(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

hi mummies again!

I think I need to find a job that gives me more time to login to forum. HAHAHAH . What excuse!!

re: milk rejection
yesterday I tried the spoon feed as what doobom suggested and guess what?! IT WORKS BRILLIANTLY. But it was a mess man. Gosh. I cannot believe if I have to spoon feed everytime time. ZZZzzzZzzzZ
oh ya doobom, thanks for the tip!

bbwow,
yes, thatz the mess about spoon feeding milk. But no choice... Yes, u feel gd when J finish his milk ya? Smile @ J n tell him. GD BOY!!! *Muack* Haha...
Normally, I try bottle feed. If he reject, then spoon feed as last resort. Hopefully J miz his milk btl soon. =)

gingerleaf, ever since u told me lyn sneezed during meal time, chloe also sneeze at least once!

i need an apron too hehe

Wow... Gingerleaf, great memory! =)
Yes, I use claypot for porridge cooking. Somehow, it taste gd. =) As compared to norm pot.

Chintz,
I always try to catch her at it. Sometimes she gg to har chew, then I will quickly cover her mouth. Must be fast, else my whole face, body n floor will kena if she happen to be keeping her food inside her mouth.
Wonder why they do it

bbwow, think pigeon has a bottle with a spoon attached. not sure if it will make spoon feeding milk easier?

gingerleaf, chintz, your girls are trying to test your reflexes huh?

ya then apart from sneezing, she will eat her 'ka ciu' also if i'm slow.

if not, rub her nose lah, rub eye lah.. aiyo..super messy~!!

chintz, i think it's normal. hannah also likes to rub her face during meal times. i have no idea why she does that. but she can get food everywhere, even in her ears! faint.

Alternative - brown rice porridge
1. Blend brown rice into powder & keep in airtight container.
2. Add scoops of brown rice powder to water into bowl. Use bowl that is steam-friendly.
3. Steam the bowl of brown rice mixed with water in rice cooker.
4. On and off, sneak open rice cooker n stir the brown rice.

For info... one similac scoop of brown rice powder to 100ml water.

I do this for dinnertime. Our rice & BB porridge @ a go. =)

For veg. puree/fish, steam seperately from the brown rice. Once done, mix them with the brown rice 2gether and itz Dinner time! =)

gingerleaf, chintz & zhen zhen,

my boy as well! he rubs his eyes, nose and face while eating, super messy! last night when i wiped him after his dinner, he har chew and a very small piece of chicken force out from his nose and ended up on his lip! then he sticked out his tongue and wana eat!!! heng i quickly clean it off... yucks!

haha looks like our babies all do the same stuff

doobom, thanks for the cooking method. seems like u got lots of porridge recipe leh.. pls furnish us more!! :D

wow.. jovial... so long no see caelen he like a 'big boy' liao!! is tat pix in the key pouch your doggie? it reminds me of mine (similar to the pix) who died some 7yrs ago due old age.

doobom.. yr brown rice recipe looks delicious, thks..

gingerleaf...for lance, i tink 1-2 size up also duno can 'last' or not!! hahaha.. but cant resist your temptation, will look out for babymallonline soon..

dodo: crack me up leh!! fly out of nose must be uncomfy but ZQ still want to eat it!!

doobom: wow i cant imagine me doing that. im a cooking bai chi! i wonder how i cook porrige for baby YZ like.... SOON!

ecookie,
U sure can. Coz I noe nuts about cooking too. But this simple method is 'forced' into me by my mum. Haha...
As I m working, so I blend the brown rice in small quantity during my free time (weekend). Then lazily, tong-pang the brown rice into the rice cooker. Hehe...

Junnie,
you can enhance the taste of brown rice porrdige by adding tiny bit of ikan bilis powder or washed red dates (remove seed to avoid heatiness). When the brown rice is cooked, either take away the red dates or mashed the 'meat' in the brown rice. =)

Chintz, Thanks

Junnie: Ya lor. Now 9 mths liao. How time flys, can say that he spend more time outside my tummy then inside my tummy liao. And yes, the white one is a japanese spitz, the other one is a shih tzu.

as for ikan bilis, my mum taught me to
1) Remove the ikan bilis stomach (only). Don't remove the bones as they are very good source of calcium.
2) Wash them - so that it will not be too saltish.
3) Then put them into the microwave oven and microwave for a few seconds. Wa lah ! you have nice and crispy ikan bilis.
4) Then you can use a grinder and grind into very fine powder which you can keep (after it's cooled) and sprinkle into the porridge when needed.

Adds taste and Calcium.

Once in a while , I'll feed Caelen 1 whole Avocado as a meal
Just get those very ripe ones (a bit brownish)

By the way, anybody still no menses yet ? I still have not have any period still. I guess due to I'm still partial brestfeeding ... although miserable 2 times a day and only total of 150ml each time.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">THIS ONLY FOR MUMMIES FRIENDS FROM OCTOBER 2007 MTB.
</font></font>

I intend to order from www.babymallonline.com.
. Any one wants to join me cos USD$100 above free US shipping? This is how it goes:-

1) I Will collect order from mummies.
2) Place order online (I'll pay for the items 1st.)
3) Check online credit card statement for the conversion rate charge (Will charge you the EXACT amount).
4) When I receive bill from VPOST, I'll split the Vpost charges. Each piece of clothing = 1 unit. Other item will keep you adv you on the number of units before I place order.
6) You can choose local mail (approx $0.30 per piece of clothing, base charge is $0.80) or self-collect on weekday from punggol.
7) Collect money from you before I mail out the item.

Please Email me [email protected] as I do not want to mess up this thread.

please provide:
1) Nick and Name (Very Important cos will not accept orders not from this group of friends)
2) email address
3) Item name
4) description / colour
5) size
6) qty
7) price
8) ideally the URL Link
9) Collection Method

<font color="aa00aa">I hope to place my order by wed. Shipping normally take about 2 - 3 weeks ?</font>

dodo, zq probably don't like to waste food.

jovial, caelan is such a cute boy. the doggie pic looks familiar. did you use that for your msn pic?

doobom, are you sure you're a lousy cook? all the recipes that you share all sound so nice!

unice: Your baby how old liao ? My boy already 9mths old. My hubby a bit worried is it I did not eat enought tonic, not 'BU' enough thus still no menses

zhen zhen: Yap .... until baby comes along ...

welcome back jovial!

chintz, ecookie &amp; zhen zhen,

haa! so funny right! wonder if it's "pi sai" flying out, will he still eat or not.. YUCKSSS!

jovialz,

i also haven have my menses... baby is 7.5mth old... i have been expressing bm all the while

re cooking of brown rice porridge:

i use "dun4" method... pot within pot to cook, also grind the brown rice to powdery beforehand..

re ikan bilis:

my mum wana buy and prepare the ikan bilis for bb... but she very cute, keep saying must buy the most "beautiful" one.. she mentioned from sarawak/ kuantan?! aiya cant remember liao.. then she told me she still cant find the most "beautiful" one.. haa! i told her it's not beauty pagaent la!!! :p

dodo... are there beautiful ikan bilis??? they all look the same to me. maybe i don't have an eye for fish. hahaha...

i think it's normal not to get menses if you're still bf-ing. even if it's only partial.

zhen zhen,

haa.. they all look the same to me as well! but my mum said there's difference which i really cant tell
she always bought and packed the ikan bilis for me in different container, telling me this type is for soup, the other type is fried rice, then another type is fried normal vege... im too confused so end up din follow her instructions :p but she very nice, always buy ikan bilis in kilos, then clean it nicely and give it to me...

dodo, that's so nice of your mummy.

jovial, i'm looking through the babymallonline website now. very gian to buy more stuff. argh!

zhen zhen,

Yup, think Jav is the most stubborn baby I've ever seen.

ecookie, maylynette,
Heh heh....luckily Jav surrendered and he finally learned that nobody is going to pick him up no matter how long he cry. So I think CIO in a way, train a baby to become more independent.
But the training is tough, I cried with him when I 1st trained him.

Brown rice porridge
Doobom, thanks for you delicious recipe!

Jas, thanks! I'll look out for elephant brand. Btw, do u hv the name and contact of the supplier that your sis has been ordering from? Or any website I can view?

Sanbebe,
ok..i will ask my sister tmr when i go back to bedok. let you know.

Gingerleaf,
very cute rompers! But dun care...will still pinch lyn's cute little cheek secretly when you are not seeing...*hee* wink...dun worry...i be very gentle. haha

Ikan bilis:
How to take out the stomach??? got ready buy one?

ikan bilis,
my mum also said got different type of ikan bilis. Those sold in Spore are mostly from Indonesia. Not as nice as those sarawak or kuantan type. If buy from Msia, got alot more choices. So my mum went Msia and buy few kilo back and help me clean, roast and grind.... hee hee hee

rice...

last week, MIL gave me some "xin mi" aka new crop. She say "xin min" cook porridge very nice, soft and smooth. I tried and it is true, my girl like it very much!
So now I mix 2/3 new crop and 1/3 brown rice for Jae. Hmmmm.... delicious, I will cook more than when Jae can't finish, I will finish it up... hee hee

Wow, just realised my post just went through after 1 whole night ! Gosh, the above post was posted last night. What went wrong, man ?

Jas, thanks in advance!

Madlynette, Myra is so amazing ! She's so advance in her motor skills.
Haha...Jav still can't sit upright without assistant! Ohhh....a long way to catch up.....

Jovial, nice to see you back here! Caelen's so cute.. he is really the big brother of our thread now! I will take sometime to look at the website too..

dodo, eil,

Both of u have such sweet and nice mummy...make me sooooo envious

dodo,
How long u 'dun4' your porridge? Think of trying....

lina: hee myra is always ahead in her developments! must be fun to see her clap. can she clap on cue?

jovialz: i loooking thru the babymall! think i want to buy some! will email you soon!

Ikan Bilis:
I also heard got different "Nationality". But never really bother. I just buy whichever that look good. But don't buy those split one as the bones are removed.

Jas: Just pinch out the tummy part (slightly black in colour). Don't think you can get ready made ones or it should be expensive.

Last night, my hubby went over to visit my boy at my mum's place. He came back very happy. Cos all the while, Caelen only call 'Ma Ma bao bao' - Carry or 'Nang nang' - Milk. But seems like last night, when my husband is talking to my niece, Caelen pull my husband's arm and 'shouted' Pa Pa twice. Even my mum say she heard 'Pa Pa'.

Heard from my mum, there is such a thing call 'xiao mi'. It very tiny rice. Very nutritious but take very long time to cook. Even my friend from China also say it's very good and they would feed their baby that.

jovial,

Ya, Xiao Mi is millet... I cooked that for BB, but grinded inot powder. It taste and smell better than brown rice...
\

sanbebe,

i "dun" for abt an hour, but i din grind my brown rice till v v fine.. if grind till very fine, i think can just "dun" for half an hour.. oh ya, i use vege stock to "dun".. then when the porridge almost done, only then i put in the chicken or other vege... so everday i spent lots of time in kitchen! haa..

gal, dun worry abt bb's motor skill developments, every baby is different, they will master the skill sooner or later... we must enjoy our every moment wi them n no stress ah..

eil,

wah.. u make me drool leh.. sorry mummies, i think this ques had been asked b4, may i know where can i get "xin mi"?

jovialz,

im interested!!! wait for me ah... im browsing thru the website now.. hee...

madlynette,

*clap clap* for myra!

wah, myra can clap her hands.. very happy hor
now, can teach her to give a "hi-5" :p

actually, i've been teaching aria clapping hands since she's 6 months plus. almost everynight, i'll make her sit on my tummy and take both her hands and say out loud clap clap hands and roughly 2 weeks later, she did it by herself at my SIL place! and yes, on cue! it was so amazing.. after that, i start to teach her "hi-5" and she pick it up again! it's amazing the speed baby pick things up. but alas, aria still cannot sit up on her own or crawl..think she's too heavy liao..like humpty dumpty..hehe...

re mense,
mine also not here. think because I'm TBF bah..