that it make people's day... I always see the table cleaners smile back when you show appreciation.

re: discipline
i'm also a firm believer of spare the rod, spoil the child too. and i don't mind others punishing hannah either if she does something obviously wrong or dangerous. guess the only concern about others disciplining is what they deem to be inappropriate behaviour or what they consider appropriate punishment.

re: courtesy
sigh... it's almost non-existent in singapore. dunno how many doors have "slammed" on my face, because the person before doesn't have the courtesy to hold it open. ah well...

re: Fetching baby,
Seems some of you not confidence in drving around with baby alone.

At 1st they might make noise and cry.
1) Just turn around and peep if they are ok when it's safe to do it (i.e at traffic lights).
2) If yes, just tell yourself to concentrate on the road...ask yourself..which is worst, to shift your eyes away from the road and risk getting into an accident or baby have sore throat?
3) Keep telling baby that your need to concentrate on the road (don't turn head back)
4) After a few times, somehow they'll know.
5) Can help by having some toys (ideally can be attached to something so that they won't drop onto the floor) to keep them occupied.
6) Play music or children songs.
7) Suggest you practice doing this once a while so that at least when there is an emergency, you could be confidence enough to pop in the car and go (without having to wait for someone or taxi to come and fetch you.

zhen_zhen: thats why my eyes sparkle when i saw her then n straight away carry her once i got chance! LOL

and u said she doesnt like pple carry her hor. but she likes me leh. or so i think..hiaks

ecookie, adri reali lost quite alot of her fats.. she's pretty small size liao le.. though her thishs still 'ba ba'! dun u just love their thighs? keke..

jovialz, confirm! if u can do dat, u are reali one of the rare species cos i always look out for such pple with my hb.. the 'results' quite pathetic.. but nvm! we must remind ourselves we have to be different cos it feels good.. and we have to teach our children the same...
thanks for the tips on driving with baby alone! must try it one day...

zhen zhen, very good! i wish for more 'thunderous' thighs from adri ah.. hahahaha..

just to add on to jovial's points - if they make noise, stay calm, focus on the road and DON'T TURN AROUND!

ecookie, she was in quite a good mood that day. but think you also got friendly face, that's why she took to you.

bye ecookie ... haha always in time to say bye to you ...

zhen &amp; gingerleaf good point man ... me too spare the rod, spoil the child i break at least 10 rod liao pengz haha too think not good but now cannot find thin rod ... so ex liao 50 cents each man ...

Zhen &amp; Esther .. am wait ing for one day i can put Carlson on the car seat ... he nvr try be4 how ... hmmm so i need my maid to be around ALL the time when i drive ... aiyo so sad and bad man ... got to start SOON liao ... .

Ok going off soon ... going IMM tonight anyone ??? Call me haha

jovial, zhen zhen,

thanks for the tip. yea. I've been driving J thru &amp; fro a few times on my own already. sometimes when hubby's away for a day trip. so I have no worries on that. Except for the 1st day I mixed the CTE exit and ended up at a place I never been to! emergency call to my hubby to direct me back! hahahah

hippo,
im the rare species too leh. heheheh Dun say till we so rare la, there are many others out there that mind their 'please' and 'thanks' too

gingerleaf, wahaha! quite rare ma.. hmm.. how huh? we are the weird species? haha! i know alot of pple who do la.. but not alot ma.. =P

oh! one thing i know for sure though.. oct07 mummies all very nice! so we are the gang of aliens? oops...

zhen zhen, bbwow, jovial.. i must keep ur 'driving tips' in mind thou i hvnt got a chance to drive yet!!

cm..u go shopping @IMM arrr?? thot u suppose to go home &amp; cook for ur kids &amp; maid???

finally get my stupid bridging done few wks back..nxt tues i go 'cut' my gum extract wisdom tooth.. soooo scare arrrr... any lunch appt going on nxt week? if hv &amp; if i got mc &amp; time suitable, can popby to join u all provided face not swollen like pighead thou i might not b able to eat so well!

hippo,
we are a grp of rare species then!! Can exhibit liao!
Hehhe

Junnie,
cut gum take our wisdom not pain one!! But ur mouth will feel too numb to eat. I suggest gg home better ba. That time after my extraction, I kept drooling. hehehe.

gingerleaf.. hahaha.. u thot i say nxt tues lunch arrr?? no lah.. of cos i knw cant eat &amp; will drool like hell!! i mean later part next week la, if i still on mc can go gai gai w u gals mah... anyway, i tink of the needle i alr 'gar lun jun' lo no need to say extraction!!

bye bye i going home liao...

bbwow,
you need a GPS navigation or at least a street directory

CM,
Should try and put carlson in car seat, SAFETY !

Hippo,
Gang of aliens ....hahahaha...

gingerleaf,
i agree, i cannot tahan the screeching sound from the dental tool during cleaning of plague compare to tooth extraction... eeeeek.

jovialz
haha... me not offended about ur input at all. instead it got me thinking also. yes, i admit i was a bit extreme not to allow my IL over. coz i felt that though she comes in just 1 day, gives comments and starts a conflict btw hubby n me then she's off. rest of the week we've to patch things up, compromise. when everything is fine by weekend, she comes in on 1 weekday and things go haywire again.

its this non-stop weekly bickering then compromising then bickering then compromising, roller coaster ride that drives me up the wall.

zhen zhen
thx for the tips. i've decided that to avoid being deemed as 'heartless' by hubby's side, have decided to give things a last try. if she comes in and starts to give her point of view, in her sugar coated reason of caring for the baby, i'll just firmly tell her that i'm the child's mother, i'm also concern for the child and that i will not do things that will harm the child. i guess i've to be firm when it comes to issues dealing with my child. and part time infant care option is feasible...

on that line, i do agree with some of the points raised about discipline. i see alot of students acting like there's 'no government' in schools nowadays. such problem students often stem from lack of proper family support and intervention. when they are not properly disciplined as a child, they grow up having the incorrect values and behaviour. there's a fine line to thread between what's right and wrong. thus, in short, as far as possible, we have to see things from not just the adult but the child's point of view and not tell the child straight away that he's wrong but to reason with the child and let him realise the consequences of his actions.

bbwow
ur post about getting lost while driving was v.cute. that's my greatest nightmare when comes to driving. i'm so worried that i'll miss a turn. if i ever do get lost, i'll freak out. commented to hubby that i wanna get GPS but he refuse and told me to read maps. i can't read map n drive at the same time! i'm not a multi-tasker while on the road. :D thus, when comes to unfamiliar routes, i rather take public transport than drive!

Dreams, haha try driving with a wailing baby in tow! Screws up whatever navigation skills u have. My hubby still suan me. We've been using that route everyday. How could I have missed it.

Glad u have things sorted out. It's not easy to deal with elders ESP when they dun have eq. But never let them sour yr relationship with hubby. So not worth it.

I got good sense of direction!!! but I cant drive! So everytime I'll sit behind n nag my hb why go this way when we could have gone another way to cut fuel n time.
Heheheh, he'll always shut me up with " U come n drive!"

Junniez,
forgot to reply u. yes, Im a light sleeper and yes, I sleep very late, thats why I can hear all thsi funny noises.

Jovialz,
me dun need desitin, got 2 tubes liao. Me need the little tooth brush for 1st teeth. But I dun wanna buy the whole set with toothpaste, juz need the toothbrush nia. Mine got mildew at the edge liao.
By the way, dun sell any excess stock u may have in WTS or anywhere. Many ppl got suspended for selling ready stocks/excess liao.

nowadays I can't drive with Jae alone in the car seat. She will fuss and cry thru out the whole journey. It is really very stressful!
But I found a solution to it! I let her watch her favourite show in the car. And cheapo mummy didn't buy the proper in-car DVD player instead use the PSP, downloaded all her favourite shows and tie it onto the front headrest.
Result - No more crying!

Last time before pregnant, whenever I saw car with the in-car entertainment, playing cartoon for the kids sitting behind, I always think the children are so pampered! In the car also want to watch cartoon, so spoilt! But now, I understand, this is for the safety of the children. At least now she will kwai kwai sit there and watch.

eil,
Jav also acting likewise !!!! Nowadays he also fuss and cry whenever I put him in the car seat. He used to be ok in his car seat playing his toys but until recently he starts to protest and cry. Hopefully it's just a phase and it'll be over soon.

driving w bb alone,

initially v scary leh, even a short distance from my MIL place to my place (10mins), he will cry non stop.. that when he is v young, 3-4 mths. Now is better, he can self entertained.

Just remember, never stop the car 4 them. Bbies r smart.. once u do it, they will come up with the same pattern again and again. Mummies can practice first mah, drive wit yr hubbies, but put bbies alone at the back.

sanbebe,

is the belts too tights, sometime they grow too fast that we forgotten to losen thier belts and is v uncomfortablefor them leh.

map readings,

dun ned GPS sys, read maps will do. Have the habit and planning the road beofre driving...

Im v bad driver, i can read map, talk on phone, eat my meal while driving leh..

I alway took wrong road too. Spore road system v stupid. the address states stret 41, but u can only enter by ave 3 etc... haha

discipine children.

My stand is that is the job of the parents. I can undersand that u smack him if he is doing something dangerous but u cannt smack my child cos his behaviour is not to yr liking. I dun limit my child at home that he cannpt touch tis and that.. of course when he is at my MIL place, he will do that..

if he get smacked doing someting that is 'OK-ed" by his parents, kids will grow up as aconfused child. He will learn to jian feng shi duo.

i got no problem when my MIL discipine birg, cos she is his care giver when im not around, she has the right to do that. But not my BIL!!

sorry been mia for very long.. been reallee busy with work and clare. find it more and more tiring to juggle work and bb.. (thinking real hard hope i can possibly cope with a no 2. maybe should stop at 1??)

anyway, need advice from mummies who's feeding soy based milk or goat milk to their bb now. feeding milk to clare has been a diffcult battle everyday. she will start crying or moaning when she sees the milk bottle coming and we hv to force feed her to get her to drink dat 100ml of milk. these few days, the average milk feed with me is only 50ml.

tried changing the formula brand and it's the same. hv this feelin dat she doesnt like formula milk.

thinking of getting alteratives for her. wat brand of soy-based milk is good?
is it recommended for them to take goat milk now?

gngerleaf,

u r lucky mah.. dun have to handle bbies alone. When ever hb oversea, i will have to sent brig to my MIL place in the morning, pick him up aft work.. so im used to it. Still have to bring him for class, visit my parents, shopping etc...

he cry i will let him cry.. but i will talk to him hoping to calm him down.. haha

Once i picked him up from AMK, he cried non stop till bedok (traffic jam, he hate when the car kept on stopping)

sign

brought clare to the movie theatre for the 2nd time last sunday! 1st time was months ago and we din dare to try till last week.

hubby wanted to bring his family to watch "money no enuff" and so we booked the morning slot which coincide with her naptime. Thankfully, she slept 1.5 hours and we absolutely enjoyed the movie!

so super duper glad that she's so cooperative

jovialz,

PIL r like that. My MIL initially sugges to keep brig with her overnight when ever hb is oversea, i rejected. Nowaday, she never suggest liao. Put with her whole day, i dun have the confidence in my BIL.. haa

Jacq,

soy milk is not reco for long time consumption. Soly milk has not lactose (if i remember correctly). Once bbies r 1yr, can give them fresh milk instead. But is upto individual, most locals r not comfortable giving fresh milk.... but as long as u can provide the bbies with the needed nutirents in his solid meals, milk is just to supplement calcium etc only.

goat milk got fresh milk to... can order from hay farm.. v fresh