(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

I have seen multicolour stools before as well and distinctively I know the orange one is the carrot !!!
Looks like it is difficult to be digested hor.

Anyone feed fish to bb already?

sanbebe
What kind of fish?
Am thinking of Cod fish but if just steam with ginger, no taste one right?

Wanted to do the ikan bilis powder for her, heard it's good on calcium but how long should we soak it in water to remove the salt? Then still have to sun, can oven dry or not??

totoro_bb (totoro_bb) steam the cob fish is also nice ... sweet ...

you can soak for about an hour can liao but need to wash and change water ... can use oven to dry ...

bbwow,
Sorry I din answer your question regarding sleeping any sooner.
Like what doobom has mentioned, it's most likely due to over-simulation or over-tiredness. These are 2 of the reasons that cause baby not sleeping well and waking up in the night.

Normally if Jav is tired, I'll just let him sleep but I control the timing. Btw, are you following any routine or do you create a routine for J? I think routine is good for both you and J. Babies like routine. They don't like surprises. They like to know what happens next. So they feel good and more secure with a routine.

Currently I'm following Gina Ford's routine and I find Jav behaves and sleeps better after following the routine.

aria_jo,
yes, i saw some high chairs selling near the front of the fair...but really never see the brands or price...sorry!!

so can I used ginger to take away the fishy smell???
Carrefour having promo on cod fish, still tinking shld I walk over and buy for her.

unice
wahh... u so fast cheong down to the fair to take a look at their stuff already...how much was the cereal that you bought from the fair?

unice,
thank you
it's ok, just need to make sure there are high chairs so that it's not a wasted trip.

any mummies going to the fair on saturday later afternoon?

cm,
the vomit is it a lot of just a bit? my girl also occasionally vomit a bit and only happens when we carry her and shake her a bit or when she's on her tummy.. may be eat too much..hehe...

totoro, i have tried ikan bilis powder, white bait and recently sea bass. i just use whatever my MIL buys/prepares. just pop into the porridge when it's almost done. never cook separately. not sure if this is the best way though...

garden_dreamz,
the cereal i got were 2 boxes for $7.
got the gerber snacks 2 for $10.
oso got the porridge pack, 2 boxes for $5

Sanbebe, ya I saw the karihom goat milk powder. If i didnt rem wrongly, it is situated on the left hand side (coming in from entrance).
but didnt check out price lei..

unice
the porridge pack is it suitable for our bb at this age? Need to cook or instant type?

hmm Gerber stars - Kelly's fav so might go down to buy that
Anyone knows whether eating this kind of snacks good or not huh ?? Does it have any benefits?

totoro,
the porridge pack is for 8months and above.the ingredients are similar to what i cook for Sean lei..
regarding instructions, i can only try to recall as I left the packets in the car...we just have to boil the water, then add a sachet into boiling water.stir for few minutes, then ready to serve..
i tasted their sample there too...not so salty i feel, so should be ok if dun eat for long period of time...only got 2 packets, enough for the trip lo..cannot buy too much, else i will be lazy n not cook fresh food for sean heehee..

ecookie, yes, there are many diapers on discounts... i saw pampers, nepia, drypers, huggies...and one new brand which i really cant recall haha..but i didnt buy any of those as I get my stock of diapers from previous NTUC promotions liao..

milk powder: Saw Nan and Friso got promotion...

I am not too sure about this cheap milk powder thingy as well. My husband got the link from his colleague. And I just got the info today.

sanbebe~hi there,i'm nov mommy and just browsing thru the oct thread.My girl hv been drinking karihome for 5 months now and we got ours at the punggol plaza.buy 12 get 1 tin free and with 10 or 15% off the total so its cheaper than outside prices.if u need the number u can pm or e-mail me la

WAH! looks like the fair is a must go for discounted stuff!

totoro,
the snacks generally not very nutritious but I know for gerber stars is to train bb to feed themselves with small finger food. so should be ok if feed once in a while.

zhenzhen... sorry, missed ur post. went to expo and came then I saw ur post. I was there at around 3-4pm. I think I saw one Oct Mummies, look familiar but really dunno who?? Haahahaa

Expo.. nothing much to offer, the usual retailers.. But I stock up some "L" size pampers!

Papers Comfort L size $41.60 for a case of 4 packs.

Gingerleaf,
Hope Lyn gets well soon. Do stop the steriod as soon as possible. By the way, the steriod is to relief the itch.

http://www.skincarephysicians.com/eczemanet/steroids.html

I guess Lyn's case of eczema is simlar to Caelen (due heat). Personally I use the california baby's calming bath to bath him 2x a day. Apply the Calming Botanical moisturier after each bath. Then should I see any dry patch (even before it become red) I would apply the calendula cream.

I would say that after doing these, Caelen completely clear of his Eczema and it had never come back to itch him for more than half a year. Last time when I use the PD's steriod, the only relieve a short while then come back again when I stop the medication.

totoro_bb,
I'd only tried Ikan Bilis powder. Dare not try fish yet. Caelen also like the Garber Star (so does my dogs ... they wait eagerly beneath his highchair and hope that he would drop a few for them ... hahahah..).

I agree with BBwow, normally will put on the table of the high chair for Caelen to try to pick it up himself. Sigh ,,, he only know how to grab but dunno how to put into his mouth. So I end up taking it from him and put in his mouth.

Ueno,
hmm.... maybe if I can remember, I'll try and take a photo if how I carry Caelen sleeping with the hood

CM,

You tried feeding lesser each time ? And keep him at 30 - 45 degrees after each feed for about 30 mins to let the gravity help to keep the milk down? What did the doctors say ?

Jovialz
Her eczema is inherited from daddy. She's got abit of skin prob since birth till now, juz that now is very jialat.
Thanks to everyone who's been sharing abt their experiences with California Baby.
I have been using their products since she was born and yes, I agree they are good. juz to share that I am still using them now. Just that run out of the showergel.
Calendula doesnt works for me, sadly.

gingerleaf,
Maybe the cruicial thing is the shower gel
Cos last time, the PD straightaway ask me what I use to shower him and ask me to change to soap free type.

CM,
Glad that Carlson is better now. Do remind maid to give more water to Carlson.

totoro_bb,
Can take ginger? Have tried out ngoh-ee (threadfin) and cod fish. Steam both plainly with wolfberries & red dates (seedless). Jerry prefers cod fish. Not encourage to give everyday, so give only alternate days.

Unice,
Hehe... I din get much from there too. Only some Gerber food jars & Eu Yan Sang Brown Rice.

Re: Motherhood Fair
Eu Yan Sang - 20% off products
Nepia - $15/pk + 4pcs free
Huggies Ultra - $15.90
Nestle Cereal - $7 for 2pks (norm), $8 for 2pks (gold)
Gerber Graduates Snack (Star Puffs) - $10 for 2btls
Gerber Food Jars - $4 for 5jars
*Tatz about wat I can remember.*

re: Motherhood Fair
Heinz Products avail. there too. But discounts not very significant. Erhmm... Say few cents diff., if I remember correctly.
FM promo - there is Nestle FM & Friso. Got a booth having Goats Milk FM.

re: BBs in aircon
I realise that Jerry's skin (knee & elbow area) tend to be dry in early morning, due to sleeping in aircon. Hence, maybe BBs who sleep in aircon, can try to have some BB night lotion to keep skin moisturized. If possible, a cup/bowl of water in the room helps too. =)

Hvn't got much time to post in forum these few days.. so many posts that I missed!

I managed to make a quick dash to Motherhood Fair today, was there only from 1pm to 2pm. Got almost the same stuff as unice and doobom..

1. Nestle & Gerber products (worth of $30 if u wana get a free hippo bag)
2. Nepia diapers
3. Pureen stuff
4. Gripe water (buy 2 get one free baby nail clipper)

Surprisingly, the layout was v similar to last yr fair.. of course, u will get a free motherhood mag.

gingerleaf, hope Lyn is better now already.. dun worry too much k?

sugar_nut,
Lleyton is using Nepia for day or nite? Coz I was wondering if I should get Nepia for Jerry's nite use. Is it gd?
Think they have some promo like $14/pk with 4pks purchase + free delivery.

Hippo! I saw Adri's photo on Studio Loft brochure when they distribute at the fair.. so cute leh.. the one with a big flower on her head.

He using Nepia for night only..morning he's using PetPet.

Yup, the promo is $15 per pk with 4 pcs free.. but the free delivery I heard you will have to call up the office to order direct. Cos' I think the delivery does not come with the 4 pcs promo.

I find Nepia quite good for nite use. He was still using M until now but recently by morn already leak sometimes. so I bought L size for him just now.. Hope L size fits better.

Yes, the 4pcs free is only @ the fair. Think they are having promo for home delivery of $14/pk with 4pks min. purchase.

So Nepia is gd? Heard quite gd feedback abt it. Has been considering it for nite use. Jerry has been using L size for quite some time. He was on Pampers Baby Dry, but I tot of trying out other brands.

Daytime, no diapers. Using cotton nappies. =)

Oh I see.. I din enquire abt the free delivery part. I let him use only Nepia and Mamy Poko for night cos'seems like can tahan longer hours as compared to Drypers, Petpet..

Think quite a few mummies also using Nepia. Totoro & gingerleaf? maybe others can provide some comments too..

sugar_nut,

u also biught the slow cooker at JL fair. Me too. Bought th smaller one for BB to brew soup for him.

Garber star....

nstead of this, mummies can try cheerios. is whole grain, not sweet at all. Sutiable to practice pincer gip.

re: motherhood fair,

thanks mummies for all ur feedback, seems nothing fantastic abt it, will give it a miss then

re: diapers,

im using Nepia & Mamypoko for his nights, so far so good... as for bb sleeping in aircon room, we also use a humidifier, and his skin is okay.

btw, anyone know the tel no. for the Nepia delivery? thanks!