(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

Perlicia
i nv use swap blanket. just let her be lor. If i shift her back to nice position, she may wake up from her sleep. It is like disturb her sleep leh. But for night time, I will shift back to a nice position because I wait till she sleep like a dead pig then shiift also won't wake her up.

perlicia, karrie, ecookie, doobom, chintz & all mummies,

thanks for the comforting words. sigh. what an eventful mother's day for us.

re: combi stroller
I got it for my MIL also cause she couldn't handle my Quinny buzz. She's VERY petite. She said she needed a stroller to suit, I was thinking not suit the baby meh?? And she still find combi BIG. OMG. Anyway, feedback on the stroller, I love it! It's small and handy and it keeps well too! The salesgal told me can last till 2 years + but I think really depends on bb size. A good stroller to bring when you're travelling too.

perlicia & tiffy, my girl is a very bad sleeper too.. haiz.. she can roll everywhr datz y she ended up in kkh dat time.. lucky she wasnt hurt.. i just let her be too though there is a bed rail now.. =D

bbwow, big hugz..

bbwow,
hugz...well, at least your hubby is remorseful lah..i'm sure he'll make it up for you :p you're one great understanding mummy

Ok..thanks, at least I am more at ease to get it already...Actually i find this forum so good, can get help and advises a click away....

I remember kelly's daddy tell me Maclaren is good during the gymboree meetup...so also tempted to see this brand in details.

Hooray for all october mummies...Thanks thanks.

Tiffy, chor lor now nevermind...grow up si wen can already..

hey, my gal oso sleep everywhere! Can roll n roll n roll! but I have oreadi took away my bedframe, n now juz mattress on the floor with carpets around, so I guess if she really rolls off the bed oso not so painful. =p

I wanted to get a combi too! I really wanna have a pram that I can handle myself when Im out alone! My peg too heavy for myself to lug around. I cannot even roll the pram to stand on its back wheels when I go down the escalator!
Maclaren oso good? I shld go check it out!

Ecookie,
I think maclaren can use till an older age right? Seen many tods in maclaren before.

gingerleaf, wah she's so strong! i oredi have problems carrying matty alone for long periods. can't do without my sling loh.

only my hubby can carry pram + bb.

ah..MIL carry him to eat porridge now...

where am I...Oh, I heard about maclaren quest too.. see there later

anyway, combi 4.2kg, total is 4.9kg and one things is that there is 3 positions. so can sleep one...however, keeping it might be a problem for 1 person carrying a baby because it need to be bended.

gingerleaf: maclaren not bad v sturdy. but not v light at ard 6.2kg..think combi is one of the lightest ard at 4.2kg.. really can manouver it alone. but find it v wobbly leh.. dun really like now..

chintz... ya, threadfin is 'ngoh hee', v X one.. ysterday i bought 1 small pc (i didnt buy fillet), is alr $10, jus enuff for bb & my gal's two meal. i saw a auntie buy the threadfin fillet (thickness abt 1cm, abt 7-8pcs) alr $27!! last wk my colleage bought 1.2kg $39.00, the price go according to daily market rate one...

karrie... $4 for a peach is X, but may b bcos is organic so still ok lah.. nowsaday go ntuc also saw many organic stuff, really wonder singaporean taste's 'upgraded' liao.... no choice, for health sake, die also must eat good...

perlicia... so good u can type 'chinese words'...tink plum is more 'purple' colour & 'prune' more dark colour ba... thks 4 the UOB card info, tink we'll go on dutch like last meeting ba if not sooooo many families how to separate bill later??? rite doobom?? thks 4 telling us the reservation info, now wont get blur when rch HRC.... happy shopping perlicia!!

hippo... hahaha.. if adri can do 'split' @ tis age u'll really WOWOWOW....hahaha.. her leg not fat lah... her size jus nice to 'match' bb lance... kekeke... he now like keep growing sideway not upwards... 'cham arrrr'..v scare lor..

totoro, same for me, i also rcvd SMSes from my friends/colleagues, there is no difference from any other day. hb went for his usual badminton games, left me & 2kids & my mum @home... i 'anyhow' cook dinner lor (cos i duno how to cook one)..
my MIL said is a MUST to celebrate Mother's Day & Birthdays for her & FIL, so is more or less FIXED tat we'll go big makan on these 4 occasions. only thing glad is they NOT so particular on celebrating Mother's/Father's Day on actual day (restaurant v X)..so usually both my SIL will plan w my hb to bring MIL/FIL on a week later to avoid the crowd, but for Birthdays cannot celebrate later lor, either earlier or on actual day. As for my own mum, she's not so particular, she'll always says DUN WASTE $$$, no need to eat, but me & my sis will plan to bring her out to eat her favourite 'zu chao' (my mum dun eat alot of stuff), we also wont go on actual day, sometime we even eat 2-3wks later, as long my mum happy can liao (tink oni gals will hv mother's heart, we hardly see my four brothers bring my mum for occasions like mother's day, but duno howcome our hb will hv their mum's heart?? v contradicting lor sometimes..)..

ecookie, me sama sama, hb side always got last min programme (planned by his two sisters/relatives), so hb knw i dun 'entertain' last min 'invitations' (cos many @times we alr pre-planned something or somedays jus too tired to go out need to do lots of housechores - cos every saturday i need to work)... really v pek chek one if your 'timetable' is being screw up & need to 'accommodate' others plan (usually those not so important stuff like - pok luck, RC dinner, duno who & who's children or grandchildren full mth, birthdays, 21st birthday, etc, etc - hb dun even knw their names!!!! many at times is bcos they invited MIL/SIL, so we were being invited, then both my SIL like to organise lotsa events too (they both v lucky dun hv ILs to handle & kids big liao), our kids still so young v 'mafan' to bring them to kids-unfriendly places mah).... i duno if u all ever heard of children being 'v particular', esp young children, - last time my gal cant attend 'red'/'white' matters or 'touched by preggie woman' when she v young (fm birth till 2-3 yrs), cos everytime she comes back will b v cranky at nite... we got hard time, till we got temple pray & were told she need v 'clean' environment, she's a difficult child... so fm then, my MIL then realised & wont insist my gal to come along on those occasions..

madlynette.. wat a sad scenario u saw, by hearing also feed aching... hope the child get well soon...ya, we shd count ourselves lucky for god's gift....

tiffy, bbwow.. angry also no use, if the other party (esp MIL) duno lagi worst... no point let our cells 'die' for nothing, must remember 'ren jia qi wo wo bu qi, wo ruo sen qi zhong ta ji'!! oni ting is let hb knw wat impact they hv caused & remind them dun do it again to spoilt our relationship...

wah Junniez, thanks for the wisdom words! That's just what i need at the moment!

i must keep on repeating that to myself

Pelicia, ya, let Raphael play more on the keyboard. Sean enjoys it too..last time he doesnt know how to press a key, now, he can bang on my piano as if he is a pro!!
my mum loves to put him on my piano cos thats the only thing that can keep him entertained for more than 15mins...

combi: i got the 4.2kg one..so light that it always fall backwards cos my diaper bag will pull it down if bb is not sitting in it..pros nd cons lo..

gingerleaf, i never tried using stroller when alone wif Sean lei...only used my bjorn active if I m alone...cos this boy can suddenly wan me to carry then i jialat liao, no hands to push stroller while carrying him...

unice,
but if im alone, use carrier too long oso tiring n hot. So tot of getting a light weight stroller, so I can 'relax' abit oso. Now I needa get a lightweigh stroller and prefably one that can face me. Sianz.

I'm using combi. so far i find it okay and light in weight. and good to manoeuvre. but the cons, like waht unice mentioned, the stroller will fall backwards if too heavily loaded.

junnie, hahaha! she reali did a split on the "bridge" cos she was standing n though her socks were non-slip, she still managed to do a split! too bad her daddy worried so pulled her up straightaway.. no chance to snap her in action.. hahahahah!

gingerleaf,
hope you find the right lightweight stroller soon! there's many in the market to suit all types of mommies. dats why so confused when want to choose. got graco, combi, macleren, aprica, etc. not easy to handle bb, diaper bag and stroller but i have seen mommies doing it, sometimes with a toddler as well, wow!

mad,
someone in my msn telling me to get BEE BEE BEE BEE BEE BEE BEE when I say I wanna get one that can let baby face me too. Winner.

i just started aria solid..as i begin to do some research i noticed she's eating quite little! oh mi god! i breastfeed her at 6.30am and then she can tahan till 12pm for her next feed. After that she'll drink her milk at 4plus and another round at 8 plus and 11 plus..Her milk intake is 150ml. She's on TBF.

Now, I'm giving her rice cereal mixed with BM for her 12pm meal. After that, let her drink the remaining milk. The rest as per normal.

Is it sufficient? She's growing well though it's horizontally rather than vertically..haha..

What is the next food to introduce? Also, when do i give her 2 meals? when she's 9 months?

aiyoh, so confusing..

chris, okie dok.. take care till i see u again! anyway, brigton is very fast leh! =D

i will be away for a absolutely stupid business trip till thurs.. so sad, can't see my naughty girl till then.. sobz...

gingerleaf, dun buy bee la! buy stokke xplory!! it was $2k 4yrs ago and is my dream stroller (meaning i can only own it in my dreams la!) hahahaha... itz so super sleek... *slurp*

gingerleaf, ya u r right...last sunday after Trio class, hubby having tuition so cant fetch us.Me n Sean walked all the way to Bugis mrt..poor sean,weather so hot plus i add on heat to him, he still can fall asleep on the way to mrt station...
wanted take cab but never withdraw enough $$$....
aiyo..

think lyn quite guai, will not cry when left in stroller right? sean very notti nowadays, dun like to sit in stroller for long...

hippo,

Ya, ah brig is fast.. to think that his mumy panting for air aft the 45min session. Usually is his daddy who do all these stunt with him..

Brig also look forward to the session. He will be 'talking' nonstop... once he reached tanglin mall..

chris, keke.. i can understand! my hb wanted to do e exercises with her but i won! then he tell me not to fight with him cos i always do the stuff with her at home anyways cos i used to work there so i know e program.. keke... anyway, i will sign up cos i want adri to socialise with babies and not only adults like wat she does now.. keke...

so you are the one who worked on gymboree before. haha

ya, is impt for bb to interact w bb.. is v different when i do all these with him at home, the response from him is so different.. haha.

Brig really enjoyd the bubbles.. now he also have bubbles time at home..

finally had time to log in here to catch up on forum posts today. interestingly, the topic was on strollers n i was sms-ing someone to ask feedback about peg/combi/mclaren, without knowing that this topic was being discussed in forum as well! :D

anyway, am thinking of mclaren n mayb capella after considering feedback about combi and peg.

perlicia
how's ur recce at kaki bukit? what's the diff btw mclaren quest and techno? i know quest is cheaper than techno but in terms of function, is it similar to techno? thinking of waiting for GSS to go hunting out for pram.

tiffy/bbwow
hope both of u r feeling better now. cheer up! dun bother about those people, we've our own little babies to cherish n love, no time for them.

gingerleaf,
my boy also roll,kick alot in his sleep. sometimes can cry/laugh,etc, perhaps its him dreaming... he's been 'promoted' to sleep on the mattress on the floor by himself now. for safety reasons n also hopefully, he can transit more easily when its time to move him to sleep on his own in his room.

gtg, v.tired already, still have a pile of papers to mark. karrie!!! how's things going on ur side? still surviving?

chris.. yalor..your bb like adri, so steady... leg so 'bah bah' too.. haha..

gingerleaf, perlicia, i tink combi is good enuff... no pt invest so much on stroller if u both alr got one or unless u want to hv more kids... some bb when can walk, they hardly want to sit inside... like my gal last time, she want to 'push' the stroller when i ask her to sit! haiyo...

me looking fwd to nxt mth motherhood fair 05-08 Jun @spore expo http://www.motherhood.com.sg/exhibiton2008/2008.pdf, duno got good stuffs to grab or not (usually will top up diapers - nepia or any other good brands tat got offer)...

Happy Belated Mother's Day! ST yesterday actually states that the estimated income for SAHM would be almost $23k per month. reallee coolz, right? personally, i really salute SAHM!! me can never to up to being one.

tiffy/bbwow,
hope u r feeling better. May the next Mothers' Day be a better one!

personally, i dun feel any special leh. My church always have special blessings for Mothers on this special occasion. Mothers are called to stand up for the blessings. This year, officially qualified for the blessing
just tolf hb dat sometimes, still ahvent sunk in dat i am already a mummy! know i sounded crazy.. haha..

perlicia/gingerleaf,

clare alomost roll off the bed twice on sat despite all the pillows and bolsters. e first time i went into the room, and caught her legs daggling in the air and the 2nd time, i was in the room with her when she happily just rolled and rolled and luckily, i ran fast enuff to catch her on time when she rolled off the bed. such a relief...

when do mummies put ur bbies when they r awake?

hv migrated her to sleep on mattress too when she's 4 months old. tot it's safer.
gingerleaf, good idea dat u dismantle the frame. maybe i will do dat oso. minimise accidents from happening.

hippo,

Normally I use traditional way, put some water in the pot, place the bowl inside with the metal stand...actually I also blur mummy… oni try apple and potato before, that why wonder other purees isiz make in the same method =D

Chintz…

Hw yr gal? Does she drink her milk this few days?

totoro,

I can join the puree session too… =)

totoro/unice,
I also give my boy shredded carrot mixed in the porridge with fish/meat etc and I found that when he poo, the carrot is not digested. So I hink have to blend it..

gingerleaf,

So nice yr hubby is….. =)

thks doobom for the booking

unice,
yes, now I also goin through the post ..hahaaaa… Posting getting faster n faster..Me another mountain tortise... I also dun wan what is stokke :p

Dodo,

U r back =)… glad that Ziqian behaved well and u really enjoyed… from the pic u posted can c Ziqian look happy..

Re: holiday,

is Bintan a good place with bb?….

Chris,

Im pinky….Jayden's mummy ;) me too din talk much… hope to catch up with u.. R u joining the gathering on vesak day?
yr boy really enjoyed the lesson, saw him kicking his leg …and catching the bubbles… not like jayden… look at the floor… dun seem interested in it…

Tiffy,,,

Hugzhugz…dun be angry and upset think of yr lovely little one will make yr day simlez…

jacq..clare is lucky hving an alert mummy! mine can turn over, but hvnt really 'shift' 360deg yet.. now he always like to 'hang' his leg outside the sarong! so i must make sure he's in deep sleep then i walked away, after his nite feed, i'll shift him back to playpen/bed...

when he awake, is either we take turn carrying or playing w him on the bed/sofa, if not, in the walker, jus cant leave him alone lor until he knw how to walk steadily ba...

garden_dream,

my boy is a bad sleeper, he like a clock... from 12 bcm 3, 3 bcm 6... hahaaaa... recently i found my boy like to sleep sideway..=D

hi pinky.. hv to chop the carrot to small small pcs if cook w porridge, or steam/boil till v soft then smash/blend it, cant feed bb if still hard cos they still hv not much teeth to bite..

garden_dreamz,
Glad things are fine for PH. Maybe he is teething? So funny, when u sms me juz now, we juz managed to put baby to sleep n She was so cranky today, refusing to sleep n kept crying. So when she finally sleep, ur msg came. And the phone was on the bed very near her!!!! And my msg tone is very loud + vibration somemore! Lucky she carried on sleeping n me n hb look at each other wide eye n then chuckle. Hahahah.

Karrie,
which combi model are u using for matty boo now?

Good idea to wait for GSS hor. Was telling hb juz now I wan a new stroller, so i can handle it myself when I bring her for enrichment classes on weekdays. Then he was telling me to get! Now I think wait for GSS better! =D

Junnie,
I was looking forward for the fair too! Not anymore now coz hb wun be in town n will only come back on the last day of the fair.
So disappointing loh, coz I find motherhood fair pretty good.

Madly,
Im really eyeing ur bee! But I console myself juz now by surfing to the bugaboo site to see that its 7,7kg. Too heavy for me! Too heavy too heavy too heavy!

can i check if it is better to get bb eat brown rice porridge? or a mixed or white rice? nanny suggested leting bb try brown rice.

garden_dreamz...i'm dying!!! still have so many, tomorrow must pass the marks to the form teachers oredi!!! arrrgghhhh. no need to sleep tonite liao.

gingerleaf, I'm using the Well Flat Wide
(JT-500), grey color. Bought for discounted price of $270 coz it was being replaced with the EnjoyMe models. Now a bit regret not getting the Maclaren Quest coz after that I saw it at Tangs for only $230/$239 and it was so roomy. Even the present one im using getting to be a bit squeezy for the matttybooboo...haha

chris, your baby so CUTE!! hahaha...like a little teapot lah...dunno why heehee.

For mummies who wanna find out more about weaning, i highly recommend Gina Ford's The Contented Little Baby Book of Weaning, and First Foods from Marshall Cavendish. It saved my life many times coz nobody (including my mum or mil) in my house knows what to feed baby, at what time and how to cook his food.

pinky, i'm thinking of Bintan coz it's only 45min away by ferry, very easy to get to
Plus a holiday there need not be so many days so pretty affordable.

totoro
erh.. why cant feed spinach leh? luckily you mention else, I'm feeding her that this weekend. I was thinking of blending the spinach, then feeding my elder boy spinach with toufu.. I prep fresh for my gal everyday coz we hv maid. But for my boy last tuime, I prep on weekend and gv him frozen cubes coz no maid mah.. haha

Jo
accrdg to gina ford, 1 cube is 1 level table spoon.

ecookie/totoro
do u all steam the papaya and plum?

Morning all! *wave hard*

Pinky, Chloe is coming back to her normal feed. Can take her 6 oz milk feed now. I think last week was painful for her, when the teeth just cut thru her gum.

Now she's biting the spoon hard and unwilling to let go!! :p

mummies: its now my turn to fall sick.. fever whole body aching n bad cough. *sobz* lucky baby is at my mum's place for the week since MIL is overseas,, better lah, if not spread to him not good..

krissie:yup i steam plum. papaya never steam just mash n blend

jacQ: when babby awake we let him be on his bumper mat to minimise him knocking onto floor

yest got a shock, came back from work n feed baby his rice cereal + purees as usual.. yest new food is avocado so after he down some spinach n rice cereal, i proceeded tio avocado.

and he started making the most disgusted face n puking faces.. and evil mummy still think its funny and ask the husband to come see. and ALL OF A SUDDEN, baby yz merlioned! think got ard 100ml of solids and his last milk feed at 4pm.

was so sad. and immediately stop feeding him and wiped him down,,

lucky he seems okie aft that and we fed him some water to clear the viomit taste in his mouth. and afterwards, gave him a milk feed at 830 and he took it w/o fuss..

think avocado is a no no for baby yZ!

g'morning all mummies!

pinky
haha... my boy also like that, turn round n round, this moment his body pointing here, next moment when i wanna check in on him, his body in another direction liao! my next headache.... when baby knows how to crawl/walk efficiently, would they 'travel' further in their sleep? i dun wanna wake up in a sleep-deprived state to find that my boy has migrated to another part of the room! :D

gingerleaf
alamak... so sorry, i didn't know that!!!
talking about crankiness, my boy past 2 days/nights pretty cranky, v.hard to settle to sleep, not much mood to play then in the middle of the night, wake up screaming his lungs out. its not hunger though. guess maybe its teething woes for him. poor thing...

karrie
ur deadline is tmr? so fast! mine is 16 may. so still have another NT class to complete then compile the marks for HOD. sigh... not having an easy time coz bb now in the best of his moods n only time i can get things done is late in the nite. panda eyes already.... n i'm not full time back to teaching. once i return back teaching, i think i'm gonna b flat flat flat out day in, day out! :D

u saw the mclaren quest? is it good? coz dun wanna spend too much $ on something that may not be used that often once bb is older. but dun wan something too cheapo too, coz the make is lousy. received a china-brand pram as a gift n though it was useful initially, but the wheels went cranky n started 'singing' whenever we push the pram. so whenever i pushed that pram, i always got a feeling that the wheels r going to run away from the pram any moment, judging from the 'jiggling' tune its churning!!!

think i better go, must b disciplined to peel myself away from here n go stick my head back to my marking n keeping tabs on my boy...he's still nursing a fever since last nite but keeping a wait n see attitude for now. sigh... ciao!

morning mummies!!

HELP! My boy has been LS-ing for the past 2 days. Only 1 time per day but it's really worrying. Yesterday 2AM he woke up crying like mad and we didn't know what's wrong. Suspect could be tummyache.

Could it be the food? Or the step 2 milk? Any mummies experiencing it too?